Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 397 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (13)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (35) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (23) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (114) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (24) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/22/2016 - BUFFALO, WY
FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH. LOCKS VEHICLE UP AND CANNOT REMOVE KEY. CANNOT START VEHICLE. THIS OCCURS WHEN STOPPING AND PLACING THE VEHICLE IN PARK.

View Details

ENGINE

10/2/2016 - OMAHA, NE
PURCHASED VEHICLE USED FROM HONDA DEALERSHIP IN APRIL 2016 WITH 102,000 MILES. I NOW HAVE 106,000 MILES AND MY LOW OIL PRESSURE LIGHT CAME ON. UPON CHECKING THE OIL LEVEL IT SHOWS THE CASE AS BEING EMPTY OF OIL. I SHOW NO EVIDENCE OF AN OIL LEAK ON THE ENGINE OR ANY TELL TALE SIGNS ON THE GARAGE FLOOR OR DRIVEWAY. HIGHLY CONCERNED THAT THE LOW OIL PRESSURE LIGHT COMES ON THIS LATE IN THE DECLINE OF ENGINE OIL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/26/2016 - HILO, HI
TURNING ONTO HIGHWAY, HEARD A LOUD BANG, CHECKED MY DASH, NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, THOUGHT IT WAS A ROCK OR ROAD DEBRIS THAT HIT THE VEHICLE. CONTINUED TOWARD OUR DESTINATION AT 55 MPH, ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD THE ABS LIGHTED UP, THEN THE VSA, THEN THE TPMS, THEN THE SEATBELT LIGHT, THEN THE RADIO WENT OUT, THE GAUGES WERE NEXT, FINALLY THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON, I LET THE VEHICLE COME TO A HALT USING VERY LITTLE BRAKES. AS SOON AS I STOPPED THE ENGINE DIED AND NO LIGHTS WOULD COME ON, HAD TO MANUALLY UNLOCK AND MANUALLY OPEN THE DOOR. CALLED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP, SAID IT WOULD BE TOWED IN THAT DAY 24 SEPT 2016, THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT, BUT FOR THIS TO HAPPEN WITH NO WARNING WHATSOEVER, IS OF CONCERN TO ME. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS A HARDWARE OR SOFTWARE GLITCH, WE HAD THE VEHICLE IN FOR MAINTENANCE JUST THIS PAST WEEK, TIMING BELT, REAR BRAKES, OIL CHANGE. ANY INPUT WOULD BE APPRECIATED. THANK YOU FOR CONSIDERING THIS STATEMENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/26/2016 - HILO, HI
TURNING ONTO HIGHWAY, HEARD A LOUD BANG, CHECKED MY DASH, NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, THOUGHT IT WAS A ROCK OR ROAD DEBRIS THAT HIT THE VEHICLE. CONTINUED TOWARD OUR DESTINATION AT 55 MPH, ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD THE ABS LIGHTED UP, THEN THE VSA, THEN THE TPMS, THEN THE SEATBELT LIGHT, THEN THE RADIO WENT OUT, THE GAUGES WERE NEXT, FINALLY THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON, I LET THE VEHICLE COME TO A HALT USING VERY LITTLE BRAKES. AS SOON AS I STOPPED THE ENGINE DIED AND NO LIGHTS WOULD COME ON, HAD TO MANUALLY UNLOCK AND MANUALLY OPEN THE DOOR. CALLED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP, SAID IT WOULD BE TOWED IN THAT DAY 24 SEPT 2016, THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT, BUT FOR THIS TO HAPPEN WITH NO WARNING WHATSOEVER, IS OF CONCERN TO ME. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS A HARDWARE OR SOFTWARE GLITCH, WE HAD THE VEHICLE IN FOR MAINTENANCE JUST THIS PAST WEEK, TIMING BELT, REAR BRAKES, OIL CHANGE. ANY INPUT WOULD BE APPRECIATED. THANK YOU FOR CONSIDERING THIS STATEMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2016 - HILO, HI
TURNING ONTO HIGHWAY, HEARD A LOUD BANG, CHECKED MY DASH, NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, THOUGHT IT WAS A ROCK OR ROAD DEBRIS THAT HIT THE VEHICLE. CONTINUED TOWARD OUR DESTINATION AT 55 MPH, ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD THE ABS LIGHTED UP, THEN THE VSA, THEN THE TPMS, THEN THE SEATBELT LIGHT, THEN THE RADIO WENT OUT, THE GAUGES WERE NEXT, FINALLY THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON, I LET THE VEHICLE COME TO A HALT USING VERY LITTLE BRAKES. AS SOON AS I STOPPED THE ENGINE DIED AND NO LIGHTS WOULD COME ON, HAD TO MANUALLY UNLOCK AND MANUALLY OPEN THE DOOR. CALLED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP, SAID IT WOULD BE TOWED IN THAT DAY 24 SEPT 2016, THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT, BUT FOR THIS TO HAPPEN WITH NO WARNING WHATSOEVER, IS OF CONCERN TO ME. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS A HARDWARE OR SOFTWARE GLITCH, WE HAD THE VEHICLE IN FOR MAINTENANCE JUST THIS PAST WEEK, TIMING BELT, REAR BRAKES, OIL CHANGE. ANY INPUT WOULD BE APPRECIATED. THANK YOU FOR CONSIDERING THIS STATEMENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/23/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
I HAVE READ THAT A LOT OF 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY HAVE A BRAKE PEDAL THAT GOES TO THE FLOOR AND MY BRAKE PEDAL DOES THE SAME. I HAD TO DRIVE VERY SLOW SO THE CAR WILL STOP, PEDAL GOES TO FLOOR BEFORE SLOWLY STOPPING. HONDA DEALER REPLACED THE MASTER CYLINDER $600.00 DROVE HOME, WENT BACK NEXT DAY BECAUSE IT WAS NOT THE RIGHT FIX. DEALER HAD IT ALL DAY, SAID HE TALKED TO HONDA TECH DEPT. ON PHONE CHECKED COMPUTERS AND OTHER THINGS AS PER TECH ADVICE, EVERY THING IS WORKING AS IT SHOULD, NO COST TO ME BUT BRAKE PEDAL STILL GOES TO THE FLOOR. MY WIFE CAN NOT DRIVE THIS CAR, IT IS PARKED TILL YOU CAN TELL ME HOW IT CAN BE FIXED AND SAFE FOR US TO DRIVE AND EVERY ONE ON THE ROAD. I COULD NOT LIVE WITH MYSELF IF MY FAMILY WERE HURT OR IF THIS 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY COULD NOT STOP AND HURT OR KILLED OTHER PEOPLE. PLEASE MAKE HONDA FIX THESE BRAKES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/20/2016 - REDFIELD, SD
I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT DOWN A ROAD AT SPEEDS BELOW 50 MPH AND SUDDENLY FELT A HUGE BLOW TO THE SIDE OF MY HEAD, ALONG WITH A LOUD BANG. I THOUGHT AT FIRST MAYBE A DEER HAD COME THROUGH MY WINDOW, BUT BOTH SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS HAD DEPLOYED. I DID NOT HIT ANYTHING AND NOTHING HAD HIT ME. I DID NOT RUN OVER ANYTHING EITHER. I HAD THE SHERIFF DOCUMENT THAT THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE. THERE WERE ALSO CARS BEHIND ME THAT WITNESSED THIS EVENT. MY VEHICLE WAS LOOKED AT BY A REGIONAL ENGINEERING TEAM FROM HONDA. TODAY A CUSTOMER SERVICE REP CALL TO SAY THAT IT WASN'T THEIR (HONDA'S) PROBLEM AND THEY WOULD NOT BE OFFERING ANY COMPENSATION BECAUSE THERE WERE NO INTERNAL ERRORS SHOWING UP AND THERE ARE NO KNOWN ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLES SRS. THEY COULD NOT TELL ME WHY THE AIRBAG HAD DEPLOYED, ONLY THAT THEIR TESTS SHOWED THERE WAS NO INTERNAL ERRORS. THE REP SAID THERE ARE A LOT OF REASONS AN AIRBAG CAN INADVERTENTLY DEPLOY BUT SINCE SHE WASN'T DRIVING WITH ME THAT DAY SHE COULDN'T TELL ME WHY MINE HAD, ONLY THAT NO INTERNAL ERRORS SHOWED UP. THE ESTIMATE TO REPLACE BOTH SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS IS OVER $8000.00.

View Details

ENGINE

9/20/2016 - ELLICOTT CITY, MD
EXCESSIVE ENGINE OIL BURNING. MY CAR BURNS ENGINE OIL SUCH A WAY THAT I HAVE TO CHECK THE ENGINE OIL LEVEL FREQUENTLY. ONCE I HAD TO FILL MORE THAN 4QTS TO GET THE OIL LEVEL TO NORMAL. MORE OVER THE INDICATOR NEVER SHOWS THAT THE OIL LEVEL IS LOW. I WENT ON SPEED BUMP AT THAT TIME THE INDICATOR JUST FLASHED ONCE THATS HOW I GOT A DOUBT AND CHECKED OIL LEVEL. IT WAS ALMOST EMPTY THAT TIME AND I HAD TO FILL MORE THAN 4QTS OF OIL. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES FREQUENTLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/17/2016 - CALIMESA, CA
SOFT BRAKE PEDAL HAVE TO DRIVE EXTRA CAUTIOUS PEDAL GOES WAY DOWN BEFORE BRAKES START TO GRAB, WAS TAKEN IN FOR VSA RECALL BUT BRAKES STILL DONT FEEL RIGHT, MOST LIKELY WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER HONDA DUE TO THIS EXPERIENCE. PLANNING ON CONTACTING HONDA TO SEE IF THEY HAVE A FIX YET FOR THIS BIG SAFETY ISSUE CAR ONLY HAS 60K.

View Details

ENGINE

9/2/2016 - WILLISTON PARK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHEN THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO BE SERVICED FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE, HE WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRONT AND SIDE ENGINE MOUNTS WERE FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE FAILURE BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,590.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds