Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2008 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1653 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (68) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (112) Exterior Lighting (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Unknown Or Other (34)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Fuel Propulsion System (27) Parking Brake (1) Steering (921) Vehicle Speed Control (171)
Engine (68) Fuel System Gasoline (21) Power Train (313) Structure (34) Visibility (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (22) Visibility Wiper (4)
Equipment (3) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Seats (3) Tires (23) Wheels (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 199
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/19/2019 - FORNEY, TX
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD ESCAPE. WHEN THE CONTACT ENTERED THE VEHICLE AND CLOSED THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR, THE FRONT PASSENGER WINDOW SLID DOWN INTO THE DOOR AND COULD NOT BE RAISED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED FOUR TIMES ON THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW, SIX TIMES ON THE FRONT PASSENGER WINDOW, TWICE ON THE REAR PASSENGER WINDOW, AND ONCE ON THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC EACH TIME TO HAVE THE FAILURES REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED TOWN EAST FORD (LOCATED AT 18411 LYNDON B JOHNSON FWY, MESQUITE, TX 75150,(972) 584-9140) AND INFORMED THEM OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/12/2019 - MADISON HEIGHTS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE STEERING LOST POWER AND THE POWER STEERING ASSIST INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN MADE A LOT OF NOISE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 160,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/8/2019 - GRAYS RIVER, WA
WHILE DRIVING I SUDDENLY LOST POWERSTEERING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/4/2019 - KNOXVILLE, TN
CAR WAS BRAKING ERRONEOUSLY AS I WAS DRIVING. MISDIAGNOSED TWICE, IT WAS ULTIMATELY DIAGNOSED AS ABS MODULE FAILURE. THIS PUT A STRAIN ON MY ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION AND OF COURSE, THE BRAKES. THIS IS A VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR IF YOU GET A NEW MODULE AND EVEN WITH A REBUILT ONE. THE INITIAL REBUILT ONE AS ALSO FAULTY. REPAIR PLACE STRUGGLED TO GET A UNIT BECAUSE THEY ARE SO IN DEMAND, I REBUILT MY TRANSMISSION LESS THAN THREE YEARS AGO M(WHICH ALSO SHOULDN'T HAVE HAPPENED) AND NOW IT IS DAMAGED. EVEN WITH A USED UNIT, THE TOTAL REPAIR WAS $1200, NOT COUNTING THE RENTAL CAR AFTER THE FIRST REPLACEMENT MODULE FAILED. AS THIS IS A BRAKE ISSUE, IT WAS RECOMMENDED THAT I REPORT IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2019 - PRINCETON, TX
MY VEHICLE WILL BE IN MOTION WHILE DRIVING AND SUDDENLY HAVE A SHIFTING PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE WILL SHAKE AND STUTTER AND LOOSES POWER NO MATTER HOW MUCH YOU PRESS YOUR FOOT ON THE GAS PEDDLE. MY ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF A COUPLE TIMES AND THEN ONCE MY VEHICLE SHIFTED, IT WOULD IDLE ROUGH AND ACT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE WHEN I WOULD STOP AT A LIGHT. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR SEVERAL DAYS NOW AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS ON RESIDENTIAL STREETS AND THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS NOT COME ON SINCE. I TOOK IT TO HAVE THE ERROR CODE READ FROM THE ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON BUT IT WAS ONLY A GENERIC CODE. ONE OF THE CODES WAS FOR AN AIRBAG SENSOR. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2019 - PRINCETON, TX
MY VEHICLE WILL BE IN MOTION WHILE DRIVING AND SUDDENLY HAVE A SHIFTING PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE WILL SHAKE AND STUTTER AND LOOSES POWER NO MATTER HOW MUCH YOU PRESS YOUR FOOT ON THE GAS PEDDLE. MY ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF A COUPLE TIMES AND THEN ONCE MY VEHICLE SHIFTED, IT WOULD IDLE ROUGH AND ACT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE WHEN I WOULD STOP AT A LIGHT. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR SEVERAL DAYS NOW AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS ON RESIDENTIAL STREETS AND THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS NOT COME ON SINCE. I TOOK IT TO HAVE THE ERROR CODE READ FROM THE ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON BUT IT WAS ONLY A GENERIC CODE. ONE OF THE CODES WAS FOR AN AIRBAG SENSOR. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/27/2019 - LAKEWOOD, CO
ALL ASSOCIATED BRAKE FAILURE WARNING MESSAGES APPEAR ON DASH. TOOK IT TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED IT AS A HYDRAULIC CONTROL UNIT FAILURE. REPAIRS QUOTED AT $5000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/25/2019 - WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA
FORD ESCAPE - BRAKES STARTED TO GET VERY VERY MUSHY. ONCE I PUSHED ON THE BRAKES, THE PEDAL WOULD KEEP DROPPING AND NOT BE RESPONSIVE. LUCKILY I HAD ENOUGH CAR LENGTHS IN FRONT OF ME AND WAS GOING SLOWLY ENOUGH ON NEIGHBORHOOD STREETS TO STOP WITHOUT INJURING ANYTHING. LUCKILY I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY! THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHILE DRIVING, SO I TOOK MY CAR TO A LOCAL SHOP AND THEY REPLACED THE MASTER CYLINDER. THAT STILL DID NOT RESOLVE THE ISSUE SO THEY SAID THE HYDRAULIC CONTROL UNIT IS FAULTY AND I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DRIVE MY CAR (AS THE BRAKES COULD COMPLETELY FAIL AT ANY TIME). TOOK THE CAR TO FORD AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE MASTER CYLINDER (JUST REPLACED) AND SAD IF IT WASN'T THAT - IT WAS THE HYDRAULIC CONTROL UNIT. THEY DID NOTHING TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THIS IS EXTREMELY UNSAFE AND I CANNOT DRIVE MY CAR SINCE THE BRAKES ARE FAILING!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/21/2019 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE ABS MODULE IS BAD READ TONS OF FORUMS SAME PROBLEM I ALMOST DIED DUE TO THIS. SECOND QUARTER PANELS STARTING TO RUST. THIS SHOULDN'T HAPPEN LAW WAS PASSED IN 70S TO PREVENT THIS. REQD TONS OF FORUMS PEOPLE SAME PROBLEM BOTH NEED RECALL ASAP

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/21/2019 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE ABS MODULE IS BAD READ TONS OF FORUMS SAME PROBLEM I ALMOST DIED DUE TO THIS. SECOND QUARTER PANELS STARTING TO RUST. THIS SHOULDN'T HAPPEN LAW WAS PASSED IN 70S TO PREVENT THIS. REQD TONS OF FORUMS PEOPLE SAME PROBLEM BOTH NEED RECALL ASAP

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 199
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds