Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 273 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (2)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (49) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (3) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (58)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (15) Visibility (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (48) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (9) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (19) Wheels (5)
Equipment Adaptive (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/7/2015 - HANAHAN, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF AN UNYIELDING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED CHIN, SHOULDER, NECK, AND BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/19/2015 - CASTRO VALLEY, CA
PAINT ON ROOF OXIDIZING, IN ABOUT 12 X 6INCH AREA. PAINT ON THE REST THE VEHICLE IN VIRTUALLY FLAWLESS. THE VEHICLE IS WASHED FREQUENTLY AND WAXED AT LEAST TWICE A YEAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

3/31/2015 - LAKEWOOD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH OVER A POTHOLE, AN ABNORMAL GRINDING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT OBSERVED THAT THE SKID PLATE DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE SKID PLATE DETACHED AND NEW POP RIVETS NEEDED TO BE INSTALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/19/2015 - RIO RANCHO, NM
DIDNT NOTICE TILL AFTER A MILE OF DRIVING BUT MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, VSC, AND 4LO WERE FLASHING. I COULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 50 MILES PER HOUR. UNFORTUNATELY THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP WAS CLOSED AND I TOOK IT IN TO AUTO SHOP TO GET THE CODES SCANNED TO PROVIDE TO TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. IN ORDER TO GET HOME I HAD TO GET THE CODES CLEARED OUT TO GET IT OUT OF LIMP MODE BUT I DROVE IT TO THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP THE NEXT DAY AND PROVIDED THE CODES AND NECESSARY INFORMATION. UNFORTUNATELY THEY NEEDED TO GET THE CODES OFF THEMSELVES I EXPLAINED THAT THERE WAS A 2007 AND 2008 TUNDRA û TSB 032908 BUT THEY COULDNT VERIFY THE PROBLEM AND TOLD ME THAT NEXT TIME IT HAPPENS TO BRING IT IN WITHOUT RESETTING THE CODES. WELL IT HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY ALMOST A MONTH LATER. I'M TAKING THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP OTHER THAN THE INITIAL ONE AS TOWING CHARGES WOULD BE OUTRAGES. I HOPE TOYOTA CAN GET HIS CORRECTED FOR OTHERS REGARDLESS IF YOU HAVE THE CODES OR NOT IT SHOULD BE A MANDATORY NOTICE FOR ALL TOYOTA TUNDRA OWNERS SO YOU DO NOT GET STRANDED FAR FROM A DEALERSHIP OR EVENTUALLY HAVE THAT ISSUE AS IT IS PROVIDED ONLY IF YOU HAVE UP TO 150K MILES OR 10YEARS FROM WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED.

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2015 - RIO RANCHO, NM
DIDNT NOTICE TILL AFTER A MILE OF DRIVING BUT MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, VSC, AND 4LO WERE FLASHING. I COULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 50 MILES PER HOUR. UNFORTUNATELY THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP WAS CLOSED AND I TOOK IT IN TO AUTO SHOP TO GET THE CODES SCANNED TO PROVIDE TO TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. IN ORDER TO GET HOME I HAD TO GET THE CODES CLEARED OUT TO GET IT OUT OF LIMP MODE BUT I DROVE IT TO THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP THE NEXT DAY AND PROVIDED THE CODES AND NECESSARY INFORMATION. UNFORTUNATELY THEY NEEDED TO GET THE CODES OFF THEMSELVES I EXPLAINED THAT THERE WAS A 2007 AND 2008 TUNDRA û TSB 032908 BUT THEY COULDNT VERIFY THE PROBLEM AND TOLD ME THAT NEXT TIME IT HAPPENS TO BRING IT IN WITHOUT RESETTING THE CODES. WELL IT HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY ALMOST A MONTH LATER. I'M TAKING THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP OTHER THAN THE INITIAL ONE AS TOWING CHARGES WOULD BE OUTRAGES. I HOPE TOYOTA CAN GET HIS CORRECTED FOR OTHERS REGARDLESS IF YOU HAVE THE CODES OR NOT IT SHOULD BE A MANDATORY NOTICE FOR ALL TOYOTA TUNDRA OWNERS SO YOU DO NOT GET STRANDED FAR FROM A DEALERSHIP OR EVENTUALLY HAVE THAT ISSUE AS IT IS PROVIDED ONLY IF YOU HAVE UP TO 150K MILES OR 10YEARS FROM WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/19/2015 - RIO RANCHO, NM
DIDNT NOTICE TILL AFTER A MILE OF DRIVING BUT MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, VSC, AND 4LO WERE FLASHING. I COULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 50 MILES PER HOUR. UNFORTUNATELY THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP WAS CLOSED AND I TOOK IT IN TO AUTO SHOP TO GET THE CODES SCANNED TO PROVIDE TO TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. IN ORDER TO GET HOME I HAD TO GET THE CODES CLEARED OUT TO GET IT OUT OF LIMP MODE BUT I DROVE IT TO THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP THE NEXT DAY AND PROVIDED THE CODES AND NECESSARY INFORMATION. UNFORTUNATELY THEY NEEDED TO GET THE CODES OFF THEMSELVES I EXPLAINED THAT THERE WAS A 2007 AND 2008 TUNDRA û TSB 032908 BUT THEY COULDNT VERIFY THE PROBLEM AND TOLD ME THAT NEXT TIME IT HAPPENS TO BRING IT IN WITHOUT RESETTING THE CODES. WELL IT HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY ALMOST A MONTH LATER. I'M TAKING THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP OTHER THAN THE INITIAL ONE AS TOWING CHARGES WOULD BE OUTRAGES. I HOPE TOYOTA CAN GET HIS CORRECTED FOR OTHERS REGARDLESS IF YOU HAVE THE CODES OR NOT IT SHOULD BE A MANDATORY NOTICE FOR ALL TOYOTA TUNDRA OWNERS SO YOU DO NOT GET STRANDED FAR FROM A DEALERSHIP OR EVENTUALLY HAVE THAT ISSUE AS IT IS PROVIDED ONLY IF YOU HAVE UP TO 150K MILES OR 10YEARS FROM WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/12/2015 - SAN DIMAS, CA
I HAD 2 OCCURANCES OF UNINTENTIONAL ACCELERATION. BOTH EVENTS TRANSPIRED AS FOLLOWS: 1) APPLIED BRAKES IN PREPARATION OF STARTING ENGINE AND ENGAGING TRANSMISSION. 2) STARTED ENGINE, PUT IT IN "DRIVE" AND ENGINE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND JUMPED FORWARD. 3) I IMMEDIATELY APPLIED BRAKES WITH MAXIMUM EFFORT TO COUNTER THE ACCELERATION. 4) THREW SHIFTER INTO "NEUTRAL" WHILE ENGINE WAS MAXING RPMS, THEN I SHUT DOWN ENGINE. BOTH EVENTS WERE CLOSE CALLS. IF I HAD NOT HAD PRESENCE OF MIND I WOULD HAVE DESTROYED THE VEHICLE AND PROPERTY. VEHICLE WAS EVALUATED BY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER AND THEY SAY THEY FOUND NO REASON FOR THE EVENTS. I CONTEND THAT THERE IS AN ISSUE AND NEED TO HAVE IT PURSUED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/24/2014 - MOAB, UT
I TOOK MY TUNDRA INTO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT IT, FOR THE POWER WINDOW MOTOR RECALL. THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAD BEEN COMING ON FOR ABOUT A YEAR. THEY INFORMED ME THAT THAT MEANS THE AIRBAG IS INOPERABLE. I ASKED THEM TO CHECK AND TELL ME WHAT THE ISSUE WAS. THEY RAN A CHECK,(CODE B1801) AND SAID TO RULE OUT SOME OTHER PROBLEM THEY WOULD FIRST HAVE TO CHANGE OUT THE SPIRAL CABLE ASSEMBLY, AT MY COST. APPARENTLY THAT FIXED THE ISSUE. IT SEEMS ODD TO ME THAT WITH 8 MILLION SPIRAL CABLE ASSEMBLY'S UNDER RECALL, THAT THAT WOULD BE THE ISSUE HERE, AND IT IS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL. THE TOTAL COST WAS $507.13, TO ME. DO I HAVE ANY RECOURSE? TOYOTA CUSTOMER SERVICE GAVE ME THIS WEBSITE ADDRESS TO REPORT THE ISSUE, SINCE THEY ARE UNWILLING TO TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY HERE. THEY SAID "THEY CAN'T PREDICT WHAT WILL GO WRONG WITH A VEHICLE"

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/12/2014 - SPRING VALLEY, CA
I RECENTLY PURCHASES A USED 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA DOUBLE CAB FROM A PRIVATE PARTY. I TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE ON AC PAVEMENT WITH NO MAJOR ISSUES, BUT UPON PURCHASING AND DRIVING ON MY TYPICAL FREEWAY COMMUTE TRAVELING AT NORMAL SPEEDS (55-70MPH) IT SHAKES VIOLENTLY. THE SHAKING RESONATED AT ONE POINT SO VIOLENTLY THAT I LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND HAD TO DRASTICALLY SLOW DOWN TO REGAIN CONTROL. I AM FEARFUL OF MY SAFETY AND THAT OF ANY PASSENGERS, ESPECIALLY MY CHILDREN. I HAVE SUBSEQUENTLY FOUND FORUM INFORMATION ONLINE THAT SPEAKS TO THIS "BED BOUNCE" PROBLEM, AND A RELEVANT TSB FROM TOYOTA. HOWEVER, I CANNOT FIND AN OFFICIAL TSB FROM TOYOTA ONLINE OR A GENUINE FIX TO THE PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP BECAUSE I FEEL LIKE I JUST BOUGHT A VEHICLE THAT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE, AND NEEDLESS TO SAY VERY ANGRY THAT TOYOTA HAS NOT ADDRESSED THIS PROBLEM IN FULL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/12/2014 - SPRING VALLEY, CA
I RECENTLY PURCHASES A USED 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA DOUBLE CAB FROM A PRIVATE PARTY. I TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE ON AC PAVEMENT WITH NO MAJOR ISSUES, BUT UPON PURCHASING AND DRIVING ON MY TYPICAL FREEWAY COMMUTE TRAVELING AT NORMAL SPEEDS (55-70MPH) IT SHAKES VIOLENTLY. THE SHAKING RESONATED AT ONE POINT SO VIOLENTLY THAT I LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND HAD TO DRASTICALLY SLOW DOWN TO REGAIN CONTROL. I AM FEARFUL OF MY SAFETY AND THAT OF ANY PASSENGERS, ESPECIALLY MY CHILDREN. I HAVE SUBSEQUENTLY FOUND FORUM INFORMATION ONLINE THAT SPEAKS TO THIS "BED BOUNCE" PROBLEM, AND A RELEVANT TSB FROM TOYOTA. HOWEVER, I CANNOT FIND AN OFFICIAL TSB FROM TOYOTA ONLINE OR A GENUINE FIX TO THE PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP BECAUSE I FEEL LIKE I JUST BOUGHT A VEHICLE THAT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE, AND NEEDLESS TO SAY VERY ANGRY THAT TOYOTA HAS NOT ADDRESSED THIS PROBLEM IN FULL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds