Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 413 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (14)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (35) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (25) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (120) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (26) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/30/2017 - CLEVELAND, OH
MY DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR FELL OFF. IT WAS ON ONE MINUTE AND THEN THE NEXT IT COMPLETELY FELL OFF. WE WERE IN A PARKING LOT AND I WENT TO OPEN THE DOOR. I PULLED ON IT AND IT JUST POPPED RIGHT OFF. AS A RESULT IT SCRATCHED UP THE SIDE OF MY CAR VERY BADLY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/29/2017 - MOBILE, AL
I HAD JUST TAKEN MY CHILDREN TO A WATER PARK. UPON RETURNING TO MY VEHICLE AT THE PARK'S CLOSING, I OPENED THE DRIVER'S SIDE PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR WITH NO PROBLEM. WHEN I TRIED TO CLOSE IT, IT WOULD NOT CLOSE COMPLETELY, AND WHEN I GAVE IT ANOTHER HARD PULL, IT CAME COMPLETELY OFF. THE CENTER SIDE ROLLER HAD COME COMPLETELY OFF TRACK. I WAS ABLE TO HOLD THE DOOR UP WITH SOME DIFFICULTY, BUT WAS UNABLE TO GET THE SIDE ROLLER BACK IN TRACK. THANKFULLY, I WAS ABLE TO REMOVE THE SIDE ROLLER APPARATUS FROM THE DOOR, GET THE UPPER ROLLER SOMEWHAT BACK ON TRACK, AND GET THE DOOR CLOSED. OTHERWISE, WE WOULD HAVE BEEN STRANDED. AS HEAVY AS THAT DOOR WAS, IT COULD HAVE REALLY HURT MY CHILD IF IT HAD FALLEN INWARD ON HER, AND I WAS VERY FORTUNATE THAT IT DID NOT HURT ME. VEHICLE WAS OBVIOUSLY STATIONARY IN A PARKING LOT WHEN THIS OCCURRED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/17/2017 - MONROE, NJ
THE PAINT HAS BEEN PEELING AND FLAKING FOR YEARS NOW AND IT GOT WORSE NOW. THE CLEAR COAT IS NO LONGER THERE. THERE'S A RECALL FOR THE BLUE COLOR, BUT NOT THE OTHERS. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND THERE. PAINT IS PAINT. COLOR IS DIFFERENT ONLY WHEN THE COLOR PIGMENT IS ADDED. IS THERE A RECALL FOR BLUE, IT SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR ALL OTHERS. I BELIEVE THE COLOR (WHITE) OF MY VEHICLE IS DEFECTIVE PERIOD AND I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A RECALL FOR IT. THANKS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/5/2017 - COLUMBIA, TN
MY VSA LIGHT CAME ON AND IS AN ADDED FEATURE FOR STABILITY TO PREVENT OVERTURNING, THE COST TO REPLACE THE MODULE IS OVER 1200 DOLLARS. MY YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL HAS HAD RECALLS FOR THIS ISSUE BUT MY VIN # PULLS UP NO RECALLS. I HAVE TWIN TODDLERS AND FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE I WOULD LIKE REPAIRED ON THE MANUFACTURES SIDE, NOT OUT OF MY POCKET, THANKS

View Details

STEERING

4/19/2017 - SPRING VALLEY, NY
LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHEN TURNING AT LOW SPEEDS. AT TIMES, THERE ARE VERY SCARY SOUNDS COMING FROM THE POWER STEERING PUMP. THIS IS GOING ON FOR A WHILE AND MY LOCAL DEALER REFUSED TO SERVICE IT UNDER THE WARRANTY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/17/2017 - MOUNT PLEASANT, SC
AFTER DRIVING HOME IN A HEAVY RAIN STORM FOUND LARGE CHUNKS OF PAINT MISSING FROM THE HOOD AND ROOF OF THE VEHICLE. TOOK TO A PAINT SHOP WHO SAID IT IS PAINT FAILURE. CAN SEE PAINT BUBBLING UP NEXT TO THE PEELED AREAS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/17/2017 - CROWN POINT, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED RAPIDLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ENGAGED THE PARKING BRAKE AND WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE GRADUALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT DEALER WHERE THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2017 - MIAMI, FL
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, ERROR CODE P3497. ENGINE BURNS MORE OIL THAN NORMAL. HONDA ISSUED SERVICE BULLETIN 11-033, YET REFUSE TO FIX THE CAR AT THEIR EXPENSE. I GET THE USUAL RUN AROUND OF "ADD MORE OIL EVERY NOW AND AGAIN."

View Details

ENGINE

4/5/2017 - CENTERVILLE, OH
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION ON HONDA ODYSSEY 2008 EXL - SAME RUN-AROUND WITH HONDA STATING 1 QT OIL FOR EVERY 1400-1500 MILES IS "NORMAL". INFORMED DEALERSHIP OF CLASS-ACTION LAWSUIT AND THEN THEY INITIATED A CONTROLLED OIL CONSUMPTION TEST WHICH JUST ENDED RECENTLY. AWAITING RESPONSE FROM HONDA CORP REGARDING NEXT STEPS AS SOFTWARE UPDATE FOR VCM DID NOT CORRECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/3/2017 - ROCHESTER, MN
SRS AIRBAG CONTROL UNIT FAILED. WARNING LIGHT INDICATOR APPEARS PERIODICALLY, BOTH WHILE DRIVING AND PARKED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds