Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 373 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (6) Power Train (33) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (2) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (109) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (43) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/19/2016 - MATTAWAN, MI
PERSISTENT PROBLEMS WITH THE BRAKE SYSTEM SINCE THE 2010 VSA/ABS MODULATOR RECALL. THEY SYSTEM CONTINUES TO HAVE A SOFT PEDAL WHICH REQUIRES PUMPUNG THE PEDAL TO GET EFFECTIVE BRAKING, RESULTING IN EXTENDED STOP DISTANCES. THE SYSTEM REQUIRES PERIODIC BLEEDING OF THE BRAKES DESPITE REPEATED ASSURANCES FROM HONDA DEALERS THAT THE SYSTEM IS/WAS FIXED CORRECTLY UNDER THE RECALL. THE VSA MODULATOR HAS NOW FAILED AND HONDA IS QUOTING OVER $1,600 TO REPAIR THE SYSTEM DESPITE ONGOING SERVICE DOCUMENTATION ILLUSTRATING THE SYSTEM APPARENTLY WAS NOT FIXED UNDER THE RECALL - AT LEAST NOT EFFECTIVELY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/19/2016 - MATTAWAN, MI
PERSISTENT PROBLEMS WITH THE BRAKE SYSTEM SINCE THE 2010 VSA/ABS MODULATOR RECALL. THEY SYSTEM CONTINUES TO HAVE A SOFT PEDAL WHICH REQUIRES PUMPUNG THE PEDAL TO GET EFFECTIVE BRAKING, RESULTING IN EXTENDED STOP DISTANCES. THE SYSTEM REQUIRES PERIODIC BLEEDING OF THE BRAKES DESPITE REPEATED ASSURANCES FROM HONDA DEALERS THAT THE SYSTEM IS/WAS FIXED CORRECTLY UNDER THE RECALL. THE VSA MODULATOR HAS NOW FAILED AND HONDA IS QUOTING OVER $1,600 TO REPAIR THE SYSTEM DESPITE ONGOING SERVICE DOCUMENTATION ILLUSTRATING THE SYSTEM APPARENTLY WAS NOT FIXED UNDER THE RECALL - AT LEAST NOT EFFECTIVELY.

View Details

ENGINE

12/21/2015 - KNOXVILLE, TN
MY ENGINE IS USING OIL. IT USED 1 QUART OF OIL IN 2,826 MILES OF DRIVING AND 1/2 QUART IN THE NEXT 580 MILES. THE RATE OF OIL USE IS INCREASING. HONDA SAYS THESE ENGINES ARE PASSING OIL THRU THE RINGS ON 4 OF THE 6 CYLINDERS. HONDA WILL NOT DO ANYTHING UNTIL ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON OR ENGINE STARTS MISSING. I HAVE TO CONSTANTLY CHECK THE OIL LEVEL TO MAKE SURE IT IS NOT TO LOW. ON THE INTERNET I FOUND THERE ARE MANY ODYSSEYS DOING THIS. HONDA SOLD THIS VAN TO ME WITHOUT BEING TOLD OF THIS PROBLEM UNTIL AFTER I BOUGHT THIS VAN. THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL ON THESE ENGINES TO FIX THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/23/2015 - TEMPLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STABILITY ASSIST LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED. AS A RESULT, THE BRAKE SYSTEM ENGAGED ON ITS OWN. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE VEHICLE ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V098000 (SERVICE BRAKES, AIR), BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/23/2015 - TEMPLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STABILITY ASSIST LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED. AS A RESULT, THE BRAKE SYSTEM ENGAGED ON ITS OWN. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE VEHICLE ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V098000 (SERVICE BRAKES, AIR), BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/6/2015 - DOYLESTOWN, PA
WAS DRIVING ABOUT 55 MILES PER HOUR AND MY CAR STARTED BARKING WITHOUT ME PRESSING THE BRAKES. I PULLED OVER AND STARTED AGAIN. IT HAPPENED THREE TIMES WITHIN A TEN MINUTE PERIOD. APPARENTLY THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE VSA BUT HONDA FAILED TO NOTIFY ME. I WAS ALMOST HIT THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/20/2015 - STERLING, VA
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. DTCS P3400 AND P3497 READ. NO OIL ON THE DIPSTICK. TOOK IT TO SUSSMAN HONDA WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE FIX IS TO REPLACE THE REAR ROCKER. I POINTED THEM TO TSB 11-033 BUT THEY SAID IT DIDN'T APPLY TO MY CAR. CALLED AMERICAN HONDA CO. AND THEY SAID THE SAME THING. I FILED A COMPLAINT. ONLY LATER DID I DISCOVER TSB 13-031, WHICH SUSSMAN FOLLOWED BUT DID NOT READ THE DIAGNOSIS SECTION SINCE THE OIL LEVEL WAS BELOW THE DIPSTICK. ALMOST EXACTLY 3 MONTHS AND 4,000 MILES LATER CEL LIGHT COMES ON WITH DTCS P3400 AND P3497 AND OIL LEVEL IS BELOW THE DIPSTICK, THIS TIME THE CAR IS STARTING TO VIBRATE. AHC STILL CLAIMS THIS IS NOT A DESIGN FLAW AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. WE ARE NOW BEING TOLD BY ANOTHER DEALER THAT BURNING OIL IS NORMAL FOR THE "PRE-08 HONDAS WITH VCM" AND THAT WE SHOULD CHECK IT REGULARLY. WHILE I APPRECIATE THE HONESTY, I WISH THAT HONDA WOULD ADMIT THE ENGINEERING ISSUE AND FIX IT ONCE FOR ALL. USING THIS MUCH OIL CAN'T BE GOOD FOR THE ENVIRONMENT!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/17/2015 - SPOTSYLVANIA, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STARTED TO VIBRATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE IGNITION COIL AND SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED WITHIN 73 MILES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE FRONT CYLINDER HEAD, THE HEAD GASKET, WATER PUMP, AND SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE LIFT GATE ON THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE WAS OPENED, BUT FAILED TO REMAIN OPEN. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDEDIN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V060000 (STRUCTURE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000. UPDATED 01/21/16

View Details

ENGINE

9/17/2015 - SPOTSYLVANIA, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STARTED TO VIBRATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE IGNITION COIL AND SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED WITHIN 73 MILES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE FRONT CYLINDER HEAD, THE HEAD GASKET, WATER PUMP, AND SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE LIFT GATE ON THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE WAS OPENED, BUT FAILED TO REMAIN OPEN. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDEDIN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V060000 (STRUCTURE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000. UPDATED 01/21/16

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/10/2015 - ALAMEDA, CA
LIFTGATE STRUTS LEAKED GAS AND NOW LIFTGATE OF HONDA ODYSSEY IS HARD TO OPEN AND WILL NOT STAY UP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds