Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 641 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (82) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (21) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (150) Fuel Propulsion System (106) Seat Belts (13) Steering (254) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seats (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (29) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (26) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/8/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE COMING FROM VEHICLE. HESITATION UPON FIRST STARTING VEHICLE. OBVIOUS SIGNS OF A GASOLINE LEAK FROM CRACKED FUEL PUMP MODULATOR WHICH POSED A FIRE RISK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/24/2017 - FLAGSTAFF, AZ
POWER STEERING COMPLETELY FAILS WHILE PARALLEL PARKING OR WHEN CAR IS STATIONARY AND YOU TRY TO TURN THE WHEEL, ITS IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER. SCARY TO THINK IF IT HAPPENS ON HIGHWAYS. STARTED A YEAR AGO AND NOW ITS PERMANENT

View Details

STEERING

11/24/2017 - FLAGSTAFF, AZ
POWER STEERING COMPLETELY FAILS WHILE PARALLEL PARKING OR WHEN CAR IS STATIONARY AND YOU TRY TO TURN THE WHEEL, ITS IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER. SCARY TO THINK IF IT HAPPENS ON HIGHWAYS. STARTED A YEAR AGO AND NOW ITS PERMANENT

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2017 - GREEN BAY, WI
GAS LEAKS FROM UNDER THE GAS TANK RIGHT ABOVE THE MUFFLER. CONSISTENT DRIP ONTO THE MUFFLER AND ONTO THE GROUND. THIS NOT ONLY CAUSES AN INJURY RISK BUT IT HAS A FINANCIAL IMPACT AS THE GAS LEAKS AND COST MONEY.

View Details

STEERING

11/8/2017 - MATTAPAN, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE STARTING THE VEHICLE, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING. THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AFTER A FEW MINUTES OF STARTING AND RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, THE POWER STEERING RETURNED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE BEING TAKEN TO THE DEALER. QUIRK CHEVROLET (444 QUINCY AVENUE, BRAINTREE, MA 02184 (781) 348-9660) DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING MOTOR FAILED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND WAS SERVICED IN 2017 PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND CONFIRMED THAT THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED AFTER ONE YEAR FROM THE DATE OF THE RECALL SERVICE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/7/2017 - MARION, IA
FUEL LEAK - FUEL LINE AND EVAP LINE ARE STEEL AND ROUTED NEAT DRIVER REAR WHEEL. FUEL AND EVAP LINE ARE EXPOSED TO ROAD SALTS AND OTHER ENVIRONMENTAL FACTORS RESULTING IN CORROSION LEADING TO FUEL LEAKS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/6/2017 - ORLANDO, FL
STRONG GASOLINE ODOR DURING STARTUP, AND SOMETIMES AFTER I TURN IT OFF. VIN #: 1G1AK18F087105601

View Details

STEERING

11/5/2017 - TITUSVILLE, FL
THE DASH MESSAGE SAYS POWER STEERING. AS I WAS EXCELLERATING IN THE ON RAMP OF THE HIGHWAY, THE RPM JUMPED UP TO 6,000 ALL ON ITS OWN AND NOW IT WILL NOT SHIFT GEARS, DOES NOT READ ANY MPH, AND CAN BARELY GO MORE THAN 20MPH. THIS WAS UNEXPECTED AND HAD NO WARNINGS PRIOR TO. ALTHOUGH IT STILL FUNCTIONS (TURNS ON, RUNS, HAS ALL POWER AVAILABLE, HAS REVERSE) IT IS ULTIMATELY DISABLED. ALSO, THE FUEL LINES/ FUEL PUMP FAILED CAUSING A GAS LEAK, MAKING IT A CHALLENGE TO START THE VEHICLE. I HAVE PATCHED THE FUEL LINE AS A TEMPORARY FIX. I HAVE ALREADY REPLACED THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS AND THE TIMING CHAINS AT MY OWN EXPENSE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/5/2017 - TITUSVILLE, FL
THE DASH MESSAGE SAYS POWER STEERING. AS I WAS EXCELLERATING IN THE ON RAMP OF THE HIGHWAY, THE RPM JUMPED UP TO 6,000 ALL ON ITS OWN AND NOW IT WILL NOT SHIFT GEARS, DOES NOT READ ANY MPH, AND CAN BARELY GO MORE THAN 20MPH. THIS WAS UNEXPECTED AND HAD NO WARNINGS PRIOR TO. ALTHOUGH IT STILL FUNCTIONS (TURNS ON, RUNS, HAS ALL POWER AVAILABLE, HAS REVERSE) IT IS ULTIMATELY DISABLED. ALSO, THE FUEL LINES/ FUEL PUMP FAILED CAUSING A GAS LEAK, MAKING IT A CHALLENGE TO START THE VEHICLE. I HAVE PATCHED THE FUEL LINE AS A TEMPORARY FIX. I HAVE ALREADY REPLACED THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS AND THE TIMING CHAINS AT MY OWN EXPENSE

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/5/2017 - TITUSVILLE, FL
THE DASH MESSAGE SAYS POWER STEERING. AS I WAS EXCELLERATING IN THE ON RAMP OF THE HIGHWAY, THE RPM JUMPED UP TO 6,000 ALL ON ITS OWN AND NOW IT WILL NOT SHIFT GEARS, DOES NOT READ ANY MPH, AND CAN BARELY GO MORE THAN 20MPH. THIS WAS UNEXPECTED AND HAD NO WARNINGS PRIOR TO. ALTHOUGH IT STILL FUNCTIONS (TURNS ON, RUNS, HAS ALL POWER AVAILABLE, HAS REVERSE) IT IS ULTIMATELY DISABLED. ALSO, THE FUEL LINES/ FUEL PUMP FAILED CAUSING A GAS LEAK, MAKING IT A CHALLENGE TO START THE VEHICLE. I HAVE PATCHED THE FUEL LINE AS A TEMPORARY FIX. I HAVE ALREADY REPLACED THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS AND THE TIMING CHAINS AT MY OWN EXPENSE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds