Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 340 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (11) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (55) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (101)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (35) Visibility (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

1/27/2016 - HOLLIN, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V604000 (SUSPENSION) WAS RECEIVED IN OCTOBER OF 2014. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS COULD BE GIVEN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/18/2016 - CRESTWOOD, KY
WHEN HEAT CONTROL DIAL IS TURNED FROM COLD TO HOT, AN INSIDE DOOR WITHIN THE HEATING/COOLING SYSTEM CLOSES OFF. THIS KEEPS ANY HOT AIR FROM BLOWING INTO THE CAB AND THROUGH THE DEFROSTER. THIS DECREASED AIR VOLUME FROM HVAC VENTS WILL NOT HEAT THE CAB IN COLD WEATHER AND WILL NOT PROPERLY DEFROST THE WINDSHIELD IN WINTRY CONDITIONS AS NO HOT AIR WILL BLOW. TOYOTA SERVICE BULLETIN (T-SB-0072-09) COVERS THIS COSTLY REPAIR. THE INABILITY OF THE DEFROSTER TO PROVIDE HOT AIR TO THE WINDSHIELD HAS CAUSED ME TO PULL OVER SEVERAL TIMES DUE TO INABILITY TO SEE THROUGH IT EITHER FROM INTERNAL CONDENSATION OR FROM ICE BUILDUP DURING TIMES OF PRECIPITATION AND FREEZING CONDITIONS. FURTHER, WITH THE HEATER NOT ABLE TO PROVIDE HOT AIR INTO THE CAB, OCCUPANT SAFETY IS AT RISK IN TIMES OF EXTREME WEATHER DURING BOTH DRIVING AND/OR TIMES THE VEHICLE MIGHT BECOME STRANDED. THIS CONDITION OCCURS IN ALL MODES OF OPERATION, BOTH DRIVING OR IDLING IN PARK. AIR VELOCITY TAPERS OFF AS THE HEAT CONTROL IS INCREASED (TO THE RIGHT) TO THE HIGHER SETTINGS EFFECTIVELY CUTTING OFF HOT AIR FLOW INTO THE CAB. THIS IS BOTH WHEN THE VENTS ARE OPEN AND WHEN IN RECIRCULATION MODE. SEE ATTACHED FILE FOR REFERENCE. PRIMARY SAFETY CONCERN IS VISIBILITY THROUGH THE WINDSHIELD DURING INCLIMATE WEATHER AND OCCUPANT SAFETY IN COLDER CONDITIONS. THIS IS NOT A NEW PROBLEM WITH MY VEHICLE- BUT HAS RECENTLY BECOME A VERY SIGNIFICANT SAFETY CONCERN DUE TO RECENT WEATHER CONDITIONS AND TEMPERATURES. I CANNOT LOAD THE PDF FILE (T-SB-0072-09) AS IT IS TOO LARGE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/3/2016 - MORGANTOWN, PA
REAR LEAF SPRING RECALL, TOYOTA HAS FAILED TO REPAIR. THIS RECALL IS OVER A YEAR WITH "NO REPAIR AVAILABLE" OVER A YEAR TO RECEIVE A SECOND NOTICE INDICATING TOYOTA IS SEARCHING FOR PARTS STILL. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD EVERY TIME VEHICLE IS DRIVEN. LEAF SPRINGS ARE RUSTED AND COULD FAIL. WHY NO CORRECTIVE ACTION AND STILL NO DATE AVAILABLE TO CORRECT?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/29/2015 - DIAMOND BAR, CA
WHILE DRIVING FUSE PANEL UNDER DASH CAUGHT FIRE AFTER USING HORN EXCESSIVELY. FIRE WAS PUT OUT IMMEDIATELY BUT DAMAGE RESULTED IN A MELTED FUSE PANEL AND WIRING HARNESS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/29/2015 - DIAMOND BAR, CA
WHILE DRIVING FUSE PANEL UNDER DASH CAUGHT FIRE AFTER USING HORN EXCESSIVELY. FIRE WAS PUT OUT IMMEDIATELY BUT DAMAGE RESULTED IN A MELTED FUSE PANEL AND WIRING HARNESS

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/18/2015 - WILBRAHAM, MA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V285000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/13/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, RUSTED FRAME.. I PURCHASED USED IN AUSTIN TEXAS ON OCT 2015 FROM A DEALERSHIP. THE TRUCK IS FROM A NORTHERN STATE, AFFECTED BY MASSIVE AMOUNTS OF RUST ON THE FRAME. I TOOK THE TRUCK IN FOR A LOOK OVER, I WAS TOLD I HAD A FEW YEARS LEFT IN THE TRUCK BEFORE THE RUST ROTS COMPLETELY THROUGH. TOYOTA NEEDS TO RECALL THE 2007 MODELS AS WELL. I JUST BOUGHT THIS TRUCK THINKING THIS WAS GOING TO RUN FOR A VERY LONG TIME, I WAS MISTAKEN AND BUYER BEWARE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/13/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, RUSTED FRAME.. I PURCHASED USED IN AUSTIN TEXAS ON OCT 2015 FROM A DEALERSHIP. THE TRUCK IS FROM A NORTHERN STATE, AFFECTED BY MASSIVE AMOUNTS OF RUST ON THE FRAME. I TOOK THE TRUCK IN FOR A LOOK OVER, I WAS TOLD I HAD A FEW YEARS LEFT IN THE TRUCK BEFORE THE RUST ROTS COMPLETELY THROUGH. TOYOTA NEEDS TO RECALL THE 2007 MODELS AS WELL. I JUST BOUGHT THIS TRUCK THINKING THIS WAS GOING TO RUN FOR A VERY LONG TIME, I WAS MISTAKEN AND BUYER BEWARE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/11/2015 - WESTMINSTER, CA
WHEN I DRIVING ON LOCAL STREET, MY TRUCK FELT ODD WHEN I STEP ON THE GAS ACCELERATION (( SLOW)) THE SPEEDOMETER HIT BETWEEN 30MPG TO 40MPG I FEEL SHUDDER LIKE THE GAS GOT JOKE {{INTERMITTENT)) I FEEL MY ENGINE SHAKING TILL I PASS THE 40MPG, IF I STEP ON THE GAS DOWN FAST ITS RUN NORMAL, I HEARD ALOTS OF PEOPLE COMPLAINT ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM..MY MILAGES NOW 73,000.00....

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/11/2015 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
DUE TO COMBINATION OF THE SPIRAL CABLE DESIGN AND CHARACTERISTICS UNIQUE TO THE CHASSIS COMPONENTS OF THE TACOMA, STEERING WHEEL VIBRATION (+FLUTTER+) CAUSED FRICTION BETWEEN THE FLEXIBLE FLAT CABLE (FFC) AND THE RETAINER IN THE SPIRAL CABLE ASSEMBLY IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THIS OCCURRED IN A FFC WITH SIXTEEN-CHANNEL CIRCUITS AND DAMAGED CERTAIN CIRCUITS ON THE FLAT CABLE THAT PROVIDES CONNECTIVITY TO THE DRIVER+S AIR BAG MODULE. AS A RESULT, CONNECTIVITY WAS LOST AND THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE DRIVER+S AIR BAG MAY HAVE BECOME DEACTIVATED, CAUSING IT TO NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. THIS COULD INCREASE THE RISK OF INJURY TO THE DRIVER. THE 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA WITH A FFC WITH SEVEN CHANNEL-CIRCUITS HAVE ALREADY BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS PROBLEM. INDICATIONS OF A DEVELOPING PROBLEM WAS FIRST NOTED THROUGH ILLUMINATION OF THE AIRBAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE AND ROTATING THE STEERING WHEEL. VEHICLE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 125,000 MILES AT THAT TIME. INITIALLY THE LAMP WOULD CYCLE OFF AND ON WITH THE FREQUENCY OF THE LAMP IN THE ON POSITION INCREASING OVER TIME. THIS SUGGESTED THAT THE LOSS OF CONNECTIVITY WAS A RESULT OF INCREASED WEAR IN CERTAIN CIRCUITS. EVENTUALLY THE LAMP WOULD STAY ON CONTINUOUSLY INDICATING THAT ALL CONNECTIVITY WAS LOST IN THE DRIVER'S AIRBAG CONTROL MODULE. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER FOR SERVICE AT A MILEAGE OF 129,094 AND THE PROBLEM WAS CORRECTED AT A COST OF $461.83 PLUS TAX.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds