Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC SRX - 2008 CADILLAC SRX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 21 complaints filed for the 2008 CADILLAC SRX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CADILLAC SRX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CADILLAC SRX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Structure (5) Visibility (6)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/7/2014 - FAIRHOPE, AL
WHILE ON TRIP TO TEXAS, WE WERE STARTING TO ENTER FREEWAY FROM REST STOP NEAR SLIDELL LA, AS WE WERE ACCELERATING ENGINE DIED LEAVING US WITH NO POWER BRAKES OR POWER STEERING. MANAGED TO PULL CAR OFF ROAD. AFTER 5-10 MINUTES TRIED STARTING CAR, ENGINE FIRED UO OK SO COMMENCED TRIP. SHORTLY AFTER THAT ALL INSTRUMENT GAUGES QUIT, PULLED OFF HIGHWAY TO CHECK ENGINE, ALL OK SO STARTED ON. STOPPED AT CADILLAC DEALER IN BATON ROUGE, THEY COULD NOT FIND PROBLEM. GAUGES STOPPED WORKING SEVERAL MORE TIMES BUT NO ENGINE PROBLEMS. ARRIVED IN TEXAS NO FURTHER PROBLEMS, HOWEVER NEXT MORING CAR WOULD NOT START, BATTERY DEAD, CALLED CADILLAC DEALER (CAR WAS LEASE) THEY CAME OUT AND REPLACED BATTERY . NEXT DAY CAR STOPPED RUNNING WHILE IN TRAFFIC, AGAIN AFTER 5 MINUTES WAS ABLE TO STARTUP AGAIN. TOOK CAR IN TO DEALER IN GRAPEVINE TEXAS THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE PROBLEM. SEVERAL WEEKS LATER, BATTERY DIED AGAIN, PLANO CADILLAC DEALER SENT OUT TECHNICIAN AND REPLACED BATTERY AGAIN. THESE PROBLEMS CONTINUED UNTIL WE CAME BACK TO OUR HOME IN ALABAMA. SAME PROBLEMS ON THAT TRIP. TOOK CAR INTO DEALER IN MOBILE ALABAMA WERE WE HAD LEASED CAR AND TOLD THEM TO FIX IT, REPLACE IT OR KEEP IT UNDER STATE LEMON LAW.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/20/2014 - PLATTE CITY, MO
DIFFERENTIAL LEAK. THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM. OIL LEAKS FROM THE VENT. IT WAS REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY ONCE AND IT HAS TO BE REPAIRED AGAIN. THE VENT IS A DEFECTIVE DESIGN AND WE NOW HAVE NOT ONLY OUR VEHICLE BUT MANY VEHICLES SPEWING DIFFERENTIAL OIL ALL OVER. GM COULD EASILY PROVIDE A BETTER DESIGN VENT BUT UNLESS THE NHTSA MAKES THEM NOTHING WILL HAPPEN. THE TSB FOR THIS ITEM OBVIOUSLY DOES NOT WORK AS MANY OWNERS ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM OVER AND OVER AGAIN. RECALL THESE VEHICLES SO WE STOP LEAKING OIL INTO THE ENVIRONMENT AND POSSIBLE CAUSE EXPENSIVE DAMAGE TO OUR VEHICLES.

View Details

VISIBILITY

4/1/2013 - SEMMES, AL
I WAS AT DICK RUSSELL'S IN THE RESTAURANT WAITING FOR MY DAUGHTER AND SON-IN-LAW, SO WE COULD HAVE SUPPER. WE HAD BEEN THERE ABOUT 5 - 10 MINUTES, 2 WAITRESS CAME IN AND ASKED IF WE OWNED THE CADILLAC, I SAID YES, WAITRESS SAID YOUR MOON ROOF JUST EXPLODED. I AM SO GLAD WE WERE NOT IN THE CAR WHEN IT EXPLODED.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/18/2013 - VENICE, FL
DRIVING HOME SLOWLY, 25 MPH, THE MOONROOF SHATTERED. FORTUNATELY,THE GLASS WAS CAUGHT BY THE SUN FABRIC SCREEN, HOWEVER, IT WAS EXTREMELY DISTRACTING AND FRIGHTFUL. THERE WERE NO PRIOR CRACKS, WEAR MARKS, NOR SIGNS OF WEAR, NOR FALLEN OBJECTS. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: ROOF AND PILLARS

10/13/2011 - DERRY, NH
CAR WAS PARKED IN GARAGE AND THE MOONROOF WAS OPENED EARLIER IN THE DAY WITH NO ISSUES. THERE WERE NO CRACKS AT ALL IN THE MOONROOF AND NO ROCKS HAD HIT THE VEHICLE. AS THE CAR WAS PARKED IN OUR GARAGE WITH OUR 1 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER STILL IN HER CAR SEAT AND MY HUSBAND AND I WERE AT THE FRONT OF THE GARAGE, THE MOONROOF SHATTERED AND THE GLASS GOT ALL OVER THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. AGAIN, THERE WERE NO SIGNS OF GLASS AND OR WEAR ON THE ACTUAL MOONROOF DURING THE DAY. CADILLAC'S MOONROOF DEPARTMENT STATED THAT IT MAY HAVE BEEN DUE TO A TEMPERATURE CHANGE. THIS IS RIDICULOUS SINCE WE LIVE IN NEW HAMPSHIRE AND THE WEATHER WAS A PERFECT 64 DEGREES AND OUR GARAGE WAS AROUND 75. YOU ASSUME THAT THE GLASS IN YOUR CAR COULD WITHSTAND MOST SITUATIONS. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A MAJOR INCIDENT IF WE WOULD HAVE BEEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THIS HAPPENED AND THERE ARE 6 OTHER KNOWN CASES OF THIS ON THE SAFELY WEBSITE. I UPLOADED A VIDEO AT HTTP://YOUTU.BE/UUECQCOB0OG .

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

10/13/2011 - DERRY, NH
CAR WAS PARKED IN GARAGE AND THE MOONROOF WAS OPENED EARLIER IN THE DAY WITH NO ISSUES. THERE WERE NO CRACKS AT ALL IN THE MOONROOF AND NO ROCKS HAD HIT THE VEHICLE. AS THE CAR WAS PARKED IN OUR GARAGE WITH OUR 1 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER STILL IN HER CAR SEAT AND MY HUSBAND AND I WERE AT THE FRONT OF THE GARAGE, THE MOONROOF SHATTERED AND THE GLASS GOT ALL OVER THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. AGAIN, THERE WERE NO SIGNS OF GLASS AND OR WEAR ON THE ACTUAL MOONROOF DURING THE DAY. CADILLAC'S MOONROOF DEPARTMENT STATED THAT IT MAY HAVE BEEN DUE TO A TEMPERATURE CHANGE. THIS IS RIDICULOUS SINCE WE LIVE IN NEW HAMPSHIRE AND THE WEATHER WAS A PERFECT 64 DEGREES AND OUR GARAGE WAS AROUND 75. YOU ASSUME THAT THE GLASS IN YOUR CAR COULD WITHSTAND MOST SITUATIONS. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A MAJOR INCIDENT IF WE WOULD HAVE BEEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THIS HAPPENED AND THERE ARE 6 OTHER KNOWN CASES OF THIS ON THE SAFELY WEBSITE. I UPLOADED A VIDEO AT HTTP://YOUTU.BE/UUECQCOB0OG .

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

3/3/2011 - CLINTON TWP, MI
WHILE EXITING THE I94 EXPRESSWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH I RAN OVER A BUMP AND THE SIDE AIRBAGS BOTH DEPLOYED WITH A LOUD NOISE AND BLOCKED MY VISION FROM BOTH SIDE WINDOWS. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT BUT I KEPT THE CAR ON THE ROAD AND WAS ONLY ABLE TO PULL OVER BY LIFTING UP THE CURTAINS TO SEE THROUGH THE SIDE WINDOWS. THE VEHICLE SUFFERED NO DAMAGE WHATSOEVER - CONFIRMED BY THE DEALER (TIRES AND RIMS ARE FINE) SO THE IMPACT WAS NOT EXCESSIVE. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A VERY UNSAFE CONDITION CAUSE BY A SENSOR THAT IS MUCH TOO SENSITIVE. I ALSO WONDER WHY THE SIDE CURTAINS WERE DEPLOYED WHEN THE JOLT FROM THE TIRE CAME FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. CADILLAC IS DISPUTING WHETHER THIS IS UNDER WARRANTY AND TOLD ME THAT I SHOULD MAKE AN INSURANCE CLAIM. THE INSURANCE COMPANY TELLS ME THAT SINCE THERE IS NO DAMAGE TO THE CAR OTHER THAN THAT CAUSED BY THE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT, THE FAULT IS WITH THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE IS STILL AT THE DEALER - DON GOOLEY CADILLAC IN ST CLAIR SHORES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/21/2010 - CEDARBURG, WI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CADILLAC SRX. WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES AT A VERY LOW SPEED, THE VEHICLE SURGED FORWARD AND CRASHED INTO A VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED SINCE THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FAILURE HAD PREVIOUSLY OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 13,876.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR

7/9/2010 - ROSWELL, NM
1. NO BRAKING WHEN START CADILLAC SRX 2008 AFTER SITTING FOR MORE THAN 3 HOURS. JUNE 2009 2. TOOK TO DEALER-THEY REPLACED PADS AND TOLD ME IT WAS REPAIRED. JUNE 2009 3. NEXT DAY, NO BRAKES AGAIN, RETURNED TO DEALER AND THEY INFORMED THAT A BRAKE PUMP NEEDED TO BE PUT ON THE VEHICLE DUE TO MANUFACTURING FLAW. HAD THEM ORDER PART, BUT DID NOT COME IN PRIOR TO RETURNING TO HOME TOWN. REFUSED TO FORWARD PART TO MY DEALER.JUNE 2009 4. TOOK CAR TO MY DEALER AND WAS TOLD NO SUCH PART EXISTED. JULY 2009 5. TOOK CAR BACK 3 TIMES TO MY DEALER AND WAS FINALLY TOLD THERE WAS A PART TO ORDER TO FIX THE PROBLEM. SEPT 2009 6. GM OFFERED EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR BRAKE SYSTEM AND COMPONENTS. ACCEPTED BECAUSE THOUGHT PROBLEM TAKEN CARE OF. OCTOBER 2009 7. JUNE 2010 PROBLEM RECURRED. 8. JULY 2010 WAS TOLD PROBLEM WAS TAKEN CARE OF. WENT TO PICK UP CAR. TEST DROVE WITH TECHNICIAN AND BRAKES STILL DID NOT WORK PROPERLY EVEN WITH NEW PUMP AND OTHER PARTS THEY HAD INSTALLED. HAVE BEEN WITHOUT CAR OVER A MONTH AND STILL NOT WORKING. THE PROBLEM IS INTERMITTENT AND ONLY OCCURS ON INITIAL START AFTER SITTING FOR SEVERAL HOURS. SO FAR HAVE RUN OVER CURB AT OFFICE NEARLY HITTING AN ONCOMING CAR, ALMOST RAN OVER MY GRANDSON WHEN PULLING OUT OF GARAGE AND ALMOST HIT A CAR IN PARKING LOT DUE TO NON STOPPING OF VEHICLE. THE BRAKES ARE UNRELIABLE. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. GM DOES NOT SEEM TO BE ABLE TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM AFTER OVER A YEAR.

View Details

VISIBILITY

6/30/2010 - MARIETTA, GA
WHILE DRIVING NORTH ON I75 GOING ROUGHLY 70MPH AROUND 5:30PM EST AND WHEN THE SUNROOF SHATTERED ON MY 2008 CADILLAC SRX. THERE WAS NO ONE AHEAD OF ME CLOSE ENOUGH THAT WOULD HAVE CAUSE DEGREE TO DEBRIS TO FLY UP AND BREAK IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds