Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 612 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (77) Exterior Lighting (13) Power Train (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (147) Fuel Propulsion System (90) Seat Belts (13) Steering (248) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seats (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (27) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (26) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 81
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/17/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
MY DAD BOUGHT THE CAR FOR ME FROM A FRIEND WHO OWNS A SHOP AND A FEW MONTHS LATER IT STARTS SMELLING LIKE GAS REALLY BAD. I LOOK UNDER THE CAR AND THERE'S A GAS LEAK. AND MY CAR SMELLS LIKE GAS I SMELL LIKE GAS WHEN I GET OUT. SO I LOOK UP THE PROBLEM AND SEE THERE'S A RECALL ON THESE CARS AND I'M JUST NOT TRYING TO PAY ALL THAT MONEY ON A DEFECT ON THE CAR. I JUST NEED HELP BECAUSE CHILDREN, LITTLE BABIES RIDE IN MY CAR. AND THE GAS MAKES ME REALLY DIZZY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/1/2017 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED RAPIDLY WITHOUT WARNING AND CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE GUARDRAIL THREE TIMES. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED PARTIALLY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE COULD NOT MOVE AND WAS TAKEN TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM TO RECEIVE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DESTROYED. THE LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE CRASH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE CRASH AND PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC TEST, WHICH FOUND NO FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/1/2017 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED RAPIDLY WITHOUT WARNING AND CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE GUARDRAIL THREE TIMES. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED PARTIALLY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE COULD NOT MOVE AND WAS TAKEN TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM TO RECEIVE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DESTROYED. THE LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE CRASH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE CRASH AND PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC TEST, WHICH FOUND NO FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

5/22/2017 - GUILFORD, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED AND CAUSED THE STEERING WHEEL TO BECOME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN IN EITHER DIRECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED AND NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/13/2017 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
WHEN YOU USE THE SIGNAL LIGHTS AND YOU TURN THEY DON'T TURN OFF AFTER YOU TURN AND THEY HAVE TO BE TURNED OFF MANUALLY. THIS CAR HAS 57269 MILES. THIS IS A SAFETY ISUE

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/11/2017 - NEWVILE, PA
MY 08 COBALT STARTED SMELLING LIKE GAS AND NOW IT IS DRIPPING FUEL RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE LEFT SIDE BACK TIRE. THE LEAK IS COMING FROM THE CLIP WHERE THEY HOSES CONNECT. I HAVE BEEN DOING A LOT OF SEARCHING ABOUT THE FUEL LEAK IN FRONT OF THE LEFT SIDE REAR TIRE. A LOT OF OTHERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE IN THE SAME EXACT SPOT. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY IT ISN'T CONSIDERED A RECALL IF ITS A SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE A 6 MONTH OLD DAUGHTER WHO SITS BACK THERE AND IT SMELLS OF GAS TERRIBLE. AFTER READING ABOUT WHAT COULD HAPPEN I DONT LIKE TO EVEN DRIVE IT!

View Details

STEERING

5/10/2017 - BURTON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE VEHICLE JERKED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/9/2017 - BUFFALO, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE EPS FAILED CONSTANTLY AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING, WHICH MADE THE VEHICLE EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN LEFT OR RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/5/2017 - BETHLEHEM, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING 10 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,226.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/4/2017 - TOPEKA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO BRAKE, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY LOOSE AND SHOOK INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT HEARD A SOUND OF PLASTIC BREAKING COMING FROM THE DASHBOARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE AXLE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT STRUTS, FRONT MOUNTS, REAR SHOCKS, AND REAR SPRINGS FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AT THE DEALER, BUT THE CONTACT REPLACED THE FRONT SHOCKS HIMSELF. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT SPOKE TO THE MANUFACTURER WHO STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT ASSIST BECAUSE THE CONTACT REFUSED THE REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THAT THE STUB AXLE WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,507.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 81
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds