Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 314 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (6) Power Train (26) Service Brakes Electric (11) Tires (1)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (15) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (4) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (29) Structure (85) Visibility (6)
Engine (8) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/18/2014 - CARLSBAD, CA
THE LIFTGATE STRUTS FAILED SUDDENLY AND NO LONGER SUPPORT THE HEAVY DOOR. THERE WAS NO GRADUAL DETERIORATION. OURS IS A MANUAL VERSION - NOT POWERED AND FOR SOME REASON ISN'T COVERED BY THE RECALL 12V062000, EVEN THOUGH IT USES THE SAME PART THAT WAS DETERMINED TO BE DEFECTIVE IN THAT INVESTAGATION - NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : PE11034. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT IT FAILED AT UNACCEPTABLE RATE AND THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS FROM MANUAL LIFTGATES IS HIGHER THAN THOSE OF THE POWERED LIFTGATES. THIS IS AT LEAST AS DANGEROUS AS A POWERED LIFTGATE SITUATION, ESPECIALLY FOR MY WIFE AND 3 YOUNG CHILDREN. THE INVESTIGATION AND RECALL NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO COVER ALL MODELS USING THIS PART, NOT JUST THE POWERED DOORS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH THE VEHICLE HAD JERKED WITH THE INSTRUMENT PANEL SENSORS FLASHING AT RANDOM. THE VEHICLE HAD A LOSS OF POWER AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND NEUTRAL BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT WAS TRAVELING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED AND THE VEHICLE HAD LOSS POWER AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111785. DYD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/9/2014 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH THE VEHICLE HAD JERKED WITH THE INSTRUMENT PANEL SENSORS FLASHING AT RANDOM. THE VEHICLE HAD A LOSS OF POWER AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND NEUTRAL BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT WAS TRAVELING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED AND THE VEHICLE HAD LOSS POWER AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111785. DYD

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/6/2014 - GLEN ALLEN, VA
RE: TAILGATE/ STRUT FAILURE I WAS OUT SHOPPING AND AT MY LAST STOP THE TAILGATE WAS SUDDENLY VERY HARD TO OPEN. I HAD A LARGE CART OF GROCERIES AND IT WAS RAINING, SO I RAISED IT UP WITH ONE HAND, BUT WHEN I TURNED TO GET MORE GROCERIES, I EXPECTED IT TO STAY AND IT DROPPED DOWN. FORTUNATELY, I DID NOT HAVE MY CHILDREN WITH ME, SO I COULD PUT THE REST OF THE GROCERIES IN THE SEAT AREA AND DEAL WITH IT LATER. IT HAS NOT RESOLVED, SO IT WAS NOT A "RAIN" ISSUE. IN THE WEEK THAT HAS PASSED, I HAVE DONE SOME OF RESEARCH. I FOUND THAT HONDA DID INDEED HAVE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM HTTP://WWW-ODI.NHTSA.DOT.GOV/ACMS/CS/JAXRS/DOWNLOAD/DOC/UCM416791/RCAK-12V062-3793.PDF HOWEVER, WHEN I CALLED MY HONDA DEALER, * VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL. I'M HAVING A HARD TIME FIGURING OUT WHICH MODELS ARE BY THE OFFICIAL NOTICES. THEY QUOTED ME $276 TO FIX IT. I HAVE DISCOVERED THIS IS VERY EASY TO FIX - $50 FOR THE STRUTS, A FLATHEAD SCREWDRIVER, AND LADDER TO PROP OPEN THE TAILGATE AND EVEN A 115 LB WOMAN CAN FIX THEM. HOWEVER, WHY AREN'T ALL 2008 HONDA ODYSSEYS IN THIS RECALL? HAD MY CHILDREN BEEN HELPING ME OR HAD I BEEN HALF IN THE VAN WHEN THE STRUTS SUDDENLY FAILED, ANY OF US COULD HAVE BEEN BADLY INJURED OR KILLED BY THE DEAD WEIGHT OF THAT DOOR. FOR NOW I WILL ORDER THE STRUTS AND FIX THEM AS SOON AS I CAN SINCE I REALLY DON'T HAVE TIME TO DUKE IT OUT WITH HONDA.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/31/2014 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFT GATE DOOR WOULD INDEPENDENTLY OPEN. THE CONTACT WOULD EXPERIENCE DIFFICULTY IN MANUALLY CLOSING THE LIFT GATE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:12V062000 (STRUCTURE) DUE TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER STATING THAT THE FAILURE WAS ONLY ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWER LIFT GATE MODELS. THE CONTACTS STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE AS THE POWER LIFT GATE AND ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92500.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/31/2014 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFT GATE DOOR WOULD INDEPENDENTLY OPEN. THE CONTACT WOULD EXPERIENCE DIFFICULTY IN MANUALLY CLOSING THE LIFT GATE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:12V062000 (STRUCTURE) DUE TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER STATING THAT THE FAILURE WAS ONLY ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWER LIFT GATE MODELS. THE CONTACTS STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE AS THE POWER LIFT GATE AND ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92500.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/26/2014 - GREAT FALLS, VA
WHEN BRAKING, EVEN PRESS THE BRAKE VERY HARD, THE CAR IS MAKING SQUEAKING NOISE, AND IT WILL NOT STOP. HAD TO RELEASE AND PRESS THE BRAKE THREE TIMES, TO FINALLY STOP THE CAR. GOOD THING WE WERE DOING ONLY 20MPH

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/18/2014 - LAKE GROVE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR HATCH WOULD CLOSE INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 12V062000(STRUCTURE) BUT WAS ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,116.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/10/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE TRUNK LIFT (FROM AN OPEN POSITION) OF OUR 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L UNEXPECTEDLY FELL ON TOP OF MY WIFE'S HEAD WHILE SHE WAS USING THE TRUNK AREA. HER INJURY WAS NOT SERIOUS, AND CONSEQUENTLY WE DETERMINED THE FAILURE WAS THE GAS STRUTS THAT ASSIST IN OPENING AND CLOSING THE HATCH. HONDA ALREADY HAS A RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE FOR POWERED LIFTGATE FOR 2008-9 MODELS, BUT IT DOESN'T INCLUDE MANUAL OPENING ODYSSEYS, CLAIMING THAT A DEGRADED STRUT IN A MANUAL LIFTGATE WILL BE NOTICEABLE. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE FOR US. CONSIDERING ODYSSEYS ARE BUILT FOR FAMILIES, I FEEL THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE SINCE MY OLDER CHILDREN FREQUENTLY OPERATE THE TAILGATES WITHOUT OUR HELP. SINCE THE REASON FOR THE LIFTGATE FAILURE IS THE SAME FOR MANUAL AND POWERED LIFTGATES, HONDA SHOULD EXTEND THE RECALL (OR AT LEAST A NOTIFICATION) TO ALL 2008-9 ODYSSEY OWNERS. JUST BECAUSE WE DIDN'T PURCHASE THE TOP OF THE LINE ODYSSEY, OUR SAFETY SHOULDN'T BE ANY LESS THAN THE TOURING OWNERS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/4/2014 - TREVOR, WI
STRONG VIBRATION OR JUDDER WHILE BEING DRIVEN TYPICALLY AT 20-45 MPH OR WHILE BEING DRIVEN ON AN UP OR DOWN GRADE. ALSO EXPERIENCED NO RESPONSE OF ACCELERATION WHICH CAUSED VERY SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN. PER HONDA'S TSB, TORQUE CONVERTER IS THE ISSUE IF THE PROBLEM RETURNS AFTER THE SOFTWARE UPDATE. HOWEVER HONDA IS NOT WILLING TO TAKE CARE OF THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds