Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TACOMA - 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 269 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (50) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (99)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (2) Structure (24) Visibility (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (22) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/31/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
2007 TOYOTA TACOMA DOUBLE CAB WITH DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS. THE ORANGE PLASTIC LENS MATERIAL HAS CRACKED AND BURNED DUE TO THE EXCESSIVE HEAT FROM THE BULB. THE EFFECTS WERE NOTICED AROUND 60,000 TO 70,000 MILES. RUNNING HEADLIGHTS DURING THE DAY TO AVOID HAVING RUNNING LIGHTS ON.

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2014 - NIAGARA FALLS, NY
ON OR ABOUT JULY 24, 2014, I NOTICED WHILE PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY THAT MY 2007 TOYOTA TACOMA TRD EXTENDED CAB WITH 62830 MILES THAT THE STEERING WAS QUITE HARD TO TURN. BUT THE PROBLEM SEEM TO GO AWAY AFTER A MINUTE. THIS THEN CONTINUED TO HAPPEN INTERMITTENTLY AT VARIOUS SPEEDS FOR THE NEXT COUPLE OF WEEKS UNTIL I HAD NEAR COLLISION WHILE DRIVING OUT OF TOWN IN NEW JERSEY. WHILE PROCEEDING AT AN INTERSECTION AT ABOUT 20 MILES PER HOUR AND TURNING WITH MULTIPLE VEHICLES PARALLELED TO ME, I NEARLY SWIPED ANOTHER VEHICLE ON MY RIGHT. THIS WAS BECAUSE MY STEERING BECAME VERY STIFF WHICH MADE IT VERY HARD FOR ME TO TURN THE WHEEL. DRIVING MY TACOMA HAD NOW BECOME DANGEROUS AND I COULDN'T TAKE ANY MORE CHANCES. THE NEXT DAY I CALLED TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND SET UP AN APPOINTMENT TO TAKE MY TRUCK IN FOR THE FOLLOWING DAY. WHEN I DROP-OFF MY VEHICLE, I INCATED TO THE ATTENDANT THAT THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT MY BE THE CULPRIT. THIS WAS BECAUSE IN DOING SOME RESEARCH I DISCOVERED THAT THE SAME THING HAD HAPPENED TO A MULTITUDE OF PEOPLE WHO OWN A TACOMA. WELL MY VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, WITH THE ROOT OF THE PROBLEM BEING THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT. A REPAIR THAT COST ME $579.00 SINCE AS PART OF THE REPAIR THEY HAD TO DO A WHEEL ALIGNMENT.

View Details

STEERING

8/8/2014 - PLYMOUTH, MA
SIMILAR TO OTHER COMPLAINTS, THE POWER STEERING BECOMES INTERMITTENT AND IT BECOME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN THE TRUCK WHEN THE POWER STEERING CUTS OUT. THIS COULD POTENTIALLY BE VERY DANGEROUS IN CERTAIN DRIVING SITUATIONS. I AM BRINGING THE TRUCK TO TOYOTA FOR INSPECTION AND HOPING TOYOTA WILL PAY FOR THE REPAIR, AS IT SEEMS TO BE A CHRONIC ISSUE FOR THIS YEAR AND MODEL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/1/2014 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
MY 2007 TACOMA DOUBLE CAB SPORT 4X4 HAS RUST ON THE ENTIRE FRAME. MY CONCERN IS THAT THE STRUCTURAL STABILITY OF THE FRAME MAY BECOME COMPROMISED DUE TO RUSTING ON THE INSIDE OF THE FRAME AS WELL. I AM LOCATED IN CHESAPEAKE, VIRGINIA WHICH OF COURSE RECEIVES SNOW MAYBE TWICE A YEAR. PLEASE TOYOTA RESOLVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/29/2014 - ST. PETERSBURG, FL
WE WERE INSPECTING THE UNDERBODY OF OUR COMPANY OWNED TACOMA. THERE IS MAJOR RUST ON THE FRONT FRAME, AND THE STEERING ARM (A-ARM?) WHERE IT ATTACHES TO THE FRAME. THE RUST IS SUBSTANTIAL ENOUGH TO ALLOW POSSIBLE SEPARATION OF THE ARMS FROM THE FRAME. WE DID SOME INTERNET RESEARCH AND SEE THAT CORROSION WAS A PROBLEM WITH EARLIER MODELS OF THE TACOMA. WE WILL TAKE THIS TO THE DEALERSHIP TO INSPECT BUT WE THOUGHT IT SHOULD BE REPORTED. IT APPEARS THAT IF THOSE CONNECTIONS FAIL STEARING WOULD BE SUBSTANTIALLY IMPAIRED.

View Details

STEERING

7/29/2014 - ST. PETERSBURG, FL
WE WERE INSPECTING THE UNDERBODY OF OUR COMPANY OWNED TACOMA. THERE IS MAJOR RUST ON THE FRONT FRAME, AND THE STEERING ARM (A-ARM?) WHERE IT ATTACHES TO THE FRAME. THE RUST IS SUBSTANTIAL ENOUGH TO ALLOW POSSIBLE SEPARATION OF THE ARMS FROM THE FRAME. WE DID SOME INTERNET RESEARCH AND SEE THAT CORROSION WAS A PROBLEM WITH EARLIER MODELS OF THE TACOMA. WE WILL TAKE THIS TO THE DEALERSHIP TO INSPECT BUT WE THOUGHT IT SHOULD BE REPORTED. IT APPEARS THAT IF THOSE CONNECTIONS FAIL STEARING WOULD BE SUBSTANTIALLY IMPAIRED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/16/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
FRAME PERFORATED DUE TO RUST AND CORROSION PRIMARILY AREAS ADJACENT TO CATALYTIC CONVERTER. FRAME HAS APPROXIMATELY 2 INCH PERFORATION AND IS GETTING WORSE.

View Details

STEERING

6/24/2014 - ROUND TOP, NY
WHILE DRIVING ONTO ENTRANCE RAMP OF HIGHWAY, ATTEMPTING TO MERGE ONTO TRAFFIC, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY STIFF WITH LOSS OF POWER STEERING. I PULLED HARDER TO ENTER HIGHWAY AND STEERING FINALLY CAUGHT CAUSING ME TO SWERVE OVER ALMOST HITTING VEHICLE IN FAR LEFT LANE. CHECKED POWER STEERING AND IS FULL. DID SOME INTERNET SEARCHES AND HAVE COME UP WITH SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME ISSUE. THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING COLUMN BECOMES FAULTY AND IS DANGEROUS. THIS CAN CAUSE DEATH OR SERIOUS INJURY. TOYOTA SHOULD ISSUE RECALL ON THIS PART AND HAVE REPLACED. STEERING COLUMN JOINT IS NOT PROTECTED FROM THE ELEMENTS AND BECOMES RUSTED AWAY.

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2014 - HARWINTON, CT
PULLED OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY TO FIND THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS INTERMITTENTLY STIFF DURING TURNING. BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE UNTIL I TOOK IT TO A DEALER TO FIND THAT THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT WAS APPARENTLY BAD. DOING SOME RESEARCH ONLINE FOUND THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE. I CAN NO LONGER HAVE MY WIFE OR CHILDREN USE MY TOYOTA TACOMA FOR FEAR THAT SHE DOES NOT HAVE THE PHYSICAL STRENGTH TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

5/27/2014 - BEDFORD HILLS, NY
THE FRAME IS RAPIDLY RUSTING THROUGH. THIS VEHICLE: A) WAS PURCHASE NEW BY ME IN 2006, B) IS STORED IN A FULLY ENCLOSED GARAGE, C) IS NOT USED FOR COMMERCIAL PURPOSES, D) MY HOME IS IN WESTCHESTER COUNTY, NY (IMMEDIATELY NORTH OF NEW YORK CITY AND NOT A HOSTILE VEHICLE ENVIRONMENT) AND E) THE TRUCK HAS VERY LOW MILEAGE - 31,000 MI. THE FRAME HAS RUSTED ENTIRELY THROUGH IN TWO PLACES AND SHOWS EXTENSIVE RUST THROUGHOUT, INCLUDING AT POINTS JOINING THE FRAME TO THE CHASSIS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds