Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 344 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (6) Power Train (31) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (11)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electrical System (17) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (97) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (38) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/24/2014 - CARY, NC
AUTOPARK HONDA REPLACED DRIVE SHAFTS BECAUSE THERE WAS A POPPING SOUND COMING WHILE SLOW TURNS. I DROVE AWAY AND WITHIN 2 MILES, ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE. THERE WAS A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF METALLIC NOISE COMING FROM THE CAR AND I NEARLY LOST TOTAL CONTROL OF THE CAR. I COULD BREAK I THINK. BUT STEERING AND ENGINE POWER WERE DANGEROUSLY AFFECTED. ME AND MY KIDS WOULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. I SUSPECT THE PARTS USED WERE NOT OF PROPER QUALITY OR THE WORKMANSHIP WAS POOR. I CAN'T DECIDE. THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN PERFECT WITH OTHER REPAIRS SO I DOUBT IT COULD HAVE BEEN WORKMANSHIP BUT IT IS HARD FOR ME TO SAY. PEOPLE MAKE MISTAKES.

View Details

WHEELS

11/24/2014 - CARY, NC
AUTOPARK HONDA REPLACED DRIVE SHAFTS BECAUSE THERE WAS A POPPING SOUND COMING WHILE SLOW TURNS. I DROVE AWAY AND WITHIN 2 MILES, ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE. THERE WAS A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF METALLIC NOISE COMING FROM THE CAR AND I NEARLY LOST TOTAL CONTROL OF THE CAR. I COULD BREAK I THINK. BUT STEERING AND ENGINE POWER WERE DANGEROUSLY AFFECTED. ME AND MY KIDS WOULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. I SUSPECT THE PARTS USED WERE NOT OF PROPER QUALITY OR THE WORKMANSHIP WAS POOR. I CAN'T DECIDE. THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN PERFECT WITH OTHER REPAIRS SO I DOUBT IT COULD HAVE BEEN WORKMANSHIP BUT IT IS HARD FOR ME TO SAY. PEOPLE MAKE MISTAKES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/24/2014 - CARY, NC
AUTOPARK HONDA REPLACED DRIVE SHAFTS BECAUSE THERE WAS A POPPING SOUND COMING WHILE SLOW TURNS. I DROVE AWAY AND WITHIN 2 MILES, ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE. THERE WAS A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF METALLIC NOISE COMING FROM THE CAR AND I NEARLY LOST TOTAL CONTROL OF THE CAR. I COULD BREAK I THINK. BUT STEERING AND ENGINE POWER WERE DANGEROUSLY AFFECTED. ME AND MY KIDS WOULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. I SUSPECT THE PARTS USED WERE NOT OF PROPER QUALITY OR THE WORKMANSHIP WAS POOR. I CAN'T DECIDE. THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN PERFECT WITH OTHER REPAIRS SO I DOUBT IT COULD HAVE BEEN WORKMANSHIP BUT IT IS HARD FOR ME TO SAY. PEOPLE MAKE MISTAKES.

View Details

STEERING

11/15/2014 - BUFORD, GA
I PURCHASED THIS 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY IN 2011, WITH APPROXIMATELY 45,000 MILES ON IT. DURING THE WINTER OF 2013, I BEGAN TO EXPERIENCE GROANING (AND SOMETIMES "HUMMING") NOISES FROM THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM. ADDITIONALLY, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS HARD TO TURN AT LOW SPEEDS. I ASSUMED THE VEHICLE WAS LOW ON FLUIDS SO WITH EVERY OIL CHANGE (AT THE HONDA DEALERSHIP) , I INSISTED THE POWER STEERING FLUID BE FILLED. THE HONDA DEALER WAS NOT ABLE TO IDENTIFY ANY NOISES. HOWEVER, LAST NIGHT ON THE WAY HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 10PM, THE NOISE RE-APPEARS. THE STEERING ISSUE IS NOW FOLLOWING THE NOISE MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO STEER THE VEHICLE RESULTING IN A SAFETY ISSUE IN OPERATING THE VEHICLE. I KNOW I SHARE THESE CONCERNS WITH OTHER HONDA ODYSSEY OWNERS AND OUR COMPLAINTS ARE FALLING ON DEAF EARS WITH THE DEALERS. I REALLY WANT TO SEE THESE CONCERNS ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/15/2014 - BUFORD, GA
I PURCHASED THIS 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY IN 2011, WITH APPROXIMATELY 45,000 MILES ON IT. DURING THE WINTER OF 2013, I BEGAN TO EXPERIENCE GROANING (AND SOMETIMES "HUMMING") NOISES FROM THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM. ADDITIONALLY, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS HARD TO TURN AT LOW SPEEDS. I ASSUMED THE VEHICLE WAS LOW ON FLUIDS SO WITH EVERY OIL CHANGE (AT THE HONDA DEALERSHIP) , I INSISTED THE POWER STEERING FLUID BE FILLED. THE HONDA DEALER WAS NOT ABLE TO IDENTIFY ANY NOISES. HOWEVER, LAST NIGHT ON THE WAY HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 10PM, THE NOISE RE-APPEARS. THE STEERING ISSUE IS NOW FOLLOWING THE NOISE MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO STEER THE VEHICLE RESULTING IN A SAFETY ISSUE IN OPERATING THE VEHICLE. I KNOW I SHARE THESE CONCERNS WITH OTHER HONDA ODYSSEY OWNERS AND OUR COMPLAINTS ARE FALLING ON DEAF EARS WITH THE DEALERS. I REALLY WANT TO SEE THESE CONCERNS ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/15/2014 - BUFORD, GA
I PURCHASED THIS 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY IN 2011, WITH APPROXIMATELY 45,000 MILES ON IT. DURING THE WINTER OF 2013, I BEGAN TO EXPERIENCE GROANING (AND SOMETIMES "HUMMING") NOISES FROM THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM. ADDITIONALLY, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS HARD TO TURN AT LOW SPEEDS. I ASSUMED THE VEHICLE WAS LOW ON FLUIDS SO WITH EVERY OIL CHANGE (AT THE HONDA DEALERSHIP) , I INSISTED THE POWER STEERING FLUID BE FILLED. THE HONDA DEALER WAS NOT ABLE TO IDENTIFY ANY NOISES. HOWEVER, LAST NIGHT ON THE WAY HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 10PM, THE NOISE RE-APPEARS. THE STEERING ISSUE IS NOW FOLLOWING THE NOISE MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO STEER THE VEHICLE RESULTING IN A SAFETY ISSUE IN OPERATING THE VEHICLE. I KNOW I SHARE THESE CONCERNS WITH OTHER HONDA ODYSSEY OWNERS AND OUR COMPLAINTS ARE FALLING ON DEAF EARS WITH THE DEALERS. I REALLY WANT TO SEE THESE CONCERNS ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/6/2014 - WHITE HALL, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE BRAKES INDEPENDENTLY ENGAGED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/24/2014 - ROLLING MEADOWS, IL
STARTING IN THE SPRING OF 2014, THE PAINT STARTED COMING OFF ON THE DRIVER SIDE AND NOW THE ENTIRE FRONT OF THE ROOF IS COMING OFF.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/9/2014 - CERRITOS, CA
THE TWO STRUTS JUST SUDDENLY CANNOT HOLD THE LIFTGATE WHICH IT ALMOST HIT MY WIFE AND KIDS' HEAD. SHOULD HONDA NOTICE THESE STRUTS FAILURE? KNOWN MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVE SAME PROBLEM ON 2008 ODYSSEY EX/EXL MODELS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/16/2014 - MONTEBELLO, CA
ON 09/07/14, WAS INVOLVED IN A 4 CAR ACCIDENT. TRAVELING WESTBOUND ON ROUTE 60, NEAR I605, LIGHT TRAFFIC AT APPROX. 3:45 PM. # 1 LANE WAS CLOSING, DUE TO FWY WORK/MAINTENANCE. SAW SIGNS AND PROCEEDED TO MOVE FROM THE #1 LANE TO THE #2 LANE, WHILE IN THE #2 LANE NOTICED THE FLASHING ARROW FOR THE LANE CLOSURE. I ESTIMATE I SLOWED TO ABOUT 60 MPH, SINCE TRAFFIC WAS MERGING, CAR IN FRONT WAS APPROX. 6-7 CARS LENGTHS AHEAD, WHEN I SAW BRAKE LIGHTS FROM THE CAR AHEAD OF ME AND THEY HAD COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. WHICH APPEARED TO BE FROM AN ACCIDENT. I IMMEDIATELY APPLIED THE BRAKES HARD TO STOP, BUT COULD NOT STOP IN TIME. ENDED UP HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FROM LIGHTLY, MAYBE ABOUT 5-10 MPH AT TIME OF IMPACT. BASED UPON THE DISTANCE FROM THE CAR AHEAD, I SHOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STOP OUR VEHICLE. DID NOT FEEL LIKE THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM WAS WORKING, FELT NO PULSATING OR PUSH BACK IN THE PEDAL AND CAR APPEARED TO SKID/SLIDE INTO THE CAR AHEAD. I FOUND A RECALL NOTICE FOR THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES, WHICH STATED THAT AIR CAN ENTER THE SYSTEM AND AFFECT THE VEHICLE BRAKING SYSTEM. NEVER RECEIVED ANY RECALL NOTICE FROM HONDA ABOUT THIS AND I BELIEVE THE FAUTLY BRAKE SYSTEM WAS A FACTOR IN OUR AVOIDABLE INCIDENT. ANOTHER CAR HIT US FROM BEHIND AND THE DRIVER WAS INJURED VERY BADLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds