Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC DTS - 2008 CADILLAC DTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2008 CADILLAC DTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CADILLAC DTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CADILLAC DTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (6) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

3/7/2019 - LONE OAK, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDOW WASHER FLUID WAS LEAKING AND COULD POTENTIALLY SHORT OUT THE OTHER ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS OF THE REAR WINDSHIELD WIPER. THE FAILURE WAS BURNING UP THE FUSES AND COULD CAUSE A FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS EXPERIENCING THE SAME FAILURE AS LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V441000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH BRITAIN CHEVROLET CADILLAC (4495 INTERSTATE HWY 30, GREENVILLE, TX 75402, (903) 274-4401) AND WAS INFORMED TO BRING IN THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WOULD BE CHARGED FOR THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE FUSE BOX AND HARNESS LOCATED UNDER THE BACK SEAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MECHANIC WOULD NOT PERFORM ANY REPAIRS DUE TO A POTENTIAL FIRE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/7/2019 - LONE OAK, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDOW WASHER FLUID WAS LEAKING AND COULD POTENTIALLY SHORT OUT THE OTHER ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS OF THE REAR WINDSHIELD WIPER. THE FAILURE WAS BURNING UP THE FUSES AND COULD CAUSE A FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS EXPERIENCING THE SAME FAILURE AS LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V441000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH BRITAIN CHEVROLET CADILLAC (4495 INTERSTATE HWY 30, GREENVILLE, TX 75402, (903) 274-4401) AND WAS INFORMED TO BRING IN THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WOULD BE CHARGED FOR THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE FUSE BOX AND HARNESS LOCATED UNDER THE BACK SEAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MECHANIC WOULD NOT PERFORM ANY REPAIRS DUE TO A POTENTIAL FIRE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/5/2019 - WATKINSVILLE, GA
THE CHECK ENGINE CODE SHOWED THE INTERNAL POWER MODULE FAILURE CAUSED THE ENGINE TO SHUT DOWN WHILE TRAVELING AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED. THIS WAS WITHOUT WARNING AND MADE THE CAR'S POWER BRAKES AND STEERING TO BECOME ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER AND BRAKE THE CAR BY MY WIFE. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER WHO TOLD ME WITH THE CHECK ENGINE OFF THEY SAID I HAD TO DRIVE THE CAR UNTIL THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. WHILE DRIVING THE CAR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE I WAS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AND AGAIN AN ACCIDENT WAS NARROWLY AVOIDED. THE DEALER DID A DIAGNOSTIC CHECK AND REPLACED THE MODULE PLUS THE COMPUTER AT A COST OF $750. THIS IS THE NINTH CADILLAC I HAVE OWNED SINCE 1980 WHEN I PURCHASED A SEVILLE WITH A DIESEL ENGINE AND THIS IS THE FIRST THAT HAD A DEFECTIVE POWER MODULE AND COMPUTER. THIS WAS A SAFETY HAZARD AND BOTH CADILLAC AND I WERE LUCKY THAT THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT WITH INJURIES. NOW WITH THE PROBLEM CORRECTED MY WIFE IS HESITANT ABOUT DRIVING AFTER THE CLOSE CALL SHE HAS EXPERIENCED. SHE ALWAYS INSISTED ON DRIVING A CADILLAC BECAUSE OF THEIR SAFETY RATING AND BECAUSE THEY WON THE MALCULAM BALDRIDGE QUALITY AWARD BACK IN THE 1980'S. I THINK A RECALL TO REPLACE THOSE MODULES AFTER HIGH MILEAGE OF AT LEAST 65K MILES. MY 2008 CADILLAC DTS MILEAGE INDICATOR SHOWS 84,000 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

1/10/2019 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT OIL WAS LEAKING FROM THE OIL PAN AND THE OIL FILTER HOUSING. TEXAS DIRECT AUTO (12053 SOUTHWEST FWY, STAFFORD, TX 77477, (281) 499-8200) REPAIRED THE OIL LEAK, BUT CALLED THE CONTACT BACK AND INFORMED HIM OF ANOTHER OIL LEAK AT THE ENGINE MANIFOLD. THE DEALER STATED THAT FURTHER REPAIRS WOULD REQUIRE THE MOTOR TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT HAD THE OIL PAN, OIL HOUSING, AND VALVE COVERS REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

10/17/2018 - LINN, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. WHILE INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS WERE PROJECTING TOO MUCH HEAT AND CAUSED THE PLASTIC COVERS TO BURN AND MELT FROM THE INSIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RILEY CHEVROLET BUICK GMC (2033 CHRISTY DR, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65101, (573) 298-6142) WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FAILURE WAS COSMETIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2018 - LAGRANGE, GA
TRIED TO START MY CAR AND IT WOULD TURN OVER BUT NOT CRANK. REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP AND FUEL PUMP RELAY. CAR STARTED AND I DROVE ABOUT 10 MILES AND IT CUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. SINCE WE REPLACED THE RELAY MY HUSBAND TOOK OUT THE BACK SEAT TO CHECK IT TO FIND THE FUSE BOX TOO HOT TO TOUCH AND SMELLED LIKE BURNING WIRES. HE DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY TO AVOID A FIRE. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A DISASTER HAD HE NOT HAD THE FORETHOUGHT TO CHECK THE FUEL RELAY. IT WAS JUST BEFORE CAUSING A FIRE AND WE HAD TWO PASSENGERS IN THE BACK SEAT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/16/2018 - STATEN ISLAND, NY, NY
LOWER ENGINE OIL LEAK. I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM DATING BACK A NUMBER OF YEARS AND CADILLAC HAS NOT RECTIFIED THE PROBLEM AND HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL. I AM FORCED TO INSTALL A NEW ENGINE BECAUSE THE PROBLEM IS SO COSTLY TO RESOLVE. APPROXIMATELY $4,500. IS THERE ANY CLASS ACTION AGAINST CADILLAC OR IS THERE ANY RELIEF AVAILABLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/19/2018 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
THE DASH LIGHTS ARE INTERMITTENT, OR VERY DIM. THE BRIGHTNESS DOES NOT COME ON FOR MILES AT A TIME. YOU CANNOT SEE THE SPEEDOMETER TO SEE HOW FAST YOU ARE GOING. IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE. IN MOTION, CITY STREETS AND ON THE HIGHWAY. HAVE REPORTED THIS TO CADILLAC AND HAVE HAD IT TO THE CADILLAC DEALER. THEY SAY THERE IS NOTHING WRONG. I HAVE HAD IT TO EARNHARDT CADILLAC SCOTTSDALE, AZ. SO FAR NO FIX. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR YEARS. AFTER THE WARRANTY STOPPED I DID NOT GO BACK TO DEALER.

View Details

STEERING

12/11/2017 - NEW PORT RICHEY,, FL
MY CAR WON'T START IF THE TILT WHEEL IS NOT IN A CERTAIN POSITION. THE ENGINE WILL NOT START UNTIL YOU PUT IT DOWN IN A CERTAIN POSITION---WHICH I GUESS AT. AFTER I START IT I CAN ADJUST THE TILT WHEEL AND I HAVE NO PROBLEM. AFTER STOPPING AND PARKING THE CAR, I HAVE TO GET IT IN THE RIGHT POSITION TO HAVE IT START. (YESTERDAY AFTER 3 ADJUSTMENTS, IT WOULD NOT START.) AFTER RESTING FOR A FEW HOURS, IT STARTED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/11/2017 - NEW PORT RICHEY,, FL
MY CAR WON'T START IF THE TILT WHEEL IS NOT IN A CERTAIN POSITION. THE ENGINE WILL NOT START UNTIL YOU PUT IT DOWN IN A CERTAIN POSITION---WHICH I GUESS AT. AFTER I START IT I CAN ADJUST THE TILT WHEEL AND I HAVE NO PROBLEM. AFTER STOPPING AND PARKING THE CAR, I HAVE TO GET IT IN THE RIGHT POSITION TO HAVE IT START. (YESTERDAY AFTER 3 ADJUSTMENTS, IT WOULD NOT START.) AFTER RESTING FOR A FEW HOURS, IT STARTED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds