Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 465 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (119) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (15) Steering (188) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (52) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (32) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (23) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/24/2015 - ERIE, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THERE WAS A LOSS OF POWER STEERING WITHOUT WARNING. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER HOWEVER, THE CONTACT CONTINUED IN OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000. JS

View Details

STEERING

4/23/2015 - FARMINGTON, NM
I WAS ON MY WAY TO PICK UP MY SISTER, STARTED TO CAR AND IT WOULD NOT TURN WHILE BACKING UP SO I RE-PARK. THE NEXT DAY I TRIED IT AGAIN, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS FINE SO I DROVE THE CAR AGAIN TILL IT HAPPEN AGAIN YESTERDAY, APRIL 22, 2015 AROUND 4P.M. WHEN I WAS DRIVING TO PICK UP MY GRANDSON FROM HIS JOB.. I CAME HOME AND IT IS PARK ON THE LOT. HARD OF STEERING IS WHAT HAPPEN, IT IS A A GOOD THING I WAS ONLY GOING THIS SECOND TIME, STARTING FROM A CORNER TURN, SO MY SPEED WAS VERY SLOW.

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2015 - MODESTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND EXCESSIVE FORCE WAS REQUIRED TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/16/2015 - AUBURN, MI
WHEN THE CAR WAS LEFT RUNNING GAS WAS FOUND LEAKING FROM UNDER THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR. THE CHANNEL THAT THE GAS LINES RUN IN WAS SOAKED IN GAS, A OPEN FLAME WOULD HAVE CAUSED THE CAR TO CATCH FIRE. I HAD THE GAS LINES REPLACED AND THERE WERE 7 LEAKS ON BOTH GAS LINES AND THEY WERE 90% RUSTED FROM THE FRONT OF THE MOTOR TO THE GAS TANK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/15/2015 - EL PASO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL FUMES EMITTED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED A FUEL LEAK ABOVE THE TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOSTIC OF THE FAILURE. THE TECHNICIAN VERIFIED THERE WAS A FUEL LEAK AND THE FUEL PUMP MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V459000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,297.

View Details

STEERING

4/12/2015 - BALLWIN, MO
SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME IT HAPPENED. GM HAS ISSUED A MASSIVE RECALL ABOUT THIS BUT REFUSES TO INCLUDE THIS VEHICLE, EVEN THOUGH OTHER 2008 COBALTS ARE COVERED.

View Details

STEERING

3/30/2015 - KYLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AS THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:10V073000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

3/26/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
ON 12/7/14, MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT WHILE I WAS BACKING UP. WHEN I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND BACK ON A FEW MINUTES LATER, THE POWER STEERING CAME BACK. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 12/12/14 AND WAS TOLD THE STEERING COLUMN WAS FAULTY AND PAID ABOUT $830 FOR IT TO BE REPLACED. ON 2/25/15, THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE SAME DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE STEERING COLUMN THAT WAS PUT IN TWO MONTHS BEFORE WAS ALSO FAULTY. IT WAS REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE SINCE THE ORIGINAL REPAIR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. ELEVEN DAYS LATER, ON 3/8/15, THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN. THIS TIME WHEN I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP, I WAS TOLD THE BATTER CABLES WERE LOSE AND THAT THE BATTERY FAILED THE LOAD TEST, AND THAT THIS IS WHAT WAS CAUSING THE POWER STEERING TO GO OUT THIS TIME, BUT THEY STILL INSISTED THAT IT WAS THE STEERING COLUMNS THE FIRST TWO TIMES. I WAS TOLD IF I PAID FOR THE BATTERY, THE LABOR WOULD BE FREE. I HAD THE BATTERY REPLACED ELSEWHERE AND HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH GM'S CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER AND THE BBB. I WILL ALSO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE AZ ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE SINCE THE ISSUE HAS NOT BEEN RECTIFIED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/12/2015 - MANCHESTER , NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT SUSPENSION CONTROL ARM BUSHINGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/11/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
"SERVICE ESC" DASH WARNING CAME ON. BOTH "TRACTION CONTROL AND ESC" DASH LIGHTS WERE LIT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds