Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 418 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (53) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (100) Exterior Lighting (7) Power Train (14) Steering (172) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (46) Seat Belts (8) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (22) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/17/2014 - TONAWANDA, NY
2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. CONSUMER REQUESTS REIMBURSEMENT FOR DEFECTIVE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL REPAIRS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2014 - MERCED, CA
THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM DRAINS THE BATTERY CAUSING THE KEYS TO GET STUCK IN THE IGNITION I NEED TO GET A JUMP TO START IT AND THIS IS A NEW BATTERY SIX MONTHS OLD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/5/2014 - SANTA FE, NM
I AM THE VERY UNHAPPY DRIVER OF A 2008 CHEVY COBALT WITH 4 RECALL REPAIRS TO DATE. I REPORTED NOTICING PROBLEMS WITH THE POWER STEERING, STRUTS AND INTERIOR DASHBOARD LIGHTS AS EARLY AS SEPT 2010, WHILE HAVING ROUTINE SERVICE DONE TO MY COBALT. (THE INTERIOR DASH DIGITAL READ OUT LIGHTS HAVE ALWAYS GIVEN MISINFORMATION AND WOULD DIM ON A REGULAR BASIS.) I'VE RECENTLY BEEN EXPERIENCING THE POWER STEERING TOTALLY GOING OUT ON MY CAR (ONCE ON JUNE 25, 2014 AND AGAIN ON SEPT 4, 2014) WHICH MAKES IT PRACTICALLY IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER MY CAR. I'VE BEEN INVOLVED WITH THESE RECALL ISSUES SINCE 2010 AND HAVE FOLLOWED GM'S INSTRUCTIONS TO HAVE THE REPAIRS DONE, ONLY TO HAVE CONTINUING PROBLEMS WITH THE CARS PERFORMANCE. IT'S NOT ONLY A INCONVENIENCE, BUT IS STRESSFUL AND DANGEROUS TO CONTINUE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE. I'VE REQUESTED TO HAVE GM HELP ME GET INTO ANOTHER CAR MORE THAN ONCE OVER THE PAST FEW YEARS, BUT HAVE BEEN DENIED. NOW I'VE BEEN TOLD THAT GM HAS IMPLEMENTED A NEW "BUY BACK PROGRAM" FOR DRIVERS SUCH AS MYSELF AND HAVE REQUESTED THEY GET ME OUT OF THIS VEHICLE AND INTO ANOTHER CAR, BUT AGAIN, HAVE NOT BEEN CONTACTED CONCERNING MY REQUEST.. I CAN NOT AND DO NOT WANT TO BE WITHOUT A CAR TO DRIVE AND FEEL THAT I DESERVE TO HAVE MY CAR REPLACED BY GENERAL MOTORS AT NO COST TO MYSELF.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/5/2014 - SANTA FE, NM
I AM THE VERY UNHAPPY DRIVER OF A 2008 CHEVY COBALT WITH 4 RECALL REPAIRS TO DATE. I REPORTED NOTICING PROBLEMS WITH THE POWER STEERING, STRUTS AND INTERIOR DASHBOARD LIGHTS AS EARLY AS SEPT 2010, WHILE HAVING ROUTINE SERVICE DONE TO MY COBALT. (THE INTERIOR DASH DIGITAL READ OUT LIGHTS HAVE ALWAYS GIVEN MISINFORMATION AND WOULD DIM ON A REGULAR BASIS.) I'VE RECENTLY BEEN EXPERIENCING THE POWER STEERING TOTALLY GOING OUT ON MY CAR (ONCE ON JUNE 25, 2014 AND AGAIN ON SEPT 4, 2014) WHICH MAKES IT PRACTICALLY IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER MY CAR. I'VE BEEN INVOLVED WITH THESE RECALL ISSUES SINCE 2010 AND HAVE FOLLOWED GM'S INSTRUCTIONS TO HAVE THE REPAIRS DONE, ONLY TO HAVE CONTINUING PROBLEMS WITH THE CARS PERFORMANCE. IT'S NOT ONLY A INCONVENIENCE, BUT IS STRESSFUL AND DANGEROUS TO CONTINUE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE. I'VE REQUESTED TO HAVE GM HELP ME GET INTO ANOTHER CAR MORE THAN ONCE OVER THE PAST FEW YEARS, BUT HAVE BEEN DENIED. NOW I'VE BEEN TOLD THAT GM HAS IMPLEMENTED A NEW "BUY BACK PROGRAM" FOR DRIVERS SUCH AS MYSELF AND HAVE REQUESTED THEY GET ME OUT OF THIS VEHICLE AND INTO ANOTHER CAR, BUT AGAIN, HAVE NOT BEEN CONTACTED CONCERNING MY REQUEST.. I CAN NOT AND DO NOT WANT TO BE WITHOUT A CAR TO DRIVE AND FEEL THAT I DESERVE TO HAVE MY CAR REPLACED BY GENERAL MOTORS AT NO COST TO MYSELF.

View Details

STEERING

9/5/2014 - SANTA FE, NM
I AM THE VERY UNHAPPY DRIVER OF A 2008 CHEVY COBALT WITH 4 RECALL REPAIRS TO DATE. I REPORTED NOTICING PROBLEMS WITH THE POWER STEERING, STRUTS AND INTERIOR DASHBOARD LIGHTS AS EARLY AS SEPT 2010, WHILE HAVING ROUTINE SERVICE DONE TO MY COBALT. (THE INTERIOR DASH DIGITAL READ OUT LIGHTS HAVE ALWAYS GIVEN MISINFORMATION AND WOULD DIM ON A REGULAR BASIS.) I'VE RECENTLY BEEN EXPERIENCING THE POWER STEERING TOTALLY GOING OUT ON MY CAR (ONCE ON JUNE 25, 2014 AND AGAIN ON SEPT 4, 2014) WHICH MAKES IT PRACTICALLY IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER MY CAR. I'VE BEEN INVOLVED WITH THESE RECALL ISSUES SINCE 2010 AND HAVE FOLLOWED GM'S INSTRUCTIONS TO HAVE THE REPAIRS DONE, ONLY TO HAVE CONTINUING PROBLEMS WITH THE CARS PERFORMANCE. IT'S NOT ONLY A INCONVENIENCE, BUT IS STRESSFUL AND DANGEROUS TO CONTINUE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE. I'VE REQUESTED TO HAVE GM HELP ME GET INTO ANOTHER CAR MORE THAN ONCE OVER THE PAST FEW YEARS, BUT HAVE BEEN DENIED. NOW I'VE BEEN TOLD THAT GM HAS IMPLEMENTED A NEW "BUY BACK PROGRAM" FOR DRIVERS SUCH AS MYSELF AND HAVE REQUESTED THEY GET ME OUT OF THIS VEHICLE AND INTO ANOTHER CAR, BUT AGAIN, HAVE NOT BEEN CONTACTED CONCERNING MY REQUEST.. I CAN NOT AND DO NOT WANT TO BE WITHOUT A CAR TO DRIVE AND FEEL THAT I DESERVE TO HAVE MY CAR REPLACED BY GENERAL MOTORS AT NO COST TO MYSELF.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/5/2014 - SANTA FE, NM
AFTER PARKING MY VEHICLE ON MY WAY TO WORK ON A FRIDAY AFTERNOON, I COULD NOT GET MY KEY OUT OF THE CYLINDER AND I COULDN'T TURN MY CAR OFF ! I WAS INSTRUCTED TO TAKE MY CAR TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP ( SANTA FE CHEVROLET AND CADILLAC, 4450 CERRILLOS RD , SANTA FE, N.M. ) WHICH I DID. I WASNT OFFERED A REPLACEMENT VEHICLE BY THE DEALERSHIP, BUT THEY TOLD ME THEY HAD RESERVED A RENTAL FROM HERTZ FOR THE WEEK-END, WHICH I HAD TO PAY FOR. THE REPAIR WAS DONE THE NEXT DAY SO I ONLY NEEDED THE RENTAL FOR THAT NIGHT BUT HAD PAID FOR THE WHOLE WEEK-END (RE: SF CHEVROLET AND CADILLAC) IT TOOK QUITE SOME TIME FOR ME TO BE REIMBURSED BY HERTZ FOR THE TIME I HAD PAID TO HAVE THE RENTAL, BUT DID NOT NEED. NO HELP WITH THAT PROBLEM FROM THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2014 - PRYOR, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STARTED EXHIBITING THIS PROBLEM AFTER BEING REPAIRED UNDER RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V047000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 209,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/2/2014 - PHENIX CITY, AL
I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE NEW. I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE AND IT CUT OFF. I HEARD A POP. VEHICLE WOULD NOT CRANK BACK UP. I PARKED, LOCKED VEHICLE AND HAD TO WALK TO GET HELP. BY THE TIME I RETURNED, THE VEHICLE WAS GONE. THE VEHICLE HAD CAUGHT FIRE AFTER I LEFT TO GET HELP AND THE POLICE CALLED THE FIRE DEPARTEMENT AND HAD FIRE PUT OUT AND VEHICLE TOWED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
MY 2008 CHEVY COBALT LT BEGAN TO PUT OFF A STRONG FUEL ODOR, BOTH AFTER BEING PARKED AND WHILE DRIVING. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE FUEL PUMP MODULE HAD A CRACK IN IT AND WAS LEAKING FUEL ONTO THE FUEL TANK. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP MODULE AND I PERSONALLY PAYED FOR ALL THE COSTS. A WEEK LATER, I WAS NOTIFIED BY A FRIEND WITH THE SAME VEHICLE THAT THEY HAD RECEIVED A NOTICE FOR RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE IN THE MAIL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V459000 AND THEY WERE FULLY REIMBURSED. I NEVER RECEIVED THIS NOTICE IN THE MAIL, BUT I AM REQUESTING A REIMBURSEMENT FOR HAVING THIS ISSUE FIXED.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION

8/27/2014 - PLANO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND MAKING A TURN, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds