Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW K1200 S - 2008 BMW K1200 S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW

There are 11 complaints filed for the 2008 BMW K1200 S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BMW K1200 S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BMW K1200 S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (1) Fuel Propulsion System (4)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/28/2014 - HIGHLAND LAKES, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BMW K1200 S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL WAS EMPTY AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER REFUELING, THE FUEL GAUGE INDICATOR BECAME INOPERABLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE FUEL LEVEL SENSOR STRIP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 17,500.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/29/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
THE BIKE REPEATEDLY STALLED DURING DECELERATION WITH A CLOSED THROTTLE BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. CLUTCH WAS ENGAGED. THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES BEFORE AND I'VE HAD ENOUGH OF IT. I'VE READ THREADS ONLINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND BMW DOESN'T SEEM TO HAVE AN ANSWER (SEEMS TO DENY THE PROBLEM). THIS IS A VERY UNSAFE ISSUE WHEN ON A MOTORCYCLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/29/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
THE BIKE REPEATEDLY STALLED DURING DECELERATION WITH A CLOSED THROTTLE BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. CLUTCH WAS ENGAGED. THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES BEFORE AND I'VE HAD ENOUGH OF IT. I'VE READ THREADS ONLINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND BMW DOESN'T SEEM TO HAVE AN ANSWER (SEEMS TO DENY THE PROBLEM). THIS IS A VERY UNSAFE ISSUE WHEN ON A MOTORCYCLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/29/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
THE BIKE REPEATEDLY STALLED DURING DECELERATION WITH A CLOSED THROTTLE BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. CLUTCH WAS ENGAGED. THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES BEFORE AND I'VE HAD ENOUGH OF IT. I'VE READ THREADS ONLINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND BMW DOESN'T SEEM TO HAVE AN ANSWER (SEEMS TO DENY THE PROBLEM). THIS IS A VERY UNSAFE ISSUE WHEN ON A MOTORCYCLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/11/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BMW K1200 S MOTORCYCLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DECELERATING, THE FRONT BRAKES PULSATED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE BRAKES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO A COMPUTER FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 7,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/27/2013 - NEW ALBANY, OH
FAILURE OF THE FUEL LEVEL SENDING UNIT INSIDE THE GASOLINE TANK CAUSED THE FUEL GAUGE TO REPORT INACCURATE FUEL LEVEL. GAUGE SAID TANK WAS HALF FULL, BUT TANK WAS EMPTY, CAUSING ENGINE TO SPUTTER AND STALL. CHECK OF TANK FUEL LEVEL WITH A FLASH LIGHT CONFIRMED TANK WAS EMPTY. ADDED GASOLINE TO TANK AND STARTED ENGINE OK. I HAVE OWNED THIS MOTORCYCLE FOR 14 MONTHS AND THIS MAKES THE THIRD FAILURE OF THE FUEL GAUGE, BUT THE FIRST TO CAUSE THE ENGINE TO STALL WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE PROBLEM IS ACTUALLY VERY WIDE-SPREAD, JUST GOOGLE "BMW MOTORCYCLE FUEL GAUGE PROBLEM" AND SEE HOW MANY OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED REPEATED FAILURES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/6/2013 - CARROLLTON, TX
THE BMW K-SERIES MOTORCYCLES HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH CRACKS IN THE FUEL PUMP HOUSING THAT NHTSA IS INVESTIGATING FOR THE R-SERIES BIKES (INVESTIGATION: PE 12-036 / INVESTIGATOR: [XXX]). THIS PROBLEM IS POTENTIALLY MORE SERIOUS IN THE K-SERIES BIKES BECAUSE ON THE K-SERIES MACHINES THE LEAK IS OVER THE CYLINDER HEADS WHERE THERE IS A GREATER DANGER OF FIRE. BMW HAS INDICATED TO ME (BY PHONE) THAT THEY WILL NOT REPAIR THIS WIDE-SPREAD DEFECT IN THEIR MOTORCYCLES THAT ARE OUT OF WARRANTY UNTIL THERE IS A RECALL. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/19/2012 - COLUMBIA , MD
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A ROAD AT A CONSTANT SPEED OF 30 MPH WHEN SUDDENLY AND UNEXPECTEDLY MY BIKE SHUT OFF. I HAD CARS APPROACHING ME FROM THE REAR SO I DECIDED TO MAKE AN IMMEDIATE TURN ONTO A SECONDARY ROAD. AFTER COASTING TO A STOP I IMMEDIATELY TRIED TO START THE BIKE WITH NO SUCCESS. IT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS OUT OF GAS BUT I KNOW I HAD AT LEAST A HALF OF A TANK. I WENT AHEAD AND PUT MORE GAS IN THE TANK TO TOP IT OFF. AFTERWARDS IT IMMEDIATELY STARTED UP. THE NEXT DAY I WENT FOR ANOTHER RIDE AND THE BIKE STARTED TO PERFORM SLUGGISH. IT APPEAR THE BIKE WAS TRYING TO SHUT OFF. I SUDDENLY NOTICE THE FUEL GAUGE SPURTING UP AND DOWN FROM FULL TO EMPTY. WHEN I PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY THE BIKE SHUT OFF AND THE FUEL GAUGE READ EMPTY. I TRIED TO GO BACK TO THE GAS STATION BUT MY FUEL RANGE INDICATOR WAS EXCESSIVELY DECREASING. THE FUEL RANGE INDICATOR DROPPED FROM 167 MILES TO 120 WITHIN 200 METERS. THEN I NOTICED IT KEPT RUNNING EVEN AT A STOP. THIS BIKE IS SUPER DANGEROUS. IF I WASN'T CAREFUL I WOULD HAD DEFINITELY CRASHED. BMW NEEDS TO GET THIS FIXED ONCE AND FOR ALL AND DEFINITELY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. RIGHT NOW THERE ARE NUMEROUS SIMILAR POST OUTLINING THE SAME ISSUES. SOME OWNERS HAVE REPLACED THEIR FUEL SENSOR OVER THREE TIMES ON NEW BIKES WITH LESS THAN 2000 MILES. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. I URGE YOU TO PLEASE TAKE A STAND AND HELP US RIDERS RESOLVE THE SYSTEMATIC PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/20/2012 - CHESHIRE, CT
CRACK OBSERVED IN FUEL PUMP FLANGE (PLASTIC BOSS) ON FEMALE FITTING. THE CRACK MAY EVENTUALLY LEAK, CAUSING A FIRE, INJURY, AND/OR DEATH TO OPERATOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/22/2009 - SUMMERVILLE, SC
I BOUGHT A BRAND NEW BMW K1200S IN OCT 2008. SINCE I BOUGHT IT HAS HAD A STALLING PROBLEM THAT MY DEALER CANNOT FIX AND BMW USA REFUSES TO ADDRESS. I HAVE ASK FOR THE MOTORCYCLE TO EITHER BE FIXED, REPLACED, OR REIMBURSE ME MY $19,000 CASH THAT I PAID FOR THE BIKE. THE MOTORCYCLE IS UNFIT FOR ROAD USE DUE TO THE FACT THAT IT STALLS EXCESSIVELY AND I FEEL UNSAFE. IF YOU GOTO THE INTERNET AND PUNCH IN KEY WORDS BMW K1200S STALLING YOU'LL FIND 30 TO 40 PAGES OF PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH CASES EVEN BEING REPORTED OF PEOPLE GETTING HIT FROM BEHIND. I HAVE A BEAUTIFUL $19,000 MOTORCYCLE THAT I CANNOT RIDE.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds