Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

There are 254 complaints filed for the 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (2)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Power Train (48) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (3) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (55)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (11) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (45) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (9) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (19) Wheels (5)
Equipment Adaptive (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/19/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
AT ABOUT 90,000 MILES, TAIL-SHAFT SEAL LEAKS, REPLACED SEAL AND U-JOIN, AGAIN AT ABOUT 140,000. GEARS FEEL LIKE STUTTERING WHEN STEP ON ACCELERATOR

View Details

ENGINE

4/13/2014 - SILVER SPRING, MD
CHECK ENGINE CAME ON, TOOK TO LOCAL TOYOTA SHOP, CHECKED CODES, P0012, CAMSHAFT POSITION, "A" TIMING OVER RETARDED-BANK ONE & P0022 SAME FOR BANK NUMBER TWO. ACTIVATED BOTH VVT SYSTEMS & CHECKED OPERATION OF BOTH VVT. ALL WORKING FINE AT THIS TIME. ALL FOUR OIL CONTROL VALVES TEST WORKING FINE AT THIS TIME.CHECKED OIL CONTROL VALVE FILTER TEST WORKING FINE AT THIS TIME. IF CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN AFTER THAT, THEN NEED TO REPLACE CAMSHAFT TIMING GEARS INSIDE ENGINE. HAS TOYOTA ADDRESSED THIS PROBLEM? ARE THERE ANY RECALLS?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/7/2014 - ROUGEMONT, NC
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, HE ATTEMPTED TO ENGAGED THE BRAKES BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE ABS WARNING LAMP, THE STABILITY CONTROL WARNING LAMP, THE BRAKE WARNING LAMP, AND THE ENGINE WARNING LAMPS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 154,930. PM

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/11/2014 - FIXBURG, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE PASSENGER'S SIDE WINDOW BUT IT WOULD NOT RESPOND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE MASTER WINDOW SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/10/2014 - TITUSVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN FOR A ROUTINE OIL CHANGE WHEN THE DEALER ADVISED THAT BOTH OF THE FUEL TANK STRAPS WERE CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/7/2014 - COCO BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH THE RPM'S INCREASED TO 800. THE FAILURE ALSO OCCURRED WHILE AT A COMPLETE STOP. ON A SEPARATE OCCASION WHILE IDLING THE VEHICLE SLOWLY ACCELERATED UP AN INCLINE INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/22/2014 - LITCHFIELD, NH
AFTER TRYING TO SWITCH MY TRUCK INTO 4 WHEEL DRIVE LO, THE 4 WHEEL LO LIGHT & SYMBOL WOULD FLASH AND NEVER ENGAGE. I TRIED MANY TIMES, MAKING SURE THE VEHICLE WAS ON A LEVEL SURFACE, AT A COMPETE STOP WITH EMERGENCY BRAKE ENGAGED, SHIFTING FROM 2 WHEEL DRIVE TO 4 WHEEL HI AND THEN PLACE THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND TRIED TO SWITCH INTO 4 WHEEL LO....NOTHING, IT WILL NOT ENGAGE. IT WILL HOWEVER SHIFT BACK TO 4 WHEEL HI AND BACK TO 2 WHEEL DRIVE. PLEASE KEEP IN MIND, I ONLY USE 4 WHEEL DRIVE HI, DURING SNOW STORMS IN NH AND ONLY USE 4 WHEEL LO TO DRIVE UP MY DRIVEWAY, IN VERY DEEP SNOW AMOUNTS (16"-20" DEPTHS). AFTER FINDING THIS VERY DISAPPOINTING PROBLEM, I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT WITH OUR LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER. THEY HAD THE VEHICLE FOR THE DAY AND WAS ABLE TO REPLICATE THE SAME PROBLEM. ACCORDING TO THE TECH AND SERVICE MANGER, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE 4 WHEEL DRIVE ACTUATOR HAS FAILED, THUS REQUIRING THE REPLACEMENT OF THE TRANSFER CASE, ACTUATOR AND A COMPUTER PROGRAM? ANY WAYS THIS WAS A TOYOTA SERVICE BULLETIN WHICH REFERRED THIS REMEDY FIX AND AT THE COST OF (DRUM ROLL PLEASE) $5,200.00 ARE YOU KIDDING ME! I'M AN EX AUTO MECHANIC AND PERFORM A MAJORITY OF MY SCHEDULED SERVICE AND GO TO TOYOTA FOR OTHER MAINTENANCE REPAIRS AND OR SERVICE, IN FACT MY ENTIRE FAMILY VEHICLE HISTORY CAN BE FOUND AT THIS DEALERSHIP PROVING OUR DUE DILIGENT VEHICLE UP KEEP AND LOYALTY. NOW DON'T TAKE THIS THE WRONG WAY, THIS NH TOYOTA DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN GREAT AND HELP US WITH MANY OTHER EXPENSIVE REPAIRS AND I'M NOT BLAMING THEM. I POINT THE BLAME AT THE TOYOTA CORPORATION, FOR NOT STEPPING UP TO MAKE THIS REPAIR AS A PRIORITY, AFTER ALL MY FAMILY HAS OWNED (10) TOYOTA VEHICLES OVER THE PAST 20 YEARS AND ALL OF THEM HAVE REACHED THE 150K - 180K MILES WITHOUT THIS PROBLEM OCCURRING.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

1/9/2014 - NEW PALESTINE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD RUMBLING NOISE FROM THE REAR PASSENGER'S SIDE WHEEL BEARING. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE BOTTOM OF THE TAILGATE AND THE BED BOLTS WERE DETERIORATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE WHEEL BEARING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

12/13/2013 - HENDERSON, NV
RECENTLY WHILE DRIVING MY 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA, MY DRIVESHAFT FELL OUT OF THE SLIP YOKE AT THE FRONT OF THE TRUCK BEHIND THE TRANSMISSION. AFTER A SHUTTERING OF THE TRUCK I FINALLY STOPPED. LUCKILY, I WAS ONLY GOING 10 MPH AND THE DAMAGE WAS LIMITED TO THE REQUIREMENT FOR MY DRIVE SHAFT TO BE REPLACED. THIS IS AN ITEM IDENTIFIED BY TOYOTA AS A PROBLEM, HOWEVER, MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE SAFETY RECALL. IT SEEMS WITH LIMITED MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE, A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF THE DRIVE TRAIN WOULD NOT HAVE TAKEN PLACE. UPDATED 01/23/14 UPDATED 01/23/14

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/13/2013 - HENDERSON, NV
RECENTLY WHILE DRIVING MY 2007 TOYOTA TUNDRA, MY DRIVESHAFT FELL OUT OF THE SLIP YOKE AT THE FRONT OF THE TRUCK BEHIND THE TRANSMISSION. AFTER A SHUTTERING OF THE TRUCK I FINALLY STOPPED. LUCKILY, I WAS ONLY GOING 10 MPH AND THE DAMAGE WAS LIMITED TO THE REQUIREMENT FOR MY DRIVE SHAFT TO BE REPLACED. THIS IS AN ITEM IDENTIFIED BY TOYOTA AS A PROBLEM, HOWEVER, MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE SAFETY RECALL. IT SEEMS WITH LIMITED MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE, A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF THE DRIVE TRAIN WOULD NOT HAVE TAKEN PLACE. UPDATED 01/23/14 UPDATED 01/23/14

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds