Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 400 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (14)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (35) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (23) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (116) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (24) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/29/2016 - HIGH POINT, NC
VEHICLE PURCHASED IN APRIL OF 2013. REAR TAILGATE GAS STRUTS HAD TO BE REPLACED IN MAY 2014 DUE TO COMPLETE FAILURE. SAME OEM WAS REINSTALLED BY DEALER AND HAS FAILED AGAIN LESS THAN 18 MONTHS LATER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/3/2016 - WOBURN, MA
THE BACK HATCH DOOR WON'T STAY OPEN HYDRAULIC SYSTEM FAILED AND GATE FELL ON HEAD AND SHOULDERS HARD

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

11/28/2016 - NORRISTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO USE THE LIFTGATE, IT FAILED TO STAY UP AND STRUCK THE CONTACT IN THE BACK. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INJURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V062000 (STRUCTURE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/22/2016 - BUFFALO, WY
FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH. LOCKS VEHICLE UP AND CANNOT REMOVE KEY. CANNOT START VEHICLE. THIS OCCURS WHEN STOPPING AND PLACING THE VEHICLE IN PARK.

View Details

ENGINE

10/2/2016 - OMAHA, NE
PURCHASED VEHICLE USED FROM HONDA DEALERSHIP IN APRIL 2016 WITH 102,000 MILES. I NOW HAVE 106,000 MILES AND MY LOW OIL PRESSURE LIGHT CAME ON. UPON CHECKING THE OIL LEVEL IT SHOWS THE CASE AS BEING EMPTY OF OIL. I SHOW NO EVIDENCE OF AN OIL LEAK ON THE ENGINE OR ANY TELL TALE SIGNS ON THE GARAGE FLOOR OR DRIVEWAY. HIGHLY CONCERNED THAT THE LOW OIL PRESSURE LIGHT COMES ON THIS LATE IN THE DECLINE OF ENGINE OIL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/26/2016 - HILO, HI
TURNING ONTO HIGHWAY, HEARD A LOUD BANG, CHECKED MY DASH, NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, THOUGHT IT WAS A ROCK OR ROAD DEBRIS THAT HIT THE VEHICLE. CONTINUED TOWARD OUR DESTINATION AT 55 MPH, ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD THE ABS LIGHTED UP, THEN THE VSA, THEN THE TPMS, THEN THE SEATBELT LIGHT, THEN THE RADIO WENT OUT, THE GAUGES WERE NEXT, FINALLY THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON, I LET THE VEHICLE COME TO A HALT USING VERY LITTLE BRAKES. AS SOON AS I STOPPED THE ENGINE DIED AND NO LIGHTS WOULD COME ON, HAD TO MANUALLY UNLOCK AND MANUALLY OPEN THE DOOR. CALLED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP, SAID IT WOULD BE TOWED IN THAT DAY 24 SEPT 2016, THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT, BUT FOR THIS TO HAPPEN WITH NO WARNING WHATSOEVER, IS OF CONCERN TO ME. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS A HARDWARE OR SOFTWARE GLITCH, WE HAD THE VEHICLE IN FOR MAINTENANCE JUST THIS PAST WEEK, TIMING BELT, REAR BRAKES, OIL CHANGE. ANY INPUT WOULD BE APPRECIATED. THANK YOU FOR CONSIDERING THIS STATEMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2016 - HILO, HI
TURNING ONTO HIGHWAY, HEARD A LOUD BANG, CHECKED MY DASH, NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, THOUGHT IT WAS A ROCK OR ROAD DEBRIS THAT HIT THE VEHICLE. CONTINUED TOWARD OUR DESTINATION AT 55 MPH, ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD THE ABS LIGHTED UP, THEN THE VSA, THEN THE TPMS, THEN THE SEATBELT LIGHT, THEN THE RADIO WENT OUT, THE GAUGES WERE NEXT, FINALLY THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON, I LET THE VEHICLE COME TO A HALT USING VERY LITTLE BRAKES. AS SOON AS I STOPPED THE ENGINE DIED AND NO LIGHTS WOULD COME ON, HAD TO MANUALLY UNLOCK AND MANUALLY OPEN THE DOOR. CALLED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP, SAID IT WOULD BE TOWED IN THAT DAY 24 SEPT 2016, THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT, BUT FOR THIS TO HAPPEN WITH NO WARNING WHATSOEVER, IS OF CONCERN TO ME. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS A HARDWARE OR SOFTWARE GLITCH, WE HAD THE VEHICLE IN FOR MAINTENANCE JUST THIS PAST WEEK, TIMING BELT, REAR BRAKES, OIL CHANGE. ANY INPUT WOULD BE APPRECIATED. THANK YOU FOR CONSIDERING THIS STATEMENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/26/2016 - HILO, HI
TURNING ONTO HIGHWAY, HEARD A LOUD BANG, CHECKED MY DASH, NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, THOUGHT IT WAS A ROCK OR ROAD DEBRIS THAT HIT THE VEHICLE. CONTINUED TOWARD OUR DESTINATION AT 55 MPH, ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD THE ABS LIGHTED UP, THEN THE VSA, THEN THE TPMS, THEN THE SEATBELT LIGHT, THEN THE RADIO WENT OUT, THE GAUGES WERE NEXT, FINALLY THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON, I LET THE VEHICLE COME TO A HALT USING VERY LITTLE BRAKES. AS SOON AS I STOPPED THE ENGINE DIED AND NO LIGHTS WOULD COME ON, HAD TO MANUALLY UNLOCK AND MANUALLY OPEN THE DOOR. CALLED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP, SAID IT WOULD BE TOWED IN THAT DAY 24 SEPT 2016, THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT, BUT FOR THIS TO HAPPEN WITH NO WARNING WHATSOEVER, IS OF CONCERN TO ME. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS A HARDWARE OR SOFTWARE GLITCH, WE HAD THE VEHICLE IN FOR MAINTENANCE JUST THIS PAST WEEK, TIMING BELT, REAR BRAKES, OIL CHANGE. ANY INPUT WOULD BE APPRECIATED. THANK YOU FOR CONSIDERING THIS STATEMENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/23/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
I HAVE READ THAT A LOT OF 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY HAVE A BRAKE PEDAL THAT GOES TO THE FLOOR AND MY BRAKE PEDAL DOES THE SAME. I HAD TO DRIVE VERY SLOW SO THE CAR WILL STOP, PEDAL GOES TO FLOOR BEFORE SLOWLY STOPPING. HONDA DEALER REPLACED THE MASTER CYLINDER $600.00 DROVE HOME, WENT BACK NEXT DAY BECAUSE IT WAS NOT THE RIGHT FIX. DEALER HAD IT ALL DAY, SAID HE TALKED TO HONDA TECH DEPT. ON PHONE CHECKED COMPUTERS AND OTHER THINGS AS PER TECH ADVICE, EVERY THING IS WORKING AS IT SHOULD, NO COST TO ME BUT BRAKE PEDAL STILL GOES TO THE FLOOR. MY WIFE CAN NOT DRIVE THIS CAR, IT IS PARKED TILL YOU CAN TELL ME HOW IT CAN BE FIXED AND SAFE FOR US TO DRIVE AND EVERY ONE ON THE ROAD. I COULD NOT LIVE WITH MYSELF IF MY FAMILY WERE HURT OR IF THIS 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY COULD NOT STOP AND HURT OR KILLED OTHER PEOPLE. PLEASE MAKE HONDA FIX THESE BRAKES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/20/2016 - REDFIELD, SD
I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT DOWN A ROAD AT SPEEDS BELOW 50 MPH AND SUDDENLY FELT A HUGE BLOW TO THE SIDE OF MY HEAD, ALONG WITH A LOUD BANG. I THOUGHT AT FIRST MAYBE A DEER HAD COME THROUGH MY WINDOW, BUT BOTH SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS HAD DEPLOYED. I DID NOT HIT ANYTHING AND NOTHING HAD HIT ME. I DID NOT RUN OVER ANYTHING EITHER. I HAD THE SHERIFF DOCUMENT THAT THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE. THERE WERE ALSO CARS BEHIND ME THAT WITNESSED THIS EVENT. MY VEHICLE WAS LOOKED AT BY A REGIONAL ENGINEERING TEAM FROM HONDA. TODAY A CUSTOMER SERVICE REP CALL TO SAY THAT IT WASN'T THEIR (HONDA'S) PROBLEM AND THEY WOULD NOT BE OFFERING ANY COMPENSATION BECAUSE THERE WERE NO INTERNAL ERRORS SHOWING UP AND THERE ARE NO KNOWN ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLES SRS. THEY COULD NOT TELL ME WHY THE AIRBAG HAD DEPLOYED, ONLY THAT THEIR TESTS SHOWED THERE WAS NO INTERNAL ERRORS. THE REP SAID THERE ARE A LOT OF REASONS AN AIRBAG CAN INADVERTENTLY DEPLOY BUT SINCE SHE WASN'T DRIVING WITH ME THAT DAY SHE COULDN'T TELL ME WHY MINE HAD, ONLY THAT NO INTERNAL ERRORS SHOWED UP. THE ESTIMATE TO REPLACE BOTH SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS IS OVER $8000.00.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds