Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC SRX - 2008 CADILLAC SRX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 42 complaints filed for the 2008 CADILLAC SRX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CADILLAC SRX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CADILLAC SRX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Service Brakes (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Structure (6) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (6) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (5) Power Train (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/28/2014 - OVIEDO, FL
WE WERE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, WHEN THE ENGINE MADE A VERY LOUD, HARSH NOISE AND BEGAN RACING AT A HIGH REV. EVEN WITH BRAKES FULLY APPLIED, WE WERE PROPELLED INTO THE INTERSECTION; TRIED TO JAM THE GEAR SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL, BUT COULD NOT IN TIME. WE WERE STRUCK FROM THE LEFT FRONT AND THE VEHICLE WAS KNOCKED ONTO THE RIGHT SIDE. MINOR INJURIES, TREATED AND RELEASED AT THE EMERGENCY ROOM. VEHICLE WAS TOTALED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/28/2014 - OVIEDO, FL
WE WERE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, WHEN THE ENGINE MADE A VERY LOUD, HARSH NOISE AND BEGAN RACING AT A HIGH REV. EVEN WITH BRAKES FULLY APPLIED, WE WERE PROPELLED INTO THE INTERSECTION; TRIED TO JAM THE GEAR SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL, BUT COULD NOT IN TIME. WE WERE STRUCK FROM THE LEFT FRONT AND THE VEHICLE WAS KNOCKED ONTO THE RIGHT SIDE. MINOR INJURIES, TREATED AND RELEASED AT THE EMERGENCY ROOM. VEHICLE WAS TOTALED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/3/2014 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
LEAVING WORK I STARTED THE VEHICLE AND DROVE APPROXIMATELY 1/2 MILE WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE STARTED PULLING AND SHAKING. I PULLED OVER AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES. I STARTED THE VEHICLE AGAIN AND IT CONTINUED TO DO THIS SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER TOLD ME IT WAS THE EXHAUST SYSTEM AND WOULD COST 2300 TO FIX.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/3/2014 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
ONE SUNDAY, I DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE GROCERY STORE, PARKED AND COULDN'T GET THE KEYS OUT OF THE IGNITION AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT GO ALL THE WAY INTO PARK. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS FIXED BUT THE KEY WILL STILL GET STUCK FROM TIME TO TIME AND I HAVE TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND THEN SLAM IT INTO PARK IN ORDER TO GET THE KEY OUT OF IGNITION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/3/2014 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
ONE SUNDAY, I DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE GROCERY STORE, PARKED AND COULDN'T GET THE KEYS OUT OF THE IGNITION AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT GO ALL THE WAY INTO PARK. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS FIXED BUT THE KEY WILL STILL GET STUCK FROM TIME TO TIME AND I HAVE TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND THEN SLAM IT INTO PARK IN ORDER TO GET THE KEY OUT OF IGNITION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/6/2014 - FAIRHOPE, AL
LEASED VEHICLE FROM CADILLAC DEALER IN MOBILE AL IN OCT 2007. HAD PROBLEMS RIGHT AWAY GAUGES WOULD QUIT WORKING. DEALER SAID COULDN'T REPEAT PROBLEMS. MAY 2008 MOVING TO TX, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ENTER I-10 FROM REST STOP, ENGINE QUIT RUNNING, NO POWER STEERING, OR BRAKES. MANAGED TO GET OFF ROAD. AFTER 5 MINUTES STARTED AGAIN. DEALERS IN LA AND TX COULDN'T DUPLICATE PROBLEM. CAR CONTINUED TO QUIT RUNNING OFF AND ON. BATTERIES BURNED UP ON TWO OCCASIONS, TECHNICIANS SUSPECTED BAD HARNESS BUT COULDN'T LOCATE PROBLEM. RETURNED TO AL IN 2009, TOOK CAR TO DEALER TOLD THEM TO FIX, REPLACE OR TAKE BACK. THEY SAID COULDN'T DUPLICATE SO I LEFT THE CAR WITH THEM AS AN UNSAFE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED HE EXPERIENCED PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE RATTLING AND THE GAUGES NOT WORKING. THE DEALER FOUND THE SOURCE OF THE RATTLE, WHICH WAS AN EXHAUST BRACKET THAT WAS NOT INSTALLED CORRECTLY, BUT COULD NOT LOCATE THE PROBLEM WITH THE GAUGES, OR WHY THE ENGINE STALLING. SEVERAL DAYS LATER, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. IT WAS DETERMINED THE BATTERY WAS DEAD. A NEW BATTERY WAS INSTALLED, AND AS THE CONSUMER WAS DRIVING, THE GAUGES STOPPED WORKING AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2014 - FAIRHOPE, AL
LEASED VEHICLE FROM CADILLAC DEALER IN MOBILE AL IN OCT 2007. HAD PROBLEMS RIGHT AWAY GAUGES WOULD QUIT WORKING. DEALER SAID COULDN'T REPEAT PROBLEMS. MAY 2008 MOVING TO TX, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ENTER I-10 FROM REST STOP, ENGINE QUIT RUNNING, NO POWER STEERING, OR BRAKES. MANAGED TO GET OFF ROAD. AFTER 5 MINUTES STARTED AGAIN. DEALERS IN LA AND TX COULDN'T DUPLICATE PROBLEM. CAR CONTINUED TO QUIT RUNNING OFF AND ON. BATTERIES BURNED UP ON TWO OCCASIONS, TECHNICIANS SUSPECTED BAD HARNESS BUT COULDN'T LOCATE PROBLEM. RETURNED TO AL IN 2009, TOOK CAR TO DEALER TOLD THEM TO FIX, REPLACE OR TAKE BACK. THEY SAID COULDN'T DUPLICATE SO I LEFT THE CAR WITH THEM AS AN UNSAFE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED HE EXPERIENCED PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE RATTLING AND THE GAUGES NOT WORKING. THE DEALER FOUND THE SOURCE OF THE RATTLE, WHICH WAS AN EXHAUST BRACKET THAT WAS NOT INSTALLED CORRECTLY, BUT COULD NOT LOCATE THE PROBLEM WITH THE GAUGES, OR WHY THE ENGINE STALLING. SEVERAL DAYS LATER, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. IT WAS DETERMINED THE BATTERY WAS DEAD. A NEW BATTERY WAS INSTALLED, AND AS THE CONSUMER WAS DRIVING, THE GAUGES STOPPED WORKING AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/7/2014 - FAIRHOPE, AL
WHILE ON TRIP TO TEXAS, WE WERE STARTING TO ENTER FREEWAY FROM REST STOP NEAR SLIDELL LA, AS WE WERE ACCELERATING ENGINE DIED LEAVING US WITH NO POWER BRAKES OR POWER STEERING. MANAGED TO PULL CAR OFF ROAD. AFTER 5-10 MINUTES TRIED STARTING CAR, ENGINE FIRED UO OK SO COMMENCED TRIP. SHORTLY AFTER THAT ALL INSTRUMENT GAUGES QUIT, PULLED OFF HIGHWAY TO CHECK ENGINE, ALL OK SO STARTED ON. STOPPED AT CADILLAC DEALER IN BATON ROUGE, THEY COULD NOT FIND PROBLEM. GAUGES STOPPED WORKING SEVERAL MORE TIMES BUT NO ENGINE PROBLEMS. ARRIVED IN TEXAS NO FURTHER PROBLEMS, HOWEVER NEXT MORNING CAR WOULD NOT START, BATTERY DEAD, CALLED CADILLAC DEALER (CAR WAS LEASE) THEY CAME OUT AND REPLACED BATTERY . NEXT DAY CAR STOPPED RUNNING WHILE IN TRAFFIC, AGAIN AFTER 5 MINUTES WAS ABLE TO STARTUP AGAIN. TOOK CAR IN TO DEALER IN GRAPEVINE TEXAS THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE PROBLEM. SEVERAL WEEKS LATER, BATTERY DIED AGAIN, PLANO CADILLAC DEALER SENT OUT TECHNICIAN AND REPLACED BATTERY AGAIN. THESE PROBLEMS CONTINUED UNTIL WE CAME BACK TO OUR HOME IN ALABAMA. SAME PROBLEMS ON THAT TRIP. TOOK CAR INTO DEALER IN MOBILE ALABAMA WERE WE HAD LEASED CAR AND TOLD THEM TO FIX IT, REPLACE IT OR KEEP IT UNDER STATE LEMON LAW.

View Details

VISIBILITY

4/1/2013 - SEMMES, AL
I WAS AT DICK RUSSELL'S IN THE RESTAURANT WAITING FOR MY DAUGHTER AND SON-IN-LAW, SO WE COULD HAVE SUPPER. WE HAD BEEN THERE ABOUT 5 - 10 MINUTES, 2 WAITRESS CAME IN AND ASKED IF WE OWNED THE CADILLAC, I SAID YES, WAITRESS SAID YOUR MOON ROOF JUST EXPLODED. I AM SO GLAD WE WERE NOT IN THE CAR WHEN IT EXPLODED.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/18/2013 - VENICE, FL
DRIVING HOME SLOWLY, 25 MPH, THE MOONROOF SHATTERED. FORTUNATELY,THE GLASS WAS CAUGHT BY THE SUN FABRIC SCREEN, HOWEVER, IT WAS EXTREMELY DISTRACTING AND FRIGHTFUL. THERE WERE NO PRIOR CRACKS, WEAR MARKS, NOR SIGNS OF WEAR, NOR FALLEN OBJECTS. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds