Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 386 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (11)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (23) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (114) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (19) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (45) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/25/2016 - MIRA LOMA, CA
EVEN AFTER REPAIR BREAK FEW TIIMES AND WHEN APPLY BREAK IS NOT STOP AS REQUIRED MANY TIME GIVE US DAM HARD TIME TO STOP IMMIDEATLY, AND STEARING IS GETTING HARD AND JAM EVEN UNDER WARRNTY REPLACED

View Details

STEERING

6/25/2016 - MIRA LOMA, CA
EVEN AFTER REPAIR BREAK FEW TIIMES AND WHEN APPLY BREAK IS NOT STOP AS REQUIRED MANY TIME GIVE US DAM HARD TIME TO STOP IMMIDEATLY, AND STEARING IS GETTING HARD AND JAM EVEN UNDER WARRNTY REPLACED

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

6/16/2016 - BARLETT, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFTGATE CLOSED INDEPENDENTLY AND FAILED TO REMAIN OPEN WITHOUT WARNING. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/9/2016 - MATTHEWS, NC
THE HONDA ODYSSEY HAS A WELL KNOWN MANUFACTURING DEFECT WITH IT TRANSMISSION, INCLUDING A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT THAT WAS WITHDRAWN BY THE PLAINTIFF FOR AN UNKNOWN REASON- (LIKELY SETTLED BY HONDA OUTSIDE OF THE CLASS IS MY GUESS), RELATED TO THE TORQUE CONVERTER THAT AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO IS UNWILLING TO ACKNOWLEDGE AND REPAIR. HTTPS://WWW.GOOGLE.COM/?GWS_RD=SSL#Q=ODYSSEY+TORQUE+CONVERTER+JUDDER ON MAY 9, 2016 SCOTT CLARK HONDA AT 13000 E INDEPENDENCE BLVD, MATTHEWS, NC 28105,PHONE:(855) 507-6727, DIAGNOSED THIS PROBLEM ON MY 2008 ODYSSEY AND QUOTED $1727 TO REPLACE THE TORQUE CONVERTER. I CONTACTED HONDA CUSTOMER RELATIONS AT 310-783-2000 AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE REPAIR OF THE TORQUE CONVERTER AS THERE IS NO RECALL AND THEY VEHICLE BEING OUT OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/3/2016 - MEDINA, OH
THERE IS NO ACCIDENT. SEAT BELT (SHOULDER PORTION) IS FRAYING. NOT SURE IF THIS SEAT BELT IS SAFE OR IF THIS IS THE TYPE OF SAFETY ISSUE THAT NHTSA WANTS TO REVIEW. I WANT TO MAKE SURE THIS IS NOT A DEFECT AFFECTING OTHER HONDA VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE

4/21/2016 - LAFAYETTE, LA
I NEVER HAD ANY MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH MY VAN UP UNTIL THIS POINT. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND GO OFF FROM TIME TO TIME AND I TOOK IT IN FOR A DIAGNOSTIC CHECK EACH TIME AND IT WAS THE SAME CODE FOR CATALYTIC CONVERTER. MY CAR RAN WELL AND THEN SUDDENLY, WHILE TAKING MY KIDS TO SCHOOL ON A CITY STREET, THE MUFFLER BEGAN SMOKING WHEN I WOULD EITHER IDLE OR DRIVE. IT ONLY DID THIS THE NIGHT BEFORE I BROUGHT IT INTO THE SHOP AND THE DAY OF. IT WOULD HESITATE ALSO. I FELT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO DIE AT ANY MINUTE, SO I TOOK MY KIDS TO SCHOOL AND BROUGHT IT TO THE SHOP IMMEDIATELY. THE MECHANIC THEN TOLD ME I DID NOT HAVE A DROP OF OIL. THIS SEEMED STRANGE BECAUSE I HAD NEVER SEEN A LEAK (I PARK IN THE SAME PLACE AT MY HOUSE). HE TESTED MY CAR FOR A LEAK AND DID NOT DETECT ANY. SOME PEOPLE SUGGESTED THAT THE OIL CHANGE PLACE FORGOT TO PUT OIL IN MY CAR. THAT IS HIGHLY UNLIKELY SINCE I HAD JUST GONE TO HAVE MY OIL TOPPED OFF ABOUT A MONTH BEFORE. I HAD ALSO DRIVEN IT FOR ABOUT 2500 MILES SINCE THEN. BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF WARNING, I HAVE TO REPLACE MY ENGINE...IT IS SHOT.

View Details

WHEELS

4/13/2016 - MARCO ISLAND, FL
WHEELS FURNISHED ON TOURING MODEL VAN WILL ONLY ACCEPT MIICHELIN PAX TIRES AND CAN ONLY BE REPAIRED OR REPLACED BY A HONDA A FACTORY DEALER - IF YOU ARE NOT NEAR A HONDA DEALER AND YOUR TIRES BLOW OUT AND NEED FIXING YOU ARE STUCK

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/4/2016 - ARCADIA, FL
MY 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH TODAY BECAUSE WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES IT DID NOT WANT TO STOP. MY PEDAL WAS TO THE FLOOR BUT MY VAN DID NOT STOP. I WAS ONLY GOING ABOUT 25 MPH BUT HAD NO STOPPING POWER. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS ON A FEW OTHER OCCASION BUT MY VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE PAST RECALL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE

3/10/2016 - MCDONOUGH, GA
THE TAILGATE STRUTS ON MY 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY FAILED ON 3/7/2016. WHEN I OPEN THE LIFTGATE ON OUR VAN NOW, THE STRUTS THAT CAUSE THE LIFTGATE TO OPEN EASILY ARE NOT WORKING. THIS MEANS YOU HAVE TO RAISE THE TAILGATE MANUALLY AND USE A STICK OF SOME KIND TO KEEP THE TAILGATE OPEN. I FOUND THAT A RECALL WAS ISSUED AROUND 2012 FOR LIFTGATE PROBLEMS ON THE 2008-2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE INFORMATION I FOUND SAID THAT THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN FOR THIS RECALL HAS THE ID: #12V062000 MY ODYSSEY'S VIN NUMBER DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE INCLUDED IN THAT RECALL. SINCE I AM AFFECTED BY THE SAME PROBLEM IDENTIFIED IN THE RECALL, I'D LIKE FOR THE RECALL TO BE EXPANDED TO INCLUDE MY VIN SO WE CAN BE REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIR. THE VIN FOR MY 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY IS: [XXX] HERE IS THE WEBSITE WHERE I FOUND OUT ABOUT THE RECALL: HTTP://WWW.THECARCONNECTION.COM/NEWS/1073272_2008-2009-HONDA-ODYSSEY-RECALLED-FOR-LIFTGATE-PROBLEM INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/10/2016 - MCDONOUGH, GA
THE TAILGATE STRUTS ON MY 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY FAILED ON 3/7/2016. WHEN I OPEN THE LIFTGATE ON OUR VAN NOW, THE STRUTS THAT CAUSE THE LIFTGATE TO OPEN EASILY ARE NOT WORKING. THIS MEANS YOU HAVE TO RAISE THE TAILGATE MANUALLY AND USE A STICK OF SOME KIND TO KEEP THE TAILGATE OPEN. I FOUND THAT A RECALL WAS ISSUED AROUND 2012 FOR LIFTGATE PROBLEMS ON THE 2008-2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE INFORMATION I FOUND SAID THAT THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN FOR THIS RECALL HAS THE ID: #12V062000 MY ODYSSEY'S VIN NUMBER DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE INCLUDED IN THAT RECALL. SINCE I AM AFFECTED BY THE SAME PROBLEM IDENTIFIED IN THE RECALL, I'D LIKE FOR THE RECALL TO BE EXPANDED TO INCLUDE MY VIN SO WE CAN BE REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIR. THE VIN FOR MY 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY IS: [XXX] HERE IS THE WEBSITE WHERE I FOUND OUT ABOUT THE RECALL: HTTP://WWW.THECARCONNECTION.COM/NEWS/1073272_2008-2009-HONDA-ODYSSEY-RECALLED-FOR-LIFTGATE-PROBLEM INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds