Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 459 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (119) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (15) Steering (184) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (50) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (32) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (23) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/30/2015 - KYLE, TX
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE SEIZED AS THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AS THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:10V073000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. DJR

View Details

STEERING

3/26/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
ON 12/7/14, MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT WHILE I WAS BACKING UP. WHEN I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND BACK ON A FEW MINUTES LATER, THE POWER STEERING CAME BACK. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 12/12/14 AND WAS TOLD THE STEERING COLUMN WAS FAULTY AND PAID ABOUT $830 FOR IT TO BE REPLACED. ON 2/25/15, THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE SAME DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE STEERING COLUMN THAT WAS PUT IN TWO MONTHS BEFORE WAS ALSO FAULTY. IT WAS REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE SINCE THE ORIGINAL REPAIR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. ELEVEN DAYS LATER, ON 3/8/15, THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN. THIS TIME WHEN I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP, I WAS TOLD THE BATTER CABLES WERE LOSE AND THAT THE BATTERY FAILED THE LOAD TEST, AND THAT THIS IS WHAT WAS CAUSING THE POWER STEERING TO GO OUT THIS TIME, BUT THEY STILL INSISTED THAT IT WAS THE STEERING COLUMNS THE FIRST TWO TIMES. I WAS TOLD IF I PAID FOR THE BATTERY, THE LABOR WOULD BE FREE. I HAD THE BATTERY REPLACED ELSEWHERE AND HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH GM'S CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER AND THE BBB. I WILL ALSO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE AZ ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE SINCE THE ISSUE HAS NOT BEEN RECTIFIED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/12/2015 - MANCHESTER , NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT SUSPENSION CONTROL ARM BUSHINGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/11/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
"SERVICE ESC" DASH WARNING CAME ON. BOTH "TRACTION CONTROL AND ESC" DASH LIGHTS WERE LIT.

View Details

STEERING

3/3/2015 - CAJUAS, PR
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATE 15 MPH THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO TURN. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO MERGE ONTO THE SIDE OF ROAD. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 10V073000 (STEERING) WAS PERFORMED ONE AND A HALF YEAR AGO; HOWEVER THE REPAIR FAILED TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,404.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/20/2015 - KNOXVILLE, TN
I AM USING MY PARTNER'S GRANDPARENT'S 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT LS TO GET BACK AND FOR TO WORK. THIS MORNING I GOT UP AS USUAL, AND WENT OUT TO MY CAR TO LET IT WARM UP. I STARTED MY CAR, MIND YOU I KEEP THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR OPEN BECAUSE MY CAR AUTOMATICALLY LOCKS, AND STARTED THE CAR. DOORS LOCKED AS PER USUAL. HOWEVER, UPON HITTING THE UNLOCK BUTTON ON MY KEY FOB, THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK, PASSENGER SIDE DID. I ROLLED DOWN THE WINDOW AND CLOSED THE DOOR, I DIDN'T HAVE A CHOICE, I HAVE TO WORK. ANYWAY, I HAD TO CLIMB IN THROUGH EITHER THE OPEN WINDOW OR THE PASSENGER SIDE. I CALLED REEDER CHEVROLET IN KNOXVILLE AND THEY STATED THAT IT WOULD BE SEVERAL HUNDRED DOLLARS TO FIX POTENTIALLY ONE OF TWO PARTS IN THE VEHICLE. I WOULDN'T HAVE MINDED IF I HADN'T DONE MY RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL HUNDRED DIFFERENT PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM, AND NO ONE HAS DONE A RECALL ON THIS OR DONE ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THE DEALERS HALF THE TIME SAY THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT IS CAUSING IT OR THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF IT BEFORE. I WOULD GREATLY APPRECIATE IT IF SOMEONE ACTUALLY DID A RECALL BECAUSE THIS IS RIDICULOUS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/17/2015 - MILTON, WA
CAR ROLLED DOWN SLIGHT HILL AFTER TURNING OFF AND EXITING VEHICLE, TRANSMISSION SHIFTER APPEARED TO BE IN PARK BUT OBVIOUSLY NOT AS CAR ROLLED AFTER LEAVING ALONE ON SLIGHT SLOPE. AFTER ACCIDENT, I PLACED KEY IN IGNITION, STARTED CAR BUT WILL NOT BACK UP OR CHANGE POSITION OF GEAR FROM NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. WILL NOT GO BACK INTO PARK. KEY WILL NOT COME OUT OF IGNITION NOW. BUMPER AND RADIATOR ARE DAMAGED AFTER CRASH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/17/2015 - MILTON, WA
CAR ROLLED DOWN SLIGHT HILL AFTER TURNING OFF AND EXITING VEHICLE, TRANSMISSION SHIFTER APPEARED TO BE IN PARK BUT OBVIOUSLY NOT AS CAR ROLLED AFTER LEAVING ALONE ON SLIGHT SLOPE. AFTER ACCIDENT, I PLACED KEY IN IGNITION, STARTED CAR BUT WILL NOT BACK UP OR CHANGE POSITION OF GEAR FROM NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. WILL NOT GO BACK INTO PARK. KEY WILL NOT COME OUT OF IGNITION NOW. BUMPER AND RADIATOR ARE DAMAGED AFTER CRASH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/17/2015 - MILTON, WA
CAR ROLLED DOWN SLIGHT HILL AFTER TURNING OFF AND EXITING VEHICLE, TRANSMISSION SHIFTER APPEARED TO BE IN PARK BUT OBVIOUSLY NOT AS CAR ROLLED AFTER LEAVING ALONE ON SLIGHT SLOPE. AFTER ACCIDENT, I PLACED KEY IN IGNITION, STARTED CAR BUT WILL NOT BACK UP OR CHANGE POSITION OF GEAR FROM NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. WILL NOT GO BACK INTO PARK. KEY WILL NOT COME OUT OF IGNITION NOW. BUMPER AND RADIATOR ARE DAMAGED AFTER CRASH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/12/2015 - GASTONIA, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 143,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds