Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 266 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (83) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (58) Exterior Lighting (20) Parking Brake (1) Steering (39) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (38) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Power Train (12) Structure (20) Visibility (12)
Engine (16) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (7) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/23/2016 - ASHBURN, VA
MY VEHICLE HAS 84,000 MILES ON IT. ABOUT 3 WEEKS AGO THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON FOR CODE P0008. AFTER FURTHER REVIEW THE DEALER DISCOVERED I HAD A STRETCHED TIMING CHAIN THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT THE TUNE OF $3,000. I HAVE CHANGED MY OIL AS STATED IN THE MANUAL AND CHECK THE OIL LEVELS PERIODICALLY. THE SERVICE SCHEDULE IN THE MANUAL INDICATES THAT THE BELTS NEED TO BE CHECKED FOR WEAR AT 150,000. THE TIMING CHAIN SHOULD SURELY LAST LONGER THAN THE BELTS. CHEVY ISSUED A CUSTOMER SERVICE BULLETIN WITH REGARD TO PREMATURE TIMING CHAIN WEAR ON ALL 2008 EQUINOX'S EXCEPT THE SPORT (WHICH IS WHAT I HAVE). AFTER DOING SOME ONLINE DIGGING I HAVE DISCOVERED MANY OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE 2008 SPORT THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. I CONTACTED GM AND THEY STATED SINCE MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/16/2016 - AZTEC, NM
LEAKING GAS FROM THE TANK UNDER REAR DOOR PASSENGER SIDE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2016 - HAWLEY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MODULE WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/4/2016 - MURFREESBORO, TN
I PURCHASED MY EQUINOX BRAND NEW IN JULY OF 2008 AND IT CURRENTLY HAS 109,000 MILES ON IT. I JUST STARTED HAVING TRANSMISSION ISSUES SO I TOOK IT TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP. THE VEHICLE IS HAVING A HARD TIME SHIFTING INTO 3RD SHIFT. THE TRANSMISSION SHOP STATED THAT I NEEDED A NEW WAVE PLATE. CHEVROLET HAS AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON MY VEHICLE FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE AND I FALL WITHIN THE DATE AND MILEAGE LIMITS, BUT GM IS CLAIMING THAT MY VEHICLE DOES NOT QUALIFY. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO REASON THAT MY VEHICLE SHOULD BE EXCLUDED FROM THIS WARRANTY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
2008 EQUINOX - MY KEY IS STUCK IN THE IGNITION AND I CAN'T TURN THE VEHICLE OFF. THE VEHICLE ISN'T REGISTERING THAT IT'S IN PARK. IT'S SOME ISSUE WITH THE SHIFTER. THE KEY WAS STICKING FOR ABOUT A MONTH BUT WOULD ALWAYS TURN OFF UNTIL NOW. NUMEROUS EQUINOX OWNERS HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE BUT CHEVY HASN'T FIXED THE PROBLEM OR ISSUED A RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2016 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY BECAME STUCK AND WAS UNABLE TO BE EJECTED FROM THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/28/2016 - KALAMAZOO, MI
I BOUGHT MY EQUINOX IN OCTOBER OF 2015. AFTER HAVING IT JUST 6 MONTHS AND DRIVING IT APPROX. 3,000 MILES THE HEAD GASKET BLEW. I BOUGHT THE CAR WITH ONLY 70,000 MILES ON IT. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL AUTO BODY SHOP, AND THEY TOLD ME I WOULD NEED A WHOLE NEW ENGINE (THEY SUSPECTED STOP LEAK WAS PUT IN TO MASK THE PROBLEM BEFORE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE). THEY ARE QUOTING $3,400 FOR A REFURBISHED ENGINE (THAT COULD RUN INTO THE SAME ISSUE) OR $5,900 FOR A NEW ENGINE. GM HAS BEEN NO HELP AT PROVIDING ANY TYPE OF ASSISTANCE. AS I'VE DONE MORE RESEARCH, I SEE COUNTLESS OTHER CASES OF THIS HAPPENING WITH LOW MILES. WE HAVE ALWAYS PURCHASED GM VEHICLES, AS MY HUSBAND'S STEPDAD AND UNCLE WERE BOTH GM EMPLOYEES. MY FAITH HAS NOW BEEN SHAKEN IN THE COMPANY, AND I WILL NOT BE PURCHASING ANOTHER GM VEHICLE ANYTIME SOON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/25/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO MY KEY STARTED STICKING IN THE CYLINDER AND I WAS UNABLE TO TAKE THE KEY OUT. IT WOULD TAKE 2-5 MINUTES BEFORE IT WILL RELEASE THE KEY. IT HAS GOTTEN MORE FREQUENT SO I HAD SOMEONE CHECK IT OUT. HE FOUND A RECALL REFERENCE #09-02-35-005C WHICH STATES THAT CHEVROLET EQUINOX FROM 2007-2009 BUILT PRIOR TO 7/2008 WILL NEED TO HAVE A NEW CYLINDER IGNITION LOCK PART #20869121 INSTALLED FOR IGNITION KEY DIFFICULT TO REMOVE, BINDS OR STICKS. MY CAR WAS BUILT IN 2007 YET THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP SAYS THERE IS NO RECALL FOR MY VIN# WHICH ACCORDING TO YOUR RECALL NOTICE IS NOT TRUE. PLEASE CONTACT ME ASAP ABOUT THIS MATTER. (702)271-7271 OR EMAIL ME @ JDJOY@COX.NET. THANK YOU.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

6/20/2016 - SELKIRK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STABILITY AND TRACTION LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000. TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STABILITY TRACTION LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AS WELL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/20/2016 - SELKIRK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STABILITY AND TRACTION LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000. TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STABILITY TRACTION LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AS WELL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds