Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO - 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 151 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (55) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (47) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (5) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (4) Structure (13) Visibility (2)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/15/2016 - ODESSEN, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V324000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO PERFORM THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/11/2016 - UNIONTOWN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THERE WAS A LOUD BANGING NOISE. THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELTS EXTRACTION BUCKLE EXPLODED AND EMITTED SMOKE FROM THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE EXTRACTION BUCKLE. THE CONTACT WAS TRAPPED IN THE SEAT. THE SEAT BELT AND SERVICE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TWO FRONT BUMPER SENSORS CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ALSO, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT BELTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,581.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2016 - LOUISA, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE DOORS UNLOCKED AND LOCKED INDEPENDENTLY AND THE GAUGES ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FLUCTUATED RAPIDLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURES RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 66,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/7/2016 - FLEMINGTON, NJ
TAKATA RECALL..I CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S OVER A YEAR AND STILL NO FIX FOR MY TRUCK. ARE YOU REALLY SERIOUS. SOMEONE DIED TONITE ON THE NEWS. WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON WITH YOUR AUTO INDUSTRY. A YEAR, A YEAR LATER AND NOTHING.. HOPE NO ONE IN MY FAMILY IS HURT OR WORSE BEFORE YOU GET OFF YOUR BUTTS AND DEAL WITH THIS. WHAT A DISGRACE TO THIS COUNTRY, AN AMERICAN CAR, YEAH RIGHT. I WANT A FIX AND I WANT TO KNOW WHEN THIS IS GOING TO HAPPEN. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAYS THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT THE NEGLECT ON YOUR PART OF THIS PROBLEM AND SAY THEY'RE SORRY. I WANT AN ANSWER TO WHEN THIS IS GOING TO BE REMEDIED. PLEASE CONTACT ME SOON!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/7/2016 - ROCKFORD, IL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V324000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/31/2016 - WINCHESTER, VA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED, THE DEALER WOULD NOT RELEASE IT UNTIL THE RECALL REPAIR WAS COMPLETED. THE DEALER DID NOT DISCLOSE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN A RECALL PRIOR TO PURCHASING THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER INDICATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD BE RELEASED. THE CONTACT WAS NOTIFIED BY THE DEALER THAT THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V324000 (AIR BAGS). THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/28/2016 - LAKE WYLIE, SC
I HAVE A 2008 SILVERADO 2500HD WITH 48,000 MILES ON IT AND JUST NOTICED TWO CRACKS HAVE FORMED ABOVE THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. EVEN THOUGH THE WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED I FEEL THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND SHOULD BE REPLACED BY CHEVROLET AT NO CHARGE. THE VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS BEEN STORED SUN PROTECTED EXCEPT WHEN TRAVELING. AT THAT TIME A DASH SCREEN IS USED FOR SUN PROTECTION. I CONTACTED THE CHEVROLET CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER IMMEDIATELY AND THEY HAD ME TAKE MY VEHICLE TO A CHEVROLET DEALER FOR EXAMINATION. I HAD MY VEHICLE EXAMINED AT THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP ON MARCH 21, 2016. THEY EXAMINED THE VEHICLE, TOOK PHOTOS AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD GET BACK TO ME WITH THE DECISION. THEY DID SO LATER THAT DAY BUT THE DECISION WAS TO REPLACE THE DASH WHICH WOULD BE $1000.00 OF WHICH GM WOULD BE WILLING TO PICK UP HALF, SO MY OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE WOULD BE $500.00. I REFUSED THIS OFFER AND TOLD THE DEALER I WOULD BE CONTACTING THE CHEVROLET CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER TO DISPUTE ME HAVING TO PAY $500.00 OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE TO CORRECT A MANUFACTURERS DEFECT. I CONTACTED THE CHEVROLET CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER IMMEDIATELY VIA PHONE AND ASKED THAT THE ISSUE BE ELEVATED TO THE APPROPRIATE PERSON. I PROVIDED THE REPRESENTATIVE ALL THE INFORMATION SHE REQUESTED FROM ME AND SHE ASSURED ME THAT SHE WOULD ELEVATE THE ISSUE TO THE SENIOR MANAGER IN MY AREA AND THEY WOULD GET BACK TO ME WITHIN 48 HOURS WITH A DECISION. AS OF THIS WRITING I HAVE NOT HEARD BACK FROM ANYONE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/28/2016 - CICERO, IN
"TAKATA RECALL" IT HAS BEEN OVER 8 MONTHS SINCE I RECEIVED A RECALL ON THIS. AS OF TODAY THERE IS STILL NO RESOLUTION FROM GM. THIS IS IRRESPONSIBLE CONSIDERING "IT CAN CAUSE SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH". THEY SHOULD BE FORCED TO RESOLVE THIS SITUATION IN SOME FASHION SO I AM NOT RISKING THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY WHILE WAITING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/10/2016 - OAKLEY, CA
WE RECEIVED NOTICE JULY 2015. WE HAVE YET TO GET APPROVAL FOR PARTS TO GET THIS ITEM REPAIRED. WE HAVE CALLED SEVERAL TIMES TO NO AVAIL! WE OUR RETIRED AND TRAVEL ALL OVER THE COUNTRY. THIS DEFECT IS CONSTANTLY ON OUR MIND. WITH THE MILES WE TRAVEL WE STAND A GREATER RISK OF AN ACCIDENT OCCURRING. WHO DO WE TURN TO? THE MEDIA?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/2/2016 - LAKEVIEW, AR
THE DASH BOARD IS CRACKED AROUND THE LEFT CORNER OF THE PASSENGERS SIDE AIRBAG.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds