Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2008 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 313 complaints filed for the 2008 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (39) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (25) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (11) Steering (50) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (1) Structure (15) Visibility (7)
Engine (44) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (14) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8) Wheels (6)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/10/2019 - WARWICK, RI
I WAS WASHING MY CAR AND THE WINDSHEILD CRACKED AND SUN ROOF SHATTERED, TRUCK WAS OFF AND I WAS WASHING IT IN MY YARD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/15/2019 - FALL RIVER, MA
THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER ON MINE IS STARTING TO FAIL, THE GAUGES AREN'T ALWAYS ACCURATE, THE BRAKE LIGHT STAYS ON MOST OF THE TIME EVEN THOUGH THERE IS NO PROBLEM IN THE BRAKE SYSTEM THE PARKING BRAKE SENSOR IS GOOD ALREADY CHECKED IT, AND THE FLUID LEVEL IS FULL AND THE SENSOR IN THE MASTER CYLINDER IS GOOD. DUE TO THE CLUSTER MALFUNCTION ESPECIALLY AT NIGHT THE INTERIOR LIGHT WILL COME ON AND STAY ON WHILE DRIVING LEADING TO A GLARE ON THE WINDSHIELD AND SIDE WINDOWS WITCH MAKES SEEING WHERE YOUR GOING VERY DIFFICULT, AND ABOVE THE CLUSTER ON THE DASHBOARD IT BEGINS TO GET HOT WHILE DRIVING SEEMS TO BE A SAFETY ISSUE. WHILE THE TRUCK IS PARKED THE INTERIOR LIGHT WILL COME ON FOR NO REASON. I CHECKED THE SWITCH ITS NOT THAT AND FROM WHAT IVE GATHERED ITS THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND THE CONNECTION ON IT, THE CLUSTERS SEEM TO BE A WEAK SPOT ON THESE TRUCKS IVE SEEN MULTIPLE TRUCKS WITH THIS PROBLEM

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/15/2019 - FALL RIVER, MA
THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER ON MINE IS STARTING TO FAIL, THE GAUGES AREN'T ALWAYS ACCURATE, THE BRAKE LIGHT STAYS ON MOST OF THE TIME EVEN THOUGH THERE IS NO PROBLEM IN THE BRAKE SYSTEM THE PARKING BRAKE SENSOR IS GOOD ALREADY CHECKED IT, AND THE FLUID LEVEL IS FULL AND THE SENSOR IN THE MASTER CYLINDER IS GOOD. DUE TO THE CLUSTER MALFUNCTION ESPECIALLY AT NIGHT THE INTERIOR LIGHT WILL COME ON AND STAY ON WHILE DRIVING LEADING TO A GLARE ON THE WINDSHIELD AND SIDE WINDOWS WITCH MAKES SEEING WHERE YOUR GOING VERY DIFFICULT, AND ABOVE THE CLUSTER ON THE DASHBOARD IT BEGINS TO GET HOT WHILE DRIVING SEEMS TO BE A SAFETY ISSUE. WHILE THE TRUCK IS PARKED THE INTERIOR LIGHT WILL COME ON FOR NO REASON. I CHECKED THE SWITCH ITS NOT THAT AND FROM WHAT IVE GATHERED ITS THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND THE CONNECTION ON IT, THE CLUSTERS SEEM TO BE A WEAK SPOT ON THESE TRUCKS IVE SEEN MULTIPLE TRUCKS WITH THIS PROBLEM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/13/2019 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
I WAS DRIVING ON ON A CITY STREET WHEN THE TRUCK STARTED TO HESITATED. THE TRANSMISSION SEEMED TO CHANGE HARD. I STOPPED AT A LIGHT AND I NOTICED THAT THE O/D INDICATOR WAS ON. WHEN I STARTED TO MOVE AGAIN, IT SEEMED AS IF THE TRANSMISSION WAS SLIPPING AND THE TRANS FAULT INDICATOR CAME ON. THE TRANSMISSION DID NOT CHANGE SMOOTHLY WHEN I DROVE APPROXIMATELY ANOTHER MILE. I PARKED THE TRUCK IN FEAR OF FURTHER DAMAGING THE TRUCK.

View Details

STEERING

6/7/2019 - MILLERSVILLE, PA
MY TRUCK HAS 80,000 MILES. I NOTICED THAT GRADUALLY THE STEERING WAS BECOMING STIFFER AND HARDER TO TURN FEELING AS IF IT WAS BINDING AT TIMES. IT GOT TO A POINT THAT WHEN MAKING A TURN THE WHEEL WOULD NOT RECOVER AND ACTUALLY HAD TO BE PULLED BACK MAKING IT DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. I TOOK IT TO MY SERVICE SHOP AND THEY REPLACED THE POWER STEERING PUMP WHICH DID NOTHING TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. I THEN DID SOME RESEARCH ON-LINE AND FOUND VARIOUS FORUMS WHERE OWNERS AND REPAIR TECHS DESCRIBED THE TWO "U" JOINTS ON THE F-150 STEERING SHAFT BECOMING BADLY CORRODED MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL AND POINTING OUT THE JOINTS HAVE NO GREASE FITTING. I CHECKED THE JOINTS ON MY TRUCK AND THEY ERE CORRODED. I APPLIED LUBRICANT EXTERNALLY AND IT COMPLETELY ELIMINATED MY PROBLEM, HOWEVER, I HAVE TO REAPPLY LUBRICANT EVERY COUPLE OF MONTHS. THE ATTACHED PHOTO SHOWS THE UPPER JOINT AFTER I LUBRICATED IT. FORD HAS TO KNOW THIS SAFETY ISSUE EXISTS AND THAT THIS IS COSTING OWNERS NEEDLESS REPAIR COSTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/28/2019 - BELPRE, OH
WHILE THE TRUCK WAS PARKED ON LEVEL GROUND IN A PARKING LOT, I NOTICED WHAT A APPEARED TO BE A HOLE RUSTED THROUGH THE DRIVERS SIDE FRAME. FURTHER INVESTIGATION REVEALED THAT THERE WERE SEVERAL LARGE HOLES BEGINNING IN FRONT OF THE REAR WHEEL AND EXTENDING TO ABOUT THE MIDDLE OF THE CAB. THESE HOLES ARE ALL THE WAY THROUGH, (BOTH SIDES OF THE RAIL), ON BOTH SIDES OF THE TRUCK. SEE ATTACHED PICTURES. I FEEL THIS SIGNIFICANTLY COMPROMISES THE INTEGRITY OF THE FRAME AND MAKES IT LESS SAFE TO OPERATE. I AM ALSO VERY SURPRISED TO SEE SO MUCH CORROSION ON AN 11 YEAR TRUCK. THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED TO THE DEALER THAT SOLD ME THE TRUCK 5 YEARS AGO, TO FORD MOTOR CO., AND TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU. NONE OF THESE ATTEMPTS HAVE RESULTED IN ANY ACTION. I'M SURE MINE IS NOT THE ONLY F150 WITH THIS PROBLEM AND I WANT TO MAKE SURE THE WORD GETS OUT.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/24/2019 - FLORISSANT, CO
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS TAKING MY GRANDCHILDREN HOME ON A DIRT ROAD AND HIT A DEER WHICH SPUN ME AROUND AND SMASHED INTO A BIG TREE HEAD ON.THE CRASH WAS SO HARD THAT THE FRONT BUMPER WAS CRUSHED AGAINST THE MOTOR BLOCK,DECLARED TOTALLED FROM MY INSURANCE COMPANY.MYSELF,I HAD A WHIPLASH,MY GREAT NIECE (PASSENGER) BROKE HER WRIST,MY GRANDSON HAS LEG PROBLEMS AND MY GRANDDAUGHTER HIT HER HEAD REAL HARD!MR. (XXXXX) THE OWNER WAS DRIVING!!!!!!! PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/24/2019 - FLORISSANT, CO
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS TAKING MY GRANDCHILDREN HOME ON A DIRT ROAD AND HIT A DEER WHICH SPUN ME AROUND AND SMASHED INTO A BIG TREE HEAD ON.THE CRASH WAS SO HARD THAT THE FRONT BUMPER WAS CRUSHED AGAINST THE MOTOR BLOCK,DECLARED TOTALLED FROM MY INSURANCE COMPANY.MYSELF,I HAD A WHIPLASH,MY GREAT NIECE (PASSENGER) BROKE HER WRIST,MY GRANDSON HAS LEG PROBLEMS AND MY GRANDDAUGHTER HIT HER HEAD REAL HARD!MR. (XXXXX) THE OWNER WAS DRIVING!!!!!!! PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/24/2019 - FLORISSANT, CO
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2008 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AN UNKNOWN SPEED, WHEN THE VEHICLE HIT A DEER CAUSING THE CONTACT TO LOSE CONTROL AND HIT A TREE. THE CONTACT STATED THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE RECEIVED THE MAJORITY OF THE IMPACT. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT STATED MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS PROVIDED FOR 4 PEOPLE BUT THE INJURIES WERE UNKNOWN. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT. THE CONTACT HAS CALLED LOCAL DEALER PHIL LONG FORD OF MOTOR CITY LOCATED AT 1212 MOTOR CITY DR, COLORADO SPRINGS, CO 80905, (866) 947-5647 TO NOTIFY FAILURE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN INFORMED OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,401.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/17/2019 - CLEAR LAKE, IA
TOOK VEHICLE IN FOR ENGINE REPAIR. TECHNICIAN DISCOVERED BOTH FRONT COIL SPRINGS BROKEN. ALMOST NEW TIRES WORN BALD ON THE INNER EDGE. ONLINE RESEARCH INDICATES THIS HAS BEEN A MAJOR COMMON PROBLEM ON THE 04-08 F-150, WITH NO RELIEF FROM FORD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds