Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 569 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (73) Exterior Lighting (12) Power Train (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (144) Fuel Propulsion System (76) Seat Belts (12) Steering (226) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seats (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine (26) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (25) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/25/2016 - MADISON, NC
FUEL LINE LEAK- GAS ODOR WHEN DRIVING AND PARK AND PUDDLE OF GAS IN DRIVE WAY COMING FROM LEFT BACK SIDE IN FRONT OF THE TIER. LOOKS TO COME FROM THE FUEL LIKE LEAKING. CAR HAS PROBLEMS STARTING AFTER SITTING FOR A FEW MINUTES WITHOUT MOVING.

View Details

STEERING

8/11/2016 - HEWLETT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS EXTREMELY TIGHT AND DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION, BUT THE DIAGNOSTIC RESULTS AND REPAIR DETAILS WERE UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,169.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/10/2016 - BERLIN CENTER, OH
AT APPROXIMATELY 90,000 MILES, MY 2008 CHEVY COBALT LT SEDAN INTERMITTENTLY DISPLAYED A "SERVICE AIRBAG" INDICATOR ON THE DASHBOARD. THE INDICATOR WOULD APPEAR WITH AND WITHOUT A PASSENGER IN THE FRONT SEAT. I TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO A CHEVY DEALER ON 07-22-2016 FOR A DIAGNOSIS. THE DEALER FOUND HISTORY CODE B0081 AND CODE 23. THEY STATED THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT BELT RETRACTOR WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND CAUSING THE "SERVICE AIRBAG" INDICATOR. THEY STATED THE SEAT BELT MY NOT ENGAGE IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT. AFTER RESEARCHING ONLINE, I FOUND SERVICE BULLETIN #270624, ACTION # 10032334 DESCRIBING THE EXACT SYMPTOMS AND ERROR CODES THAT MY VEHICLE HAD. I ADVISED THE DEALERSHIP OF THE SERVICE BULLETIN, THEY STATED THAT SINCE IT WAS NOT A RECALL, THE COST TO REPLACE THE SEAT BELT RETRACTOR WAS NOT COVERED BY CHEVY. I HAD THE RETRACTOR REPAIRED ON 08-09-2016. I FEEL THAT SINCE THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND COULD CAUSE SEVERE INJURY OR DEATH, CHEVY SHOULD MAKE THIS A RECALL AND REPAIR ALL AFFECTED VEHICLES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/7/2016 - KENT, OH
DRIVER'S DOOR INTERIOR HANDLE BROKE OR BECAME DISCONNECTED TODAY, PROHIBITING EXIT FROM THE CAR AT THAT DOOR. CAN BE OPENED FROM OUTSIDE HANDLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/1/2016 - NEW HAVEN, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, FUEL LEAKED ONTO THE GROUND. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL LINE NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,888.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/26/2016 - ABERDEEN, WA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH WHILE TRYING TO AVOID ANOTHER COLLISION. THE AIR BAGS PARTIALLY DEPLOYED AND DID NOT FUNCTION AS DESIGNED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED LIVER INJURIES. THE PASSENGER WAS TAKEN TO HIS RESIDENCE WHERE HE LATER SUCCUMBED TO FATAL INJURIES. THE PASSENGER WAS TAKEN TO THE HOSPITAL WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE CAUSE OF DEATH WAS DUE TO BLUNT FORCE TRAUMA TO THE CHEST AND INTERNAL BLEEDING. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

7/20/2016 - LEAGUE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/18/2016 - PINSON, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE STEERING BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO STEER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REFUSED TO PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2016 - HENDERSON, NV
START OF THE PROBLEM THE GAUGES WILL GO ERATIC, MY CAR CHIMES A FEW DINGS THEN THEFT LIGHT COMES ON. I DON'T HAVE A THEFT SYSTEM. LS MODEL. ALSO EFFECTS THE TRANSMISSION(AUTOMATIC) CAUSE IT WILL SHIFT HARD AND JERK THE CAR. THE AC ALSO SHUTS OFF DURING THIS ISSUE, IT WILL BLOW AIR BUT IT WON'T BE COLD. SEEMS LIKE THE ISSUE ALWAYS COMES BACK WHEN IT'S EXTREMELY HOT OUTSIDE. THIS IS AN ON GOING ISSUE FOR ABOUT 5 YEARS AND IT COMES AND GOES. EVERY MECHANIC I WENT TO THEIR CAR READER CAN'T READ MY CAR. ALSO IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND AGAIN WHEN I'M PARKED AND JUST STARTED THE CAR. AND I HAVE HAD ALL THE RECALLS FIXED THAT WERE REPORTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/23/2016 - HENDERSON, NV
START OF THE PROBLEM THE GAUGES WILL GO ERATIC, MY CAR CHIMES A FEW DINGS THEN THEFT LIGHT COMES ON. I DON'T HAVE A THEFT SYSTEM. LS MODEL. ALSO EFFECTS THE TRANSMISSION(AUTOMATIC) CAUSE IT WILL SHIFT HARD AND JERK THE CAR. THE AC ALSO SHUTS OFF DURING THIS ISSUE, IT WILL BLOW AIR BUT IT WON'T BE COLD. SEEMS LIKE THE ISSUE ALWAYS COMES BACK WHEN IT'S EXTREMELY HOT OUTSIDE. THIS IS AN ON GOING ISSUE FOR ABOUT 5 YEARS AND IT COMES AND GOES. EVERY MECHANIC I WENT TO THEIR CAR READER CAN'T READ MY CAR. ALSO IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND AGAIN WHEN I'M PARKED AND JUST STARTED THE CAR. AND I HAVE HAD ALL THE RECALLS FIXED THAT WERE REPORTED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds