Auto Recalls for Consumers

GRACO 8J00BRV (NAUTILUS) - 2008 GRACO 8J00BRV (NAUTILUS) Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by GRACO

There are 18 complaints filed for the 2008 GRACO 8J00BRV (NAUTILUS)

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 GRACO 8J00BRV (NAUTILUS). These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 GRACO 8J00BRV (NAUTILUS), you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Child Seat (18)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS

5/10/2011 - SALLISAW, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A GRACO NAUTILUS THREE-IN-ONE CHILD RESTRAINT SEAT, MODEL NUMBER 8J00BRV. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TWENTY-ONE MONTH OLD CHILD WAS ABLE TO UNHOOK THE HARNESS STRAPS FROM THE CHILD SEAT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CLIP THAT WAS ACROSS THE CHILD COULD ALSO BE PUSHED OUTWARD AND THE CHILD COULD ESCAPE FROM THE RESTRAINT ALTOGETHER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS

2/10/2011 - PUYALLUP, WA
CROTCH BUCKLES ON GRACO NAUTILUS CAR SEAT HAVE PLASTIC HOUSING THAT IS CRACKING. GRACO INFORMED ME THAT I COULD BUY A REPLACEMENT HARNESS SET FOR $10. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE TO ME AS IT IS OBVIOUSLY A DEFECT IN THE MATERIAL THEY ARE USING. I KNOW OF OTHERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS

2/10/2011 - ORLANDO, FL
THERE WASN'T AN INCIDENT, AND THERE HASN'T BEEN A FAILURE. THE CROTCH BUCKLES ON OUR GRACO NAUTILUS ARE CRACKED ON BOTH SIDES. I CALLED GRACO, AND THEY HAVE OFFERED TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE HARNESS ASSEMBLY FOR FREE. I ONLY NOTICED A FEW DAYS AGO, SO I ON'T KNOW EXACTLY WHEN IT HAPPENED.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS BUCKLE

11/20/2010 - HIDDEN SPRINGS, ID
THE LEFT BUCKLE TONGUE ON OUR GRACO NAUTILUS (MODEL #8J00GLX) STICKS IN THE CROTCH BUCKLE NEARLY EVERY SINGLE TIME WE USE THE SEAT. IT IS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO UNBUCKLE. IT TAKES SEVERAL MINUTES TO GET MY CHILD UNBUCKLED FROM THIS SEAT. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD, ESPECIALLY IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY. THE BUCKLE TONGUES ARE CLEAN, SO DEBRIS IS NOT THE ISSUE. IT FEELS LIKE THE METAL OF THE BUCKLE TONGUE IS CATCHING INSIDE THE BUCKLE. THE FACT THAT THE BUCKLE TONGUE CATCHES IN THE CROTCH BUCKLE ALSO MAKES ME WORRY THAT THE BUCKLE MAY NOT BE SECURE IN A CRASH.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS

10/21/2010 - GRANBURY, TX
WE BOUGHT THE NAUTILUS 3-IN-1 CAR SEAT FOR OUR SON LAST YEAR AND HE HAS JUST TURNED 2YR OLD. WE HAVE A BIG PROBLEM WITH THE CAR SEAT BECAUSE OUR SON CAN UNDO THE RELEASE BUTTON WHILE HE IS IN THE SEAT AND UNBUCKLE HIS SELF WHILE WE ARE DRIVING. THE RELEASE BUTTON IN THE FRONT IS WAY TOO EASY FOR HIM TO LOOSEN AND THEN GET OUT OF THE SEAT. WE ARE VERY CONCERNED WITH THIS BECAUSE HIS SAFETY IS AT RISK. MY HUSBAND HAD TO BUY A BUNGEE CORD AND INSERT IT THROUGH THE BOTTOM LOOP OF THE STRAP AND AFTER WE TIGHTEN HIM INTO THE SEAT WE HAVE TO ATTACH THE BUNGEE CORD TO THE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE SEAT. WE WOULD LIKE A SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM AND WE DO NOT FILL THAT THE BUNGEE CORD IS A PERMIT FIX BECAUSE IT IS VERY HARD TO GET ON AND OFF AND IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION WOULD BE VERY HAZARDS FOR OUR SON. PLEASE CONTACT ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE SO THAT WE CAN RESOLVE THIS ISSUE. IF YOU NEED PICTURES AND/OR VIDEO OF THE CAR SEAT AND MY SON GETTING OUT OF IT I WILL BE MORE THAN HAPPY TO SUPPLY THEM TO YOU. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND I LOOK FORWARD IN HEARING BACK FORM YOU SOON.

View Details

CHILD SEAT

5/27/2010 - CONNEAUT, OH
I HAVE THE GRACO NAUTILUS AN ALL MY WARNING STICKERS HAVE CAME OFF THE MODEL NUMBER IS 8J00BRV AND THE MANUFACTURED DATE IS 20080505 I STILL HAVE TO SEND IT BACK .

View Details

CHILD SEAT

4/30/2010 - FOSSTON , MN
I TOOK MY SONS GRACO NAUTILUS OUT OF THE CAR TO CLEAN IT AND NOTICED THE HEADREST WAS WOBBLY. AFTER REMOVING THE HEAD REST I FOUND A PLASTIC HOOK INSIDE THE HEADREAST SUPPORT HAD BROKEN OFF INSIDE THE CARSEAT. I HAD NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT OF ANY KIND NOR HAD THE CARSEAT BEEN DROPPED. AFTER CONTACTING GRACO AND BEING TOLD A REPLACEMENT PART WOULD TAKE SEVERAL WEEKS TO ARRIVE I INSTEAD EXCHANGED THE FAULTY SEAT AT THE STORE WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED (WALMART, BEMIDJI, MN).

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS

2/23/2010 - WARRENTON, VA
I OWN 2 GRACO NAUTIUS CARSEATS IN THE MATRIX COLOR. MY 2 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER, WHO HAS NEVER UNLATCHED HER BRITAX CARSEAT OR ANY OF OUR STROLLERS, UNDOES THE CHEST CLIP IN HER NAUTILUS CARSEAT. WE CAN NO LONGER USE THE CAR SEAT AND UPON TESTING OTHER CLIPS I HAVE DISCOVERED THAT THE GRACO CLIP IS MUCH EASIER THAN OTHER BRANDS TO OPEN. IN TALKING TO A FRIEND, HER DAUGHTER OPENED THE CHEST CLIP IN THE GRACO NAUTILUS IN HER PARENT'S CAR. I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM WITH MORE CHILDREN THAN MY DAUGHTER.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: HARNESS

2/19/2010 - RAWLINS, WY
TL CONTACT OWNS A GRACO NAUTILUS 8J00GLX (NA) CHILD SEAT THAT WAS MANUFACTURED ON 04/21/2008. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PLASTIC ON THE BOTTOM CLIP OF THE HARNESS CRACKED ON THE OUTSIDE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS SENT ANOTHER HARNESS. THE REPLACEMENT HARNESS ALSO CRACKED. THE CONTACT IS CURRENTLY WAITING ON A SECOND REPLACEMENT HARNESS FROM THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

CHILD SEAT

8/24/2009 - AMBLER, PA
I AM WRITING IN REGARDING TO THE GRACO NAUTILUS CAR SEAT. I OWN 4, ALL WITH DIFFERENT DATES OF MANUFACTURERS. I PURCHASED 2 SEATS AND THEN AN ANNOUNCEMENT WAS MADE AT LIFESAVERS 2008 STATING THAT THE SEATS COULD BE LATCHED IN HBB MODE. I E-MAILED GRACO ON MAY 28, 2008 TO CONFIRM THAT THIS INFORMATION WAS TRUE AND RECEIVED WRITTEN CONFIRMATION THAT ALL GRACO NAUTILUS SEATS COULD BE LATCHED AND THAT THE CHANGE WOULD BE UPDATED IN THE MANUAL. BECAUSE OF THIS, I PURCHASED 2 ADDITIONAL GRACO NAUTILUS' FOR OUR SECOND CAR. AT LIFESAVERS 2009, A GRACO REP MADE THE STATEMENT THAT THE NAUTILUS COULD NO LONGER BE LATCHED IN HBB MODE. TO MY KNOWLEDGE, NO EXPLANATION WAS GIVEN. THE PUBLIC WAS NEVER INFORMED OF THIS CHANGE AND GRACO CANNOT PROVIDE AN ANSWER. I HAVE MULTIPLE E-MAILS FROM GRACO AND THEY CLAIM THAT MY QUESTION OF WHETHER OR NOT MY SEATS CAN BE LATCHED IN HBB MODE IS "OUT OF THEIR SCOPE" AND THEY CANNOT PROVIDE AN ANSWER. THIS IS HIGHLY CONFUSING AND POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS. THEY OFFERED TO REFUND ME THE COST OF MY SEATS RATHER THAN PROVIDE AN ANSWER. WHEN I EXPRESSED CONCERN ABOUT MY CONFIDENCE IN A COMPANY THAT DOES NOT KNOW HOW IT'S CAR SEAT SHOULD BE USED, I WAS DIRECTED TO CONTACT THE LEGAL DEPARTMENT. MANY PEOPLE I KNOW OWN THIS SEAT. WE ARE BEING TOLD CONFLICTING INFORMATION. EACH REP HAS A DIFFERENT ANSWER. THERE ARE THREE DIFFERENT MANUALS STATING DIFFERENT INFORMATION REGARDING THIS ISSUE, YET IT HAS BEEN SAID THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NO DESIGN CHANGES TO THE SEAT. I ONLY WANT TO KNOW THE CORRECT WAY TO USE MY CAR SEAT. HOW CAN GRACO GET AWAY WITH THIS? THEY CLAIM THEY DO NOT KNOW THE ANSWER AND HAVE EXHAUSTED ALL RESOURCES TRYING TO PROVIDE ME WITH ONE. THEY WILL NOT EVEN CONFIRM WHETHER OR NOT I SHOULD USE THE SEATS ACCORDING TO THE MANUAL. WITH 4 SEATS AND 4 MANUALS, I DO NOT EVEN KNOW WHICH SEAT BELONGS TO EACH MANUAL AND I HAVE 2 MANUALS THAT DO NOT ADDRESS THE ISSUE AT ALL AND 2 MANUALS THAT SAY THE SEAT CAN BE LATCHED IN HBB MODE. HELP!

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds