Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 336 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (57) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (13) Steering (151) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (38) Seat Belts (5) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (24) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (19) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/19/2014 - PITTSBURGH, PA
ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS THE BATTERY IN THE VEHICLE DIED FOR NO REASON. WHEN TRYING TO START THE CAR WHEN UNAWARE THAT THE BATTERY WAS DEAD THE KEY GETS STUCK IN THE IGNITION AND ARE UNABLE TO GET THE KEY OUT UNLESS THE BATTERY IS RECHARGED. HOWEVER, SINCE THERE IS NO POWER TO THE VEHICLE YOU CANNOT OPEN THE TRUNK TO GET TO THE BATTERY? BEFORE RECALL IN 2010 MY KEY WOULD GET STUCK IN THE IGNITION SEVERAL TIMES WHEN THE BATTERY WAS FINE AND I WOULD HAVE TO FORCEFULLY TRY TO GET THE KEY INTO THE START POSITION OR OFF POSITION AND PULL THE KEY OUT. PROBLEMS STILL REMAIN WITH THIS IGNITION PROBLEM? DEALERSHIP STATES THIS IS HOW GM DESIGNED THE CAR?

View Details

STEERING

4/17/2014 - HARVARD, IL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WOULD MAKE A LOUD POPPING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING SHAFT WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES AFTER THE INITIAL REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER EACH TIME, WHERE THEY REPLACED THE SWAY BAR, CONTROL ARM BUSHINGS ON BOTH SIDES, ELECTRIC POWER STEERING MOTOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 48,500. PM

View Details

STEERING

4/15/2014 - EAST LANSING, MI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED MAKING THE STEERING WHEEL VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING POWER ASSIST WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 161,634. JFT

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/15/2014 - OSWEGO, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTIFICATION RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 14V047000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY INDICATED THERE WAS NO RENTAL VEHICLE AVAILABLE. RG

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/15/2014 - OSWEGO, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTIFICATION RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 14V047000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY INDICATED THERE WAS NO RENTAL VEHICLE AVAILABLE. RG

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/14/2014 - AZLE, TX
MY GAS TANK IS CRACKED AND HAS BEENN LEAKING FUEL. THE FUMES ARE BAD ENOUGH BY ITSELF BUT ITS ALSO A MAJOR FIRE HAZARD. CONTACTED GM AND EVEN THOUGH THE RECALL IS CLEARLY STATED ONLINE FOR MY CAR GM WILL NOT FIX THEIR MISTAKE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO STEERING WHEEL COLUMN RECALL. THE CONSUMER STATED IN 2010 HE STEERING MOTOR WAS RECALLED, AND CORRECTED. RECENTLY, THE CONSUMER HAD TO REPLACE THE STEERING WHEEL COLUMN, WHICH WAS PART OF THE KEY IGNITION THAT HAS BEEN IN THE MEDIA. THE CONSUMER SPENT $1200 FOR REPAIRS AND NOTIFIED CHEVROLET ABOUT THE SITUATION AND REIMBURSEMENT.

View Details

STEERING

4/14/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO STEERING WHEEL COLUMN RECALL. THE CONSUMER STATED IN 2010 HE STEERING MOTOR WAS RECALLED, AND CORRECTED. RECENTLY, THE CONSUMER HAD TO REPLACE THE STEERING WHEEL COLUMN, WHICH WAS PART OF THE KEY IGNITION THAT HAS BEEN IN THE MEDIA. THE CONSUMER SPENT $1200 FOR REPAIRS AND NOTIFIED CHEVROLET ABOUT THE SITUATION AND REIMBURSEMENT.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
IN NOVEMBER 2013 MY VEHICLE STEERING WHEEL GOT STUCK AT WORK. IT TOOK A COUPLE OF TIMES ON TURNING THE KEY TO TURN ON THE VEHICLE. IT HAPPENED 4 MORE TIMES AND I DECIDED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AT THE VARA CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP SERVICE CENTER. I TOLD THE LADY THAT WAS HELPING ME WHAT HAPPENED TO TO THE VEHICLE IN DECEMBER 2013 AND SHE TOLD ME TO LEAVE IT OVERNIGHT IN ORDER FOR THEM TO CHECK THE VEHICLE. WHEN I PICKED IT UP THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING IN THE COMPUTER SYSTEM. I TOLD HER THAT IT HAPPENED A COUPLE OF TIMES AND I KNEW IT WAS A PROBLEM. SHE TOLD ME THEN I GUESS WHEN THE CARS STEERING WHEEL GETS STUCK AGAIN YOU'LL HAVE TO BRING IT IN HOW IT IS. I ASKED HER IF THERE WAS ANY RECALLS AND SHE SAID NO. I THOUGHT THEN MAYBE THEN THERE ISN'T NOTHING WRONG. IN FEBRUARY 2014 MY HUSBAND TOOK THE VEHICLE TO HAVE IT SERVICED AND THEN WHEN HE PARKED IT AT THE SERVICE CENTER THEY WERE GOING TO MOVE IT INSIDE THE SHOP AND IT GOT STUCK LIKE IT HAD DONE TO US BEFORE. THE SERVICE MEMBERS THEN WERE UNABLE TO TURN IT ON OR MOVE IT. THEY PUT ROLLS UNDER THE WHEELS AND SAID THEY WERE GOING TO CHECK IT THERE. WHEN WE PICKED IT UP AFTER THREE DAYS THEY SAID THEY FIXED IT. MY HUSBAND AND ME NEVER ASKED WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT AS LONG AS THEY FIXED. I STARTED THEN HEARING ON THE NEWS ABOUT THE RECALLS ON GENERAL MOTORS WITH IGNITION PROBLEMS ON COBALTS UP TO THE YEAR 2007 AND THE COMPLAINTS. IT WAS EXACTLY WHAT WAS HAPPENING TO US BUT THE ONLY DIFFERENCE WAS IT WAS A 2008. I AM CONCERNED THAT THERE MIGHT BE OTHER PROBLEMS WITH THE SAME VEHICLES WITH OTHER YEARS. IF THE SERVICE CENTER KNEW THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLES AND RECALLS WHY DIDN'T THEY VOICE CONCERNS TO THEIR MANAGEMENT OR TO US. I AM VERY UPSET ABOUT THE TREATMENT WE RECEIVED AND MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS THAT IT IS HAPPENING WITH EARLIER MODELS NOT JUST UP TO 2007 COBALTS. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/11/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
IN NOVEMBER 2013 MY VEHICLE STEERING WHEEL GOT STUCK AT WORK. IT TOOK A COUPLE OF TIMES ON TURNING THE KEY TO TURN ON THE VEHICLE. IT HAPPENED 4 MORE TIMES AND I DECIDED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AT THE VARA CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP SERVICE CENTER. I TOLD THE LADY THAT WAS HELPING ME WHAT HAPPENED TO TO THE VEHICLE IN DECEMBER 2013 AND SHE TOLD ME TO LEAVE IT OVERNIGHT IN ORDER FOR THEM TO CHECK THE VEHICLE. WHEN I PICKED IT UP THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING IN THE COMPUTER SYSTEM. I TOLD HER THAT IT HAPPENED A COUPLE OF TIMES AND I KNEW IT WAS A PROBLEM. SHE TOLD ME THEN I GUESS WHEN THE CARS STEERING WHEEL GETS STUCK AGAIN YOU'LL HAVE TO BRING IT IN HOW IT IS. I ASKED HER IF THERE WAS ANY RECALLS AND SHE SAID NO. I THOUGHT THEN MAYBE THEN THERE ISN'T NOTHING WRONG. IN FEBRUARY 2014 MY HUSBAND TOOK THE VEHICLE TO HAVE IT SERVICED AND THEN WHEN HE PARKED IT AT THE SERVICE CENTER THEY WERE GOING TO MOVE IT INSIDE THE SHOP AND IT GOT STUCK LIKE IT HAD DONE TO US BEFORE. THE SERVICE MEMBERS THEN WERE UNABLE TO TURN IT ON OR MOVE IT. THEY PUT ROLLS UNDER THE WHEELS AND SAID THEY WERE GOING TO CHECK IT THERE. WHEN WE PICKED IT UP AFTER THREE DAYS THEY SAID THEY FIXED IT. MY HUSBAND AND ME NEVER ASKED WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT AS LONG AS THEY FIXED. I STARTED THEN HEARING ON THE NEWS ABOUT THE RECALLS ON GENERAL MOTORS WITH IGNITION PROBLEMS ON COBALTS UP TO THE YEAR 2007 AND THE COMPLAINTS. IT WAS EXACTLY WHAT WAS HAPPENING TO US BUT THE ONLY DIFFERENCE WAS IT WAS A 2008. I AM CONCERNED THAT THERE MIGHT BE OTHER PROBLEMS WITH THE SAME VEHICLES WITH OTHER YEARS. IF THE SERVICE CENTER KNEW THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLES AND RECALLS WHY DIDN'T THEY VOICE CONCERNS TO THEIR MANAGEMENT OR TO US. I AM VERY UPSET ABOUT THE TREATMENT WE RECEIVED AND MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS THAT IT IS HAPPENING WITH EARLIER MODELS NOT JUST UP TO 2007 COBALTS. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds