Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 355 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (20) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (56) Steering (29) Vehicle Speed Control (102)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (40) Visibility (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (58) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (6) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

4/20/2016 - BEAR CREEK, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V604000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/19/2016 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V604000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

TIRES

4/19/2016 - HUNTINGTON, WV
DUNLOP AT20 P245/75/R16 DOT M670 C8ER 1012, TIRES ARE THE SECOND SET TO BE REPLAED ON MY 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. FIRST SET FAILED TO MEET THE MANUFACTURES WARRANTY OF 70K MILES WITH ONLY 43K ON TIRES. WERE REPLACED AFTER MUCH HAGELING WITH GOOD YEAR. AFTER PUTTING 23K ON SECOND SET OF TIRES, FOUND ONE WITH A LARGE BUBBLE IN THE OUTER SIDEWALL. IF THIS TIRE WERE TO HAVE BLOWN OUT, A TRUCK THIS SIZE WOULD HAVE LOST CONTROL AND THE POSSIBLITY OF SEVERE INJURIES WERE PRESENT. AGAIN I AM HAGELING WITH GOOD YEAR TO REPLACE THE TIRE, ALTHOUGH DEFECTIVE, I AM EXPECTED TO PAY 43.00 COST TO REPLACE IT. THIS ON A DEFECTIVE PRODUCT, AND SHOULD BE AT NO COST TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/10/2016 - LOVELAND, OH
FRAME RUST. MY VEHICLE EXHIBITED PERFORATED RUST ON THE STRUCTURAL PARTS OF THE FRAME. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO TOYOTA ON 29 FEBRUARY 2016 FOR REPAIR UNDER THEIR SERVICE CAMPAIGN THAT WAS NOT TO END UNTIL 31 MARCH 2016. THE TECHNICIANS COULD NOT FIND THE HOLES OF RUST UNTIL I SHOWED THEM AND THEN I WAS INFORMED THAT TOYOTA WOULD NO LONGER REMEDY THE ROTTING FRAME BECAUSE IT HAD BEEN PREVIOUSLY COATED BY TOYOTA WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS OWNED BY A DIFFERENT OWNER. I POINTED OUT TO THEM THAT THE REMEDY THAT TOYOTA HAD EMPLOYED WAS OBVIOUSLY INEFFECTIVE AND SINCE THE SERVICE CAMPAIGN WAS STILL IN FORCE, A PROPER REMEDY SHOULD BE EMPLOYED. THE DEALERSHIP REFUSED AND REFERRED ME TO TOYOTA NATIONAL FOR USA. THEY ALSO REFUSED TO ASSIST AND SENT A LETTER TO ME TO THAT EFFECT. TOYOTA LAUNCHED THIS SERVICE CAMPAIGN BUT ARE NOT ENSURING THAT THEIR REPAIRS ARE EFFECTIVELY FIXING THE ISSUE WHICH INVOLVES THE UNDERMINING OF THE STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY OF THEIR VEHICLE FRAMES. IT IS UNACCEPTABLE THAT THE FRAME RECALL IS NOT WORKING AND THAT TOYOTA IS NOT WILLING TO STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT, LEAVING THE CUSTOMER WITH AN UNSAFE VEHICLE DUE TO THE COMPROMISED STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY OF THE FRAME ITSELF.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/4/2016 - TACOMA, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V604000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/3/2016 - DURANGO, IA
THE FRAME IS RUSTING OUT ON MY TACOMA THAT I PURCHASED AND TOYOTA SAYS SINCE THEY INSPECTED IT 9 MONTH AGO IT NO LONGER QUALIFIES FOR FRAME REPLACEMENT PROGRAM. IT HAD NOT BEEN DRIVEN UNDER ANY NEGATIVE ROAD CORROSIVE CONDITIONS IN THIS TIME, AND THIS FRAME WAS I BELIEVE RUSTED WHEN INSPECTED AND NOT DISCOVERED BECAUSE IT HAS RUSTED FROM THE INSIDE OUT. NOW THE POWER STEERING HAS GONE OUT AND I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH IT SINCE PURCHASING IT. I CONTACTED TOYOTA ABOUT THE FRAME RUST AND WAS TOLD BASICALLY TOO BAD SO SAD. THEY HAVE TOLD ME THEY FILED MY COMPLAINT UNDER FILE #1603091915 AT THEIR NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS. THE FRAME METAL IS DEFECTIVE. THE POWER STEERING HAS QUIT WORKING AT APPROXIMATELY 75000 MILES, AND THE TRUCK ACCELERATES UNDER ITS OWN POWER WHEN SHIFTING INTO 5TH GEAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/3/2016 - DURANGO, IA
THE FRAME IS RUSTING OUT ON MY TACOMA THAT I PURCHASED AND TOYOTA SAYS SINCE THEY INSPECTED IT 9 MONTH AGO IT NO LONGER QUALIFIES FOR FRAME REPLACEMENT PROGRAM. IT HAD NOT BEEN DRIVEN UNDER ANY NEGATIVE ROAD CORROSIVE CONDITIONS IN THIS TIME, AND THIS FRAME WAS I BELIEVE RUSTED WHEN INSPECTED AND NOT DISCOVERED BECAUSE IT HAS RUSTED FROM THE INSIDE OUT. NOW THE POWER STEERING HAS GONE OUT AND I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH IT SINCE PURCHASING IT. I CONTACTED TOYOTA ABOUT THE FRAME RUST AND WAS TOLD BASICALLY TOO BAD SO SAD. THEY HAVE TOLD ME THEY FILED MY COMPLAINT UNDER FILE #1603091915 AT THEIR NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS. THE FRAME METAL IS DEFECTIVE. THE POWER STEERING HAS QUIT WORKING AT APPROXIMATELY 75000 MILES, AND THE TRUCK ACCELERATES UNDER ITS OWN POWER WHEN SHIFTING INTO 5TH GEAR.

View Details

STEERING

4/3/2016 - DURANGO, IA
THE FRAME IS RUSTING OUT ON MY TACOMA THAT I PURCHASED AND TOYOTA SAYS SINCE THEY INSPECTED IT 9 MONTH AGO IT NO LONGER QUALIFIES FOR FRAME REPLACEMENT PROGRAM. IT HAD NOT BEEN DRIVEN UNDER ANY NEGATIVE ROAD CORROSIVE CONDITIONS IN THIS TIME, AND THIS FRAME WAS I BELIEVE RUSTED WHEN INSPECTED AND NOT DISCOVERED BECAUSE IT HAS RUSTED FROM THE INSIDE OUT. NOW THE POWER STEERING HAS GONE OUT AND I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH IT SINCE PURCHASING IT. I CONTACTED TOYOTA ABOUT THE FRAME RUST AND WAS TOLD BASICALLY TOO BAD SO SAD. THEY HAVE TOLD ME THEY FILED MY COMPLAINT UNDER FILE #1603091915 AT THEIR NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS. THE FRAME METAL IS DEFECTIVE. THE POWER STEERING HAS QUIT WORKING AT APPROXIMATELY 75000 MILES, AND THE TRUCK ACCELERATES UNDER ITS OWN POWER WHEN SHIFTING INTO 5TH GEAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/28/2016 - NEWTON, MA
I PURCHASED A NEW 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA (VIN # [XXX]) FROM BOCH TOYOTA OF NORWOOD MA. IT CURRENTLY HAS 44,836 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. IN JULY 2014 TOYOTA HAS A SAFETY RECALL FOR CORROSION OF FRAMES ON VEHICLES LIKE MINE. AT THAT TIME THEY ONLY REMOVED LOOSE RUST AND APPLIED SOME KIND OF RUST PROOFING. ON MARCH 25, 2016 I TOOK MY TRUCK IN FOR ANOTHER RECALL. THIS RECALL IS FOR CORROSION OF LEAF SPRINGS.BOTH LEAF SPRINGS WERE REPLACED. THE MANAGER SAID THEY HAD FOUND CORROSION DAMAGE TO THE FRAME OF MY TRUCK, INCLUDING A RUST THROUGH OR CRACK IN AN AREA BELOW THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. HE SAID THE FRAME SHOULD BE REPLACED AND I SHOULD CONTACT TOYOTA, BECAUSE THEY HAVE REPLACED SUCH FRAMES UNDER THE TERMS OF THE FRAME CORROSION RECALL. I CONTACTED TOYOTA. MY CASE # IS [XXX]. TOYOTA SAID THE FRAME RECALL ENDED IN JULY OF 2014, AND SINCE THE DAMAGE WAS NOT NOTED UNTIL LATER, THEN IT WAS NOT COVERED. MY COMPLAINT IS: ?THIS PROBLEM IS NOT CAUSED BY NORMAL USE, BUT IS A SAFETY DEFECT, WHICH TOYOTA ACKNOWLEDGED WITH THEIR 2014 RECALL.. ?THE INSPECTION OF MY TRUCK FOR CORROSION AND FRAME DAMAGE IN JULY 2014 MISSED THE SEVERITY OF THE PROBLEM WITH MY TRUCK. ?THE APPLICATION OF RUST PROOFING WAS EITHER NOT PROPERLY DONE OR INADEQUATE TO ADDRESS THE DAMAGE, WHICH THE RECALL INTENDED TO ADDRESS. ?TOYOTA?S DEADLINE FOR HAVING THE FRAME REPLACEMENT WORK DONE UNDER THEIR RECALL IS MARCH 31ST 2016. I REPORTED MY FRAME DAMAGE AND REQUESTED REPLACEMENT PRIOR TO THAT DATE A TOYOTA REP SAID THAT, BECAUSE THEIR TECHNICIANS DID NOT NOTE THE SEVERITY OF MY FRAME DAMAGE IN 2014, A FRAME REPLACEMENT BY TOYOTA IS NOT COVERED NOW. THIS TRUCK HAS SEEN VERY LIGHT USE. THE CONDITION OF THIS FRAME IS A SAFETY DEFECT, WHICH TOYOTA HAS COVERED IN OTHER CASES.TOYOTA SHOULD COVER FRAME REPLACEMENT FOR MY TRUCK UNDER THE 2014 RECALL. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STEERING

3/23/2016 - BLOOMINGTON, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING BECAME DIFFICULT TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds