Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 465 complaints filed for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (6) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (11) Unknown Or Other (25)
Child Seat (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (38) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (3) Steering (26) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (5) Structure (129) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (33) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (56) Suspension (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (5) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/29/2018 - GIG HARBOR, WA
MERGING ONTO HIGHWAY GOING ABOUT 50 MPH, I HEAR A LOUD SOUND THAT WAS LIKE A GUNSHOT. MY SUNROOF EXPLODED AND THE PIECES FELL ON ME, MY SON, AND FLEW OFF THE CAR ONTO THE ROAD WHILE I SLOWED DOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

9/6/2018 - EUGENE, OR
ENGINE HAS EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. OUR MECHANIC HAS LOOKED MULTIPLE TIMES FOR AN OIL LEAK AND CAN'T FIND ONE. THE ENGINE HAS BEEN OBSERVED TO BURN 3 QUARTS OF OIL BETWEEN OIL CHANGES EVERY 3,000 MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/28/2018 - FAIRFIELD, NJ
VEHICLE HAS A SOFT BRAKE, MY WIFE HAS BEEN COMPLAINED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL FEELS SOFT AND WOULD GO LOW TO THE FLOOR FOR SOME YEARS NOW, I CONTINUED TO SERVICE THE BRAKES, PADS AND ROTORS AND SHORTLY AFTER SHE WOULD SAY THE PEDAL IS LOW AGAIN. I STARTED TO LOOK INTO THIS AND SEE IF THERE IS ANY COMPLAINTS ON IT AND FOUND A NHTSA RECALL NUMBER: 10V-098 THAT DESCRIBES EXACTLY WHATS GOING ON AND MY LOCAL HONDA DEALER SAYS MY VIN SHOWS NO RECALLS. MY HONDA WAS MADE IN NOV OF 2007 AND FALLS INTO THE YEARS THAT IS AFFECTED. CAN YOU LOOK AND SEE IF THERE ARE ANY MORE COMPLAINTS IN THIS? AND THIS IS WHILE VEHICLE IS MOVING OR STATIONARY THE PEDAL GOSE WAY TO LOW TO THE FLOOR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/19/2018 - MORRIS PLAINS, NJ
THE AUTOMATIC SLIDING DOOR ON THE DRIVERS SIDE, WHEN OPENED, BECAME DETACHED FROM THE RAILS BOTH TOP & BOTTOM FALLING COMPLETELY OFF, HANGING ONLY BY THE CABLE. BADLY SCRAPPING THE SIDE OF THE VAN THE ENTIRE LENGTH OF THE DOOR. APPARENTLY HONDA HAS BEEN AWARE OF THIS DESIGN DEFECT FOR MANY YEARS, BUT UNLIKE TOYOTA WHO HAD SIMILAR PROBLEMS, HONDA HAS NOT YET ISSUED A RECALL. ASIDE FROM THE OBVIOUS MALFUNCTIONING OF THE DOOR THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED SERIOUS IF NOT FATAL INJURIES TO A SMALL CHILD. THE OPEN BUTTON ON THE DASHBOARD PANEL WAS HIT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN A DRIVEWAY(NOT RUNNING). THE DOOR MADE A GRINDING SOUND, OPENED, FELL OFF IT'S TRACKS AND CONTINUED TO OPEN SCRAPING ALL THE WAY DOWN THE SIDE OF THE VAN AND HANGING BY ONLY THE CABLE WHEN IT STOPPED. FROM LOOKING ON THE INTERNET & FROM TALKING TO A HONDA SERVICE REP, THIS SEEMS TO BE A FAIRLY COMMON PROBLEM WHICH HONDA HAS CHOSEN TO IGNORE. THE SERVICE PERSONS' ONLY COMMENT WAS THAT MY VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT HONDA PLANS TO DO ABOUT THIS KNOWN DEFECT. ARE THEY WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO BE SERIOUSLY INJURED OR WORSE? WOULDN'T IT MAKE SENSE TO DO A RECALL AND FIX THE PROBLEM BEFORE A MAJOR INJURY AND LARGE LAWSUIT?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2018 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
WHILE STATIONARY IN A PARKING LOT, WHILE OPENING THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR THE ENTIRE DOOR JUMPED OUT OF THE CHANNEL, ALMOST FALLING ON TOP OF MYSELF AND OTHERS AND DAMAGING THE SIDE OF THE CAR AND RENDERING THE DOOR USELESS. THE BEARINGS FOR THE DOOR APPEAR TO BE FACTORY ORIGINALS AND ARE MADE OF A CHEAP PLASTIC THAT HAS BROKEN. THIS APPEARS TO BE DANGEROUS AND COMMON FOR ODYSSEES. I HAVE NEVER HAD A CAR EVER HAVE A DOOR JUMP OUT OF A TRACK LIKE THIS AND I HAVE HAD ASTRO VANS SINCE THE 1980S, AND STILL CURRENTLY OWN A 2002 THAT HAS NEVER HAD SUCH AN ISSUE. SLIDING DOORS SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO SPRING OUT OF TRACKS THIS WAY OR USE SUCH EASILY BROKEN, UNRELIABLE PARTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2018 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
WHILE STATIONARY IN A PARKING LOT, WHILE OPENING THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR THE ENTIRE DOOR JUMPED OUT OF THE CHANNEL, ALMOST FALLING ON TOP OF MYSELF AND OTHERS AND DAMAGING THE SIDE OF THE CAR AND RENDERING THE DOOR USELESS. THE BEARINGS FOR THE DOOR APPEAR TO BE FACTORY ORIGINALS AND ARE MADE OF A CHEAP PLASTIC THAT HAS BROKEN. THIS APPEARS TO BE DANGEROUS AND COMMON FOR ODYSSEES. I HAVE NEVER HAD A CAR EVER HAVE A DOOR JUMP OUT OF A TRACK LIKE THIS AND I HAVE HAD ASTRO VANS SINCE THE 1980S, AND STILL CURRENTLY OWN A 2002 THAT HAS NEVER HAD SUCH AN ISSUE. SLIDING DOORS SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO SPRING OUT OF TRACKS THIS WAY OR USE SUCH EASILY BROKEN, UNRELIABLE PARTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/6/2018 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
WHILE STATIONARY IN A PARKING LOT, WHILE OPENING THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR THE ENTIRE DOOR JUMPED OUT OF THE CHANNEL, ALMOST FALLING ON TOP OF MYSELF AND OTHERS AND DAMAGING THE SIDE OF THE CAR AND RENDERING THE DOOR USELESS. THE BEARINGS FOR THE DOOR APPEAR TO BE FACTORY ORIGINALS AND ARE MADE OF A CHEAP PLASTIC THAT HAS BROKEN. THIS APPEARS TO BE DANGEROUS AND COMMON FOR ODYSSEES. I HAVE NEVER HAD A CAR EVER HAVE A DOOR JUMP OUT OF A TRACK LIKE THIS AND I HAVE HAD ASTRO VANS SINCE THE 1980S, AND STILL CURRENTLY OWN A 2002 THAT HAS NEVER HAD SUCH AN ISSUE. SLIDING DOORS SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO SPRING OUT OF TRACKS THIS WAY OR USE SUCH EASILY BROKEN, UNRELIABLE PARTS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/31/2018 - CONGERS, NY
ALL THE SUDDEN SINCE L~2 WEEKS, MY CAR HAVE SOLID VSA SIGN ON DASH BOARD THAT STAYS ON ALL THE TIME..... I SHAW RECALL ON THE YEAR MODEL BUT MY CAR IS NOT INCLUDED....I NEED TO KNOW WHAT+S GOING ON?....AS OF NOW MY CAR RUNS OK-NO ISSUES....

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/30/2018 - KEWASKUM, WI
SOFT BRAKES. I BLED THE BRAKES, PUT NEW BRAKE PADS ROTORS AND BLED THE BRAKES AGAIN SAME PROBLEM. THESE ARE THE SOFTEST BRAKES THAT I+VE EVER FELT IN A VEHICLE. I BOUGHT A 2015 HONDA ACCORD AND THE BRAKES ON THAT FEEL LIKE THEY+RE HIGH PERFORMANCE COMPARED TO THIS HONDA ODYSSEY. THESE BRAKES ARE TERRIBLE AND I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER HONDA MINIVAN BECAUSE THERE ARE MANY MANY HONDA ODYSSEY OWNERS OUT THERE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM AND HONDA SAYS ITS NORMAL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/20/2018 - VIENNA, VA
THE 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY EXL WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE REAR HATCH SUDDENLY FELL ON MY BACK & SHOULDER WHEN LEANED IN TO GET BAGS FROM THE TRUNK. I HAD TO STRUGGLE TO LIFT THE HEAVY HATCH TO GET OUT. TOOK THE CAR TO HONDA DEALERSHIP. DEALERSHIP SAID THERE IS NO WARRANTY/RECALL AND WILL HAVE TO ORDER THE REPLACEMENT STRUTS. COST FOR PARTS WAS $171.40, PLUS LABOR. CALLED HONDA OF AMERICA RECALL 800-999-1009 AND INFORMED THEM OF THE ISSUE TO MAKE THEM AWARE OF THE SAFETY PROBLEM. HONDA OF AMERICA REGIONAL MANAGER BASED OUT OF CA, SETH CALLED BACK (7/20/18) WHO SAID THIS AN OLD VAN THAT IS LONG OUT OF WARRANTY AND IMPLIED NORMAL WEAR & TEAR ISSUE. WHEN WE SAID THERE APPEARS TO BE A RECALL ISSUED FOR THIS VERY SAME PROBLEM ON 2008 & 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY MODELS, WAS TOLD OUR VIN # IS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL EVEN-THOUGH IT APPEARED TO US TO BE SAME PROBLEM. TOLD THERE IS NOTHING HONDA CAN DO. BEING A LIFE LONG OWNER OF HONDA VEHICLES PAST AND PRESENT, I DID NOT EXPECT SUCH APATHY AND DISAPPOINTED BY HONDA'S LACK OF CUSTOMER SERVICE AND CONCERN FOR CONSUMER SAFETY. PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT, WE WERE NOT AWARE THAT THERE MAY BE AN ISSUE. AT MINIMUM, SAFETY NOTICE SHOULD HAVE BEEN SENT TO ALL 2008 HONDA ODYSSEY OWNERS TO MAKE THEM AWARE AS THIS IS NOT THE TYPE OF NORMAL WEAR &TEAR REQUIRING REPLACEMENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds