Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER - 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 171 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (9) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (62) Exterior Lighting (14) Seat Belts (8) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (7) Visibility (5)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/5/2018 - CASA GRANDE, AZ
ENGINE DIES WHILE DRIVING (LOSING PROPULSION, STEERING, BRAKES, ETC.) AND THE KEY WILL NOT RESTART WHEN TURNED FORWARD (IN NEUTRAL), WHILE COASTING, BUT WILL RESTART WHEN THE KEY IS TURNED BACK AND THEN FORWARD AGAIN. IN THIS CASE, COASTING DOWN AND BRAKING AND TURNING RIGHT, POSSIBLY WITH RIGHT TURN SIGNAL ON. DIED RIGHT BEFORE STARTING TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL AT ABOUT 15-20 MPH. IT WAS A CLEAR DRY 100 DEGREE AFTERNOON, ON SMOOTH PAVEMENT. WE LIVE ON A BUMPY DIRT ROAD THAT IS JUST OVER A QUARTER OF A MILE LONG TO REACH OUR HOUSE. SIMILAR TO OTHER GM IGNITION KEY / NO AIR BAG RECALL PROGRAMS FOR SIMILAR MODEL YEAR VEHICLES, SUCH AS THE HHR. THERE IS NO RECALL, BUT HOW MANY PEOPLE DOES THIS HAPPEN TO? ANY DEATHS, YET? I DON'T BELIEVE THE AIR BAGS MAY HAVE WORKED, SHOULD WE HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT. THERE WAS NO INFORMATION SHOWN IN THE DIVER INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY (DIC) AND THERE WERE WARNING LIGHTS ON IN THE DASHBOARD, TO INDICATE THAT THE POWER WAS ON TO THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER (IC), BUT THAT THE MOTOR WAS OFF. I COULD NOT SELECT BRAKES AND STEERING AS BEING AFFECTED, BUT WITH NO MOTOR, THERE IS NO VACUUM BRAKE BOOSTING GOING ON, AND NO POWER STEERING EITHER.

View Details

ENGINE

9/5/2018 - CASA GRANDE, AZ
ENGINE DIES WHILE DRIVING (LOSING PROPULSION, STEERING, BRAKES, ETC.) AND THE KEY WILL NOT RESTART WHEN TURNED FORWARD (IN NEUTRAL), WHILE COASTING, BUT WILL RESTART WHEN THE KEY IS TURNED BACK AND THEN FORWARD AGAIN. IN THIS CASE, COASTING DOWN AND BRAKING AND TURNING RIGHT, POSSIBLY WITH RIGHT TURN SIGNAL ON. DIED RIGHT BEFORE STARTING TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL AT ABOUT 15-20 MPH. IT WAS A CLEAR DRY 100 DEGREE AFTERNOON, ON SMOOTH PAVEMENT. WE LIVE ON A BUMPY DIRT ROAD THAT IS JUST OVER A QUARTER OF A MILE LONG TO REACH OUR HOUSE. SIMILAR TO OTHER GM IGNITION KEY / NO AIR BAG RECALL PROGRAMS FOR SIMILAR MODEL YEAR VEHICLES, SUCH AS THE HHR. THERE IS NO RECALL, BUT HOW MANY PEOPLE DOES THIS HAPPEN TO? ANY DEATHS, YET? I DON'T BELIEVE THE AIR BAGS MAY HAVE WORKED, SHOULD WE HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT. THERE WAS NO INFORMATION SHOWN IN THE DIVER INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY (DIC) AND THERE WERE WARNING LIGHTS ON IN THE DASHBOARD, TO INDICATE THAT THE POWER WAS ON TO THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER (IC), BUT THAT THE MOTOR WAS OFF. I COULD NOT SELECT BRAKES AND STEERING AS BEING AFFECTED, BUT WITH NO MOTOR, THERE IS NO VACUUM BRAKE BOOSTING GOING ON, AND NO POWER STEERING EITHER.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

5/30/2018 - PALMYRA, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER EQUIPPED WITH BIG O BIG FOOT X/T TIRES, SIZE: 245/65R/17 (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER'S TIRE LOST TREAD WHILE BEING OPERATED AT 40 MPH. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO NAVIGATE THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO BIG O TIRES WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE TREAD HAD SEPARATED; HOWEVER, THEY COULD NOT EXPLAIN THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 35,000. THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE, DOT NUMBER, AND VIN WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/17/2018 - BENTON, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS INTERMITTENTLY ACTIVATED WHILE IN THE OFF POSITION. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (CHEVYLAND, 7500 YOUREE DRIVE, SHREVEPORT, LA 71105) WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 185,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/30/2017 - TYLER, TX
NUMEROUS TIMES I HAVE DRIVEN THIS VEHICLE AND IT CONTINUES TO DO THE SAME THING WHEN I REACH SPEEDS OF ABOUT 35 TO 40 MPH IT LOSES POWER, THE TACH. EVEN DECLINES IN IT'S READING. IT'S LIKE SOMEONE IS BEHIND ME WITH A ROPE, AND STEPPING ON THEIR BRAKES, SLOWING ME DOWN. THIS HAPPENS WHEN I'M GOING STRAIGHT DOWN A STREET, MAKING NO TURNS, AND LET IT BASICALLY IDLE ROLL DOWN THE STREET. ALL THE WHILE, IT IS IN GEAR, ENGINE RUNNING, AND IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/10/2017 - BOLIVAR, MO
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND MY LIGHTS JUST WENT OFF. THE INTERIOR LIGHTS WERE ON BUT THE HEADLIGHTS WENT OUT. I STOPPED THE CAR, TURNED IT OFF, WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND TURNED IT BACK ON. THE LIGHTS DID NOT COME BACK ON. THE HIGH BEAM LIGHTS STILL WORKED AND I DROVE HOME WITH MY BRIGHTS ON. WHEN I GOT HOME AND TURNED OFF THE CAR I TRIED THEM AGAIN AND THIS TIME THEY CAME ON NORMALLY. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED AT NIGHT THAT THEY JUST WENT OFF.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/10/2017 - CHUNKY, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLAMPS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 83073848929. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WERE NOT OFFERING ANY ASSISTANCE DUE TO THE VEHICLE'S MILEAGE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 184,000. UPDATED 08/29/17

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2017 - ALICE, TX
MY SON AND I WERE DRIVING 65 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE.... CAR JUST DIED, NO WARNING. I HAD TO VEER SUDDENLY TO THE RIGHT TO MAKE THE RAMP OR TAKE A CHANCE ON THE SHOULDER. SINCE THIS FIRST TIME THE CAR HAS ALSO NOT WANTED TO START. I THOUGHT IT HAD TO DO WITH THE ALARM LOCKING ME OUT , BUT IT APPEARS IT IS THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE CAR HAS ON MULTIPLY TIME DIED WHILE I WAS DRIVING. I'VE TRIED REACHING OUT TO CHEVY AND GM BUT, EACH IS WANTING ME TO PAY FOR A DIAGNOSTIC. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO SPEND ON THIS. I DON'T WANT TO DIE BECAUSE I CAN'T AFFORD TO PAY FOR THEIR FAULTY IGNITION. PLEASE HELP US.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

4/21/2017 - MAGDALENA, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE CRUISE CONTROL STARTED TO DROP, THE ENGINE STARTED TO LOSE POWER, AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND HAD INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WERE NO OPEN RECALLS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/21/2016 - OSWEGO, NY
THE FUEL GAUGE IS FLUCTUATING FROM FULL TO EMPTY AND THE EMPTY LIGHT COMES ON. IT HAS OCCURRED A FEW TIMES NOW OVER THE LAST FEW WEEKS. THE ISSUE HAS THE POTENTIAL TO CAUSE A STALL CONDITION, IF THE VEHICLE RUNS OUT OF GAS UNKNOWINGLY DUE TO THIS INACCURATE GAUGE CONDITION. I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO RESEARCH SOME DOCUMENTED EVIDENCE OF THIS KNOWN ISSUE ON NHTSA, BUT HAVE NOT FOUND ANY SOLUTION BEING OFFERED BY GM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds