Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER - 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 171 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (9) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (62) Exterior Lighting (14) Seat Belts (8) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (7) Visibility (5)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY

11/12/2015 - SCHOOL CRAFT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW ERRONEOUSLY ROLLED DOWN AND AN ELECTRICAL BURNING ODOR WAS PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. WHILE INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE WINDOW SWITCH WAS CHARRED AND MELTED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 139,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/12/2015 - SCHOOL CRAFT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW ERRONEOUSLY ROLLED DOWN AND AN ELECTRICAL BURNING ODOR WAS PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. WHILE INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE WINDOW SWITCH WAS CHARRED AND MELTED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 139,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/1/2015 - BOYCEVILLE, WI
I RECENTLY STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS, ONE BEING MY BRAKE LIGHTS DON'T ALWAYS WORK. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL CHEVY DEALER AND WAS TOLD IT ALL HAD TO DO WITH AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM AS IS IMPOSSIBLE TO FIX. SHOULDN'T MY VEHICLE BE RECALLED? I'M A SAFE DRIVER AND IT'S A BIT UPSETTING KNOWING THAT I DON'T KNOW IF AND WHEN MY BREAK LIGHTS ARE WORKING. ESPECIALLY WHEN I HAVE SMALL CHILDREN WITH ME. WE RECENTLY MOVED, AS MY HUSBAND WAS FOLLOWING ME, HE WAS THE ONE THAT NOTICED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WEREN'T WORKING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/1/2015 - BOYCEVILLE, WI
I RECENTLY STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS, ONE BEING MY BRAKE LIGHTS DON'T ALWAYS WORK. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL CHEVY DEALER AND WAS TOLD IT ALL HAD TO DO WITH AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM AS IS IMPOSSIBLE TO FIX. SHOULDN'T MY VEHICLE BE RECALLED? I'M A SAFE DRIVER AND IT'S A BIT UPSETTING KNOWING THAT I DON'T KNOW IF AND WHEN MY BREAK LIGHTS ARE WORKING. ESPECIALLY WHEN I HAVE SMALL CHILDREN WITH ME. WE RECENTLY MOVED, AS MY HUSBAND WAS FOLLOWING ME, HE WAS THE ONE THAT NOTICED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WEREN'T WORKING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/1/2015 - BOYCEVILLE, WI
I RECENTLY STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS, ONE BEING MY BRAKE LIGHTS DON'T ALWAYS WORK. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL CHEVY DEALER AND WAS TOLD IT ALL HAD TO DO WITH AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM AS IS IMPOSSIBLE TO FIX. SHOULDN'T MY VEHICLE BE RECALLED? I'M A SAFE DRIVER AND IT'S A BIT UPSETTING KNOWING THAT I DON'T KNOW IF AND WHEN MY BREAK LIGHTS ARE WORKING. ESPECIALLY WHEN I HAVE SMALL CHILDREN WITH ME. WE RECENTLY MOVED, AS MY HUSBAND WAS FOLLOWING ME, HE WAS THE ONE THAT NOTICED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WEREN'T WORKING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2015 - FARIBAULT, MN
ON )9/16/15, I WAS DRIVING MY 2008 CHEV TRAILBLAZER ON THE HIGHWAY AT 55MPH AND THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILED AND THE THE VEHICLE ROLLED TO A STOP. IT WOULD NOT START AGAIN AND WAS TOWED BY GLENN'S TOWING SERVICE FARIBAULT MN 55021 TO HARRY BROWN'S SERVICE CENTER FARIBAULT MN 55021. THEY REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH AND CHARGED $389.25. I'M CONCERNED IF THEY PUT IN THE SAME SWITCH WITH A DEFECT OR ONE THAT HAS BEEN IMPROVED TO ELIMINATE THE DEFECT AS CHEVROLET HAS BEEN RECALLING IGNITION SWITCHES ON OTHER VEHICLES BUT NOT THE TRAILBLAZER. I WAS LUCKY I DIDN'T GET HIT WHEN THE TRUCK STOPPED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/7/2015 - EAST EARL, PA
THE DRIVER DOOR MODULE DOES NOT WORK WHEN IT RAINS. I TOOK THIS TO A DEALER AND AFTER THEY TESTED IT TOLD ME IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED $500. FOR PART PLUS LABOR THAT THEY COULD NOT QUOTE. I CHECKED ON LINE TO FIND OUT IF GM HAD RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES AND FOUND THAT THEY DID 2004 - 2007 MINE IS A 2008 EXPERIENCES THE EXACT ISSUES THAT THE OTHERS HAD BUT GM CAN'T HELP ME BECAUSE MY VIN # IS NOT LISTED. WHY DID GM NOT TRY TO HELP ME WITH THIS ISSUE? WHEN OVER 184,000 VEHICLES WHERE RECALLED FOR THIS ISSUE. WHAT DO I NEED TO DO TO SEE IF I CAN GET HELP TO REPLACE THIS? I WOULDN'T ASK BUT I FEEL ITS ONLY RIGHT TO REPLACE IT AFTER ALL THOSE VEHICLES WHERE RECALLED AND MINE IS DOING THE EXACT SAME THING. IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME IT RAINS APPARENTLY IT LEAKS IN THE DOOR SOME HOW AND IT GETS WET AND WANT WORK IT CONTROLS SEAT HEAT, ALL DOOR LOCKS AND WINDOWS AND DRIVER WINDOW. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED IN 2014 AND IT HAS DONE IT EVERY SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT BY THE TIME IT GETS BACK TO THE DEALER ITS WORKING AGAIN. USUALLY A DAY OR SO AND IT WILL WORK. THIS TIME ITS NOT WORKING

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/24/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. WHILE DRIVING, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG. THE ABNORMAL NOISE WAS PERSISTENT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE BATTERY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 37,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/22/2015 - NEWTON CENTER, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON ENTERING AND STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO OPERATE WITHIN MINUTES OF STARTING THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY AND WAS GETTING PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED, HOWEVER THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/1/2015 - WOODRIDGE, IL
WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY, STOPPED AT A LIGHT, I WENT TO ACCELERATE AND TRUCK LURCHED FORWARD, MADE A LOUD BANG AND WOULD NOT ENGAGE. THE ENGINE WHINES WHEN ACCELERATOR IS PRESSED, BUT NO MOVEMENT. ALSO, VEHICLE WOULD ROLL BACK WITHOUT THE EMERGENCY BRAKE ON. THERE WERE ZERO WARNINGS PRIOR TO COMPLETE FAILURE OF TRUCK. CONTACTED GM AND CHEVY, AND WAS OFFERED NO HELP, UNTIL OUT OF POCKET DIAGNOSTICS ARE COMPLETED AT A GM/CHEVY DEALER (AND AT THIS POINT SINCE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY, OWNER WAS TOLD THAT HELP FROM GM IS NOT GUARANTEED). TRUCK IS AT A PRIVATE SHOP, PRELIMINARY FINDINGS ARE THAT THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL IS DAMAGED. THE POWER OUTPUT SHAFT AND SPLINE IS STRIPPED, THE CAUSE IS VEHICLE (DRIVETRAIN) DESIGN DOES NOT ALLOW ENGINE OIL TO GET TO THESE COMPONENTS. THE PARTS BECOME DRY AND BRITTLE, WHICH IS WHY THE GEARS ARE STRIPPED AND FAILURE OCCURRED. THIS IS NOT AN OWNER MAINTENANCE ISSUE, BUT A COMPLETE DESIGN FLAW. THESE COMPONENTS SHOULD BE ENCASED AND BE GETTING LUBRICATED FROM THE ENGINE OIL. FURTHER FINDINGS WILL BE REPORTED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds