Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 194 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (64) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Steering (30) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (16) Power Train (8) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (26) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (11)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (16) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/21/2015 - DALLAS, TX
AT FIRST, THE PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT WOULD TURN ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY AND AN AIRBAG WARNING WOULD COME ON MY DASH. NOW, IT IS ON ALL THE TIME. THIS CONCERNS ME AS I FREQUENTLY HAVE A PASSENGER IN MY FRONT SEAT AND THE AIRBAG MIGHT NOT DEPLOY CORRECTLY IF I GET IN A CRASH. THERE ARE A TON OF COMPLAINTS ON HERE AND THE SAME ISSUE IS HAPPENING ON THE 2007 MODEL, WHICH HAS BEEN RECALLED. WHY HAS THIS NOT BEEN RECALLED YET ON THE 2008 MODEL?!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/9/2015 - SPARKS, NV
I HAD TO START REPLACING HEAD LIGHTS DUE TO MOISTURE IN MY HEAD LIGHTS. THIS IS A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. I HAVE MENTION THIS TO CHEVY SEVERAL TIMES WHEN WE HAD THE CAR SERVICE. THE RESPONSE WAS THIS IS NORMAL. THIS IS NOT NORMAL. THEY WANTED ME TO PAY HALF OF THE COST. I REFUSED. THEY SAID THAT BECAUSE IT'S NOT UNDER WARRANTY. I PRAY ONE NIGHT THAT I'M NOT DRIVING AND GET INTO A ACCIDENT DUE TO LIGHT FAILURE. THIS SHOULD BE RECALL TO PREVENT ACCIDENTS AND ADDED EXPENSE DUE TO CHEY NEGLIGENCE. I HAVE OWN MANY CARS AND NEVER HAD MOISTURE IN MY HEAD LIGHTS. I WOULD LIKE THIS TO BE CORRECTED BY CHEY. I'M NOT ABLE TO PROVIDE DATES FROM LAST YEAR, WHEN I BROUGHT IT UP TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP. THEY WOULD HAVE THAT INFORMATION WHEN THE CAR GOT SERVICE .CHEVY EQUINOX 2008

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/9/2015 - SPARKS, NV
I HAD TO START REPLACING HEAD LIGHTS DUE TO MOISTURE IN MY HEAD LIGHTS. THIS IS A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. I HAVE MENTION THIS TO CHEVY SEVERAL TIMES WHEN WE HAD THE CAR SERVICE. THE RESPONSE WAS THIS IS NORMAL. THIS IS NOT NORMAL. THEY WANTED ME TO PAY HALF OF THE COST. I REFUSED. THEY SAID THAT BECAUSE IT'S NOT UNDER WARRANTY. I PRAY ONE NIGHT THAT I'M NOT DRIVING AND GET INTO A ACCIDENT DUE TO LIGHT FAILURE. THIS SHOULD BE RECALL TO PREVENT ACCIDENTS AND ADDED EXPENSE DUE TO CHEY NEGLIGENCE. I HAVE OWN MANY CARS AND NEVER HAD MOISTURE IN MY HEAD LIGHTS. I WOULD LIKE THIS TO BE CORRECTED BY CHEY. I'M NOT ABLE TO PROVIDE DATES FROM LAST YEAR, WHEN I BROUGHT IT UP TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP. THEY WOULD HAVE THAT INFORMATION WHEN THE CAR GOT SERVICE .CHEVY EQUINOX 2008

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/26/2015 - HUBERT, NC
THE PAINT ON BOTH THE PASSENGER AND DRIVERS SIDE IS PEELING OFF. IT ISN'T HAPPENING A LITTLE AT A TIME. I WALKED OUT TO LEAVE ONE DAY AND AN ENTIRE STRIP DOWN THE PASSENGER SIDE WAS MISSING, ALL THE WAY DOWN TO THE METAL. 2 WEEKS LATER, THE DRIVER'S SIDE DID THE EXACT SAME THING. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL BODY SHOP AND THEY SAID MY EQUINOX WAS NOT THE FIRST ONE THEY HAD SEEN DO THIS AND IT WAS A MANUFACTURE DEFECT. YOU CAN SEE WHERE THE PAINT IS BUBBLED AND WAS NEVER PUT ON RIGHT. I CALLED CHEVY'S CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE AND WAS SENT TO A LOCAL CERTIFIED CHEVY DEALER TO BE REVIEWED. THE SERVICE MANAGER DEEMED IT A MANUFACTURE DEFECT BUT THE AREA GM CLAIMS BECAUSE IT IS OUT OF PAINT WARRANTY, THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. MY CAR IS ONLY 8 YEARS OLD, WITH ONLY 130,000 MILES. PAINT SHOULD NOT BE COMING OFF LIKE THIS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/17/2015 - LAGRANGE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT ACCELERATOR SENSOR AND THROTTLE BODY SENSOR HAD FAILED AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/11/2015 - WHEATFIELD, NY
RECENTLY, I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR ELECTRIC WINDOW AND DOOR LOCK, NOT FUNCTIONING AT ALL UNLESS I PUSH THE DOOR OPENED. THIS WEEKEND THE WINDOW AND DOOR LOCK QUIT WORKING ALL TOGETHER. SINCE I HAVE AN ELECTRICAL BACKGROUND, I STARTED TROUBLESHOOTING THE PROBLEM. AFTER 20 MINUTES I FOUND THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM TO BE COMPLETELY BROKEN WIRES THAT ARE PART OF THE WIRING HARNESS RIGHT BEFORE IT GOES THROUGH THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR AND PROTECTED BY A RUBBER BOOT/SLEEVE . ALMOST ALL WIRES THAT ARE PART OF THE WIRING HARNESS AT THIS LOCATION WERE EITHER BROKEN AS I MENTIONED OR THE INSULATION WAS SO BRIDLE AND CRACKED THAT THE COPPER WIRE STRANDS WERE EXPOSED. I WOULD NOT EXPECT A VEHICLE BARELY OVER 50,000 MILES TO HAVE WIRES THAT ARE IN A LOCATION WHERE THEY ARE NOT EXPOSED TO HIGH TEMPERATURES, TO BE IN A CONDITION LIKE THIS. I TOOK A COUPLE OF PICTURES TO SUPPORT WHAT I AM WRITING. AS IT RELATES TO SAFETY AND BEING THAT I WORK IN THE ELECTRICAL FIELD, THIS COULD BE CONSIDERED AN ELECTRICAL FIRE HAZARD, IF THE EXPOSED WIRES EVER COME IN CONTACT WITH CHASSIS GROUND.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/5/2015 - MONTE VISTA, CO
I OWN A 2008 CHEVY EQUINOX. I AM HAVING THE SAME COMPLAINTS. MY SERVICE AIR BAG COME ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY. WHEN ITS WARM OUTSIDE THE PASSENGER AIR BAG SEEMS TO WORK FINE. THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR LOCK WORKS INTERMITTENTLY AS WELL. THE FUNNY THING IS THE DOOR LOCK SEEMS TO WORK BETTER IN THE WINTER MONTHS. ALSO, I HAVE EXPERIENCED MY SERVICE STABILITRAK AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COME ON INTERMITTENTLY AS WELL. IT DOESN'T SEEM TO AFFECT THE VEHICLE WHEN I AM DRIVING. IT WILL STAY ON FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS THEN ONE DAY IT WILL BE GONE. IT WILL STAY OFF FROM A FEW WEEKS TO A FEW MONTHS. THEN IT WILL START THE PROCESS ALL OVER AGAIN. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH CHEVY. I PURCHASED IT BECAUSE CHEVY IS SUPPOSED TO BE RELIABLE REGARDLESS OF THE MILES AND NOW I AM AFRAID TO PUT MY CHILDREN IN IT AND DRIVE IT OUT OF TOWN. ALL THIS STARTED HAPPENING AROUND THE 100,00 MILE MARK I AM NOW AT 110,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/5/2015 - MONTE VISTA, CO
I OWN A 2008 CHEVY EQUINOX. I AM HAVING THE SAME COMPLAINTS. MY SERVICE AIR BAG COME ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY. WHEN ITS WARM OUTSIDE THE PASSENGER AIR BAG SEEMS TO WORK FINE. THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR LOCK WORKS INTERMITTENTLY AS WELL. THE FUNNY THING IS THE DOOR LOCK SEEMS TO WORK BETTER IN THE WINTER MONTHS. ALSO, I HAVE EXPERIENCED MY SERVICE STABILITRAK AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COME ON INTERMITTENTLY AS WELL. IT DOESN'T SEEM TO AFFECT THE VEHICLE WHEN I AM DRIVING. IT WILL STAY ON FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS THEN ONE DAY IT WILL BE GONE. IT WILL STAY OFF FROM A FEW WEEKS TO A FEW MONTHS. THEN IT WILL START THE PROCESS ALL OVER AGAIN. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH CHEVY. I PURCHASED IT BECAUSE CHEVY IS SUPPOSED TO BE RELIABLE REGARDLESS OF THE MILES AND NOW I AM AFRAID TO PUT MY CHILDREN IN IT AND DRIVE IT OUT OF TOWN. ALL THIS STARTED HAPPENING AROUND THE 100,00 MILE MARK I AM NOW AT 110,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/5/2015 - MONTE VISTA, CO
I OWN A 2008 CHEVY EQUINOX. I AM HAVING THE SAME COMPLAINTS. MY SERVICE AIR BAG COME ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY. WHEN ITS WARM OUTSIDE THE PASSENGER AIR BAG SEEMS TO WORK FINE. THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR LOCK WORKS INTERMITTENTLY AS WELL. THE FUNNY THING IS THE DOOR LOCK SEEMS TO WORK BETTER IN THE WINTER MONTHS. ALSO, I HAVE EXPERIENCED MY SERVICE STABILITRAK AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COME ON INTERMITTENTLY AS WELL. IT DOESN'T SEEM TO AFFECT THE VEHICLE WHEN I AM DRIVING. IT WILL STAY ON FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS THEN ONE DAY IT WILL BE GONE. IT WILL STAY OFF FROM A FEW WEEKS TO A FEW MONTHS. THEN IT WILL START THE PROCESS ALL OVER AGAIN. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH CHEVY. I PURCHASED IT BECAUSE CHEVY IS SUPPOSED TO BE RELIABLE REGARDLESS OF THE MILES AND NOW I AM AFRAID TO PUT MY CHILDREN IN IT AND DRIVE IT OUT OF TOWN. ALL THIS STARTED HAPPENING AROUND THE 100,00 MILE MARK I AM NOW AT 110,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/5/2015 - CANTON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE POWER STEERING RESUMED AFTER THE CONTACT DISCONNECTED AND RECONNECTED THE BATTERY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000. UPDATED 4/7/15 UPDATED 04/09/15

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds