Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO - 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 98 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (38) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (2) Structure (8) Visibility (2)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (16) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/3/2015 - ALTAMONT, NY
TO DATE I ONLY HAVE 60KMI. ON MY 2008 SILVERADO. ITS IMMACULETLY MAINTAINED. SO FAR BOTH AIRBAG SENSORS HAVE GONE BAD AND I'VE LOST CRUISE CONTROLL. IVE ALSO LOST THE DRIVER SIDE SPEAKER FUNCTIONALITY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/3/2015 - ALTAMONT, NY
TO DATE I ONLY HAVE 60KMI. ON MY 2008 SILVERADO. ITS IMMACULETLY MAINTAINED. SO FAR BOTH AIRBAG SENSORS HAVE GONE BAD AND I'VE LOST CRUISE CONTROLL. IVE ALSO LOST THE DRIVER SIDE SPEAKER FUNCTIONALITY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/3/2015 - ALTAMONT, NY
TO DATE I ONLY HAVE 60KMI. ON MY 2008 SILVERADO. ITS IMMACULETLY MAINTAINED. SO FAR BOTH AIRBAG SENSORS HAVE GONE BAD AND I'VE LOST CRUISE CONTROLL. IVE ALSO LOST THE DRIVER SIDE SPEAKER FUNCTIONALITY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/13/2015 - CANADENSIS, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE INSPECTING THE VEHICLE IN THE DRIVEWAY, IT WAS FOUND THAT THERE WAS TRANSMISSION FLUID LEAKAGE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED OVER A FOUR MONTH PERIOD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THERE WAS A TRANSMISSION LEAK BUT A REMEDY COULD NOT BE PROVIDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 158,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2015 - PICAYUNE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, ALL OF THE GAUGES BECAME DISABLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHEN THE GAUGES REACTIVATED, THE AIR BAGS WERE DISABLED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. ... UPDATED 06-02-15

View Details

ENGINE

4/20/2015 - PICAYUNE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, ALL OF THE GAUGES BECAME DISABLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHEN THE GAUGES REACTIVATED, THE AIR BAGS WERE DISABLED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. ... UPDATED 06-02-15

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/10/2015 - DONNA, TX
FRONT DASHBOARD HAS A CRACK IN IT. CRACK ON PLASTIC DASH JUST APPEARED OVERNIGHT FOR NO REASON. IT IS LOCATED ALMOST DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF THE PASSENGER AREA. HAVE CHECKED SEVERAL OTHER VIHICLES WITHIN THE SAME YEAR MODEL,2- GMC SIERRA PICK UPS, 1- AVALANCH, 2 SILVERADOS. DASH MAKES A RATTELING SOUND AND IS VERY DISTRACTING. ALL HAVE THE SAME OPEN CRACK ALMOST EXACTLY AT THE SAME SPOT ON DASHBOARD. I KNOW THERE IS A DEFECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/31/2015 - SAINT CHARLES, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. WHILE IN PARK, THE VEHICLE SHIFTED INTO REVERSE INDEPENDENTLY. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO ROLL AWAY AND RAN OVER THE CONTACT. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A FRACTURED LEFT SIDE COLLAR BONE AND SHOULDER AND STOMACH BRUISES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE POLICE WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. UPDATED 6/4/15

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2015 - WATERFORD, MI
I AM DISAPPOINTED WITH GM FOR FIRST TIME EVER. I HAD A 01 THAT I GOT 350,000 MILES ON IT AND IT HAD ALL ORIGINAL PARTS. THEN I BUY A 08 AND I HAVE OIL LEAKS FOUR WHEEL DRIVE LIGHT ON MY ENGINE RUNS ROUGH AND MY AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON. I DON'T GET IT AND TRUST ME I JUST SAW A WEBSITE WITH THE SAME COMPLAINTS ABOUT WHAT I HAVE WHEN IS GM GOING TO SAY OH SHIT WE HAVE ISSUES WITH THIS YEAR MAYBE WE SHOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT . IF NOTHING COMES ABOUT THIS I WILL BE GOING FORD AND TELL GM TO PACK SAND I HAVE DRIVEN GM MY WHOLE LIFE AND WOULD LIKE TO STAY BUT I HAVE OWNED THIS TRUCK FOR ONLY A YEAR AND HOPING GMC OPENS THERE EYES

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/15/2015 - WILLISTON PARK, NY
ENGINE TROUBLE LIGHT APPEARS AND SERVICE AIRBAG MESSAGE APPEARS,BOTH.PASSENGER SIDE WINDOWS WOULD NOT OPERATE.BURNING ODORS APPEAR INSIDE THE CABIN.THE G.M.DEALERSHIP LOCATED THE WIRING HARNESS HAD CAUGHT FIRE AND MELTED PART OF THE CARPET ON THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE KICK PLATE.$2,400.00 TO REPLACE THE HARNESS AND CARPET.WHAT'S GOING TO PREVENT THIS FROM HAPPENING AGAIN?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds