Auto Recalls for Consumers

HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHX - 2008 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by HARLEY DAVIDSON

There are 13 complaints filed for the 2008 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Fuel System Other (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Wheels (1)
Engine (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/28/2014 - WINSTON SALEM , NC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGH WAY AND WAS IN THE FAST LANE WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY THROTTLE STOPPED RESPONDING AND I LOST POWER TO THE BIKE I THEN PULLED THE CLUTCH IN SO I DIDN'T COME TO SUDDEN STOP AND GET REAR ENDED BY THE CAR BEHIND ME AND I EASED OVER THE MEDIAN AND NOTICED MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON SO I TURNED THE BIKE OFF AND WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND STARTED IT BACK UP AND THE LIGHT RETURNED AND I WAS ABLE TO GET IT BACK TO THE HOUSE WITH LIMITED THROTTLE AND POWER AND CROSSING THE TWO LANES FOR TRAFFIC TO GET OFF THE HIGHWAY WAS THE SCARIEST THING I HAVE HAD TO DO ON A BIKE I WASN'T SURE WOULDN'T FAIL HALF WAY BETWEEN LANES SO IF THIS ISSUE COULD BE LOOKED INTO I THINK IT HAS POTENTIAL TO SAVE A LIFE AND I DON'T FEEL SAFE HAVING TO RIDE IN FEAR OF THIS TAKING PLACE AGAIN AND ITS BAD ENOUGH TO WORRY ABOUT TRAFFIC ITS SELF BUT TO ADD ANOTHER WORRY TO IT MAKES IT UNSAFE AND I FEEL THAT MORE LIVES ARE PUT AT RISK BECAUSE OF IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/28/2014 - WINSTON SALEM , NC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGH WAY AND WAS IN THE FAST LANE WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY THROTTLE STOPPED RESPONDING AND I LOST POWER TO THE BIKE I THEN PULLED THE CLUTCH IN SO I DIDN'T COME TO SUDDEN STOP AND GET REAR ENDED BY THE CAR BEHIND ME AND I EASED OVER THE MEDIAN AND NOTICED MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON SO I TURNED THE BIKE OFF AND WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND STARTED IT BACK UP AND THE LIGHT RETURNED AND I WAS ABLE TO GET IT BACK TO THE HOUSE WITH LIMITED THROTTLE AND POWER AND CROSSING THE TWO LANES FOR TRAFFIC TO GET OFF THE HIGHWAY WAS THE SCARIEST THING I HAVE HAD TO DO ON A BIKE I WASN'T SURE WOULDN'T FAIL HALF WAY BETWEEN LANES SO IF THIS ISSUE COULD BE LOOKED INTO I THINK IT HAS POTENTIAL TO SAVE A LIFE AND I DON'T FEEL SAFE HAVING TO RIDE IN FEAR OF THIS TAKING PLACE AGAIN AND ITS BAD ENOUGH TO WORRY ABOUT TRAFFIC ITS SELF BUT TO ADD ANOTHER WORRY TO IT MAKES IT UNSAFE AND I FEEL THAT MORE LIVES ARE PUT AT RISK BECAUSE OF IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/19/2013 - LOCKPORT, NY
WHILE DRIVING ON A VERY BUSY HIGHWAY AT AROUND 60 MPH I WENT TO PASS A CAR AND WHILE IN THE OTHER LANE PASSING I LOST ALL THROTTLE. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES AND VERY DANGEROUS. I HAVE BEEN RIDING MOTORCYCLES FOR 40+ YEARS AND CAN'T EVEN IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAPPEN TO AN INEXPERIENCED RIDER. I CAN NOT TO THIS DAY GET A STRAIGHT ANSWER FROM DEALER'S OR MECHANICS. I GUESS THIS IS ALL INCLUDED IN THE $22,000 I DISHED OUT.VERY VERY DANGEROUS. THERE ARE DEFINITE ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE (FLY BY WIRE).

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2013 - LOCKPORT, NY
WHILE DRIVING ON A VERY BUSY HIGHWAY AT AROUND 60 MPH I WENT TO PASS A CAR AND WHILE IN THE OTHER LANE PASSING I LOST ALL THROTTLE. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES AND VERY DANGEROUS. I HAVE BEEN RIDING MOTORCYCLES FOR 40+ YEARS AND CAN'T EVEN IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAPPEN TO AN INEXPERIENCED RIDER. I CAN NOT TO THIS DAY GET A STRAIGHT ANSWER FROM DEALER'S OR MECHANICS. I GUESS THIS IS ALL INCLUDED IN THE $22,000 I DISHED OUT.VERY VERY DANGEROUS. THERE ARE DEFINITE ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE (FLY BY WIRE).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/12/2012 - STERLING, VA
INSTALLED LED HEADLIGHT AND PASSING LIGHTS. HEADLIGHT FAILED IN HIGH AND LOW BEAM MODES AT NIGHT. RECHECKED INSTALLATION AND HAD FAILURES TWO ADDITIONAL TIMES. UNIT COMPLETELY FAILED ON DECEMBER 2, 2012. MILEAGE ON UNIT WAS LESS THAN 1000 MILES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/11/2012 - SOUTH BRIDGE , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HARLEY FLHX MOTORCYCLE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, A LOUD NOSE EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE BOTH WHEEL BEARINGS WERE REPLACED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IN 2012, THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE WHEEL BEARINGS WERE REPLACED FOR THE SECOND TIME BY THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/26/2012 - BURLINGAME, CA
COMPLETE THROTTLE FAILURE AT HIGHWAY SPEED. ERROR CODES COLLECTED INDICATE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE RESPONSE FAILURE. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS FAILURE ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. POSTINGS ON HD FORUMS INDICATE THE PROBLEM IS WIDE SPREAD ON HD MOTORCYCLES FROM 2008 FORWARD WITH AN ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL SYSTEM. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS HAZARD FOR WHICH HD HAS FAILED TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY OR OFFER TO CORRECT. PLEASE INVESTIGATE!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/26/2012 - BURLINGAME, CA
COMPLETE THROTTLE FAILURE AT HIGHWAY SPEED. ERROR CODES COLLECTED INDICATE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE RESPONSE FAILURE. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS FAILURE ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. POSTINGS ON HD FORUMS INDICATE THE PROBLEM IS WIDE SPREAD ON HD MOTORCYCLES FROM 2008 FORWARD WITH AN ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL SYSTEM. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS HAZARD FOR WHICH HD HAS FAILED TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY OR OFFER TO CORRECT. PLEASE INVESTIGATE!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/27/2011 - SAUGUS, MA
THROTTLE CUTS OFF. HARLEY DAVIDSON SINCE 2008 USES A CABLE LESS THROTTLE. FROM READING THE FORUMS THIS SEEMS TO BE A WIDE SPREAD PROBLEM. THE THROTTLE WILL JUST STOP WORKING BECAUSE OF SENSOR FAILURE. THIS HAPPEN TO ME TODAY ON A SECONDARY ROAD. COULD NO EVEN IMAGINE THIS HAPPENING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/5/2010 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
2008 HARLEY FLHX, WHILE TRAVELING AT NORMAL SPEEDS THE VEHICLE LOSES THROTTLE CONTROL, THE ENGINE IS STILL RUNNING JUST NO THROTTLE RESPONSE 'FLY BY WIRE THROTTLE', THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES AND I HAVE TAKEN IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP ON FOUR OCCASIONS, THEY HAVE REPLACED THE ECM, THROTTLE BODY SENSOR AND CONNECTOR AND CONNECTOR PINS WITH NO RESULTS. THIS SITUATION IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND I HAVE NARROWLY ESCAPED DEATH ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE LATEST EVENT HAPPENING NOV 4, 2010, THE ORIGINAL EVENT HAPPENED OVER A YEAR AND HALF AGO. THE DEALERSHIP HAS PUT AT APPRX 3000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE DURING THIS LONG PROCESS.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds