Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2007 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 1861 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (38)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (42) Service Brakes Electric (59) Unknown Or Other (54)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1044) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (149) Vehicle Speed Control (118)
Electrical System (217) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Power Train (39) Steering (28) Visibility (18)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (8) Structure (179) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (25) Fuel System Other (6) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (67) Tires (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 224
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/6/2018 - OXNARD, CA
COMBINATION METER DISPLAY FAILURE. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE IN WHICH THE INSTRUMENTATION PANEL AND CRUISE CONTROL CEASE TO FUNCTION. THE CAR MAY ALSO NOT TURN OFF WITHOUT GOING THROUGH ELABORATE PROCEDURES. IT IS SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS IN THAT THE SPEEDOMETER AND THE FUEL GAUGE DO NOT DISPLAY. TOYOTA IS AWARE OF THIS DEFECTIVE OMPONENT AND ISSUED AN "ENHANCED WARRANTY" TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM, BUT ONLY IF THE PROBLEM MANIFESTED ITSELF WITHIN THE DEFINED PERIOD OF THE ENHANCED WARRANTY.. FOR THOSE PRIUS OWNERS WHO HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS LIFE-THREATENING FLAW AFTER THE ENHANCED WARRANTY PERIOD ELAPSED, THE ONLY RECOURSE IS TO DRIVE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE OR TO PAY FOUR FIGURES FOR A REPAIR. A COMPONENT THAT IS KNOW TO BE DEFECTIVE SHOULD BE REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE AT ANY TIME IF IT INVOLVES SAFETY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/5/2018 - SAN JOSE, CA
DRIVING CAR ON THE FREEWAY IN THE FAR LEFT LANE. E-BRAKE LIGHT TURNED ON WITH THE LOUD ALARM SOUND AS IF I HAD ACTIVATED MY E-BRAKE. I LOST SIGNIFICANT BREAKING POWER AND WAS VERY LUCKY NOBODY STOPPED FAST IN FRONT OF ME WHILE IT HAPPENED. I HAD NO IDEA WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS, BUT IT WAS VERY SCARY ON THE FREEWAY NOT BEING ABLE TO BREAK PROPERLY. I LEARNED IT WAS THE ABS ACTUATOR THAT HAD FAILED, WAS TOLD MY WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED BUT I HAD NO IDEA THERE EVEN WAS A RECALL. IF THEY KNEW THIS WAS AN ISSUE WHY WAS IT NOT FIXED WHEN I HAD MY CAR SERVICED? PT#04003-44647

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/5/2018 - RIDGEFIELD, CT
BOTH FRONT HEADLIGHTS FREQUENTLY TURN OFF AT THE SAME TIME WHILE DRIVING. TURNING THE LIGHTS OFF THEN ON FIXES THE ISSUE TEMPORARILY, UNTIL IT HAPPENS AGAIN A SHORT TIME LATER. THIS HAPPENS MULTIPLE TIMES PER HOUR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/20/2018 - PORTLAND, ME
MY CAR HAD NOT EXHIBITED PREVIOUS PROBLEMS WITH BREAKING. UPON LEAVING SCHOOL, THE ABS, VSC, AND EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON ACCOMPANIED BY A LONG, LOUD, AND CONTINUOUS BEEP. I PULED OVER INTO A PARKING LIGHT AND IT ALL STOPPED. I WAS CLOSE TO HOME AND DECIDED TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE AS THE CAR SEEMED TO BE FINE NOW. UPON APPROACHING A STOP LIGHT, MY CAR PUT ITSELF IN NEUTRAL AND COMPRESSED THE BRAKE ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. I WAS UNABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE, AND HAD TO RUN IT INTO A CURB IN ORDER TO AVOID HITTING THE STOPPED VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I HAD IT TOWED TO A TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE ABS ACTUATOR WAS FAILING. UPON CALLING TOYOTA CUSTOMER CARE, I WAS NOTIFIED OF AN ENHANCED WARRANTY THAT EXISTED THROUGH 12/31/17. HOWEVER, I NEVER RECEIVED AN NOTICE OF THIS WARRANTY NOR HAD MY VEHICLE HAD ANY PROBLEMS PRIOR TO 12/31/17 THAT WOULD SUGGEST TO ME THAT THE CAR'S ABS NEEDED SERVICED. I AM UNABLE TO SAFELY DRIVE MY VEHICLE AND DESPITE TOYOTA'S NEGLIGENCE IN COMMUNICATING THE DEFECT IN THEIR PRODUCT TO ME, THEY REFUSE TO CORRECT THE SITUATION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/13/2018 - WEBSTER, NY
THE BRAKES ON THIS CAR SOMETIMES QUIT WORKING FOR A SECOND WHEN BRAKING OVER BUMPS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/15/2018 - CARY, NC
WE HAVE A 2007 TOYOTA PRIUS AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD WILL NOT SHUT OFF. IT HAS NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENTAND I WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS A SAFETY RECALL FOR THIS. IT DRIVES FINE, I'M JUST WORRIED THAT SOMETHING BAD WILL HAPPEN. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM FOR ABOUT 2-3 MONTHS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/14/2018 - BUENA PARK, CA
IT WAS A SCARY SITUATION ON 08/08/2018, MY +07 TOYOTA PRIUS 2 FAILED TO STOP WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKE TO STOP AND PARK INSTEAD IT ACCELERATED. DRIVING THROUGH THE PARKING LOT OF SEAFOOD CITY IN CERRITOS, CA, LOOKING FOR AN OPEN SPOT, I MAINTAINED PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL TO KEEP A SAFE SPEED. APPROACHING AN OPEN SPOT, I CONTINUED TO KEEP PRESSING THE BRAKE WHILE ENTERING THE SPACE. AS I WAS STRAIGHTENING MY STEERING WHEEL AND APPLYING A HARDER BRAKE TO STOP, I FELT THE CAR ACCELERATE FORWARD, CAUSING MY INSTINCTIVE REACTION TO APPLY EVEN MORE BRAKING PRESSURE ON THE PEDAL. THE CAR CONTINUED FORWARD UNCONTROLLABLY, JUMPING THE CURB OF AN ISLAND, HITTING AND KNOCKING OVER A PALM TREE (APPROXIMATELY 15+ TALL) ONTO A PARKED VEHICLE (CAR #2) TO THE IMMEDIATE LEFT OF THE VEHICLE DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF ME (CAR #1). MY VEHICLE DROVE UP THE TREE AND CAME TO A SHORT REST ON TOP OF THE HOOD OF CAR #1, WHERE MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE THE WHOLE TIME. IMMEDIATELY AFTER STOPPING, AND REALIZING THAT I WAS STILL APPLYING A HARD BRAKE, TRYING TO GAIN CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE BEGAN ROLLING BACKWARDS DOWN THE TREE AND OFF OF THE HOOD OF CAR #1. THE CAR DIDN+T STOP ROLLING BACKWARD DESPITE MY FOOT WAS PRESSING HARD ON THE BRAKE. IT WAS THE COUSIN OF THE OWNER OF CAR #2 WHO REACHED AND PRESSED THE STOP WHERE THAT+S THE ONLY TIME MY CAR STOPPED ROLLING AND CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. IT WAS THE WORST FEELING AS I WAS NOT IN CONTROL OF THE CAR AS THE BRAKE DIDN+T WORK. I WAS SO SHAKEN, ME AND MY HUSBAND WERE DISCUSSING WHAT TO DO. WE IMMEDIATE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND TOLD THEM WHAT HAPPENED, THEY GAVE US THE CORPORATE INSTEAD. THE TOYOTA CORPORATE OFFICE WAS INDORMED BUT WE BELIEVE THAT TOYOTA IS NOT TAKING THIS CASE SERIOUSLY. A POLICE REPORT WAS TAKEN BY OFFICER CLAYTON OF CERRITOS SHERRIFF STATION REF. #918-03548-2318-483

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/13/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
THE BRAKES DID NOT RESPOND WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AT 65 MPH, AND THE CAR STARTED MAKING A LONG SUSTAINED HIGH-PITCHED ELECTRONIC BEEP. THE LIGHTS FOR THE PARKING BRAKE, ABS, AND ANOTHER LIGHT I'M UNFAMILIAR WITH WERE ON. WHEN I PUMPED ON THE BRAKES, THEY FELT UNRESPONSIVE. I TRIED AGAIN BUT KEEPING DOWN ON THE BRAKE AND IT WAS VERY SLOW TO RESPOND. I MANAGED TO GET OFF THE FREEWAY. AT SLOWER SPEEDS I WAS ABLE TO GET THE BRAKES TO WORK, BUT SLOWING DOWN EVEN FROM LESS THAN 20 MPH TOOK SEVERAL YARDS. I CALLED TOYOTA AND THEY SAID IT WAS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE BRAKE ACTUATOR ASSEMBLY, BUT THE WARRANTY EXPIRED IN DECEMBER 2017. AS THE OWNER OF THE CAR, I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED ABOUT THIS KNOWN ISSUE, AND NOT TOLD ABOUT THE WARRANTY, EVEN THOUGH I HAD BEEN TAKING MY CAR TO THE TOYOTA DEALER FOR SCHEDULED SERVICE. THE PART ITSELF IS OVER $2000, BEFORE LABOR, WHICH I CANNOT AFFORD. SO I CAN NO LONGER DRIVE THE CAR BECAUSE I CANNOT AFFORD THE REPAIRS. AND I NEARLY DIED DRIVING WITH A KNOWN SAFETY ISSUE THAT I BELIEVE SHOULD HAVE WARRANTED A FULL SAFETY RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/4/2018 - ROSEVILLE, MN
MY BRAKES HAVE BEGUN TO MAKE SEVERAL DIFFERENT NOISES. UPON RESEARCHES I FOUND THAT THE BRAKE ACTUATORS ARE KNOWN TO FAIL. I+M SCARED TO DRIVE THE CAR AS IT WOULD BE VERY DANGEROUS IF MY BRAKES GO OUT ON THE FREE WAY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

8/1/2018 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE DRIVER'S SIDE HEADLIGHT FLICKERED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS HAD TO BE MANUALLY TURNED OFF AND ON TO FUNCTION NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 224
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds