Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK LUCERNE - 2008 BUICK LUCERNE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 133 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (3) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (67) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (8)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/12/2017 - MOUNDSVILLE, WV
GAS ,PUMP AND RELAY STOPPED WORKING . REPLACED PUMP THREE TIMES, PUMP RELAY ONCE. CAR WILL NOT START AGAIN. ANOTHER PUMP . NUMBER 4.CALLED GM CHECKED ON RECALL NOTHING .THIS ALL WITHIN A TWO YEAR PERIOD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/26/2017 - HARRIS, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL PANEL AND A FUSE BOX INTERNALLY FAILED WITH A WIRES MELTED AND THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN AS TO WHAT CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC INSPECTED, DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED THE VEHICLE. THE REPAIRS WERE UNKNOWN AND THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN IF THE PART MAY FAIL AGAIN. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/26/2017 - IRWIN, PA
THIS CAR'S ENGINE WOULD STOP FOR NO REASON AND NOT RESTART AT STOP SIGNS AND WHILE DRIVING. THE POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES WOULD GO OUT WHEN THIS WOULD HAPPEN WHICH WAS ESPECIALLY DANGEROUS WHEN DRIVING. IT WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS ON AT LEAST 4 OCCASIONS AND NEVER FIXED. IT IS AGAIN LISTED ON THE DEALERSHIP SITE FOR SALE AFTER I TOOK A $3,000 LOSS TRADING IT IN FOR ANOTHER VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD BY THE MANAGER THAT THE CAR WOULD NOT BE SOLD AGAIN, BUT IT IS ON THE PRE-AUCTION LOT OF THE DEALERSHIP FOR SALE AT NEARLY THE AMOUNT I PAID FOR THE VEHICLE IN NOVEMBER 2016. IT WAS DRIVEN ABOUT 2,000 MILES IN THE 6 MONTHS I OWNED IT BECAUSE MOST OF THE TIME IT WAS BROKEN DOWN. IT SAT IN THE DEALERSHIP LOT FOR THE LAST 2 MONTHS BECAUSE I WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS "NOTHING WRONG WITH YOUR CAR." I TRADED IT IN RATHER THAN HAVE AN ACCIDENT WHERE EITHER MYSELF OR SOMEONE ELSE MAY BE HURT OR KILLED DUE TO THE LACK OF ABILITY TO CONTROL THE CAR WHEN THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. THE CAR FAX FOR THIS VEHICLE CAN BE SEEN ON LINE WITH SOME OF THE REPAIRS THAT WERE COMPLETED DURING THE TIME I OWNED IT. THE REPAIRS WERE FOR VARIOUS SENSORS; ONE OF THEM WAS REPLACED MORE THAN ONCE. I WAS INSTRUCTED TO BY ONE OF THE SERVICE MANAGERS TO HAVE THE CAR "TOTALED" BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY BECAUSE THEY WOULDN'T BE ABLE TO FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH THE CAR UNLESS IT STOPPED RUNNING WHILE THEY WERE WORKING ON IT. I HAD A VIDEO OF THE ENGINE STOPPING WHICH SHOWED THAT THERE WAS NO WARNING. I MADE IT BECAUSE I WAS BEING ASKED WHAT LIGHTS CAME ON, ETC., BEFORE IT SHUT DOWN. THE VIDEO WAS SHOWN TO THE SERVICE MANAGER, BUT IT WAS USELESS AS THE CAR ENGINE AGAIN STOPPED FOR NO REASON. IT FIRST BROKE DOWN THREE DAYS AFTER I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR, BUT BEYOND THE "NO QUESTIONS ASKED" RETURN POLICY OF HAVING LESS THAN 150 MILES ON THE CAR DUE TO MY HAVING DRIVEN IT OVER 200 MILES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/6/2017 - WINCHESTER, VA
THE CAR WAS PARKED AND WOULD NOT START HAD IT TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP. THE REPAIR SHOP FOUND THE FUEL RELAY HAD OVER HEATED AND MELTED THE FUSE PANEL UNDER THE BACK SEAT. I DID SOME RESEARCH ONLINE AND FOUND ON REPAIR PAL THAT 105 OTHER PEOPLE HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS. EBAY SELLER HAS SOLD 1264 FUSE BOXES LIKE THIS ANOTHER EBAY SELLER SOLD 275 FUSE BLOCKS FOR BUICK AND GM CARS. DID SOME MORE RESEARCH FOUND PROBLEMS BACK TO 1996 2006-2011 BUICK LUCERNE'S HAD ISSUES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/6/2017 - WINCHESTER, VA
THE CAR WAS PARKED AND WOULD NOT START HAD IT TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP. THE REPAIR SHOP FOUND THE FUEL RELAY HAD OVER HEATED AND MELTED THE FUSE PANEL UNDER THE BACK SEAT. I DID SOME RESEARCH ONLINE AND FOUND ON REPAIR PAL THAT 105 OTHER PEOPLE HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS. EBAY SELLER HAS SOLD 1264 FUSE BOXES LIKE THIS ANOTHER EBAY SELLER SOLD 275 FUSE BLOCKS FOR BUICK AND GM CARS. DID SOME MORE RESEARCH FOUND PROBLEMS BACK TO 1996 2006-2011 BUICK LUCERNE'S HAD ISSUES.

View Details

WHEELS

5/3/2017 - EAST FALMOUTH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRE PRESSURE LOW WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VALVE STEM FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE TIRE BEGAN TO LEAK. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED A SECOND TIME. THE FAILURE RECURRED TO THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PEELING OF THE CHROME ON THE RIMS CAUSED THE FAILURE, INCLUDING THE FAILED VALVE STEM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE REPAIRS WERE NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,800. UPDATED 07/12/17

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/29/2017 - OCKLAWAHA,, FL
FUEL PUMP RELAY BURNED OUT TWICE. SCORCH MARKS FROM SERIOUS OVERHEAT POSSIBLY FIRE ON BOTTOM OF REAR SEAT. CAR STOPS IN MIDDLE OF ROAD WHEN FUEL PUMP RELAY APPEARS TO POP LOOSE SHUTTING OFF FUEL TO ENGINE. HAVE TO PRESS AND WIGGLE RELAY TO RESTART CAR. POSSIBLE BAD CONNECTION IN FUSE BOX UNDER REAR SEAT.. RECOMMEND MAKING MANUFACTURERS BE PROHIBITED FROM INSTALLING BATTERIES AND ELECTRICAL FUSE BOX FROM INSIDE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. HIGH FIRE HAZARD IN CASE OF ACCIDENT!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/2/2017 - CHIDESTER, AR
LOST POWER WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH ON HIGHWAY WHICH CAUSED POWER STEERING AND BRAKES TO BECOME HARD TO USE. I TOOK IT TO MECHANIC AND FOUND THAT THE FUEL PUMP RELAY HAD OVER HEATED CAUSING THE FUEL PUMP TO STOP. I LOOKED ON RECALLS ON THE INTERNET AND SAW WHERE THIS HAS BECOME A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS AND THAT GENERAL MOTORS REFUSES TO ISSUE A RECALL. THIS IS A VERY DANERVOUS CONDITION AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/2/2017 - CHIDESTER, AR
LOST POWER WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH ON HIGHWAY WHICH CAUSED POWER STEERING AND BRAKES TO BECOME HARD TO USE. I TOOK IT TO MECHANIC AND FOUND THAT THE FUEL PUMP RELAY HAD OVER HEATED CAUSING THE FUEL PUMP TO STOP. I LOOKED ON RECALLS ON THE INTERNET AND SAW WHERE THIS HAS BECOME A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS AND THAT GENERAL MOTORS REFUSES TO ISSUE A RECALL. THIS IS A VERY DANERVOUS CONDITION AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2017 - WARREN, OH
FUEL PUMP REPACED 2015 , 54000 MILEAGE , THEN FUSE BOX MELTED 1-04-2017 74000 MILEAGE AND WAS STRANDED. FOUND OUT THESE TWO PROBLEMS TIED TOGETHER FROM OTHER COMPAINTS.NO RECALLS OR ANY REIMBURSEMENT. WITH THIS MANY COMPLAINT ISSUES I FEEL SOMETHING SHOULD COME OUR WAY FOR OWNING A BIUCK WHICH I GREW UP BEING TOLD YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH A BUICK ... NOT RIGHT. $ 1300 LATER STILL WAITING!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds