Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 389 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (23) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (114) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (20) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (46) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/17/2016 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING A FAILURE TO READ THE DVD WHICH ALSO IS CAUSING THE BACKUP CAMERA SYSTEM TO FAIL WHILE DRIVING. THE ONLY FIX TO THE PROBLEM IS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE DVD FOR THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM IN VERSION 4.92 AND WAS PLACED IN THE VEHICLE LESS THAN 5 YEARS AGO DUE TO PROBLEMS WITH THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM AT THAT TIME WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. I CONTACTED HONDA TODAY AND WAS INFORMED BY ONE REPRESENTATIVE THAT THEY WERE AWARE THAT DVDS ARE WEARING UNUSUALLY FAST, BUT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO EXCEPT ADVISE CONTACTING THE SELLER OF THE DVD TO BUY A NEW ONE FOR $149. I HAD SPOKEN TO SOMEONE YESTERDAY WHO ADVISED ME TO CONTACT THE DEALER WHO HAD TO REPLACE COMPONENTS OF THE NAVIGATION IN 2011 WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. I DID THAT AND THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO DO ANYTHING MORE. I CONTACTED THE SELLER OF THE DVD AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE A REPLACEMENT FOR THE FAILED DVD. I CONTACTED HONDA A SECOND TIME TODAY UNDER THE RECALL DEPARTMENT AND THEY ADVISED ME THAT THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF THESE PROBLEMS AVAILABLE TO THEM AND THAT THIS IS NOT A COVERED ITEM BY RECALL OR WARRANTY. THE CASE # IS 04926816. SINCE THEY ADVISED ME THEY WERE UNAWARE OF THIS PROBLEM THE SECOND TIME WITH THE RECALL CONTACT I ADVISED THEM I WOULD MAKE THE NHTSA AWARE. ESSENTIALLY THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM AND BACKUP CAMERA SYSTEM ALL SHUTDOWN DUE TO UNUSUAL WEAR ON THE DVD UNDER THE DRIVERS SEAT IN THE DVD READER AND WHEN A GLITCH IN READING THE DVD IS ENCOUNTERED THE ENTIRE SYSTEM SHUTS DOWN INCLUDING BACKUP CAMERAS. I ESPECIALLY FIND THIS UNUSUAL AS THIS DVD WOULD VIRTUALLY NEVER BE REMOVED SO ALL OF THE WEAR AND TEAR IS FROM INSIDE THE DVD READER LEADING TO THIS FAILURE. THIS FAILURE CAN HAPPEN ON STARTUP, OR WHILE DRIVING. THIS LAST OCCURRED 2 DAYS AGO, BUT HAS OCCURRED NOW OVER A 6 MONTH-1YR PERIOD OF TIME INTERMITTENTLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/17/2016 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING A FAILURE TO READ THE DVD WHICH ALSO IS CAUSING THE BACKUP CAMERA SYSTEM TO FAIL WHILE DRIVING. THE ONLY FIX TO THE PROBLEM IS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE DVD FOR THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM IN VERSION 4.92 AND WAS PLACED IN THE VEHICLE LESS THAN 5 YEARS AGO DUE TO PROBLEMS WITH THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM AT THAT TIME WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. I CONTACTED HONDA TODAY AND WAS INFORMED BY ONE REPRESENTATIVE THAT THEY WERE AWARE THAT DVDS ARE WEARING UNUSUALLY FAST, BUT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO EXCEPT ADVISE CONTACTING THE SELLER OF THE DVD TO BUY A NEW ONE FOR $149. I HAD SPOKEN TO SOMEONE YESTERDAY WHO ADVISED ME TO CONTACT THE DEALER WHO HAD TO REPLACE COMPONENTS OF THE NAVIGATION IN 2011 WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. I DID THAT AND THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO DO ANYTHING MORE. I CONTACTED THE SELLER OF THE DVD AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE A REPLACEMENT FOR THE FAILED DVD. I CONTACTED HONDA A SECOND TIME TODAY UNDER THE RECALL DEPARTMENT AND THEY ADVISED ME THAT THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF THESE PROBLEMS AVAILABLE TO THEM AND THAT THIS IS NOT A COVERED ITEM BY RECALL OR WARRANTY. THE CASE # IS 04926816. SINCE THEY ADVISED ME THEY WERE UNAWARE OF THIS PROBLEM THE SECOND TIME WITH THE RECALL CONTACT I ADVISED THEM I WOULD MAKE THE NHTSA AWARE. ESSENTIALLY THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM AND BACKUP CAMERA SYSTEM ALL SHUTDOWN DUE TO UNUSUAL WEAR ON THE DVD UNDER THE DRIVERS SEAT IN THE DVD READER AND WHEN A GLITCH IN READING THE DVD IS ENCOUNTERED THE ENTIRE SYSTEM SHUTS DOWN INCLUDING BACKUP CAMERAS. I ESPECIALLY FIND THIS UNUSUAL AS THIS DVD WOULD VIRTUALLY NEVER BE REMOVED SO ALL OF THE WEAR AND TEAR IS FROM INSIDE THE DVD READER LEADING TO THIS FAILURE. THIS FAILURE CAN HAPPEN ON STARTUP, OR WHILE DRIVING. THIS LAST OCCURRED 2 DAYS AGO, BUT HAS OCCURRED NOW OVER A 6 MONTH-1YR PERIOD OF TIME INTERMITTENTLY.

View Details

ENGINE

8/11/2016 - CARPENTERSVILLE, IL
ENGINE IS BURNING ABOUT A QUART OF OIL EVERY 1,000 MILES. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER THEIR EXTENDED WARRANTY. HERE IS WHAT I FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS EXTENDED WARRANTY... ON OCTOBER 22, 2013, HONDA AMERICA AGREED TO SETTLE THE CLASS-ACTION SUIT. AS PART OF THE SETTLEMENT, HONDA EXTENDED THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY ON THESE MODELS FOR EIGHT YEARS FROM THE TIME OF PURCHASE OR LEASE WITH NO MILEAGE LIMITS. HONDA ALSO OFFERED TO REIMBURSE CUSTOMERS WHO HAD TO PAY OUT-OF-POCKET EXPENSES FOR RELATED REPAIRS SUCH AS SPARK PLUGS, PISTONS OR EVEN ENTIRELY NEW ENGINES (WITH LIMITATIONS). UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA A FEDERAL COURT AUTHORIZED THIS NOTICE. THIS IS NOT A SOLICITATION FROM A LAWYER. IF YOU ARE A CURRENT OR FORMER OWNER OR LESSEE OF ANY OF THE FOLLOWING HONDA VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH A 6-CYLINDER (?V6?) ENGINE WITH VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (?VCM-2?) YOU COULD RECEIVE BENEFITS FROM A CLASS ACTION SETTLEMENT CONCERNING ENGINE MISFIRE, 1 INCLUDING A LIMITED WARRANTY EXTENSION AND REIMBURSEMENT OF OUTOF-POCKET EXPENSES FOR ENGINE MISFIRE-RELATED REPAIRS: ? 2008-2012 HONDA ACCORD; ? 2008-2013 HONDA ODYSSEY; ? 2009-2013 HONDA PILOT; ? 2010-2011 HONDA ACCORD CROSSTOUR; OR ? 2012 HONDA CROSSTOUR MY VAN MEETS ALL THE CRITERIA... 1. 2008 ODYSSEY 2. MOTOR IS A 6-CYLINDER (?V6?) ENGINE WITH VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (?VCM-2?) 3. MOTOR IS BURNING OIL I'VE CALLED HONDA USA DIRECTLY AND THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO TELL ME WHY MY VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED. THE ONLY THEY SAID WAS THAT, "MY VIN WAS NOT PART OF THE BATCH FOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. I ONLY HAVE UNTIL SEPTEMBER 1, 2016 TO QUALIFY FOR THIS EXTENSION AND AFTER THAT DATE MY VAN WILL NOT QUALIFY IF HONDA WILL LET IT QUALIFY. I AM ASKING FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE WITH TRYING TO GET MY VAN TO QUALIFY FOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. THANK YOU

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/10/2016 - ROCKPORT, TX
I RECENTLY BOUGHT VEHICLE HAVE NOT MADE FIRST PAYMENT. SALESMAN TOLD ME SOFT BRAKES ARE COMMON ON HONDA. BRAKES HAVE FAILED THREE TIMES AT VERY SLOW SPEEDS. HAVE SERVICE REPORT FOR THIS VEHICLE... BRAKES HAVE BEEN REPLACED OFTEN. THIS VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE. THERE'S AIR IN THE BRAKE LINES.

View Details

STEERING

6/25/2016 - MIRA LOMA, CA
EVEN AFTER REPAIR BREAK FEW TIIMES AND WHEN APPLY BREAK IS NOT STOP AS REQUIRED MANY TIME GIVE US DAM HARD TIME TO STOP IMMIDEATLY, AND STEARING IS GETTING HARD AND JAM EVEN UNDER WARRNTY REPLACED

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/25/2016 - MIRA LOMA, CA
EVEN AFTER REPAIR BREAK FEW TIIMES AND WHEN APPLY BREAK IS NOT STOP AS REQUIRED MANY TIME GIVE US DAM HARD TIME TO STOP IMMIDEATLY, AND STEARING IS GETTING HARD AND JAM EVEN UNDER WARRNTY REPLACED

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

6/16/2016 - BARLETT, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFTGATE CLOSED INDEPENDENTLY AND FAILED TO REMAIN OPEN WITHOUT WARNING. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/9/2016 - MATTHEWS, NC
THE HONDA ODYSSEY HAS A WELL KNOWN MANUFACTURING DEFECT WITH IT TRANSMISSION, INCLUDING A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT THAT WAS WITHDRAWN BY THE PLAINTIFF FOR AN UNKNOWN REASON- (LIKELY SETTLED BY HONDA OUTSIDE OF THE CLASS IS MY GUESS), RELATED TO THE TORQUE CONVERTER THAT AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO IS UNWILLING TO ACKNOWLEDGE AND REPAIR. HTTPS://WWW.GOOGLE.COM/?GWS_RD=SSL#Q=ODYSSEY+TORQUE+CONVERTER+JUDDER ON MAY 9, 2016 SCOTT CLARK HONDA AT 13000 E INDEPENDENCE BLVD, MATTHEWS, NC 28105,PHONE:(855) 507-6727, DIAGNOSED THIS PROBLEM ON MY 2008 ODYSSEY AND QUOTED $1727 TO REPLACE THE TORQUE CONVERTER. I CONTACTED HONDA CUSTOMER RELATIONS AT 310-783-2000 AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE REPAIR OF THE TORQUE CONVERTER AS THERE IS NO RECALL AND THEY VEHICLE BEING OUT OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/3/2016 - MEDINA, OH
THERE IS NO ACCIDENT. SEAT BELT (SHOULDER PORTION) IS FRAYING. NOT SURE IF THIS SEAT BELT IS SAFE OR IF THIS IS THE TYPE OF SAFETY ISSUE THAT NHTSA WANTS TO REVIEW. I WANT TO MAKE SURE THIS IS NOT A DEFECT AFFECTING OTHER HONDA VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE

4/21/2016 - LAFAYETTE, LA
I NEVER HAD ANY MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH MY VAN UP UNTIL THIS POINT. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND GO OFF FROM TIME TO TIME AND I TOOK IT IN FOR A DIAGNOSTIC CHECK EACH TIME AND IT WAS THE SAME CODE FOR CATALYTIC CONVERTER. MY CAR RAN WELL AND THEN SUDDENLY, WHILE TAKING MY KIDS TO SCHOOL ON A CITY STREET, THE MUFFLER BEGAN SMOKING WHEN I WOULD EITHER IDLE OR DRIVE. IT ONLY DID THIS THE NIGHT BEFORE I BROUGHT IT INTO THE SHOP AND THE DAY OF. IT WOULD HESITATE ALSO. I FELT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE AT ANY MINUTE, SO I TOOK MY KIDS TO SCHOOL AND BROUGHT IT TO THE SHOP IMMEDIATELY. THE MECHANIC THEN TOLD ME I DID NOT HAVE A DROP OF OIL. THIS SEEMED STRANGE BECAUSE I HAD NEVER SEEN A LEAK (I PARK IN THE SAME PLACE AT MY HOUSE). HE TESTED MY CAR FOR A LEAK AND DID NOT DETECT ANY. SOME PEOPLE SUGGESTED THAT THE OIL CHANGE PLACE FORGOT TO PUT OIL IN MY CAR. THAT IS HIGHLY UNLIKELY SINCE I HAD JUST GONE TO HAVE MY OIL TOPPED OFF ABOUT A MONTH BEFORE. I HAD ALSO DRIVEN IT FOR ABOUT 2500 MILES SINCE THEN. BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF WARNING, I HAVE TO REPLACE MY ENGINE...IT IS SHOT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds