Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO - 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 88 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (1) Power Train (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (34) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (16) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/20/2015 - NORTH HAVEN, CT
CYLINDER 4 MISFIRE CODE WHICH LEAD DEALER TO DIAGNOSE A BAD LIFTER WITH CAM DAMAGE, NEW PISTON RINGS NEEDED, ENTIRE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. COST $7,000 + AFM CONTRIBUTED TO PROBLEM IN THIS MODEL YEAR PER SERVICE DEPARTMENT. TRUCK NEVER HAULED, OR PLOWED WITH. REGULAR OIL CHANGES AND MAINTENANCE DONE ON TIME FOR ENTIRE OWNERSHIP.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/15/2015 - GERMANTON, NC
I HAVE BOUGHT VEHICLES SINCE I WAS 17 YEARS OLD. I HAVE NEVER HAD THE WHOLE LEFT SIDE ELECTRONICS GO BAD LIKE IN MY 2008 SILARADO, LTZ. THE WINDOWS WOULD NOT GO UP OR DOWN. EITHER SIDE. MY MIRROWS WOULD NOT COME IN. EXTENDED CAB WINDOWS WOULD NOT WORK . I REPLACED LEFT DOOR ELECTRONICS PANEL, CHEV. DEALER MECHANIC TRYED TO SYNRONIZE WITH VEHICLE COMPUTER ($130.00) FOUND BROKEN WIRES IN HARNESS. MECHANIC TRIED TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND SHUT DRIVERS DOOR. OPENED DOOR AND THE WIRES HAD BROKEN AGAIN PLUS IT SHORTED OUT A FUSE PANEL.A NEW HARNESS AND PANEL WAS ORDERD. A WEEK LATER THE NEW ITEMS WERE INSTALLED ( $606.89). THE MECHANIC THEN FOULD THAT THE LEFT REAR DOOR WAS SHORTING OUT AND IT NEEDED A NEW HARNESS ($500.99). I WAITED ANOTHER WEEK AND THIS HARNESS WAS INSTALLED ON 2-13-15. IF I HAD BEEN IN A WRECK AND THE DOORS COULD NOT BE OPENED AND I COULD NOT GET MY WINDOWS DOWN I COULD HAVE BURNT UP OR THE FIRST RESPONDERS WOULD HAVE HAD TO CUT ME OUT OF MY TRUCK. THIS HAPPENED TO ME IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT WITH MY WHOLE LEFT SIDE ELECTRONICS GOING DEAD. A FRIEND OF MINE ALSO BOUGHT A 2008 CHEVROLET SUBURBIN AND HAS ALSO HAD TO REPLACE THE LEFT SIDE ELECTRONICS IN HIS DRIVERS DOOR. (BRAD TUTTLE, OWNER OF BODY SHOP) HE ADVISED THAT HE HAD HEARD OF MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/15/2015 - GERMANTON, NC
I HAVE BOUGHT VEHICLES SINCE I WAS 17 YEARS OLD. I HAVE NEVER HAD THE WHOLE LEFT SIDE ELECTRONICS GO BAD LIKE IN MY 2008 SILARADO, LTZ. THE WINDOWS WOULD NOT GO UP OR DOWN. EITHER SIDE. MY MIRROWS WOULD NOT COME IN. EXTENDED CAB WINDOWS WOULD NOT WORK . I REPLACED LEFT DOOR ELECTRONICS PANEL, CHEV. DEALER MECHANIC TRYED TO SYNRONIZE WITH VEHICLE COMPUTER ($130.00) FOUND BROKEN WIRES IN HARNESS. MECHANIC TRIED TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND SHUT DRIVERS DOOR. OPENED DOOR AND THE WIRES HAD BROKEN AGAIN PLUS IT SHORTED OUT A FUSE PANEL.A NEW HARNESS AND PANEL WAS ORDERD. A WEEK LATER THE NEW ITEMS WERE INSTALLED ( $606.89). THE MECHANIC THEN FOULD THAT THE LEFT REAR DOOR WAS SHORTING OUT AND IT NEEDED A NEW HARNESS ($500.99). I WAITED ANOTHER WEEK AND THIS HARNESS WAS INSTALLED ON 2-13-15. IF I HAD BEEN IN A WRECK AND THE DOORS COULD NOT BE OPENED AND I COULD NOT GET MY WINDOWS DOWN I COULD HAVE BURNT UP OR THE FIRST RESPONDERS WOULD HAVE HAD TO CUT ME OUT OF MY TRUCK. THIS HAPPENED TO ME IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT WITH MY WHOLE LEFT SIDE ELECTRONICS GOING DEAD. A FRIEND OF MINE ALSO BOUGHT A 2008 CHEVROLET SUBURBIN AND HAS ALSO HAD TO REPLACE THE LEFT SIDE ELECTRONICS IN HIS DRIVERS DOOR. (BRAD TUTTLE, OWNER OF BODY SHOP) HE ADVISED THAT HE HAD HEARD OF MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2015 - GERMANTON, NC
I HAVE BOUGHT VEHICLES SINCE I WAS 17 YEARS OLD. I HAVE NEVER HAD THE WHOLE LEFT SIDE ELECTRONICS GO BAD LIKE IN MY 2008 SILARADO, LTZ. THE WINDOWS WOULD NOT GO UP OR DOWN. EITHER SIDE. MY MIRROWS WOULD NOT COME IN. EXTENDED CAB WINDOWS WOULD NOT WORK . I REPLACED LEFT DOOR ELECTRONICS PANEL, CHEV. DEALER MECHANIC TRYED TO SYNRONIZE WITH VEHICLE COMPUTER ($130.00) FOUND BROKEN WIRES IN HARNESS. MECHANIC TRIED TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND SHUT DRIVERS DOOR. OPENED DOOR AND THE WIRES HAD BROKEN AGAIN PLUS IT SHORTED OUT A FUSE PANEL.A NEW HARNESS AND PANEL WAS ORDERD. A WEEK LATER THE NEW ITEMS WERE INSTALLED ( $606.89). THE MECHANIC THEN FOULD THAT THE LEFT REAR DOOR WAS SHORTING OUT AND IT NEEDED A NEW HARNESS ($500.99). I WAITED ANOTHER WEEK AND THIS HARNESS WAS INSTALLED ON 2-13-15. IF I HAD BEEN IN A WRECK AND THE DOORS COULD NOT BE OPENED AND I COULD NOT GET MY WINDOWS DOWN I COULD HAVE BURNT UP OR THE FIRST RESPONDERS WOULD HAVE HAD TO CUT ME OUT OF MY TRUCK. THIS HAPPENED TO ME IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT WITH MY WHOLE LEFT SIDE ELECTRONICS GOING DEAD. A FRIEND OF MINE ALSO BOUGHT A 2008 CHEVROLET SUBURBIN AND HAS ALSO HAD TO REPLACE THE LEFT SIDE ELECTRONICS IN HIS DRIVERS DOOR. (BRAD TUTTLE, OWNER OF BODY SHOP) HE ADVISED THAT HE HAD HEARD OF MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/8/2015 - AKRON , OH
AIR BAG SENSORS GO OUT MAKING WHOLE SYSTEM INOPERABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/4/2015 - RIALTO , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, ALL FOUR LOCKS ON THE VEHICLE LOCKED AND UNLOCKED CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE FAILURES RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/4/2015 - RIALTO , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, ALL FOUR LOCKS ON THE VEHICLE LOCKED AND UNLOCKED CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE FAILURES RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/3/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AFTER BEING INVOLVED IN A CRASH. THE SPECIFICS OF THE CRASH WERE NOT AVAILABLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE HEAD, THE NECK, AND THE BACK THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,687.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/27/2015 - TEMPLE , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/26/2015 - WASILLA, AK
DESIGN FAILURE OF TRANSMISSION COOLING LINES. SET OF THREE COOLING LINES FAILING AT CRIMPED JOINT BETWEEN SOLID LINE AND FLEXIBLE LINE. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON FAILURE DUE TO DESIGN, LOW TO MEDIUM PRESSURE LINES BEING USED IN A HIGH PRESSURE SYSTEM. FAILURE DURING OPERATION COULD RESULT IN SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER OR ENGINE BRAKING WHICH MAY RESULT IN VEHICLE CONTROL DIFFICULTIES ESPECIALLY ON SLIPPERY ROADS. THIS IS A HIGH FAILURE RATE ITEM ACCORDING TO THE SERVICE TECH/ADVISOR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds