Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 420 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (11) Unknown Or Other (24)
Communications (3) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (88) Exterior Lighting (16) Parking Brake (2) Steering (10) Visibility (43)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (50) Power Train (25) Structure (71) Visibility Wiper (26)
Engine (20) Fuel System Gasoline (96) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/6/2017 - SPRINGFEILD, MO
ON MY JEEP LIBERTY KK I HAVE THE POWER SKYSLIDER. IT CONSTANTLY COMES OFF TRACK AND DOESN'T CLOSE SO WHEN I GET IN THE CAR AFTER IT RAINS EVERYTHING IS WET. IT HAS COME TO THAT IM AFRAID THAT WHEN I'M DRIVING AT HIGH WAY SPEEDS THAT THE ROOF WITH FLY OFF AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I DIDN'T DO ANTTHING TO CAUSE THIS ISSUE. IT IS A DESIGN FLAW BY JEEP AND I WANT THEM TO OWN UP TO IT AND PUT OUT A RECALL BECAUSE IT IS UNSAFE AND IMPRACTICAL TO USE THE CAR AFTER IT RAINS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

11/29/2017 - ELIZABETHTOWN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A SUN ROOF LEAK THAT PROGRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC OR A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE TO DETERMINE A SOLUTION. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/23/2017 - BARTOW, WV
THE TRANSMISSION COOLER IS BUSTED BECAUSE THERE IS NO PROTECTION FOR IT AT ALL

View Details

ENGINE

11/6/2017 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
CAR WON'T START. NONE OF THE ELECTRICAL WORKS. DEALER TELLS ME IT'S DEFECTIVE TIPM. IT'S VERY EXPENSIVE AND DANGEROUS. I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE PEOPLE ONLINE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM AND I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE FOR THIS PROBLEM. WE WERE STATIONARY WHEN THE VEHICLE POWER STOPPED WORKING THANK GOD. BUT I SEEN ONLINE WHERE SOME PEOPLE HAD THE TIPM PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING WHICH IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/6/2017 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
CAR WON'T START. NONE OF THE ELECTRICAL WORKS. DEALER TELLS ME IT'S DEFECTIVE TIPM. IT'S VERY EXPENSIVE AND DANGEROUS. I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE PEOPLE ONLINE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM AND I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE FOR THIS PROBLEM. WE WERE STATIONARY WHEN THE VEHICLE POWER STOPPED WORKING THANK GOD. BUT I SEEN ONLINE WHERE SOME PEOPLE HAD THE TIPM PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING WHICH IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/6/2017 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
CAR WON'T START. NONE OF THE ELECTRICAL WORKS. DEALER TELLS ME IT'S DEFECTIVE TIPM. IT'S VERY EXPENSIVE AND DANGEROUS. I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE PEOPLE ONLINE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM AND I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE FOR THIS PROBLEM. WE WERE STATIONARY WHEN THE VEHICLE POWER STOPPED WORKING THANK GOD. BUT I SEEN ONLINE WHERE SOME PEOPLE HAD THE TIPM PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING WHICH IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/26/2017 - TAMPA, FL
TAKATA RECALL

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/23/2017 - SELLERSBURG, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A CONSTANT LEAK COMING FROM THE TOP OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN UNKNOWN DEALER FOR SEVERAL FAILURES THAT RECURRED. THE DEALER REPLACED THE TRACKING AND REAR PASSENGER SIDE HANDLE SCREWS, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER FAILED TO PROVIDE A REMEDY TO PREVENT THE FAILURE AFTER THE DEALER REPLACED SEVERAL PARTS; THEREFORE, THE LEAK CONTINUED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

10/17/2017 - FLUSHING, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE PANORAMIC SUN ROOF SLID BACK AND FORTH, AFFECTING ITS PERFORMANCE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT OPENED THE PANORAMIC SUN ROOF TO SEE IF IT WOULD STABILIZE, BUT IT FAILED TO CLOSE PROPERLY AND THE WIND PUSHED IT OFF TRACK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (BAYSIDE JEEP AND CHRYSLER, QUEENS, NY, 718-229-8700), BUT THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE SAME DEALER AND THEY PROMISED TO TAKE ANOTHER LOOK AT THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 50,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/17/2017 - ASHEVILLE, NC
I'VE HAD MY JEEP FOR 2.5 YEARS NOW. WHEN I FIRST GOT IT, EVERYTHING WAS FINE AND IT WAS INSPECTED PRIOR TO PURCHASE. FOR THE PAST YEAR, THE AIRBAG LIGHT WILL COME ON AND OFF ON ITS OWN. AT FIRST IT WAS INTERMITTENT, BUT FOR THE PAST 6 MONTHS, IT IS CONSTANTLY ON WHEN THE VEHICLE IS RUNNING. IN ADDITION, ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO, WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 25 MPH ON A DARK, WINDING ROAD, THE HORN STARTED SOUNDING AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BEGAN RUNNING AT FULL SPEED. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, TURNED IT OFF AND THEN ON AGAIN, AND IT STOPPED. THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED AGAIN SINCE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds