Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2008 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 529 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (34) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (21) Service Brakes Hydraulic (41) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (99) Exterior Lighting (13) Seat Belts (1) Steering (295) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Seats (2) Structure (13) Visibility (3)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (14) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Latches Locks Linkages (25) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (4) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: STARTER ASSEMBLY

7/15/2019 - FORT WALTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED SEVERAL TIMES. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE ESC WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY FAILED TO OPERATE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO SEVERAL INDEPENDENT MECHANICS AND PRESTON HOOD CHEVROLET (212 HOLLYWOOD BLVD NW, FORT WALTON BEACH, FL 32548, (850) 610-7278) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STARTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, ALONG WITH SEVERAL OTHER ISSUES. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED PERIODICALLY ON VARIOUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED EACH TIME, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/15/2019 - FORT WALTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED SEVERAL TIMES. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE ESC WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY FAILED TO OPERATE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO SEVERAL INDEPENDENT MECHANICS AND PRESTON HOOD CHEVROLET (212 HOLLYWOOD BLVD NW, FORT WALTON BEACH, FL 32548, (850) 610-7278) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STARTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, ALONG WITH SEVERAL OTHER ISSUES. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED PERIODICALLY ON VARIOUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED EACH TIME, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/23/2019 - HOUSTON, TX
THE POWER STEERING IS SUDDENLY INOPERATIVE. NO POWER STEERING. IT JUST CAME ON THE WARNING LIGHTS ONE TIME, POWER STEERING, AND I CAN'T FIND A FIX. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY WHEN IT HAPPENED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/23/2019 - HOUSTON, TX
THE POWER STEERING IS SUDDENLY INOPERATIVE. NO POWER STEERING. IT JUST CAME ON THE WARNING LIGHTS ONE TIME, POWER STEERING, AND I CAN'T FIND A FIX. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY WHEN IT HAPPENED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/4/2019 - PLAINFIELD, IL
FUEL LINES RUSTED AND LEAKING. LEAK LOCATED ON DRIVERS SIDE JUST BEFORE REAR TIRE. UPON EXAMINATION IT APPEARS THAT THE TWO FUEL LINES ARE WRAPPED WITH INSULATION OF SOME SORT DUE TO THE LINES PROXIMITY TO THE EXHAUST. THIS INSULATION HAS BEEN TRAPPING MOISTURE FOR YEARS CAUSING THE OXIDATION OF NON STAINLESS STEEL FUEL LINES. THIS DANGEROUS CONDITION WAS NOTICED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THE LINES MUST BE REPLACED WHICH WILL COST APPROX 650 DOLLARS. THE MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT HE IS FAMILIAR WITH THIS COMMON SAFETY HAZARD ATTACHED TO THIS MODEL. I ALSO HAVE NOW READ OTHER COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS DANGEROUS PROBLEM. I STRONGLY SUGGEST THAT THE NHTSA USE ITS CONSIDERABLE INFLUENCE WITH THE MANUFACTURER OF THIS VEHICLE TO ENACT A SAFETY RECALL FOR THIS HAZARD ON THIS MODEL AND ALL VEHICLES THAT MAY HAVE THIS DEFECT. THIS SAFETY VIOLATION HAS BEEN REPORTED TO YOUR ORGANIZATION, TO CHEVROLET DEALERSHIPS AND TO GENERAL MOTORS' CHEVROLET DIVISION FOR YEARS AND THOSE NOTIFICATIONS HAVE ALL BEEN IGNORED. WILL IT TAKE MULTIPLE HORRENDOUS TRAGEDIES BEFORE SOMEBODY DOES THE RIGHT THING. DOES AN AMERICAN CAR COMPANY NEED ANOTHER FORD PINTO-LIKE (AKA "PINTORCH") NEGATIVE PUBLICITY CAMPAIGN ON ITS HANDS?I I CANNOT FATHOM WHY A COMPANY THAT ISSUED A RECALL FOR A PLASTIC LATCH FOR A DASHBOARD DOOR AND HAS SCOFFED AT FOLKS FOR NOTIFYING THEM OF THIS VERY PREVENTABLE SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/26/2019 - MEAD, WA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE MAJOR ROADWAY IN 5:00 TRAFFIC AFTER WORK AND WHILE STOPPED TO GO FORWARD IN THE CAR WASH THE POWER STEERING LIGHT GAVE A WARNING THEN DIS ENGAGED AND STEERING WAS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE. I READ THE OWNERS MANUAL AND IT SAID TO TURN THE CAR BACK ON AND TURN THE WHEEL A COUPLE TIMES THEN THE STEERING WAS OK TO GET ME HOME I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT NOW ,IN CHECKING THE WEBSITE THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE. CAN YOU HELP ME PLEASE?!

View Details

STEERING

5/26/2019 - MEAD, WA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE MAJOR ROADWAY IN 5:00 TRAFFIC AFTER WORK AND WHILE STOPPED TO GO FORWARD IN THE CAR WASH THE POWER STEERING LIGHT GAVE A WARNING THEN DIS ENGAGED AND STEERING WAS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE. I READ THE OWNERS MANUAL AND IT SAID TO TURN THE CAR BACK ON AND TURN THE WHEEL A COUPLE TIMES THEN THE STEERING WAS OK TO GET ME HOME I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT NOW ,IN CHECKING THE WEBSITE THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE. CAN YOU HELP ME PLEASE?!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/13/2019 - SPARTA, TN
MY STEERING FEELS THREATENING WITH LOUD SOUND UNDER DASH WHEN TURNING, AND CAR STEERING IS TOO LOOSE AT TIMES AND ALSO JUMPS ALITTLE WHILE TURNING.. IM LOOKING INTO WHAT AND HOW I CAN GET IT FIXED, IM TOLD IT IS PROBABLY INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT AND I UNDERSTAND MANY GM VEHICLES HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE. ALSO, MY 2 PASSENGER DOORS WONT OPEN FROM INSIDE OR OUTSIDE, THE LOCKS GO UP AND DOWN, BUT DOOR HANDLES ALSO DON'T ENGAGE ALL WAY UP WHEN TRY TO PULL THEM, MECHANIC TOLD ME , ITS THE ACTUATORS IN HANDLES BECAUSE MANY PEOPLE ALSO HAVE COMPLAINED ON THIS ISSUE AS WELL. SO I HAVE NO ACCESS TO BACK DOORS, I CANT AFFORD A NEW CAR. I AM A SENIOR ON FIXED INCOME. IS THERE ANY HELP FOR ME TO FIX MY CAR?

View Details

STEERING

5/13/2019 - SPARTA, TN
MY STEERING FEELS THREATENING WITH LOUD SOUND UNDER DASH WHEN TURNING, AND CAR STEERING IS TOO LOOSE AT TIMES AND ALSO JUMPS ALITTLE WHILE TURNING.. IM LOOKING INTO WHAT AND HOW I CAN GET IT FIXED, IM TOLD IT IS PROBABLY INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT AND I UNDERSTAND MANY GM VEHICLES HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE. ALSO, MY 2 PASSENGER DOORS WONT OPEN FROM INSIDE OR OUTSIDE, THE LOCKS GO UP AND DOWN, BUT DOOR HANDLES ALSO DON'T ENGAGE ALL WAY UP WHEN TRY TO PULL THEM, MECHANIC TOLD ME , ITS THE ACTUATORS IN HANDLES BECAUSE MANY PEOPLE ALSO HAVE COMPLAINED ON THIS ISSUE AS WELL. SO I HAVE NO ACCESS TO BACK DOORS, I CANT AFFORD A NEW CAR. I AM A SENIOR ON FIXED INCOME. IS THERE ANY HELP FOR ME TO FIX MY CAR?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/25/2019 - HAMMOND, LA
AFTER THE RECALL ON THE IGNITION SWITCH AND THE KEY FOB NO LONGER WORKED, I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE DRIVERS DOORS NOT LOCKING PROPERLY. SEVERAL TIMES I LOCKED IT AND WENT ON ONLY TO COME BACK AND NOT BE ABLE TO GET INTO CAR WITH THE KEY. IT TOOK AWHILE FOR ME TO FIGURE OUT THAT I HAVE TO WATCH THE LATCH WHEN I LOCK IT AND IF IT DOES NOT GO DOWN ALL THE WAY, I HAVE TO UNLOCK AND LOCK AGAIN AND PULL THE LATCH UP AND THEN LOCK THE DRIVER DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE. ALWAYS PARKED AND OUT OF VEHICLE. THERE IS NOT JUST ONE DATE THIS HAPPENED. I HAVE HAD TO CALL FOR ASSISTANCE TO GET IN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds