Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING - 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 195 complaints filed for the 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (42) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electrical System (71) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (10) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (26) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (8) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Unknown Or Other (13)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/16/2016 - FULLERTON, CA
THIS CAR HAS A FAULTY TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM). THIS CAUSED SEVERAL PROBLEMS INCLUDING: THE CAR STALLING SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING AT ABOUT 50 MPH ON A STRAIGHT ROAD, THE HORN GOING OFF INTERMITTENTLY AND UNCONTROLLABLY BOTH WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND WHILE IT WAS MOVING, AND A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THAT WOULD NOT CLEAR. I REPLACED THE FAULTY TIPM AT MY OWN EXPENSE AND IT RESOLVED ALL THESE PROBLEMS. CHRYSLER HAS ISSUED RECALLS FOR TIPMS, BUT THEY HAVE NEVER RECALLED THE 2008 SEBRING. I HAVE THE ORIGINAL, FAULTY TIPM OUT OF THE CHRYSLER THAT I CAN SEND FOR TESTING AND VERIFICATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/16/2016 - FULLERTON, CA
THIS CAR HAS A FAULTY TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM). THIS CAUSED SEVERAL PROBLEMS INCLUDING: THE CAR STALLING SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING AT ABOUT 50 MPH ON A STRAIGHT ROAD, THE HORN GOING OFF INTERMITTENTLY AND UNCONTROLLABLY BOTH WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND WHILE IT WAS MOVING, AND A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THAT WOULD NOT CLEAR. I REPLACED THE FAULTY TIPM AT MY OWN EXPENSE AND IT RESOLVED ALL THESE PROBLEMS. CHRYSLER HAS ISSUED RECALLS FOR TIPMS, BUT THEY HAVE NEVER RECALLED THE 2008 SEBRING. I HAVE THE ORIGINAL, FAULTY TIPM OUT OF THE CHRYSLER THAT I CAN SEND FOR TESTING AND VERIFICATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2016 - FULLERTON, CA
THIS CAR HAS A FAULTY TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM). THIS CAUSED SEVERAL PROBLEMS INCLUDING: THE CAR STALLING SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING AT ABOUT 50 MPH ON A STRAIGHT ROAD, THE HORN GOING OFF INTERMITTENTLY AND UNCONTROLLABLY BOTH WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND WHILE IT WAS MOVING, AND A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THAT WOULD NOT CLEAR. I REPLACED THE FAULTY TIPM AT MY OWN EXPENSE AND IT RESOLVED ALL THESE PROBLEMS. CHRYSLER HAS ISSUED RECALLS FOR TIPMS, BUT THEY HAVE NEVER RECALLED THE 2008 SEBRING. I HAVE THE ORIGINAL, FAULTY TIPM OUT OF THE CHRYSLER THAT I CAN SEND FOR TESTING AND VERIFICATION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

3/10/2016 - BAY MINETTE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR WAS JAMMED AND REQUIRED EXCESSIVE FORCE IN ORDER TO OPEN IT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A GAP IN BETWEEN THE FRONT FENDER AND DOOR. IN ADDITION, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR HAD ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER REGARDING THE DOOR FAILURE. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR AND WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 07V414000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES) AND 07V240000 (AIR BAGS) BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN BOTH. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,056.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/10/2016 - BAY MINETTE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR WAS JAMMED AND REQUIRED EXCESSIVE FORCE IN ORDER TO OPEN IT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A GAP IN BETWEEN THE FRONT FENDER AND DOOR. IN ADDITION, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR HAD ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER REGARDING THE DOOR FAILURE. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR AND WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 07V414000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES) AND 07V240000 (AIR BAGS) BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN BOTH. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,056.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/6/2016 - BOWIE, MD
I BROUGHT MY CAR IN 2009. MY LIGHTS HAVE BLINKED FROM THE START. ON AUGUST 11, 2015, I DROVE 1 HOUR AND 17 MINUTES 59.5 MILES IN MODERATE TRAFFIC. I ARRIVED AT AGENCY. I EXITED THE CAR. ABOUT 5 MINUTES LATER, I RETURNED TO MY 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING AND ENTERED MY CAR. I STARTED THE CAR AS NORMAL APPLYING THE BRAKES WHILE SHIFTING GEARS AND PUT MY CAR IN REVERSE WITH ACCELERATION. AS MY CAR WAS IN MOTION THE CAR DANGEROUSLY SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BUSY ROAD AND I HAD TO APPLY THE BRAKES QUICKLY WHILE ROLLING AND IN MOTION. MY DAD AND I PUT A DIAGNOSTIC ON THE CAR AND IT READ A CODE. WE CHECKED THE POTENTIAL PROBLEMS. THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE TRANSMISSION FLUID. WE REFILLED THE TRANSMISSION FLUID. ON MARCH 4, 2016, I DROVE 51 MINUTES 33.4 MILES IN MODERATE TO HEAVY TRAFFIC. I ARRIVED TO A MILITARY LOCATION. I EXITED THE CAR. ABOUT 3 MINUTES LATER, I RETURNED TO MY 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING AND ENTERED MY CAR. I STARTED THE CAR AS NORMAL APPLYING THE BRAKES WHILE SHIFTING GEARS AND PUT MY CAR IN REVERSE WITH ACCELERATION. AS MY CAR WAS IN MOTION THE CAR DANGEROUSLY SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BUSY ROAD AND I HAD TO APPLY THE BRAKES QUICKLY WHILE ROLLING AND IN MOTION. AS MY CAR WAS IN MOTION THE CAR DANGEROUSLY SHUT OFF. MY DAD AND I CHECKED THE TRANSMISSION FLUID AND THE TRANSMISSION FLUID SEEMED OKAY THIS TIME. THE 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING DANGEROUSLY SHUTS OFF WHILE ROLLING AND IN MOTION. NO LIGHT STAYS ON DURING THE DURATION OF THE TRIPS TO WARN ME OF ANYTHING THAT MAY BE MALFUNCTIONING. THE 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING SHUTS OFF WITH NO WARNING WHILE IN MOTION. AFTER IT SHUTS OFF WHILE IN MOTION THE MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LIGHT COMES ON AND IT GOES OFF. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP THAT I HAD BEEN TAKING MY CAR IN FOR SERVICE SINCE I BROUGHT IT. THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP HAS EXPRESSED UNCERTAINTY ABOUT FINDING THE PROBLEM. I SPOKE WITH CORPORATE WITH MY VIN AND THEY DID NOT HELP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

1/27/2016 - WINDER, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASH COVER BECAME DETACHED NEAR THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V338000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2016 - METHUEN, MA
MY FATHER OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING LIMITED. AROUND THE YEAR 2014 AND 70,000 MILES, THE CAR STARTED TO ACT LIKE IT WAS POSSESSED. RADIO, HAZARD LIGHTS, INTERIOR LIGHTS WOULD TURN ON ALL BY THEMSELVES. MY FATHER TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. THEY TOLD HIM THAT THE RADIO STAYED AWAKE WHILE THE CAR WAS TURNED OFF AND THAT THIS WAS CAUSING A DRAW ON THE BATTERY. THEY TOLD HIM HE COULD REPLACE THE RADIO FOR $900 OR JUST PULL THE FUSE. THIS WOULD CURE THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THE BATTERY WAS TRASH AND IT COST HIM OVER $300 TO REPLACE. THE KNEW BATTERY DIDN'T LAST A YEAR. THEY REPLACED THE BATTERY B/C IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. HOWEVER, NOW THEY SAID, THAT AFTER THE TEST PERFORMED A DRAW TEST, THERE WAS AN INTERMITTENT DRAW OF 1 AMP OR MORE AT TIMES. THEY COULDN'T ISOLATE THE CIRCUIT AND THAT IT SEEMED TO BE SOMETHING INTERNAL TO TIPM CAUSING ISSUE. THEY SAID THEY COULD REPLACE FOR $765 BUT WOULD HAVE TO RECHECK, AND COULDN'T GUARANTEE THAT WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY RECOMMEND THAT HE SHOULD JUST DRIVE THE CAR TO KEEP THE BATTERY CHARGED. I WOULD LIKE TO LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS CLASS ACTION VS. CHRYSLER. YOU CAN CONTACT ME AT THIS EMAIL OR CALL ME AT [XXX] THANK YOU, [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2015 - CLINTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE TPM WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

12/8/2015 - RANDOLPH, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE TIRE AND BATTERY WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT AFTER HE REACHED HIS DESTINATION, THE VEHICLE BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR CAUSED THE BATTERY TO BECOME INOPERABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds