Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO - 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 69 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (6) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

8/24/2014 - MOODY, AL
FIRESTONE TIRE P245/70R17 108S M+ S DESTINATION LE FOR YOUR INFORMATION WHILE DRIVING THE INSIDE LANE OF I-20 HERE IN ALABAMA AUGUST 23, 2014 AT A SPEED OF APPROXIMATELY 65 MILES AN HOUR WHEN MY RIGHT FRONT TIRE BLEW. FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND GET OFF THE INTERSTATE. THE TIRE BLEW OUT JUST BELOW THE THREAD, OUTSIDE WALL. HOLE IS APPROXIMATELY THE SIZES OF A TWENTY FIVE CENT PIECE. I HAD AN EXPERIENCE TIRE PROFESSIONAL LOOK AT THE TIRE; HE SAID THAT THE TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE BECAUSE OF THE WAY IT BLEW. THE OTHER THREE TIRES ON THIS VEHICLE ARE FIRESTONES IDENTICAL TO THIS ONE. I AM WORRIED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF DRIVING THE AUTO WITH THESE TIRES? THE TIRE IS ON A 2008 CHEVY SILVERADO PICKUP THAT IS DRIVEN FOR PLEASURE. (NOT A WORK TRUCK) LESS THAT 10,000 MILES A YEAR. ALL FOUR ORIGINAL TIRES WERE REPLACED WITH FIRESTONES P245/70R17 108S. I WOULD ESTIMATE THESE TIRES TO HAVE LESS THAN 20,000 MILES ON THEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/18/2014 - DUPONT, WA
WITHIN TWO MONTHS OF PURCHASING MY BRAND NEW SILVERADO, I NOTICED THIS ISSUE AND IT HAS PERSISTED. MY VEHICLE NOW HAS 73,000 MILES ON IT, AND IT HAPPENS EVEN MORE FREQUENTLY. I'VE BROUGH THIS PROBLEM UP TO CHEVY ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, AND THEY HAVE ALWAYS TOLD ME TO BRING THE VEHICLE WHEN IT'S DOING THIS, BUT WITHIN 30 MINUTES OF OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE WARNING LIGHTS GO OFF. MANY TIMES WHEN I START MY VEHICLE, THE "STABILITRACK", AND "ANTI-LOCK BRAKE SYSTEM" WARNING LIGHTS COME ON. THERE'S NORMALLY A CLICK/THUD WHEN I START THE VEHICLE, IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THE WARNING LIGHTS COMING ON. WHEN IT DOES THIS, A LOT OF TIMES THE VEHICLE WON'T EVEN SHIFT INTO GEAR FOR ABOUT FIVE MINUTES. IT'S MY BELIEF THAT WHEN THESE LIGHTS ARE ON, THESE ITEMS AREN'T WORKING. I'VE DRIVEN UP TO 45 MINUTES WITH BOTH LIGHTS BEING ON. THEY WILL USUALLY STAY ON UNTIL I'VE OPERATED THE VEHICLE FOR AT LEAST 30 MINUTES, AND THEN TURN THE VEHICLE OFF. AFTER I'VE DONE SO, AND THEN RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, THE LIGHTS WILL USUALLY GO OFF. THESE ARE BOTH VERY IMPOTANT SAFETY FEATURES. I'VE GONE ON NUMEROUS GM THREADS AND FOUND THAT HUNDREDS OF SILVERADO OWNERS FROM 2007 UP UNTIL TODAY CONTINUE TO HAVE THE ISSUE AND NOBODY EVER DOES ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THE OWNERS WHO DID GET GM TO ACTUALLY TURN A WRENCH IN EFFORTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM ALL SAY IT ULTIMATELY RETURNED. THE VEHICLE NOT GOING INTO GEAR IS SOMETHING THAT RECENTLY STARTED HAPPENING WITH THE PROBLEM. IF I START THE TRUCK AND THE WARNING LIGHTS AREN'T ON, THE VEHICLE OPERATES FINE, HOWEVER, IF I START THE VEHICLE AND THE WARNING LIGHTS ARE ON, IT USUALLY TAKES SEVERAL MINUTES TO GET THE VEHICLE IN GEAR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/18/2014 - DUPONT, WA
WITHIN TWO MONTHS OF PURCHASING MY BRAND NEW SILVERADO, I NOTICED THIS ISSUE AND IT HAS PERSISTED. MY VEHICLE NOW HAS 73,000 MILES ON IT, AND IT HAPPENS EVEN MORE FREQUENTLY. I'VE BROUGH THIS PROBLEM UP TO CHEVY ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, AND THEY HAVE ALWAYS TOLD ME TO BRING THE VEHICLE WHEN IT'S DOING THIS, BUT WITHIN 30 MINUTES OF OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE WARNING LIGHTS GO OFF. MANY TIMES WHEN I START MY VEHICLE, THE "STABILITRACK", AND "ANTI-LOCK BRAKE SYSTEM" WARNING LIGHTS COME ON. THERE'S NORMALLY A CLICK/THUD WHEN I START THE VEHICLE, IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THE WARNING LIGHTS COMING ON. WHEN IT DOES THIS, A LOT OF TIMES THE VEHICLE WON'T EVEN SHIFT INTO GEAR FOR ABOUT FIVE MINUTES. IT'S MY BELIEF THAT WHEN THESE LIGHTS ARE ON, THESE ITEMS AREN'T WORKING. I'VE DRIVEN UP TO 45 MINUTES WITH BOTH LIGHTS BEING ON. THEY WILL USUALLY STAY ON UNTIL I'VE OPERATED THE VEHICLE FOR AT LEAST 30 MINUTES, AND THEN TURN THE VEHICLE OFF. AFTER I'VE DONE SO, AND THEN RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, THE LIGHTS WILL USUALLY GO OFF. THESE ARE BOTH VERY IMPOTANT SAFETY FEATURES. I'VE GONE ON NUMEROUS GM THREADS AND FOUND THAT HUNDREDS OF SILVERADO OWNERS FROM 2007 UP UNTIL TODAY CONTINUE TO HAVE THE ISSUE AND NOBODY EVER DOES ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THE OWNERS WHO DID GET GM TO ACTUALLY TURN A WRENCH IN EFFORTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM ALL SAY IT ULTIMATELY RETURNED. THE VEHICLE NOT GOING INTO GEAR IS SOMETHING THAT RECENTLY STARTED HAPPENING WITH THE PROBLEM. IF I START THE TRUCK AND THE WARNING LIGHTS AREN'T ON, THE VEHICLE OPERATES FINE, HOWEVER, IF I START THE VEHICLE AND THE WARNING LIGHTS ARE ON, IT USUALLY TAKES SEVERAL MINUTES TO GET THE VEHICLE IN GEAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/8/2014 - MCHENRY, MS
MY DASH HAS SEVERAL CRACKS IN IT AROUND THE PASSENGER AIR BAG. I AM CONCERNED THAT IF THE AIR BAG IS DEPLOYED THAT THE DEFECTED DASH WILL BECOME SHARP PROJECTILES AND CAUSE UNDUE INJURY TO ME OR MY PASSENGER. I HAVE SEEN MANY OTHERS WITH SAME PROBLEM AND IT IS A SAFETY CONCERN TO ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/8/2014 - MCHENRY, MS
MY DASH HAS SEVERAL CRACKS IN IT AROUND THE PASSENGER AIR BAG. I AM CONCERNED THAT IF THE AIR BAG IS DEPLOYED THAT THE DEFECTED DASH WILL BECOME SHARP PROJECTILES AND CAUSE UNDUE INJURY TO ME OR MY PASSENGER. I HAVE SEEN MANY OTHERS WITH SAME PROBLEM AND IT IS A SAFETY CONCERN TO ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/13/2014 - PINCKARD, AL
THE FRONT SPEAKERS AND ONE OF THE EXTENTED CAB DOORS SPEAKERS DO NOT WORK.CAN NOT HEAR THE WARNING CHIME. SOMETIMES WHEN THE TRUCK HAS BEEN DRIVEN FOR AWHILE THE SPEAKERS IN THE DRIVER'S SIDE STARTS TO WORK. AS OF 07/11/14 THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR SPEAKERS DOESN'T WORK UNLESS THE TRUCK HAS BEEN DRIVEN FOR AWHILE.. I'VE CONTACTED GM SERVEL TIMES ON THIS ISSUE AND GET THE SAME RESPONSE, THEY CAN NOT HELP ME WITHOUT PAYING THEM A FEE.... I TELL THEM WHAT IS HAPPENING AND THEY DON'T CARE. I SENT AN EMAIL TO THEM ON 07/12/14 AND HAVEN'T HEARD FROM THEM YET. I AFRAID THAT THE TRUCK IS GOING CATCH ON FIRE OR SHUT OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING OR WHEN MY WIFE IS DRIVING WITH MY KIDS IN THE TRUCK

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/13/2014 - PINCKARD, AL
THE FRONT SPEAKERS AND ONE OF THE EXTENTED CAB DOORS SPEAKERS DO NOT WORK.CAN NOT HEAR THE WARNING CHIME. SOMETIMES WHEN THE TRUCK HAS BEEN DRIVEN FOR AWHILE THE SPEAKERS IN THE DRIVER'S SIDE STARTS TO WORK. AS OF 07/11/14 THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR SPEAKERS DOESN'T WORK UNLESS THE TRUCK HAS BEEN DRIVEN FOR AWHILE.. I'VE CONTACTED GM SERVEL TIMES ON THIS ISSUE AND GET THE SAME RESPONSE, THEY CAN NOT HELP ME WITHOUT PAYING THEM A FEE.... I TELL THEM WHAT IS HAPPENING AND THEY DON'T CARE. I SENT AN EMAIL TO THEM ON 07/12/14 AND HAVEN'T HEARD FROM THEM YET. I AFRAID THAT THE TRUCK IS GOING CATCH ON FIRE OR SHUT OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING OR WHEN MY WIFE IS DRIVING WITH MY KIDS IN THE TRUCK

View Details

ENGINE

7/5/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
OIL CONSUMPTION 3 QUARTS BETWEEN OIL CHANGES - NO LEAKS NO BLACK SMOKE - AND NOW I'M HEARING A RATTLE IN THE ENGINE

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/1/2014 - NORTON, KS
TURNED KEY TO ON POSITION STARTED TRUCK AND AIR BAG WARNING WOULD NOT GO OFF. FRONT SENSOR WAS CRACKED. REPLACED IT ON MY OWN!!!!!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/20/2014 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A STATE HIGHWAY AND EXPERIENCED A BLOWOUT FROM ONE OF MY HANKOOK TIRES MODEL DYNAPRO AS TIRES. SEVERE BODY DAMAGE ALL ALONG THE LEFT SIDE OF MY TRUCK WAS THE RESULT OF THIS ACCIDENT, AS I WAS PULLED INTO A CONCRETE MEDIAN BARRIER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds