Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 536 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (70) Exterior Lighting (12) Power Train (16) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (137) Fuel Propulsion System (70) Seat Belts (11) Steering (208) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (33) Seats (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (25) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (5)
Equipment (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/30/2016 - NEWPORT, NC
I BOUGHT A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT FOR MY SIXTEEN YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN 2012. SHE COMPLAINED OF THE CAR LOSING POWER STEERING ON OCCASION , BUT I DID NOT KNOW TO WHAT EXTENT UNTIL I DROVE THE CAR. THE GAUGES WOULD SUDDENLY START FLUCTUATING AND THE CAN WOULD LOSE ALL POWER STEERING AND THE TRANSMISSION ACTED AS IF IT DIDN'T WANT TO SHIFT. I TOOK CAR TO CHEVY DEALERSHIP IN MOREHEAD CITY N.C. AND THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR TWO WEEKS BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE SYMPTOMS. I WAS CHARGED FOR INSPECTING CAR, BUT CAR WAS NOT FIXED. I CONTACTED CHEVYS MAINI HEADQUARTERS AND EXPLAINED THE SITUATION. I INFORMED REPRESENT I'VE THAT I DID NOT FEEL SAFE WITH MY DAUGHTER DRIVING THE CAR. SHE ADVISED ME NOT TO DRIVE THE CAR. PROBLEM IS IS THAT I STILL AM MAKING PAYMENTS AND INSURANCE ON VEHICLE MY DAUGHTER ENDED UP BUYING ANOTHER CAR SINCE THEN , DO TO THIS SAFETY ISSUE. I NOW HAVE CAR, WHICH I HAVE HAD TO DRIVE FOR THE LAST MONTH AND IT IS DOING THE SAME THING, YET MORE FREQUENTLY. I AGAIN TOOK CAR TO DEALERSHIP AND HE QUICKLY DIAGNOSED THE CAR WITH HAVING A BAD BATTERY. $200 LATER, I AM NOW HOPEFUL THE CAR IS FINALLY FIXED AFTER YEARS OF DEALING WITH IT. NO , I WAS WRONG AGAIN. I AM COMPLETE DISSAPPOINTED IN CHEVY FOR MAKING SUCH A WORTHLESS PIECE OF JUNK AND THEN NOT HAVING THE INTEGRITY TO OWE UP TO IT'S FAULT IN DEVELOPING A SUBSTAINDURED PRODUCT. IN THE PROCESS OF TRYING TO FIND A SOLUTION OR REPAIR FOR THIS, I HAVE COME ACROSS HUNDREDS IF NOT THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE. IS SOMEONE GOING TO HAVE TO BE KILLED BEFORE CHEVY OWNS UP TO ITS MISTAKE AND MAKE IT RIGHT FOR CONSUMERS. I AM IN THE MARKET FOR A NEW CAR, BUT AFTER THIS EXPERIENCE I WILL NOT BE BUYING A CHEVY PRODUCT. I TRULY HOPE THAT THE ISSUE AT HAND WILL BRING ATTENTION TO THE DEFECTS CHEVY IS ALLOWING. THIS IS NOT JUST A CAR PROBLEM, THIS IS PEOPLES LIVES WE ARE TALKING ABOUT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/28/2016 - RILEY, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED FUEL LEAKING IN FRONT OF THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MOISTURE FROM THE MUFFLER PIPE CORRODED THE FUEL LINE, CAUSING IT TO FAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL LINE WAS CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,954.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/27/2016 - SAFFORD, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED, THE INDICATORS IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL BEGAN TO FLICKER AND THE STEERING WHEEL REQUIRED FORCE IN ORDER TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/26/2016 - WILMORE, KY
FUEL LINES RUSTED IN TWO AND BEGAN LEAKING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

1/25/2016 - SOUTH FRESNO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT A SERVICE CENTER, THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO TURN AND SEIZED. THE POWER STEERING AND SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY AND PASSENGER SEAT MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/25/2016 - SOUTH FRESNO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT A SERVICE CENTER, THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO TURN AND SEIZED. THE POWER STEERING AND SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY AND PASSENGER SEAT MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

SEATS

1/25/2016 - SOUTH FRESNO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT A SERVICE CENTER, THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO TURN AND SEIZED. THE POWER STEERING AND SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY AND PASSENGER SEAT MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/20/2016 - HARLINGEN, TX
I SMELLED FUEL FUMES REAL BAD ONE MORNING SO I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND ONCE THEY LIFTED IT UP, THEY SAID IT WAS THE FUEL TANK. SO THE NEXT MORNING, WHICH WAS MONDAY, I TOOK IT TO MY DEALERSHIP GILLMAN CHEVROLET IN SAN BENITO, TEXAS. BEFORE TAKING IT, I DECIDED TO CALL SO I CAN FIRST MAKE SURE THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE FUEL TANK. THE GENTLEMAN I SPOKE TO SAID "YES MA'AM THERE IS A RECALL AND WE CAN REPAIR IT". I SAID GREAT, LET ME TAKE IT IN. I LEFT IT THERE ALL DAY MONDAY AND HE ASSURED ME THAT IT WOULD BE READY BY THE NEXT DAY ON TUESDAY. WELL COME TUESDAY AND I GET A CALL FROM THE THE SAME MAN TELLING ME THAT THE PROBLEM IS NOT THE FUEL PUMP, IT'S THE FUEL TANK. WHEN DID I SAY FUEL PUMP? I SAID FUEL TANK. SO NOWWWW IT'S NOT UNDER WARRANTY AND IT'S GOING TO COST ME AT LEAST $700 TO FIX IT. I TOLD HIM HAD I KNOWN THAT IT WASN'T UNDER WARRANTY, I WOULDN'T HAVE LEFT MY CAR SITTING THERE FOR 2 DAYS! I COULD'VE TAKEN IT SOMEWHERE ELSE! IT MAKES NO SENSE TO ME! HE SAID THAT HE OVER LOOKED IT. WELL HOW IS THAT MY FAULT??! NOW TO DRIVE IT SOMEWHERE ELSE WHICH IS DANGEROUS! DOES SOMETHING HAVE TO HAPPEN TO ME IN ORDER FOR THEM TO WANT TO HELP ME?? THIS IS NONSENSE!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/17/2016 - ACTON, ME
SOME TIMES THE CAR WILL NOT START, REDUCED ENGINE POWER, CAN NOT GO LONG DISTANCE ON TURN PIKE, CAR WILL STALL OUT. FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM, HAS A PROBLEM ALSO, BUT WILL NOT LET ME CLICK ON BOX ABOVE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/17/2016 - ACTON, ME
SOME TIMES THE CAR WILL NOT START, REDUCED ENGINE POWER, CAN NOT GO LONG DISTANCE ON TURN PIKE, CAR WILL STALL OUT. FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM, HAS A PROBLEM ALSO, BUT WILL NOT LET ME CLICK ON BOX ABOVE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds