Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

There are 256 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (48) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (99)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (2) Structure (19) Visibility (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (20) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/31/2014 - N BILLERCA, MA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, SHE HEARD A POPPING SOUND IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP WITHOUT WARNING, STEERED THE VEHICLE TO THE RIGHT WHERE IT CRASHED INTO A POLE. THE DRIVER WAS INJURED WITH A FRACTURED PELVIS. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED AND WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/15/2014 - YONA, GU
AT FIRST ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO , CAR STARTED VIBRATING AT LOW SPEED AND DISAPPEAR AT HIGHER SPEED. ON 3/13/14 TRAVELING A ABOUT 30MPH , THERE WAS A SUDDEN VIBRATION (CAR SHAKING VIOLENTLY ) THEN A LOUD BANG UNDERNEATH THE DRIVER SIDE. GLIDED THE CAR ALONG SIDE THE ROAD, DID A VISUAL INSPECTION UNDER THE CAR AND NOTICE THE FRONT PROPELLER SHAFT WAS HANGING THERE. MY TRUCK HAS BEEN EXPOSE TO CARRYING HEAVY LOAD. THE HEAVIEST LOAD THAT THIS TRUCK CARRIED WAS AN UPRIGHT FREEZER THAT I BOUGHT FROM K-MART. IS MY TRUCK INCLUDED IN THAT 2007 FOR DRIVETRAIN PROBLEM??? IF SO WHERE CAN I GET INFO ON THIS? MY PROBLEM IS VERY SIMILAR TO THE 2007 RECALL ON BAD CASTING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/4/2014 - BRIMFIELD , IL
MY 2007 TACOMA HAS SERIOUS FRAME RUST. I HAVE READ ABOUT EARLIER TACOMA'S WITH FRAME RUST, ONE WOULD OF THOUGHT TOYOTA WOULD HAVE FIXED THIS PROBLEM. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE TOYOTA STEP UP AND ADMIT THEY HAVE A SERIOUS PROBLEM WITH THEIR TRUCK FRAMES.

View Details

ENGINE

3/3/2014 - SANTA CLARA, CA
WHILE STOPPED TO TAKE A TICKET BEFORE ENTERING A GARAGE, WITH THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND MY RIGHT FOOT ON THE BRAKE, THE ENGINE TWICE ACCELERATED TO OVER 6,000 RPMS. THE ACCELERATION LASTED ABOUT 3 OR 4 SECONDS BEFORE THE ENGINE RETURNED TO NORMAL IDLE. MY FOOT WAS NOT ON THE GAS PEDAL, BUT RATHER ON THE BRAKE. MY TACOMA HAS A STANDARD TRANSMISSION. LAST WEEK, THE SAME THING HAPPENED AS I APPROACHED A STOP SIGN - CAR IN NEUTRAL, FOOT ON THE BRAKE, NOT ON THE ACCELERATOR, AND THE ENGINE ZOOMED TO 6K RPMS. I CONTACTED THE DEALER WHERE I BOUGHT THE TRUCK NEW IN 2007 AND WHO HAS SERVICED THE VEHICLE EVERY 5K MILES SINCE PURCHASE AND I HAVE A SERVICE APPOINTMENT FOR THIS FRIDAY. ALL THE INFORMATION I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO READ ABOUT TOYOTA AND THIS PROBLEM IS FROM A COUPLE OF YEARS AGO AND REFERENCES TOYOTA'S COVER UP OF THE ISSUE, ETC. IS THERE A MORE CURRENT SOURCE OF INFORMATION THAT WOULD HELP GET THIS PROBLEM RESOLVED, SINCE IT DOES APPEAR THE THAT ISSUE IS WITH THE ELECTRONICS AND NOT THE MECHANICS? IS THE TRUCK SAFE TO DRIVE?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/28/2014 - BARNEGAT, NJ
I HEARD A LOUD NOISE (BOOM), GOOD THING I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE STOPPED AND STALLED. WHEN THE TOW PEOPLE CAME AND SAW THE DAMAGE UNDERNEATH, IT WAS THE DRIVE SHAFT JOINT THAT BROKE. I COULD HAVE GOTTEN INTO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE VEHICLE IS FAIRLY NEW, MY MECHANIC IS HAVING A HARD TIME LOOKING FOR PARTS (DRIVE SHAFT) AND ALL THE OTHER PARTS THAT WERE DAMAGED BECAUSE OF THIS INCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2014 - BARNEGAT, NJ
I HEARD A LOUD NOISE (BOOM), GOOD THING I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE STOPPED AND STALLED. WHEN THE TOW PEOPLE CAME AND SAW THE DAMAGE UNDERNEATH, IT WAS THE DRIVE SHAFT JOINT THAT BROKE. I COULD HAVE GOTTEN INTO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE VEHICLE IS FAIRLY NEW, MY MECHANIC IS HAVING A HARD TIME LOOKING FOR PARTS (DRIVE SHAFT) AND ALL THE OTHER PARTS THAT WERE DAMAGED BECAUSE OF THIS INCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/28/2014 - BARNEGAT, NJ
I HEARD A LOUD NOISE (BOOM), GOOD THING I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE STOPPED AND STALLED. WHEN THE TOW PEOPLE CAME AND SAW THE DAMAGE UNDERNEATH, IT WAS THE DRIVE SHAFT JOINT THAT BROKE. I COULD HAVE GOTTEN INTO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE VEHICLE IS FAIRLY NEW, MY MECHANIC IS HAVING A HARD TIME LOOKING FOR PARTS (DRIVE SHAFT) AND ALL THE OTHER PARTS THAT WERE DAMAGED BECAUSE OF THIS INCIDENT.

View Details

STEERING

2/18/2014 - ONEONTA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD SUDDENLY BECOME VERY HARD TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 150,379. UPDATED 04/02/14

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/6/2014 - SAN FRANSCICO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, SHE SUDDENLY DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL BUT THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP AND CAUSED THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED A FEW YEARS LATER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/28/2014 - FREDERICK, MD
REAR LEAF SPRING ON LEFT SIDE BROKE AT APPROXIMATELY 105,000 MILES. THE LEAF BROKE AT BOTH THE FRONT AND REAR MOUNTING POINTS. THE LEFT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE DROPPED THREE INCHES AND THE BROKEN SPRING MADE CONTACT WITH THE BOX FRAME. FORTUNATELY THERE WAS NO LOSS OF DRIVING CONTROL. BOTH REAR LEAF SPRINGS HAVE SQUEAKED SINCE 2010 AND REQUIRED PERIODIC LUBRICATION TO QUIET THEM. THIS IS A ONE-OWNER VEHICLE DRIVEN IN THE MILD WEATHER OF THE MID-ATLANTIC STATES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds