Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 417 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (65) Steering (35) Vehicle Speed Control (107)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (53) Visibility (1)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (16) Suspension (90) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (7) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

7/28/2017 - ATHENS, GA
THERE IS A RECALL CAN'T GET MY TOYATO DEALERSHIP TO FIX THE RECALL GAVE THEM A COPY OF RECALL PAPER THAT I GOT

View Details

STEERING

7/19/2017 - NORTH PROVIDENCE, RI
STEERING SEIZED, LATER DETERMINED TO BE A SEVERELY CORRODED INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT U JOINT. WAS TURNING A CORNER AT THE TIME AND WAS ABLE TO GAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. LATER LEARNED THROUGH ONLINE RESEARCH THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE WITH THIS VEHICLE. DEALER TRIED TO LUBRICATE. BUT LATER REPLACED THE SHAFT AS THE JOINT CONTINUED TO BIND.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/18/2017 - ATHENS, GA
FOR THE LAST YEAR HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET LOCAL TOYATO DEALERSHIP (HEYWARD ALLEN TOYATO) TO REPAIR THE RECALL KEEP GETTING SAME ANSWER WE HAVE NO PRODUCT WILL CALL YOU WHEN SOME COME IN. THE SAME ANSWER OVER AND OVER. I WANT THIS DONE ASAP. IF SOMETHING HAPPEN TO ME OR MY TRUCK I AM GOING TO SUE HEYWARD ALLEN TOYATO. I DO NOT WANT TO DO BUSINESS WITH THEM IS THERE ANYWHERE ELSE CLOSE THAT I CAN TAKE MY TRUCK. AND I WANT THEM TO PAY FOR MY GAS GETTING THERE WHY? BECAUSE THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE 6-9 MONTHS AGO. I HAVE SPOKE WITH FRIENDS AND STRANGERS WHO HAVE HAD THERE'S DONE MONTHS AGO THE SAME TIME THEY WHERE TELLING ME THERE WERE NONE AVAILABLE. THAT THEY WOULD CALL ME WHEN SOME CAME AVAILABLE THAT WAS IN MARCH OF 2017.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/13/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
OVER THE LAST ++18 MONTHS, WHEN AC IS ON, THE TRUCK IDLE WILL IDLE AT ABOUT 1500-1800RPM. AFTER HAVING MECHANIC DO A COUPLE THROTTLE BODY CLEANING IT DID COME DOWN BELOW 1000-1200RPM. FOR THE LAST 5 MONTHS, WHEN SHIFTING (EITHER UP OR DOWN) BETWEEN 4TH & 5TH GEAR, THE ENGINE SURGE TO 3200-3600 RPM AS SOON AS CLUTCH IS DEPRESSED + ACCELERATOR IS RELEASED. IN 2011 WHEN THE DEALER DID RECALL # 09V388000, THE ENGINE SURGING ISSUE WAS NOT THAT AS SEVERE AS IT IS TODAY. IN LAST 3 MONTHS, BESIDE ENGINE REVVING UP , I STARTED GETTING ENGINE ERROR CODES. 07/12/2017 TOOK MY TACOMA TRUCK TO DEALER FOR AVAILABLE RECALLS: 12V092: AIR BAG SPIRAL CABLE 13V337: SEAT BELTS 14V604: REAR LEAF SPRINGS; THESE BROKE IN JANUARY 2013 & I REPLACED BOTH SIDES WITH SKYJACKERS TCR515S (4LEAFS) AND I HAVE NO INTENTION TO REPLACE THEM. I THINK THAT IN EARLY 2011, THE DEALER DID RECALL 09V388000 BUT THIS DEALER COULD NOT FIND ANY REFERENCE TO IT SO THEY WOULD NOT ADDRESS THAT ISSUE; BUT HE WOULD WANT TO OPEN ENGINE TO CHECK THAT TIMING CHAIN IS NOT DEFECTIVE/ OFF WHICH HE CLAIMED IS THE CAUSE OF THE SURGING BETWEEN 4TH/5TH GEAR. THIS DIAGNOSTIC WOULD BE AT MY COST. I REFUSE BECAUSE I DISAGREE WITH THIS LOGIC, I DO NOT HAVE LOST OF POWER BUT ONLY ENGINE REVVING UP LIKE CRAZY AND HIGH IDDLE WHEN CLUTCH IS DEPRESSED

View Details

STEERING

6/28/2017 - DUBOIS, PA
I HAD MY 2007 TACOMA RACK AND PINION STEERING REPLACED BECAUSE IT WAS STIFF AND A RELIABLE MECHANIC RECOMMENDED IT COST OVER 1000 DOLLARS. 90 %FIXED TIMES THE STEERING STICKS AND HAVE TO MUSCLE IT IN CONTROL. I'VE NOW READ IT MIGHT BE THE UNIVERSAL JOINT. AND THERE ARE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS ON THIS. I'VE HAD THE RECALL ON MY FRAME REPLACED. ANY MORE RECALLS I HATE TO SEE THIS TRUCK BECOME A MONEY PIT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/26/2017 - LAKE STEVENS, WA
THE REAR PROPELLER SHAFT BROKE WHILE DRIVING ON HWY 2 AT 60 M.P.H. (WASHINGTON STATE). THE DRIVELINE FLAILED AROUND AND DAMAGED THE EXHAUST PIPE AND THE METAL BRACKET COMMON TO THE FUEL TANK. THIS IS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA 4WD. I FOUND A SAFETY RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM NHTSA # 07V324000 THAT STATES THE PROPELLER SHAFT WAS INCORRECTLY CAST AND COULD SNAP (JUST LIKE THIS ONE DID). I CALLED TOYOTA AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD NOT COVER IT BECAUSE MY VIN DID NOT MATCH WITH THIS RECALL. THE PHOTOS I AM UPLOADING SHOWS THE SHAFT BROKEN OFF IN A CLASSIC CASE OF METAL FATIGUE DUE TO IMPROPER CASTING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/26/2017 - LAKE FOREST, CA
ON A ROUTINE COMMUTE HOME, I WAS TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH IN THE #3 LANE ON THE FREEWAY WHEN I NOTICED I LOST ACCELERATION, BUT THE ENGINE WOULD REV. IT REGAINED ACCELERATION THEN WENT AWAY AGAIN WITH A HARSH SOUND. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY MOVE OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. IT WOULD NOT MOVE IN ANY GEAR AND UPON INSPECTION OF THE UNDERSIDE, SMOKE/STEAM WAS COMING FROM THE DIFFERENTIAL AND IT WAS VERY HOT TO THE TOUCH. THE TOWING COMPANY SPENT AN HOUR TRYING TO PULL IT ONTO THE FLATBED DUE TO BOTH REAR WHEELS BEING LOCKED DESPITE ALL BRAKES BEING OFF AND THE TRANSMISSION BEING IN NEUTRAL. ONCE IT WAS DROPPED OFF AT MY RESIDENCE, I REMOVED THE THIRD MEMBER ASSEMBLY. I DISCOVERED THERE WAS NO FLUID AND THE PINION GEAR LOOKED GROUND DOWN AND THERE WERE METAL FLAKES. IT ALSO APPEARED TO BE LEAKING FROM THE PINION SEAL, SOMETHING I WAS NOT AWARE OF LEADING UP TO THE INCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/12/2017 - PERKINGSVILLE, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD A HOLE IN THE FRAME. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INSTRUCTED THE DEALER TO PROVIDE THE CONTACT WITH A LOANER VEHICLE. THE FAILURE WAS INVESTIGATED AND THE DEALER WAS WAITING TO HEAR FROM THE MANUFACTURER. IN 2014, THE DEALER SPRAYED THE FRAME DUE TO CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 101,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/8/2017 - ADJUNTAS, PR
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THERE WAS SMOKE EMERGING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE CONTACT PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND PROCEEDED TO VACATE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FIRE WAS COMING FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE BUT THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT HAD TO BE TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL BY AMBULANCE AND DIAGNOSED WITH SMOKE INHALATION AND SUFFERED A HEART ATTACK. THE CONTACT HAD TO STAY HOSPITALIZED FOR EIGHT DAYS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000. ...UPDATED 07/10/17

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/1/2017 - CITRUS SPRINGS, FL
THE PAINT IS DEFECTIVE AND PEELING OFF VEHICLE IN MORE THAN ONE LOCATION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds