Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2008 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1653 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (68) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (112) Exterior Lighting (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Unknown Or Other (34)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Fuel Propulsion System (27) Parking Brake (1) Steering (921) Vehicle Speed Control (171)
Engine (68) Fuel System Gasoline (21) Power Train (313) Structure (34) Visibility (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (38) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (22) Visibility Wiper (4)
Equipment (3) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Seats (3) Tires (23) Wheels (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 151
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/19/2019 - FORNEY, TX
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD ESCAPE. WHEN THE CONTACT ENTERED THE VEHICLE AND CLOSED THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR, THE FRONT PASSENGER WINDOW SLID DOWN INTO THE DOOR AND COULD NOT BE RAISED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED FOUR TIMES ON THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW, SIX TIMES ON THE FRONT PASSENGER WINDOW, TWICE ON THE REAR PASSENGER WINDOW, AND ONCE ON THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC EACH TIME TO HAVE THE FAILURES REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED TOWN EAST FORD (LOCATED AT 18411 LYNDON B JOHNSON FWY, MESQUITE, TX 75150,(972) 584-9140) AND INFORMED THEM OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/12/2019 - MADISON HEIGHTS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE STEERING LOST POWER AND THE POWER STEERING ASSIST INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN MADE A LOT OF NOISE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 160,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/4/2019 - KNOXVILLE, TN
CAR WAS BRAKING ERRONEOUSLY AS I WAS DRIVING. MISDIAGNOSED TWICE, IT WAS ULTIMATELY DIAGNOSED AS ABS MODULE FAILURE. THIS PUT A STRAIN ON MY ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION AND OF COURSE, THE BRAKES. THIS IS A VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR IF YOU GET A NEW MODULE AND EVEN WITH A REBUILT ONE. THE INITIAL REBUILT ONE AS ALSO FAULTY. REPAIR PLACE STRUGGLED TO GET A UNIT BECAUSE THEY ARE SO IN DEMAND, I REBUILT MY TRANSMISSION LESS THAN THREE YEARS AGO M(WHICH ALSO SHOULDN'T HAVE HAPPENED) AND NOW IT IS DAMAGED. EVEN WITH A USED UNIT, THE TOTAL REPAIR WAS $1200, NOT COUNTING THE RENTAL CAR AFTER THE FIRST REPLACEMENT MODULE FAILED. AS THIS IS A BRAKE ISSUE, IT WAS RECOMMENDED THAT I REPORT IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2019 - PRINCETON, TX
MY VEHICLE WILL BE IN MOTION WHILE DRIVING AND SUDDENLY HAVE A SHIFTING PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE WILL SHAKE AND STUTTER AND LOOSES POWER NO MATTER HOW MUCH YOU PRESS YOUR FOOT ON THE GAS PEDDLE. MY ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF A COUPLE TIMES AND THEN ONCE MY VEHICLE SHIFTED, IT WOULD IDLE ROUGH AND ACT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE WHEN I WOULD STOP AT A LIGHT. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR SEVERAL DAYS NOW AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS ON RESIDENTIAL STREETS AND THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS NOT COME ON SINCE. I TOOK IT TO HAVE THE ERROR CODE READ FROM THE ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON BUT IT WAS ONLY A GENERIC CODE. ONE OF THE CODES WAS FOR AN AIRBAG SENSOR. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2019 - PRINCETON, TX
MY VEHICLE WILL BE IN MOTION WHILE DRIVING AND SUDDENLY HAVE A SHIFTING PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE WILL SHAKE AND STUTTER AND LOOSES POWER NO MATTER HOW MUCH YOU PRESS YOUR FOOT ON THE GAS PEDDLE. MY ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF A COUPLE TIMES AND THEN ONCE MY VEHICLE SHIFTED, IT WOULD IDLE ROUGH AND ACT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE WHEN I WOULD STOP AT A LIGHT. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR SEVERAL DAYS NOW AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS ON RESIDENTIAL STREETS AND THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS NOT COME ON SINCE. I TOOK IT TO HAVE THE ERROR CODE READ FROM THE ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON BUT IT WAS ONLY A GENERIC CODE. ONE OF THE CODES WAS FOR AN AIRBAG SENSOR. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/25/2019 - WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA
FORD ESCAPE - BRAKES STARTED TO GET VERY VERY MUSHY. ONCE I PUSHED ON THE BRAKES, THE PEDAL WOULD KEEP DROPPING AND NOT BE RESPONSIVE. LUCKILY I HAD ENOUGH CAR LENGTHS IN FRONT OF ME AND WAS GOING SLOWLY ENOUGH ON NEIGHBORHOOD STREETS TO STOP WITHOUT INJURING ANYTHING. LUCKILY I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY! THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHILE DRIVING, SO I TOOK MY CAR TO A LOCAL SHOP AND THEY REPLACED THE MASTER CYLINDER. THAT STILL DID NOT RESOLVE THE ISSUE SO THEY SAID THE HYDRAULIC CONTROL UNIT IS FAULTY AND I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DRIVE MY CAR (AS THE BRAKES COULD COMPLETELY FAIL AT ANY TIME). TOOK THE CAR TO FORD AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE MASTER CYLINDER (JUST REPLACED) AND SAD IF IT WASN'T THAT - IT WAS THE HYDRAULIC CONTROL UNIT. THEY DID NOTHING TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THIS IS EXTREMELY UNSAFE AND I CANNOT DRIVE MY CAR SINCE THE BRAKES ARE FAILING!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

6/14/2019 - OHIO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL SEIZED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL SEIZED AGAIN AND THE CONTACT HAD TO COAST THE VEHICLE OFF THE HIGHWAY TO THE SHOULDER. THE CONTACT WAS ALMOST STRUCK FROM THE REAR BY A SEMI TRUCK. THE CONTACT CALLED SHIMMERS FORD (10401 WOODCREST DR NW, COON RAPIDS, MN 55433, (612) 424-7648) AND DIXON FORD (489 E 2ND ST, DIXON, IL 61021, (815) 288-3366) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND TRANSFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE NHTSA HOTLINE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 196,370.

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2019 - CHELSEA, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 FORD ESCAPE. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. SEVERAL UNKNOWN FORD DEALERS WERE CONTACTED BY TELEPHONE AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/24/2019 - OAK RIDGE, TN
WHILE DRIVING A A SPEED OF 45MPH, THE STEERING WENT COMPLETELY OUT. I APPLIED MY BRAKES TO TURN RIGHT TO TURN ON A SECONDARY ROAD WITH LESS TRAFFIC AND INTO A SAFER LOCATION. WHILE TRYING TO TURN THE WHEEL, IT WAS BARELY ABLE TO MAKE THE TURN. I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND WAS UNABLE TO EVEN TURN THE WHEEL AT THIS POINT. I SHUT OFF THE ENGINE AND LET THE VEHICLE SIT FOR A FEW MINUTES AS I TRIED TO DECIDE WHAT TO DO. I TURNED THE IGNITION BACK ON AND THE STEERING WHEEL WAS LOOSE AND FUNCTIONAL AT THIS TIME. THIS IS THE SECOND INCIDENCE THIS HAS HAPPENED.LUCKILY, NO ONE WAS INJURED IN AN ACCIDENT.I CALLED FORD AND EXPLAINED THE SITUATION AND THEY TOLD ME BASED ON MY VIN NUMBER, THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE. I DID A SEARCH AND FORD IS VERY MUCH AWARE OF STEERING ISSUES ON THIS YEAR AND MODEL VEHICLE, YET NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED FOR MY SPECIFIC VEHICLE THEY HAVE BEEN AWARE OF STEERING ISSUES FOR SEVERAL YEARS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/17/2019 - HARRISBURG, PA
WE HAVE BEEN HAVING ELECTRICAL SURGES IN OUR 2008 FORD ESCAPE XLS. THE SURGES ARE BECOMING MORE FREQUENT. THEY WILL HAPPEN WHEN WE ARE AT A STOP LIGHT, GETTING READY TO GO; AFTER HAVING MY FOOT ON THE GAS FOR A SECOND (OR LESS) A POWER SURGE WILL HAPPEN IN THE CAR (ABS LIGHT POPS ON AND 2 OTHERS). IT ALSO HAPPENS WHEN WE ARE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY GOING 60 OR 70 MPH AND ALL OF A SUDDEN A POWER SURGE HAPPENS. I DO NOT HAVE A CURRENT VIDEO OF THIS HAPPENING, BUT I WILL BE SURE TO GET ONE WITHIN THE NEXT DAY OR SO TO BE SURE I HAVE THIS PROOF ON FILE FOR YOU, IF NEEDED. PLEASE HELP US WITH THIS ISSUE. THIS HAS BEEN ONGOING SINCE WINTER. WE ORIGINALLY THOUGHT THE ENGINE JUST NEEDED TO WARM UP BECAUSE OF HOW COLD WINTER GOT BUT IT IS NOW WARMER AND THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. THE DATE BELOW IS THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT, THE FIRST TIME WE HAD A POWER SURGE WAS IN LATE JANUARY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 151
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds