Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 320 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (64) Exterior Lighting (22) Parking Brake (1) Steering (42) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (41) Fuel Propulsion System (29) Power Train (13) Structure (27) Visibility (13)
Engine (23) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (6) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (8) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Traction Control System (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/16/2018 - SN ANTONIO, TX
I WAS DRIVING VEHICLE WHICH HAS 32,650 MILES ON IT AND ALL OF A SUDDEN IT STARTED JERKING, AS IT SOMEONE WAS PUMPING THE BRAKE PEDAL AT A SPEED OF 45 TO 50 DURING ACCELERATION! I AM A HEART TRANSPLANT SURVIVOR OF 15 YRS AND DID NO NEED TO BE PUT THROUGH THIS KIND OF SCARE! I DUG THROUGH SOME PAPERS AND FOUND AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR THIS ISSUE THAT STATED NOT TO BRING IT IN UNTIL IT STARTED TO DO THIS. OF COURSE THE TIME OF THE EXTENDED WARRANTY RAN OUT AND CHEVY WOULD NOT HONOR THE WARRANTY AND REPAIR THEIR MISTAKE! I INHERITED THIS VEHICLE FROM MY MOTHER IN 2015 WITH 29,000 MILE ON IT! I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY THEY CAN GET AWAY WITH RELEASING THIS VEHICLE TO THE PUBLIC WITH THIS ISSUE THAT MAY OR MAY NOT HAPPEN! THEY SHOULD HAVE STEPPED UP AND REPAIRED THESE VEHICLES BEFORE THIS COULD HAPPEN. THE CAUSE OF THIS MALFUNCTION WAS A CRACKED SPARK PLUG OF THE THIRD CYLINDER! WILL NEVER BY A GM PRODUCT! I WAS CONTACTED BY CHEVROLET AND BECAUSE IT HAD OVER 19,500 MILES THEY WOULD NOT REIMBURSE FOR REPAIRS! THEY REPLIED THT THEY CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS SAFETY, HOW WHEN THEY CAN LET SOMETHING LIKE THIS OUT INTO THE PUBLIC.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/10/2018 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
MY VEHICLE SHOULD HAVE TWO RECALLS; FIRST THE AIRBAGS. WHEN MY PASSENGER IS SITTING IN THE SEAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON TELLING ME TO CHECK MY AIRBAG AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS OFF. I'M NOT SURE IF IT WILL DEPLOY IF I GET IN AN ACCIDENT OR IF IT WILL ON ITS OWN ONE DAY HURTING MY PASSENGER. SECOND, MY VEHICLE SMELLS LIKE GASOLINE. IT SMELLS WORSE WHEN I FILL THE TANK UP AND ITS DOESN'T START RIGHT AWAY. I AM DRIVING MY VEHICLE SINCE THIS IS THE ONLY VEHICLE I HAVE. I HAVE SEEN ONLINE WERE THE 2007 EQUINOX HAD A RECALL FOR THE AIRBAG AND GAS TANK. PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/10/2018 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
MY VEHICLE SHOULD HAVE TWO RECALLS; FIRST THE AIRBAGS. WHEN MY PASSENGER IS SITTING IN THE SEAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON TELLING ME TO CHECK MY AIRBAG AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS OFF. I'M NOT SURE IF IT WILL DEPLOY IF I GET IN AN ACCIDENT OR IF IT WILL ON ITS OWN ONE DAY HURTING MY PASSENGER. SECOND, MY VEHICLE SMELLS LIKE GASOLINE. IT SMELLS WORSE WHEN I FILL THE TANK UP AND ITS DOESN'T START RIGHT AWAY. I AM DRIVING MY VEHICLE SINCE THIS IS THE ONLY VEHICLE I HAVE. I HAVE SEEN ONLINE WERE THE 2007 EQUINOX HAD A RECALL FOR THE AIRBAG AND GAS TANK. PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/30/2018 - PRESCOTT, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (LAMB CHEVROLET CADILLAC, 400 PRESCOTT LAKES PKWY, PRESCOTT, AZ 86301) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SENSOR CONTROL MODULE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 8-3844789289. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THEY WOULD RESPOND WITHIN TWO DAYS. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 34,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/26/2018 - LANOKA HARBOR, NJ
MY 2008 CHEVY EQUINOX PAINT IS PEELING ABOVE THE PASSENGER WINDOWS ON BOTH SIDES AND PEELING DOWN TO THE METAL. IT HAPPENED OVERNIGHT. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE VEHICLE AND IT HAS NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT OR REPAINTED. I FIND IT TO COINCIDENTAL THAT WHEN I GOOGLE THE PROBLEM OF 2008 CHEVY EQUINOX PAINT PEELING IT IS HAPPENING FOR EVERYONE IN THE SAME SPOT. I ONLY HAVE 66,000 MILES ON THE CAR BECAUSE MY COMMUTE IS ONLY 3 MILES. THE CAR HAS HAD EVERY SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE DONE AND ANY REPAIRS AT CERTIFIED CHEVY DEALERSHIPS. IT IS VERY GENTLY USED AND ALTHOUGH IT IS A 2008 I DON'T BELIEVE MY TEENAGERS BEATER CAR SHOULD LOOK BETTER THAN MY $35,000 CHEVY EQUINOX NO MATTER HOW OLD IT IS. IT IS CLEARLY A FACTORY DEFECT THAT GM WILL NOT ACKNOWLEDGE AT THIS POINT OR PAY FOR. RIGHT NOW THE DAMAGE IS $1000 AS QUOTED BY GM AND THEY WILL NOT PAY FOR IT. I ABSOLUTELY FEEL THIS IS A COMPLETE VIOLATION TO CONSUMERS AND SINCERELY HOPE FOR ANYONE BUYING THE NEW CHEVY EQUINOX THAT THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN TO THEM OVER TIME. GM NEEDS TO STEP UP AND TAKE OWNERSHIP OF THEIR FAULTY PAINT JOB AND JUST DO THE RIGHT THING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/26/2017 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
I WAS INVOLVED IN AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT; I WAS HIT ON THE DRIVER SIDE, WHEN A DRIVER ATTEMPTED TO TURN LEFT IN FRONT OF ME AND AND THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/13/2017 - CENTEREACH, NY
I RECEIVED SPECIAL COVERAGE LETTER 12191 JULY 2013 THAT STATED REPAIRS NEEDED TO BE MADE TO MY VEHICLE IN A CHEVY LOCATION BY 7/31/14. THESE REPAIRS WOULD ONLY BE MADE IF THE VEHICLE PRESENTED A PROBLEM BY THEN (PLASTIC SUPPLY OR RETURN ON FUEL PUMP MAY CRACK/LEAK FUEL/VAPORS; IN THE PRESENCE OF AN IGNITION SOURCE MAY CAUSE VEHICLE FIRE). ON 9/18/17 I BROUGHT MY VEHICLE TO MY TRUSTED MECHANIC (I DIDN'T REMEMBER CHEVY'S EXPIRED LETTER FROM 2013) SCARED OF SMELLING FUEL. HE REPAIRED MY CAR THE NEXT DAY & INFORMED ME OF A SPECIAL COVERAGE NOTE ON 2007 MODELS OF MY VEHICLE. I CONTACTED CHEVY VIA LETTER ASKING IF THEY WOULD REIMBURSE ME FOR THE WORK DONE. THEIR 1ST RESPONSE WAS THEY SIMPLY WOULDN'T BECAUSE I HAD IT DONE AT MY OWN PRIVATE MECHANIC. I SHOULD HAVE DRIVEN MY FUEL SMELLING VEHICLE TO CHEVY (WHOM I DO NOT HAVE A PROFESSIONAL RELATIONSHIP WITH) SO ONE OF THEIR MECHANICS CAN SEE IF THERE WAS IN FACT A PROBLEM FIRST. I THEN REPLIED, THAT AFTER LOOKING ONLINE I FOUND A NEW YORK TIMES ARTICLE (HTTPS.//NYTI.MS/2HWDWED), DATED 10/1/12, THAT STATED THAT CHEVY WAS GOING TO ORIGINALLY SEND OUT A LETTER STATING THAT I HAD 10 YEARS OR 120,000 MILES TO HAVE PART REPLACED, BUT MY LETTER STATES ONLY UNTIL 7/31/14. THEIR VERBAL RESPONSE WAS THAT THEY SENT ME AN ADDITIONAL LETTER & MAYBE IT WENT TO THE WRONG ADDRESS (I LIVE AT MY CURRENT LOCATION FOR 46 YEARS). EITHER WAY I SHOULD HAVE DONE THE INVESTIGATING ON MY OWN TO FIND OUT ABOUT SAID LETTER (FOUND ONLINE AFTER THE FACT 12191B; DOCUMENT ID 4233868, DATED 7/8/15) WHICH BELIEVE IT OR NOT STILL STATED THAT REIMBURSEMENT REQUESTS MUST BE SUBMITTED BY 7/31/14. THEY SIMPLY TOLD MY HUSBAND THAT THEY WOULD NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT OR REIMBURSE US BECAUSE WE WENT TO OUR OWN MECHANIC WHO HAS BEEN DOING OUR VEHICLE MAINTENANCE FOR OVER 20 YEARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/23/2017 - NEW BERRY, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THE WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE STOKES TRAINOR CHEVROLET/BUICK DEALER IN NEW BERRY, SOUTH CAROLINA FOR A RECALL AND WAS ADVISED OF THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NEVER DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 223,395.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

10/12/2017 - MEDINAH, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE METAL ON THE INTERIOR DOOR PANELS CORRODED PREMATURELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SUNRISE CHEVROLET IN GLENDALE HEIGHTS, ILLINOIS 60139, PHONE: (630-942-8300) FOR THE FAILURE NUMEROUS TIMES, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/1/2017 - GROVE CITY, OH
DASH LIGHT INDICATES SERVICE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN INVOLVED IN A FRONT COLLISION. THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEM THE 2007 EQUINOX HAD A RECALL ON BUT ALL SAFETY COMPLAINTS ON THE 08 HAVE BEEN OVERLOOKED, COST OF REPAIRS ARE AROUND A $1,000.00. SINCE IT HAD BEEN AN ON GOING PROBLEM WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN A RECALL FOR THE 08 MODEL. DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO FIX AND SOUNDS LIKE THIS COULD CAUSE A DEATH OR SERIOUS INJURY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds