Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK LUCERNE - 2008 BUICK LUCERNE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 97 complaints filed for the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 BUICK LUCERNE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (44) Exterior Lighting (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Power Train (3) Structure (10) Visibility (8)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/20/2015 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE FUEL PUMP RELAY OVERHEATED AND MELTED IN THE FUSE BOX. I HAD TO HAVE THE RELAY AND FUSE BOX REPLACED. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT THE FUSE BOX COULD HAVE STARTED A FIRE. HE TOLD ME TO GOOGLE THE PROBLEM WITH MY CAR BECAUSE HUNDREDS OF OTHER CAR OWNERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. SURE ENOUGH I DID JUST THAT AND I SAW HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT ABOUT THIS MODEL CAR. GM NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE. ARE THEY WAITING UNTIL SOMEBODY DIES FIRST BEFORE THEY ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM OF THE FUEL PUMP RELAY AND THE FUSE BOX? BTW I HAD TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/20/2015 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE FUEL PUMP RELAY OVERHEATED AND MELTED IN THE FUSE BOX. I HAD TO HAVE THE RELAY AND FUSE BOX REPLACED. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT THE FUSE BOX COULD HAVE STARTED A FIRE. HE TOLD ME TO GOOGLE THE PROBLEM WITH MY CAR BECAUSE HUNDREDS OF OTHER CAR OWNERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. SURE ENOUGH I DID JUST THAT AND I SAW HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT ABOUT THIS MODEL CAR. GM NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE. ARE THEY WAITING UNTIL SOMEBODY DIES FIRST BEFORE THEY ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM OF THE FUEL PUMP RELAY AND THE FUSE BOX? BTW I HAD TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP.

View Details

ENGINE

5/11/2015 - SAN ANGELO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. WHILE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND ACCELERATING, THERE WAS A THUMPING NOISE THAT CAME FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE MOTOR MOUNT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/16/2015 - CAIRO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, ALL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AND A LOUD NOISE EMERGED FROM THE ENGINE ALONG WITH SMOKE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. UPDATED 2/24/15 UPDATED 03/02/15

View Details

WHEELS

1/12/2015 - CANOSIA, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRES DEFLATED WHEN SALT FROM THE ROAD CAME IN CONTACT WITH THE WHEELS. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2014 - ROYAL, IA
DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY AND VEHICLE STALLED FOR NO REASON. ENGINE LIGHT DID NOT COME ON. ATTEMPTED TO START, BUT NOTHING HAPPENED...NO CLICK, NO CRANK, NOTHING. HAD TO WAIT 10 MIN. UNTIL KEY START ATTEMPT DID ANYTHING AND THEN RAN FINE. HAVE BEEN DRIVING IN TOWN ~35MPH AS WELL AS SLOWER SPEEDS AND VEHICLE WILL DO THE SAME THING...STALL. ATTEMPTED TO START, BUT NOTHING HAPPENED...NO CLICK, NO CRANK, NOTHING. HAD TO WAIT 10 MIN. UNTIL KEY START ATTEMPT DID ANYTHING AND THEN RAN FINE. THIS HAS HAPPENED APPROXIMATELY 12 TIMES IN THE LAST 2 MONTHS. THE GM RECALL (SOLUTION WAS A KEY INSERT) HAS BEEN PERFORMED AND THIS ISSUE HAS OCCURRED BEFORE AND AFTER THE RECALL FIX.

View Details

ENGINE

12/24/2014 - UPLAND, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD ABNORMAL NOISE AND STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART BUT THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/17/2014 - FORT WORTH, TX
2008 BUICK LUCERNE RECALL ON THE WEIGHT ON THE KEY RING. CAR WENT DEAD IN THE PARKING LOT. THE IGNITION COIL AND MODULE WERE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/16/2014 - BELCHERTOWN, MA
2008 BUICK LUCERNE. THE CAR STALLED AND LOST POWER STEERING AND BRAKE CAPABILITY ON A NARROW COUNTRY ROAD. THE CONSUMER RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER ON AUGUST 21, 2014. THE PROBLEM REGARDING THE IGNITION IN RECALL, DESCRIBED THE PROBLEM SHE EXPERIENCED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/16/2014 - ATHENS, AL
2008 BUICK LUCERNE THE CONSUMERS WIFE WAS STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION WHEN SHE SUDDENLY REALIZED THE ENGINE WAS NO LONGER ON AND THE VEHICLE DID NOT MOVE. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RE-START AND HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALER. DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT THE "IGNITION MODULE" HAD DEFAULTED. THE CONSUMER STATED THE IGNITION FAILED, ONE DAY PRIOR TO RECEIVING THE RECALL NOTICE IN THE MAIL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds