Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 423 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (34) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (65) Steering (36) Vehicle Speed Control (107)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (54) Visibility (1)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (17) Suspension (92) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (7) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/6/2017 - THURMONT, MD
FRAME WAS INSPECTED AND IT IS RUSTING,

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/30/2017 - CANAAN, NH
ON 29 NOV. 2017, WHILE DRIVING BACK FROM AN ERRAND, THE AB BREAK WARNING SYSTEM TURNED ON. AT THAT INSTANCE, I LOST THE BREAKING CAPABILITY OF MY TRUCK. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NEAR MY HOME AND MANAGED TO PARK THE VEHICLE IN MY DRIVEWAY, USING THE PARKING BREAK AND PUMPING ON THE BREAK PEDAL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/28/2017 - NEWIBERIA, LA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE SWERVED IN FRONT OF THE CONTACT CAUSING TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A TRACTOR TRAILER. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE INJURIES SUSTAINED THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A COLLISION CENTER AND WAS DEEMED TOTALED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/23/2017 - WEST SACRAMENTO, CA
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE & WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS A BACK ORDER OF THE PART. AN INSPECTION INDICATED NO IMMEDIATE DANGER SO I WAS PLACED ON A WAITING LIST FOR THE LEAF SPRINGS & WOULD BE CALLED, BUT MONTHS PASSED &I WASN'T CALLED. I CHECKED MANY TIMES & IN BETWEEN CALLS, THEY GAVE MY PART TO ANOTHER CUSTOMER.WHEN THEY GOT ANOTHER SET, I ARRIVED FOR THE APPT &WAS TOLD THAT THEY COULD NOT DO THE REPLACEMENT OF THE LEAF SPRINGS BECAUSE THERE WAS A LIFT BLOCK INSTALLED. I WAS TOLD THE ONLY WAY THAT I CAN HAVE THE RECALL COMPLETED WAS TO PAY TO HAVE THE LIFT REMOVED FROM ANOTHER SHOP & THEN TOYOTA WOULD DO THE RECALL WORK. I PRICED THE COST OF HAVING THE LIFT REMOVED AND WAS TOLD BY THE AFTERMARKET SHOP THAT OTHER TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS WERE DOING THE LEAF SPRING RECALL WORK WITHOUT REQUIRING THE LIFT TO BE REMOVED. I TOLD THE DEALERSHIP & THEY STILL SAID THEY WOULD NOT DO THE WORK. I AM UNABLE TO AFFORD THE LIFT REMOVAL AND REINSTALLATION, THE MODIFICATION THAT WAS DONE TO THE TRUCK IS A SIMPLE BLOCK THAT IS PUT UNDER THE LEAF SPRINGS SO ALL THAT TOYOTA WOULD NEED TO DO IS THE SAME WORK THEY WOULD ALREADY BE DOING IF THE LIFT WAS NOT PRESENT; THE ONLY DIFFERENCE IS REMOVING 1 LIFT BLOCK FROM EACH REAR SIDE, & PUTTING IT BACK WHEN THEY PUT NEW LEAF SPRING ON. I EVEN TOLD THEM I'M WILLING TO SIGN ANY WAIVER NECESSARY. I AM UNABLE TO AFFORD THE WORK THEY ARE SAYING IS MANDATORY BEFORE THEY COMPLETE THE RECALL & AS TIME PASSES I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY VEHICLE INCLUDING THE RUST SPOTS ON THE LEAF SPRINGS. THE DEALERSHIPS THAT ARE WILLING TO DO THE RECALL SAID THEY WILL REPLACE THE LEAF SPRINGS BUT WHEN REASSEMBLING IT THEY WILL NOT PUT THE BLOCK BACK WHICH MEANS MY VEHICLE WOULD BE LIFTED IN THE FRONT BUT NOT IN THE REAR AND IT WOULD HAVE TO BE TOWED( UNABLE TO DRIVE IN THAT CONDITION) TO A SHOP TO REDO ALL THE WORK TOYOTA JUST PERFORMED!

View Details

STEERING

9/5/2017 - MONROE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER STEERING KNUCKLE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED, BUT WAS IN THE PROCESS. THE LOCAL DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED OR MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/31/2017 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V604000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT CALLED KEARNY MESA TOYOTA (LOCATED AT 4910 KEARNY MESA RD, SAN DIEGO, CA 92111 (858) 430-2600) ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE DEALER CALLED BACK AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE AVAILABLE AND SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/28/2017 - ATHENS, GA
THERE IS A RECALL CAN'T GET MY TOYATO DEALERSHIP TO FIX THE RECALL GAVE THEM A COPY OF RECALL PAPER THAT I GOT

View Details

STEERING

7/19/2017 - NORTH PROVIDENCE, RI
STEERING SEIZED, LATER DETERMINED TO BE A SEVERELY CORRODED INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT U JOINT. WAS TURNING A CORNER AT THE TIME AND WAS ABLE TO GAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. LATER LEARNED THROUGH ONLINE RESEARCH THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE WITH THIS VEHICLE. DEALER TRIED TO LUBRICATE. BUT LATER REPLACED THE SHAFT AS THE JOINT CONTINUED TO BIND.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/18/2017 - ATHENS, GA
FOR THE LAST YEAR HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET LOCAL TOYATO DEALERSHIP (HEYWARD ALLEN TOYATO) TO REPAIR THE RECALL KEEP GETTING SAME ANSWER WE HAVE NO PRODUCT WILL CALL YOU WHEN SOME COME IN. THE SAME ANSWER OVER AND OVER. I WANT THIS DONE ASAP. IF SOMETHING HAPPEN TO ME OR MY TRUCK I AM GOING TO SUE HEYWARD ALLEN TOYATO. I DO NOT WANT TO DO BUSINESS WITH THEM IS THERE ANYWHERE ELSE CLOSE THAT I CAN TAKE MY TRUCK. AND I WANT THEM TO PAY FOR MY GAS GETTING THERE WHY? BECAUSE THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE 6-9 MONTHS AGO. I HAVE SPOKE WITH FRIENDS AND STRANGERS WHO HAVE HAD THERE'S DONE MONTHS AGO THE SAME TIME THEY WHERE TELLING ME THERE WERE NONE AVAILABLE. THAT THEY WOULD CALL ME WHEN SOME CAME AVAILABLE THAT WAS IN MARCH OF 2017.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/13/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
OVER THE LAST ++18 MONTHS, WHEN AC IS ON, THE TRUCK IDLE WILL IDLE AT ABOUT 1500-1800RPM. AFTER HAVING MECHANIC DO A COUPLE THROTTLE BODY CLEANING IT DID COME DOWN BELOW 1000-1200RPM. FOR THE LAST 5 MONTHS, WHEN SHIFTING (EITHER UP OR DOWN) BETWEEN 4TH & 5TH GEAR, THE ENGINE SURGE TO 3200-3600 RPM AS SOON AS CLUTCH IS DEPRESSED + ACCELERATOR IS RELEASED. IN 2011 WHEN THE DEALER DID RECALL # 09V388000, THE ENGINE SURGING ISSUE WAS NOT THAT AS SEVERE AS IT IS TODAY. IN LAST 3 MONTHS, BESIDE ENGINE REVVING UP , I STARTED GETTING ENGINE ERROR CODES. 07/12/2017 TOOK MY TACOMA TRUCK TO DEALER FOR AVAILABLE RECALLS: 12V092: AIR BAG SPIRAL CABLE 13V337: SEAT BELTS 14V604: REAR LEAF SPRINGS; THESE BROKE IN JANUARY 2013 & I REPLACED BOTH SIDES WITH SKYJACKERS TCR515S (4LEAFS) AND I HAVE NO INTENTION TO REPLACE THEM. I THINK THAT IN EARLY 2011, THE DEALER DID RECALL 09V388000 BUT THIS DEALER COULD NOT FIND ANY REFERENCE TO IT SO THEY WOULD NOT ADDRESS THAT ISSUE; BUT HE WOULD WANT TO OPEN ENGINE TO CHECK THAT TIMING CHAIN IS NOT DEFECTIVE/ OFF WHICH HE CLAIMED IS THE CAUSE OF THE SURGING BETWEEN 4TH/5TH GEAR. THIS DIAGNOSTIC WOULD BE AT MY COST. I REFUSE BECAUSE I DISAGREE WITH THIS LOGIC, I DO NOT HAVE LOST OF POWER BUT ONLY ENGINE REVVING UP LIKE CRAZY AND HIGH IDDLE WHEN CLUTCH IS DEPRESSED

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds