Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC DTS - 2008 CADILLAC DTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2008 CADILLAC DTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CADILLAC DTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CADILLAC DTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (6) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY

7/12/2010 - WILLIMASVILLE , NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CENTER POST OBSTRUCTED THE CONSUMERS VIEW WHEN APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION. THE MANUFACTURER TOOK A REPORT, BUT HE NEVER RECEIVED A RESPONSE FROM THE MANUFACTURER CONCERNING THE FAILURE. THE DEALER WASN'T ABLE OFFER HIM ANY ASSISTANCE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT VEHICLE WILL BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 27,000. UPDATED 09/01/10. UPDATED 09/10/10

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/27/2010 - STUART, VA
MY 2008 CADILLAC'S BRAKES HEATED U AND CAUSED SEVERE VIBRATION AND NOISE WHEN DRIVING DOWN ROUTE 58 MOUNTAIN IN PATRICK COUNTY VA. I CALLED TWO DEALERSHIPS, PATTERSON/COLLINS IN MT. AIRY NC AND NELSON CADILLAC IN MARTINSVILLE VA AND BOTH TOLD ME THAT THEY HAD SEVERAL COMPLAINTS BUT THERE WAS NOTHING THAT COULD BE DONE AS THE ASBESTES WAS TAKEN OUT OF THE BRAKE PADS THAT CREATED THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

2/11/2010 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER LIGHTS FAILED AT LEAST TWO TO THREE TIMES A WEEK WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25-55 MPH AT NIGHT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE CANNOT SEE ANYTHING ON HIS INSTRUMENT PANEL WHENEVER THE LIGHTS SHUT OFF INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE DEALER ALSO TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR MORE THAN TWO WEEKS AND WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. HE CALLED THE GM MANUFACTURER AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY COULD NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS NO MAINTENANCE PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000. UPDATED 03/19/10. UPDATED 10/05/10

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/16/2009 - SOMERSET, KY
MY 2008 CADALLIC DTS WAS TRYING TO START ON ITS ON. THE KEYS WERE ON THE TABLE AND THE SPARE KEY HANGING ON THE KEY RACK. IN DOING SO IT CAUSED MY CAR TO CATCH ON FIRE WHICH CAUGHT MY GARAGE ON FIRE. MY FAMILY WAS ALL IN BED WHEN WE WERE AWOKEN BY A PERSON PASSING BY THE HOUSE AND RECOGNIZED THAT THE LIGHT HE WAS SEEING WAS A FIRE. IN RETURN OUR LIVES WERE SAVED, ALSO IT WAS DETECTED THE NEXT DAY THAT OUR SPOKE DETECTOR BATTERY WAS DEAD. WE THANKFUL TO GOD ABOVE FOR THE YOUNG MAN WHO JUST HAPPENED TO BE A FIREFIGHTER AND OUR HERO.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

10/1/2008 - WAYNESVILLE , OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 15-20 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAGS SUDDENLY DEPLOYED WITHOUT AN IMPACT. AFTER THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED, THE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO HER RESIDENCE AND THEN CALLED THE DEALER. THE DEALER DID NOT WANT TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER DEALER, BUT THEY WOULD NOT ASSIST. THE DEALER FINALLY AGREED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE, BUT WOULD NOT STATE WHAT CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THIS WAS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. HIS DAUGHTER AND GRANDSON SUSTAINED TEMPORARY HEARING LOSS AND HEADACHES WHEN THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 30,000. UPDATED 11/12/08 UPDATED 11/13/08.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/24/2008 - OCEAN CITY, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC DTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT WAS DEFECTIVE AND NOT IDENTICAL TO THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT. THE SEAT BELT ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE IS RIGID AND NOTICEABLY SHORTER THAN THE ONE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE DEALER SENT A SEAT BELT EXTENDER, BUT IT HAS NOT REMEDIED THE ISSUE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 400 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 275. UPDATED 10/16/08. UPDATED 10/17/08.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2008 - DEERFIELD, OH
2008 CADILLAC DTS HAS SEVERAL SAFETY PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, THE CHIMES SOUNDED, THE DOORS UNLOCKED AND LOCKED, THE GAUGES AND SPEEDOMETER WENT TO ZERO AND THE CRUISE CONTROL DISENGAGED. THE CONSUMER STATED ALL OF THE MALFUNCTIONS HAPPENED SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE TRACTION LIGHT THEN ILLUMINATED, THE GAUGES WOULD COME BACK UP AND THE FOLLOWING MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE DRIVERS INFORMATION SCREEN THAT READ SERVICE BRAKE ASSIST, SERVICE PARK ASSIST, SERVICE STABILITRAK AND CRUISE WILL NOT RESUME YOU MUST RESET.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TAIL LIGHTS

2/4/2008 - MALTA, NY
I AM WRITING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE TAILLIGHTS OF LATE MODEL CARS, SPECIFICALLY CADILLAC'S. THESE TAILLIGHTS, I SUSPECT ARE LED, ARE TOO BRIGHT, AND SEEM TO "PULSATE" IN A WAY THAT IS VERY TROUBLING FOR DRIVERS TO LOOK AT. EVEN FROM A DISTANCE THE LIGHTS HURT EYES AND CAUSE FOR A MAJOR UNSAFE DISTRACTION ON THE ROADS. PLEASE EXAMINE THIS ISSUE, AND REGULATE THE BRIGHTNESS ON TAILLIGHTS, OR ELIMINATE THE LED TYPE, IF, INFACT THIS IS WHAT THEY ARE. THANKS. MIKE

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL

1/8/2008 - UNKNOWN, DC
EMAIL FORWARDED ABOUT CONCERNS ON GM CADILLACS, THE TURN SIGNAL WILL NOT TURN OFF UNLESS THE VEHICLE MAKES A 90 DEGREE TURN, WAS TOLD BY DEALER THAT THIS PROBLEM CAN NOT BE REPAIRED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds