Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER - 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 89 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (4) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (25) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (7) Visibility (3)
Engine (3) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/11/2014 - EAST DENNIS, MA
IN THE FALL OF 2012, I HAD TO REPLACE AN IGNITION SWITCH IN MY TRAILBLAZER AT APPROX. 90,000 MILES. THEN, IN JULY OF 2013, WE WERE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 95 IN CT, HEAVY TRAFFIC, HIGH SPEEDS, AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY CAR JUST DIED. I, FORTUNATELY, WAS IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE AND WAS ABLE TO DRIFT OFF THE ROAD. A CT TROOPER SAT BEHIND US FOR AN HOUR WHILE WE WAITED FOR AAA. IT WAS A SUNDAY. WE WERE TOWED TO A CHEVROLET DEALER IN OLD SAYSBROOK, ESSEX CT. HAD TO SPEND THE NIGHT IN A HOTEL AND THAT MONDAY, THE DEALER PUT IN ANOTHER IGNITION SWITCH. MY MILEAGE WAS A LITTLE OVER 100,000. HAVE ALL THE DOCUMENTATION. HAVE YOU LOOKED INTO IGNITION SWITCH FAILURE IN TRAILBLAZERS? IS MY CAR SAFE TO DRIVE? WOULD APPRECIATE A RESPONSE.

View Details

STEERING

3/11/2014 - CRESSON , PA
AS I WAS DRIVING MY 2008 TRAILBLAZER THE STEERING WHEEL COMPLETELY FROZE ON ME AND I COULD NOT TURN THE VEHICLE IN ANY DIRECTION. I ENDED UP DRIVING IT INTO SOMEONES YARD BEFORE I COULD GET IT STOPPED. AFTER HAVING IT TAKEN TO A GARAGE THEY TOLD ME MY POWER STEERING LINES ETC WERE BLOWN. THEY HAVE SINCE FIXED THIS ISSUE, VERY COSTLY TO ME THOUGH, AND THEN THEY INFORMED ME THAT WHILE CHECKING THE VEHICLE OUT THEY FOUND MY TRANSMISSION LINES ARE VERY CORRODED. SO THAT IS THE NEXT ISSUE TO BE FIXED WITH THIS VEHICLE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/6/2014 - LA VALE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE AND AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 63,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

12/31/2013 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
I HAD TO REPLACE THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW MOTOR AT ABOUT 30,000 MILES AND NOW THE PASSENGER SIDE MOTOR IS ACTING UP AND WILL PROBABLY HAVE TO BE REPLACED - I AM CURRENTLY AT 38000 MILES. SEEING SO MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS, INCLUDING VEHICLE DOOR FIRES, THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/31/2013 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
I HAD TO REPLACE THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW MOTOR AT ABOUT 30,000 MILES AND NOW THE PASSENGER SIDE MOTOR IS ACTING UP AND WILL PROBABLY HAVE TO BE REPLACED - I AM CURRENTLY AT 38000 MILES. SEEING SO MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS, INCLUDING VEHICLE DOOR FIRES, THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

STEERING

10/20/2013 - ORION, MI
AFTER HAVING TAKEN A 25 MILE TRIP, I DISCOVERED A LARGE PUDDLE OF OIL UNDER MY CAR AND UPON INSPECTION FOUND THE POWER STEERING LINES HAD ALL RUSTED IN A SHOCK MOUNT AND RUPTURED RELEASING THE POWER STEERING FLUID. MY MECHANIC SAID IF ALL THE OIL HAD DRAINED OUT, IT WOULD HAVE BURNED UP THE PUMP AND COST AN ADDITIONAL $350. TOTAL COST OF REPAIR $623.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/11/2013 - BOCOBEL, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE OPENED THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR AND NOTICED CORROSION ON THE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE DOOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/16/2013 - COLLINSVILLE, IL
WHILE DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT SECTION OF A CITY STREET AT ONLY 30 MPH BOTH SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. I WAS STARTLED BUT QUICKLY LOOKED AROUND TO SEE IF I HAD HIT ANYTHING OR HAD BEEN HIT BY ANOTHER CAR. I WAS STILL MOVING FORWARD AND AS SOON AS SAFELY POSSIBLE PULLED THE CAR OVER AND GOT OUT TO INSPECT WHAT HAD HAPPENED. THERE WAS NO COLLISION WITH ANY OTHER OBJECT OR CAR AND THE AIRBAGS HAD DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAD NOT BEEN ON AND THE CAR WAS DRIVING NORMALLY. I CALLED MY INSURANCE COMPANY AND REPORTED THE INCIDENT AND REQUESTED A TOW. THE INSURANCE ADJUSTER HAS SINCE DETERMINED THAT SINCE THERE HAS BEEN NO COLLISION THAT THE CAUSE MUST BE FROM A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT. THE BODY SHOP HAS RUN THE CODES FROM THE ON BOARD COMPUTER AND THEY ARE B0051,B0058,B0062,B0065,B0070, AND U7300. EXCEPT FOR THE U7300 THE REST ARE STATING THE OBVIOUS THAT THE AIRBAGS AND SEAT BELT TENSIONERS HAVE DEPLOYED. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE IF I HAD BEEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ON A SECTION OF ROAD THAT WAS CURVED I DO NOT THINK THAT I COULD HAVE MAINTAINED CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2013 - HIXSON, TN
INCIDENT WITH MY 2008 CHEVY TRAILBLAZER INCIDENT REPORTED ON SEPT. 9 AT 9:30PM WHICH OCCURRED AS I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM A CUBSCOUTS MEETING, WITH MY 2 SONS IN THE VEHICLE. AS I WAS DRIVING HOME AROUND 845PM HOME FROM OUR METHODIST CHURCH,WHICH IS LOCATED ABOUT .3 MILE FROM MY HOUSE. THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD AND THE HEADLIGHTS WERE NOT WORKING ALL OF A SUDDEN AND I COULD SMELL SOMETHING BURNING AS I A DRIVING. THE TIME OF THE DAY WAS DUSK AND STARTING TO GET DARK BUT A CLEAR SUNNY DAY BEFORE THIS OCCURRED. MY OLDEST SON, WHO IS 9, SAID WHAT IS THAT SMELL AND THEN MY OTHER SON, WHO IS 4 YEARS OLD ALSO SAID THE SAME THING. I DROVE SLOWLY DOWN THE HILL AS THIS OCCURRED OFF THE ROAD AND THE RED LIGHT NEAR OUR SUBDIVISION ENTRANCE. I LIVE IN HIXSON TN. I ALSO NOTICED THERE WAS BLACK SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD AREA NEAR THE FUSE BOX AREA ON THE DRIVERS SIDE VEHICLE. I GOT HOME WITHIN 5 MINUTES OF THIS HAPPENING AND IMMEDIATELY PULLED MY CAR INTO MY DRIVE WAY AND TOLD BOTH MY BOYS TO GET OUT OF THE CAR. I PULLED THE HOOD RELEASE UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL AND WENT TO LIFT THE HOOD AND COULD SEE BLACK SMOKE WAS COMING FROM THE FUSE BOX AREA. I POPPED THE END CLIPS THAT KEEPS THE FUSE BOX IN PLACE AND OPENED THE FUSE BOX. WHEN I DID THIS, THERE WAS A SPARK OF FLAME AND SMOKE THAT PUT ITSELF OUT WHEN I LIFTED THE LID OFF THE FUSE BOX AND YOU CAN SEE WHAT HAPPENED(PHOTO ATTACHED FOR YOU TO SEE). YOU CAN SEE THERE IS SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO MANY FUSES THAT CONTROL THE ELECTRONICS IN THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NOT DRIVEN THIS VEHICLE SINCE THIS OCCURRED AS THE PERSON I TALKED TO INSTRUCTED ME NOT TO MOVE THE VEHICLE. I WOULD HATE TO GET LEGAL COUNSEL INVOLVED AND THE NATIONAL SAFETY AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION INVOLVED AND WOULD HOPE CHEVY WOULD LIKE TO GET THIS RESOLVED. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). ## VIN PASSED ## CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER 2008 ##

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

8/7/2013 - DEXTER, ME
WATER GOT ON THE WINDOW SWITCHES BECAUSE THE DRIVERS WINDOW WAS LEFT OPEN A LITTLE DURING A RAIN STORM, AND NONE OF THE WINDOWS OR DOOR LOCK SWITCHES ON THE DRIVERS DOOR WORKED FOR 2 DAYS. I KNOW THAT THERE'S A RE-CALL FOR 2006 & 2007 MODEL YEARS FOR THE SAME REASON, SO WHY NOT ON THE 2008?

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds