Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 430 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (56) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (104) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (13) Steering (173) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (51) Seat Belts (8) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (30) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (22) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/23/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
NOTED FUEL SMELL UNDER CAR. FOUND PUDDLE OF FUEL AND CORRODED FUEL LINES AT A PLASTIC CHASSIS BRACKET. LINES ARE COMING FROM THE PUMP RUNNING FORWARD UNDER THE PASSENGER DOOR. WITNESSED FUEL DRIPPING. FUEL LINES ARE ONLY INCHES FROM EXHAUST PIPE WHICH COULD BE A SOURCE OF IGNITION FIRE. SEVERAL ONLINE DISCUSSION BOARDS MENTION THIS SAME ISSUE AS A PROBLEM WITH THE COBALT. THERE IS A RECALL ON THE FUEL PUMP BUT NOT ON THE FUEL LINES? THIS DEFECT/POOR QUALITY FUEL LINE MATERIAL SHOULD BE RECALLED AS ITS A MAJOR FIRE/SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/22/2014 - BOURBONNAIS, IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE PASSENGER'S SIDE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. NE

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/17/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
OWNER OF A 2008 CHEVY COBALT, RECENTLY STARTED HAVING A STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE IN AND AROUND VEHICLE AFTER DRIVING AND EVEN AFTER THE CAR HAD SAT OVER NIGHT. HAD VEHICLE DIAGNOSED AND WAS TOLD THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING ON TOP OF THE FUEL TANK. UPON RESEARCH I FOUND THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL RECALLS AND MANY COMPLAINTS FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM, BUT RECALLS ARE ONLY IN CERTAIN STATES. I'M SORRY CHEVROLET DOESN'T TAKE THE SAFETY OF IT'S CUSTOMERS SERIOUSLY AS I NO LONGER FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY YOUNG CHILDREN IN THIS CAR. CHEVROLET PLEASE EXPLAIN HOW BEING IN A DIFFERENT STATE CHANGES THE FACT THAT YOU MADE A CAR WITH YET ANOTHER DEFECTIVE PART YET YOU WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR ALL THE VEHICLES THAT YOU PUT IT IN???

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/17/2014 - ROSETO, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING (SPEED UNKNOWN), THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATE CONTACT STATED THAT THE THERMOSTAT AND THE THERMOSTAT SENSOR BECAME INOPERABLE .THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE 40,000. KW

View Details

STEERING

10/15/2014 - MIAMI, FL
THE STEERING LOCKED AND HIT A TREE. THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. PASSENGER DIED. DRIVER WAS AIR LIFTED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/15/2014 - MIAMI, FL
THE STEERING LOCKED AND HIT A TREE. THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. PASSENGER DIED. DRIVER WAS AIR LIFTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - LANGEHORNE, PA
ONCE MY IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPAIRED PER THE RECALL, I BEGAN SMELLING GAS INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON BUT THE SMELL HAS BEEN GETTING WORSE AND WORSE. WHEN THE CAR SITS FOR A LONG OR SHORT PERIOD OF TIME IT HAS DIFFICULTY STARTING; ALSO SINCE THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPLACED AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE BEGAN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - LANGEHORNE, PA
ONCE MY IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPAIRED PER THE RECALL, I BEGAN SMELLING GAS INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON BUT THE SMELL HAS BEEN GETTING WORSE AND WORSE. WHEN THE CAR SITS FOR A LONG OR SHORT PERIOD OF TIME IT HAS DIFFICULTY STARTING; ALSO SINCE THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPLACED AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE BEGAN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/3/2014 - HARRISVILLE, PA
MY CAR SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING FOR THE SECOND TIME SINCE JUNE 25, 2014. THIS TIME IT RESTARTED AND I WAS TOLD TO TAKE IT TO THE GM DEALERSHIP WHICH FIXED IT BEFORE. THE ENGINE CONTROL MODULE WAS REPLACED IN JULY AND NOW THE PROBLEM WAS THE MODULE CONNECTORS. BOTH OF WHICH I HAD TO PAY FOR THE COSTLY REPAIRS. GM DOESN'T CARE UNLESS THERE IS A DEATH WITH THESE CARS SHUTTING DOWN WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING THEM. I WAS TOLD GM WOULD NOT STAND BEHIND ANY OF THE REPAIR COSTS BECAUSE I HAD A HIGH MILEAGE VEHICLE. AT WHAT MILEAGE SHOULD YOU EXPECT A GM CAR TO START SHUTTING DOWN WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING? I WASN'T GIVEN THAT INFORMATION WHEN I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE NEW. THE 59 CENT IGNITION SWITCH IS NOT THE ONLY PROBLEM SHUTTING DOWN GM VEHICLES. I HAVE HAD TO PAY OVER $500.00 TO REPAIR THE OTHER PARTS THAT THEY SAY ARE SHUTTING MY VEHICLE DOWN WHILE DRIVING. I HAVE INCURRED TOO MUCH MONEY TO FIX A VEHICLE THAT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AND HAS ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. I WILL ALSO LOOSE MONEY WHEN TRADING IT BECAUSE OF THIS HISTORY OF THE VEHICLE. MAKE GM DO SOMETHING ABOUT THESE UNSAFE VEHICLES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/2/2014 - BLUE SPRINGS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CONTACT SMELLED FUEL INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE PLASTIC TUBES ATTACHED TO THE FUEL TANK WERE COVERED WITH FUEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds