Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 440 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (60) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (112) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (13) Steering (176) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (49) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (31) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (22) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/11/2014 - DUNN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL, THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS A LOUD ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE WHEELS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/10/2014 - BARSTOW, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY WHEN I CHANGED LANES AND LOST CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE. MY ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM DID NOT WORK AS IT WAS SUPPOSED TO; MY TRACTION CONTROL DID NOT WORK AS IT WAS SUPPOSE TO, WHICH RESULTED IN ME LOSING CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE AND HITTING ANOTHER VEHICLE. A MONTH EARLIER, I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO RANCHO MOTOR COMPANY TO HAVE A RECALL PART ON MY VEHICLE FIXED. THEY NOTICED THAT MY ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS WERE ON. THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTICS TEST ON THE VEHICLE. WHEN I PICKED UP MY VEHICLE, THEY INFORMED ME THERE WAS NOTHING PHYSICALLY WRONG WITH MY VEHICLES ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEMS BUT THE SOFTWARE WAS OUTDATED AND NEEDED TO BE UPDATED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/10/2014 - BARSTOW, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY WHEN I CHANGED LANES AND LOST CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE. MY ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM DID NOT WORK AS IT WAS SUPPOSED TO; MY TRACTION CONTROL DID NOT WORK AS IT WAS SUPPOSE TO, WHICH RESULTED IN ME LOSING CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE AND HITTING ANOTHER VEHICLE. A MONTH EARLIER, I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO RANCHO MOTOR COMPANY TO HAVE A RECALL PART ON MY VEHICLE FIXED. THEY NOTICED THAT MY ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS WERE ON. THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTICS TEST ON THE VEHICLE. WHEN I PICKED UP MY VEHICLE, THEY INFORMED ME THERE WAS NOTHING PHYSICALLY WRONG WITH MY VEHICLES ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEMS BUT THE SOFTWARE WAS OUTDATED AND NEEDED TO BE UPDATED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/10/2014 - BARSTOW, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY WHEN I CHANGED LANES AND LOST CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE. MY ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM DID NOT WORK AS IT WAS SUPPOSED TO; MY TRACTION CONTROL DID NOT WORK AS IT WAS SUPPOSE TO, WHICH RESULTED IN ME LOSING CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE AND HITTING ANOTHER VEHICLE. A MONTH EARLIER, I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO RANCHO MOTOR COMPANY TO HAVE A RECALL PART ON MY VEHICLE FIXED. THEY NOTICED THAT MY ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS WERE ON. THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTICS TEST ON THE VEHICLE. WHEN I PICKED UP MY VEHICLE, THEY INFORMED ME THERE WAS NOTHING PHYSICALLY WRONG WITH MY VEHICLES ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEMS BUT THE SOFTWARE WAS OUTDATED AND NEEDED TO BE UPDATED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/7/2014 - TULSA, OK
MY AIR BAG LIGHT STAYS ON EVEN AFTER THEY FIXED THE IGNITION. IGNITION STILL STICKS AFTER FIXING IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/5/2014 - BURKSVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE PASSENGER+S SIDE SEAT BELT FRACTURED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED SHOULDER AND NECK INJURIES FROM THE SEAT BELT RESTRAINTS AND REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED ABRASIONS TO THE NECK. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT HAD BEEN INVOLVED IN A SECOND CRASH WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH. THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A DEER AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED LOWER BACK INJURIES BUT A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/20/2014 - WINSTON-SALEM, NC
SEAT BELT ON PASSENGER SIDE CONTINUOUSLY GOT JAMMED WHILE SEATBELT WAS ON. COULDNT GET OUT OF SEATBELT, HAD TO CUT SEATBELT OFF.

View Details

STEERING

11/19/2014 - BRONX, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH AND MAKING A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,800.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/4/2014 - JACKSON, NJ
OUR VEHICLE WAS SUBJECT TO THE RECALL FOR THE IGNITION SYSTEM. WE CALLED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AND WERE TOLD THAT WE NEEDED TO WAIT FOR THE PARTS TO COME IN FIRST. AFTER WAITING 8+ WEEKS WE WERE TOLD THE PARTS WERE IN AND WE MADE AN APPOINTMENT AND DROPPED THE VEHICLE OFF. WHEN WE WENT TO PICK UP OUR VEHICLE WE WERE TOLD THAT A VEHICLE, WITH THE SAME VIN # WAS ALREADY REPAIRED IN ILLINOIS. WE LIVE IN NJ AND OUR VEHICLE WAS NEVER IN IL. THE MAINTENANCE MANAGER (FREEHOLD CHEVY) AGREED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NEVER REPAIRED BY LOOKING AT THE IGNITION SWITCH. WE WERE TOLD THAT THE VIN # ISSUE NEEDED TO BE CORRECTED BEFORE THEY CAN WORK ON OUR CAR. IT'S NOW 6+ WEEKS LATER AND OUR FOLLOW UP PHONE CALLS HAVE NOT BROUGHT US ANY CLOSER TO HAVING THE REPAIR DONE. I BELIEVE THE REPAIR SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE SINCE THEY COULD TELL THE PARTS WERE NEVER REPLACED ON OUR VEHICLE AND THE VIN # SHOULD HAVE BEEN RESOLVED BETWEEN THE DEALERSHIPS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/4/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, A CLICKING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE DASHBOARD AND THE KEY BECAME LODGED IN THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY POST NEEDED TO BE TIGHTENED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V047000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PARTS NEEDED WERE UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds