Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 394 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (23) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (114) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (22) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/23/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
I HAVE READ THAT A LOT OF 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY HAVE A BRAKE PEDAL THAT GOES TO THE FLOOR AND MY BRAKE PEDAL DOES THE SAME. I HAD TO DRIVE VERY SLOW SO THE CAR WILL STOP, PEDAL GOES TO FLOOR BEFORE SLOWLY STOPPING. HONDA DEALER REPLACED THE MASTER CYLINDER $600.00 DROVE HOME, WENT BACK NEXT DAY BECAUSE IT WAS NOT THE RIGHT FIX. DEALER HAD IT ALL DAY, SAID HE TALKED TO HONDA TECH DEPT. ON PHONE CHECKED COMPUTERS AND OTHER THINGS AS PER TECH ADVICE, EVERY THING IS WORKING AS IT SHOULD, NO COST TO ME BUT BRAKE PEDAL STILL GOES TO THE FLOOR. MY WIFE CAN NOT DRIVE THIS CAR, IT IS PARKED TILL YOU CAN TELL ME HOW IT CAN BE FIXED AND SAFE FOR US TO DRIVE AND EVERY ONE ON THE ROAD. I COULD NOT LIVE WITH MYSELF IF MY FAMILY WERE HURT OR IF THIS 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY COULD NOT STOP AND HURT OR KILLED OTHER PEOPLE. PLEASE MAKE HONDA FIX THESE BRAKES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/20/2016 - REDFIELD, SD
I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT DOWN A ROAD AT SPEEDS BELOW 50 MPH AND SUDDENLY FELT A HUGE BLOW TO THE SIDE OF MY HEAD, ALONG WITH A LOUD BANG. I THOUGHT AT FIRST MAYBE A DEER HAD COME THROUGH MY WINDOW, BUT BOTH SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS HAD DEPLOYED. I DID NOT HIT ANYTHING AND NOTHING HAD HIT ME. I DID NOT RUN OVER ANYTHING EITHER. I HAD THE SHERIFF DOCUMENT THAT THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE. THERE WERE ALSO CARS BEHIND ME THAT WITNESSED THIS EVENT. MY VEHICLE WAS LOOKED AT BY A REGIONAL ENGINEERING TEAM FROM HONDA. TODAY A CUSTOMER SERVICE REP CALL TO SAY THAT IT WASN'T THEIR (HONDA'S) PROBLEM AND THEY WOULD NOT BE OFFERING ANY COMPENSATION BECAUSE THERE WERE NO INTERNAL ERRORS SHOWING UP AND THERE ARE NO KNOWN ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLES SRS. THEY COULD NOT TELL ME WHY THE AIRBAG HAD DEPLOYED, ONLY THAT THEIR TESTS SHOWED THERE WAS NO INTERNAL ERRORS. THE REP SAID THERE ARE A LOT OF REASONS AN AIRBAG CAN INADVERTENTLY DEPLOY BUT SINCE SHE WASN'T DRIVING WITH ME THAT DAY SHE COULDN'T TELL ME WHY MINE HAD, ONLY THAT NO INTERNAL ERRORS SHOWED UP. THE ESTIMATE TO REPLACE BOTH SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS IS OVER $8000.00.

View Details

ENGINE

9/20/2016 - ELLICOTT CITY, MD
EXCESSIVE ENGINE OIL BURNING. MY CAR BURNS ENGINE OIL SUCH A WAY THAT I HAVE TO CHECK THE ENGINE OIL LEVEL FREQUENTLY. ONCE I HAD TO FILL MORE THAN 4QTS TO GET THE OIL LEVEL TO NORMAL. MORE OVER THE INDICATOR NEVER SHOWS THAT THE OIL LEVEL IS LOW. I WENT ON SPEED BUMP AT THAT TIME THE INDICATOR JUST FLASHED ONCE THATS HOW I GOT A DOUBT AND CHECKED OIL LEVEL. IT WAS ALMOST EMPTY THAT TIME AND I HAD TO FILL MORE THAN 4QTS OF OIL. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES FREQUENTLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/17/2016 - CALIMESA, CA
SOFT BRAKE PEDAL HAVE TO DRIVE EXTRA CAUTIOUS PEDAL GOES WAY DOWN BEFORE BRAKES START TO GRAB, WAS TAKEN IN FOR VSA RECALL BUT BRAKES STILL DONT FEEL RIGHT, MOST LIKELY WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER HONDA DUE TO THIS EXPERIENCE. PLANNING ON CONTACTING HONDA TO SEE IF THEY HAVE A FIX YET FOR THIS BIG SAFETY ISSUE CAR ONLY HAS 60K.

View Details

ENGINE

9/2/2016 - WILLISTON PARK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHEN THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO BE SERVICED FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE, HE WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRONT AND SIDE ENGINE MOUNTS WERE FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE FAILURE BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,590.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/17/2016 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING A FAILURE TO READ THE DVD WHICH ALSO IS CAUSING THE BACKUP CAMERA SYSTEM TO FAIL WHILE DRIVING. THE ONLY FIX TO THE PROBLEM IS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE DVD FOR THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM IN VERSION 4.92 AND WAS PLACED IN THE VEHICLE LESS THAN 5 YEARS AGO DUE TO PROBLEMS WITH THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM AT THAT TIME WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. I CONTACTED HONDA TODAY AND WAS INFORMED BY ONE REPRESENTATIVE THAT THEY WERE AWARE THAT DVDS ARE WEARING UNUSUALLY FAST, BUT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO EXCEPT ADVISE CONTACTING THE SELLER OF THE DVD TO BUY A NEW ONE FOR $149. I HAD SPOKEN TO SOMEONE YESTERDAY WHO ADVISED ME TO CONTACT THE DEALER WHO HAD TO REPLACE COMPONENTS OF THE NAVIGATION IN 2011 WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. I DID THAT AND THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO DO ANYTHING MORE. I CONTACTED THE SELLER OF THE DVD AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE A REPLACEMENT FOR THE FAILED DVD. I CONTACTED HONDA A SECOND TIME TODAY UNDER THE RECALL DEPARTMENT AND THEY ADVISED ME THAT THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF THESE PROBLEMS AVAILABLE TO THEM AND THAT THIS IS NOT A COVERED ITEM BY RECALL OR WARRANTY. THE CASE # IS 04926816. SINCE THEY ADVISED ME THEY WERE UNAWARE OF THIS PROBLEM THE SECOND TIME WITH THE RECALL CONTACT I ADVISED THEM I WOULD MAKE THE NHTSA AWARE. ESSENTIALLY THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM AND BACKUP CAMERA SYSTEM ALL SHUTDOWN DUE TO UNUSUAL WEAR ON THE DVD UNDER THE DRIVERS SEAT IN THE DVD READER AND WHEN A GLITCH IN READING THE DVD IS ENCOUNTERED THE ENTIRE SYSTEM SHUTS DOWN INCLUDING BACKUP CAMERAS. I ESPECIALLY FIND THIS UNUSUAL AS THIS DVD WOULD VIRTUALLY NEVER BE REMOVED SO ALL OF THE WEAR AND TEAR IS FROM INSIDE THE DVD READER LEADING TO THIS FAILURE. THIS FAILURE CAN HAPPEN ON STARTUP, OR WHILE DRIVING. THIS LAST OCCURRED 2 DAYS AGO, BUT HAS OCCURRED NOW OVER A 6 MONTH-1YR PERIOD OF TIME INTERMITTENTLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/17/2016 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING A FAILURE TO READ THE DVD WHICH ALSO IS CAUSING THE BACKUP CAMERA SYSTEM TO FAIL WHILE DRIVING. THE ONLY FIX TO THE PROBLEM IS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE DVD FOR THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM IN VERSION 4.92 AND WAS PLACED IN THE VEHICLE LESS THAN 5 YEARS AGO DUE TO PROBLEMS WITH THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM AT THAT TIME WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. I CONTACTED HONDA TODAY AND WAS INFORMED BY ONE REPRESENTATIVE THAT THEY WERE AWARE THAT DVDS ARE WEARING UNUSUALLY FAST, BUT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO EXCEPT ADVISE CONTACTING THE SELLER OF THE DVD TO BUY A NEW ONE FOR $149. I HAD SPOKEN TO SOMEONE YESTERDAY WHO ADVISED ME TO CONTACT THE DEALER WHO HAD TO REPLACE COMPONENTS OF THE NAVIGATION IN 2011 WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. I DID THAT AND THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO DO ANYTHING MORE. I CONTACTED THE SELLER OF THE DVD AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE A REPLACEMENT FOR THE FAILED DVD. I CONTACTED HONDA A SECOND TIME TODAY UNDER THE RECALL DEPARTMENT AND THEY ADVISED ME THAT THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF THESE PROBLEMS AVAILABLE TO THEM AND THAT THIS IS NOT A COVERED ITEM BY RECALL OR WARRANTY. THE CASE # IS 04926816. SINCE THEY ADVISED ME THEY WERE UNAWARE OF THIS PROBLEM THE SECOND TIME WITH THE RECALL CONTACT I ADVISED THEM I WOULD MAKE THE NHTSA AWARE. ESSENTIALLY THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM AND BACKUP CAMERA SYSTEM ALL SHUTDOWN DUE TO UNUSUAL WEAR ON THE DVD UNDER THE DRIVERS SEAT IN THE DVD READER AND WHEN A GLITCH IN READING THE DVD IS ENCOUNTERED THE ENTIRE SYSTEM SHUTS DOWN INCLUDING BACKUP CAMERAS. I ESPECIALLY FIND THIS UNUSUAL AS THIS DVD WOULD VIRTUALLY NEVER BE REMOVED SO ALL OF THE WEAR AND TEAR IS FROM INSIDE THE DVD READER LEADING TO THIS FAILURE. THIS FAILURE CAN HAPPEN ON STARTUP, OR WHILE DRIVING. THIS LAST OCCURRED 2 DAYS AGO, BUT HAS OCCURRED NOW OVER A 6 MONTH-1YR PERIOD OF TIME INTERMITTENTLY.

View Details

ENGINE

8/11/2016 - CARPENTERSVILLE, IL
ENGINE IS BURNING ABOUT A QUART OF OIL EVERY 1,000 MILES. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER THEIR EXTENDED WARRANTY. HERE IS WHAT I FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS EXTENDED WARRANTY... ON OCTOBER 22, 2013, HONDA AMERICA AGREED TO SETTLE THE CLASS-ACTION SUIT. AS PART OF THE SETTLEMENT, HONDA EXTENDED THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY ON THESE MODELS FOR EIGHT YEARS FROM THE TIME OF PURCHASE OR LEASE WITH NO MILEAGE LIMITS. HONDA ALSO OFFERED TO REIMBURSE CUSTOMERS WHO HAD TO PAY OUT-OF-POCKET EXPENSES FOR RELATED REPAIRS SUCH AS SPARK PLUGS, PISTONS OR EVEN ENTIRELY NEW ENGINES (WITH LIMITATIONS). UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA A FEDERAL COURT AUTHORIZED THIS NOTICE. THIS IS NOT A SOLICITATION FROM A LAWYER. IF YOU ARE A CURRENT OR FORMER OWNER OR LESSEE OF ANY OF THE FOLLOWING HONDA VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH A 6-CYLINDER (?V6?) ENGINE WITH VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (?VCM-2?) YOU COULD RECEIVE BENEFITS FROM A CLASS ACTION SETTLEMENT CONCERNING ENGINE MISFIRE, 1 INCLUDING A LIMITED WARRANTY EXTENSION AND REIMBURSEMENT OF OUTOF-POCKET EXPENSES FOR ENGINE MISFIRE-RELATED REPAIRS: ? 2008-2012 HONDA ACCORD; ? 2008-2013 HONDA ODYSSEY; ? 2009-2013 HONDA PILOT; ? 2010-2011 HONDA ACCORD CROSSTOUR; OR ? 2012 HONDA CROSSTOUR MY VAN MEETS ALL THE CRITERIA... 1. 2008 ODYSSEY 2. MOTOR IS A 6-CYLINDER (?V6?) ENGINE WITH VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (?VCM-2?) 3. MOTOR IS BURNING OIL I'VE CALLED HONDA USA DIRECTLY AND THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO TELL ME WHY MY VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED. THE ONLY THEY SAID WAS THAT, "MY VIN WAS NOT PART OF THE BATCH FOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. I ONLY HAVE UNTIL SEPTEMBER 1, 2016 TO QUALIFY FOR THIS EXTENSION AND AFTER THAT DATE MY VAN WILL NOT QUALIFY IF HONDA WILL LET IT QUALIFY. I AM ASKING FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE WITH TRYING TO GET MY VAN TO QUALIFY FOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. THANK YOU

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/10/2016 - ROCKPORT, TX
I RECENTLY BOUGHT VEHICLE HAVE NOT MADE FIRST PAYMENT. SALESMAN TOLD ME SOFT BRAKES ARE COMMON ON HONDA. BRAKES HAVE FAILED THREE TIMES AT VERY SLOW SPEEDS. HAVE SERVICE REPORT FOR THIS VEHICLE... BRAKES HAVE BEEN REPLACED OFTEN. THIS VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE. THERE'S AIR IN THE BRAKE LINES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/25/2016 - MIRA LOMA, CA
EVEN AFTER REPAIR BREAK FEW TIIMES AND WHEN APPLY BREAK IS NOT STOP AS REQUIRED MANY TIME GIVE US DAM HARD TIME TO STOP IMMIDEATLY, AND STEARING IS GETTING HARD AND JAM EVEN UNDER WARRNTY REPLACED

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds