Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 162 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (56) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (7) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (11)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/13/2014 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
SMELLED INCREASING GAS SMELL. MY MECHANIC FOUND A FUEL LEAK, PULLED THE GAS TANK AND HAD TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP AS THE PLASTIC SUPPLY/RETURN HAD CRACKED AND WAS LEAKING FUEL. MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT HE THOUGHT THERE WAS A RECALL IN EFFECT FOR THIS PROBLEM. TO DATE, I HAVE NEVER BEEN NOTIFIED BY CHEVY OF A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM, YET I CAN SEE ONLINE THAT THIS IS HAPPENING FREQUENTLY. I FOUND GM'S CAMPAIGN # 12190 BUT NOT SURE IT IT COVERS MY YEAR AND MODEL. IT WAS OVER $600 TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/30/2014 - CLEVELAND HEIGHTS , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE STABILITRACK WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/14/2014 - PARKER, CO
DOOR LOCKS ON ALL 4 SWINGING DOORS ACT INCONSISTENTLY. WHEN LOCKING VALUABLE ITEMS WITH THE REMOTE, ONLY SOME OF THE DOORS WOULD LOCK. VERY DANGEROUS AND I SEE THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL WITH ALL THE COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET. WIFE DOESN'T ON FEEL SAFE IF SHE NEED TO GET IN HER CAR AND LOCK THE DOORS ONLY TO FIND 2 OF THE DOORS DID NOT LOCK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/11/2014 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE HYDRO-PLANED AND CRASHED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE AIR BAGS WERE NOT EXPECTED TO DEPLOY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000. PAM..UPDATED 09/25/14

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/10/2014 - NICHOLASVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AS THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A MAILBOX. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/29/2014 - CLANTON, AL
THIS CAR HAS BEEN A LEMON SINCE I GOT HER. SHE HAS HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS FROM STEREO, BRAKES, MOTOR AND NOW THE GAS TANKS LEAKS. WE HAD RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER MONTHS AGO STATING THAT THIS WAS A RECALL BUT IF YOU DO NOT SMELL FUEL, THEN DON'T WORRY ABOUT IT. WELL, NOW WE DO AND I HAVE CALLED GM AND WAS TOLD THAT THEIR SYSTEM WAS DOWN AND THAT THEY WOULD CALL US BACK. THEY ALSO TOLD US THAT WITHOUT THE RECALL LETTER THEY COULDN'T HELP US. I AM LOOKING FOR THE LETTER BUT SHOULDN'T THEY HAVE THIS ON RECORD? THAT WAS OVER A WEEK AGO AND STILL NO ANSWER. WE HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT THE CAR AND STILL NO RESPONSE. WHAT DO WE HAVE TO DO TO GET SOME ANSWERS?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/27/2014 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM THE FUEL PUMP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/26/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
1.)THIS MORNING, I STARTED MY CAR, IT STALLED OUT, LIKE IT DID NOT WANT TO START. I SWEPT THAT UNDER THE RUG. AFTER WORK, I STARTED MY CAR AND IT STALLED AGAIN WHILE TRYING TO START. AS A MATTER OF FACT IT WAS AS IF SOMEONE HAD GOTTEN UNDER THE HOOD AND DISCONNECTED/RECONNECTED MY BATTERY. I HAD TO RESET MY CLOCK AND RADIO STATIONS.2.)ALSO, WHILE I AM COMPLAINING, I HAVE HAD TO CHANGE MY BRAKE LIGHTS AT LEAST 4 TIMES WITHIN THE LAST YEAR. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY JUST SAID "YOU DO KNOW YOU HAVE TO CHANGE THE BULBS EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE"---YES! BUT NOT SEVERAL TIMES IN ONE YEAR. 3.)THERE IS ALSO MOISTURE IN THE HEADLIGHTS--EVEN AFTER THE DEALERSHIP "FIXING IT". 4.) MY KEY FOB DOES NOT LOCK THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. (SOMETIMES THEY LOCK, SOMETIMES THEY DON'T. I HAVE READ SOME OF THE SAME COMPLAINTS, BUT YET THERE ARE NO RECALLS. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
1.)THIS MORNING, I STARTED MY CAR, IT STALLED OUT, LIKE IT DID NOT WANT TO START. I SWEPT THAT UNDER THE RUG. AFTER WORK, I STARTED MY CAR AND IT STALLED AGAIN WHILE TRYING TO START. AS A MATTER OF FACT IT WAS AS IF SOMEONE HAD GOTTEN UNDER THE HOOD AND DISCONNECTED/RECONNECTED MY BATTERY. I HAD TO RESET MY CLOCK AND RADIO STATIONS.2.)ALSO, WHILE I AM COMPLAINING, I HAVE HAD TO CHANGE MY BRAKE LIGHTS AT LEAST 4 TIMES WITHIN THE LAST YEAR. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY JUST SAID "YOU DO KNOW YOU HAVE TO CHANGE THE BULBS EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE"---YES! BUT NOT SEVERAL TIMES IN ONE YEAR. 3.)THERE IS ALSO MOISTURE IN THE HEADLIGHTS--EVEN AFTER THE DEALERSHIP "FIXING IT". 4.) MY KEY FOB DOES NOT LOCK THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. (SOMETIMES THEY LOCK, SOMETIMES THEY DON'T. I HAVE READ SOME OF THE SAME COMPLAINTS, BUT YET THERE ARE NO RECALLS. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/26/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
1.)THIS MORNING, I STARTED MY CAR, IT STALLED OUT, LIKE IT DID NOT WANT TO START. I SWEPT THAT UNDER THE RUG. AFTER WORK, I STARTED MY CAR AND IT STALLED AGAIN WHILE TRYING TO START. AS A MATTER OF FACT IT WAS AS IF SOMEONE HAD GOTTEN UNDER THE HOOD AND DISCONNECTED/RECONNECTED MY BATTERY. I HAD TO RESET MY CLOCK AND RADIO STATIONS.2.)ALSO, WHILE I AM COMPLAINING, I HAVE HAD TO CHANGE MY BRAKE LIGHTS AT LEAST 4 TIMES WITHIN THE LAST YEAR. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY JUST SAID "YOU DO KNOW YOU HAVE TO CHANGE THE BULBS EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE"---YES! BUT NOT SEVERAL TIMES IN ONE YEAR. 3.)THERE IS ALSO MOISTURE IN THE HEADLIGHTS--EVEN AFTER THE DEALERSHIP "FIXING IT". 4.) MY KEY FOB DOES NOT LOCK THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. (SOMETIMES THEY LOCK, SOMETIMES THEY DON'T. I HAVE READ SOME OF THE SAME COMPLAINTS, BUT YET THERE ARE NO RECALLS. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds