Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER - 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 137 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (7) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (49) Exterior Lighting (10) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (7) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Power Train (9) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2015 - FARIBAULT, MN
ON )9/16/15, I WAS DRIVING MY 2008 CHEV TRAILBLAZER ON THE HIGHWAY AT 55MPH AND THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILED AND THE THE VEHICLE ROLLED TO A STOP. IT WOULD NOT START AGAIN AND WAS TOWED BY GLENN'S TOWING SERVICE FARIBAULT MN 55021 TO HARRY BROWN'S SERVICE CENTER FARIBAULT MN 55021. THEY REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH AND CHARGED $389.25. I'M CONCERNED IF THEY PUT IN THE SAME SWITCH WITH A DEFECT OR ONE THAT HAS BEEN IMPROVED TO ELIMINATE THE DEFECT AS CHEVROLET HAS BEEN RECALLING IGNITION SWITCHES ON OTHER VEHICLES BUT NOT THE TRAILBLAZER. I WAS LUCKY I DIDN'T GET HIT WHEN THE TRUCK STOPPED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/7/2015 - EAST EARL, PA
THE DRIVER DOOR MODULE DOES NOT WORK WHEN IT RAINS. I TOOK THIS TO A DEALER AND AFTER THEY TESTED IT TOLD ME IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED $500. FOR PART PLUS LABOR THAT THEY COULD NOT QUOTE. I CHECKED ON LINE TO FIND OUT IF GM HAD RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES AND FOUND THAT THEY DID 2004 - 2007 MINE IS A 2008 EXPERIENCES THE EXACT ISSUES THAT THE OTHERS HAD BUT GM CAN'T HELP ME BECAUSE MY VIN # IS NOT LISTED. WHY DID GM NOT TRY TO HELP ME WITH THIS ISSUE? WHEN OVER 184,000 VEHICLES WHERE RECALLED FOR THIS ISSUE. WHAT DO I NEED TO DO TO SEE IF I CAN GET HELP TO REPLACE THIS? I WOULDN'T ASK BUT I FEEL ITS ONLY RIGHT TO REPLACE IT AFTER ALL THOSE VEHICLES WHERE RECALLED AND MINE IS DOING THE EXACT SAME THING. IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME IT RAINS APPARENTLY IT LEAKS IN THE DOOR SOME HOW AND IT GETS WET AND WANT WORK IT CONTROLS SEAT HEAT, ALL DOOR LOCKS AND WINDOWS AND DRIVER WINDOW. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED IN 2014 AND IT HAS DONE IT EVERY SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT BY THE TIME IT GETS BACK TO THE DEALER ITS WORKING AGAIN. USUALLY A DAY OR SO AND IT WILL WORK. THIS TIME ITS NOT WORKING

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/24/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. WHILE DRIVING, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG. THE ABNORMAL NOISE WAS PERSISTENT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE BATTERY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 37,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/22/2015 - NEWTON CENTER, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON ENTERING AND STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO OPERATE WITHIN MINUTES OF STARTING THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY AND WAS GETTING PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED, HOWEVER THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/1/2015 - WOODRIDGE, IL
WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY, STOPPED AT A LIGHT, I WENT TO ACCELERATE AND TRUCK LURCHED FORWARD, MADE A LOUD BANG AND WOULD NOT ENGAGE. THE ENGINE WHINES WHEN ACCELERATOR IS PRESSED, BUT NO MOVEMENT. ALSO, VEHICLE WOULD ROLL BACK WITHOUT THE EMERGENCY BRAKE ON. THERE WERE ZERO WARNINGS PRIOR TO COMPLETE FAILURE OF TRUCK. CONTACTED GM AND CHEVY, AND WAS OFFERED NO HELP, UNTIL OUT OF POCKET DIAGNOSTICS ARE COMPLETED AT A GM/CHEVY DEALER (AND AT THIS POINT SINCE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY, OWNER WAS TOLD THAT HELP FROM GM IS NOT GUARANTEED). TRUCK IS AT A PRIVATE SHOP, PRELIMINARY FINDINGS ARE THAT THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL IS DAMAGED. THE POWER OUTPUT SHAFT AND SPLINE IS STRIPPED, THE CAUSE IS VEHICLE (DRIVETRAIN) DESIGN DOES NOT ALLOW ENGINE OIL TO GET TO THESE COMPONENTS. THE PARTS BECOME DRY AND BRITTLE, WHICH IS WHY THE GEARS ARE STRIPPED AND FAILURE OCCURRED. THIS IS NOT AN OWNER MAINTENANCE ISSUE, BUT A COMPLETE DESIGN FLAW. THESE COMPONENTS SHOULD BE ENCASED AND BE GETTING LUBRICATED FROM THE ENGINE OIL. FURTHER FINDINGS WILL BE REPORTED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/13/2015 - FREDERICK, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE LOW BEAMS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2015 - NIAGARA FALLS, NY
EXHAUST MANIFOLD IS CRACKED,GM KNOWS THERE ARE ISSUES WITH THESE BUT YET WONT FIX IT

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/10/2015 - RAVENNA, OH
ENGINE STARTED CHIRPING, REPLACED IDLER PULLEY AND THE OTHER STATIONARY PULLEY AND BELT, THE AIR CONDITION PUMP WAS REPLACED BEFORE WINTER , WELL WITH THE RECENT WARM UP THIS SPRING I NEEDED TO USE THE AIR, AT AN IDLE IT WORKS ,SOME LIGHT SQUEELING, BUT AS YOU ARE DRIVING IT LACKS ACCELERATION, IT WILL GO IF YOU HIT THE GAS PEDEL A FEW TIMES, BUT IT'S PRETTY SCARY, AS SOON AS YOU TURN OFF THE A/C IT DRIVES NORMAL. I SEE THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR OTHERS THAT I HAVE READ IN VARIOUS CAR TRUCK FORUMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/5/2015 - RIO RANCHO, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE IGNITION WAS TURNED TO THE ON POSITION AND THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE HOOD WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT TURNED THE IGNITION BACK TO THE OFF POSITION AND OPENED THE HOOD AND DISCOVERED THE HEAD LAMP DRIVING MODULE RELAY ON FIRE. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACCESSORY BOARD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,471.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/5/2015 - RIO RANCHO, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE IGNITION WAS TURNED TO THE ON POSITION AND THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE HOOD WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT TURNED THE IGNITION BACK TO THE OFF POSITION AND OPENED THE HOOD AND DISCOVERED THE HEAD LAMP DRIVING MODULE RELAY ON FIRE. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACCESSORY BOARD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,471.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds