Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 412 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (53) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (97) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (14) Steering (171) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (46) Seat Belts (8) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (26) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (22) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
MY 2008 CHEVY COBALT LT BEGAN TO PUT OFF A STRONG FUEL ODOR, BOTH AFTER BEING PARKED AND WHILE DRIVING. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE FUEL PUMP MODULE HAD A CRACK IN IT AND WAS LEAKING FUEL ONTO THE FUEL TANK. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP MODULE AND I PERSONALLY PAYED FOR ALL THE COSTS. A WEEK LATER, I WAS NOTIFIED BY A FRIEND WITH THE SAME VEHICLE THAT THEY HAD RECEIVED A NOTICE FOR RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE IN THE MAIL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V459000 AND THEY WERE FULLY REIMBURSED. I NEVER RECEIVED THIS NOTICE IN THE MAIL, BUT I AM REQUESTING A REIMBURSEMENT FOR HAVING THIS ISSUE FIXED.

View Details

STEERING

8/27/2014 - PLANO, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND TURNING THE VEHICLE WILL MAKE A CLICKING SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE DEALER STATED THE RACK AND PINION WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. AZ

View Details

STEERING

8/20/2014 - WEST PLAINS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO CONTROL. THE CONTACT HEARD A CHIMING SOUND BEFORE THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPLACED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE MOTOR KIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/18/2014 - COLLINSVILLE, IL
THIS EVENING WHEN I PULLED INTO THE GARAGE, I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND PROCEEDED TO TURN OFF AND REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO TURN KEY FORWARD AND THEN BACK, I COULD NOT GET THE KEY OUT. I TRIED PUTTING THE CAR IN GEAR AND THEN PUTTING IT IN PARK AGAIN. THE KEY STILL WOULD NOT COME FREE. I DIDN'T WANT TO BURN THE 1/2 TANK OF FUEL SO I REMOVED THE FUEL PUMP FUSE, WHICH STOPPED THE CAR AND THEN HAD TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY SO AS NOT TO DRAIN THE BATTERY AS THE KEY IS STUCK IN THE "ON' POSITION. DIFFERENT THAN OTHER STORIES I HAVE READ ABOUT THE KEY BEING STUCK ON, IS THAT I AM STILL ABLE TO TURN IT FORWARD A BIT. HOPEFULLY, I CAN PUT THE FUSE BACK IN, CONNECT THE BATTERY AND START IT SO THAT I CAN DRIVE IT TO A DEALERSHIP IN THE MORNING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

8/15/2014 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY FAILED TO TURN IN THE IGNITION UNTIL AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS RECENTLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V486000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, VISIBILITY) HOWEVER, THE REMEDY WAS INSUFFICIENT AND THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/15/2014 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY FAILED TO TURN IN THE IGNITION UNTIL AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS RECENTLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V486000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, VISIBILITY) HOWEVER, THE REMEDY WAS INSUFFICIENT AND THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/14/2014 - JOHNSTOWN , PA
THE RECALL OF IGNITION WAS DONE BUT YET THE IGNITIONS STILL ARE FAILING,IF U TURN KEY IT STICKS ON THE ON POSITION AND KEEPS STARTER GOINING..OBVIOUSLY THE GARAGES DONT LISTEN...SOONER THAN LATER THIS WILL TURN INTO A ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/14/2014 - CASPER, WY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED INTERMITTENTLY AND NONE OF THE INSTRUMENT PANEL GAUGES WERE WORKING PROPERLY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER DID NOT KNOW WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/8/2014 - KIRKLAND, WA
MY CAR RAN INTO 3 TIMES (2012 - 2, 2014 -1) LOST CONTROL WHEN I DRIVE TO HIGH WAY AND CAR LOST POWER AND CONTROL. LUCKILY I DON'T HAVE ANY INJURY. BUT IT'S HUGE DANGEROUS WHEN MY FAMILY ALSO IN THE CAR. I DON'T KNOW EXACT REASON AT BEGINNING. I ALWAYS SEND CAR TO FULL MAINTENANCE AFTER THE INCIDENT. THEY ALWAYS CHARGED ME DIFFERENT FIX AS WELL. RECENTLY I CONTINUOUSLY RECEIVED GM SAFETY RECALL LETTER TO FIX THE GM SAFETY RECALL 14115. I TRIED TO MAKE APPOINTMENT WITH DIFFERENT DEALERS. THEY ALWAYS TOLD ME THE PARTS IS NOT READY AND THERE IS NO ESTIMATED TIME, MAYBE TAKE VERY LONG TIME (MONTHS) TO WAIT, EVEN GM URGE ME TO FIX IT AT THE SAME TIME. UNTIL NOW, I HAVE ALREADY RECEIVED 4 LETTERS FROM GM CHEVROLET AND TELL ME FIX AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, PARTS AVAILABLE. HOWEVER, I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THEIR BRANCHES TAKE SO LONG TIME AND IT SEEMS PUT INTO A SUCH A LOW AND SLOW PRIORITY. A MANUFACTURER MAY HAVE FLAW IN THEIR PRODUCTS. HOWEVER, IF THEY COULD NOT FIX IT FOR CUSTOMER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, THEY SHOULD NOT DESERVE CUSTOMER SATISFACTION AND RESPECT. THEY REGARD CUSTOMER SAFETY AS NOTHING. I WON'T BUY ANY CARS OF THIS VENDER, NOR MY FRIEND. I AND MY FRIENDS DISCUSSED THIS AND THEY ARE ALL SURPRISED AND SUGGESTED ME SELL CARS. AND ALSO SHARE THE COMMENTS AND FEELINGS IN THIS CHANNEL. THANKS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/8/2014 - KIRKLAND, WA
MY CAR RAN INTO 3 TIMES (2012 - 2, 2014 -1) LOST CONTROL WHEN I DRIVE TO HIGH WAY AND CAR LOST POWER AND CONTROL. LUCKILY I DON'T HAVE ANY INJURY. BUT IT'S HUGE DANGEROUS WHEN MY FAMILY ALSO IN THE CAR. I DON'T KNOW EXACT REASON AT BEGINNING. I ALWAYS SEND CAR TO FULL MAINTENANCE AFTER THE INCIDENT. THEY ALWAYS CHARGED ME DIFFERENT FIX AS WELL. RECENTLY I CONTINUOUSLY RECEIVED GM SAFETY RECALL LETTER TO FIX THE GM SAFETY RECALL 14115. I TRIED TO MAKE APPOINTMENT WITH DIFFERENT DEALERS. THEY ALWAYS TOLD ME THE PARTS IS NOT READY AND THERE IS NO ESTIMATED TIME, MAYBE TAKE VERY LONG TIME (MONTHS) TO WAIT, EVEN GM URGE ME TO FIX IT AT THE SAME TIME. UNTIL NOW, I HAVE ALREADY RECEIVED 4 LETTERS FROM GM CHEVROLET AND TELL ME FIX AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, PARTS AVAILABLE. HOWEVER, I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THEIR BRANCHES TAKE SO LONG TIME AND IT SEEMS PUT INTO A SUCH A LOW AND SLOW PRIORITY. A MANUFACTURER MAY HAVE FLAW IN THEIR PRODUCTS. HOWEVER, IF THEY COULD NOT FIX IT FOR CUSTOMER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, THEY SHOULD NOT DESERVE CUSTOMER SATISFACTION AND RESPECT. THEY REGARD CUSTOMER SAFETY AS NOTHING. I WON'T BUY ANY CARS OF THIS VENDER, NOR MY FRIEND. I AND MY FRIENDS DISCUSSED THIS AND THEY ARE ALL SURPRISED AND SUGGESTED ME SELL CARS. AND ALSO SHARE THE COMMENTS AND FEELINGS IN THIS CHANNEL. THANKS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds