Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 281 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (8) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (50) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (99)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (28) Visibility (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (24) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (4) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/24/2014 - RENO, NV
WE OWN A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. BACK IN 2009 I HAD AN INSTANCE WHERE I WAS DRIVING DURING SNOWY CONDITIONS AND WHEN APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION, WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES THE ABS KICKED IN TO WHERE I COULD NOT STOP AND I COASTED INTO THE INTERSECTION AND GOT IN A MINOR ACCIDENT. I HAVE NOTICED SEVERAL TIMES THROUGHOUT THE YEARS IN THE ROAD HAS ANY WET, SLIPPERY, LOSE GRIP THE ABS WILL KICK IN AND PREVENT ME FROM BEING ABLE TO STOP. EVEN WHEN THE ROAD IS DRY, IF ONE TIRE OF THE THREE LOSE ANY TRACTION MY BRAKES STOP FUNCTIONING MAKING IT INCREDIBLY DIFFICULT TO STOP BECAUSE THE ABS SYSTEM. AFTER RESEARCHING ONLINE, APPARENTLY THIS ISSUE IS COMMON WITH MY GENERATION TRUCK. THERE HAVE BEEN COUNTLESS INSTANCES OF PEOPLE SLIDING INTO INTERSECTIONS UNABLE TO STOP BECAUSE OF THE ABS. NOT AS MANY AS UNFORTUNATE AS ME TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF IT. I HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR A SOLUTION AND FEEL THAT TOYOTA SHOULD HAVE A RECALL TO PREVENT FURTHER ACCIDENTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/24/2014 - RENO, NV
WE OWN A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. BACK IN 2009 I HAD AN INSTANCE WHERE I WAS DRIVING DURING SNOWY CONDITIONS AND WHEN APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION, WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES THE ABS KICKED IN TO WHERE I COULD NOT STOP AND I COASTED INTO THE INTERSECTION AND GOT IN A MINOR ACCIDENT. I HAVE NOTICED SEVERAL TIMES THROUGHOUT THE YEARS IN THE ROAD HAS ANY WET, SLIPPERY, LOSE GRIP THE ABS WILL KICK IN AND PREVENT ME FROM BEING ABLE TO STOP. EVEN WHEN THE ROAD IS DRY, IF ONE TIRE OF THE THREE LOSE ANY TRACTION MY BRAKES STOP FUNCTIONING MAKING IT INCREDIBLY DIFFICULT TO STOP BECAUSE THE ABS SYSTEM. AFTER RESEARCHING ONLINE, APPARENTLY THIS ISSUE IS COMMON WITH MY GENERATION TRUCK. THERE HAVE BEEN COUNTLESS INSTANCES OF PEOPLE SLIDING INTO INTERSECTIONS UNABLE TO STOP BECAUSE OF THE ABS. NOT AS MANY AS UNFORTUNATE AS ME TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF IT. I HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR A SOLUTION AND FEEL THAT TOYOTA SHOULD HAVE A RECALL TO PREVENT FURTHER ACCIDENTS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/24/2014 - RENO, NV
WE OWN A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. BACK IN 2009 I HAD AN INSTANCE WHERE I WAS DRIVING DURING SNOWY CONDITIONS AND WHEN APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION, WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES THE ABS KICKED IN TO WHERE I COULD NOT STOP AND I COASTED INTO THE INTERSECTION AND GOT IN A MINOR ACCIDENT. I HAVE NOTICED SEVERAL TIMES THROUGHOUT THE YEARS IN THE ROAD HAS ANY WET, SLIPPERY, LOSE GRIP THE ABS WILL KICK IN AND PREVENT ME FROM BEING ABLE TO STOP. EVEN WHEN THE ROAD IS DRY, IF ONE TIRE OF THE THREE LOSE ANY TRACTION MY BRAKES STOP FUNCTIONING MAKING IT INCREDIBLY DIFFICULT TO STOP BECAUSE THE ABS SYSTEM. AFTER RESEARCHING ONLINE, APPARENTLY THIS ISSUE IS COMMON WITH MY GENERATION TRUCK. THERE HAVE BEEN COUNTLESS INSTANCES OF PEOPLE SLIDING INTO INTERSECTIONS UNABLE TO STOP BECAUSE OF THE ABS. NOT AS MANY AS UNFORTUNATE AS ME TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF IT. I HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR A SOLUTION AND FEEL THAT TOYOTA SHOULD HAVE A RECALL TO PREVENT FURTHER ACCIDENTS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/20/2014 - VAIL, AZ
I BOUGHT MY TRUCK USED. A TOTAL OF FIVE TIMES I'VE TAKEN IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE OF SUSPENSION ISSUES. EACH TIME I WAS TOLD THERE'S NOTHING WRONG. MY DRIVE SHAFT WAS REPLACED A YEAR AGO. I NOTICED THE LEAF SPRING STICKING OUT AND BROKEN. I TOOK MY TRUCK STRAIGHT IN. I WAS TOLD THE TRUCK WAS UNDRIVABLE. TOYOTA GAVE ME A RENTAL AND REPLACED THE LEAF SPRINGS. I PICKED MY TRUCK UP THREE DAYS LATER THINKING THE PROBLEM WAS FIXED THEN TWO DAYS AFTER THAT, MY TRUCK FELT LOOSE AND WAS MAKING A POPPING SOUND WHEN I PUT IT INTO REVERSE. IT FELT LIKE THE DRIVE LINE WAS OUT AGAIN. I TOOK IT TO BE LOOKED AT AGAIN. I WAS TOLD MY DRIVELINE U BOLT SNAPPED AND WAS CAUSED BY THE BROKEN LEAF SPRING. TOYOTA WOULDN'T FIX THE DAMAGES BECAUSE THE SHOP THEY RECOMMENDED DIDN'T USE TOYOTA PARTS. MY TRUCK HAD 250000 MILES ON IT. THE DAMAGES TO MY TRUCK WERE ADD DO EXTREME THAT I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO GIVE IT BACK TO THE BANK. THE VIBRATIONS CAUSED TRANNY DAMAGE AND THE AXLES AND DIFFERENTIAL THE FRAME HAD DAMAGE BECAUSE THE LEAF SPRING WAS SHOVED UP INTO IT.(I WASN'T TOLD UNTILL AFTER) NO I'VE GOT NOTHING..... THANKS TOYOTA......

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/17/2014 - FORT DODGE, IA
REGARDING THE FRAME RUST ISSUE WITH THE TACOMA, I AM CONCERNED THAT MY TRUCK WILL BE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. AN INSPECTION OF MY FRAME HAS NOT BEEN PERFORMED BECAUSE IOWA IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE "COLD WEATHER STATE" LIST IN THE SERVICE BULLETIN. I AM GUESSING THEY HAVE NEVER BEEN HERE IN WINTER. IS IT WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS SOLD, VIN NUMBER, OR DID TOYOTA JUST LIMIT THE STATES IT WOULD COVER. MY ISSUE IS IF MY TRUCK HAS A RUST ISSUE IT SHOULD BE COVERED FOR THE SAFETY CONCERN. RUST DOES NOT STOP AT THE ILLINOIS\IOWA STATE LINE. HOPE TO AT LEAST GET AN ANSWER FROM TOYOTA THAT MY TRUCK IS A SAFETY CONCERN OR NOT. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE OF ANY INFO. YOU CAN PROVIDE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/17/2014 - FORT DODGE, IA
REGARDING THE FRAME RUST ISSUE WITH THE TACOMA, I AM CONCERNED THAT MY TRUCK WILL BE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. AN INSPECTION OF MY FRAME HAS NOT BEEN PERFORMED BECAUSE IOWA IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE "COLD WEATHER STATE" LIST IN THE SERVICE BULLETIN. I AM GUESSING THEY HAVE NEVER BEEN HERE IN WINTER. IS IT WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS SOLD, VIN NUMBER, OR DID TOYOTA JUST LIMIT THE STATES IT WOULD COVER. MY ISSUE IS IF MY TRUCK HAS A RUST ISSUE IT SHOULD BE COVERED FOR THE SAFETY CONCERN. RUST DOES NOT STOP AT THE ILLINOIS\IOWA STATE LINE. HOPE TO AT LEAST GET AN ANSWER FROM TOYOTA THAT MY TRUCK IS A SAFETY CONCERN OR NOT. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE OF ANY INFO. YOU CAN PROVIDE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/3/2014 - YARDLEY, PA
TOOK TOYOTA TACOMA, 4X4 TO TEAM TOYOTA IN LANGHORNE, PA. FOR ANNUAL STATE & EMISSIONS INSPECTIONS. FAILED STATE INSPECTION DUE TO HOLE IN CHASSIS FRAME DUE TO CORROSIVE RUST. HAD DEALER CALL TOYOTA WITH NO RESULTS. I CALLED FROM THE PARKING LOT & RECEIVED A CASE #. NOTHING ELSE HAS BEEN ACCOMPLISHED. CALLED A FEW DAYS LATER & SPOKE TO A CORPORATE PERSON. "TOYOTA CAN DO NOTHING AT THIS POINT , BECAUSE A RECALL HAS NOT BEEN ISSUED FOR MY VEHICLE'S VIN# . MY TRUCK'S CHASSIS HAS BEEN COMPROMISED & YET THEY WON'T REPAIR IT YET! THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME. THE FIRST TIME WAS A 1998 TACOMA WHICH THEY BOUGHT BACK FOR THE SAME REASON--A RUSTED CHASSIS FRAME. THINK THEY WOULD HAVE CORRECTED THE PROBLEM BY NOW! MY STICKER RUNS OUT AT THE END OF NOVEMBER. WHAT DO I DO AFTER THAT? I NEED HELP TO CONVINCE THEM TO FIX MY TRUCK!PLEASE!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/25/2014 - KEGLELY, WV
NO ACCIDENT INVOLVED BUT THERE IS EXCESSIVE RUST AT PRESENT AND WAS AN EXTREME AMOUNT BACK IN NOVEMBER 2008. LOOKING AT THE LEAF SPRINGS; GROUNDING SCREWS SECURING THE WIRING; JUST THE COMPLETE TRUCK IS TERRIBLY RUSTED AND WITH A FEELING OF A POSSIBLE ROAD ISSUE. I FEEL THAT IT IS UNSAFE.

View Details

STEERING

10/15/2014 - CHARLEMONT, MA
I FIRST NOTICED THAT THE STEERING ON MY 2007 TACOMA IS VERY OFTEN EXTREMELY STIFF TURNING IN EITHER DIRECTION LAST YEAR. I BROUGHT IT IN TO THE DEALER TO CHECK IT OUT. WAS TOLD: "LOWER SHAFT STARTING TO GET STIFF". WAS QUOTED A REPLACEMENT/REPAIR COST AROUND $550. COULD NOT AFFORD THAT AT THE TIME. THIS PROBLEM HAD BEEN INTERMITTENT BUT NOW HAPPENS NEARLY EVERY TIME I USE THE VEHICLE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT COULD LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT. LOOKS LIKE I WILL HAVE TO PAY TOYOTA TO FIX THIS. MY RESEARCH INDICATES THAT THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE "STEERING INTERMEDIATE SHAFT NUMBER 2". IT SEEMS THIS PART IS EITHER DEFECTIVE OR POORLY DESIGNED AS THERE ARE NUMEROUS REPORTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE ON MANY AUTOMOTIVE WEBSITES WHICH SPECIFICALLY CITE THIS VEHICLE FOR A RANGE OF YEARS FROM 2005 ON.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/10/2014 - WINGO, KY
WHEN I REMOVED THE BABY SEAT FROM THE REAR DRIVER SIDE SEAT TO TAKE A TRIP AFTER RETURNING I COULD NOT GET THE SEAT BELT TO LOCK IN PLACE AFTER SEVERAL TRIES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds