Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC SRX - 2008 CADILLAC SRX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 25 complaints filed for the 2008 CADILLAC SRX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CADILLAC SRX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CADILLAC SRX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (2) Visibility (6)
Engine (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/3/2014 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
LEAVING WORK I STARTED THE VEHICLE AND DROVE APPROXIMATELY 1/2 MILE WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE STARTED PULLING AND SHAKING. I PULLED OVER AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES. I STARTED THE VEHICLE AGAIN AND IT CONTINUED TO DO THIS SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER TOLD ME IT WAS THE EXHAUST SYSTEM AND WOULD COST 2300 TO FIX.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/3/2014 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
ONE SUNDAY, I DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE GROCERY STORE, PARKED AND COULDN'T GET THE KEYS OUT OF THE IGNITION AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT GO ALL THE WAY INTO PARK. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS FIXED BUT THE KEY WILL STILL GET STUCK FROM TIME TO TIME AND I HAVE TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND THEN SLAM IT INTO PARK IN ORDER TO GET THE KEY OUT OF IGNITION,

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2014 - FAIRHOPE, AL
LEASED VEHICLE FROM CADILLAC DEALER IN MOBILE AL IN OCT 2007. HAD PROBLEMS RIGHT AWAY GAUGES WOULD QUIT WORKING. DEALER SAID COULDNT REPEAT PROBLEMS. MAY 2008 MOVING TO TX, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ENTER I-10 FROM REST STOP, ENGINE QUIT RUNNING, NO POWER STEERING, OR BRAKES. MANAGED TO GET OFF ROAD. AFTER 5 MINUTES STARTED AGAIN. DEALERS IN LA AND TX COULNT DUPLICATE PROBLEM. CAR CONTINUED TO QUIT RUNNING OFF AND ON. BATTERIES BURNED UP ON 2 OCCASIONS, TECHNICIANS SUSPECTED BAD HARNESS BUT COULNT LOCATE PROBLEM. RETURNED TO AL IN 2009, TOOK CAR TO DEALER TOLD THEM TO FIX, REPLACE OR TAKE BACK. THEY SAID COULDNT DUPLICATE SO I LEFT THE CAR WITH THEM AS AN UNSAFE VEHICLE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/21/2014 - WATERFORD, MI
I WAS DRIVING MY SRX BACK TO WORK ON AIRPORT RD IN WATERFORD MICHIGAN AT 40MPH. THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC WITHIN VIEW OF ME WHEN ALL OF THE SUDDEN MY SUNROFF EXPLODED DROPPING GLASS ALL OVER MY INTERIOR AND MYSELF. I WAS UNHARMED OTHER THAN A FEW VERY SMALL PIECES SCRATCHING MY ARM. I LOOKED ON THE INTERNET TO FIND THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER OWNERS HOWEVER WHEN I AND OTHER HAVE CALLED GM TO DISCUSS THE PROBLEM WE ALL GET THE SAME ANSWER."I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THAT HAPPENING" I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS YET ANOTHER MANUFACTURER PROBLEM WITH GM AND THEY ARE DODGING IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/7/2014 - FAIRHOPE, AL
WHILE ON TRIP TO TEXAS, WE WERE STARTING TO ENTER FREEWAY FROM REST STOP NEAR SLIDELL LA, AS WE WERE ACCELERATING ENGINE DIED LEAVING US WITH NO POWER BRAKES OR POWER STEERING. MANAGED TO PULL CAR OFF ROAD. AFTER 5-10 MINUTES TRIED STARTING CAR, ENGINE FIRED UO OK SO COMMENCED TRIP. SHORTLY AFTER THAT ALL INSTRUMENT GAUGES QUIT, PULLED OFF HIGHWAY TO CHECK ENGINE, ALL OK SO STARTED ON. STOPPED AT CADILLAC DEALER IN BATON ROUGE, THEY COULD NOT FIND PROBLEM. GAUGES STOPPED WORKING SEVERAL MORE TIMES BUT NO ENGINE PROBLEMS. ARRIVED IN TEXAS NO FURTHER PROBLEMS, HOWEVER NEXT MORNING CAR WOULD NOT START, BATTERY DEAD, CALLED CADILLAC DEALER (CAR WAS LEASE) THEY CAME OUT AND REPLACED BATTERY . NEXT DAY CAR STOPPED RUNNING WHILE IN TRAFFIC, AGAIN AFTER 5 MINUTES WAS ABLE TO STARTUP AGAIN. TOOK CAR IN TO DEALER IN GRAPEVINE TEXAS THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE PROBLEM. SEVERAL WEEKS LATER, BATTERY DIED AGAIN, PLANO CADILLAC DEALER SENT OUT TECHNICIAN AND REPLACED BATTERY AGAIN. THESE PROBLEMS CONTINUED UNTIL WE CAME BACK TO OUR HOME IN ALABAMA. SAME PROBLEMS ON THAT TRIP. TOOK CAR INTO DEALER IN MOBILE ALABAMA WERE WE HAD LEASED CAR AND TOLD THEM TO FIX IT, REPLACE IT OR KEEP IT UNDER STATE LEMON LAW.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/20/2014 - PLATTE CITY, MO
DIFFERENTIAL LEAK. THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM. OIL LEAKS FROM THE VENT. IT WAS REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY ONCE AND IT HAS TO BE REPAIRED AGAIN. THE VENT IS A DEFECTIVE DESIGN AND WE NOW HAVE NOT ONLY OUR VEHICLE BUT MANY VEHICLES SPEWING DIFFERENTIAL OIL ALL OVER. GM COULD EASILY PROVIDE A BETTER DESIGN VENT BUT UNLESS THE NHTSA MAKES THEM NOTHING WILL HAPPEN. THE TSB FOR THIS ITEM OBVIOUSLY DOES NOT WORK AS MANY OWNERS ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM OVER AND OVER AGAIN. RECALL THESE VEHICLES SO WE STOP LEAKING OIL INTO THE ENVIRONMENT AND POSSIBLE CAUSE EXPENSIVE DAMAGE TO OUR VEHICLES.

View Details

VISIBILITY

4/1/2013 - SEMMES, AL
I WAS AT DICK RUSSELL'S IN THE RESTAURANT WAITING FOR MY DAUGHTER AND SON-IN-LAW, SO WE COULD HAVE SUPPER. WE HAD BEEN THERE ABOUT 5 - 10 MINUTES, 2 WAITRESS CAME IN AND ASKED IF WE OWNED THE CADILLAC, I SAID YES, WAITRESS SAID YOUR MOON ROOF JUST EXPLODED. I AM SO GLAD WE WERE NOT IN THE CAR WHEN IT EXPLODED.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/18/2013 - VENICE, FL
DRIVING HOME SLOWLY, 25 MPH, THE MOONROOF SHATTERED. FORTUNATELY,THE GLASS WAS CAUGHT BY THE SUN FABRIC SCREEN, HOWEVER, IT WAS EXTREMELY DISTRACTING AND FRIGHTFUL. THERE WERE NO PRIOR CRACKS, WEAR MARKS, NOR SIGNS OF WEAR, NOR FALLEN OBJECTS. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

10/13/2011 - DERRY, NH
CAR WAS PARKED IN GARAGE AND THE MOONROOF WAS OPENED EARLIER IN THE DAY WITH NO ISSUES. THERE WERE NO CRACKS AT ALL IN THE MOONROOF AND NO ROCKS HAD HIT THE VEHICLE. AS THE CAR WAS PARKED IN OUR GARAGE WITH OUR 1 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER STILL IN HER CAR SEAT AND MY HUSBAND AND I WERE AT THE FRONT OF THE GARAGE, THE MOONROOF SHATTERED AND THE GLASS GOT ALL OVER THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. AGAIN, THERE WERE NO SIGNS OF GLASS AND OR WEAR ON THE ACTUAL MOONROOF DURING THE DAY. CADILLAC'S MOONROOF DEPARTMENT STATED THAT IT MAY HAVE BEEN DUE TO A TEMPERATURE CHANGE. THIS IS RIDICULOUS SINCE WE LIVE IN NEW HAMPSHIRE AND THE WEATHER WAS A PERFECT 64 DEGREES AND OUR GARAGE WAS AROUND 75. YOU ASSUME THAT THE GLASS IN YOUR CAR COULD WITHSTAND MOST SITUATIONS. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A MAJOR INCIDENT IF WE WOULD HAVE BEEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THIS HAPPENED AND THERE ARE 6 OTHER KNOWN CASES OF THIS ON THE SAFELY WEBSITE. I UPLOADED A VIDEO AT HTTP://YOUTU.BE/UUECQCOB0OG .

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: ROOF AND PILLARS

10/13/2011 - DERRY, NH
CAR WAS PARKED IN GARAGE AND THE MOONROOF WAS OPENED EARLIER IN THE DAY WITH NO ISSUES. THERE WERE NO CRACKS AT ALL IN THE MOONROOF AND NO ROCKS HAD HIT THE VEHICLE. AS THE CAR WAS PARKED IN OUR GARAGE WITH OUR 1 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER STILL IN HER CAR SEAT AND MY HUSBAND AND I WERE AT THE FRONT OF THE GARAGE, THE MOONROOF SHATTERED AND THE GLASS GOT ALL OVER THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. AGAIN, THERE WERE NO SIGNS OF GLASS AND OR WEAR ON THE ACTUAL MOONROOF DURING THE DAY. CADILLAC'S MOONROOF DEPARTMENT STATED THAT IT MAY HAVE BEEN DUE TO A TEMPERATURE CHANGE. THIS IS RIDICULOUS SINCE WE LIVE IN NEW HAMPSHIRE AND THE WEATHER WAS A PERFECT 64 DEGREES AND OUR GARAGE WAS AROUND 75. YOU ASSUME THAT THE GLASS IN YOUR CAR COULD WITHSTAND MOST SITUATIONS. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A MAJOR INCIDENT IF WE WOULD HAVE BEEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THIS HAPPENED AND THERE ARE 6 OTHER KNOWN CASES OF THIS ON THE SAFELY WEBSITE. I UPLOADED A VIDEO AT HTTP://YOUTU.BE/UUECQCOB0OG .

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds