Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC DTS - 2008 CADILLAC DTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2008 CADILLAC DTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CADILLAC DTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CADILLAC DTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (6) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/4/2014 - SHALIMAR , FL
GM RECALL 14299/NHTSA RECALL 14V355000 THE GM FIX FOR THIS FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH IS TO INSTALL A SMALLER (13MM) KEY RING AND SMALL INSERTS ON THE IGNITION KEYS TO PREVENT INSTALLING ANY OTHER THINGS ON THE KEY RING. THIS IS NOT A FIX FOR A FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH, BUT A MEANS TO CIRCUMVENT THE PROBLEM! I FIND IT EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO BELIEVE THAT YOUR ORGANIZATION WOULD RUBBER STAMP THIS SHODDY CIRCUMVENTION OF THE REAL PROBLEM! HOW MANY VEHICLE ACCIDENTS ARE YOU AND GM WILLING TO ALLOW BEFORE FIXING THE PROBLEM PROPERLY? REST ASSURED, MY ATTORNEY HAS A COPY OF THIS COMPLAINT AND WILL TAKE THE APPROPRIATE ACTION SHOULD MY VEHICLE MALFUNCTION!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2014 - SHALIMAR , FL
GM RECALL 14299/NHTSA RECALL 14V355000 THE GM FIX FOR THIS FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH IS TO INSTALL A SMALLER (13MM) KEY RING AND SMALL INSERTS ON THE IGNITION KEYS TO PREVENT INSTALLING ANY OTHER THINGS ON THE KEY RING. THIS IS NOT A FIX FOR A FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH, BUT A MEANS TO CIRCUMVENT THE PROBLEM! I FIND IT EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO BELIEVE THAT YOUR ORGANIZATION WOULD RUBBER STAMP THIS SHODDY CIRCUMVENTION OF THE REAL PROBLEM! HOW MANY VEHICLE ACCIDENTS ARE YOU AND GM WILLING TO ALLOW BEFORE FIXING THE PROBLEM PROPERLY? REST ASSURED, MY ATTORNEY HAS A COPY OF THIS COMPLAINT AND WILL TAKE THE APPROPRIATE ACTION SHOULD MY VEHICLE MALFUNCTION!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/4/2014 - SHALIMAR , FL
GM RECALL 14299/NHTSA RECALL 14V355000 THE GM FIX FOR THIS FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH IS TO INSTALL A SMALLER (13MM) KEY RING AND SMALL INSERTS ON THE IGNITION KEYS TO PREVENT INSTALLING ANY OTHER THINGS ON THE KEY RING. THIS IS NOT A FIX FOR A FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH, BUT A MEANS TO CIRCUMVENT THE PROBLEM! I FIND IT EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO BELIEVE THAT YOUR ORGANIZATION WOULD RUBBER STAMP THIS SHODDY CIRCUMVENTION OF THE REAL PROBLEM! HOW MANY VEHICLE ACCIDENTS ARE YOU AND GM WILLING TO ALLOW BEFORE FIXING THE PROBLEM PROPERLY? REST ASSURED, MY ATTORNEY HAS A COPY OF THIS COMPLAINT AND WILL TAKE THE APPROPRIATE ACTION SHOULD MY VEHICLE MALFUNCTION!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS AFRAID TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/19/2014 - KITTANNING, PA
RECEIVED NOTICE OF GM RECALL 14299 ON 8/18/14. FURIOUS THAT THE PARTS TO REMEDY THIS PROBLEM ARE SAID TO BE UNAVAILABLE AND NO DATE - OR EVEN AN EXPECTED DATE - FOR THEIR AVAILABILITY IS GIVEN IN THE LETTER RECEIVED. GM HAS KNOWN OF THIS PROBLEM LITERALLY FOR YEARS NOW AND I DON'T APPRECIATE THE FACT THAT THERE ARE NO PARTS TO PROVIDE AN IMMEDIATE REMEDY OR AN ANTICIPATED DATE FOR ITS RESOLUTION. TOTALLY UNCONSCIONABLE! MEANWHILE, OWNERS ARE EXPECTED TO USE ONLY THEIR IGNITION KEY (NO OTHER IMPLEMENTS ARE TO BE ON THE KEY RING - SUCH AS THOSE FOR SELF-DEFENSE OR CONVENIENCE) TO OBVIATE GM'S SAFETY LAPSE FOR AN UNDETERMINED LENGTH OF TIME THAT WILL BE AT THE CONVENIENCE OF GM, NOT THEIR CUSTOMERS. ADDITIONALLY, SINCE THERE HAS BEEN MEDIA COVERAGE OF THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM FOR YEARS, WHY AM I ONLY NOW RECEIVING NOTICE THAT MY CAR IS INVOLVED IN THIS RECALL?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/18/2014 - MAGNOLIA, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT THEN INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE POWER STEERING PUMP DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO TURN. THE CONTACT ALSO NOTICED THE STRUTS WERE LEAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE UNDER THE RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/18/2014 - MAGNOLIA, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT THEN INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE POWER STEERING PUMP DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO TURN. THE CONTACT ALSO NOTICED THE STRUTS WERE LEAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE UNDER THE RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/17/2014 - WASHINGTON, MO
THERE IS A 41 INCH BRAKE LIGHT INSTALLED ON THE TRUNK LID WHICH COSTS $223.75 TO REPLACE. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NO BIG DEAL, BUT, AS I WAS REPLACING IT, I NOTICED IT WAS NEVER PROPERLY FITTED TO THE TRUNK AT THE FACTORY, WHICH CAUSED THE ORIGINAL DAMAGE, BROKEN COMPLETELY THROUGH IN THE MIDDLE, AND SEVERAL CRACKS, NOT WORKING. TO BOLT ON A NEW ONE IMPROPERLY FITTED WILL CAUSE THE SAME DAMAGE BECAUSE THE HARD PLASTIC IS UNDER HEAVY STRESS WHEN TIGHTENED DOWN. TO PROPERLY FIX THE SITUATION WILL COST THOUSANDS, MY WIFE AND I BOTH HAVE DISABILITIES AND WE CANNOT POSSIBLY AFFORD THE FIX AS THE CAR ALREADY NEEDS OVER $3000 IN SUSPENSION PARTS AS WELL, PLUS LABOR. IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND A TICKETABLE OFFENSE. WE EXPECT GM TO FULLY PAY FOR A PROPER FIX AS THEY HAD TO KNOW WHAT WOULD HAPPEN UP THE ROAD. I'M SURE THEY'VE ALSO NOTICED A LARGE NUMBER OF THE LIGHTS BEING ORDERED. DOESN'T PRESIDENT OBAMA RIDE IN A STRETCHED DTS? HE MIGHT WANT TO HAVE HIS FIXED TOO. BY THE WAY, WE JUST PURCHASED A NEW MALIBU 6 DAYS AGO, WHICH IF THIS ISN'T HANDLED RAPIDLY WILL GO RIGHT BACK TO THE DEALER AND BOTH PERSONAL AND CLASS ACTION SUITS FILED.

View Details

STEERING: WHEEL AND HANDLE BAR

6/27/2014 - HOLLYWOOD, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL ADJUSTER FAILED WHICH CAUSED THE CONTACT TO BECOME TRAPPED IN THE DRIVERS SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/27/2014 - HOLLYWOOD, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL ADJUSTER FAILED WHICH CAUSED THE CONTACT TO BECOME TRAPPED IN THE DRIVERS SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds