Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 369 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (16)
Communications (2) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (77) Exterior Lighting (15) Parking Brake (2) Structure (65) Visibility (36)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (46) Power Train (22) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (22)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (94) Seats (4) Tires (8) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/19/2016 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
I WAS ON MY WAY BACK TO WORK DURING MY LUNCH HOUR DRIVING ON ALEXANDER ST. IN CORPUS CHRISTI TEXAS. THAT STREET HAS SEVERAL DIPS. AS I DROVE OVER ONE OF THE DIPS THE JEEP SUDDENLY ACCELERATED IN SUCH A SPEED THAT I WAS UNABLE TO STOP IT AND IT HIT A PARKED CAR. MY CAR WAS APPROXIMATELY 10 FEET FROM THE PARKED CAR WHICH MADE IT ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR. I FIRMLY BELIEVE THE ACCIDENT WAS A RESULT OF "SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION" THERE IS NO OTHER WAY TO EXPLAIN THIS UNFORTUNATE ACCIDENT. WITH ALL THE DIPS ON THAT STREET IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO SPEED, ADDITIONALLY IT IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF A SCHOOL WHICH HAS A SPEED LIMIT OF NO MORE THAN 15 MPH. IF THIS HAD OCCURRED IN A DIFFERENT AREA THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC, FATALLY INJURING MYSELF AND FAMILY OR ANOTHER HUMAN BEING. CURRENTLY THE CAR IS AT THIS LOCATION: HTTPS://WWW.IAAI.COM/VEHICLES/VEHICLEDETAILS.ASPX?ITEMID=21976104 THIS WILL ALLOW YOU TO VIEW ALL PICTURES AND PERHAPS IT CAN BE INSPECTED THOROUGHLY. MAKE A NOTE OF THE ODOMETER, IT READS "ERROR"!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/19/2016 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
I WAS ON MY WAY BACK TO WORK DURING MY LUNCH HOUR DRIVING ON ALEXANDER ST. IN CORPUS CHRISTI TEXAS. THAT STREET HAS SEVERAL DIPS. AS I DROVE OVER ONE OF THE DIPS THE JEEP SUDDENLY ACCELERATED IN SUCH A SPEED THAT I WAS UNABLE TO STOP IT AND IT HIT A PARKED CAR. MY CAR WAS APPROXIMATELY 10 FEET FROM THE PARKED CAR WHICH MADE IT ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR. I FIRMLY BELIEVE THE ACCIDENT WAS A RESULT OF "SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION" THERE IS NO OTHER WAY TO EXPLAIN THIS UNFORTUNATE ACCIDENT. WITH ALL THE DIPS ON THAT STREET IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO SPEED, ADDITIONALLY IT IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF A SCHOOL WHICH HAS A SPEED LIMIT OF NO MORE THAN 15 MPH. IF THIS HAD OCCURRED IN A DIFFERENT AREA THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC, FATALLY INJURING MYSELF AND FAMILY OR ANOTHER HUMAN BEING. CURRENTLY THE CAR IS AT THIS LOCATION: HTTPS://WWW.IAAI.COM/VEHICLES/VEHICLEDETAILS.ASPX?ITEMID=21976104 THIS WILL ALLOW YOU TO VIEW ALL PICTURES AND PERHAPS IT CAN BE INSPECTED THOROUGHLY. MAKE A NOTE OF THE ODOMETER, IT READS "ERROR"!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/19/2016 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
I WAS ON MY WAY BACK TO WORK DURING MY LUNCH HOUR DRIVING ON ALEXANDER ST. IN CORPUS CHRISTI TEXAS. THAT STREET HAS SEVERAL DIPS. AS I DROVE OVER ONE OF THE DIPS THE JEEP SUDDENLY ACCELERATED IN SUCH A SPEED THAT I WAS UNABLE TO STOP IT AND IT HIT A PARKED CAR. MY CAR WAS APPROXIMATELY 10 FEET FROM THE PARKED CAR WHICH MADE IT ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR. I FIRMLY BELIEVE THE ACCIDENT WAS A RESULT OF "SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION" THERE IS NO OTHER WAY TO EXPLAIN THIS UNFORTUNATE ACCIDENT. WITH ALL THE DIPS ON THAT STREET IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO SPEED, ADDITIONALLY IT IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF A SCHOOL WHICH HAS A SPEED LIMIT OF NO MORE THAN 15 MPH. IF THIS HAD OCCURRED IN A DIFFERENT AREA THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC, FATALLY INJURING MYSELF AND FAMILY OR ANOTHER HUMAN BEING. CURRENTLY THE CAR IS AT THIS LOCATION: HTTPS://WWW.IAAI.COM/VEHICLES/VEHICLEDETAILS.ASPX?ITEMID=21976104 THIS WILL ALLOW YOU TO VIEW ALL PICTURES AND PERHAPS IT CAN BE INSPECTED THOROUGHLY. MAKE A NOTE OF THE ODOMETER, IT READS "ERROR"!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/11/2016 - ROCHESTER, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHEN THE FUEL TANK WAS FILLED, THE FUEL SPILLED TO THE GROUND INSTEAD WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 164,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/9/2016 - MARIETTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE DOORS WOULD RANDOMLY LOCK AND UNLOCK, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHER FLUID WOULD ERRONEOUSLY ACTIVATE, AND THE HORN AND ALARM WOULD RANDOMLY SOUND. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS FAULTY. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,656.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/9/2016 - MARIETTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE DOORS WOULD RANDOMLY LOCK AND UNLOCK, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHER FLUID WOULD ERRONEOUSLY ACTIVATE, AND THE HORN AND ALARM WOULD RANDOMLY SOUND. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS FAULTY. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,656.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/18/2016 - ROCKFORD, IL
IT STARTED WITH MY POWER DOOR LOCKS 2 YEARS AGO. THEY QUIT WORKING BUT THE POWER WINDOWS WORKED FINE. WHEN YOU TRIED TO CHANGE THE FUSE IT WOULD POP AND BURN OUT RIGHT AWAY. WE ASSUMED IT WAS A SHORT SOMEWHERE. THEN MY REAR OUTLET QUIT WORKING, MY WINDSHIELD WIPER FLUID STOPPED WORKING, AIR BAG LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF AMONG OTHER ISSUES. NOW NOTHING WORKS. THE BATTERY WAS DISCONNECTED SO WE COULD TRY TO RESET THE SYSTEMS AND NOW THE HORN SIRENS CONTINUOUSLY, LIGHT FLASH, WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND FLUID ARE FLYING, DOOR LOCKS THAT WOULD NOT WORK ARE MOVING UP AND DOWN. IT LOOKS LIKE MY JEEP LIBERTY IS POSSESSED! WHY IS THIS NOT RECALLED???? THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY HAZARD. I HAVE READ THAT IT MAY START WORKING AGAIN BUT IT WILL MALFUNCTION... YOU JUST DON'T KNOW WHEN.

View Details

ENGINE

4/13/2016 - PARROTSVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WATER PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED THREE ADDITIONAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,976.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/28/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
THE SOFT TOP ON THIS JEEP COMES OFF WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. IF YOU LOOK ON LINE SEVERAL PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/21/2016 - STARKVILLE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE SKY SLIDER FAILED TO COMPLETELY CLOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE RESULTS WERE UNKNOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds