Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 762 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (44) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (47) Steering (88) Unknown Or Other (32)
Electrical System (211) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (88) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (87)
Electronic Stability Control (55) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (10) Suspension (113) Visibility (11)
Engine (123) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (17) Tires (33) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (20) Wheels (31)
Equipment (8) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/4/2019 - LAPORTE, IN
AS I WAS DRIVING, AROUND 30 MPH, THE WARNING DISPLAYS "REDUCED ENGINE SPEED" AND THE CAR WILL BARELY REACH 45 MPH. TWICE IN 5 YEARS, WE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL POSITION SENSOR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/2/2019 - FT LAUDERDALE, FL
MY CAR JUST STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD IN HEAVY TRAFFIC OF 45 MPH. WEATHER WAS ABOUT 90 DEGREES F.. MESSAGE ON DASH WAS "STARTING DISABLED SERVICE THROTTLE." I AM LUCKY NOT TO HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED. AFTER PUSHING IT TO A SIDE STREET, IT STARTED AGAIN AND SHOWED "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" AND WENT ABOUT 20 MPH. I SAW ONLINE THIS IS COMMON PROBLEM WITH MANY CHEVROLETS. WHY NO RECALL? SO DANGEROUS. REPAIR IS ESTIMATED AT $750.

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2019 - RACINE, WI
TAKATA RECALL. WHEN VEHICLE IS STARTED A LOUD SCREECH HAPPEN EVERY TIME VEHICLE IS STARTED, ONCE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY, STREET, CITY.AND IN MOTION THE VEHICLE STARTS ALARMING AND LETTIMG ME KNOW IN THE INFORMATION WIDOW CHECK TIRE MONITORING SYSTEM WITH TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT CONSISTENTLY ON THEN VEHICLE ALARMING SOUNDS AGAIN TO CHECK STABILITY TRAK AND THEN IT ALARM S AGAIN WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THAT THE VEHICLES ENGINE POWER HAS BEEN REDUCED AND VEHICLE IS NO LONGER ABLE TO PICK UP SPEED RIGHT AWAY THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SENSE I PURCHASED IT. ALSO WHEN IM MAKING TURNS THE VEHICLE WILL ALARM ABOUT HAVING STABILITY TRAK SERVICED

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/1/2019 - RACINE, WI
TAKATA RECALL. WHEN VEHICLE IS STARTED A LOUD SCREECH HAPPEN EVERY TIME VEHICLE IS STARTED, ONCE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY, STREET, CITY.AND IN MOTION THE VEHICLE STARTS ALARMING AND LETTIMG ME KNOW IN THE INFORMATION WIDOW CHECK TIRE MONITORING SYSTEM WITH TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT CONSISTENTLY ON THEN VEHICLE ALARMING SOUNDS AGAIN TO CHECK STABILITY TRAK AND THEN IT ALARM S AGAIN WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THAT THE VEHICLES ENGINE POWER HAS BEEN REDUCED AND VEHICLE IS NO LONGER ABLE TO PICK UP SPEED RIGHT AWAY THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SENSE I PURCHASED IT. ALSO WHEN IM MAKING TURNS THE VEHICLE WILL ALARM ABOUT HAVING STABILITY TRAK SERVICED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2019 - RACINE, WI
TAKATA RECALL. WHEN VEHICLE IS STARTED A LOUD SCREECH HAPPEN EVERY TIME VEHICLE IS STARTED, ONCE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY, STREET, CITY.AND IN MOTION THE VEHICLE STARTS ALARMING AND LETTIMG ME KNOW IN THE INFORMATION WIDOW CHECK TIRE MONITORING SYSTEM WITH TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT CONSISTENTLY ON THEN VEHICLE ALARMING SOUNDS AGAIN TO CHECK STABILITY TRAK AND THEN IT ALARM S AGAIN WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THAT THE VEHICLES ENGINE POWER HAS BEEN REDUCED AND VEHICLE IS NO LONGER ABLE TO PICK UP SPEED RIGHT AWAY THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SENSE I PURCHASED IT. ALSO WHEN IM MAKING TURNS THE VEHICLE WILL ALARM ABOUT HAVING STABILITY TRAK SERVICED

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/6/2019 - SUMTER, SC
DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS WHEN THE OUTSIDE TEMPERATURES ARE HIGH MY BACKDOOR LOCKS WILL NOT UNLOCK. THE INSIDE LEVERS THAT PULL UP TO UNLOCK FROM INSIDE ARE LOCATED AT THE FARTHEST PLACE AWAY SO I CAN'T REACH THEM FROM THE FRONT DOORS TO UNLOCK THEM THAT WAY. A SMALL CHILD IN A CAR SEAT, SOMEONE UNCONSCIOUS OR A PET COULD EASILY BECOME TRAPPED INSIDE THIS VEHICLE. THIS HAPPENS IF THE CAR IS RUNNING OR NOT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/30/2019 - MODESTO, CA
I HAVE DAD MY TRANSMISSION REBUILT AND THE SOLENOIDS KEEP GOING OUT THIS WILL BE THE THIRD TIME I WILL BE GETTING THEM REPLACED, I HAVE NOT HAD AN OPERATING VEHICLE FOR A WEEK NOW AND I JUST HAVE WAIT TO SAVE UP TO HAVE THEM REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/14/2019 - MALDEN, MA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY @ 60 MPH WHEN ENGINE DIES WITH NO WARNING. DASH SHOWS FOLLOWING MESSAGES: "ENGINE POWER REDUCED" "SERIVCE TRACTION CONTROL" "SERVICE STABILITRAX" POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES STOP WORKING. WHEN CAR KEY IS TURNED OFF AND CHECK ENGINE CODES ARE CLEARED, THE CAR STARTS UP FINE AND CONTINUES TO RUN SMOOTHLY. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY STOP THE CAR (ALBEIT ON THE MIDDLE OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY), TURN IT OFF, CLEAR THE CODES, AND START IT BACK UP TO GET OUT OF THE WAY. SAME PROBLEM HAPPENED IN JANUARY 2018. AFTER THIS I TOOK IT TO A CHEVY DEALER. THEY SAID CAR WAS COVERED UNDER "WARRANTY" FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. ONE MONTH LATER SAME PROBLEM KEEPS OCCURRING. CAR RUNS FINE BUT THESE MESSAGES APPEAR ABOUT ONCE A MONTH. TYPICALLY THE ENGINE STAYS ON AND IS ONLY LIMITED IN POWER. HOWEVER, OCCASIONALLY THE CAR WILL DIE COMPLETELY WITHOUT WARNING, EVEN ON THE HIGHWAY. HAD CAR BROUGHT TO CHEVY DEALER. THEY SAID THEY CAN NOT FIX THE PROBLEM UNLESS IT IS CURRENTLY OCCURRING WITH THE CAR. THEY RECOMMENDED I TAKE THE CAR AND BRING IT BACK TO THEM WHEN THE PROBLEM HAPPENS AGAIN. HOWEVER, I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS CAR KNOWING THE ENGINE COULD JUST SHUT DOWN AT ANY MOMENT AND THE CHEVY SPECIALIST THEMSELVES DO NOT SEEM TO EVEN HAVE A CLUE ABOUT WHAT COULD BE CAUSING THIS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/14/2019 - MALDEN, MA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY @ 60 MPH WHEN ENGINE DIES WITH NO WARNING. DASH SHOWS FOLLOWING MESSAGES: "ENGINE POWER REDUCED" "SERIVCE TRACTION CONTROL" "SERVICE STABILITRAX" POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES STOP WORKING. WHEN CAR KEY IS TURNED OFF AND CHECK ENGINE CODES ARE CLEARED, THE CAR STARTS UP FINE AND CONTINUES TO RUN SMOOTHLY. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY STOP THE CAR (ALBEIT ON THE MIDDLE OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY), TURN IT OFF, CLEAR THE CODES, AND START IT BACK UP TO GET OUT OF THE WAY. SAME PROBLEM HAPPENED IN JANUARY 2018. AFTER THIS I TOOK IT TO A CHEVY DEALER. THEY SAID CAR WAS COVERED UNDER "WARRANTY" FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. ONE MONTH LATER SAME PROBLEM KEEPS OCCURRING. CAR RUNS FINE BUT THESE MESSAGES APPEAR ABOUT ONCE A MONTH. TYPICALLY THE ENGINE STAYS ON AND IS ONLY LIMITED IN POWER. HOWEVER, OCCASIONALLY THE CAR WILL DIE COMPLETELY WITHOUT WARNING, EVEN ON THE HIGHWAY. HAD CAR BROUGHT TO CHEVY DEALER. THEY SAID THEY CAN NOT FIX THE PROBLEM UNLESS IT IS CURRENTLY OCCURRING WITH THE CAR. THEY RECOMMENDED I TAKE THE CAR AND BRING IT BACK TO THEM WHEN THE PROBLEM HAPPENS AGAIN. HOWEVER, I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS CAR KNOWING THE ENGINE COULD JUST SHUT DOWN AT ANY MOMENT AND THE CHEVY SPECIALIST THEMSELVES DO NOT SEEM TO EVEN HAVE A CLUE ABOUT WHAT COULD BE CAUSING THIS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/6/2019 - SHERIDAN, AR
HESITATION DURING ACCELERATION

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds