Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 434 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (66) Steering (42) Vehicle Speed Control (107)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (55) Visibility (1)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (17) Suspension (96) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (7) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/7/2018 - EPSOM, NH
STEERING IS VERY STIFF. TURNING LEFT AND RIGHT. NEED 2 HANDS TO TURN AND RETURN TO CENTER. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME . 1ST TIME IT JUST WENT AWAY AND CAME BACK AND WENT AWAY. NOW IT'S BACK. AFRAID TO DRIVE IT AFTER READING SOME OF THE MINOR CRASHES ASSOCIATED WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

4/26/2018 - BATTLEFIELD, MO
CORROSION ISSUES WITH TOYOTA. HAD MY VEHICLE CHASSIS INSPECTED PER A NOTIFICATION RECEIVED IN 2016. DEALER INDICATED "NOMINAL". I VIEWED MY CHASSIS SOON THEREAFTER AND NOTICED METAL SEPARATION. I REPORTED THIS TO TOYOTA.COM AND RECEIVED NOTHING. I NOW HAVE A PIECE OF METAL WHOSE WELD BROKE DUE TO CORROSION. I WAS GIVEN AN UPDATED LETTER BY MY LOCAL INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. I NEVER RECEIVED THIS AND HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY TREATMENT TO MY CHASSIS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, PARTICULARLY SINCE WELDS ARE BREAKING DUE TO CORROSION. THIS HAS BEEN ONGOING SINCE JULY 2016. PICTURES WERE TAKEN IN 2016, WITHIN 3-4 WEEKS OF THE ALLEGED DEALER INSPECTION.

View Details

STEERING

3/23/2018 - WILMINGTON, MA
STEERING HAD INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS. ONE DAY IT WAS FINE AND THE NEXT FELT LIKE THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING. AFTER TURNING A CORNER, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT RETURN TO THE CENTER POSITION WITHOUT CONSIDERABLE FORCE AND ONLY AFTER HITTING THE CURB. IT TURNED OUT THAT THE LOWER INTERMEDIATE SHAFT OF THE STEERING ASSEMBLY HAD A U-JOINT THAT SEIZED AND WAS CLOSE TO BREAKING OFF BEFORE I COULD GET IT REPLACED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/23/2018 - SAVANNAH, GA
THE U JOINTS ON MY 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA DETERIORATED TO THE POINT IN WHICH I WAS FORCED TO REPLACE THEM, MULTIPLE TIMES. THIS ISSUE WITH THE U-JOINTS HAS NOW LED TO AN INCREASE DETERIORATION IN MY DRIVE SHAFT AS WELL. RECENTLY, I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM THE MANUFACTURER STATING THERE WAS A RECENT RECALL ON THE ABOVE DESCRIBED U-JOINTS. UPON TAKING MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY TOLD ME SEVERAL DIFFERENT STORIES. IN THE BEGINNING, MY DRIVE SHAFT WAS SUPPOSEDLY JUST FINE AND IN NEED OF NO REPAIRS; THEY INFORMED ME THAT THEY WOULD STILL REPLACE THE U-JOINTS IN QUESTION. LATER ON THEY CHANGED THEIR STORY TO THE DRIVE SHAFT NEEDING TO BE REPLACED COMPLETELY DUE TO WEAR ON THE ITEM FROM THE FAULTY U JOINTS. AFTER EXPLAINING BACKGROUND INFORMATION THEY TOLD ME I WAS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THE DRIVE SHAFT TO BE REPLACED FOR FREE; BLAMING THE DAMAGE ON A PREVIOUS MECHANIC WHO HAS BEEN IN BUSINESS FOR HIMSELF FOR OVER 35 YEARS. NOW, AS I AM WRITING THIS COMPLAINT, MY VEHICLE SITS AT THE DEALERSHIP, WITH ME UNABLE TO UTILIZE IT DUE TO THE FACT THAT THEY NOW SAY THEY WILL NOT PUT THE DRIVE SHAFT BACK ON AND I WILL HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET TO GET IT TOWED. THEY ARE TELLING ME THAT I AM NOT ELIGIBLE FOR RECALL STATUS, THEY WILL NOT PUT MY DRIVE SHAFT BACK INTO MY VEHICLE, AND THEY ARE COSTING ME AND MY FAMILY A LOT OF MONEY DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY VEHICLE IS MY LIVELYHOOD.

View Details

STEERING

3/16/2018 - NEWARK, OH
LAST WEEK I NOTICED TIGHTNESS IN THE STEERING OF MY 07 TOYOTA TACOMA INTERMITTENTLY. IT PROGRESSIVELY WORSENED AND AT TIMES WOULD BE VERY "JERKY". YESTERDAY IT WAS TIGHT NEARLY MY ENTIRE WAY TO WORK. I CALLED AND MADE AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE IT CHECKED. ON MY WAY TO THE REPAIR SHOP, AS I WAS TURNING OUT OF A PARKING LOT, THE TRUCK STARTED TO TURN FINE BUT ALL OF A SUDDEN GOT VERY STIFF AND JERKED. I WASN'T EXPECTING IT AND ALMOST HIT A MAILBOX . THE QUOTE FOR MY REPAIR, WHICH INCLUDES A LOWER STEERING SHAFT, COUPLER, BOLTS AND REQUIRED ALIGNMENT, IS $820.00. AS I WAS LOOKING ONLINE TO MAKE SURE THAT THIS WAS A LEGITIMATE PRICING QUOTE, I NOTICED THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH THE TOYOTA TACOMA BETWEEN THE YEARS OF 005-2014. THIS IS A DEFINITE SAFETY ISSUE AND NEEDS TO HAVE A RECALL ISSUED.

View Details

STEERING

3/10/2018 - BROADALBIN, NY
LOWER STEERING SHAFT 4520304021 SEIZED. REPAIR COST IS SIGNIFICANT $400 PLUS. I DON'T BELIEVE THIS ITEM IS A NORMAL MAINTENANCE ITEM LIKE BRAKES OR BELTS. NOT TO MENTION IF IT SEIZES WHILE DRIVING COULD CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT OR FATALITY. MINE HAS NOT SEIZED BUT IS CAUSING MUCH HARDER THAN NORMAL STEERING EFFORT. THERE IS NO WARNING PRIOR TO IT SEIZING. PLEASE ADVISE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/7/2018 - FINDLAY, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON AND OFF FOR APPROXIMATELY TWO WEEKS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LA ROCHE TOYOTA IN FINDLAY OHIO WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE EXTERNAL AIR BAG SENSOR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE BUMPER WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/5/2018 - TERRYVILLE, CT
STEERING IS TIGHT WHILE TURNING THEN GOOD THEN TIGHT IT'S GETTING WORSE, I REPLACED POWER STEERING UNIT WASNT THAT, AND FRONT BEARINGS. IN MOTION AND WHEN TURNING

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/21/2018 - IRMO, SC
LEAF SPRINGS ARE UNDER A RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

2/14/2018 - HILTON HEAD, SC
STIFF STEERING CAUSED MINOR COLLISION INTO SNOW BANK WHILE DRIVING AT SLOW SPEED ON CITY STREET. MANY COMPLAINTS/ACCOUNTS ON FORUMS RELATING TO THIS ISSUE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds