Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 361 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (56) Steering (29) Vehicle Speed Control (102)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (42) Visibility (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (61) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (6) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

5/11/2016 - SANDY SPRINGS, GA
NHTSA RECALL: 14V-604- RECEIVED NOTICE STATING "THE REMEDY WILL TAKE APPROXIMATELY TWO HOURS." I CALLED RICK HENDRICK TOYOTA SCION SANDY SPRINGS AND I WAS INFORMED THAT IT IS A TWO STEP PROCESS THE FIRST STEP LASTING 2 HOURS. THEN IF NEEDED THEY WILL ORDER THE PARTS ("WE DON'T KEEP THEM ON HAND AS THE BOXES ARE TOO BIG") TAKING 2 WEEKS THEN ANOTHER 2 PLUS HOURS TO INSTALL. NOW THAT IS NOT WHAT THE NOTICE STATES, IT STATES TWO HOURS ( I KNOW I SEE THE RESTOF THE PARAGRAPH) BUT REALLY DOUBLE IF NOT TRIPLE THE STATED TIME AND 2 WEEKS TO WAIT JUST DOES SEEM TO BE IN THE KEEPING OF THE SPIRIT OF THE CONTRACT. CRAIG

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/9/2016 - WESTBOROUGH, MA
I PURCHASED A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA FROM BERNARDI TOYOTA IN FRAMINGHAM, MA IN DECEMBER OF 2008. TOYOTA MOTOR SALES, USA, INC. ISSUED A SERVICE CAMPAIGN TO INSPECT AND REPAIR THE FRAMES OF 2007 TOYOTA TACOMAS DUE TO A MANUFACTURER DEFECT WHICH RESULTED IN CORROSION TO THE VEHICLES FRAME. I BROUGHT MY TOYOTA TACOMA IN FOR INSPECTION AT BERNARDI TOYOTA AND THE FRAME DID NOT HAVE A HOLE IN IT. THEREFORE, THE FRAME WAS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR REPLACEMENT, RATHER IT WAS ONLY ELIGIBLE TO BE SPRAYED WITH A COATING THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO PREVENT CORROSION. IN MARCH OF 2016, I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR A DEFECT IN THE MANUFACTURING OF THE VEHICLES LEAF SPRINGS (ALSO CORROSION RELATED). I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN FOR THE RECALL AND BERNARDI TOYOTA NOTICED A HOLE IN THE FRAME. BERNARDI CONTACTED TOYOTA CORPORATE TO REPLACE THE FRAME; HOWEVER, WAS REFUSED. I CONTACTED TOYOTA AS WELL AND THEY ALSO REFUSED TO REPLACE THE FRAME WITH A KNOWN MANUFACTURER DEFECT, DESPITE REPLACING FRAMES FOR OTHER CUSTOMERS. IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE SPRAY APPLIED TO THE FRAME DID NOT WORK TO PREVENT FURTHER CORROSION. TOYOTA REPLACED THE FRAME ON TRUCKS WITH HOLES IN THE FRAME SIMILAR TO MINE, BUT REFUSES TO REPLACE THE FRAME ON MY TRUCK EVEN THOUGH THE PROBLEM IS DIRECTLY CORROSION RELATED AND THE SPRAY THEY APPLIED DID NOT PREVENT THE FRAME FROM RUSTING THROUGH. THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT WHICH WAS NOT SUFFICIENTLY ADDRESSED BY TOYOTA. TOYOTA SHOULD PROVIDE ME WITH AN EQUAL REMEDY THAT THEY PROVIDED TO OTHER TOYOTA TACOMA OWNERS AND THAT IS A FRAME REPLACEMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/9/2016 - HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC
DRIVING NORMALLY AND APPROACHED A STOPLIGHT WITH A STOPPED TRUCK AHEAD. APPLIED THE BRAKE AND MY VEHICLE BEGAN TO ACCELERATE. STRUCK THE STOPPED TRUCK WITH PRESSURE STILL ON THE BRAKE AND THE ACCELERATION STOPPED. MINIMAL DAMAGE AND NO INJURY INVOLVED. VERY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE. THE TRUCK WAS TOWED TO THE TOYATA DEALER( AFRAID TO DRIVE IT) AND THEY COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/2/2016 - WELLINGTON, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V604000 (SUSPENSION). HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/29/2016 - SAYVILLE, NY
LAST FALL I RECEIVED A LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN FOLLOW-UP NOTICE FROM TOYOTA MOTOR SALES, U.S.A., INC. REGARDING POTENTIAL HAZARDOUS SITUATIONS ARISING FROM POSSIBLE FRAME PERFORATIONS. THEIR LETTER SAID AND I QUOTE 'SOME VEHICLES MAY NOT HAVE SUFFICIENT CORROSION-RESISTANT PROTECTION...THIS MAY CONTRIBUTE TO THE DEVELOPMENT OF MORE-THAN-NORMAL RUST IN THE FRAME OF SOME VEHICLES'. THE LETTER SUGGESTED THE OWNERS OF SAID VEHICLES SCHEDULE AN INSPECTION AT A PARTICIPATING DEALERSHIP NO LATER THAN THE MARCH 31, 2016 EXPIRATION DATE. THE INSPECTION WAS PERFORMED ON DECEMBER 11, 2015 AT SUNRISE TOYOTA, 4002 SUNRISE HWY., OAKDALE, NY 11769, (631) 589-9000 AND A PERFORATION OF THE FRAME ON THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE WHEEL WELL WAS DISCOVERED. THE DEALERSHIP INFORMED ME THAT IT PRESENTED A SAFETY CONCERN THAT WOULD REQUIRE TOTAL REPLACEMENT. AT THIS POINT I WAS TOLD IT WAS ORDERED AND WOULD TAKE 4-6 WEEKS TO ARRIVE. AT 8 WEEKS I HAD TO MAKE THE FIRST CONTACT. THEY SAID NOW IT COULD BE BETWEEN 3-4 MONTHS BUT NEVER REACHED OUT TO INFORM ME OF THIS CHANGE. AT 12 AND 16 WEEKS I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN TO NO AVAIL. THEY HAVE NO IDEA OF A DELIVERY DATE AND DON'T SEEM TO CARE. AT THIS POINT I CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY PROVIDED ME TWO THINGS. THEY WOULD HAVE SUNRISE TOYOTAS CUSTOMER RELATIONS MANAGER CALL ME ALSO TO ABSOLUTELY NO AVAIL AND TO PROVIDE ME A REFERENCE NUMBER [XXX] FOR MY COMPLAINT. PLEASE EXERCISE INFLUENCE ON SUNRISE TOYOTA TO ADDRESS THIS HAZARDOUS SITUATION PROMPTLY AND WITH FULL DISCLOSURE. THANK YOU VERY MUCH. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/28/2016 - TARENTUM, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD MODERATE TO SEVERE CORROSION ON THE FRAME AND IT NEEDED TO BE SPRAYED WITH ANTI-CORROSIVE ADHESIVE). THE TECHNICIAN WAS NOT ABLE TO APPLY THE ADHESIVE UNTIL THE PARTS FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V604000 (SUSPENSION) WERE AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REMEDIED FOR THE RECALL AFTER ONE YEAR AND A HALF. PRIOR TO THE REMEDY, THE LEAF SPRING HAD FRACTURED. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, THE TECHNICIAN REFUSED TO APPLY THE ADHESIVE SPRAY. THE REPRESENTATIVE FROM TOYOTA INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT DUE TO GOVERNMENT REGULATION THAT THE VEHICLE COULD NOT HAVE THE ADHESIVE APPLIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/28/2016 - TARENTUM, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD MODERATE TO SEVERE CORROSION ON THE FRAME AND IT NEEDED TO BE SPRAYED WITH ANTI-CORROSIVE ADHESIVE). THE TECHNICIAN WAS NOT ABLE TO APPLY THE ADHESIVE UNTIL THE PARTS FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V604000 (SUSPENSION) WERE AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REMEDIED FOR THE RECALL AFTER ONE YEAR AND A HALF. PRIOR TO THE REMEDY, THE LEAF SPRING HAD FRACTURED. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, THE TECHNICIAN REFUSED TO APPLY THE ADHESIVE SPRAY. THE REPRESENTATIVE FROM TOYOTA INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT DUE TO GOVERNMENT REGULATION THAT THE VEHICLE COULD NOT HAVE THE ADHESIVE APPLIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/20/2016 - BEAR CREEK, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V604000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/19/2016 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V604000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

TIRES

4/19/2016 - HUNTINGTON, WV
DUNLOP AT20 P245/75/R16 DOT M670 C8ER 1012, TIRES ARE THE SECOND SET TO BE REPLAED ON MY 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. FIRST SET FAILED TO MEET THE MANUFACTURES WARRANTY OF 70K MILES WITH ONLY 43K ON TIRES. WERE REPLACED AFTER MUCH HAGELING WITH GOOD YEAR. AFTER PUTTING 23K ON SECOND SET OF TIRES, FOUND ONE WITH A LARGE BUBBLE IN THE OUTER SIDEWALL. IF THIS TIRE WERE TO HAVE BLOWN OUT, A TRUCK THIS SIZE WOULD HAVE LOST CONTROL AND THE POSSIBLITY OF SEVERE INJURIES WERE PRESENT. AGAIN I AM HAGELING WITH GOOD YEAR TO REPLACE THE TIRE, ALTHOUGH DEFECTIVE, I AM EXPECTED TO PAY 43.00 COST TO REPLACE IT. THIS ON A DEFECTIVE PRODUCT, AND SHOULD BE AT NO COST TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds