Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 478 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (64) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (123) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (15) Steering (192) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (52) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (21) Fuel System Gasoline (33) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (23) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/18/2015 - ERIE, PA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE ROUTE 20 AT ABOUT 50MPH IT STARTED TO RAIN AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY CAR "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" LIGHT WENT ON. MY CAR STARTED SLOWING DOWN AND I HAD TO TURN TO THE CLOSEST STREET SO THAT I WASN'T HIT BY THE CAR BEHIND ME. THIS HAS HAPPENED BEFORE, LAST YEAR WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY DRIVING TO CLEVELAND, MY CAR BEGAN RAPIDLY SLOWING DOWN AND I COULDN'T PICK UP SPEED WHILE PRESSING THE GAS. I TOOK THE NEAREST EXIT AND HAD TO WAIT TWO HOURS BEFORE THE ENGINE LIGHT WOULD TURN OFF. ALSO, WHILE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON, IT ALSO SAYS "TRACTION OFF" AND MY CAR SHAKES. BOTH TIMES IT WAS RAINING, AND I WAS DRIVING AT 50MPR SPEEDS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/16/2015 - MAUMELLE, AR
CAR HESITATES WHEN TRYING TO START. STRONG SMELL OF GAS BUT NO SIGN OF LEAKS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2015 - CRANBERRY TWP, PA
THE SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT..... SHIFTS REALLY HARD AND RUNS VERY ROUGH AND FEELS LIKE IT WILL STALL. VERY AFRAID.... BEING TOLD IT IS A CYLINDER MISFIRE... I HAVE READ A LOT ABOUT THIS ON LINE AND FIND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS RELATED TO THIS SAME ISSUE IN THIS SAME MODEL.... PLEASE HELP... I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY MATTER.... COULD STOP IN TRAFFIC OR ON EXPRESSWAY WHICH I TRAVEL EACH DAY. MANY THANKS!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/10/2015 - KALAMAZOO, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY FAILED TO RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/2/2015 - THIBODAUX, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 206,110.

View Details

STEERING

5/26/2015 - NELSONVILLE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED AND THE POWER STEERING BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/26/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHEN THERE WAS A PASSENGER IN THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE AIR BAGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/25/2015 - MCALLEN, TX
I WAS JUST WONDERING IF AFTER THE DEALERSHIPS FIXED THE DEFECTIVE KEY SLOTS OF COBALTS AND OTHER CARS, MANY PEOPLE HAD THEIR WIRING SYSTEM MESS UP ONLY TO TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND HAVE THEM CHARGE YOU FOR FIXING UP THE WIRING THAT LED FROM THE KEY SLOT ( WHERE YOU INSERT THE KEY TO START THE CAR) DOWN TO WHEREVER IT GOES. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED TO ME. ABOUT A MONTH TO TWO MONTHS LATER ( I WOULD HAVE TO GO BACK AND CHECK) AFTER THEY FIXED THE KEY SLOT MY CAR JUST WENT DEAD AND THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME IT WAS THE WIRING FROM THE KEY SLOT FROM THE IGNITION TO WHEREVER IT LEADS AND THAT THEY HAD TO CHANGE IT AND WHEN I TRIED TO TALK TO THE MANAGER ABOUT IT I NEVER GOT THROUGH TO HIM ON HIS PHONE, HE NEVER ANSWERED HIS CELL PHONE AND WASN'T AT THE OFFICE AND I JUST GAVE UP ON IT. SO MY QUESTION IS DID OTHERS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM AS I DID WHERE THEY HAD TO PAY FOR WIRING THAT I THINK WAS PART OF THE SAME THING THAT THEY SUPPOSEDLY HAD RECALLED TO FIX. IN CASE YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT; THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE IGNITION KEYS, THAT COULD ACCIDENTALLY JUST TURN YOUR CAR OFF AND YOU WOULD HAVE TROUBLE STEERING THE CAR'S STEERING WHEEL AS THE CAR WAS OFF. SORRY, IF I AM NOT BEING SPECIFIC ENOUGH, I WAS JUST WONDERING IF OTHERS HAD THE SAME PROBLEM I HAD ABOUT HAVING TO FIX THE WIRING AND PAY FOR IT THEMSELVES AS I BELIEVE IT WAS THEIR NEGLIGENCE OF HANDLING THE WIRING SYSTEM. I AM NOT SURE ON THE DATES AS I AM NOT LOOKING UP THE INFORMATION, I AM JUST APPROXIMATING AND I AM NOT SURE HOW TO SEND THIS INFORMATION AS I AM NOT COMPUTER LITERATE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/22/2015 - SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH
I GOT THE CAR NEW, WITH 13 MILES ON IT, IN 2008. THE " SERVICE AIRBAG " LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. I DID GET IT CHECKED WHEN I WENT IN FOR SERVICE, AND THE LIGHT WENT OFF FOR 4 DAYS, AND THEN IT HAS BEEN ON EVER SINCE, WHEN I WENT AGAIN FOR SERVICE, I MENTIONED IT, THEY SAID THEY WOULD LOOK AT IT. THEY DID NOTHING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/21/2015 - FINDLAY , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 168,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds