Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 143 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (11) Power Train (7) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (11)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (5) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/25/2014 - CHOWCHILLA, CA
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AUTOMATIC LOCK SYSTEM FOR HER DOOR FAILED TO LOCK AND UNLOCK INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 58,000. BT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2014 - WHITING, NJ
CAR FAILED TO START AFTER A HARD OVERNIGHT RAIN STORM THE NIGHT BEFORE, THEN STARTED AFTER A 15 MINUTE WAIT FOR THE AAA. IT HAS NOT OCCURRED SINCE. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT A LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING. REPEATEDLY TURNED KEY TO START POSITION, BUT NO POWER TO THE STARTER. HAD OBD 2 DIAGNOSTIC BUT NOT CODES FOUND, JUST WAIT TO SEE IF HAPPENS AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/14/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
AIR BAG DOES NOT STAY ON! DRIVING OVER 20 MPH AIR BAG DID NOT TURN ON AND SEAT BELT WARNING LIGHT REMAINED OFF. A PERSON WEIGHING ABOUT 200 LBS WAS IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AND AIR BAG WAS OFF WHILE CAR WAS ON, IN DRIVE, AND MOVING. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY HAZARD. IF ACCIDENT DID OCCUR AND AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY COULD BE FATAL. NEEDS TO FIXED!

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/14/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
AIR BAG DOES NOT STAY ON! DRIVING OVER 20 MPH AIR BAG DID NOT TURN ON AND SEAT BELT WARNING LIGHT REMAINED OFF. A PERSON WEIGHING ABOUT 200 LBS WAS IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AND AIR BAG WAS OFF WHILE CAR WAS ON, IN DRIVE, AND MOVING. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY HAZARD. IF ACCIDENT DID OCCUR AND AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY COULD BE FATAL. NEEDS TO FIXED!

View Details

STEERING

7/8/2014 - LA VISTA, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING WITHOUT WARNING. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. HOWEVER, RESULTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,218.

View Details

SEATS

7/5/2014 - CHANHASSEN, MN
I NOTICED THAT AFTER A LARGE THUNDERSTORM THAT HAD A LARGE AMOUNT OF WATER POURING DOWN, MY CAR HAD A INCH OF WATER ON THE BACK FLOOR IN FRONT OF 2ND ROW. THE SEATS WERE NOT WET AND ONLY THE FLOOR IN BACK WAS WET AND WAS SEEPING TOWARDS FRONT. THIS MEANT THAT MY WINDOWS WERE NOT OPEN BECAUSE MY SEATS WHERE NOT WET. I WENT TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY WOULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME AS THEY SAID IT HAD TO BE MY FAULT. WELL A YEAR LATER THEY FINALLY AGREED MOLD WAS GROWING AND SOMETHING WAS WRONG. THEY STRIPPED MY CAR DOWN TO THE METAL AND FOUND WATER SITTING ALL OVER IN ANY NOOK AND CRANNY THAT WAS IN THE FRAME. THEY BELEIVE ANYTIME I WENT THROUGH A CAR WASH OR IT RAINED ON MY CAR, I WAS GETTING WATER INSIDE. SERVICE ADVISEMENT NUMBER 08-08-57-001A STATES THAT THEY MAY HAVE NOT SEALED UP TO 15 POINTS ON THE EQUINOX BETWEEN 2005-2009. THE DEALERSHIP DID NOT EVEN KNOW ABOUT THIS ADVISEMENT AS I HAD TO READ THROUGH SOME BLOGS TO FIND IT AND IT WAS THE REAL DEAL. I HAD OVER 4 INCHES OF WATER SITTING IN MY SPARE TIRE WHEEL WELL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/5/2014 - CHANHASSEN, MN
I NOTICED THAT AFTER A LARGE THUNDERSTORM THAT HAD A LARGE AMOUNT OF WATER POURING DOWN, MY CAR HAD A INCH OF WATER ON THE BACK FLOOR IN FRONT OF 2ND ROW. THE SEATS WERE NOT WET AND ONLY THE FLOOR IN BACK WAS WET AND WAS SEEPING TOWARDS FRONT. THIS MEANT THAT MY WINDOWS WERE NOT OPEN BECAUSE MY SEATS WHERE NOT WET. I WENT TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY WOULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME AS THEY SAID IT HAD TO BE MY FAULT. WELL A YEAR LATER THEY FINALLY AGREED MOLD WAS GROWING AND SOMETHING WAS WRONG. THEY STRIPPED MY CAR DOWN TO THE METAL AND FOUND WATER SITTING ALL OVER IN ANY NOOK AND CRANNY THAT WAS IN THE FRAME. THEY BELEIVE ANYTIME I WENT THROUGH A CAR WASH OR IT RAINED ON MY CAR, I WAS GETTING WATER INSIDE. SERVICE ADVISEMENT NUMBER 08-08-57-001A STATES THAT THEY MAY HAVE NOT SEALED UP TO 15 POINTS ON THE EQUINOX BETWEEN 2005-2009. THE DEALERSHIP DID NOT EVEN KNOW ABOUT THIS ADVISEMENT AS I HAD TO READ THROUGH SOME BLOGS TO FIND IT AND IT WAS THE REAL DEAL. I HAD OVER 4 INCHES OF WATER SITTING IN MY SPARE TIRE WHEEL WELL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/4/2014 - SMYRNA, DE
PROBLEMS WITH MY VEH. COVERS A LONG PERIOD AND HAS WORSEN OVER TIME, FIRST THE (TPMS) TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM WENT BAD, THEN THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE WENT OUT OF SERV., THEN THE AIR BAG SENSOR ON FRONT PASS. SIDE WORKED WHEN IT WANTED. NOW THE FRONT PASS DOOR DOES NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK UNLESS MANUALLY, NOW THE DRIVER WINDOW DOES NOT OPERATE UP OR DOWN, AND TILL NOW ONLY ONCE THE CAR KEYS WERE STUCK IN THE IGNITION. HAVE CHECKED WITH GM RECALL LIST THAT SEEM TO HAVE SOME OF THE PROBLEMS I HAVE BUT MY 2008 EQUINOX IS NOT ON IT. THIS ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION CAN ONLY GET WORSE. WHAT'S NEXT TO GO.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/4/2014 - SMYRNA, DE
PROBLEMS WITH MY VEH. COVERS A LONG PERIOD AND HAS WORSEN OVER TIME, FIRST THE (TPMS) TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM WENT BAD, THEN THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE WENT OUT OF SERV., THEN THE AIR BAG SENSOR ON FRONT PASS. SIDE WORKED WHEN IT WANTED. NOW THE FRONT PASS DOOR DOES NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK UNLESS MANUALLY, NOW THE DRIVER WINDOW DOES NOT OPERATE UP OR DOWN, AND TILL NOW ONLY ONCE THE CAR KEYS WERE STUCK IN THE IGNITION. HAVE CHECKED WITH GM RECALL LIST THAT SEEM TO HAVE SOME OF THE PROBLEMS I HAVE BUT MY 2008 EQUINOX IS NOT ON IT. THIS ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION CAN ONLY GET WORSE. WHAT'S NEXT TO GO.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/4/2014 - SMYRNA, DE
PROBLEMS WITH MY VEH. COVERS A LONG PERIOD AND HAS WORSEN OVER TIME, FIRST THE (TPMS) TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM WENT BAD, THEN THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE WENT OUT OF SERV., THEN THE AIR BAG SENSOR ON FRONT PASS. SIDE WORKED WHEN IT WANTED. NOW THE FRONT PASS DOOR DOES NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK UNLESS MANUALLY, NOW THE DRIVER WINDOW DOES NOT OPERATE UP OR DOWN, AND TILL NOW ONLY ONCE THE CAR KEYS WERE STUCK IN THE IGNITION. HAVE CHECKED WITH GM RECALL LIST THAT SEEM TO HAVE SOME OF THE PROBLEMS I HAVE BUT MY 2008 EQUINOX IS NOT ON IT. THIS ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION CAN ONLY GET WORSE. WHAT'S NEXT TO GO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds