Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 259 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (82) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (56) Exterior Lighting (20) Parking Brake (1) Steering (39) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (38) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Power Train (11) Structure (20) Visibility (12)
Engine (14) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (7) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/25/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO MY KEY STARTED STICKING IN THE CYLINDER AND I WAS UNABLE TO TAKE THE KEY OUT. IT WOULD TAKE 2-5 MINUTES BEFORE IT WILL RELEASE THE KEY. IT HAS GOTTEN MORE FREQUENT SO I HAD SOMEONE CHECK IT OUT. HE FOUND A RECALL REFERENCE #09-02-35-005C WHICH STATES THAT CHEVROLET EQUINOX FROM 2007-2009 BUILT PRIOR TO 7/2008 WILL NEED TO HAVE A NEW CYLINDER IGNITION LOCK PART #20869121 INSTALLED FOR IGNITION KEY DIFFICULT TO REMOVE, BINDS OR STICKS. MY CAR WAS BUILT IN 2007 YET THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP SAYS THERE IS NO RECALL FOR MY VIN# WHICH ACCORDING TO YOUR RECALL NOTICE IS NOT TRUE. PLEASE CONTACT ME ASAP ABOUT THIS MATTER. (702)271-7271 OR EMAIL ME @ JDJOY@COX.NET. THANK YOU.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

6/20/2016 - SELKIRK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STABILITY AND TRACTION LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000. TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STABILITY TRACTION LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AS WELL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2016 - SELKIRK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STABILITY AND TRACTION LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000. TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STABILITY TRACTION LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AS WELL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/20/2016 - SELKIRK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STABILITY AND TRACTION LIGHTS ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000. TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STABILITY TRACTION LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AS WELL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/5/2016 - LEWISVILLE, TX
PASSENGER AIRBAG SENSOR IS MALFUNCTIONING. FOR YEARS THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN CONSISTENTLY DISPLAYED, OR GOES OFF AND ON DEPENDING ON WHETHER OR NOT THERE IS A PASSENGER, AND IS A SAFETY CONCERN. OCCUPANTS HAVE NO SECURITY OF KNOWING WHETHER OR NOT THE AIRBAG WILL DEPLOY IF INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/22/2016 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
SMELL OF GASOLINE WITH 78,000 MILES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/13/2016 - ROWLETT, TX
THE SPEEDOMETER TO MY VEHICLE IS NOT WORKING. REGARDLESS IF THE CAR IS ON OR OFF, THE NEEDLE IS ALWAYS STUCK ON 120 MPH. I HAVE ALSO STARTED TO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE BACK DOORS IN WHICH THE LOCKS ARE NOT WORKING WITH THE REMOTE. IF I TRY TO UNLOCK, THE BACK DOORS REMAIN LOCKED. WHEN I DO USE THE REMOTE TO LOCK THE VEHICLE, THE BACK DOORS WILL UNLOCK. I HAVE ALSO HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE HEADLIGHTS. THE SEALS MUST NOT BE THAT GREAT BECAUSE THERE IS A LOT OF MOISTURE IN THEM TO WHERE NOW I WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THEM. MY BACK LIGHTS CONSTANTLY GO OUT AS WELL AND AT LEAST ONCE A YEAR, I HAVE TO REPLACE THE BULBS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/13/2016 - ROWLETT, TX
THE SPEEDOMETER TO MY VEHICLE IS NOT WORKING. REGARDLESS IF THE CAR IS ON OR OFF, THE NEEDLE IS ALWAYS STUCK ON 120 MPH. I HAVE ALSO STARTED TO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE BACK DOORS IN WHICH THE LOCKS ARE NOT WORKING WITH THE REMOTE. IF I TRY TO UNLOCK, THE BACK DOORS REMAIN LOCKED. WHEN I DO USE THE REMOTE TO LOCK THE VEHICLE, THE BACK DOORS WILL UNLOCK. I HAVE ALSO HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE HEADLIGHTS. THE SEALS MUST NOT BE THAT GREAT BECAUSE THERE IS A LOT OF MOISTURE IN THEM TO WHERE NOW I WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THEM. MY BACK LIGHTS CONSTANTLY GO OUT AS WELL AND AT LEAST ONCE A YEAR, I HAVE TO REPLACE THE BULBS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/13/2016 - ROWLETT, TX
THE SPEEDOMETER TO MY VEHICLE IS NOT WORKING. REGARDLESS IF THE CAR IS ON OR OFF, THE NEEDLE IS ALWAYS STUCK ON 120 MPH. I HAVE ALSO STARTED TO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE BACK DOORS IN WHICH THE LOCKS ARE NOT WORKING WITH THE REMOTE. IF I TRY TO UNLOCK, THE BACK DOORS REMAIN LOCKED. WHEN I DO USE THE REMOTE TO LOCK THE VEHICLE, THE BACK DOORS WILL UNLOCK. I HAVE ALSO HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE HEADLIGHTS. THE SEALS MUST NOT BE THAT GREAT BECAUSE THERE IS A LOT OF MOISTURE IN THEM TO WHERE NOW I WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THEM. MY BACK LIGHTS CONSTANTLY GO OUT AS WELL AND AT LEAST ONCE A YEAR, I HAVE TO REPLACE THE BULBS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/10/2016 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR PRESENT INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds