Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 450 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (60) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (116) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (13) Steering (180) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (51) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (31) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (22) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/17/2015 - OWENSBORO , KY
WHEN DRIVING THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT, THE ODOMETER GOES CRAZY, MY SEARCH ENGINE AND SECURITY LIGHT COMES ON, STARTS SAYING LOW FUEL (WHEN ON A FULL TANK), THE MILEAGE GOES BLANK AS WELL AS EVERYTHING ELSE ON THE DASHBOARD.

View Details

STEERING

1/14/2015 - KULPMONT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE PUSH BUTTON STARTER WAS DEACTIVATED, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE DOORS FAILED TO UNLOCK. THE CONTACT ACTIVATED THE REMOTE KEY FOB TO EXIT FROM THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR. IN ADDITION, BOTH TURN SIGNALS BECAME INOPERABLE. THE AIR BAG ON INDICATOR AND TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE FAILURES OCCURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS MILEAGE 65,306.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - KULPMONT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE PUSH BUTTON STARTER WAS DEACTIVATED, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE DOORS FAILED TO UNLOCK. THE CONTACT ACTIVATED THE REMOTE KEY FOB TO EXIT FROM THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR. IN ADDITION, BOTH TURN SIGNALS BECAME INOPERABLE. THE AIR BAG ON INDICATOR AND TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE FAILURES OCCURRED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS MILEAGE 65,306.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - NASHVILLE, IN
1/10/15, KEPT THINKING I WAS SMELLING GAS WHILE DRIVING FOR SEVERAL WEEKS, THEN ON THE 10TH OF JANUARY 2015 I PULLED IN AND PARKED CAR IN GARAGE. SEVERAL HOURS LATER, I RETURNED AND NOTED A SMALL PUDDLE BY DRIVERS DOOR. I INSPECTED IT AND SMELLED IT, YES IT WAS GASOLINE. I STARTED THE CAR TO MOVE IT BACK TO SEE HOW MUCH IT LEAKED, IT WAS THEN THAT FUEL BEGAN RUNNING OUT EVERYWHERE AROUND MY SHOES, HAD 1/2 TANK. I SHUT OFF THE CAR, AS IT SCARED ME. AND LOW FUEL LIGHT CAME ON. IT STILL SETS I'M MY GARAGE NOW. I NOTED MANY!!! COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME PROBLEM. I AM UPSET AS I WAS NOT AWARE OF THIS AND A FIRE COULD HAVE OCCURRED WITH SMALL CHILDREN IN CAR SEATS IN THE BACK. THANKS GM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/7/2015 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
TOOK CAR TO DEALER ON GM INGNITION SWITCH RECALL; THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR MECHANICALLY WHEN THEY TOOK POSESSION. THEY HAD THE CAR FOR ABOUT 6 WEEKS , THEY MOVED IT AROUND ON THEIR LOT BY THIER OWN ADMISSION, DID A REQ OIL CHANGE AND WHEN WE WENT TO PICK UP THEY HAD LOST THE KEYS. WHEN THEY AGREED TO MAKE NEW KEYS, THEY COULD NOT GET THE AUTOMATIC DOOR LOCK TO WORK AND AFTER NOW 6 MONTHS OF DISCUSSIONS THEY STILL WONT TAKE RESPOSIBILITY ALTHOUGH A SECOND DEALERSHIP HAS LOOKED AT IT AND SAYS "THEY MUST HAVE SHORTED OUT THE SYSTEM CHANGING THE INGNITION OR PROGRAMING THE KEYS" .. I NEED HELP GETTING THEM TO FIX THE LOCKS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/6/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
SINCE I PURCHASED THIS CAR I HAVE HAD A PROBLEM WITH INTERMITTENT STALLING. BACKING OUT OF A PARKING STALL. STOPPING AT A RED LIGHT. SLOWING DOWN. MAKING A TURN. TURNING INTO TRAFFIC. I HAVE CLEANED PARTS OF THE CAR, REPLACED PARTS OF THE CAR, LOOKED ONLINE FOR THE ISSUE (I FIND A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS WITH NO RESOLUTIONS), TAKEN IT TO CHEVY (THEY FIND NOTHING WRONG). SOMETIMES THROWING THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL WILL SAVE IT, BUT NOT ALWAYS. THE CAR IS AN AUTOMATIC. AS TIME HAS GONE ON IT HAS GOTTEN WORSE, BUT AFTER ALL THE RECALLS I HAVE HAD NO ONE CAN TELL ME WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. I WILL BE MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN WITH TRAFFIC COMING AT ME AND THE CAR DIES. IT JUST SEEMS LIKE GM NEEDS A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF PEOPLE TO DIE FOR AN ISSUE BEFORE THEY WILL ADDRESS IT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

1/5/2015 - KULPMONT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE TURN SIGNAL FLASHER AND THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR LATCHES BECAME INOPERABLE INTERMITTENTLY. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE TIRE GAUGES WERE MISREADING THE OPPOSITE TIRES AND WHEN ATTEMPTING TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL A WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL

1/5/2015 - KULPMONT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE TURN SIGNAL FLASHER AND THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR LATCHES BECAME INOPERABLE INTERMITTENTLY. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE TIRE GAUGES WERE MISREADING THE OPPOSITE TIRES AND WHEN ATTEMPTING TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL A WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

1/5/2015 - KULPMONT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE TURN SIGNAL FLASHER AND THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR LATCHES BECAME INOPERABLE INTERMITTENTLY. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE TIRE GAUGES WERE MISREADING THE OPPOSITE TIRES AND WHEN ATTEMPTING TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL A WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/31/2014 - KALISPELL, MT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DISPLAY WOULD ILLUMINATE EXTREMELY DIMLY CAUSING THE INSTRUMENT GAUGES TO BECOME DIFFICULT TO READ. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE HEADLIGHT WIRING HARNESS BURNED AND MELTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds