Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 455 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (117) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (14) Steering (181) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (50) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (32) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (22) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/3/2015 - CAJUAS, PR
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATE 15MPH THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO TURN. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 10V073000 (STEERING) WAS PERFORMED ONE AND A HALF YEAR AGO; HOWEVER THE REPAIR DIDN'T CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,404. LI

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/20/2015 - KNOXVILLE, TN
I AM USING MY PARTNER'S GRANDPARENT'S 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT LS TO GET BACK AND FOR TO WORK. THIS MORNING I GOT UP AS USUAL, AND WENT OUT TO MY CAR TO LET IT WARM UP. I STARTED MY CAR, MIND YOU I KEEP THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR OPEN BECAUSE MY CAR AUTOMATICALLY LOCKS, AND STARTED THE CAR. DOORS LOCKED AS PER USUAL. HOWEVER, UPON HITTING THE UNLOCK BUTTON ON MY KEY FOB, THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK, PASSENGER SIDE DID. I ROLLED DOWN THE WINDOW AND CLOSED THE DOOR, I DIDN'T HAVE A CHOICE, I HAVE TO WORK. ANYWAY, I HAD TO CLIMB IN THROUGH EITHER THE OPEN WINDOW OR THE PASSENGER SIDE. I CALLED REEDER CHEVROLET IN KNOXVILLE AND THEY STATED THAT IT WOULD BE SEVERAL HUNDRED DOLLARS TO FIX POTENTIALLY ONE OF TWO PARTS IN THE VEHICLE. I WOULDN'T HAVE MINDED IF I HADN'T DONE MY RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL HUNDRED DIFFERENT PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM, AND NO ONE HAS DONE A RECALL ON THIS OR DONE ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THE DEALERS HALF THE TIME SAY THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT IS CAUSING IT OR THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF IT BEFORE. I WOULD GREATLY APPRECIATE IT IF SOMEONE ACTUALLY DID A RECALL BECAUSE THIS IS RIDICULOUS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/17/2015 - MILTON, WA
CAR ROLLED DOWN SLIGHT HILL AFTER TURNING OFF AND EXITING VEHICLE, TRANSMISSION SHIFTER APPEARED TO BE IN PARK BUT OBVIOUSLY NOT AS CAR ROLLED AFTER LEAVING ALONE ON SLIGHT SLOPE. AFTER ACCIDENT, I PLACED KEY IN IGNITION, STARTED CAR BUT WILL NOT BACK UP OR CHANGE POSITION OF GEAR FROM NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. WILL NOT GO BACK INTO PARK. KEY WILL NOT COME OUT OF IGNITION NOW. BUMPER AND RADIATOR ARE DAMAGED AFTER CRASH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/17/2015 - MILTON, WA
CAR ROLLED DOWN SLIGHT HILL AFTER TURNING OFF AND EXITING VEHICLE, TRANSMISSION SHIFTER APPEARED TO BE IN PARK BUT OBVIOUSLY NOT AS CAR ROLLED AFTER LEAVING ALONE ON SLIGHT SLOPE. AFTER ACCIDENT, I PLACED KEY IN IGNITION, STARTED CAR BUT WILL NOT BACK UP OR CHANGE POSITION OF GEAR FROM NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. WILL NOT GO BACK INTO PARK. KEY WILL NOT COME OUT OF IGNITION NOW. BUMPER AND RADIATOR ARE DAMAGED AFTER CRASH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/17/2015 - MILTON, WA
CAR ROLLED DOWN SLIGHT HILL AFTER TURNING OFF AND EXITING VEHICLE, TRANSMISSION SHIFTER APPEARED TO BE IN PARK BUT OBVIOUSLY NOT AS CAR ROLLED AFTER LEAVING ALONE ON SLIGHT SLOPE. AFTER ACCIDENT, I PLACED KEY IN IGNITION, STARTED CAR BUT WILL NOT BACK UP OR CHANGE POSITION OF GEAR FROM NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. WILL NOT GO BACK INTO PARK. KEY WILL NOT COME OUT OF IGNITION NOW. BUMPER AND RADIATOR ARE DAMAGED AFTER CRASH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/12/2015 - GASTONIA, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 143,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/4/2015 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
CLUTCH IS LOSING PRESSURE, CAN NOT SHIFT GEARS TO DRIVE THE 2008 CHEVY COBALT LS (MANUAL). MUST PUMP CLUTCH OVER 200 TIMES TO GET PRESSURE BACK. THE CLUTCH PRESSURE GOES OUT WHILE DRIVING ON STREET AND THE HIGHWAYS, MAKING IT NO WAY TO DOWNSHIFT/ SLOW DOWN. COULD CAUSE INJURY TO ALL PASSENGERS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/4/2015 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
CLUTCH IS LOSING PRESSURE, CAN NOT SHIFT GEARS TO DRIVE THE 2008 CHEVY COBALT LS (MANUAL). MUST PUMP CLUTCH OVER 200 TIMES TO GET PRESSURE BACK. THE CLUTCH PRESSURE GOES OUT WHILE DRIVING ON STREET AND THE HIGHWAYS, MAKING IT NO WAY TO DOWNSHIFT/ SLOW DOWN. COULD CAUSE INJURY TO ALL PASSENGERS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/4/2015 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
CLUTCH IS LOSING PRESSURE, CAN NOT SHIFT GEARS TO DRIVE THE 2008 CHEVY COBALT LS (MANUAL). MUST PUMP CLUTCH OVER 200 TIMES TO GET PRESSURE BACK. THE CLUTCH PRESSURE GOES OUT WHILE DRIVING ON STREET AND THE HIGHWAYS, MAKING IT NO WAY TO DOWNSHIFT/ SLOW DOWN. COULD CAUSE INJURY TO ALL PASSENGERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/17/2015 - OWENSBORO , KY
WHEN DRIVING THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT, THE ODOMETER GOES CRAZY, MY SEARCH ENGINE AND SECURITY LIGHT COMES ON, STARTS SAYING LOW FUEL (WHEN ON A FULL TANK), THE MILEAGE GOES BLANK AS WELL AS EVERYTHING ELSE ON THE DASHBOARD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds