Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 392 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (51) Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (82) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (14) Steering (168) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (45) Seat Belts (7) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Engine (15) Fuel System Gasoline (24) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (21) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/28/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE CONTACT BEGAN TO SMELL SOMETHING BURNING. AFTER ABOUT 15 MINUTES SHE TURNED THE CAR OFF. THE VEHICLE DID NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER. THE DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. CS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/28/2014 - CHARLESTON, SC
LETTER FROM SENATOR GRAHAM ON BEHALF OF CONSTITUENT RE GM VEHICLE RECALL. THE CONSUMER STATED THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPLACED ON JULY 1, 2014. THE CONSUMER STATED HE IS NOW HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE REPLACEMENT IGNITION SWITCH. GM AND THE DEALER, INFORMED THE CONSUMER, HE WOULD HAVE TO PAY $ 125 TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/26/2014 - RICE, MN
I WAS JUST GOING THROUGH A GREEM LIGHT AND JUST AS I STARTED TO HIT THE BRAKE'S I N MY CAR I DID NOT STOP AT ALL AMS I WAS IN SO MUCH SHOCK TRYING TO BRAKE THAT I COULD NOT SWERVE FAST ENOUGH TO MISS THE CAR IN FRONT OF MR AND REAR ENDED HER BLUE KIA AT 30 MPH AND NOW MY CARS FRONT END IS SMASHED I JUST REPLACES MY BRAKES LAST MONTH WITH MY GRADUATION MONEY BECAUSE EVER SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR MY BRAKES HOWL ALL THE TIME AND I STILL DIDN'T IX THE PROBLEM NOW I HAVE TO COME UP WITH EXTRA INSURANCE MONEY AND FIX MY CAR EVEN THOUGH IT WAS A MALFUNCTION ON MY CAR..

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/25/2014 - ONTARIO , CA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V047000 (AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HAD EXCEEDED THE REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THE PART IS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL. AZ

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2014 - ONTARIO , CA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V047000 (AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HAD EXCEEDED THE REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THE PART IS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL. AZ

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2014 - BROWNSVILLE, TN
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE HAD NOTICED THE ENTIRE DASHBOARD WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE CONTINUOUSLY. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FAILURE HAD CAUSED THE SPEEDOMETER TO NOT BE VISIBLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. WAS LOCATED ON THE TOP OF THE DASHBOARD HAD MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5.GB

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - KANSAS CITY , MO
INGINTION 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. DECEMBER 21,2008 CHANGED MY LIFE FOREVER. DRIVER WAS KILLED IN A ONE CAR CRASH, WHERE HER AND HER CAR WERE THRU TO THE STREET BELOW ON 6-35 AND HIGH DR. THE CAR WENT AIRBORNE SHE WAS THROWN OUT THE CAR BUT WAS SAVED ENOUGH TO BE TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL WHERE SHE LATER DIED. THE CAR WAS NOT SO LUCKY IT LANDED AND ROLLED TO A STOP AT THE BOTTOM OF THE BRIDGE, IN WHICH THE CAR WAS SCATTER IN MANY PIECES. THERE WAS PHYSICAL NOT MUCH LEFT OF THE CAR. THE CAR WOULD HAVE BEEN GOING THE SPEED LIMIT IT WOULD HAVE BY PASSED THE OPENING AND LANDED ON THE OTHER SIDE BUT BECAUSE IT WAS SLOW GOING IT RESULTED IN HER DEATH. THERE WAS A REENACTMENT DONE BUT THE FINDING WERE IN CONCLUSIVE ON HOW SHE DIED. SHE LOST CONTROL AFTER GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY. I CHECKED FOR RECALL ON HER 2008 COBALT AND THERE WERE NONE AT THE TIME OF HER DEATH. HER OLDER SISTER WANT TO KNOW IF THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A RESULT OF THE POWER STEERING PROBLEM. I STARTED LOOKING FOR RECALL RIGHT AFTER HER DEATH AND DID NOT FIND ANY AND DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO BUT NOW THIS NATIONAL RECALLS FOR THE TOYOTA THEN THE VOLUNTARY RECALL DONE WITH GM RECENTLY OPENED OUR EYES THAT THIS YOUNG WOMAN DEATH COULD BE THE RESULT OF FAULTY CAR. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT IS NEED TO BE DONE TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT. WE HAVE SUFFERED A GREAT LOSS. SHE WAS A GOOD DRIVE AND THE CONCLUSION THAT HAS BEEN MADE HAS BEEN NONE. WE JUST DON'T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED. THIS WAS REPORT SEVERAL TIME BACK IN 3/ 2010 AND 6/10 AS COMPLAINT WITH THE STEERING .... I HAVE CONTACT GM AS OF RECENTLY BECAUSE RECALLS AND HER CALL WAS ONE OF THE PARTS THAT WAS IN THAT RECENT IGINTION ISSUES. THERE WERE NOT SKID MARK WITH THE REENACTMENT DONE THERE WAS NO REASON WHY HER CALL DID NOT SHOW BRAKE OR SKIDS. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE PART OF THE RECALL COVER UP MY GM!!!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/23/2014 - ELKLAND, MO
IN JUNE 2014 I RETURNED MY 2008 COBALT TO RELIABLE CHEVROLET IN SPRINGFIELD, MO FOR THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL. THE" SERVICE AIR BAG" LIGHT HAD BEEN ON FOR THE PAST SEVERAL MONTHS. I HAD CONTACTED A CHEVROLET DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND INQUIRED ABOUT MY CONCERNS. I WAS ADVISED "THERE WAS NO SERVICE AIR BAG" PROCEDURES THAT WERE SERVICEABLE ON THE AIR BAGS. WHEN I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE CHEVROLET DEALER TO HAVE THE IGNITION RECALL PERFORMED, I SPECIFICALLY ASKED ABOUT THE SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT AND WAS ADVISED THERE WAS NO RECALL ON AIR BAGS. I HAVE SEEN RECALL INFORMATION ON THE LOCAL NEWS CONCERNING A RECALL THAT INCLUDED THE AIR BAG. CAN YOU PLEASE ADVISE IF THERE IS A RECALL CONCERNING THE AIR BAG AS THIS IS A SINCERE CONCERN FOR MY WIFE AND MYSELF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/21/2014 - HONOLULU, HI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED SHE HAD NOTICED THE VEHICLE LEAKING FUEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND DIAGNOSED THAT FUEL LINE FROM THE PUMP TO THE TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AGAIN AND THEY STATED THAT THE THE RETURN PORT ON THE FUEL PUMP WAS CRACKED WHICH CAUSED THE LEAK AND FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER ALSO STATED THAT IN ORDER TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE, THE ENTIRE FUEL TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AS WELL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:12V459000(FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.GB

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2014 - MONROE, MI
WHILE DRIVING THE POWER STEERING QUIT WORKING. I HAD TO PULL OVER AND RESTART THE CAR. AFTER THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPEN IT HAPPEN EVERY TIME I DROVE THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds