Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 168 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (7) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (24) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (11)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/19/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
SINCE MID-AUG, MY EQUINOX HAS BEEN RANDOMLY/INTERMITTENTLY LOSING ENGINE POWER (AS WELL AS STEERING/BRAKING) FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THANKFULLY, WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY, (NOW AT LEAST WEEKLY) IT HAS NOT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC. WHEN CHECKING SERVICE CODES, THE INDICATED PROBLEM SYSTEMS ARE "SECONDARY IGNITION CIRCUIT" AND "STABILITRAK." I DO NOT FEEL THE CAR IS SAFELY DRIVEABLE, BUT MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER CANNOT OFFER ME EVEN A DIAGNOSTIC APPOINTMENT EARLIER THAN DEC 1.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/19/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
SINCE MID-AUG, MY EQUINOX HAS BEEN RANDOMLY/INTERMITTENTLY LOSING ENGINE POWER (AS WELL AS STEERING/BRAKING) FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THANKFULLY, WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY, (NOW AT LEAST WEEKLY) IT HAS NOT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC. WHEN CHECKING SERVICE CODES, THE INDICATED PROBLEM SYSTEMS ARE "SECONDARY IGNITION CIRCUIT" AND "STABILITRAK." I DO NOT FEEL THE CAR IS SAFELY DRIVEABLE, BUT MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER CANNOT OFFER ME EVEN A DIAGNOSTIC APPOINTMENT EARLIER THAN DEC 1.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
SINCE MID-AUG, MY EQUINOX HAS BEEN RANDOMLY/INTERMITTENTLY LOSING ENGINE POWER (AS WELL AS STEERING/BRAKING) FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THANKFULLY, WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY, (NOW AT LEAST WEEKLY) IT HAS NOT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC. WHEN CHECKING SERVICE CODES, THE INDICATED PROBLEM SYSTEMS ARE "SECONDARY IGNITION CIRCUIT" AND "STABILITRAK." I DO NOT FEEL THE CAR IS SAFELY DRIVEABLE, BUT MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER CANNOT OFFER ME EVEN A DIAGNOSTIC APPOINTMENT EARLIER THAN DEC 1.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/10/2014 - ELIZABETHTOWN, PA
THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER AIR BAG SENSOR ONLY WORKED INTERMITTENTLY--THE SENSOR WASN'T RECOGNIZING WHEN A PASSENGER WAS SITTING IN THE SEAT SO WE WERE VERY CONCERNED THAT THE AIR BAG WOULDN'T DEPLOY IF WE WERE IN AN ACCIDENT. AS A RESULT, WE TOOK IT TO TWO SEPARATE MECHANICS (INCLUDING ONE GM DEALERSHIP) AND IT ENDED UP COSTING OVER $1000 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I CONTACTED CHEVY CUSTOMER SERVICE ON 11/10/14 TO DOCUMENT THE CONCERN AND TO REQUEST FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR THE PROBLEM BUT NOTHING WAS AVAILABLE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY CHEVY ESPECIALLY IF IT IS HAPPENING ON MANY VEHICLES.

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2014 - CAPE CORAL, FL
I PURCHASED THIS CAR USED ON SEPT. 15, 2014. IT IS THE SPORT EDITION OF THE EQUINOX. EVERY TIME I TURN THE STEERING WHEEL AT ANY SPEED THERE IS A RUBBING SOUND BETWEEN THE STEERING COLUMN & JUST BEHIND THE AIRBAG ON STEERING WHEEL & NEAR THE IGNITION SWITCH. I ASSUME IF THERE IS ENOUGH RUBBING FRICTION IT COULD AFFECT THE AIRBAG OR IGNITION SWITCH TO CAUSE A FIRE OR AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. I TOOK CAR TO ROGER DEAN CHEVY DEALER IN CAPE CORAL, FL & THEY SAID THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR SUCH A PROBLEM. I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS RUBBING FRICTION & KNOW THAT GM HAS HAD BOTH IGNITION ISSUES & AIRBAG ISSUES WHICH THIS RUBBING SOUND IS NEAR BOTH OF THESE COMPONENTS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/13/2014 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
SMELLED INCREASING GAS SMELL. MY MECHANIC FOUND A FUEL LEAK, PULLED THE GAS TANK AND HAD TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP AS THE PLASTIC SUPPLY/RETURN HAD CRACKED AND WAS LEAKING FUEL. MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT HE THOUGHT THERE WAS A RECALL IN EFFECT FOR THIS PROBLEM. TO DATE, I HAVE NEVER BEEN NOTIFIED BY CHEVY OF A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM, YET I CAN SEE ONLINE THAT THIS IS HAPPENING FREQUENTLY. I FOUND GM'S CAMPAIGN # 12190 BUT NOT SURE IT IT COVERS MY YEAR AND MODEL. IT WAS OVER $600 TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/30/2014 - CLEVELAND HEIGHTS , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE STABILITRACK WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/14/2014 - PARKER, CO
DOOR LOCKS ON ALL 4 SWINGING DOORS ACT INCONSISTENTLY. WHEN LOCKING VALUABLE ITEMS WITH THE REMOTE, ONLY SOME OF THE DOORS WOULD LOCK. VERY DANGEROUS AND I SEE THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL WITH ALL THE COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET. WIFE DOESN'T ON FEEL SAFE IF SHE NEED TO GET IN HER CAR AND LOCK THE DOORS ONLY TO FIND 2 OF THE DOORS DID NOT LOCK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/11/2014 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE HYDRO-PLANED AND CRASHED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE AIR BAGS WERE NOT EXPECTED TO DEPLOY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000. PAM..UPDATED 09/25/14 UPDATED 10/23/2014

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/10/2014 - NICHOLASVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AS THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A MAILBOX. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds