Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 622 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (79) Exterior Lighting (13) Power Train (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (148) Fuel Propulsion System (96) Seat Belts (13) Steering (250) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seats (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (27) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (26) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 82
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/18/2017 - GRAND ISLAND, FL
2008 CHEVY COBALT WITH 88,000 MILES, IN GREAT EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR CONDITION STARTED EXPERIENCING A STRONG FUEL ODOR AFTER DRIVING VEHICLE. TOOK IN TO DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY NOTIFIED OWNER OF A RUPTURED FUEL LINE WHICH WAS CAUSING A FUEL LEAK. FUEL LEAK COMING FROM RUSTED FUEL LINES. THIS SPECIFIC ISSUE HAS BEEN UNDER RECALL FOR THIS SPECIFIC MAKE AND MODEL AND GEAR OF CAR BUT BECAUSE OWNER VIN # WASN'T UNDER RECALL, GM WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY OR FIX. THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE THAT CAN LEAD TO A DANGEROUS SITUATION (I.E. AUTOMOBILE FIRE). HOW CAN THIS ISSUE BE UNDER RECALL FOR CHEVY COBALTS BUT NOT A SPECIFIC CAR DUE TO VIN #. CLEARLY THE ISSUE IS BEYOND WHAT THEY'VE RECALLED. THERE HAVE BEEN MANY OTHER CHEVY COBALTS EXPERIENCING THE SAME EXACT ISSUE AND GM WON'T TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR AND FIX.

View Details

STEERING

8/10/2017 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN AT A PARKING LOT, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO TURN LEFT OR RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT+S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/9/2017 - LAKE CHARLES, LA
I GIVE MY CAR CHEVY COBOLT TO BILLY NAVARR LAKE CHARLES FOR IGNATION SWITCH RECALL BECAUSE GM CORPORATE TOLD ME TAKE THERE AND CHEVY DELAR BILLY NAVARR SOLD MY CAR TO SOME BODY BUT THEY ARE SAYING SOME BODY STEEL THE CAR AND THEY CAN DO NOTHING

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/9/2017 - LAKE CHARLES, LA
I GIVE MY CAR CHEVY COBOLT TO BILLY NAVARR LAKE CHARLES FOR IGNATION SWITCH RECALL BECAUSE GM CORPORATE TOLD ME TAKE THERE AND CHEVY DELAR BILLY NAVARR SOLD MY CAR TO SOME BODY BUT THEY ARE SAYING SOME BODY STEEL THE CAR AND THEY CAN DO NOTHING

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/7/2017 - HAWESVILLE, KY
FUEL SMELL TURNED INTO A SIGNIFICANT FUEL LEAK. ONLY NOTICED WHILE THE VEHICLE IS STAIONARY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/4/2017 - BOONTON, NJ
SMELLED THE STRONG SCENT OF GAS WHILE DRIVING MY 2008 CHEVY COBALT. WHILE PARKED I NOTICED THE CAR WAS LEAKING GAS NEAR THE FRONT/DRIVER SIDE OF THE CAR. TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC IMMEDIATELY AFTER NOTICING THAT THE PUDDLE OF GAS WAS GETTING LARGER FAIRLY QUICKLY. AFTER TAKING A LOOK AT THE CAR MY MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT BOTH THE PRESSURE AND THE RETURN FUEL LINES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. HE ALSO LET ME KNOW THAT HE HAD CALLED THE CLOSEST DEALERSHIP FOR THE PARTS BUT THEY HAD JUST SOLD THEIR LAST ONES. APPARENTLY I WASN'T THE FIRST PERSON TO HAVE THIS ISSUE, AND ACTUALLY IT WAS QUITE A POPULAR PROBLEM WITH CERTAIN COBALTS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/28/2017 - KANSAS CITY, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT NOTICED A FUEL LEAK. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE FUEL TANK CAP. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED (HENDRICKS CHEVROLET IN SHAWNEE MISSION, KS) AND THE TECHNICIAN RECOMMENDED DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/9/2017 - HULL, TX
CAR IS SMELLING OF GAS AND LEAKING FROM TOP OF FUEL PUMP/TANK ONLY WHEN RUNNING. SCARED OF FIRE. HAVE SEEN THERE ARE RECALLS ON OTHER YEAR MODELS FOR SAME REASONS. HAVE KIDS WHO RIDE IN BACK SEAT GETTING SICK FROM GAS FUMES AND NO OTHER VEHICLES I CAN USE.

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2017 - HENRICO, VA
WHILE LEAVING WORK ON BACK ROADS WITH A LOT OF TURNS MY POWER STEERING CAME ON. I GOT THE POWER STEERING REPLACED 3 YEARS AGO WITH A RECALL AND NOW THE POWER STEERING MOTOR IS NOT WORKING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/6/2017 - AIEA, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET COBALT. DURING A ROUTINE STATE INSPECTION, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM THE FUEL TANK. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V459000 (FUEL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 82
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds