Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CALIBER - 2008 DODGE CALIBER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 301 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE CALIBER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE CALIBER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE CALIBER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (18)
Communications (3) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (32) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electrical System (48) Exterior Lighting (14) Seat Belts (2) Structure (66) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (3) Suspension (84) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (37) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (13) Tires (12) Wheels (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

10/23/2018 - PORT CLINTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE CALIBER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, A DRAGGING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM UNDER THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER (WILMINGTON AUTO, 1780 ROMBACH AVE, WILMINGTON, OH) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE CONTROL ARM WAS FRACTURED DUE TO SEVERE RUSTING AND CORROSION OF THE SUBFRAME. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

10/23/2018 - PORT CLINTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE CALIBER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, A DRAGGING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM UNDER THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER (WILMINGTON AUTO, 1780 ROMBACH AVE, WILMINGTON, OH) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE CONTROL ARM WAS FRACTURED DUE TO SEVERE RUSTING AND CORROSION OF THE SUBFRAME. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

10/18/2018 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE CALIBER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE STARTED APPROXIMATELY SIX MONTHS AGO AND WAS BECOMING WORSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SPITZER DODGE JEEP RAM (13001 BROOK PARK ROAD, BROOK PARK, OH 44142) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS SEVERELY CORRODED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,860.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

10/16/2018 - APPONATTOX, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE CALIBER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, A CLUNKING NOISE WAS PRESENT COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR CROSS MEMBER HAD SEPARATED DUE TO SEVERE RUSTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER (HALEY OF FARMVILLE, 1906 S. MAIN ST., FARMVILLE, VA) WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/25/2018 - ORCHARD PARK, NY
MY 2008 DODGE CALIBER IS RUSTING ALL OVER DUE TO CHRYSLER NOT PREPPING/COATING THE VEHICLE PROPERLY. SO FAR I HAVE HAD THE CROSSMEMBER THAT HOLDS THE ENGINE ON REPLACED DUE TO RUST, THE OIL PAN AND THE POWER STEERING LINE RUSTED. I HAVE RUST ALL OVER THE BODY OF THE VEHICLE FROM INSIDE WHEEL WELL, BOTTOM OF DOORS, TRANSMISSION PAN, ABOVE THE WINDSHIELD, MULTIPLE PLACES ON THE HOOD, BOTTOM OF THE HATCH, ROCKER PANELS, HINGES ETC.... WAY TOO MANY PLACES FOR A VEHICLE THAT AGE. I HAVE SEEN OTHER 2008'S WITH NO RUST AT ALL. I HAVE MULTIPLE PICTURES BUT IT WILL ONLY ALLOW 5.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/10/2018 - HAZEL PARK, MI
SUBFRAME RUSTED THROUGH. DIAGNOSED THIS PAST SATURDAY. I'VE OWNED THE CAR FOR 8 YEARS AND HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE ON A VEHICLE. PICTURE ATTACHED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

9/1/2018 - WAPAKONETA, OH
THE PROBLEM DEAL WITH THE FRONT CROSSMEMBER SUBFRAME. THIS PART IS TOTAL JUNK. IT IS COMPLETED RUSTED OUT. IT WAS JUST A MIRACLE IT DID NOT CAUSE AN ACCIDENT PRIOR TO OUR FINDING IT NEEDED REPLACED. AFTER CHECKING ONLINE AND FINDING THE 2007 CALIBER'S WERE HANDLED UNDER A "RECALL" BUT NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE ON SUBSEQUENT YEARS. AFTER JUST LEAVING HOME THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL PULLED BADLY TO THE RIGHT, WHILE MAKING SCREAKING NOISES. THE CAR WAS LIMPED BACK INTO THE DRIVE AND THE PROBLEM FOUND. I BELIEVE THIS IS A VERY POORLY MADE PART, PROBABLY WITH INFERIOR STEEL. I HAVE ATTACHED TWO (2) PICTURES OF THE OLD SUBFRAME. THE CAR IS REGISTERED TO MY DAUGHTER [XXX] , I AM HER FATHER [XXX]. I CONTACTED A LOCAL DEALER AND EXPRESSED MY CONCERNS AND THEY INFORMED ME TO CONTACT DODGE/CHRYSLER WHICH I DID. THEY INFORMED THERE WAS NO ASSISTANCE FOR THIS ISSUE. THEY DID TAKE MY COMPLAINT. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE A SERIOUS SAFELY ISSUE WITH ANY VEHICLE THAT HAS THIS TYPE OF CROSSMEMBER SUBFRAME. PLEASE CONTACT ME IF YOU NEED ANY OTHER INFORMATION. [XXX]OR BY CELL PHONE [XXX]. I WOULD APPRECIATED ANY TYPE OF REPLY. SINCERELY [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/1/2018 - WAPAKONETA, OH
THE PROBLEM DEAL WITH THE FRONT CROSSMEMBER SUBFRAME. THIS PART IS TOTAL JUNK. IT IS COMPLETED RUSTED OUT. IT WAS JUST A MIRACLE IT DID NOT CAUSE AN ACCIDENT PRIOR TO OUR FINDING IT NEEDED REPLACED. AFTER CHECKING ONLINE AND FINDING THE 2007 CALIBER'S WERE HANDLED UNDER A "RECALL" BUT NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE ON SUBSEQUENT YEARS. AFTER JUST LEAVING HOME THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL PULLED BADLY TO THE RIGHT, WHILE MAKING SCREAKING NOISES. THE CAR WAS LIMPED BACK INTO THE DRIVE AND THE PROBLEM FOUND. I BELIEVE THIS IS A VERY POORLY MADE PART, PROBABLY WITH INFERIOR STEEL. I HAVE ATTACHED TWO (2) PICTURES OF THE OLD SUBFRAME. THE CAR IS REGISTERED TO MY DAUGHTER [XXX] , I AM HER FATHER [XXX]. I CONTACTED A LOCAL DEALER AND EXPRESSED MY CONCERNS AND THEY INFORMED ME TO CONTACT DODGE/CHRYSLER WHICH I DID. THEY INFORMED THERE WAS NO ASSISTANCE FOR THIS ISSUE. THEY DID TAKE MY COMPLAINT. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE A SERIOUS SAFELY ISSUE WITH ANY VEHICLE THAT HAS THIS TYPE OF CROSSMEMBER SUBFRAME. PLEASE CONTACT ME IF YOU NEED ANY OTHER INFORMATION. [XXX]OR BY CELL PHONE [XXX]. I WOULD APPRECIATED ANY TYPE OF REPLY. SINCERELY [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/5/2018 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
I TOOK CAR IN TO HAVE BALL JOINTS REPLACEDPLUS THE STEERING AND STRUTS LOOKED AT. MECHANIC SHOWED THAT THE FRAME IS TOTALLY RUSTED THROUGH. NO OTHER WORK CAN BE DONE ON THE CAR WITH THIS HUGE ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/5/2018 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
I TOOK CAR IN TO HAVE BALL JOINTS REPLACEDPLUS THE STEERING AND STRUTS LOOKED AT. MECHANIC SHOWED THAT THE FRAME IS TOTALLY RUSTED THROUGH. NO OTHER WORK CAN BE DONE ON THE CAR WITH THIS HUGE ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds