Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 563 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (72) Exterior Lighting (12) Power Train (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (144) Fuel Propulsion System (74) Seat Belts (11) Steering (225) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seats (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine (26) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (25) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/20/2016 - LEAGUE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/18/2016 - PINSON, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE STEERING BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO STEER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REFUSED TO PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2016 - HENDERSON, NV
START OF THE PROBLEM THE GAUGES WILL GO ERATIC, MY CAR CHIMES A FEW DINGS THEN THEFT LIGHT COMES ON. I DON'T HAVE A THEFT SYSTEM. LS MODEL. ALSO EFFECTS THE TRANSMISSION(AUTOMATIC) CAUSE IT WILL SHIFT HARD AND JERK THE CAR. THE AC ALSO SHUTS OFF DURING THIS ISSUE, IT WILL BLOW AIR BUT IT WON'T BE COLD. SEEMS LIKE THE ISSUE ALWAYS COMES BACK WHEN IT'S EXTREMELY HOT OUTSIDE. THIS IS AN ON GOING ISSUE FOR ABOUT 5 YEARS AND IT COMES AND GOES. EVERY MECHANIC I WENT TO THEIR CAR READER CAN'T READ MY CAR. ALSO IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND AGAIN WHEN I'M PARKED AND JUST STARTED THE CAR. AND I HAVE HAD ALL THE RECALLS FIXED THAT WERE REPORTED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/23/2016 - HENDERSON, NV
START OF THE PROBLEM THE GAUGES WILL GO ERATIC, MY CAR CHIMES A FEW DINGS THEN THEFT LIGHT COMES ON. I DON'T HAVE A THEFT SYSTEM. LS MODEL. ALSO EFFECTS THE TRANSMISSION(AUTOMATIC) CAUSE IT WILL SHIFT HARD AND JERK THE CAR. THE AC ALSO SHUTS OFF DURING THIS ISSUE, IT WILL BLOW AIR BUT IT WON'T BE COLD. SEEMS LIKE THE ISSUE ALWAYS COMES BACK WHEN IT'S EXTREMELY HOT OUTSIDE. THIS IS AN ON GOING ISSUE FOR ABOUT 5 YEARS AND IT COMES AND GOES. EVERY MECHANIC I WENT TO THEIR CAR READER CAN'T READ MY CAR. ALSO IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND AGAIN WHEN I'M PARKED AND JUST STARTED THE CAR. AND I HAVE HAD ALL THE RECALLS FIXED THAT WERE REPORTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/23/2016 - HENDERSON, NV
START OF THE PROBLEM THE GAUGES WILL GO ERATIC, MY CAR CHIMES A FEW DINGS THEN THEFT LIGHT COMES ON. I DON'T HAVE A THEFT SYSTEM. LS MODEL. ALSO EFFECTS THE TRANSMISSION(AUTOMATIC) CAUSE IT WILL SHIFT HARD AND JERK THE CAR. THE AC ALSO SHUTS OFF DURING THIS ISSUE, IT WILL BLOW AIR BUT IT WON'T BE COLD. SEEMS LIKE THE ISSUE ALWAYS COMES BACK WHEN IT'S EXTREMELY HOT OUTSIDE. THIS IS AN ON GOING ISSUE FOR ABOUT 5 YEARS AND IT COMES AND GOES. EVERY MECHANIC I WENT TO THEIR CAR READER CAN'T READ MY CAR. ALSO IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND AGAIN WHEN I'M PARKED AND JUST STARTED THE CAR. AND I HAVE HAD ALL THE RECALLS FIXED THAT WERE REPORTED.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2016 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
POWER STEERING IS LOST AT TIMES HARD TO TURN ONCE CAR IS STARTED AT TIMES.

View Details

STEERING

6/3/2016 - ALLISON PARK, PA
STARTED CAR AND RECEIVED ERROR CODE STATING THAT POWER STEERING WAS NOT WORKING. DROVE AROUND MY APARTMENT COMPLEX AND CONFIRMED THAT IT IS NOT WORKING. I UNDERSTAND THERE WAS A RECALL FOR MY YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL FOR POWER STEERING BUT I DID NOT RECEIVE NOTICE OF THAT RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

5/27/2016 - MELROSE PARK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE POWER STEERING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED, BUT THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details

WHEELS

5/26/2016 - SPRINGBORO, OH
AT 3:30AM, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOUGLAS PERFORMANCE GT-H TIRE 195/60R15 88H TIRE SPONTANEOUSLY EXPLODED WHILE SITTING IN MY GARAGE. IT BENT THE METAL FRAME AROUND THE WHEEL WELL, BLEW THE HEADLIGHT OUT COMPLETELY, AND CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE INTERIOR OF THE WHEEL WELL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/26/2016 - SPRINGBORO, OH
AT 3:30AM, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOUGLAS PERFORMANCE GT-H TIRE 195/60R15 88H TIRE SPONTANEOUSLY EXPLODED WHILE SITTING IN MY GARAGE. IT BENT THE METAL FRAME AROUND THE WHEEL WELL, BLEW THE HEADLIGHT OUT COMPLETELY, AND CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE INTERIOR OF THE WHEEL WELL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds