Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 183 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (62) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (15) Power Train (8) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (11)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (16) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/3/2015 - FELLSMERE, FL
PAINT IS FALLING OFF PAINT SHOP SAID IT IS ORANGE PEEL A FACTORY DEFECT

View Details

STEERING

2/5/2015 - CANTON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE POWER STEERING RESUMED AFTER THE CONTACT DISCONNECTED AND RECONNECTED THE BATTERY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/1/2015 - MOUNT STERLING, KY
STABILITRAK LIGHT AND WARNING SOUND HAS COME ON A FEW TIMES FOR NO RHYME OR REASON. SOME TIMES WILL SHAKE VEHICLE AS IT GOES DOWN THE ROAD AFTERWARDS. ALSO, WHEN PLUGGED IN AUXILIARY CORD FOR IPOD, SPARKS FLEW OUT FROM RADIO CONTROL STATION AND CAR DIED AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. MANAGED TO PULL OFF ROAD AND SAT FOR TEN MINUTES. RESTARTED CAR AND DROVE TO SAFE LOCATION AND HAD SOME ONE PICK ME UP. NEXT DAY, WENT TO PICK UP CAR AND NO ISSUES. CAR IS BECOMING UNRELIABLE WITH NOT ONLY THESE ISSUES BUT PREVIOUS COMPLAINTS I HAVE FILED WITH YOU. SHOULDN'T BE HAVING THESE TYPE ISSUES, ESPECIALLY SAFETY ONES, THIS SOON. CAR ONLY HAS A LITTLE OVER 120000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/1/2015 - MOUNT STERLING, KY
STABILITRAK LIGHT AND WARNING SOUND HAS COME ON A FEW TIMES FOR NO RHYME OR REASON. SOME TIMES WILL SHAKE VEHICLE AS IT GOES DOWN THE ROAD AFTERWARDS. ALSO, WHEN PLUGGED IN AUXILIARY CORD FOR IPOD, SPARKS FLEW OUT FROM RADIO CONTROL STATION AND CAR DIED AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. MANAGED TO PULL OFF ROAD AND SAT FOR TEN MINUTES. RESTARTED CAR AND DROVE TO SAFE LOCATION AND HAD SOME ONE PICK ME UP. NEXT DAY, WENT TO PICK UP CAR AND NO ISSUES. CAR IS BECOMING UNRELIABLE WITH NOT ONLY THESE ISSUES BUT PREVIOUS COMPLAINTS I HAVE FILED WITH YOU. SHOULDN'T BE HAVING THESE TYPE ISSUES, ESPECIALLY SAFETY ONES, THIS SOON. CAR ONLY HAS A LITTLE OVER 120000 MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/1/2015 - MOUNT STERLING, KY
WINDOW ON PASSENGER FRONT DOOR WILL NOT WORK. IT WENT DOWN AND WITH EXTREME SLOWNESS FINALLY GOT IT TO ROLL BACK UP. CANNOT USE AT ALL NOW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/1/2015 - MOUNT STERLING, KY
LOCKS ON CAR HAVE GOT TO WHERE THEY MAY OR MAY NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK. NOT ONLY VERY INCONVENIENT TO GET IN OR OUT OF CAR BUT COULD VERY WELL BE A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE IN THE EVENT OF A WRECK AND NOT ABLE TO GET OUT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/1/2015 - MT STERLING, KY
DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AND WARNING LIGHT CAME ON THAT PASSENGER AIRBAG WAS NOT ON WHICH WAS ODD SINCE MY 250 LB HUSBAND WAS IN THE SEAT. NEVER HAS WORKED RIGHT SINCE. IT SAYS NO ONE IN SEAT AND AIR BAG NOT ON WHEN THERE IS SOMEONE IN SEAT OR VISA VERSA. I BELIEVE THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE MORE SO NOW THAT MY TEENAGE DAUGHTER IS DRIVING THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/29/2015 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF EVEN WHEN NO ONE IN SEAT THE DASH AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON AND SAYS SERVICE AIRBAG. IT START AROUND SEPT 14 . I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT IN JAN 4 2015 AIRBAG DID NOT INFLATE I WAS HIT IN FRONT HEAD ON BY OTHER VEHICLE SPUN AROUND AND SLAMMED INTO FRONT OF MY SUV I HIT MY BRAKES AND SLOWED DOWN BEFORE I WAS HIT

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/25/2015 - MADISONVILLE, TN
PASSENGER PRESENCE SENSOR GOES ON AND OFF WITH A FULL SIZE ADULT IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT WILL COME ON AND STAY ON. APPARENTLY THIS WAS ALSO AN ISSUE WITH THE 2007 MODEL THAT GM RECALLED, BUT FAILED TO FIX THE PROBLEM WHEN BUILDING FUTURE CARS AND NEVER RECALLED NEWER MODELS TO FIX THE PROBLEM. EXTREME SAFETY HAZARD. DEALERSHIP WANTS TO REPLACE THE MAJORITY OF THE SYSTEM AS THEY ARE UNSURE WHAT IS CAUSING THE FAULT EVEN THOUGH YOU CAN WIGGLE IN THE SEAT AND GET THE SENSOR TO ACTIVATE AND AS A RESULT THE SYSTEM WILL WORK. WIGGLE AGAIN AND THE SYSTEM WILL SHUT OFF AND THE SERVICE AIR BAGS LIGHT WILL RETURN. ANYONE SEE A PATTERN IN GM IGNORING CRITICAL SAFETY VIOLATIONS?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

1/20/2015 - BATTLE CREEK, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE, THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILED TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds