Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 631 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (79) Exterior Lighting (13) Power Train (21) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (149) Fuel Propulsion System (101) Seat Belts (13) Steering (251) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seats (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (29) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (26) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 83
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/13/2017 - ROCHESTER, NY
I WOKE UP TO FIND THAT MY CAR WAS LEAKING FUEL. THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT OR INCIDENT. THE LEAK IS FROM THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE. THIS SEEMS TO BE DESCRIBED IN OTHER 2008 CHEVROLET COBALTS AND IS COVERED IN SOME CASES UNDER A RECALL #12191B. MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED SO I WAS HOPING TO RAISE AWARENESS THAT THIS PROBLEM CONTINUES TO OCCUR ON CARS OF THIS YEAR AND MODEL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/11/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE CONTACT NOTICED AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR. ADDITIONALLY, FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE NEAR THE TANK. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/11/2017 - KILLEEN, TX
MY 2008 CHEVY COBALT BEGAN SECRETING A VERY STRONG FUEL ODOR; IT DIDN'T MATTER IF IT WAS PARKED, OR DRIVING, THE ODOR HAS BEEN PROMINENT 24/7. I CHECKED FOR LEAKS AND FOUND NOTHING. I RECENTLY MOVED, SO I HAVE YET TO FIND A NEW, TRUSTWORTHY MECHANIC, SO I'VE BEEN DRIVING MY HUSBANDS CAR DUE TO THE FACT THAT I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THE CHEVY AT THIS POINT. I HAD HOWEVER, BEEN REGULARLY STARTING THE ENGINE ONCE A WEEK, WHILE TRYING TO LOCATE A MECHANIC, HOWEVER NOW. MY CHEVY IS COMPLETELY DEAD; IT WONT TURN ON, NOR WILL THE LOCK SYSTEM EVEN FUNCTION VIN NUMBER: 1G1AL58F787297278

View Details

ENGINE

10/11/2017 - KILLEEN, TX
MY 2008 CHEVY COBALT BEGAN SECRETING A VERY STRONG FUEL ODOR; IT DIDN'T MATTER IF IT WAS PARKED, OR DRIVING, THE ODOR HAS BEEN PROMINENT 24/7. I CHECKED FOR LEAKS AND FOUND NOTHING. I RECENTLY MOVED, SO I HAVE YET TO FIND A NEW, TRUSTWORTHY MECHANIC, SO I'VE BEEN DRIVING MY HUSBANDS CAR DUE TO THE FACT THAT I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THE CHEVY AT THIS POINT. I HAD HOWEVER, BEEN REGULARLY STARTING THE ENGINE ONCE A WEEK, WHILE TRYING TO LOCATE A MECHANIC, HOWEVER NOW. MY CHEVY IS COMPLETELY DEAD; IT WONT TURN ON, NOR WILL THE LOCK SYSTEM EVEN FUNCTION VIN NUMBER: 1G1AL58F787297278

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/11/2017 - KILLEEN, TX
MY 2008 CHEVY COBALT BEGAN SECRETING A VERY STRONG FUEL ODOR; IT DIDN'T MATTER IF IT WAS PARKED, OR DRIVING, THE ODOR HAS BEEN PROMINENT 24/7. I CHECKED FOR LEAKS AND FOUND NOTHING. I RECENTLY MOVED, SO I HAVE YET TO FIND A NEW, TRUSTWORTHY MECHANIC, SO I'VE BEEN DRIVING MY HUSBANDS CAR DUE TO THE FACT THAT I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THE CHEVY AT THIS POINT. I HAD HOWEVER, BEEN REGULARLY STARTING THE ENGINE ONCE A WEEK, WHILE TRYING TO LOCATE A MECHANIC, HOWEVER NOW. MY CHEVY IS COMPLETELY DEAD; IT WONT TURN ON, NOR WILL THE LOCK SYSTEM EVEN FUNCTION VIN NUMBER: 1G1AL58F787297278

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/9/2017 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
THE POWERSTEARING MESSAGE APPEARED ON MY DASHBOARD LAST NIGHT WHILE, THANKFULLY I WAS PARKED AND STATIONERY BEFORE I TURNEDMY CAR ON. I HAD NO MOBILITY WITH THE STEERING WHEEL AND APPEARED TO BE LOCKED UP. I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND AFTER STARTING THE CAR A SHORT BIT LATER THE CAR WAS OPERATIONAL. THE CAR RUNS FINE FOR NOW BUT I FEAR IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. TO ADD BEFORE THIS HAPPENED I JUST FINISHED DRIVING 500 MILES WHEN I PARKED THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/3/2017 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
I HAVE BEEN SMELLING GAS FROM MY CAR FOR A FEW WEEKS NOW. I COULD EVEN SEE IT DRIPPING WHEN I STOOD CLOSE TO THE CAR. HAD A MECHANIC LOOK AT IT AND HE TOLD ME THE FUEL PUMP AND HOSE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT WAS CRACKED.HE WANTED $550 TO REPAIR IT. I CAN'T AFFORD TO REPAIR IT RIGHT NOW.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/3/2017 - BRANFORD, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHETHER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED OR WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE CONTACT NOTICED AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR. ADDITIONALLY, THERE WAS FUEL LEAKING UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

9/28/2017 - PLAIN CITY, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, A RATTLING SOUND CAME FROM THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME LOOSE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE BELOW 40 MPH TO REACH HIS DESTINATION. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONLY WHEN DRIVING ABOVE 45 MPH, BUT THE RATTLING SOUND WAS HEARD AT ANY SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DAN TOBIN CHEVROLET BUICK GMC (2539 BILLINGSLEY RD, COLUMBUS, OH 43235) WHERE THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL; THEREFORE, THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/22/2017 - BRYDEN, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, FUMES WERE PRESENT INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FREEDOM CHEVROLET (212 E 5TH ST S, BIG STONE GAP, VA 24219, PHONE NUMBER: (276) 565-8955) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL LINE WAS CORRODED, WHICH CAUSED FUEL TO LEAK. THE FUEL LINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 143,699.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 83
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds