Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 314 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (98) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (64) Exterior Lighting (22) Parking Brake (1) Steering (41) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (41) Fuel Propulsion System (28) Power Train (13) Structure (26) Visibility (13)
Engine (22) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (6) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (7) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Traction Control System (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/26/2017 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
I WAS INVOLVED IN AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT; I WAS HIT ON THE DRIVER SIDE, WHEN A DRIVER ATTEMPTED TO TURN LEFT IN FRONT OF ME AND AND THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/13/2017 - CENTEREACH, NY
I RECEIVED SPECIAL COVERAGE LETTER 12191 JULY 2013 THAT STATED REPAIRS NEEDED TO BE MADE TO MY VEHICLE IN A CHEVY LOCATION BY 7/31/14. THESE REPAIRS WOULD ONLY BE MADE IF THE VEHICLE PRESENTED A PROBLEM BY THEN (PLASTIC SUPPLY OR RETURN ON FUEL PUMP MAY CRACK/LEAK FUEL/VAPORS; IN THE PRESENCE OF AN IGNITION SOURCE MAY CAUSE VEHICLE FIRE). ON 9/18/17 I BROUGHT MY VEHICLE TO MY TRUSTED MECHANIC (I DIDN'T REMEMBER CHEVY'S EXPIRED LETTER FROM 2013) SCARED OF SMELLING FUEL. HE REPAIRED MY CAR THE NEXT DAY & INFORMED ME OF A SPECIAL COVERAGE NOTE ON 2007 MODELS OF MY VEHICLE. I CONTACTED CHEVY VIA LETTER ASKING IF THEY WOULD REIMBURSE ME FOR THE WORK DONE. THEIR 1ST RESPONSE WAS THEY SIMPLY WOULDN'T BECAUSE I HAD IT DONE AT MY OWN PRIVATE MECHANIC. I SHOULD HAVE DRIVEN MY FUEL SMELLING VEHICLE TO CHEVY (WHOM I DO NOT HAVE A PROFESSIONAL RELATIONSHIP WITH) SO ONE OF THEIR MECHANICS CAN SEE IF THERE WAS IN FACT A PROBLEM FIRST. I THEN REPLIED, THAT AFTER LOOKING ONLINE I FOUND A NEW YORK TIMES ARTICLE (HTTPS.//NYTI.MS/2HWDWED), DATED 10/1/12, THAT STATED THAT CHEVY WAS GOING TO ORIGINALLY SEND OUT A LETTER STATING THAT I HAD 10 YEARS OR 120,000 MILES TO HAVE PART REPLACED, BUT MY LETTER STATES ONLY UNTIL 7/31/14. THEIR VERBAL RESPONSE WAS THAT THEY SENT ME AN ADDITIONAL LETTER & MAYBE IT WENT TO THE WRONG ADDRESS (I LIVE AT MY CURRENT LOCATION FOR 46 YEARS). EITHER WAY I SHOULD HAVE DONE THE INVESTIGATING ON MY OWN TO FIND OUT ABOUT SAID LETTER (FOUND ONLINE AFTER THE FACT 12191B; DOCUMENT ID 4233868, DATED 7/8/15) WHICH BELIEVE IT OR NOT STILL STATED THAT REIMBURSEMENT REQUESTS MUST BE SUBMITTED BY 7/31/14. THEY SIMPLY TOLD MY HUSBAND THAT THEY WOULD NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT OR REIMBURSE US BECAUSE WE WENT TO OUR OWN MECHANIC WHO HAS BEEN DOING OUR VEHICLE MAINTENANCE FOR OVER 20 YEARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/23/2017 - NEW BERRY, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THE WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE STOKES TRAINOR CHEVROLET/BUICK DEALER IN NEW BERRY, SOUTH CAROLINA FOR A RECALL AND WAS ADVISED OF THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NEVER DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 223,395.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

10/12/2017 - MEDINAH, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE METAL ON THE INTERIOR DOOR PANELS CORRODED PREMATURELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SUNRISE CHEVROLET IN GLENDALE HEIGHTS, ILLINOIS 60139, PHONE: (630-942-8300) FOR THE FAILURE NUMEROUS TIMES, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/1/2017 - GROVE CITY, OH
DASH LIGHT INDICATES SERVICE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN INVOLVED IN A FRONT COLLISION. THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEM THE 2007 EQUINOX HAD A RECALL ON BUT ALL SAFETY COMPLAINTS ON THE 08 HAVE BEEN OVERLOOKED, COST OF REPAIRS ARE AROUND A $1,000.00. SINCE IT HAD BEEN AN ON GOING PROBLEM WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN A RECALL FOR THE 08 MODEL. DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO FIX AND SOUNDS LIKE THIS COULD CAUSE A DEATH OR SERIOUS INJURY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/1/2017 - BROADWAY, VA
THE STABILITRAX LIGHT HAS COME ON AND MY VEHICLE WON'T START, HAVE TRIED TO JUMP IT BUT IT ONLY MAKES A CLICKING NOISE. I'VE TRIED TO RESET IT ACCORDING TO THE OWNERS MANUAL BUT NO LUCK. THE CAR IS SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY I TRIED TO START IT THIS MORNING AND NOTHING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/30/2017 - LANOKA HARBOR, NJ
AT 64,000 MILES THE MASTER CYLINDER STARTING LEAKING INTO THE BRAKE BOOSTER. THIS IS A $900 REPAIR BEING PASSED ONTO THE CONSUMER AND IS NOT "NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR" THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF ONLINE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE 2008 CHEVY EQUINOX DOING THIS AT AROUND 65,000 MILES. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/26/2017 - GASTONIA, NC
FAULTY RETURN PORT IN FUEL PUMP MODULE LEAKING FUEL (SEVERE LEAK) STARTED NOTICING A SMELL WITH NO VISIBLE LEAK, NOW WHEN CAR IS PARKED LOOSING ALL FUEL PRESSURE (CAR WON'T START ON FIRST TRY) AND PARKED WITH 1/2 TANK NOW NO FUEL LEFT IN CAR. DISTINCT SMELL OF FUEL AND CAR IS PARKED. IS THIS PART OF RECALL?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/4/2017 - PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL
FUEL PUMP LEAKING FROM MAIN FUEL LINE GOING INTO PUMP. THE 2007 MODEL WAS RECALLED FOR SAME ISSUE. THIS IS A MAJOR LEAK, PUDDLES ONTO THE GROUND. VERY DANGEROUS, I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHY MY YEAR WAS NOT RECALLED, AS I HAVE FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS VEHICLE FUEL PUMP/SYSTEM!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2017 - YOSEMITE, CA
FIRST THE CAR FUEL TANK' THE GAS GAGE IS NOT WORKING PROPERLY WHEN THE GAS TANK FULL IT SHOWS HALF OR EMPTY, SECOND THE HEAD LIGHT BULB BLOWS LIKE EVERY TWO WEEKS BECAUSE WATER IS GETTING INTO THE CONSOLE OR THE HEAD LIGHT ,THE TURN SIGNAL NEVER TURN OFF AFTER YOU SWISH IN ON AND MAKE THE TURN I HAVE TO MANUALLY SWISH IT OFF AT ALL TIMES WEATHER YOU ARE IN CITY HIGH WAY DO NOT MATTER .

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds