Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU OUTBACK - 2007 SUBARU OUTBACK Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 53 complaints filed for the 2007 SUBARU OUTBACK

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 SUBARU OUTBACK. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 SUBARU OUTBACK, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (5) Steering (4) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Engine (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/3/2014 - GRASS VALLEY, CA
A CAR STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME SUDDENLY FOR A PEDESTRIAN, AND I REAR ENDED IT. MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY AND I ENDED UP WITH A CONCUSSION. HAVING A LOT OF TROUBLE THINKING AND SLEEPING - AND FINALS ARE NEXT WEEK!

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/3/2014 - GRASS VALLEY, CA
A CAR STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME SUDDENLY FOR A PEDESTRIAN, AND I REAR ENDED IT. MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY AND I ENDED UP WITH A CONCUSSION. HAVING A LOT OF TROUBLE THINKING AND SLEEPING - AND FINALS ARE NEXT WEEK!

View Details

ENGINE

11/3/2014 - CLIFFORD TWT., PA
NO HEAT, ENGINE TEMP. CLIMBED. ENGINE COOLANT BOILED OUT A MILE LATER. 2.5 ENGINE

View Details

ENGINE

10/16/2014 - TOMAHAWK, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 SUBARU OUTBACK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEAD GASKET WAS LEAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT HEAD GASKET NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/27/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
ENGINE MADE A SUDDEN RATTLING SOUND THAT GOT PROGRESSIVELY LOUDER, THEN HAD A LOUD BANGING SOUND.AFTER A FEW DAYS OF INVESTIGATION, IT WAS FOUND THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER BOLT CAME LOOSE,BOUNCED AROUND IN MY ENGINE, DAMAGING A PLATE AND "TAKING A FEW 'CHUNKS' OUT OF THE ENGINE BLOCK,ACCORDING TO THE MECHANIC.THE MECHANIC SAID IN HIS PROFESSIONAL OPINION,THE ONLY WAY THE BOLT COULD HAVE BEEN LOOSE,IS THAT IS WAS NOT TIGHTENED PROPERLY ON THE ASSEMBLY LINE.THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS EVER HAPPENED TO A SUBARU THAT THEY ARE AWARE OF.THE CAR IS 6YEARS OLD AND ONLY HAD BEEN DRIVEN FOR 5YEARS(BOUGHT IT IN 2009 WITH 33 MILES ON IT,AS IT HADN'T SOLD IN 2008), AND IT HAS ONLY 23,000 MILES ON IT.THERE IS NO RECALL,AND MY WARRENTY EXPIRED 7MONTHS AGO.SUBARU SAID THEY WOULD COVER HALF THE COST OF REPAIRS,BUT WE ARE STILL PERSUING OPTIONS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/11/2014 - ST PAUL, MN
PROBLEM P2138 THROTTLE CEASES TO CONTROL CAR ENGINE SPEED. IN NEUTRAL IT SETTLES AT ?4000 RPM. STOPPING AND RESTARTING THE CAR STOPS THE PROBLEM, BUT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REMAINS ON AND CRUISE CONTROL LIGHT FLASHES FOR 1-2 DAYS. CRUISE CONTROL IS NOT FUNCTIONAL WHILE IN THIS STATE. THIS CAN HAPPEN AT ANY SPEED, BUT TYPICALLY AT 55-60. HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY, NOW 3 TIMES IN THE PAST MONTH. HAD THE THROTTLE SENSOR REPLACED ONE YEAR AGO, AND WE HAD NO PROBLEM FOR 11 MONTHS UNTIL THE PAST MONTH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2014 - ARRINGTON, VA
THE DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG SYSTEM SOMETIMES IS NOT ACTIVE UPON STARTING VEHICLE. THIS IS INDICATED BY THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT WHICH IS ILLUMINATED. THE LIGHT CONTINUES TO STAY ILLUMINATED WHEN THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN. THE DEALER TELLS ME THAT IN THIS SITUATION (AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED) THE AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IN AN ACCIDENT. NUMEROUS POSTS ON THE INTERNET CONFIRM THIS. I CONSIDER THIS A VERY DANGEROUS AND COMMON SITUATION THAT SHOULD BE REMEDIED BY SUBARU THROUGH A RECALL. UPDATED 09/24/14

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/5/2014 - SUGAR GROVE, NC
HATCH WON'T LOCK, AND BACKUP LIGHTS DON'T WORK. FOUND 2 BROKEN WIRES ON RIGHT SIDE WIRE HARNESS, I HAVE READ LOTS OF OTHER POSTINGS ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/5/2014 - SUGAR GROVE, NC
HATCH WON'T LOCK, AND BACKUP LIGHTS DON'T WORK. FOUND 2 BROKEN WIRES ON RIGHT SIDE WIRE HARNESS, I HAVE READ LOTS OF OTHER POSTINGS ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/9/2014 - SOQUEL, CA
IN JUNE OF 2013 I TOOK MY CAR TO THE SUBARU DEALER FOR SERVICE AFTER NOTICING A BURNING SMELL. I WAS TOLD MY FRONT RIGHT AXLE WAS BROKEN. SEVEN MONTHS LATER (JANUARY 2014) I RETURNED TO THE DEALER WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT. THIS TIME THE LEFT AXLE AND LEFT WHEEL BEARING WERE BROKEN. TWO MONTHS LATER (MARCH 2014) I WAS BACK AT THE DEALER AND MY RIGHT AXLE AND RIGHT AXLE SEAL WERE BROKEN AGAIN. THAT IS THREE AXLES IN NINE MONTHS! THE ASSISTANT SERVICE MANAGER AT SUBARU TOLD ME THIS WAS NOT ABNORMAL; THAT THE CAR HAS A "DESIGN FLAW" WHERE THE AXLE BOOT SITS VERY CLOSE TO THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER SO IT HEATS UP, WHICH CAUSES THE AXLE TO CRACK AND BREAK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds