Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 421 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (14)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (36) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (25) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (123) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (27) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (49) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

12/4/2017 - POWHATAN, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S DOOR FAILED TO OPEN. THE CONTACT ROLLED THE WINDOW DOWN AND ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE HANDLE WHILE WITHIN THE VEHICLE, BUT THE DOOR STILL FAILED TO OPEN. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR TO EXIT AND ENTER THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE LOCK WOULD TURN WHEN THE KEY WAS INSERTED INTO THE DOOR, BUT THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO REMOVE THE DRIVER'S SIDE INTERIOR DOOR PANEL, BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER (PEARSON HONDA, 14001 HULL STREET RD, MIDLOTHIAN, VA, 23112), BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO REMOVE THE PANEL AND ASKED FOR PERMISSION TO POSSIBLY DAMAGE THE PANEL, BUT AT THE EXPENSE OF THE CONTACT. THE CONTACT DID NOT AUTHORIZE THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 180,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/4/2017 - POWHATAN, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S DOOR FAILED TO OPEN. THE CONTACT ROLLED THE WINDOW DOWN AND ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE HANDLE WHILE WITHIN THE VEHICLE, BUT THE DOOR STILL FAILED TO OPEN. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR TO EXIT AND ENTER THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE LOCK WOULD TURN WHEN THE KEY WAS INSERTED INTO THE DOOR, BUT THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO REMOVE THE DRIVER'S SIDE INTERIOR DOOR PANEL, BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER (PEARSON HONDA, 14001 HULL STREET RD, MIDLOTHIAN, VA, 23112), BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO REMOVE THE PANEL AND ASKED FOR PERMISSION TO POSSIBLY DAMAGE THE PANEL, BUT AT THE EXPENSE OF THE CONTACT. THE CONTACT DID NOT AUTHORIZE THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 180,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/27/2017 - MOUNT LAUREL, NJ
MY VAN HAS SOFT BRAKES. I AM THE SECOND OWNER. FROM ONLINE, I FOUND THAT THERE ARE MANY CUSTOMERS WITH THE SAME ISSUE. WHEN I CHECKED WITH THE DEALER, THEY SAID IT IS QUITE NORMAL FOR ODYSSEY. WHEN I CHECKED WITH HONDA CUSTOMER CARE, THEY AID THERE WAS A RECALL AND THEY FIXED IT AND SINCE I AM NOT THE ORIGINAL OWNER, THEY CANNOT DO ANYTHING. OBVIOUSLY THE FIX THAT THEY DID IS NOT WORKING NOW. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE TO DRIVE THE VAN WITH WIFE AND TWO KIDS. CAN ANYTHING BE DONE FOR THIS ISSUE?

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/13/2017 - MAITLAND, FL
VSA AND ENGINE INDICATORS KEEP COMING ON. NOW I+M TOLD I HAVE TO REPLACE VSA MODULATOR FOR $1700

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/19/2017 - BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI
SUDDEN ACCELERATION: MY WIFE WAS TURNING THE CAR AROUND IN OUR DRIVEWAY. THE CAR STARTED ACCELERATING WHILE IN REVERSE. MY WIFE PRESSED THE BRAKES, BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT RESPOND. IT STARTED SLIPPING IN PLACE UNTIL IT HIT THE FENCE. MY WIFE CONTINUED TO PRESS THE BRAKE UNTIL THE ENGINE RPM RETURNED TO NORMAL. MY WIFE INDICATED THAT SHE HAD EXPERIENCE A SIMILAR ISSUE LAST WINTER WHILE DRIVING ON A SNOW COVERED ROAD, BUT THE ACCELERATION STOPPED QUICKLY. AT THAT TIME, SHE THOUGHT THE CAR JUST SLIPPED DUE TO THE WEATHER CONDITIONS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/17/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE PAINT ON THE HOOD AND ROOF OF THIS VEHICLE IS PEELING OFF IN DROVES. LARGE AREAS OF VEHICLE ARE DOWN TO BARE METAL ON BOTH ROOF AND HOOD OF VEHICLE. HONDA SHOULD REPAINT THESE VEHICLES AT NO CHARGE TO CUSTOMER. PLENTY OF COMPLAINTS ONLINE REGARDING SAME ISSUE WITH OTHER CUSTOMERS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/5/2017 - LINCOLN, NE
2008 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L WITHOUT POWER LIFT GATE. THE REAR HATCH STRUTS PART # 74820SHJA01 FAILED IN A DANGEROUS WAY. THEY WERE WORKING PERFECT THE TIME BEFORE WITH NOW SIGNS OF ANY LEAKING OR WEAKNESS AND THE VERY NEXT TIME THEY FAILED CAUSING THE REAR DOOR TO SLAM DOWN IN AN UNCONTROLLED MANNER. I CHECKED THE VIN FOR THE RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 12V062000 NHTSA ACTION NUMBER PE11034 DATE FEB 16, 2012 STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS BUT STATE MY VIN IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL, BUT I FIND IT STRANGE THAT THE FAILURE ACTED IN THE SAME MANNER AS THE RECALL. VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

7/17/2017 - PINEVILLE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AT A FUEL STATION, THE CONTACT EXITED THE VEHICLE AND ALL THE DOORS LOCKED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. A BABY WAS INSIDE THE VEHICLE IN ALMOST 90% DEGREE WEATHER. THE CONTACT CALLED THE POLICE AND THEY BROKE THE TAILGATE WINDOW GLASS TO PREVENT GLASS FROM FALLING ON THE BABY. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2017 - BEAUMONT, TX
NOTICED THAT MY CAR WAS NOT RUNNING LIKE IT HAS BEEN AND THEN IT GOT WORSE OVER THE NEXT DAY OR TWO THEN BEFORE I COULD GET IT IN FOR SERVICE THE OIL LIGHT BEGAN FLASHING. I DROVE THE CAR STRAIGHT TO MY HONDA DEALER AND THERE IS NO EXTERNAL OIL LEAK THEREFORE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT OIL IS LEAKING INSIDE THE ENGINE AND BURNING AND THAT IS WHY THE SMOKE IS COMING FROM BY TAILPIPE HOWEVER THE LIGHT INDICATOR WAS A LITTLE TO LATE BECAUSE THE DAMAGE IS ALREADY DONE AND NOW THE ENGINE HAS TO BE REPLACED ALONG WITH MY CATALYTIC CONVERTER AND NO TELLING WHAT ELSE. THE DEALER NEVER TOLD ME ABOUT THIS A LAWSUIT INDICATING THAT THIS WAS A PROBLEM IN THIS MAKE AND MODEL SO I PICKED THE VEHICLE UP AND AS I TRIED TO MAKE IT HOME IT BROKE DOWN ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSTATE IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC, HAD TO TOW IT HOME. CALLED HONDA MANUFACTURER AND MY VIN NUMBER DOES NOT QUALIFY UNDER THAT CLASS ACTION EVEN THOUGH IT IS A 2008 ODYSSEY. NOW I HAVE A VEHICLE SITTING IN MY GARAGE THAT DOES NOT RUN AND HAS NO RESALE VALUE AND IT DOESN'T LOOK LIKE HONDA IS GOING TO HELP OUT IN ANY WAY. IF YOU OWN A 2008-2013 HONDA YOU MAY WANT TO CHECK YOUR OIL LEVEL REGULARLY BECAUSE THE LIGHT INDICATORS OR NOT VERY RELIABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/30/2017 - CLEVELAND, OH
MY DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR FELL OFF. IT WAS ON ONE MINUTE AND THEN THE NEXT IT COMPLETELY FELL OFF. WE WERE IN A PARKING LOT AND I WENT TO OPEN THE DOOR. I PULLED ON IT AND IT JUST POPPED RIGHT OFF. AS A RESULT IT SCRATCHED UP THE SIDE OF MY CAR VERY BADLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds