Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 355 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (6) Power Train (33) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (2) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (100) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (40) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/28/2015 - CRANFORD, NJ
I WAS COMING TO A STOP AT A RED LIGHT WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FORWARD. I HAD TO TURN THE WHEEL TO AVOID HITTING A CAR IN FRONT OF ME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/28/2015 - CRANFORD, NJ
I WAS COMING TO A STOP AT A RED LIGHT WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FORWARD. I HAD TO TURN THE WHEEL TO AVOID HITTING A CAR IN FRONT OF ME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/23/2015 - COLCHESTER, CT
CAR LOST POWER ON EXPRESSWAY, FUEL GAUGE READ 3/4 FULL, CAR WAS EMPTY. FUEL PUMP IS BEING REPLACED

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/15/2015 - LUBBOCK, TX
CAR EMITS A GRINDING SOUND WHEN THROTTLE IS IN A CRUISE OR SLIGHT ACCEL POSITION. ENGINE GETS "STUCK" AT 1500 RPM'S WHERE IT EMITS GRINDING SOUND THE LOUDEST. CAN ALSO FEEL IT IN THE GAS PEDAL. NORMAL SEQUENCE IS THIS: 1) ACCEL TO ~40MPH 2) ONCE AT STEADY STATE AND IN 4TH GEAR, ENGINE RPMS WILL FALL TO 1500. 3) RPM WILL GET "CAUGHT" AT 1500, MAKES GRINDING SOUND 4) RPMS MIGHT BREAKTHROUGH 1500, POP UP TO 1800, AND GRINDING NOISE WILL DIMINISH. 5) RPMS WILL THEN DROP BELOW 1500, THEN RISE AND GET STUCK AT 1500 AGAIN ALONG WITH INFURIATING NOISE AND PEDAL VIBRATION. CYCLE IS USUALLY 5-10 SECONDS. GOING SLIGHTLY UPHILL MAKES IT CYCLE MORE FREQUENTLY. GOING DOWNHILL DOESN'T MAKE NOISE SINCE TRANS IS DISENGAGED. IT'S ALSO HARD TO TELL IF LOWER GEARS DO THE SAME THING BECAUSE ENGINE NOISE AND VIBRATION DROWN OUT GRINDING SOUND/FEEL. OTHER THOUGHTS: - KIND OF SOUNDS LIKE A STRONG CROSS-WIND (30+ MPH) GOING ACROSS THE WINDSHIELD. - IT ALSO SOUNDS SIMILAR TO HOW A BAD IDLER BEARING ON AN AC COMPRESSOR SOUNDS. THAT KIND OF METALLIC GRINDING SOUND. - IT'S NOT THE ENGINE MOUNTS (THEY'VE BEEN REPLACED) - IT'S SUBTLE AND SOME PEOPLE MIGHT NOT DETECT THE SOUND.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2015 - LUBBOCK, TX
CAR EMITS A GRINDING SOUND WHEN THROTTLE IS IN A CRUISE OR SLIGHT ACCEL POSITION. ENGINE GETS "STUCK" AT 1500 RPM'S WHERE IT EMITS GRINDING SOUND THE LOUDEST. CAN ALSO FEEL IT IN THE GAS PEDAL. NORMAL SEQUENCE IS THIS: 1) ACCEL TO ~40MPH 2) ONCE AT STEADY STATE AND IN 4TH GEAR, ENGINE RPMS WILL FALL TO 1500. 3) RPM WILL GET "CAUGHT" AT 1500, MAKES GRINDING SOUND 4) RPMS MIGHT BREAKTHROUGH 1500, POP UP TO 1800, AND GRINDING NOISE WILL DIMINISH. 5) RPMS WILL THEN DROP BELOW 1500, THEN RISE AND GET STUCK AT 1500 AGAIN ALONG WITH INFURIATING NOISE AND PEDAL VIBRATION. CYCLE IS USUALLY 5-10 SECONDS. GOING SLIGHTLY UPHILL MAKES IT CYCLE MORE FREQUENTLY. GOING DOWNHILL DOESN'T MAKE NOISE SINCE TRANS IS DISENGAGED. IT'S ALSO HARD TO TELL IF LOWER GEARS DO THE SAME THING BECAUSE ENGINE NOISE AND VIBRATION DROWN OUT GRINDING SOUND/FEEL. OTHER THOUGHTS: - KIND OF SOUNDS LIKE A STRONG CROSS-WIND (30+ MPH) GOING ACROSS THE WINDSHIELD. - IT ALSO SOUNDS SIMILAR TO HOW A BAD IDLER BEARING ON AN AC COMPRESSOR SOUNDS. THAT KIND OF METALLIC GRINDING SOUND. - IT'S NOT THE ENGINE MOUNTS (THEY'VE BEEN REPLACED) - IT'S SUBTLE AND SOME PEOPLE MIGHT NOT DETECT THE SOUND.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/13/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14E049000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) AND HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, THE CONTACT NOTICED A STRONG FUEL ODOR WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/13/2015 - CORNELIUS, NC
WE OWN A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY EX THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED IN THE RECALL FOR THIS SAFETY ISSUE, AS IT HAS BEEN DISCOVERED THAT THE POWER LIFT GATE CAN FAIL AS THE STRUTS ARE LEAKING PRESSURIZED GAS. THE REASON THE RECALL COME TO OUR ATTENTION IN THE FIRST PLACE IS BECAUSE THE POWER LIFT GATE ON OUR VEHICLE HAS FAILED AND HAS INJURED AN EMPLOYEE. UPON OUR OWN RESEARCH, WE ENTERED OUR VIN NUMBER INTO YOUR DATABASE TO CHECK FOR ANY RECALL NOTIFICATIONS, AND THE WEBSITE STATED OUR VIN NUMBER WAS INVALID. HOWEVER, WHEN SEARCHING ON YOUR WEBSITE FOR RECALLS FOR THE 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, IT IS CLEAR THAT A RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED ON 2/16/2012 WITH A NHTSA RECALL NUMBER OF 12V-062. WE THEN CONTACTED THE WHERE WE HAD PURCHASED OUR VEHICLE. THEY DENIED ANY RECALL FOR THE POWER LIFT GATE ISSUE AND FAILED TO HELP US RESOLVE THIS MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/13/2015 - CORNELIUS, NC
WE OWN A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY EX THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED IN THE RECALL FOR THIS SAFETY ISSUE, AS IT HAS BEEN DISCOVERED THAT THE POWER LIFT GATE CAN FAIL AS THE STRUTS ARE LEAKING PRESSURIZED GAS. THE REASON THE RECALL COME TO OUR ATTENTION IN THE FIRST PLACE IS BECAUSE THE POWER LIFT GATE ON OUR VEHICLE HAS FAILED AND HAS INJURED AN EMPLOYEE. UPON OUR OWN RESEARCH, WE ENTERED OUR VIN NUMBER INTO YOUR DATABASE TO CHECK FOR ANY RECALL NOTIFICATIONS, AND THE WEBSITE STATED OUR VIN NUMBER WAS INVALID. HOWEVER, WHEN SEARCHING ON YOUR WEBSITE FOR RECALLS FOR THE 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, IT IS CLEAR THAT A RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED ON 2/16/2012 WITH A NHTSA RECALL NUMBER OF 12V-062. WE THEN CONTACTED THE WHERE WE HAD PURCHASED OUR VEHICLE. THEY DENIED ANY RECALL FOR THE POWER LIFT GATE ISSUE AND FAILED TO HELP US RESOLVE THIS MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/10/2015 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC WHO SAID THE VEHICLE HAD AN ERROR CODE OF P3400 AND TO IMMEDIATELY FILL IT WITH OIL AND TAKE IT TO HONDA DEALER. DID THAT AND DISCOVERED CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT COVERED REPAIR. JEFF WYLER HONDA CLAIMS TO HAVE FIXED THE PROBLEM. VEHICLE'S ENGINE LIGHT GOES ON AGAIN 6 MONTHS LATER WITH SAME ERROR CODE P3400. TOLD BY JEFF WYLER HONDA ON COLERAIN AVENUE THAT VEHICLE IS FINE DESPITE HAVING LOST 2 QUARTS OF OIL IN LESS THAN 1000 MILES. DEALER TELLS US THAT IT IS "PERFECTLY NORMAL" FOR HONDA VEHICLES TO USE 1 QUART OF OIL PER 1000 MILES, AND THAT THIS IS TRUE OF THEIR ENTIRE FLEET INCLUDING 2014 AND 2015 VEHICLES. HONDA USA AND HONDA DEALER ARE UNWILLING TO LOOK AT VEHICLE ANY FURTHER AND TELL US THAT WE WILL JUST HAVE TO PUT OIL IN IT EACH TIME WE FILL THE VEHICLE WITH GAS, AND THAT THIS IS NOT AN UNUSUAL OCCURRENCE. SO NOW, WE HAVE A MINIVAN MEANT TO TRANSPORT OUR FAMILY ABOUT TOWN THAT WE WILL HAVE TO FILL WITH OIL EACH AND EVERY TIME WE GO TO USE IT. DEALER ADMITS THAT THERE ARE NO LEAKS, AND THAT THE VAN HAS BEEN KEPT IN FINE RUNNING CONDITION BY US.

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2015 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC WHO SAID THE VEHICLE HAD AN ERROR CODE OF P3400 AND TO IMMEDIATELY FILL IT WITH OIL AND TAKE IT TO HONDA DEALER. DID THAT AND DISCOVERED CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT COVERED REPAIR. JEFF WYLER HONDA CLAIMS TO HAVE FIXED THE PROBLEM. VEHICLE'S ENGINE LIGHT GOES ON AGAIN 6 MONTHS LATER WITH SAME ERROR CODE P3400. TOLD BY JEFF WYLER HONDA ON COLERAIN AVENUE THAT VEHICLE IS FINE DESPITE HAVING LOST 2 QUARTS OF OIL IN LESS THAN 1000 MILES. DEALER TELLS US THAT IT IS "PERFECTLY NORMAL" FOR HONDA VEHICLES TO USE 1 QUART OF OIL PER 1000 MILES, AND THAT THIS IS TRUE OF THEIR ENTIRE FLEET INCLUDING 2014 AND 2015 VEHICLES. HONDA USA AND HONDA DEALER ARE UNWILLING TO LOOK AT VEHICLE ANY FURTHER AND TELL US THAT WE WILL JUST HAVE TO PUT OIL IN IT EACH TIME WE FILL THE VEHICLE WITH GAS, AND THAT THIS IS NOT AN UNUSUAL OCCURRENCE. SO NOW, WE HAVE A MINIVAN MEANT TO TRANSPORT OUR FAMILY ABOUT TOWN THAT WE WILL HAVE TO FILL WITH OIL EACH AND EVERY TIME WE GO TO USE IT. DEALER ADMITS THAT THERE ARE NO LEAKS, AND THAT THE VAN HAS BEEN KEPT IN FINE RUNNING CONDITION BY US.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds