Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO - 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 132 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (45) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (3) Structure (11) Visibility (2)
Engine (10) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

2/5/2016 - THOMSON, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE IGNITION SWITCH TO START THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT HAD TO WIGGLE THE KEY SEVERAL TIMES TO HAVE THE IGNITION STARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,875.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/27/2016 - GOFFSTOWN, NH
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER SILVERADO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V324000 (AIR BAGS) AND 10V240000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIRS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUES. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/27/2016 - GOFFSTOWN, NH
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER SILVERADO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V324000 (AIR BAGS) AND 10V240000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIRS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUES. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/21/2016 - SNEADS FERRY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V324000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

1/20/2016 - WILLIAMSBURG, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE INDICATORS AND GAUGES ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/11/2016 - NOVATO, CA
I WRITE THE FOLLOWING ON BEHALF OF WILLIE G. WEDDINGTON OF 108 KAREN ROAD, NAPA, CA 94558. "I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE IN JULY, 2015. I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO GET THE RECALLED AIRBAG REPLACED TO DATE. THIS HAS BEEN AN UNREASONABLY LONG TIME IN WAITING FOR THE REPAIR. I AM TOLD THERE IS NO FIX AND THERE ARE NO PARTS TO FIX MY VEHICLE. THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO PROVIDE ME WITH A COMPARABLE VEHICLE LOANER. MY REQUEST FOR A REPLACEMENT VEHICLE HAS BEEN DENIED. MY REQUESTS FOR RENTAL REIMBURSEMENT FOR A COMPARABLE VEHICLE HAVE BEEN DENIED. I HAVE INCURRED EXPENSES AND WILL CONTINUE TO INCUR EXPENSES DUE TO THE LACK OF USE OF MY VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, I AM A U.S. VETERAN. I HAVE A VETERAN'S ADMINISTRATION CONSTRUCTION LOAN FOR MY HOUSE AND I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO MEET THE DEADLINES DUE TO THE LACK OF USE OF MY CHEVROLET. I HAVE INCURRED, AND CONTINUE TO INCUR, ADDITIONAL EXPENSES TRYING TO ENSURE ALL MATERIALS, EQUIPMENT AND WORKERS ARE AT THE PROPERTY SITE."

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/11/2016 - CARSON, IA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V234000 (AIR BAGS). UPON CONTACTING THE MANUFACTURER'S CUSTOMER CARE CENTER, THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE A TIME FRAME FOR THE PART TO BECOME AVAILABLE TO SUPPLY TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR WITH THE DEALER DUE TO LACK OF PARTS FROM THE MANUFACTURER. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/8/2016 - FINDLAY, OH
DASH CRACKED AROUND AIRBAGS

View Details

ENGINE

1/8/2016 - ATOONA, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE MISFIRED AND A SMALL TICK NOISE WAS HEARD UNDER THE HOOD. OVER TIME, THE TICK NOISE INCREASED IN VOLUME AND BECAME MORE OF A KNOCKING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE CAM SHAFT, RODS, AND LIFTERS NEEDED BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. WHEN THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MAKE THE TICKING NOISE, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT AND SEVERAL OTHER WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND THE CONTACT WAS DIRECTED TO NHTSA. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/7/2016 - TROY, NC
MY DASH HAS CRACKED ON THE DRIVERS SIDE AND AT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG. MY TRUCK WAS PARKED WITH ME AND MY WIFE SITTING IN IT. IT WAS CRUNK AND WHEN IT HAPPENED IT WAS VERY VIOLENT CAUSING US TO WORRY THAT IT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE AIRBAG TO DEPLOY AND CAUSE INJURY TO SOMEONE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds