Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC DTS - 2008 CADILLAC DTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2008 CADILLAC DTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CADILLAC DTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CADILLAC DTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (6) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/14/2014 - MORRIS, IL
2008 CADILLAC DTS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED HE LOST POWER FOR A COUPLE OF SECONDS, THEN EVERYTHING RETURNED TO NORMAL. WHEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN, EVERYTHING, DID NOT RETURN TO NORMAL. THE BATTERY, ALTERNATOR AND HEADLIGHT HAD TO BE REPLACED. ALSO, THE WINDSHIELD WASHER HEATER BURNED OUT. THE HEATER WAS REPLACED.

View Details

VISIBILITY

5/14/2014 - MORRIS, IL
2008 CADILLAC DTS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED HE LOST POWER FOR A COUPLE OF SECONDS, THEN EVERYTHING RETURNED TO NORMAL. WHEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN, EVERYTHING, DID NOT RETURN TO NORMAL. THE BATTERY, ALTERNATOR AND HEADLIGHT HAD TO BE REPLACED. ALSO, THE WINDSHIELD WASHER HEATER BURNED OUT. THE HEATER WAS REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/13/2014 - NEWTON, MA
I HAVE HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY CAR FOR OVER A YEAR. I KEEP GETTING FUMES FROM THE VENT AND SEVERAL TIMES I HAVE HAD THE CAR TO CADILLAC ON SEVERAL OCASSIONS. HAD MADE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS TO GENERAL MOTORS AND I ALWAYS GET A CALL BACK, MOST OF THE TIME IT WOULD BE A DIFFERENT PERSON BUT THEY ALL SAID THE SAME THING, JUST LIKE THEY WERE PROGRAMED.MY SON HAS A FRIEND WHO WAS A TROUBLE SHOOTER FOR GM AND WORKED FOR FROST MOTORS UNTIL THEY LOST THEIR FRANCHISE AND HE WENT OUT ON HIS OWN. HE TOLD MY SON THAT THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS FROM 2006 TO 2010 AND MOST OF THE TIME THE VEHICLES HAD HIGH MILAGE ON THEM AND GM WOULD STALL THEM OFF AND THEIR WARRANTE WOULD RUN OUT. I HAVE 64,000 ON MY CAR NOW AND TWO WEEKS LEFT ON MY WARRANTE. TODAY I CONTACTED CONGRESSMAN KENNEDYS OFFICE DUE TO WHAT I HAVE SEEN ON THE NEWS AND THE CHIEF EXECDUTIVE OFFICER OF GENERAL MOTORS GOING BEFORE CONGRESS OVER OTHER VEHICLE SAFETY PROBLEMS. I WAS ADVISED TO MAKE THIS COMPLAINT WHICH I AM DOING AND I WOULD HOPE OTHERS THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM MAKE THE SAME COMPLAINT AND MABY GM WOULD BE FORCED TO FIX OUR CAR'S. I HAD ALSO WROTE TO MARY T. BARRA CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER FOR GM (CERTIFIED MAIL AND IT WAS SIGNED FOR) AND I HAVE SPOKEN TO HER ASSISTANCE [XXX] AND ALL HE WOULD SAY IS THEY ARE VERY CONCERNED WITH THEIR CUSTOMERS ISUES.AND TAKE ALL COMPLAINTS SERIOUSLY. ONE THING THEY DID DO WAS OFFER ME $1,000.00 TOWARDS A NEW CADILLAC, I HAVE PUT THE INCIDENT DATE DOWN AS 5-12-14 AS WE WERE GOING TO THE DOCTOR YESTERDAY AND GOT THE FUMES AGAIN. WHEN I TOLD THEM I WAS WRITING TO CONGRESSMAN KENNEDY, THEY STOPPED TALKING TO ME. ( I WONDER WHY)? INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/31/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, OH
THE CADILLAC DTS 2008 WOULD NOT START.. HAD DTS TOWED TO FOREMAN-BLAIR GM DEALERSHIP.. 896382 SCAN FOR CODES NONE FOUND NO FUEL PRESSURE NO VOLTAGE AT CIRCUIT TO FUEL PUMP NO VOLTAGE BURN CONNECTOR AT FUSE BOX REPLACE BOX C MULTI POINT INSPECTION THE RELAY 19116057 GOT HOT AND BURN CONNECTOR AT FUSE BOX AND MELTED THE FUSE BLOCK 19116816 WHICH IS LOCATED UNDER THR BACK SEAT,, THAT MIGHT SET THE CAR OF FIRE.. THIS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPEN ON DTS CAR THERE ARE MORE ON THE INTERNET THAT HAD THE SAME PROBLEM,,, I NEED TO GET MY MONEY BACK $735.18 , BECAUSE THIS WAS NOT MY FOUGHT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, OH
THE CADILLAC DTS 2008 WOULD NOT START.. HAD DTS TOWED TO FOREMAN-BLAIR GM DEALERSHIP.. 896382 SCAN FOR CODES NONE FOUND NO FUEL PRESSURE NO VOLTAGE AT CIRCUIT TO FUEL PUMP NO VOLTAGE BURN CONNECTOR AT FUSE BOX REPLACE BOX C MULTI POINT INSPECTION THE RELAY 19116057 GOT HOT AND BURN CONNECTOR AT FUSE BOX AND MELTED THE FUSE BLOCK 19116816 WHICH IS LOCATED UNDER THR BACK SEAT,, THAT MIGHT SET THE CAR OF FIRE.. THIS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPEN ON DTS CAR THERE ARE MORE ON THE INTERNET THAT HAD THE SAME PROBLEM,,, I NEED TO GET MY MONEY BACK $735.18 , BECAUSE THIS WAS NOT MY FOUGHT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/29/2014 - NEWTON, MA
OIL SMELL FUMES COMINING FROM THE HEATER VENTS. SO BAD AT TIMES WE HAD TO GET OUT OF THE CAR. HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO TWO DIFFERENT CADILLAC DEALERS AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING. I HAVE HAD THE ENGINE LIGHT COME ON CODE P0411 AND IT WENT OUT. TOOK IT TO THE DELEAR AND THEY RESET THE COMPUTER. ON MARCH 2ND THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN AND WENT OUT THE NEXT DAY. I WAS TOLD NEXT TIME THE I GOT THE SMELL TO GO DIRECTLY TO ANY GM DELEAR. I HAD TAKEN MY WIFE TO THE DOCTOR IN NATICK MASS AND WE GOT THE FUMES AND I WENT TO LONG CADILLAC WHICH I WAS TOLD TO DO ONLY TO FIND OUT THEY MOVED TO WESTBORO MASS. A FORMER TROBULE SHOOTER FOR GM WHO USED TO WOREK FOR FROST CADILLAC UNTIL THEY LOST THEIR FRANCHISE TOLD MY SON THIS IS A COMMON THING WITH 2006 TO 2010 CADILLACS AND IF THIS IS THE CASE THE MOTOR HAS TO COME OUT OF THE VEHICLE SO IT CAN BE RESEALED. I HAVE A FEW MONTHS LEFT ON MY BUMBER TO BUMBER WARRANTY AND IT SEEMS THAT GM IS STALLING ME UNTIL THE WARRANTY RUNS OUT. I HAVE SENT TWO LETTERS TO GM ONE WAS TO THEIR PRESIDENT AND ALL I WOULD GET IS A NICE PERSON WHOM SEEMED THEY WERE INTERESTED BUT NOTHING WAS EVER DONE BY THEM EXCEPT MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AT THE CADILLAC DEALER. MY CAR HAS 64,000 ON IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/21/2014 - WASHINGTON, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO CEMENT WALL AS A RESULT. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INJURED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,730.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/23/2013 - STEWART, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BOTH THE REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE LAP-SHOULDER BELTS FAILED TO LATCH. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE WOULD OCCUR INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/23/2013 - GREENWICH, CT
I STARTED TO SMELL SMOKE IN THE CAR, I SHUT THE ENGINE, THE SMOKE WAS COMING FROM UNDER THE BACK SEAT. I REMOVED THE BACK SEAT, AND SMELLED THE FUSE BOX, AND OPENED THE FUSE BOX COVER, AND I FOUND THAT TWO RELAYS WERE VERY HOT, AND ONE OF THEM WAS BURNED, AND MELTED ALL THE WAY INTO THE BOTTOM OF THE WHOLE FUSE BOX BLOCK. I HAD THE WHOLE FUSE BLOCK REPLACED THE PART ALONE WAS $225.71 PLUS INSTALLATION. A YEAR LATER SAME EXACT THING HAPPENED, I WENT TO THE DEALER, AND I WAS TOLD THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS FUSE BLOCK. SO I GUESS I HAVE TO DO THIS ALL OVER AGAIN IF I WANT TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/23/2013 - GREENWICH, CT
I STARTED TO SMELL SMOKE IN THE CAR, I SHUT THE ENGINE, THE SMOKE WAS COMING FROM UNDER THE BACK SEAT. I REMOVED THE BACK SEAT, AND SMELLED THE FUSE BOX, AND OPENED THE FUSE BOX COVER, AND I FOUND THAT TWO RELAYS WERE VERY HOT, AND ONE OF THEM WAS BURNED, AND MELTED ALL THE WAY INTO THE BOTTOM OF THE WHOLE FUSE BOX BLOCK. I HAD THE WHOLE FUSE BLOCK REPLACED THE PART ALONE WAS $225.71 PLUS INSTALLATION. A YEAR LATER SAME EXACT THING HAPPENED, I WENT TO THE DEALER, AND I WAS TOLD THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS FUSE BLOCK. SO I GUESS I HAVE TO DO THIS ALL OVER AGAIN IF I WANT TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds