Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 264 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (50) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (99)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (2) Structure (23) Visibility (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (21) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/16/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
FRAME PERFORATED DUE TO RUST AND CORROSION PRIMARILY AREAS ADJACENT TO CATALYTIC CONVERTER. FRAME HAS APPROXIMATELY 2 INCH PERFORATION AND IS GETTING WORSE.

View Details

STEERING

6/24/2014 - ROUND TOP, NY
WHILE DRIVING ONTO ENTRANCE RAMP OF HIGHWAY, ATTEMPTING TO MERGE ONTO TRAFFIC, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY STIFF WITH LOSS OF POWER STEERING. I PULLED HARDER TO ENTER HIGHWAY AND STEERING FINALLY CAUGHT CAUSING ME TO SWERVE OVER ALMOST HITTING VEHICLE IN FAR LEFT LANE. CHECKED POWER STEERING AND IS FULL. DID SOME INTERNET SEARCHES AND HAVE COME UP WITH SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME ISSUE. THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING COLUMN BECOMES FAULTY AND IS DANGEROUS. THIS CAN CAUSE DEATH OR SERIOUS INJURY. TOYOTA SHOULD ISSUE RECALL ON THIS PART AND HAVE REPLACED. STEERING COLUMN JOINT IS NOT PROTECTED FROM THE ELEMENTS AND BECOMES RUSTED AWAY.

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2014 - HARWINTON, CT
PULLED OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY TO FIND THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS INTERMITTENTLY STIFF DURING TURNING. BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE UNTIL I TOOK IT TO A DEALER TO FIND THAT THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT WAS APPARENTLY BAD. DOING SOME RESEARCH ONLINE FOUND THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE. I CAN NO LONGER HAVE MY WIFE OR CHILDREN USE MY TOYOTA TACOMA FOR FEAR THAT SHE DOES NOT HAVE THE PHYSICAL STRENGTH TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

5/27/2014 - BEDFORD HILLS, NY
THE FRAME IS RAPIDLY RUSTING THROUGH. THIS VEHICLE: A) WAS PURCHASE NEW BY ME IN 2006, B) IS STORED IN A FULLY ENCLOSED GARAGE, C) IS NOT USED FOR COMMERCIAL PURPOSES, D) MY HOME IS IN WESTCHESTER COUNTY, NY (IMMEDIATELY NORTH OF NEW YORK CITY AND NOT A HOSTILE VEHICLE ENVIRONMENT) AND E) THE TRUCK HAS VERY LOW MILEAGE - 31,000 MI. THE FRAME HAS RUSTED ENTIRELY THROUGH IN TWO PLACES AND SHOWS EXTENSIVE RUST THROUGHOUT, INCLUDING AT POINTS JOINING THE FRAME TO THE CHASSIS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

5/27/2014 - BEDFORD HILLS, NY
THE FRAME IS RAPIDLY RUSTING THROUGH. THIS VEHICLE: A) WAS PURCHASE NEW BY ME IN 2006, B) IS STORED IN A FULLY ENCLOSED GARAGE, C) IS NOT USED FOR COMMERCIAL PURPOSES, D) MY HOME IS IN WESTCHESTER COUNTY, NY (IMMEDIATELY NORTH OF NEW YORK CITY AND NOT A HOSTILE VEHICLE ENVIRONMENT) AND E) THE TRUCK HAS VERY LOW MILEAGE - 31,000 MI. THE FRAME HAS RUSTED ENTIRELY THROUGH IN TWO PLACES AND SHOWS EXTENSIVE RUST THROUGHOUT, INCLUDING AT POINTS JOINING THE FRAME TO THE CHASSIS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/25/2014 - SANTA ANA , CA
JUST LEAVING WORK TO GO PICK UP MY CHILDREN FROM SCHOOL, I NOTICED A STRANGE RATTLING COMING FROM THE BOTTOM SIDE OF MY TRUCK. I STOP AND PROCEEDED TO SEE WHAT IT MIGHT BE. I NOTICED THE MIDDLE (OF THREE) LEAF SPRINGS HAD COMPLETELY BROKE, SLID OUT OF PLACE, AND WAS RUBBING AGAINST MY BRAKE LINE. I THEN TAPED IT BACK IN PLACE TO PREVENT ANY FURTHER DAMAGE TO MY BRAKE LINE. THE FOLLOWING AFTERNOON I WAS ABLE TO TAKE THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THE SERVICE ADVISOR (#8987) THAT THERE WAS NO SIGN OF ANY EXTERNAL SHOCK OR DAMAGE THAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THIS. HE THEN EXPLAINED TO ME THAT HE "SAW NO REASON WHY THIS COULD HAVE HAPPENED".

View Details

STEERING

5/5/2014 - HUMMELSTOWN, PA
TRUCK STEERING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, PARTICULARLY AT LOWER SPEEDS, BECAME STIFF AT TIMES AND REQUIRED MORE FORCE TO MAKE EITHER A RIGHT OR LEFT TURN. IT DID SEEM TO AFFECT THE STEERING WHEN GOING STRAIGHT, MEANING IT DID NOT DRIFT OR PULL TO THE RIGHT OR LEFT, EVEN ON TAPERED ROAD SURACE. WHEEL DID NOT PULL WHEN BRAKING. I UNDERSTAND THERE MAYBE BULLETIN CONCERNING THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/24/2014 - MINERAL WELLS, WV
WAS APPROACHING A RED TRAFFIC SIGNAL, COASTING IN CASE THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN BEFORE THE NEED TO STOP. LIGHT WAS STILL RED, SO I STEPPED LIGHTLY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE WAS NO SIGN OF BRAKING. I THEN INCREASED PRESSURE ON THE PEDAL, WITH NO BRAKING ACTION. SURPRISED AND CONCERNED, I THEN SET MY LEFT FOOT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL AND PUSHED WITH ALL I HAD WITH BOTH FEET, BUT THERE WAS NO BRAKING ACTION THAT I COULD FEEL. THE TRUCK STOPPED AS IT BUMPED THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. ENGINE SPEED WAS NORMAL WHEN THE EVENT BEGAN, AND WHEN THE EVENT ENDED. I DID HEAR A RELATIVELY MINOR INCREASE IN ENGINE SPEED DURING THE EVENT. THE BRAKES WORKED PROPERLY BEFORE AND AFTER THE EVENT. ONE ADDITIONAL NOTE. FOR YEARS I HAVE NOTICED A FEW TIMES PER YEAR A MOMENTARY INCREASE IN ENGINE SPEED IMMEDIATELY AFTER STOPPING AT A TRAFFIC SIGNAL. YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL HAPPEN. THE SPEED INCREASE IS GREATER THAT AN A/C SPEED PICKUP, BUT LASTS ONLY BRIEFLY, THEN RETURNS TO IDLE. I KEEP MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL WITH ENOUGH PRESSURE THAT THE TRUCK DOES NOT MOVE FORWARD. HAD TRUCK TOWED TO DEALER FOLLOWING THE INCIDENT. DEALER FOUND NOTHING WRONG. THEY SPOKE WITH TOYOTA REPS AND WERE TOLD TOYOTA WAS UNAWARE OF ANY PROBLEM. UNABLE TO TRUST THE TRUCK AND HAVING BEEN ADVISED THAT FORD HAD SIMILAR BRAKE FAILURES IN THE PAST CAUSED BY ABS BRAKE ACTUATOR, I PAID THE DEALER TO REPLACE THE ACTUATOR. AFTER SPENDING MORE THAN $1200 FOR REPAIR, I STILL DO NOT KNOW IF THE BRAKES WILL FAIL AGAIN. A BRIEF INTERNET SEARCH INDICATES TO ME THAT THIS WAS NOT A LOAN, RANDOM EVENT AS INDICATED BY TOYOTA REPS. THE CONSEQUENCES OF BRAKE FAILURE ARE SERIOUS. THE DEALER DID PROVIDE ME WITH THE ORIGINAL ACTUATOR THAT WAS REMOVED FROM THE TRUCK DURING THE REPAIR WORK. I WILL PROVIDE THE ORIGINAL ACTUATOR FOR ANY LEGITIMATE AGENCY TO CHECK IT OUT IF THAT COULD BE HELPFUL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/23/2014 - STUART, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE SITTING AT A TRAFFIC STOP, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY MOVED FORWARD WHEN HE REMOVED HIS FOOT FROM THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED THE MANUFACTURER OF THE FAILURE BUT NO REMEDY WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000. UPDATED 6/2/14

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/31/2014 - N BILLERCA, MA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, SHE HEARD A POPPING SOUND IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP WITHOUT WARNING, STEERED THE VEHICLE TO THE RIGHT WHERE IT CRASHED INTO A POLE. THE DRIVER WAS INJURED WITH A FRACTURED PELVIS. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED AND WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000. UPDATED 05/05/2014 UPDATED 05/09/2014

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds