Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2007 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 1840 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (38)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (4) Latches Locks Linkages (42) Service Brakes Electric (59) Unknown Or Other (52)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1039) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (149) Vehicle Speed Control (118)
Electrical System (214) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Power Train (39) Steering (28) Visibility (18)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (8) Structure (178) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (25) Fuel System Other (6) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (56) Tires (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 222
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2018 - ORLANDO, FL
DASH BOARD GOES BLACK! NO INSTRUMENTATION. TOYOTA STATES THERE WAS A RECALL AND I DID NOT RESPOND. I DID NOT RECEIVE A RECALL NOTICE. THEY REFUSE TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE EMAILS DATING BACK FROM 2014.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/19/2018 - SAINT ROBERT, MO
MY CAR HAS A CLUNKING/RATTLE SOUND WHEN GOING OVER BUMPS OR UNEVEN ROADS EVEN WITHOUT BRAKES SLIGHTLY ENGAGED. IT ALSO DOES THIS WHEN DRIVING OVER 60 MPH ON SMOOTH ROADS BUT IF I TURN WHEELS SLIGHTLY LEFT OR RIGHT THE SOUND STOPS AND WHEN I TURN THEM BACK STRAIGHT IT BEGINS AGAIN. IT IS SO BAD THAT YOU CAN FEEL IT ON YOUR FEET AND STRONGLY THRU THE STEERING COLUM. ALSO THE FRONT TIRES WEAR HEAVILY ON THE INSIDE EDGE. IT FEELS LIKE STEERING COLUMN MAY BE LOOSE AT TIMES. ALSO THE HORN KEEPS BLOWING FUSES AND WHEN YOU PUT A NEW FUSE IN THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WILL SHOCK YOU E EVERY TIME YOU TRY TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. AND THE OUTSIDE AIR TEMP WILL NOT READ TEMP. I HAD NEW TIRES PUT ON TO REPLACE OLD FRONT TIRES AND ROTATED ALL AND BALANCED AND JUST HAD NEW BRAKES PUT ON FROM DEALSHIP. RADIO RECEPTION IS HORRIBLE EVEN THOUGH OTHER VEHICLES IN SAME AREA GET GREAT RECEPTION. I LOVE THIS CAR BUT I DID BUY IT USED SO I AM NOT SURE IF ALL RECALLS HAVE BEEN FIXED OR IF THEY NEED FIXED AGAIN. IT SEEMS LIKE A LOT OF MECHANICS HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE DOING.

View Details

STEERING

6/19/2018 - SAINT ROBERT, MO
MY CAR HAS A CLUNKING/RATTLE SOUND WHEN GOING OVER BUMPS OR UNEVEN ROADS EVEN WITHOUT BRAKES SLIGHTLY ENGAGED. IT ALSO DOES THIS WHEN DRIVING OVER 60 MPH ON SMOOTH ROADS BUT IF I TURN WHEELS SLIGHTLY LEFT OR RIGHT THE SOUND STOPS AND WHEN I TURN THEM BACK STRAIGHT IT BEGINS AGAIN. IT IS SO BAD THAT YOU CAN FEEL IT ON YOUR FEET AND STRONGLY THRU THE STEERING COLUM. ALSO THE FRONT TIRES WEAR HEAVILY ON THE INSIDE EDGE. IT FEELS LIKE STEERING COLUMN MAY BE LOOSE AT TIMES. ALSO THE HORN KEEPS BLOWING FUSES AND WHEN YOU PUT A NEW FUSE IN THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WILL SHOCK YOU E EVERY TIME YOU TRY TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. AND THE OUTSIDE AIR TEMP WILL NOT READ TEMP. I HAD NEW TIRES PUT ON TO REPLACE OLD FRONT TIRES AND ROTATED ALL AND BALANCED AND JUST HAD NEW BRAKES PUT ON FROM DEALSHIP. RADIO RECEPTION IS HORRIBLE EVEN THOUGH OTHER VEHICLES IN SAME AREA GET GREAT RECEPTION. I LOVE THIS CAR BUT I DID BUY IT USED SO I AM NOT SURE IF ALL RECALLS HAVE BEEN FIXED OR IF THEY NEED FIXED AGAIN. IT SEEMS LIKE A LOT OF MECHANICS HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE DOING.

View Details

WHEELS

6/19/2018 - SAINT ROBERT, MO
MY CAR HAS A CLUNKING/RATTLE SOUND WHEN GOING OVER BUMPS OR UNEVEN ROADS EVEN WITHOUT BRAKES SLIGHTLY ENGAGED. IT ALSO DOES THIS WHEN DRIVING OVER 60 MPH ON SMOOTH ROADS BUT IF I TURN WHEELS SLIGHTLY LEFT OR RIGHT THE SOUND STOPS AND WHEN I TURN THEM BACK STRAIGHT IT BEGINS AGAIN. IT IS SO BAD THAT YOU CAN FEEL IT ON YOUR FEET AND STRONGLY THRU THE STEERING COLUM. ALSO THE FRONT TIRES WEAR HEAVILY ON THE INSIDE EDGE. IT FEELS LIKE STEERING COLUMN MAY BE LOOSE AT TIMES. ALSO THE HORN KEEPS BLOWING FUSES AND WHEN YOU PUT A NEW FUSE IN THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WILL SHOCK YOU E EVERY TIME YOU TRY TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. AND THE OUTSIDE AIR TEMP WILL NOT READ TEMP. I HAD NEW TIRES PUT ON TO REPLACE OLD FRONT TIRES AND ROTATED ALL AND BALANCED AND JUST HAD NEW BRAKES PUT ON FROM DEALSHIP. RADIO RECEPTION IS HORRIBLE EVEN THOUGH OTHER VEHICLES IN SAME AREA GET GREAT RECEPTION. I LOVE THIS CAR BUT I DID BUY IT USED SO I AM NOT SURE IF ALL RECALLS HAVE BEEN FIXED OR IF THEY NEED FIXED AGAIN. IT SEEMS LIKE A LOT OF MECHANICS HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE DOING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/15/2018 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE AUTOMATIC BRAKES ON THE CAR CEASED WORKING. IF I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND BACK ON, THE BRAKES WOULD WORK AGAIN FOR A LITTLE WHILE BEFORE HAVING TO STOP AND START AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO GO ABOUT A 1/2 MILE EACH TIME BEFORE STOPPING TO TURN OFF AND ON. THE CAR WAS TRAVELING DOWN A TWO-LANE HIGHWAY WITHOUT A SHOULDER AND THEN ON CITY STREETS. WHEN I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, I WAS INFORMED THAT A BRAKE ACTUATOR REPLACEMENT WAS NEEDED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE WARRANT EXPIRED ON DECEMBER 31, 2017, AND I DIDN'T EXPERIENCE THE PROBLEM UNTIL NOW, THE ISSUE WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER ANY RECALL WARRANTY. I'VE NOW GOT A USELESS CAR, WHICH WOULD COST OVER $2000 TO REPAIR. BECAUSE THE BRAKES STILL WORK SOMETIMES, THE ACTUATOR HAS NOT FULLY GONE OUT YET, BUT THE CAR IS BASICALLY UN-DRIVEABLE. I NEVER RECEIVED ANY RECALL NOTICES ABOUT THIS ISSUE. MOREOVER, BECAUSE I WAS NOT HAVING THE PROBLEM UNTIL NOW, IT'S UNLIKELY THAT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WOULD'VE COVERED ME IN THE FIRST PLACE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/14/2018 - BOCA RATON, FL
WHILE DRIVING AND IN MOTION, WARNING LIGHTS WENT OFF. BROUGHT TO DEALER WHO SAID IT WAS A DEFECTIVE BRAKE ACTUATOR. TOYOTA HAD AN EXTENDED HIDDEN WARRANTY ON THE BRAKE ACTUATOR AND DIDN'T TELL THE CONSUMER. THE CAR HAD BEEN REGULARLY SERVICED MANY TIMES OVER THE PAST 10 YEARS. THE DEALER NEVER CHECKED IT DESPITE IT MAKING NOISE. THE ACTUATOR FAILED MAKING THE CAR UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE CAR WAS BROUGHT BACK TO THE DEALER TODAY BUT TOYOTA SAID THE EXTENDED WARRANTY EXPIRED LAST DECEMBER. I ESCALATED TO CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY REFUSED TO FIX IT DESPITE THIS KNOWN DEFECTIVE AND DANGEROUS DEFECT IN THEIR CAR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/8/2018 - RICHFIELD, MN
HEADLIGHTS TURN OFF. GENERALLY ONE AT A TIME, NORMALLY THE DRIVERS SIDE BUT SOMETIMES IT IS BOTH HEADLIGHTS. THIS HAPPENS EACH TIME I DRIVE WITH MY HEADLIGHTS ON. I DRIVE AT NIGHT WITH THE HEADLIGHTS ON AT A MINIMUM OF 6 DAYS A WEEK BECAUSE OF WORK OR SCHOOL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/29/2018 - WPB, FL
HEADLIGHTS ARE UNRELIABLE, THEY CAN GO OFF (ONE OR BOTH) AT ANY TIME. THIS PROBLEM IS WELL DOCUMENTED ON MANY INTERNET SITES

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/29/2018 - WPB, FL
HEADLIGHTS ARE UNRELIABLE, THEY CAN GO OFF (ONE OR BOTH) AT ANY TIME. THIS PROBLEM IS WELL DOCUMENTED ON MANY INTERNET SITES

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/25/2018 - MINGUS, TX
HEADLIGHTS FLICKER THEN WILL SHUT OFF COMPLETELYWHILE DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY.. NO DASH LIGHTS. HAVE TO TURN CAR OFF AND ON

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 222
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds