Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 470 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (63) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (120) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (15) Steering (190) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (52) Seat Belts (9) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (32) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (23) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/22/2015 - SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH
I GOT THE CAR NEW, WITH 13 MILES ON IT, IN 2008. THE " SERVICE AIRBAG " LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. I DID GET IT CHECKED WHEN I WENT IN FOR SERVICE, AND THE LIGHT WENT OFF FOR 4 DAYS, AND THEN IT HAS BEEN ON EVER SINCE, WHEN I WENT AGAIN FOR SERVICE, I MENTIONED IT, THEY SAID THEY WOULD LOOK AT IT. THEY DID NOTHING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/21/2015 - FINDLAY , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 168,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/15/2015 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN AT 20 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE STEERING WHEEL IN ORDER TO TURN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING MOTOR, STEERING COLUMN, AND ANOTHER PART NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/12/2015 - CLEVELAND , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND EXCESSIVE FORCE ON THE STEERING WHEEL WAS REQUIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN, THERE WAS ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A ELECTRIC POWER STEERING MOTOR FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/6/2015 - EAST PRAIRIE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ESC WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE EBCM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,080.

View Details

STEERING

4/24/2015 - ERIE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/23/2015 - FARMINGTON, NM
I WAS ON MY WAY TO PICK UP MY SISTER, STARTED TO CAR AND IT WOULD NOT TURN WHILE BACKING UP SO I RE-PARK. THE NEXT DAY I TRIED IT AGAIN, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS FINE SO I DROVE THE CAR AGAIN TILL IT HAPPEN AGAIN YESTERDAY, APRIL 22, 2015 AROUND 4P.M. WHEN I WAS DRIVING TO PICK UP MY GRANDSON FROM HIS JOB.. I CAME HOME AND IT IS PARK ON THE LOT. HARD OF STEERING IS WHAT HAPPEN, IT IS A A GOOD THING I WAS ONLY GOING THIS SECOND TIME, STARTING FROM A CORNER TURN, SO MY SPEED WAS VERY SLOW.

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2015 - MODESTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND EXCESSIVE FORCE WAS REQUIRED TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/16/2015 - AUBURN, MI
WHEN THE CAR WAS LEFT RUNNING GAS WAS FOUND LEAKING FROM UNDER THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR. THE CHANNEL THAT THE GAS LINES RUN IN WAS SOAKED IN GAS, A OPEN FLAME WOULD HAVE CAUSED THE CAR TO CATCH FIRE. I HAD THE GAS LINES REPLACED AND THERE WERE 7 LEAKS ON BOTH GAS LINES AND THEY WERE 90% RUSTED FROM THE FRONT OF THE MOTOR TO THE GAS TANK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/15/2015 - EL PASO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL FUMES EMITTED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED A FUEL LEAK ABOVE THE TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOSTIC OF THE FAILURE. THE TECHNICIAN VERIFIED THERE WAS A FUEL LEAK AND THE FUEL PUMP MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V459000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,297.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds