Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 359 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (6) Power Train (33) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (9)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (2) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (104) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (40) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/12/2015 - STRONGSVILLE, OH
ME AND MY 3 CHILDREN PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY. AS MY 6 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER GOT OUT OF THE VAN (LIKE EVERY OTHER DAY) SHE WENT TO PULL CLOSE THE DRIVERS SIDE BACK SLIDING DOOR. WITHOUT ANY WARNING, THE DOOR FELL OFF. COMPLETELY OFF!! THANK GOD SHE WAS NOT SMASHED BY THE DOOR, BECAUSE I LEARNED AFTER, IT IS NOT LIGHT! WHEN I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SUGGESTED I DRIVE IT UP TO GET LOOKED AT!!! DRIVE, WITHOUT A DOOR AND 3 KIDS!? NO WAY!! ALSO, THEIR RESPONSE WHEN I TOLD THEM THE DOOR FELL OFF (I WAS SHOCKED) WAS "OH YEA, THAT HAPPENS SOMETIMES WITH MINIVANS"! IF I KNEW THAT, I WOULDN'T HAVE GOTTEN ONE! HOW IS THAT SAFE AT ALL?!? AND THEY ESTIMATED AROUND $400 TO FIX IT!! AFTER CALLING MY STEP DAD OVER, WE FIGURED OUT WHAT PART WAS NEEDED AND GOT THE PIECE OURSELVES. IT WORKED FOR A WHILE AND ABOUT 6 MONTHS LATER, BOTH SLIDING DOORS NOW WON'T LATCH ALL THE WAY. ONE OF TWO OF THE LATCHES (BOTH THE BACK ONES) WON'T LATCH. ONE MY DASHBOARD, IT CONSTANTLY SHOWS BOTH DOORS ARE OPEN. I HAVE TO KEEP THE LIGHT SWITCHED TO "OFF" INSTEAD OF "DOOR", OTHERWISE, THE LIGHTS STAY ON AND BATTERY DIES. THIS IS VERY INCONVENIENT AND AS I AM A SINGLE MOTHER OF 3, I DO NOT HAVE MUCH TIME NOR MONEY TO GET THIS ISSUE FIXED RIGHT AWAY!

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2015 - BELLEVUE, NE
2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SPARK PLUGS CAUSED ENGINE FAILURE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: SUPPORT DEVICE

4/2/2015 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DOOR COLLAPSED AND SLAMMED SHUT. THE SHOCKS ON THE HATCH FAILED TO KEEP THE HATCH DOOR UP. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE SHOCKS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THIS WAS NOT NORMAL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/28/2015 - MESA, AZ
POWER STEERING PUMP LEAKING OIL, STEERING WHEEL HARD TO STEER, MAKE ENGINE NOISE, RACK AND PINION LEAKAGE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2015 - CRANFORD, NJ
I WAS COMING TO A STOP AT A RED LIGHT WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FORWARD. I HAD TO TURN THE WHEEL TO AVOID HITTING A CAR IN FRONT OF ME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/28/2015 - CRANFORD, NJ
I WAS COMING TO A STOP AT A RED LIGHT WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FORWARD. I HAD TO TURN THE WHEEL TO AVOID HITTING A CAR IN FRONT OF ME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/23/2015 - COLCHESTER, CT
CAR LOST POWER ON EXPRESSWAY, FUEL GAUGE READ 3/4 FULL, CAR WAS EMPTY. FUEL PUMP IS BEING REPLACED

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/15/2015 - LUBBOCK, TX
CAR EMITS A GRINDING SOUND WHEN THROTTLE IS IN A CRUISE OR SLIGHT ACCEL POSITION. ENGINE GETS "STUCK" AT 1500 RPM'S WHERE IT EMITS GRINDING SOUND THE LOUDEST. CAN ALSO FEEL IT IN THE GAS PEDAL. NORMAL SEQUENCE IS THIS: 1) ACCEL TO ~40MPH 2) ONCE AT STEADY STATE AND IN 4TH GEAR, ENGINE RPMS WILL FALL TO 1500. 3) RPM WILL GET "CAUGHT" AT 1500, MAKES GRINDING SOUND 4) RPMS MIGHT BREAKTHROUGH 1500, POP UP TO 1800, AND GRINDING NOISE WILL DIMINISH. 5) RPMS WILL THEN DROP BELOW 1500, THEN RISE AND GET STUCK AT 1500 AGAIN ALONG WITH INFURIATING NOISE AND PEDAL VIBRATION. CYCLE IS USUALLY 5-10 SECONDS. GOING SLIGHTLY UPHILL MAKES IT CYCLE MORE FREQUENTLY. GOING DOWNHILL DOESN'T MAKE NOISE SINCE TRANS IS DISENGAGED. IT'S ALSO HARD TO TELL IF LOWER GEARS DO THE SAME THING BECAUSE ENGINE NOISE AND VIBRATION DROWN OUT GRINDING SOUND/FEEL. OTHER THOUGHTS: - KIND OF SOUNDS LIKE A STRONG CROSS-WIND (30+ MPH) GOING ACROSS THE WINDSHIELD. - IT ALSO SOUNDS SIMILAR TO HOW A BAD IDLER BEARING ON AN AC COMPRESSOR SOUNDS. THAT KIND OF METALLIC GRINDING SOUND. - IT'S NOT THE ENGINE MOUNTS (THEY'VE BEEN REPLACED) - IT'S SUBTLE AND SOME PEOPLE MIGHT NOT DETECT THE SOUND.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2015 - LUBBOCK, TX
CAR EMITS A GRINDING SOUND WHEN THROTTLE IS IN A CRUISE OR SLIGHT ACCEL POSITION. ENGINE GETS "STUCK" AT 1500 RPM'S WHERE IT EMITS GRINDING SOUND THE LOUDEST. CAN ALSO FEEL IT IN THE GAS PEDAL. NORMAL SEQUENCE IS THIS: 1) ACCEL TO ~40MPH 2) ONCE AT STEADY STATE AND IN 4TH GEAR, ENGINE RPMS WILL FALL TO 1500. 3) RPM WILL GET "CAUGHT" AT 1500, MAKES GRINDING SOUND 4) RPMS MIGHT BREAKTHROUGH 1500, POP UP TO 1800, AND GRINDING NOISE WILL DIMINISH. 5) RPMS WILL THEN DROP BELOW 1500, THEN RISE AND GET STUCK AT 1500 AGAIN ALONG WITH INFURIATING NOISE AND PEDAL VIBRATION. CYCLE IS USUALLY 5-10 SECONDS. GOING SLIGHTLY UPHILL MAKES IT CYCLE MORE FREQUENTLY. GOING DOWNHILL DOESN'T MAKE NOISE SINCE TRANS IS DISENGAGED. IT'S ALSO HARD TO TELL IF LOWER GEARS DO THE SAME THING BECAUSE ENGINE NOISE AND VIBRATION DROWN OUT GRINDING SOUND/FEEL. OTHER THOUGHTS: - KIND OF SOUNDS LIKE A STRONG CROSS-WIND (30+ MPH) GOING ACROSS THE WINDSHIELD. - IT ALSO SOUNDS SIMILAR TO HOW A BAD IDLER BEARING ON AN AC COMPRESSOR SOUNDS. THAT KIND OF METALLIC GRINDING SOUND. - IT'S NOT THE ENGINE MOUNTS (THEY'VE BEEN REPLACED) - IT'S SUBTLE AND SOME PEOPLE MIGHT NOT DETECT THE SOUND.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/13/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14E049000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) AND HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, THE CONTACT NOTICED A STRONG FUEL ODOR WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds