Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 306 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (45) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (19) Structure (50) Visibility (30)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (36) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (94) Service Brakes (4) Tires (7) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/7/2015 - ANTHEM, AZ
SKY SLIDER RETRACTABLE ROOF HAS EXCESSIVE NOISE AND WILL NOT SEAT CORRECT. FEAR OF IF COMING OFF WHILE IN MOTION

View Details

ENGINE

2/6/2015 - BELTON, MO
SOMETIMES THE STARTER WILL CRANK THE ENGINE BUT WILL NOT START, USING THE REMOTE START OR THE KEY. ALSO THE SECURITY ALARM WILL GO OFF WHILE TRYING TO USE THE REMOTE START FROM TIME TO TIME. OTHER LIBERTIES WITH THIS AND OTHER SIMILAR "COMMON" PROBLEMS ARE COVERD BY SERVICE BULLETINS BUT NOT OURS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/31/2015 - DETROIT, MI
WHILE PUMPING GAS, THE PUMPED CLICKED (STOPPED) AND GAS SPEWED OUT THE TANK ON VEHICLE, MY HANDS, PANTS AND SHOES. THIS HAPPENED ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. TODAY, 1-31-2015, GASCAP, INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON. I TIGHTEN CAP HOWEVER, INDICATOR LIGHT STILL ON. PURCHASED A NEW GAS CAP BUT THE NEW CAP DID NOT RESOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/26/2015 - VALPARAISO, IN
GAS SPILL WHEN FILLING TANK

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/26/2015 - LEWISVILLE, TX
WHEN PUMPING GAS, THE GAS PUMP SHUTS OFF AS EXPECTED HOWEVER GASOLINE SPEWS OUT OF THE JEEP'S FILLING SYSTEM. TRIED DIFFERENT PUMPS SAME RESULTS, THIS OCCURS WITHOUT "TOPPING OFF THE TANK". THIS I A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD WITH GAS SPRAYING ON MY FACE,CLOTHING AND OVERFLOWING ON MY SHOES, HANDS, VEHICLE AND GROUND. I HAVE BEEN YELLED AT BY GAS STATION CLERKS BECAUSE IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/19/2015 - HONEY BROOK, PA
SLIDER ROOF CREATES LOUD WIND NOISE WHEN TRAVELING 45-60 MPH. ALSO ROOF DOES NOT CLOSE PROPERLY LEAVING GAP ON RIGHT HAND SIDE ALLOWING WATER TO LEAK INTO INTERIOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/13/2015 - LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL
CAR WOULD NOT START AFTER BEING PARKED FOR ABOUT 45 MINUTES. WE GUESSED IT WAS A BATTERY, STARTER OR ALTERNATOR. HAD TOWED TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED THAT THE TIPM WAS BAD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACEED. AFTER FURTHER REVIEW, I SEE THAT I WAS A LUCKY ONE AS THE TIPM HAS ALL MANNER OF ISSUES WHEN IT STARTS TO GO BAD. THE DEALER IS TELLING ME I HAVE TO WAIT 3 WEEKS FOR A BACKORDERED PART DUE TO A NATIONAL RECALL OF OTHER MODEL YEARS. THIS IS GOING TO COST AN UNREASONABLE AMOUNT IN BOTH REPAIR AND RENTAL CAR COSTS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2015 - LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL
CAR WOULD NOT START AFTER BEING PARKED FOR ABOUT 45 MINUTES. WE GUESSED IT WAS A BATTERY, STARTER OR ALTERNATOR. HAD TOWED TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED THAT THE TIPM WAS BAD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACEED. AFTER FURTHER REVIEW, I SEE THAT I WAS A LUCKY ONE AS THE TIPM HAS ALL MANNER OF ISSUES WHEN IT STARTS TO GO BAD. THE DEALER IS TELLING ME I HAVE TO WAIT 3 WEEKS FOR A BACKORDERED PART DUE TO A NATIONAL RECALL OF OTHER MODEL YEARS. THIS IS GOING TO COST AN UNREASONABLE AMOUNT IN BOTH REPAIR AND RENTAL CAR COSTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/29/2014 - MC DONOHUE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS FLICKERED, THE HORN ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY, AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WITH WIPER FLUID INDEPENDENTLY ACTIVATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND STALLED. THE VEHICLE COULD BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIPM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2014 - MC DONOHUE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS FLICKERED, THE HORN ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY, AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WITH WIPER FLUID INDEPENDENTLY ACTIVATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND STALLED. THE VEHICLE COULD BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIPM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds