Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC DTS - 2008 CADILLAC DTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2008 CADILLAC DTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CADILLAC DTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CADILLAC DTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (6) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/27/2017 - PORT LUDLOW, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT INDEPENDENTLY REPLACED THE RELAY SENSOR AND THE VEHICLE STARTED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE ENGINE POWER AND BRAKES FAILED, AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE LOCAL DEALER (RUDDELL AUTO, LOCATED ON 110 S GOLF COURSE RD, PORT ANGELES, WA, 98362) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RELAY FUSE BOX AND PANEL MELTED AND NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 97,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/26/2017 - WENATCHEE, WA
I BOUGHT THE CAR WITH 69K MILES IN MAY OF 2016 AND NOW ITS HAS 80K MILES FEB 2017 AND I HAVE AN OIL LEAK THAT IS LEAKING ON THE DRIVE SIDE OF THE OIL PAN FROM THE FRONT TO THE BACK AND ITS LEAKING ON THE THE EXHAUST THE RUNS FROM THE FRONT OF THE ENGINE THAT IS BOLTED ON THE THE OIL PAN AND I AM WORRIED THAT IT IS GOING TO CATCH ON FIRE AND I SEE THAT THIS PROBLEM IS ON A LOT OF THIS CARS AND WITH LOWER MILES THEN MINE I THINK GM SHOULD RECALL IT BECAUSE LESS THEN 100K MILES AND TO HAVE AN OIL LEAK THAT LEAKS ABOUT 1 QUART EVERY 1500 MILES OR SO AND ITS LEAKING RIGHT NEXT TO THE EXHAUST AND RIGHT ON TOP OF IT THE COULD CASE FIRE IS UNSAFE, AND TO COST $1000-2000 TO FIX THERE DESIGN FLAW THE OWNERS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY I COULD UNDERSTAND IF IT HAD MORE THEN 100K MILES

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/15/2017 - CONYERS, GA
IN NOV. OF 2016, MY DTS WAS PARKED AND AFTER ATTEMPTING TO START, IT WOULD NOT TURN OVER AS IF WERE OUT OF GAS. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO REPAIR FACILITY. IT WAS DIAGNOSED AND DETERMINED THAT THE PROBLEM WAS CAUSED BY THE FUEL PUMP RELAY, WHICH HAD SHORTED. FURTHER INVESTIGATION REVEALED THAT THE ACTUAL CAUSE WAS THE FUSE BLOCK (REAR SEAT). THIS ITEM IS A DEALER REPAIR LEVEL AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED SINCE THERE ARE SEVERAL CASES OF THIS AND OTHER ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS INVOLVING SUDDEN CUT-OFFS, POWER STEERING ISSUES AND IGNITION KEY PROBLEMS NOTED HERE. MY CAR HAS EXPERIENCED ALL OF THESE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/15/2017 - CONYERS, GA
IN NOV. OF 2016, MY DTS WAS PARKED AND AFTER ATTEMPTING TO START, IT WOULD NOT TURN OVER AS IF WERE OUT OF GAS. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO REPAIR FACILITY. IT WAS DIAGNOSED AND DETERMINED THAT THE PROBLEM WAS CAUSED BY THE FUEL PUMP RELAY, WHICH HAD SHORTED. FURTHER INVESTIGATION REVEALED THAT THE ACTUAL CAUSE WAS THE FUSE BLOCK (REAR SEAT). THIS ITEM IS A DEALER REPAIR LEVEL AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED SINCE THERE ARE SEVERAL CASES OF THIS AND OTHER ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS INVOLVING SUDDEN CUT-OFFS, POWER STEERING ISSUES AND IGNITION KEY PROBLEMS NOTED HERE. MY CAR HAS EXPERIENCED ALL OF THESE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/28/2016 - HAMPTON, VA
FUEL PUMP RELAY MELTED REPLACED REAR FUSE BOX AND RELAY TRIED TO START VEHICLE ON 6 JUNE 2016 VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AT ALL. HAD VEHICLE TOWED IN TO DIAGNOSE $81.99 JUST PURCHASED ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO. PURCHASED A WARRANTY BUT THIS PROBLEM WAS NOT COVERED. I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS EXPERIENCE WITH A VEHICLE. AFTER EXTENSIVE READING I FIND THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH A VARIETY OF CADILLAC VEHICLES. I HAD TO PAY $796.43, PARTS WERE $397.51.THIS SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPEN AND COULD HAVE CAUSED MAJOR DAMAGE. SINCE CADILLAC KNOW THIS IS A PROBLEM I FEEL I SHOULD BE REIMBURSED FOR MY SUFFERING AND PAIN. THIS PROBLEM COULD HAVE RESULTED IN A FIRE STARTING IN THE SEAT AREA. I PROBABLY WOULD NOT HAVE KNOWN UNTIL IT WAS TO LATE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/28/2016 - HAMPTON, VA
FUEL PUMP RELAY MELTED REPLACED REAR FUSE BOX AND RELAY TRIED TO START VEHICLE ON 6 JUNE 2016 VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AT ALL. HAD VEHICLE TOWED IN TO DIAGNOSE $81.99 JUST PURCHASED ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO. PURCHASED A WARRANTY BUT THIS PROBLEM WAS NOT COVERED. I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS EXPERIENCE WITH A VEHICLE. AFTER EXTENSIVE READING I FIND THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH A VARIETY OF CADILLAC VEHICLES. I HAD TO PAY $796.43, PARTS WERE $397.51.THIS SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPEN AND COULD HAVE CAUSED MAJOR DAMAGE. SINCE CADILLAC KNOW THIS IS A PROBLEM I FEEL I SHOULD BE REIMBURSED FOR MY SUFFERING AND PAIN. THIS PROBLEM COULD HAVE RESULTED IN A FIRE STARTING IN THE SEAT AREA. I PROBABLY WOULD NOT HAVE KNOWN UNTIL IT WAS TO LATE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/11/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
AIR BAG DIDN'T DEPLOY AFTER HEAD ON COLLISION TRAVELING 23 MILES PER HOUR, ON A CITY STREET, GOING STRAIGHT. CAR WAS CONSIDERED TOTALED BY USAA.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/11/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
AIR BAG DIDN'T DEPLOY AFTER HEAD ON COLLISION TRAVELING 23 MILES PER HOUR, ON A CITY STREET, GOING STRAIGHT. CAR WAS CONSIDERED TOTALED BY USAA.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/6/2016 - GRANDVIEW, WA
RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE STATING #14299 IGNITION KEY ROTATION WAS AN ISSUE. STATED SERVICE HAD NOT BEEN COMPLETED. I HAD INSTALLED AND PAID FOR A COMPLETE NEW IGNITION UNIT EARLIER THIS SPRING AT A COST OF $400.OO PLUS. I AM NOT HAPPY TO KNOW THE OLD UNIT NEEDED RECALL, AND FURTHER THAT MY DEALER NEVER NOTIFIED THE MANUFACTURER. I BELIEVE I HAVE A REFUND DUE AT THIS TIME. PLEASE REPLY AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/14/2015 - FOLSOM, CA
ON 9/4/15 @ APPROX 5:45 P.M, VEHICLE WOULD NOT START - IT ACTED LIKE THERE WAS NO FUEL GETTING TO THE INJECTORS. THREE HOURS LATER I TRIED TO START THE CAR AND IT STARTED JUST FINE; TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE AROUND THE BLOCK W/O ANY ISSUES. ON 9/7/15 THE PROBLEM RESURFACED; I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM ON 9,/8/15, TO BE A BAD FUEL PUMP RELAY. CAR WORKED FINE FOR ONE DAY; ON 9/9/15 THE PROBLEM RESURFACED ONCE AGAIN - IF THE CAR SAT OFF FOR A COUPLE OF HOURS THE PROBLEM WOULD GO AWAY. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE BUICK GMC DEALER AND THEY DIAGNOSED THE ROOT CAUSE TO BE A BAD FUSE BOX ASSEMBLY ($318 PART). THE FUEL PUMP RELAY GOT HOT ENOUGH TO MELT THE HARD PLASTIC OF THE FUSE BOX ASSEMBLY, AND THERE ARE BURN MARKS ON THE BODY OF THE FUEL PUMP RELAY - I HAVE THE OLD PARTS AND PICTURES OF SAME. THE SERVICE REP AT THE BUICK GMC DEALER SAID THEY HAVE SEEN THIS PROBLEM ON BUICK LACROSSE. BEING THAT THE FUSE BOX IS UNDER THE REAR SEAT OF THE CAR, THERE IS THE POTENTIAL FOR THE CAR TO CATCH ON FIRE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds