Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 272 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (86) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (58) Exterior Lighting (20) Parking Brake (1) Steering (40) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (39) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Power Train (13) Structure (20) Visibility (12)
Engine (17) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (7) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/19/2016 - MASSILLON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT PREVIOUSLY HAD THE TIMING CHAIN REPLACED DUE TO THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEING ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE MILEAGE ON THE TIMING CHAIN WAS NOT A FACTOR WHEN DETERMINING THE REPAIR. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/11/2016 - PLEASANT PLAIN, OH
MY 74 YEAR OLD BROTHER BOUGHT HIS 2008 EQUINOX NEW IT HAS LESS THAN 120,000 MILES ON IT AND IT IS THE BIGGEST HEAP OF CRAP CHEVROLET INVENTED!!!! 5. POWER STEERING WENT OUT COSTING $2500.00 TO FIX JAN 2015 6. TRANSMISSION STARTS JERKING WHEN HITTING 45 MPH DEALERSHIP INFORMED US OF THE TRANSMISSION WHEN WE TOOK IN FOR A RECALL ON A DEFECTIVE GAS MODUAL THAT THEY NEVER REPLACED SAYING THE PART WAS OK. THEY DROVE IT AND SAID THAT ITS THE TRANSMISSION AND ASKED $500.00 TO RUN A DIAGNOSTIC. STARTED FEB 2016 7. THE STABLE LINK LIGHT PERIODICALLY COMES ON SAYING TO SERVICE THE STABLE TRAC THEN GOES OFF STARTED MARCH OF 2016 8. THE TOP OF THE BRAKE LIGHT ON THE BACK HATCH IS GONE WHERE IT FELL OFF AT SOME POINT HAS MANY OTHER THINGS WRONG. TURN SIGNAL GEARS TO TURN OFF SIGNALS FOR RIGHT AND LEFT SIGNAL DO NOT WORK. THE WASHER FLUID MOTOR DOES NOT WORK. DRIVERS DOOR POWER WINDOW MOTOR BROKE FROM WINDOW.DRIVERS DOOR HAS TO BE MANUALLY LOCKED AND UNLOCKED. THIS VEHICLE IS A CLEAN AND IN EXCELLENT SHAPE IT WAS BOUGHT NEW AND IS OWNED BY AN ELDERLY MAN. IT HAS NOT BEEN ABUSED HAS LESS THAT 120,000 MILES ON IT

View Details

STEERING

8/11/2016 - PLEASANT PLAIN, OH
MY 74 YEAR OLD BROTHER BOUGHT HIS 2008 EQUINOX NEW IT HAS LESS THAN 120,000 MILES ON IT AND IT IS THE BIGGEST HEAP OF CRAP CHEVROLET INVENTED!!!! 5. POWER STEERING WENT OUT COSTING $2500.00 TO FIX JAN 2015 6. TRANSMISSION STARTS JERKING WHEN HITTING 45 MPH DEALERSHIP INFORMED US OF THE TRANSMISSION WHEN WE TOOK IN FOR A RECALL ON A DEFECTIVE GAS MODUAL THAT THEY NEVER REPLACED SAYING THE PART WAS OK. THEY DROVE IT AND SAID THAT ITS THE TRANSMISSION AND ASKED $500.00 TO RUN A DIAGNOSTIC. STARTED FEB 2016 7. THE STABLE LINK LIGHT PERIODICALLY COMES ON SAYING TO SERVICE THE STABLE TRAC THEN GOES OFF STARTED MARCH OF 2016 8. THE TOP OF THE BRAKE LIGHT ON THE BACK HATCH IS GONE WHERE IT FELL OFF AT SOME POINT HAS MANY OTHER THINGS WRONG. TURN SIGNAL GEARS TO TURN OFF SIGNALS FOR RIGHT AND LEFT SIGNAL DO NOT WORK. THE WASHER FLUID MOTOR DOES NOT WORK. DRIVERS DOOR POWER WINDOW MOTOR BROKE FROM WINDOW.DRIVERS DOOR HAS TO BE MANUALLY LOCKED AND UNLOCKED. THIS VEHICLE IS A CLEAN AND IN EXCELLENT SHAPE IT WAS BOUGHT NEW AND IS OWNED BY AN ELDERLY MAN. IT HAS NOT BEEN ABUSED HAS LESS THAT 120,000 MILES ON IT

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/11/2016 - PLEASANT PLAIN, OH
MY 74 YEAR OLD BROTHER BOUGHT HIS 2008 EQUINOX NEW IT HAS LESS THAN 120,000 MILES ON IT AND IT IS THE BIGGEST HEAP OF CRAP CHEVROLET INVENTED!!!! 5. POWER STEERING WENT OUT COSTING $2500.00 TO FIX JAN 2015 6. TRANSMISSION STARTS JERKING WHEN HITTING 45 MPH DEALERSHIP INFORMED US OF THE TRANSMISSION WHEN WE TOOK IN FOR A RECALL ON A DEFECTIVE GAS MODUAL THAT THEY NEVER REPLACED SAYING THE PART WAS OK. THEY DROVE IT AND SAID THAT ITS THE TRANSMISSION AND ASKED $500.00 TO RUN A DIAGNOSTIC. STARTED FEB 2016 7. THE STABLE LINK LIGHT PERIODICALLY COMES ON SAYING TO SERVICE THE STABLE TRAC THEN GOES OFF STARTED MARCH OF 2016 8. THE TOP OF THE BRAKE LIGHT ON THE BACK HATCH IS GONE WHERE IT FELL OFF AT SOME POINT HAS MANY OTHER THINGS WRONG. TURN SIGNAL GEARS TO TURN OFF SIGNALS FOR RIGHT AND LEFT SIGNAL DO NOT WORK. THE WASHER FLUID MOTOR DOES NOT WORK. DRIVERS DOOR POWER WINDOW MOTOR BROKE FROM WINDOW.DRIVERS DOOR HAS TO BE MANUALLY LOCKED AND UNLOCKED. THIS VEHICLE IS A CLEAN AND IN EXCELLENT SHAPE IT WAS BOUGHT NEW AND IS OWNED BY AN ELDERLY MAN. IT HAS NOT BEEN ABUSED HAS LESS THAT 120,000 MILES ON IT

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2016 - CHARLESTON, WV
AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON SINCE 102,000 MILES. WON'T GO OFF TOOK IT IN FOR DIAGNOSIS AND WAS TOLD NEED A NEW PPS MODULE. IT WASN'T COVERED UNDER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. SO DIDN'T GET IT FIX WOULD HAVE COST $900. SEEN ALL KINDS OF PROBLEMS WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL WITH SAME PROBLEM. AND THAT 2007 WERE RECALLED BUT NOT 2008. AND CONSIDERING THE RECALL WAS MADE IN 2008 DON'T YOU THINK THEY SHOULD HAVE INCLUDED 2008 MODELS AS WELL?? HOPING THEY WILL STILL ISSUE A RECALL SOON SO WE CAN GET IT FIXED!!! TO ME THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE A PROIRITY AND FIXED!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/25/2016 - KETTERING, OH
I HAD TO HAVE MY SENORS REPLACED IN MINE AND WONDER WHY MINE WAS NEVER RECALLED. COST ME $1,000. I SEE HERE THE SAME ISSUED AND IT HAS A RECALL. REPORT RECEIPT DATE: JUL 05, 2016 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V507000 COMPONENT(S): AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM POTENTIAL NUMBER OF UNITS AFFECTED: 289,254 ALL PRODUCTS ASSOCIATED WITH THIS RECALL CLOSE VEHICLE MAKEMODELMODEL YEAR(S) CHEVROLETIMPALA2009-2010

View Details

ENGINE

7/23/2016 - ASHBURN, VA
MY VEHICLE HAS 84,000 MILES ON IT. ABOUT 3 WEEKS AGO THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON FOR CODE P0008. AFTER FURTHER REVIEW THE DEALER DISCOVERED I HAD A STRETCHED TIMING CHAIN THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT THE TUNE OF $3,000. I HAVE CHANGED MY OIL AS STATED IN THE MANUAL AND CHECK THE OIL LEVELS PERIODICALLY. THE SERVICE SCHEDULE IN THE MANUAL INDICATES THAT THE BELTS NEED TO BE CHECKED FOR WEAR AT 150,000. THE TIMING CHAIN SHOULD SURELY LAST LONGER THAN THE BELTS. CHEVY ISSUED A CUSTOMER SERVICE BULLETIN WITH REGARD TO PREMATURE TIMING CHAIN WEAR ON ALL 2008 EQUINOX'S EXCEPT THE SPORT (WHICH IS WHAT I HAVE). AFTER DOING SOME ONLINE DIGGING I HAVE DISCOVERED MANY OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE 2008 SPORT THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. I CONTACTED GM AND THEY STATED SINCE MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2016 - HAWLEY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MODULE WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/4/2016 - MURFREESBORO, TN
I PURCHASED MY EQUINOX BRAND NEW IN JULY OF 2008 AND IT CURRENTLY HAS 109,000 MILES ON IT. I JUST STARTED HAVING TRANSMISSION ISSUES SO I TOOK IT TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP. THE VEHICLE IS HAVING A HARD TIME SHIFTING INTO 3RD SHIFT. THE TRANSMISSION SHOP STATED THAT I NEEDED A NEW WAVE PLATE. CHEVROLET HAS AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON MY VEHICLE FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE AND I FALL WITHIN THE DATE AND MILEAGE LIMITS, BUT GM IS CLAIMING THAT MY VEHICLE DOES NOT QUALIFY. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO REASON THAT MY VEHICLE SHOULD BE EXCLUDED FROM THIS WARRANTY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2016 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY BECAME STUCK AND WAS UNABLE TO BE EJECTED FROM THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds