Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK LUCERNE - 2008 BUICK LUCERNE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 129 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (3) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (65) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (8)
Engine (8) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

5/3/2017 - EAST FALMOUTH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRE PRESSURE LOW WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VALVE STEM FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE TIRE BEGAN TO LEAK. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED A SECOND TIME. THE FAILURE RECURRED TO THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PEELING OF THE CHROME ON THE RIMS CAUSED THE FAILURE, INCLUDING THE FAILED VALVE STEM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE REPAIRS WERE NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,800.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/29/2017 - OCKLAWAHA,, FL
FUEL PUMP RELAY BURNED OUT TWICE. SCORCH MARKS FROM SERIOUS OVERHEAT POSSIBLY FIRE ON BOTTOM OF REAR SEAT. CAR STOPS IN MIDDLE OF ROAD WHEN FUEL PUMP RELAY APPEARS TO POP LOOSE SHUTTING OFF FUEL TO ENGINE. HAVE TO PRESS AND WIGGLE RELAY TO RESTART CAR. POSSIBLE BAD CONNECTION IN FUSE BOX UNDER REAR SEAT.. RECOMMEND MAKING MANUFACTURERS BE PROHIBITED FROM INSTALLING BATTERIES AND ELECTRICAL FUSE BOX FROM INSIDE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. HIGH FIRE HAZARD IN CASE OF ACCIDENT!!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/2/2017 - CHIDESTER, AR
LOST POWER WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH ON HIGHWAY WHICH CAUSED POWER STEERING AND BRAKES TO BECOME HARD TO USE. I TOOK IT TO MECHANIC AND FOUND THAT THE FUEL PUMP RELAY HAD OVER HEATED CAUSING THE FUEL PUMP TO STOP. I LOOKED ON RECALLS ON THE INTERNET AND SAW WHERE THIS HAS BECOME A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS AND THAT GENERAL MOTORS REFUSES TO ISSUE A RECALL. THIS IS A VERY DANERVOUS CONDITION AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/2/2017 - CHIDESTER, AR
LOST POWER WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH ON HIGHWAY WHICH CAUSED POWER STEERING AND BRAKES TO BECOME HARD TO USE. I TOOK IT TO MECHANIC AND FOUND THAT THE FUEL PUMP RELAY HAD OVER HEATED CAUSING THE FUEL PUMP TO STOP. I LOOKED ON RECALLS ON THE INTERNET AND SAW WHERE THIS HAS BECOME A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS AND THAT GENERAL MOTORS REFUSES TO ISSUE A RECALL. THIS IS A VERY DANERVOUS CONDITION AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2017 - WARREN, OH
FUEL PUMP REPACED 2015 , 54000 MILEAGE , THEN FUSE BOX MELTED 1-04-2017 74000 MILEAGE AND WAS STRANDED. FOUND OUT THESE TWO PROBLEMS TIED TOGETHER FROM OTHER COMPAINTS.NO RECALLS OR ANY REIMBURSEMENT. WITH THIS MANY COMPLAINT ISSUES I FEEL SOMETHING SHOULD COME OUR WAY FOR OWNING A BIUCK WHICH I GREW UP BEING TOLD YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH A BUICK ... NOT RIGHT. $ 1300 LATER STILL WAITING!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2017 - AUBURN, NY
I BOUGHT THIS BUICK USED A COUPLE OF MONTH AGO WITH 87K. I'VE SINCE DRIVEN OVER 4K MILES. I BOUGHT THIS CAR BECAUSE IT WAS A BIG TOURING CAR AND I NEEDED SOMETHING RELIABLE AND COMFORTABLE FOR LONGS DAYS ON THE ROAD. SEVERAL HUNDRED MILES AGO IT JUST WOULDN'T START IN THE DRIVEWAY. RESEARCH LED ME TO THE FUSE BOARD. CHECKED THE FUSES AND RELAYS FOUND NOTHING OBVIOUS. CAR STARTED UP A FEW MINUTES LATER. THIS HAPPENED LATER THAT DAY WHEN IN ANOTHER CITY AND THEN A FEW MORE TIMES THAT DAY. ALMOST HAD IT TOWED BUT THEN IT STARTED. NOW, AFTER ALMOST 1000 MILES IT GAVE UP THE GHOST AND I FOUND ONE OF THE TEETH ON THE RELAY BURNED AND THE PLASTIC PARTIALLY MELTED ON THE RELAY HOUSING AND THE FUSE PANEL. WENT TO THE PARTS STORE AND BOUGHT A RELAY REPLACEMENT BUT IT DIDN'T DO ANY GOOD. SHOPPING FOR A MECHANIC NOW. MY THINKING IS I NEED TO GET RID OF IT. I TRAVEL A LOT THROUGHOUT THE SNOW BELTS IN NY STATE AND THIS BOTHERS ME IT COULD HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY AND EFFECT CONTROL. AND A FIRE HAZARD. WHY IS GM NOT RECALLING THIS!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2017 - AUBURN, NY
I BOUGHT THIS BUICK USED A COUPLE OF MONTH AGO WITH 87K. I'VE SINCE DRIVEN OVER 4K MILES. I BOUGHT THIS CAR BECAUSE IT WAS A BIG TOURING CAR AND I NEEDED SOMETHING RELIABLE AND COMFORTABLE FOR LONGS DAYS ON THE ROAD. SEVERAL HUNDRED MILES AGO IT JUST WOULDN'T START IN THE DRIVEWAY. RESEARCH LED ME TO THE FUSE BOARD. CHECKED THE FUSES AND RELAYS FOUND NOTHING OBVIOUS. CAR STARTED UP A FEW MINUTES LATER. THIS HAPPENED LATER THAT DAY WHEN IN ANOTHER CITY AND THEN A FEW MORE TIMES THAT DAY. ALMOST HAD IT TOWED BUT THEN IT STARTED. NOW, AFTER ALMOST 1000 MILES IT GAVE UP THE GHOST AND I FOUND ONE OF THE TEETH ON THE RELAY BURNED AND THE PLASTIC PARTIALLY MELTED ON THE RELAY HOUSING AND THE FUSE PANEL. WENT TO THE PARTS STORE AND BOUGHT A RELAY REPLACEMENT BUT IT DIDN'T DO ANY GOOD. SHOPPING FOR A MECHANIC NOW. MY THINKING IS I NEED TO GET RID OF IT. I TRAVEL A LOT THROUGHOUT THE SNOW BELTS IN NY STATE AND THIS BOTHERS ME IT COULD HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY AND EFFECT CONTROL. AND A FIRE HAZARD. WHY IS GM NOT RECALLING THIS!

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/11/2017 - EDEN PRAIRIE, MN
THE CAR WAS GARAGED AND HARDLY DRIVEN BY THE PREVIOUS OWNER, AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS ABOUT 43,000. SINCE THE BEGINNING OF MY OWNERSHIP THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES AND GOES RANDOMLY. THE CAR ALSO SAYS ON THE DIGITAL READOUT "SERVICE AIR BAG," PRETTY MUCH ALL THE TIME. I HAVE HAD THREE DIFFERENT MECHANICS SCAN FOR THE ERROR CODES AND THEY COULD FIND NOTHING FOR THEM TO RECOMMEND A NEXT STEP. WHILE I WAS IN WHITE PLAINS, NY, I GOT A NOTICE FOR AN AIR BAG SERVICE RECALL FROM THE DEALER. ALL THEY DID WAS TO PUT AN INSERT ONTO MY IGNITION KEY AFTER A TWO HOUR WAIT. WHEN I ASKED WHAT THIS HAD TO DO WITH THE CHECK AIR BAG LIGHT, THEY SAID, "IF YOU DRIVE WITH A HEAVILY LOADED KEY CHAIN THE PULLS DOWN, THE SERVICE AIR BAG/CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ERRONEOUSLY COME ON." IT WAS THE MOST STUPID THING I HAVE EVER HEARD, AND I CAN'T BELIEVE THE NHTA WOULD HAVE ALLOWED THIS SHAM TO PASS AS A RECALL. HAVING READ THE BULLETIN BOARD OF COMPLAINTS I SEE A NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT AIR BAGS NOT DEPLOYING AFTER AN ACCIDENT. YOU NEED TO PUT OUT A RECALL---A REAL RECALL--ON THIS VEHICLE FOR THE AIR BAG. PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/11/2017 - EDEN PRAIRIE, MN
THE CAR WAS GARAGED AND HARDLY DRIVEN BY THE PREVIOUS OWNER, AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS ABOUT 43,000. SINCE THE BEGINNING OF MY OWNERSHIP THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES AND GOES RANDOMLY. THE CAR ALSO SAYS ON THE DIGITAL READOUT "SERVICE AIR BAG," PRETTY MUCH ALL THE TIME. I HAVE HAD THREE DIFFERENT MECHANICS SCAN FOR THE ERROR CODES AND THEY COULD FIND NOTHING FOR THEM TO RECOMMEND A NEXT STEP. WHILE I WAS IN WHITE PLAINS, NY, I GOT A NOTICE FOR AN AIR BAG SERVICE RECALL FROM THE DEALER. ALL THEY DID WAS TO PUT AN INSERT ONTO MY IGNITION KEY AFTER A TWO HOUR WAIT. WHEN I ASKED WHAT THIS HAD TO DO WITH THE CHECK AIR BAG LIGHT, THEY SAID, "IF YOU DRIVE WITH A HEAVILY LOADED KEY CHAIN THE PULLS DOWN, THE SERVICE AIR BAG/CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ERRONEOUSLY COME ON." IT WAS THE MOST STUPID THING I HAVE EVER HEARD, AND I CAN'T BELIEVE THE NHTA WOULD HAVE ALLOWED THIS SHAM TO PASS AS A RECALL. HAVING READ THE BULLETIN BOARD OF COMPLAINTS I SEE A NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT AIR BAGS NOT DEPLOYING AFTER AN ACCIDENT. YOU NEED TO PUT OUT A RECALL---A REAL RECALL--ON THIS VEHICLE FOR THE AIR BAG. PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/4/2017 - SCRANTON, PA
OUR 2008 BUICK LUCERNE WAS IN THE HOV LANE TRAVELING ON 84 W TOWARD HARTFORD, CT. WITHOUT WARNING - NO WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON - THE CAR STARTED TO DECELERATE. MY DAUGHTER TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND NOTHING HAPPENED; SHE THEN TRIED TO BRAKE TO PULL OVER AND WAS UNABLE TO FREELY TURN THE WHEEL. SHE STRUGGLED TO MOVE TO SAFETY TO THE SHOULDER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT THEN FELT THE STEERING WHEEL AND BRAKES LOCK COMPLETELY AS THE CAR STALLED. WHEN SHE ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE CAR TO MOVE TO SAFETY, THE CAR VIOLENTLY SHOOK. SINCE THE CAR WAS STILL PARTIALLY ON THE HIGHWAY, MY HUSBAND AND I CALLED THE CT STATE POLICE TO REQUEST HELP WHILE MY DAUGHTERS WERE WAITING FOR AAA. WHEN THE TROOPER ARRIVED ON THE SCENE HE CALLED US TO SAY THAT THE CAR WAS PARTIALLY IN THE ROAD AND THAT TWO CRUISERS WERE THERE TO ENSURE THE SAFETY OF OUR DAUGHTERS. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO OUR SERVICE STATION OF 25 YEARS IN SCRANTON PA AND FOUND THAT THE FUEL PUMP RELAY POST HAD OVERHEATED AND MELTED. A DIAGNOSTIC TEST DID NOT REVEAL ANY PROBLEMS EITHER. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED ONE WEEK EARLIER TO THIS SAME STATION BECAUSE THE CAR WAS SHAKING VIOLENTLY. AFTER A DIAGNOSTIC TEST REVEALED NOTHING, THEY DETERMINED THAT THE CAR WAS LOW ON FUEL (AND THAT IT WASN'T A FUEL PUMP ISSUE). WE THEN DROVE THE CAR ANOTHER 517 MILES WITHOUT INCIDENT. I HAVE FOUND THAT COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN FILED WITH BUICK (I HAVE FILED ONE TOO) REGARDING THIS PROBLEM AND THAT FIRES HAVE RESULTED FROM THE OVERHEATING. THESE COMPLAINTS INDICATE THAT SOMETIMES THE CAR STARTS, SOMETIMES IT DOESN'T. I BELIEVE THESE 2 INCIDENTS, ONE WEEK APART, WERE RELATED AND THAT BOTH TIMES, NO WARNING OR DIAGNOSTIC TEST REVEALED A PROBLEM. IF MY DAUGHTER HAD BEEN DRIVING ON THE 4 LANE HIGHWAY LEADING INTO HARTFORD AND THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED, I HAVE NO DOUBT THAT SHE AND MY OTHER DAUGHTER WOULD HAVE BEEN IN A SERIOUS, IF NOT FATAL ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds