Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 2008 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1734 complaints filed for the 2008 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (347) Equipment (19) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Electric (12) Traction Control System (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (5) Power Train (50) Service Brakes Hydraulic (257) Unknown Or Other (59)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (37) Seat Belts (10) Steering (75) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electrical System (1136) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (14) Structure (45) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (86) Suspension (23) Visibility Wiper (40)
Engine (153) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (35) Wheels (28)
Engine And Engine Cooling (47)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 259
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/13/2017 - CASTLE HAYNE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE INADVERTENTLY VEERED TO THE LEFT AND THE EPS AND ABS WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A FAULTY TIRE. THE TIRE WAS ROTATED TO THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ANOTHER INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A STEERING ANGLE MODULE AND CLOCK SPRING MALFUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/8/2017 - KELLER, TX
MY 2008 T&C'S TPIM STARTED ACTING UP (KEY CLICK/NO START) WHEN IN THE 90 DEGREE SUMMER OF 2017. NOW IT CONSISTENTLY DOES THIS WHEN THE EXTERNAL TEMPERATURE IS ABOVE 80 DEGREES. I'VE GOTTEN BY WITH RESETTING THE GEAR SELECTOR AND IT WILL START ON THE FIRST OR SECOND TRY BUT RECENTLY IT IS GETTING WORSE. RECENTLY, 2016, I ALSO NOTICED THAT MY TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM WILL GO OUT UNTIL I RESTART THE CAR. THE TPIM LACKS A HEAT SHIELD AND IS GETTING AFFECTED BY HEAT. I'M WAITING/HOPING FOR A RECALL ON THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/6/2017 - CANTON, MS
OIL CONSUMPTION BEYOND NORMAL. I HAVE BEEN RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE AND FOUND A WIDE PROBLEM FOR CHRYSLER/JEEP MODEL YEARS UP THROUGH 2011 WITH THE 3.8 LITER ENGINE. THERE IS A DEFECT WITH THE VALVE GUIDES AND SEALS THAT ALLOWS OIL TO BE BURNED AT A FAR GREATER RATE THAN WHAT THE INDUSTRY STANDARD WOULD SAY IS NORMAL OIL CONSUMPTION. WITH THIS ISSUE IT USES MORE THAN A QUART PER 1,000 MILES. DEALER HAS SAID THIS IS NORMAL OIL CONSUMPTION. SINCE THE GUIDES ARE DEFECTIVE ALONG WITH THE SEALS THIS IS CAUSING DRY START EVEN WITH LOW MILES! I AM METICULOUS WITH MAINTENANCE ON MY VEHICLES, DAILY DRIVEN MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES APPROX. 30 MILES DAILY. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS STARTED IN THE MORNINGS YOU CAN HEAR THE DRY START TO THE VALVE TRAIN. IT GOES AWAY AS SOON AS THE ENGINE IS RUNNING AND OIL IS CIRCULATING. HOWEVER YOU CAN HEAR THE VALVE TRAIN IS NOISIER THAN USUAL. I HAVE BEEN SERVICING VEHICLES FOR OVER 35 YEARS NOW BOTH PROFESSIONALLY AND AS A HOBBYIST. THIS IS CLEARLY A DESIGN FLAW TO THIS PARTICULAR ENGINE. I PERSONALLY KNOW SOMEONE WHO RECENTLY HAD TO REPLACE THEIR ENTIRE ENGINE BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. EVEN THE SIMPLEST OF INTERNET SEARCHES TURNS THIS ISSUE UP. I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS ISSUE. WE WOULD LIKE THE DEALER TO ADDRESS THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/31/2017 - COMMERCE, MI
I HAVE A 2008 CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY MINIVAN, I WILL BE DRIVING AND CAR WILL JUST SHUT OFF, IVE HAD SPARK PLUGS CHANGED AND TOOK IT TO DEALER COMPLAINING ABOUT IT. THE KINDA ACTED LIKE I WAS CRAZY TIL I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND A TON OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS. SOMETIMES IT WILL STALL ON ME 5 OR 6 TIMES A DAY, ITS VERY DANGEROUS POWER STEERING AND EVERYTHING ELSE JUST FAILS. I HAVE TO THROW THE CAR IN NEAUTRAL AND RESTART AS I AM AVOIDING CRASHING INTO ANYTHING. I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN IN ANY OTHER CAR AND DO NOT HAVE ANY RECOURSE TO TAKE IT TO A BUNCH OF MECHANICS AND WASTING MONEY WHEN CHRYSLER KNOWS ABOUT THIS RECURRING PROBLEM. I READ THEY ISSUED A RECALL ON 2010 T&C MINIVANS AND HAVE SPOKEN WITH QUITE A FEW PEOPLE WITH SIMILAR CARS DEALING WITH THE SAME ISSUES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/23/2017 - RUTHERGLEN, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V373000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2017 - RUTHERGLEN, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V373000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/4/2017 - MIAMI SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ACTIVATED, THE HAZARD WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED, AND A WARNING CHIME SOUNDED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE APPROXIMATELY FOUR TIMES. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTION THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER AN IGNITION SWITCH RECALL IN MAY OF 2016. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE RECALL DETAILS WERE NOT PROVIDED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/3/2017 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THERE SEEMS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH THE CLOCKSPRING MECHANISM IN THE STEERING COLUMN OF THE 2008 T&C VANS. MINE WENT OUT AND WHEN THE MECHANIC TRIED TO GET ONE FROM THE LOCAL DEALER HE WAS TOLD THAT IT IS BACKORDERED ALONG WITH SEVERAL HUNDRED BACKORDERED. OBVIOUSLY THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AS IT AFFECTS MANY ITEMS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/3/2017 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THERE SEEMS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH THE CLOCKSPRING MECHANISM IN THE STEERING COLUMN OF THE 2008 T&C VANS. MINE WENT OUT AND WHEN THE MECHANIC TRIED TO GET ONE FROM THE LOCAL DEALER HE WAS TOLD THAT IT IS BACKORDERED ALONG WITH SEVERAL HUNDRED BACKORDERED. OBVIOUSLY THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AS IT AFFECTS MANY ITEMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/2/2016 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V373000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 259
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds