Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 436 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (109) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (13) Steering (174) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (50) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (30) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (22) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

11/20/2014 - WINSTON-SALEM, NC
SEAT BELT ON PASSENGER SIDE CONTINUOUSLY GOT JAMMED WHILE SEATBELT WAS ON. COULDNT GET OUT OF SEATBELT, HAD TO CUT SEATBELT OFF.

View Details

STEERING

11/19/2014 - BRONX, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, AS HE TURNED INTO A PARKING LOT, HIS STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE PROBLEM OCCURRED ONCE BUT FAILURE CORRECTED ITSELF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT DEALER OR MECHANIC AND THE PROBLEM HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE IS 65,800. THE CONTACT HAD RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR THE IGNITION SWITCH. NW

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/4/2014 - JACKSON, NJ
OUR VEHICLE WAS SUBJECT TO THE RECALL FOR THE IGNITION SYSTEM. WE CALLED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AND WERE TOLD THAT WE NEEDED TO WAIT FOR THE PARTS TO COME IN FIRST. AFTER WAITING 8+ WEEKS WE WERE TOLD THE PARTS WERE IN AND WE MADE AN APPOINTMENT AND DROPPED THE VEHICLE OFF. WHEN WE WENT TO PICK UP OUR VEHICLE WE WERE TOLD THAT A VEHICLE, WITH THE SAME VIN # WAS ALREADY REPAIRED IN ILLINOIS. WE LIVE IN NJ AND OUR VEHICLE WAS NEVER IN IL. THE MAINTENANCE MANAGER (FREEHOLD CHEVY) AGREED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NEVER REPAIRED BY LOOKING AT THE IGNITION SWITCH. WE WERE TOLD THAT THE VIN # ISSUE NEEDED TO BE CORRECTED BEFORE THEY CAN WORK ON OUR CAR. IT'S NOW 6+ WEEKS LATER AND OUR FOLLOW UP PHONE CALLS HAVE NOT BROUGHT US ANY CLOSER TO HAVING THE REPAIR DONE. I BELIEVE THE REPAIR SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE SINCE THEY COULD TELL THE PARTS WERE NEVER REPLACED ON OUR VEHICLE AND THE VIN # SHOULD HAVE BEEN RESOLVED BETWEEN THE DEALERSHIPS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/4/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, A CLICKING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE DASHBOARD AND THE KEY BECAME LODGED IN THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY POST NEEDED TO BE TIGHTENED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V047000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PARTS NEEDED WERE UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/4/2014 - MESA, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OF REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/30/2014 - DALLAS , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD AND STALLED ON VARIOUS OCCASIONS. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PARTS NEEDED WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED THE REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE FOR REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/23/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
NOTED FUEL SMELL UNDER CAR. FOUND PUDDLE OF FUEL AND CORRODED FUEL LINES AT A PLASTIC CHASSIS BRACKET. LINES ARE COMING FROM THE PUMP RUNNING FORWARD UNDER THE PASSENGER DOOR. WITNESSED FUEL DRIPPING. FUEL LINES ARE ONLY INCHES FROM EXHAUST PIPE WHICH COULD BE A SOURCE OF IGNITION FIRE. SEVERAL ONLINE DISCUSSION BOARDS MENTION THIS SAME ISSUE AS A PROBLEM WITH THE COBALT. THERE IS A RECALL ON THE FUEL PUMP BUT NOT ON THE FUEL LINES? THIS DEFECT/POOR QUALITY FUEL LINE MATERIAL SHOULD BE RECALLED AS ITS A MAJOR FIRE/SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/22/2014 - BOURBONNAIS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE PASSENGER'S SIDE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/17/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
OWNER OF A 2008 CHEVY COBALT, RECENTLY STARTED HAVING A STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE IN AND AROUND VEHICLE AFTER DRIVING AND EVEN AFTER THE CAR HAD SAT OVER NIGHT. HAD VEHICLE DIAGNOSED AND WAS TOLD THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING ON TOP OF THE FUEL TANK. UPON RESEARCH I FOUND THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL RECALLS AND MANY COMPLAINTS FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM, BUT RECALLS ARE ONLY IN CERTAIN STATES. I'M SORRY CHEVROLET DOESN'T TAKE THE SAFETY OF IT'S CUSTOMERS SERIOUSLY AS I NO LONGER FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY YOUNG CHILDREN IN THIS CAR. CHEVROLET PLEASE EXPLAIN HOW BEING IN A DIFFERENT STATE CHANGES THE FACT THAT YOU MADE A CAR WITH YET ANOTHER DEFECTIVE PART YET YOU WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR ALL THE VEHICLES THAT YOU PUT IT IN???

View Details

ENGINE

10/17/2014 - ROSETO, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE THERMOSTAT BECAME INOPERABLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds