Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 276 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (50) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (99)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (25) Visibility (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (23) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/15/2014 - CHARLEMONT, MA
I FIRST NOTICED THAT THE STEERING ON MY 2007 TACOMA IS VERY OFTEN EXTREMELY STIFF TURNING IN EITHER DIRECTION LAST YEAR. I BROUGHT IT IN TO THE DEALER TO CHECK IT OUT. WAS TOLD: "LOWER SHAFT STARTING TO GET STIFF". WAS QUOTED A REPLACEMENT/REPAIR COST AROUND $550. COULD NOT AFFORD THAT AT THE TIME. THIS PROBLEM HAD BEEN INTERMITTENT BUT NOW HAPPENS NEARLY EVERY TIME I USE THE VEHICLE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT COULD LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT. LOOKS LIKE I WILL HAVE TO PAY TOYOTA TO FIX THIS. MY RESEARCH INDICATES THAT THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE "STEERING INTERMEDIATE SHAFT NUMBER 2". IT SEEMS THIS PART IS EITHER DEFECTIVE OR POORLY DESIGNED AS THERE ARE NUMEROUS REPORTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE ON MANY AUTOMOTIVE WEBSITES WHICH SPECIFICALLY CITE THIS VEHICLE FOR A RANGE OF YEARS FROM 2005 ON.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/10/2014 - WINGO, KY
WHEN I REMOVED THE BABY SEAT FROM THE REAR DRIVER SIDE SEAT TO TAKE A TRIP AFTER RETURNING I COULD NOT GET THE SEAT BELT TO LOCK IN PLACE AFTER SEVERAL TRIES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/3/2014 - DAPHNE, AL
AT APPROXIMATELY 42000 MILES I NOTICED A VIBRATION IN THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE WHEEL. I HAD ALL FOUR WHEELS REPLACED AND THE VIBRATION CONTINUED SO I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO ESTABROOK TOYOTA IN PASCAGOULA, MS (BECAUSE THAT IS WHERE I WAS AT THE TIME). WHEN I WENT TO PICK THE VEHICLE UP I WAS TOLD THE REPAIR MANAGER HAD PERSONALLY CHECKED THE CAR OUT AND DETERMINED IT WAS THE RIGHT FRONT BEARING SO IT WAS REPLACED AND SUPPOSEDLY TEST DRIVEN. I LEFT THE STORE AND IMMEDIATELY FELT THE VIBRATION ONCE AGAIN ON THE LEFT FRONT SO I BROUGHT THE CAR RIGHT BACK AND THEY REPLACED THE LEFT FRONT BEARING AS I HAD INITIALLY IDENTIFIED AS THE PROBLEM AREA AND THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. NOW, TWO YEARS LATER THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL BEARING HAS GONE OUT ONCE AGAIN AND I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/3/2014 - DAPHNE, AL
AT APPROXIMATELY 42000 MILES I NOTICED A VIBRATION IN THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE WHEEL. I HAD ALL FOUR WHEELS REPLACED AND THE VIBRATION CONTINUED SO I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO ESTABROOK TOYOTA IN PASCAGOULA, MS (BECAUSE THAT IS WHERE I WAS AT THE TIME). WHEN I WENT TO PICK THE VEHICLE UP I WAS TOLD THE REPAIR MANAGER HAD PERSONALLY CHECKED THE CAR OUT AND DETERMINED IT WAS THE RIGHT FRONT BEARING SO IT WAS REPLACED AND SUPPOSEDLY TEST DRIVEN. I LEFT THE STORE AND IMMEDIATELY FELT THE VIBRATION ONCE AGAIN ON THE LEFT FRONT SO I BROUGHT THE CAR RIGHT BACK AND THEY REPLACED THE LEFT FRONT BEARING AS I HAD INITIALLY IDENTIFIED AS THE PROBLEM AREA AND THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. NOW, TWO YEARS LATER THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL BEARING HAS GONE OUT ONCE AGAIN AND I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE.

View Details

WHEELS

10/3/2014 - DAPHNE, AL
AT APPROXIMATELY 42000 MILES I NOTICED A VIBRATION IN THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE WHEEL. I HAD ALL FOUR WHEELS REPLACED AND THE VIBRATION CONTINUED SO I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO ESTABROOK TOYOTA IN PASCAGOULA, MS (BECAUSE THAT IS WHERE I WAS AT THE TIME). WHEN I WENT TO PICK THE VEHICLE UP I WAS TOLD THE REPAIR MANAGER HAD PERSONALLY CHECKED THE CAR OUT AND DETERMINED IT WAS THE RIGHT FRONT BEARING SO IT WAS REPLACED AND SUPPOSEDLY TEST DRIVEN. I LEFT THE STORE AND IMMEDIATELY FELT THE VIBRATION ONCE AGAIN ON THE LEFT FRONT SO I BROUGHT THE CAR RIGHT BACK AND THEY REPLACED THE LEFT FRONT BEARING AS I HAD INITIALLY IDENTIFIED AS THE PROBLEM AREA AND THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. NOW, TWO YEARS LATER THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL BEARING HAS GONE OUT ONCE AGAIN AND I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/1/2014 - ENDICOTT, NY
PARKING BRAKE CABLES FRACTURE OF THE HOUSING AT THE POINT WHERE CABLE ENTERS REAR BRAKE BACKING PLATE. RUST AND CORROSION PREVENT THE REAR BRAKES FROM RELEASING OR APPLYING. HAVE SEEN ON NUMEROUS OTHER TOYOTA VEHICLES WITH THIS DESIGN CABLE SYSTEM FROM 2004 TO 2012 MODEL YEARS. REAR BRAKES CAN OVERHEAT AND CAUSE FIRE OR UNEVEN BRAKE OPERATION AND LOW PEDAL FEEL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/25/2014 - HONESDALE, PA
I TOOK THE TRUCK IN FOR IT'S YEARLY INSPECTION AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRAME WILL NOT PASS INSPECTION NEXT YEAR. IT WAS SUGGESTED THAT I CHECK IF THIS TRUCK FRAME WAS UNDER A RECALL. I SPOKE WITH MY TOYOTA DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS TRUCK DOES NOT FALL UNDER CURRENT CRITERIA. I HAVE CALLED TOYOTA EXPERIENCE TO LODGE MY COMPLAINT THAT THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE THAT A TRUCK WITH 51335 MILES FRAME HAS RUSTED SO BADLY THAT IT WILL NOT PASS INSPECTION. I AM WAITING FOR TOYOTA TO FOLLOW UP WITH A BROADENED CRITERIA THAT WILL REPAIR MY TRUCK FRAME.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/18/2014 - TOA BAJA, PR
CONSTANT NOISE IN THE LEAF SPRING AND CATASTROPHIC FAILURE. DEALERS IN PUERTO RICO NEVER REPLACED THEM KNOWING THEY WERE DAMAGE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2014 - BOLINGBROOK, IL
OXYGEN SENSOR LIGHTS CONTINUOUSLY CYCLED ON AND OFF FOR OVER ONE YEAR. EVENTUALLY ECM REPLACED. PART #:89661-04C44. ORIGINALLY QUOTED REPAIR PRICE: $1,100.00.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/31/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
2007 TOYOTA TACOMA DOUBLE CAB WITH DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS. THE ORANGE PLASTIC LENS MATERIAL HAS CRACKED AND BURNED DUE TO THE EXCESSIVE HEAT FROM THE BULB. THE EFFECTS WERE NOTICED AROUND 60,000 TO 70,000 MILES. RUNNING HEADLIGHTS DURING THE DAY TO AVOID HAVING RUNNING LIGHTS ON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds