Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 168 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (7) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (24) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (11)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/20/2014 - CHADBOURN, NC
AIR BAG ON PASSENGER SEAT WOULD WORK AND NOT WORK AND HAS NOW COMPLETELY STOPPED WORKING. DOOR LOCKS ON FRONT WILL NOT LOCK ELECTRONICALLY. HAVE TO MANUALLY LOCK THE FRONT DOORS AT ALL TIMES. STABILIZER TRACK STAYS OFF. USE TO COME AND NO AND NOW WILL NOT COME BACK ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - CHADBOURN, NC
AIR BAG ON PASSENGER SEAT WOULD WORK AND NOT WORK AND HAS NOW COMPLETELY STOPPED WORKING. DOOR LOCKS ON FRONT WILL NOT LOCK ELECTRONICALLY. HAVE TO MANUALLY LOCK THE FRONT DOORS AT ALL TIMES. STABILIZER TRACK STAYS OFF. USE TO COME AND NO AND NOW WILL NOT COME BACK ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/20/2014 - CHADBOURN, NC
AIR BAG ON PASSENGER SEAT WOULD WORK AND NOT WORK AND HAS NOW COMPLETELY STOPPED WORKING. DOOR LOCKS ON FRONT WILL NOT LOCK ELECTRONICALLY. HAVE TO MANUALLY LOCK THE FRONT DOORS AT ALL TIMES. STABILIZER TRACK STAYS OFF. USE TO COME AND NO AND NOW WILL NOT COME BACK ON.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/19/2014 - FRANKLINTON, LA
PAINTING FALLING OFF METAL ON PASSENGER SIDE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/19/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
SINCE MID-AUG, MY EQUINOX HAS BEEN RANDOMLY/INTERMITTENTLY LOSING ENGINE POWER (AS WELL AS STEERING/BRAKING) FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THANKFULLY, WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY, (NOW AT LEAST WEEKLY) IT HAS NOT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC. WHEN CHECKING SERVICE CODES, THE INDICATED PROBLEM SYSTEMS ARE "SECONDARY IGNITION CIRCUIT" AND "STABILITRAK." I DO NOT FEEL THE CAR IS SAFELY DRIVEABLE, BUT MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER CANNOT OFFER ME EVEN A DIAGNOSTIC APPOINTMENT EARLIER THAN DEC 1.

View Details

STEERING

11/19/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
SINCE MID-AUG, MY EQUINOX HAS BEEN RANDOMLY/INTERMITTENTLY LOSING ENGINE POWER (AS WELL AS STEERING/BRAKING) FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THANKFULLY, WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY, (NOW AT LEAST WEEKLY) IT HAS NOT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC. WHEN CHECKING SERVICE CODES, THE INDICATED PROBLEM SYSTEMS ARE "SECONDARY IGNITION CIRCUIT" AND "STABILITRAK." I DO NOT FEEL THE CAR IS SAFELY DRIVEABLE, BUT MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER CANNOT OFFER ME EVEN A DIAGNOSTIC APPOINTMENT EARLIER THAN DEC 1.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
SINCE MID-AUG, MY EQUINOX HAS BEEN RANDOMLY/INTERMITTENTLY LOSING ENGINE POWER (AS WELL AS STEERING/BRAKING) FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THANKFULLY, WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY, (NOW AT LEAST WEEKLY) IT HAS NOT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC. WHEN CHECKING SERVICE CODES, THE INDICATED PROBLEM SYSTEMS ARE "SECONDARY IGNITION CIRCUIT" AND "STABILITRAK." I DO NOT FEEL THE CAR IS SAFELY DRIVEABLE, BUT MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER CANNOT OFFER ME EVEN A DIAGNOSTIC APPOINTMENT EARLIER THAN DEC 1.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/10/2014 - ELIZABETHTOWN, PA
THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER AIR BAG SENSOR ONLY WORKED INTERMITTENTLY--THE SENSOR WASN'T RECOGNIZING WHEN A PASSENGER WAS SITTING IN THE SEAT SO WE WERE VERY CONCERNED THAT THE AIR BAG WOULDN'T DEPLOY IF WE WERE IN AN ACCIDENT. AS A RESULT, WE TOOK IT TO TWO SEPARATE MECHANICS (INCLUDING ONE GM DEALERSHIP) AND IT ENDED UP COSTING OVER $1000 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I CONTACTED CHEVY CUSTOMER SERVICE ON 11/10/14 TO DOCUMENT THE CONCERN AND TO REQUEST FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR THE PROBLEM BUT NOTHING WAS AVAILABLE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY CHEVY ESPECIALLY IF IT IS HAPPENING ON MANY VEHICLES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/6/2014 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
MY KEY GETS STUCK IN THE IGNITION AND I HAVE TO WAIT A COUPLE OF MINUTES BEFORE IT RELEASES SO I CAN GET IT OUT. SOMETIMES ONCE I START THE CAR I CAN HEAR THE KEY CLICK SEVERAL TIMES. I HAVE BROUGHT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP NUMEROUS TIMES AND THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2014 - CAPE CORAL, FL
I PURCHASED THIS CAR USED ON SEPT. 15, 2014. IT IS THE SPORT EDITION OF THE EQUINOX. EVERY TIME I TURN THE STEERING WHEEL AT ANY SPEED THERE IS A RUBBING SOUND BETWEEN THE STEERING COLUMN & JUST BEHIND THE AIRBAG ON STEERING WHEEL & NEAR THE IGNITION SWITCH. I ASSUME IF THERE IS ENOUGH RUBBING FRICTION IT COULD AFFECT THE AIRBAG OR IGNITION SWITCH TO CAUSE A FIRE OR AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. I TOOK CAR TO ROGER DEAN CHEVY DEALER IN CAPE CORAL, FL & THEY SAID THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR SUCH A PROBLEM. I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS RUBBING FRICTION & KNOW THAT GM HAS HAD BOTH IGNITION ISSUES & AIRBAG ISSUES WHICH THIS RUBBING SOUND IS NEAR BOTH OF THESE COMPONENTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds