Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 349 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (6) Power Train (32) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (11)
Child Seat (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (98) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (40) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

1/29/2015 - MANHATTAN, KS
TIRES WITH TRACTION RATING A, TEMPERATURE RATING B, AND WEAR RATING 740 WITH MILEAGE WARRANTY OF 80,000 MILES HAD TO BE REPLACED AFTER ONLY 38,407 MILES. TIRES HAD POOR TRACTION AND TREAD ON OUTSIDE OF TIRES WAS WORN TO 2/32", BUT NOT ON INSIDE. TIRES WERE ALWAYS KEPT AT RECOMMENDED PRESSURE, ROTATED REGULARLY, KEPT BALANCED AND VEHICLE ALIGNMENT WAS KEPT IN GOOD STANDING. TIRE DEALER RECOMMENDED KEEPING THE TIRES AT 40 PSI FOR MORE EVEN TIRE WEAR AND TO MAKE THE TIRES LAST LONGER, HOWEVER THE VEHICLE RECOMMENDS THE TIRES BE AT 33 PSI (FRONT) AND 35 PSI (REAR) FOR COLD WEATHER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/23/2015 - SAN JOSE, CA
WHEN WE WENT DOWN HILL ON FREEWAY 5 AT LOS ANGELES AND BAKER FIELD COUNTY , CA. THE CAR STARTED SHAKING WITH THE SOUND LIKE DRIVING ON THE DEEP AND BUMP ROAD, THE STEERING WHEEL TURNING LEFT AND RIGHT VIGOROUSLY WHEN I TRIED TO APPLY SLIGHTLY BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN THE SPEED OF THE CAR. IT WAS SCARED TO DEATH WHEN YOU GO DOWN HILL WITH THAT PROBLEM. IT IS TOO DANGEROUS FOR OUR FAMILY. PLEASE RECALL THIS VAN FOR SAFETY, THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/19/2015 - GARDNER, KS
LIFTGATE STRUTS FAILED, WITHOUT WARNING, LIFTGATE FELL ON MY HEAD AS I REACHED IN TO GRAB PERSONAL ITEMS, CAUSING HEADACHE. MY 5 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS STANDING NEXT TO ME, IF MY HEAD WOULD NOT HAVE STOPPED THE LIFTGATE I CANT IMAGINE HOW SERIOUSLY SHE WOULD HAVE BEEN INJURED. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS ON THE TOURING MODEL, BUT NOT THE EX-L HOWEVER THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PART FAILING PREMATURELY, AS EARLY AS 20,000 MILES ON EX-L MODELS. RECALL SHOULD BE EXPANDED TO INCLUDE EX-L.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/3/2015 - LUFKIN, TX
THE BATTERY DRAINS OVERNIGHT MAKING IT SO THE VEHICLE HAS TO BE JUMPED THE NEXT MORNING. WHEN JUMPING THE VEHICLE, A BIT OF STEAM IS EMITTED FROM THE FRONT RIGHT SIDE OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT ACCOMPANIED BY A LOUD "JET ENGINE" OR "TV STATIC" SOUND. ONCE JUMPED, THE CAR WILL START THROUGHOUT THE DAY. HOWEVER, SOMETHING OVERNIGHT IS CAUSING THE BATTERY TO DRAIN. THE WEBSITE CARCOMPLAINTS.COM HAS THE ISSUE LISTED WITH VERY SIMILAR INCIDENTS TO WHAT I JUST EXPLAINED. THIS NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED. ALWAYS, J. ERIC ROBINSON

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/19/2014 - LAGUNA VISTA, TX
ON I69E HEADING NORTH AT 65 MPH AFTER CRESTING AN OVERPASS HILL, VEHICLE STOPPED IN MIDDLE LANE NO BRAKE LIGHTS LIT, HIT BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP BUT THE BRAKES NEVER REACTED AS NORMAL. PUSH THE BRAKE PEDAL AS HARD AS I COULD BUT THE TIRES NEVER SQUEALED ON THE DRY PAYMENT. UNABLE TO CHANGE LANES DUE TO OTHER TRAFFIC AND ENDED UP HITTING STOPPED VEHICLE STILL GOING ABOUT 20MPH. $2,700 DAMAGE TO MY ODYSSEY AND OTHER CAR HAD HEAVY REAR DAMAGE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/24/2014 - CARY, NC
AUTOPARK HONDA REPLACED DRIVE SHAFTS BECAUSE THERE WAS A POPPING SOUND COMING WHILE SLOW TURNS. I DROVE AWAY AND WITHIN 2 MILES, ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE. THERE WAS A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF METALLIC NOISE COMING FROM THE CAR AND I NEARLY LOST TOTAL CONTROL OF THE CAR. I COULD BREAK I THINK. BUT STEERING AND ENGINE POWER WERE DANGEROUSLY AFFECTED. ME AND MY KIDS WOULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. I SUSPECT THE PARTS USED WERE NOT OF PROPER QUALITY OR THE WORKMANSHIP WAS POOR. I CAN'T DECIDE. THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN PERFECT WITH OTHER REPAIRS SO I DOUBT IT COULD HAVE BEEN WORKMANSHIP BUT IT IS HARD FOR ME TO SAY. PEOPLE MAKE MISTAKES.

View Details

WHEELS

11/24/2014 - CARY, NC
AUTOPARK HONDA REPLACED DRIVE SHAFTS BECAUSE THERE WAS A POPPING SOUND COMING WHILE SLOW TURNS. I DROVE AWAY AND WITHIN 2 MILES, ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE. THERE WAS A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF METALLIC NOISE COMING FROM THE CAR AND I NEARLY LOST TOTAL CONTROL OF THE CAR. I COULD BREAK I THINK. BUT STEERING AND ENGINE POWER WERE DANGEROUSLY AFFECTED. ME AND MY KIDS WOULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. I SUSPECT THE PARTS USED WERE NOT OF PROPER QUALITY OR THE WORKMANSHIP WAS POOR. I CAN'T DECIDE. THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN PERFECT WITH OTHER REPAIRS SO I DOUBT IT COULD HAVE BEEN WORKMANSHIP BUT IT IS HARD FOR ME TO SAY. PEOPLE MAKE MISTAKES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/24/2014 - CARY, NC
AUTOPARK HONDA REPLACED DRIVE SHAFTS BECAUSE THERE WAS A POPPING SOUND COMING WHILE SLOW TURNS. I DROVE AWAY AND WITHIN 2 MILES, ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE. THERE WAS A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF METALLIC NOISE COMING FROM THE CAR AND I NEARLY LOST TOTAL CONTROL OF THE CAR. I COULD BREAK I THINK. BUT STEERING AND ENGINE POWER WERE DANGEROUSLY AFFECTED. ME AND MY KIDS WOULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. I SUSPECT THE PARTS USED WERE NOT OF PROPER QUALITY OR THE WORKMANSHIP WAS POOR. I CAN'T DECIDE. THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN PERFECT WITH OTHER REPAIRS SO I DOUBT IT COULD HAVE BEEN WORKMANSHIP BUT IT IS HARD FOR ME TO SAY. PEOPLE MAKE MISTAKES.

View Details

STEERING

11/15/2014 - BUFORD, GA
I PURCHASED THIS 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY IN 2011, WITH APPROXIMATELY 45,000 MILES ON IT. DURING THE WINTER OF 2013, I BEGAN TO EXPERIENCE GROANING (AND SOMETIMES "HUMMING") NOISES FROM THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM. ADDITIONALLY, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS HARD TO TURN AT LOW SPEEDS. I ASSUMED THE VEHICLE WAS LOW ON FLUIDS SO WITH EVERY OIL CHANGE (AT THE HONDA DEALERSHIP) , I INSISTED THE POWER STEERING FLUID BE FILLED. THE HONDA DEALER WAS NOT ABLE TO IDENTIFY ANY NOISES. HOWEVER, LAST NIGHT ON THE WAY HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 10PM, THE NOISE RE-APPEARS. THE STEERING ISSUE IS NOW FOLLOWING THE NOISE MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO STEER THE VEHICLE RESULTING IN A SAFETY ISSUE IN OPERATING THE VEHICLE. I KNOW I SHARE THESE CONCERNS WITH OTHER HONDA ODYSSEY OWNERS AND OUR COMPLAINTS ARE FALLING ON DEAF EARS WITH THE DEALERS. I REALLY WANT TO SEE THESE CONCERNS ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/15/2014 - BUFORD, GA
I PURCHASED THIS 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY IN 2011, WITH APPROXIMATELY 45,000 MILES ON IT. DURING THE WINTER OF 2013, I BEGAN TO EXPERIENCE GROANING (AND SOMETIMES "HUMMING") NOISES FROM THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM. ADDITIONALLY, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS HARD TO TURN AT LOW SPEEDS. I ASSUMED THE VEHICLE WAS LOW ON FLUIDS SO WITH EVERY OIL CHANGE (AT THE HONDA DEALERSHIP) , I INSISTED THE POWER STEERING FLUID BE FILLED. THE HONDA DEALER WAS NOT ABLE TO IDENTIFY ANY NOISES. HOWEVER, LAST NIGHT ON THE WAY HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 10PM, THE NOISE RE-APPEARS. THE STEERING ISSUE IS NOW FOLLOWING THE NOISE MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO STEER THE VEHICLE RESULTING IN A SAFETY ISSUE IN OPERATING THE VEHICLE. I KNOW I SHARE THESE CONCERNS WITH OTHER HONDA ODYSSEY OWNERS AND OUR COMPLAINTS ARE FALLING ON DEAF EARS WITH THE DEALERS. I REALLY WANT TO SEE THESE CONCERNS ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds