Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 173 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (59) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (34) Exterior Lighting (15) Power Train (8) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (24) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (11)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/13/2014 - COLFAX, NC
AIR BAG SENSOR FOR FRONT SEAT PASSENGER TURNS THE AIR BAG ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY WHILE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION, EVEN WITH AN ADULT PASSENGER (OVER 100 LBS) IN THE FRONT SEAT. THIS COULD CAUSE THE AIR BAG NOT TO DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

12/9/2014 - PORTLAND , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE HEADLIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/9/2014 - MICHIGAN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE GEARS BECAME DIFFICULT TO SHIFT AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,782.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/4/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
MY 2008 CHEVY EQUINOX HAS A HEAVY GAS SMELL, THAT WHEN PARKED IN THE GARAGE, LEAVES A HEAVY ODOR OF GAS THROUGHOUT MY HOME... I HAVE SEEN THE 12190 GM RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE, BUT IT IS A 2008 NOT 2007 AS LISTED IN THE RECALL, YET IT IS A NEVADA VEHICLE AND THIS STATE IS ON THE RECALL LIST. IT SEEMS TO BE EXHIBITING THE SAME EXACT ISSUE..I AM WORRIED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF NOT ONLY MYSELF, BUT MY DAUGHTER AND OTHERS RIDING IN IT..PLEASE HELP

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/4/2014 - HOOPESTON, IL
INTERIOR PLASTIC DOOR HANDLE MECHANISMS ARE BREAKING AND BROKEN. GIVEN THE FACT THAT WE CANNOT EXIT OUR VEHICLE, THIS WOULD STRIKE ME AS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE! GIVEN THE FACT THAT 3 OUT OF 4 TOTAL HANDLES ARE NOW BROKEN, THIS IS OBVIOUSLY NOT JUST A ONE-TIME FLUKE. GM CUSTOMER CARE ON TWITTER REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE SAFETY CONCERN EXISTS AND THE DEALERSHIP WANTS TO CHARGE $51 PLUS TAX MINIMAL FOR NEW PARTS ON A SAFETY-RELATED ITEM. AFTER ALL, IF THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILS AND YOU GET INTO A FIERY ACCIDENT, HOW ARE YOU SUPPOSED TO EXIT THE VEHICLE? THE AFFECTED INTERIOR DOOR HANDLES BROKEN THUSFAR ARE AS FOLLOWS: LF, LR, AND RF. MY BOYFRIEND HAS TAKEN AND POSTED TWO YOUTUBE VIDEOS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THIS SEVERE DEFECT. THE LINKS ARE (SEPARATED BY 10 ASTERISKS EACH): ********** HTTP://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=YBJ8CS5I3_W ********** HTTP://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=7WQ1XL1KXFY ********** THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING ON A 2008 MODEL YEAR VEHICLE AND THIS(IN MY OPINION) IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/4/2014 - HOOPESTON, IL
INTERIOR PLASTIC DOOR HANDLE MECHANISMS ARE BREAKING AND BROKEN. GIVEN THE FACT THAT WE CANNOT EXIT OUR VEHICLE, THIS WOULD STRIKE ME AS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE! GIVEN THE FACT THAT 3 OUT OF 4 TOTAL HANDLES ARE NOW BROKEN, THIS IS OBVIOUSLY NOT JUST A ONE-TIME FLUKE. GM CUSTOMER CARE ON TWITTER REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE SAFETY CONCERN EXISTS AND THE DEALERSHIP WANTS TO CHARGE $51 PLUS TAX MINIMAL FOR NEW PARTS ON A SAFETY-RELATED ITEM. AFTER ALL, IF THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILS AND YOU GET INTO A FIERY ACCIDENT, HOW ARE YOU SUPPOSED TO EXIT THE VEHICLE? THE AFFECTED INTERIOR DOOR HANDLES BROKEN THUSFAR ARE AS FOLLOWS: LF, LR, AND RF. MY BOYFRIEND HAS TAKEN AND POSTED TWO YOUTUBE VIDEOS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THIS SEVERE DEFECT. THE LINKS ARE (SEPARATED BY 10 ASTERISKS EACH): ********** HTTP://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=YBJ8CS5I3_W ********** HTTP://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=7WQ1XL1KXFY ********** THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING ON A 2008 MODEL YEAR VEHICLE AND THIS(IN MY OPINION) IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details

STEERING

11/19/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
SINCE MID-AUG, MY EQUINOX HAS BEEN RANDOMLY/INTERMITTENTLY LOSING ENGINE POWER (AS WELL AS STEERING/BRAKING) FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THANKFULLY, WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY, (NOW AT LEAST WEEKLY) IT HAS NOT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC. WHEN CHECKING SERVICE CODES, THE INDICATED PROBLEM SYSTEMS ARE "SECONDARY IGNITION CIRCUIT" AND "STABILITRAK." I DO NOT FEEL THE CAR IS SAFELY DRIVEABLE, BUT MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER CANNOT OFFER ME EVEN A DIAGNOSTIC APPOINTMENT EARLIER THAN DEC 1.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/19/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
SINCE MID-AUG, MY EQUINOX HAS BEEN RANDOMLY/INTERMITTENTLY LOSING ENGINE POWER (AS WELL AS STEERING/BRAKING) FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THANKFULLY, WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY, (NOW AT LEAST WEEKLY) IT HAS NOT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC. WHEN CHECKING SERVICE CODES, THE INDICATED PROBLEM SYSTEMS ARE "SECONDARY IGNITION CIRCUIT" AND "STABILITRAK." I DO NOT FEEL THE CAR IS SAFELY DRIVEABLE, BUT MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER CANNOT OFFER ME EVEN A DIAGNOSTIC APPOINTMENT EARLIER THAN DEC 1.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - LYNCHBURG, VA
SINCE MID-AUG, MY EQUINOX HAS BEEN RANDOMLY/INTERMITTENTLY LOSING ENGINE POWER (AS WELL AS STEERING/BRAKING) FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THANKFULLY, WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY, (NOW AT LEAST WEEKLY) IT HAS NOT HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC. WHEN CHECKING SERVICE CODES, THE INDICATED PROBLEM SYSTEMS ARE "SECONDARY IGNITION CIRCUIT" AND "STABILITRAK." I DO NOT FEEL THE CAR IS SAFELY DRIVEABLE, BUT MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER CANNOT OFFER ME EVEN A DIAGNOSTIC APPOINTMENT EARLIER THAN DEC 1.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/10/2014 - ELIZABETHTOWN, PA
THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER AIR BAG SENSOR ONLY WORKED INTERMITTENTLY--THE SENSOR WASN'T RECOGNIZING WHEN A PASSENGER WAS SITTING IN THE SEAT SO WE WERE VERY CONCERNED THAT THE AIR BAG WOULDN'T DEPLOY IF WE WERE IN AN ACCIDENT. AS A RESULT, WE TOOK IT TO TWO SEPARATE MECHANICS (INCLUDING ONE GM DEALERSHIP) AND IT ENDED UP COSTING OVER $1000 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I CONTACTED CHEVY CUSTOMER SERVICE ON 11/10/14 TO DOCUMENT THE CONCERN AND TO REQUEST FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR THE PROBLEM BUT NOTHING WAS AVAILABLE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY CHEVY ESPECIALLY IF IT IS HAPPENING ON MANY VEHICLES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds