Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 433 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (17)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (36) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electrical System (23) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (3) Steering (26) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (124) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (32) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (50) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/16/2018 - WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY
15MAY2018. IN A SLOW TRAFFIC, I FELT A SLIGHT VIBRATION ON THE ENGINE AND THE ENGINE STOPPED. WHILE TURNING ON AGAIN, THE ENGINE STARTS UP, BUT DIES AGAIN. A RED WARNING FLASHES SHOWING BATTERY AND OIL SYMBOLS. THE SAME REPEATED . VEHICLE TOWED TO A MECHANIC. WHEN THE MECHANIC STARTED, ENGINE RUNS FINE. MECHANIC'S DIAGNOSTICS DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. I DROVE BACK HOME 60 MILES AWAY. NO ISSUES. FEARING FOR MY LIFE, IF THIS HAPPENS AGAIN ON HIGHWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/16/2018 - WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY
15MAY2018. IN A SLOW TRAFFIC, I FELT A SLIGHT VIBRATION ON THE ENGINE AND THE ENGINE STOPPED. WHILE TURNING ON AGAIN, THE ENGINE STARTS UP, BUT DIES AGAIN. A RED WARNING FLASHES SHOWING BATTERY AND OIL SYMBOLS. THE SAME REPEATED . VEHICLE TOWED TO A MECHANIC. WHEN THE MECHANIC STARTED, ENGINE RUNS FINE. MECHANIC'S DIAGNOSTICS DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. I DROVE BACK HOME 60 MILES AWAY. NO ISSUES. FEARING FOR MY LIFE, IF THIS HAPPENS AGAIN ON HIGHWAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/9/2018 - SEMINOLE, FL
BRAKE PEDDLE GOES TO FLOOR BEFORE BRAKES ARE ENGAGED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/27/2018 - WARRENVILLE, IL
THE ALARM WENT ON AT AROUND 2AM AND KEPT ON GOING. SWITCHED IF OFF USING KEY FOB. CHECKED ALL DOORS AND WINDOWS AND NOTHING WAS OPEN. AFTER ABOUT TEN MINUTES IT STARTED GOING OFF AGAIN BY ITSELF. AS I WAS WATCHING AT THAT TIME, THERE WAS NO REASON FOR THE ALARM TO GO OFF. THE SAME THING REPEATED OVER SEVERAL NIGHTS AND THIS BECAME AN ISSUE FOR US AND NEIGHBOR'S. FROM THEN ON, I HAVE STARTED TAKING OUT THE HORN FUSE WHEN PARKING. AS THIS HAPPENED A FEW MONTHS AGO, I HAVE GIVEN AN APPROXIMATE DATE BELOW. I AM HAVING THIS CHECKED BY A DEALER, THOUGH I DOUBT THEY CAN FIND THE CAUSE AS THIS OCCURS RANDOMLY. THIS HAS HOWEVER BECOME A MAJOR HEADACHE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/19/2018 - REDDING, CA
I DON'T HAVE THE EXACT DATES OF WHEN THIS STARTED, BUT THE ODYSSEY STARTED CONSUMING ENOUGH OIL AROUND 2011 THAT I HAD TO ADD IT BETWEEN CHANGES. THEN IN THE LAST FEW YEARS, IT'S GOTTEN TO THE POINT WHERE YOU CAN SMELL THE OIL BURNING AND SOMETIMES THE EXHAUST IS GRAY, A DEAD-TELL OF BURNING OIL. NOW IT WILL NOT PASS SMOG AS OF DEC 2017. WHEN I WAS LOOKING FOR INFORMATION ABOUT THE SMOKING, I FOUND OUT ABOUT THE LAWSUIT AND SETTLEMENT - WE NEVER GOT ANY INDICATION THAT THERE WAS A SETTLEMENT ABOUT THE EXCESS OIL CONSUMPTION AND OUR VAN COULD BE FIXED BY HONDA, EVEN BACK WHEN IT WAS JUST USING A LOT OF OIL, BUT NOT SMOKING VISIBLY YET. NOW WE HAVE TO GET IT FIXED TO PASS CA SMOG, BUT HONDA IS MAKING US GO THROUGH MULTIPLE 1000 MILE CONSUMPTION TESTS TO PROVE THERE IS A PROBLEM DESPITE THE FACT THAT YOU CAN SEE AND SMELL THE BURNING OIL IN ADDITION TO THE EXCESS OIL USAGE. THIS PROBLEM IS A LOT WIDER THAN HONDA HAS ADMITTED TO, AND THEY DID NOT NOTIFY ALL OWNERS ABOUT THE LAWSUIT SETTLEMENT BECAUSE WE NEVER GOT A CARD, DESPITE GETTING NOTICES ABOUT OTHER WARRANTY RECALLS, ETC. I NOTED THAT THIS STARTED IN 2011, BUT IT'S ONGOING, GETTING WORSE AND CULMINATING WITH FAILING SMOG TESTING IN 2017 FOR BURNING OIL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2018 - REDDING, CA
I DON'T HAVE THE EXACT DATES OF WHEN THIS STARTED, BUT THE ODYSSEY STARTED CONSUMING ENOUGH OIL AROUND 2011 THAT I HAD TO ADD IT BETWEEN CHANGES. THEN IN THE LAST FEW YEARS, IT'S GOTTEN TO THE POINT WHERE YOU CAN SMELL THE OIL BURNING AND SOMETIMES THE EXHAUST IS GRAY, A DEAD-TELL OF BURNING OIL. NOW IT WILL NOT PASS SMOG AS OF DEC 2017. WHEN I WAS LOOKING FOR INFORMATION ABOUT THE SMOKING, I FOUND OUT ABOUT THE LAWSUIT AND SETTLEMENT - WE NEVER GOT ANY INDICATION THAT THERE WAS A SETTLEMENT ABOUT THE EXCESS OIL CONSUMPTION AND OUR VAN COULD BE FIXED BY HONDA, EVEN BACK WHEN IT WAS JUST USING A LOT OF OIL, BUT NOT SMOKING VISIBLY YET. NOW WE HAVE TO GET IT FIXED TO PASS CA SMOG, BUT HONDA IS MAKING US GO THROUGH MULTIPLE 1000 MILE CONSUMPTION TESTS TO PROVE THERE IS A PROBLEM DESPITE THE FACT THAT YOU CAN SEE AND SMELL THE BURNING OIL IN ADDITION TO THE EXCESS OIL USAGE. THIS PROBLEM IS A LOT WIDER THAN HONDA HAS ADMITTED TO, AND THEY DID NOT NOTIFY ALL OWNERS ABOUT THE LAWSUIT SETTLEMENT BECAUSE WE NEVER GOT A CARD, DESPITE GETTING NOTICES ABOUT OTHER WARRANTY RECALLS, ETC. I NOTED THAT THIS STARTED IN 2011, BUT IT'S ONGOING, GETTING WORSE AND CULMINATING WITH FAILING SMOG TESTING IN 2017 FOR BURNING OIL.

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2018 - CENTRAL FALLS, RI
THERE WAS A PREVIOUS LAWSUIT AGAINST HONDA FOR HONDA ACCORDS HAVING A PROBLEM WITH EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. I HAVE A 08 ODYSSEY THAT'S HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM BUT UNFORTUNATELY I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND IT GOT SO BAD I WAS TOLD I NEED A NEW MOTOR. I WENT TO HAVE AN OIL CHANGE AT THE HONDA DEALERSHIP BACK IN NOVEMBER AND LAST MONTH WAS TOLD THAT THE OIL WAS BONE DRY. HOW'S THAT POSSIBLE IF IT'S NOT BURNING OR LEAKING OIL? HONDA KNOWS OF THE PROBLEM YET REFUSED ME ANY HELP AND TOLD ME I HAVE TO BRING IT IN FOR A DIAGNOSTIC THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR ON TOP OF REPLACING THE MOTOR ON MY OWN. THERE ARE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS I FOUND ONLINE WITH PEOPLE WHO HAVE THE SAME VEHICLE AND SAME PROBLEM. UNFORTUNATELY THEY KNOW ABOUT IT AND ARE KEEPING UP WITH HAVING TO CONSTANTLY ADD OIL, WHERE I HAD NO IDEA ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND APPARENTLY I WAS DRIVING IT WITH NO OIL FOR ONLY GOD KNOWS HOW LONG. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM AND ITS NOT FAIR THAT WE SHOULD HAVE TO PAY THE PRICE. I'M A SINGLE MOM, 2 SPECIAL NEEDS KIDS, I DON'T HAVE OVER 3000 TO REPAIR A MOTOR THAT BROKE BECAUSE OF A MANUFACTURER DEFECT. THIS NEEDS TO BE HEARD AND WE NEED TO GET HONDA TO DO A RECALL AND FIX THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE THERE'S GONNA BE HUNDREDS IF NOT THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE WHO ARE GONNA HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. HONDA IS A CROOKED DEALERSHIP AND DOESN'T CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS. NOW I'M SITTING HERE STUCK WITH A VAN WHICH I PURCHASED WITH MY SON'S DISABILITY MONEY BTW, WITH A BAD MOTOR CAUSE OF A MISTAKE HONDA MADE WHEN MAKING THESE VANS. PLEASE GET MY STORY OUT THERE, LET THIS BE HEARD. I NEED SOMEONE TO HELP ME DO SOMETHING. THIS IS SAD AND WRONG AND I'M SURE I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE. I'M ALSO GOING TO CONTACT THE BBB AND THE LOCAL ATTORNEY GENERAL OFFICE. THEY'VE ALREADY HAD LAWSUITS FOR THE SAME PROBLEM BUT FOR THE HONDA ACCORD, NOW WE NEED TO START ONE FOR THE HONDA ODYSSEY

View Details

ENGINE

3/13/2018 - MOORHEAD, MN
ENGINE DAMAGE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/21/2018 - WILMINGTON, DE
PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR JUMPED TRACK AND BROKE OFF DURING NORMAL OPERATIONS. VEHICLE WAS PARKED, AND PASSENGERS HAD EXITED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/21/2018 - WILMINGTON, DE
PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR JUMPED TRACK AND BROKE OFF DURING NORMAL OPERATIONS. VEHICLE WAS PARKED, AND PASSENGERS HAD EXITED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds