Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 320 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (64) Exterior Lighting (22) Parking Brake (1) Steering (42) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (41) Fuel Propulsion System (29) Power Train (13) Structure (27) Visibility (13)
Engine (23) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (6) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (8) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Traction Control System (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/16/2018 - SN ANTONIO, TX
I WAS DRIVING VEHICLE WHICH HAS 32,650 MILES ON IT AND ALL OF A SUDDEN IT STARTED JERKING, AS IT SOMEONE WAS PUMPING THE BRAKE PEDAL AT A SPEED OF 45 TO 50 DURING ACCELERATION! I AM A HEART TRANSPLANT SURVIVOR OF 15 YRS AND DID NO NEED TO BE PUT THROUGH THIS KIND OF SCARE! I DUG THROUGH SOME PAPERS AND FOUND AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR THIS ISSUE THAT STATED NOT TO BRING IT IN UNTIL IT STARTED TO DO THIS. OF COURSE THE TIME OF THE EXTENDED WARRANTY RAN OUT AND CHEVY WOULD NOT HONOR THE WARRANTY AND REPAIR THEIR MISTAKE! I INHERITED THIS VEHICLE FROM MY MOTHER IN 2015 WITH 29,000 MILE ON IT! I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY THEY CAN GET AWAY WITH RELEASING THIS VEHICLE TO THE PUBLIC WITH THIS ISSUE THAT MAY OR MAY NOT HAPPEN! THEY SHOULD HAVE STEPPED UP AND REPAIRED THESE VEHICLES BEFORE THIS COULD HAPPEN. THE CAUSE OF THIS MALFUNCTION WAS A CRACKED SPARK PLUG OF THE THIRD CYLINDER! WILL NEVER BY A GM PRODUCT! I WAS CONTACTED BY CHEVROLET AND BECAUSE IT HAD OVER 19,500 MILES THEY WOULD NOT REIMBURSE FOR REPAIRS! THEY REPLIED THT THEY CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS SAFETY, HOW WHEN THEY CAN LET SOMETHING LIKE THIS OUT INTO THE PUBLIC.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/10/2018 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
MY VEHICLE SHOULD HAVE TWO RECALLS; FIRST THE AIRBAGS. WHEN MY PASSENGER IS SITTING IN THE SEAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON TELLING ME TO CHECK MY AIRBAG AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS OFF. I'M NOT SURE IF IT WILL DEPLOY IF I GET IN AN ACCIDENT OR IF IT WILL ON ITS OWN ONE DAY HURTING MY PASSENGER. SECOND, MY VEHICLE SMELLS LIKE GASOLINE. IT SMELLS WORSE WHEN I FILL THE TANK UP AND ITS DOESN'T START RIGHT AWAY. I AM DRIVING MY VEHICLE SINCE THIS IS THE ONLY VEHICLE I HAVE. I HAVE SEEN ONLINE WERE THE 2007 EQUINOX HAD A RECALL FOR THE AIRBAG AND GAS TANK. PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/10/2018 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
MY VEHICLE SHOULD HAVE TWO RECALLS; FIRST THE AIRBAGS. WHEN MY PASSENGER IS SITTING IN THE SEAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON TELLING ME TO CHECK MY AIRBAG AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS OFF. I'M NOT SURE IF IT WILL DEPLOY IF I GET IN AN ACCIDENT OR IF IT WILL ON ITS OWN ONE DAY HURTING MY PASSENGER. SECOND, MY VEHICLE SMELLS LIKE GASOLINE. IT SMELLS WORSE WHEN I FILL THE TANK UP AND ITS DOESN'T START RIGHT AWAY. I AM DRIVING MY VEHICLE SINCE THIS IS THE ONLY VEHICLE I HAVE. I HAVE SEEN ONLINE WERE THE 2007 EQUINOX HAD A RECALL FOR THE AIRBAG AND GAS TANK. PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details

STEERING

3/13/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
I HAVE A NEW BATTERY (PURCHASED 2-3MONTHS AGO) & A NEW ALTERNATOR (INSTALLED YESTERDAY). TODAY DRIVING TO WORK I NOTICE THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AS SOON AS I STARTED TO DRIVE. THERE IS NO PLACE TO ADD POWER STEERING FLUID AS I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY EMPLOYEES AT ADVANCE AUTO PART BECAUSE IT IS EITHER ELECTRIC OR HYDRAULIC. PLEASE HELP? ..... P.S. IT WAS LOCKED JUST B4 REPLACING THE ALTERNATOR (ABOUT 1 WEEK AGO) AND REMAINS LOCKED TODAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/8/2018 - MARYSVILLE, OH
I BOUGHT THIS CAR USED FROM SOMEONE WHO LET ME KNOW OF THIS ISSUE AND COULD NOT GET IT FIXED. THIS ISSUE IS PRESENT NO MATTER IF THE CAR IS STATIONARY OR IN MOTION. THERE IS A "SERVICE AIR BAG" WARNING AS WELL AS THE AIRBAG NOTIFICATION LIGHT. THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG LIGHT ON THE CENTER CONSOLE IS ALWAYS SET TO OFF NO MATTER IF SOMEONE IS SITTING IN THE PASSENGER SEAT OR NOT. I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THIS ISSUE WHETHER THE PEOPLE BOUGHT THE CAR WHEN IT WAS NEW OR USED. IT IS AN ONGOING ISSUE AND IT COSTS $800-$1000 FOR GM TO FIX IT WHICH IS LUDICROUS BECAUSE IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD FAULTY EQUIPMENT THAT THEY INSTALLED. THIS WAS THE SAME ISSUE IN THE 2007 CHEVROLET EQUINOX AND THAT WAS RECALLED HOWEVER GM WILL NOT RECALL THE 2008????

View Details

SEATS

2/8/2018 - MARYSVILLE, OH
I BOUGHT THIS CAR USED FROM SOMEONE WHO LET ME KNOW OF THIS ISSUE AND COULD NOT GET IT FIXED. THIS ISSUE IS PRESENT NO MATTER IF THE CAR IS STATIONARY OR IN MOTION. THERE IS A "SERVICE AIR BAG" WARNING AS WELL AS THE AIRBAG NOTIFICATION LIGHT. THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG LIGHT ON THE CENTER CONSOLE IS ALWAYS SET TO OFF NO MATTER IF SOMEONE IS SITTING IN THE PASSENGER SEAT OR NOT. I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THIS ISSUE WHETHER THE PEOPLE BOUGHT THE CAR WHEN IT WAS NEW OR USED. IT IS AN ONGOING ISSUE AND IT COSTS $800-$1000 FOR GM TO FIX IT WHICH IS LUDICROUS BECAUSE IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD FAULTY EQUIPMENT THAT THEY INSTALLED. THIS WAS THE SAME ISSUE IN THE 2007 CHEVROLET EQUINOX AND THAT WAS RECALLED HOWEVER GM WILL NOT RECALL THE 2008????

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/30/2018 - PRESCOTT, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (LAMB CHEVROLET CADILLAC, 400 PRESCOTT LAKES PKWY, PRESCOTT, AZ 86301) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SENSOR CONTROL MODULE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 8-3844789289. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THEY WOULD RESPOND WITHIN TWO DAYS. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 34,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/26/2018 - LANOKA HARBOR, NJ
MY 2008 CHEVY EQUINOX PAINT IS PEELING ABOVE THE PASSENGER WINDOWS ON BOTH SIDES AND PEELING DOWN TO THE METAL. IT HAPPENED OVERNIGHT. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE VEHICLE AND IT HAS NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT OR REPAINTED. I FIND IT TO COINCIDENTAL THAT WHEN I GOOGLE THE PROBLEM OF 2008 CHEVY EQUINOX PAINT PEELING IT IS HAPPENING FOR EVERYONE IN THE SAME SPOT. I ONLY HAVE 66,000 MILES ON THE CAR BECAUSE MY COMMUTE IS ONLY 3 MILES. THE CAR HAS HAD EVERY SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE DONE AND ANY REPAIRS AT CERTIFIED CHEVY DEALERSHIPS. IT IS VERY GENTLY USED AND ALTHOUGH IT IS A 2008 I DON'T BELIEVE MY TEENAGERS BEATER CAR SHOULD LOOK BETTER THAN MY $35,000 CHEVY EQUINOX NO MATTER HOW OLD IT IS. IT IS CLEARLY A FACTORY DEFECT THAT GM WILL NOT ACKNOWLEDGE AT THIS POINT OR PAY FOR. RIGHT NOW THE DAMAGE IS $1000 AS QUOTED BY GM AND THEY WILL NOT PAY FOR IT. I ABSOLUTELY FEEL THIS IS A COMPLETE VIOLATION TO CONSUMERS AND SINCERELY HOPE FOR ANYONE BUYING THE NEW CHEVY EQUINOX THAT THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN TO THEM OVER TIME. GM NEEDS TO STEP UP AND TAKE OWNERSHIP OF THEIR FAULTY PAINT JOB AND JUST DO THE RIGHT THING.

View Details

ENGINE

12/7/2017 - TAKOMA PARK, MD
INTAKE VALVE AND VALVE COVER GASKETS BLOWN DUE TO CORROSION BY DEX-COOL OVER TIME. ALSO HAD BLOWN HEAD GASKET REPAIRED 10/16/2014 DUE TO SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/7/2017 - TAKOMA PARK, MD
FAULTY HEAD GASKETS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds