Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK LUCERNE - 2008 BUICK LUCERNE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (1) Structure (10) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/1/2014 - STUART, FL
I RAN OFF ROAD AND HIT A TREE. NOTED WHITE SMOKE BUT AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. SEAT BELT IN USE. ONLY MINOR INJURIES. INSURANCE COMPANY TOTALED CAR. REPORTED INCIDENT TO GM. THEY REPLIED WITH PHONE NUMBER WHICH LED TO VOICE MAIL AND NO ANSWER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/23/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
IN DECEMBER OF 2013 I WAS PLAYING MUSIC IN MY VEHICLE, ( 2008, BUICK LUCERNE) THE BATTERY GOT GO DRAINED. THE THING THAT SURPRISED ME WAS THE FACT THAT AFTER, THE BATTERY WAS DRAINED THE IGNITION CEASED. I COULDNT MOVE THE KEY UP/DOWN OR IN/OUT OF THE IGNITION. I THINK THAT THIS COULD HAVE BEEN VERY SERIOUS IF I HAD LOST POWER ON THE HIGH WAY. (ALTERNATO OR BATTERY) WHEN AAA CAME ON THE SCENE AS SOON AS THEY HOOKED UP MY VEHICLE TO A PORTABLE BATTERY AND, TURNED IT ON THE KEY WAS RELEASED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/23/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
I HAVE A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. I HAD APPROXIMATELY 78,200 MILES ON THE CAR. IN DECEMBER 2013 I WAS PLAYING MUSIC IN MY VEHICLE WITH OUT THE CAR BEING ON. THE CAR BATTERY WAS DRAINED BUT, WHAT SURPRISING TO ME WAS THE FACT THAT I COULDN'T GET THE KEY TO MOVE (UP OR DOWN/ IN OR OUT ) THE IGNITION . AFTER WAITING 45 MINUTES FOR AAA, ALL IT TOOK WAS A JUMP, AND THE KEY WAS RELEASED . SO I

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/11/2014 - TORONTO , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE WHEN IT FAILED TO YIELD THE RIGHT-OF-WAY. THE FRONT FENDER AND BALL JOINT WERE DAMAGED. ADDITIONALLY, THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT AND SIDE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT WAS UNINJURED AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

TIRES

5/29/2014 - LEXINGTON, KY
ONE TIRE SHREDDED AT 70 MPH WITH LESS THAN 12,000 MILES ON THEM. HAD FULL PRESSURE ONE MOMENT AND FAILED THE NEXT. I NOTICED ALL 3 OTHER TIRES DEVELOPED BUBBLES CLOSE TO THE TREAD AND 2 OTHERS STARTED LEAKING A WEEK LATER. SUMITOMO DEALER LOCALLY REFUSED TO REPLACE OR HONOR WARRANTY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/27/2014 - GLASGOW, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STARTED THE IGNITION AND A FEW MOMENTS LATER THE ENGINE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS A CERTIFIED MECHANIC, WHO REPLACED THE BURNED FUEL PUMP RELAY SWITCH. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED EACH TIME. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

5/27/2014 - GLASGOW, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STARTED THE IGNITION AND A FEW MOMENTS LATER THE ENGINE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS A CERTIFIED MECHANIC, WHO REPLACED THE BURNED FUEL PUMP RELAY SWITCH. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED EACH TIME. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/27/2014 - FORT WAYNE, IN
WHILE ACCELERATING ON THE ON RAMP TO A BUSY INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, ACCELERATOR PEDAL STUCK TO FLOOR. (NO FLOOR MATS OR OTHER ITEMS WERE IN THE ANY WAY RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS.) CAR CONTINUED ACCELERATING, AND PEDAL CONTINUED TO STICK TO THE FLOOR DESPITE REPEATED ATTEMPTS TO GET IT TO RELEASE. RPM'S WERE OVER 4500. SINCE I COULDN'T GET THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO RELEASE, I SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL. ABOUT 20 SECONDS AFTER SHIFTING, RPM'S WENT DOWN TO NORMAL AND PEDAL RELEASED. AT THAT TIME I COULD GET THE CAR TO SLOW DOWN TO A NORMAL SPEED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/23/2014 - FITZGERALD, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING 55 MPH, THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLE. A PRIVATE MECHANIC REPLACED THE STARTER RELAY SWITCH; HOWEVER WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE THE FOLLOWING DAY THE FUSE BOX WAS BURNED OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE FUSE BOX NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE 44,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: STARTER ASSEMBLY: RELAY

5/23/2014 - FITZGERALD, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING 55 MPH, THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLE. A PRIVATE MECHANIC REPLACED THE STARTER RELAY SWITCH; HOWEVER WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE THE FOLLOWING DAY THE FUSE BOX WAS BURNED OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE FUSE BOX NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE 44,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds