Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 374 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (18)
Communications (2) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (77) Exterior Lighting (15) Parking Brake (2) Structure (66) Visibility (37)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (47) Power Train (22) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (22)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (94) Seats (4) Tires (8) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/16/2016 - BELTSVILLE, MD
THREE YEARS AGO, I HAD THE SKY SLIDER ON THE JEEP REPLACED COMPLETELY. ON TUESDAY, JUNE 14, 2016, I OPENED THE SLIDER UP AND IT WOULD NOT CLOSE. I TOOK IT TO BACK TO THE BUSINESS THAT REPLACED THE SKY SLIDER IN 2013, PAYMER & PHILLIPS, AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY HAVE REPLACED SEVERAL 2008 JEEP LIBERTY SKY SLIDERS. THEY SHOWED ME THE PLASTIC PIECE WHICH WAS BROKEN WHICH IS THE REASON WHY THE SKY SLIDER WHICH IS A CONVERTIBLE TOP, WOULD NOT CLOSE. THE FIRST TIME, THE REPAIRS COST $3362.81. TODAY I WAS TOLD THE REPAIR COST WOULD BE $2768. IT WAS SUGGESTED THAT I CONTACT CHRYSLER AND REPORT THIS INCIDENT AND ASK THEM TO ABSORB THE COST. I HAVE YET TO HEAR FROM A CASE MANAGER AS OF TODAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/7/2016 - PILOT GROVE, MO
I OWN A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY AND EVERY TIME I FILL IT THE FUEL COMES BA K AT ME NOT JUST A LITTLE EITHER IT GEISERS OUT OF THE TANK AND HAVE GOTTEN TO THE POINT WHERE I HAVE TO STAND UP WIND NOT TO BE SHOWERED IT HAS BEEN DOING THIS SINCE I BOUGHT IT

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

6/7/2016 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. EACH TIME IT RAINED, THE SUN ROOF WOULD LEAK WATER INTO THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS REPAIRED THREE TIMES FOR THE SAME FAILURE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/3/2016 - MIAMISBURG, OH
THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON ONLINE FORUMS ON THE JEEP LIBERTY LIMITED EDITION WITH THE SKY SLIDER. BASICALLY, THERE ARE REPORTS ON THE SKY SLIDER COMING OFF THE TRACK AND FLYING OFF OF THE VEHICLE. MY SKY SLIDER PERSONALLY WILL NOT CLOSE BECAUSE OF A "SYSTEM FAULT" JEEP TELLS ME AND ONLY SOME JEEP DEALERSHIPS HAVE THE KNOWLEDGE ON HOW TO FIX A SKY SLIDER. THEY WANT TO CHARGE $3K TO FIX THE ROOF, BUT THEY ARE ACKNOWLEDGING THAT IT IS A CONSISTENT ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE, THAT THE SKY SLIDER WILL NOT CLOSE ALL THE WAY, WHICH RESULTS IN IT COMING OFF AT HIGH SPEEDS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/26/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE SKYSLIDER ROOF FAILS TO CLOSE. I HAVE OWNED THE CAR SINCE BUYING IT NEW IN 2008. THE SKYSLIDER WAS REPLACED IN JUNE OF 2013 AFTER FAILING TO CLOSE AND MAKING DRIVING UNSAFE DUE TO THE FLAPPING OF THE CLOTH ROOF AT 45 MPH OR HIGHER. ROOF HAS BROKEN AGAIN AS OF MAY 2016 WITH THE SAME ISSUE AFTER ONLY BEING OPENED 5 TIMES. THIS TYPE OF ROOF IS GOING TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. AT ANY TIME THE CABLES OR PLASTIC FRAME CAN SNAP CAUSING THE ROOF TO PEEL BACK. I WAS AFRAID THE ROOF WAS GOING TO COMPLETELY DIS-ATTACH AND HIT THE CAR BEHIND ME.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/19/2016 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
I WAS ON MY WAY BACK TO WORK DURING MY LUNCH HOUR DRIVING ON ALEXANDER ST. IN CORPUS CHRISTI TEXAS. THAT STREET HAS SEVERAL DIPS. AS I DROVE OVER ONE OF THE DIPS THE JEEP SUDDENLY ACCELERATED IN SUCH A SPEED THAT I WAS UNABLE TO STOP IT AND IT HIT A PARKED CAR. MY CAR WAS APPROXIMATELY 10 FEET FROM THE PARKED CAR WHICH MADE IT ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR. I FIRMLY BELIEVE THE ACCIDENT WAS A RESULT OF "SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION" THERE IS NO OTHER WAY TO EXPLAIN THIS UNFORTUNATE ACCIDENT. WITH ALL THE DIPS ON THAT STREET IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO SPEED, ADDITIONALLY IT IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF A SCHOOL WHICH HAS A SPEED LIMIT OF NO MORE THAN 15 MPH. IF THIS HAD OCCURRED IN A DIFFERENT AREA THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC, FATALLY INJURING MYSELF AND FAMILY OR ANOTHER HUMAN BEING. CURRENTLY THE CAR IS AT THIS LOCATION: HTTPS://WWW.IAAI.COM/VEHICLES/VEHICLEDETAILS.ASPX?ITEMID=21976104 THIS WILL ALLOW YOU TO VIEW ALL PICTURES AND PERHAPS IT CAN BE INSPECTED THOROUGHLY. MAKE A NOTE OF THE ODOMETER, IT READS "ERROR"!. ...UPDATED 06/22/16 * BF

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/19/2016 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
I WAS ON MY WAY BACK TO WORK DURING MY LUNCH HOUR DRIVING ON ALEXANDER ST. IN CORPUS CHRISTI TEXAS. THAT STREET HAS SEVERAL DIPS. AS I DROVE OVER ONE OF THE DIPS THE JEEP SUDDENLY ACCELERATED IN SUCH A SPEED THAT I WAS UNABLE TO STOP IT AND IT HIT A PARKED CAR. MY CAR WAS APPROXIMATELY 10 FEET FROM THE PARKED CAR WHICH MADE IT ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR. I FIRMLY BELIEVE THE ACCIDENT WAS A RESULT OF "SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION" THERE IS NO OTHER WAY TO EXPLAIN THIS UNFORTUNATE ACCIDENT. WITH ALL THE DIPS ON THAT STREET IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO SPEED, ADDITIONALLY IT IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF A SCHOOL WHICH HAS A SPEED LIMIT OF NO MORE THAN 15 MPH. IF THIS HAD OCCURRED IN A DIFFERENT AREA THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC, FATALLY INJURING MYSELF AND FAMILY OR ANOTHER HUMAN BEING. CURRENTLY THE CAR IS AT THIS LOCATION: HTTPS://WWW.IAAI.COM/VEHICLES/VEHICLEDETAILS.ASPX?ITEMID=21976104 THIS WILL ALLOW YOU TO VIEW ALL PICTURES AND PERHAPS IT CAN BE INSPECTED THOROUGHLY. MAKE A NOTE OF THE ODOMETER, IT READS "ERROR"!. ...UPDATED 06/22/16 * BF

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/19/2016 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
I WAS ON MY WAY BACK TO WORK DURING MY LUNCH HOUR DRIVING ON ALEXANDER ST. IN CORPUS CHRISTI TEXAS. THAT STREET HAS SEVERAL DIPS. AS I DROVE OVER ONE OF THE DIPS THE JEEP SUDDENLY ACCELERATED IN SUCH A SPEED THAT I WAS UNABLE TO STOP IT AND IT HIT A PARKED CAR. MY CAR WAS APPROXIMATELY 10 FEET FROM THE PARKED CAR WHICH MADE IT ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR. I FIRMLY BELIEVE THE ACCIDENT WAS A RESULT OF "SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION" THERE IS NO OTHER WAY TO EXPLAIN THIS UNFORTUNATE ACCIDENT. WITH ALL THE DIPS ON THAT STREET IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO SPEED, ADDITIONALLY IT IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF A SCHOOL WHICH HAS A SPEED LIMIT OF NO MORE THAN 15 MPH. IF THIS HAD OCCURRED IN A DIFFERENT AREA THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC, FATALLY INJURING MYSELF AND FAMILY OR ANOTHER HUMAN BEING. CURRENTLY THE CAR IS AT THIS LOCATION: HTTPS://WWW.IAAI.COM/VEHICLES/VEHICLEDETAILS.ASPX?ITEMID=21976104 THIS WILL ALLOW YOU TO VIEW ALL PICTURES AND PERHAPS IT CAN BE INSPECTED THOROUGHLY. MAKE A NOTE OF THE ODOMETER, IT READS "ERROR"!. ...UPDATED 06/22/16 * BF

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/11/2016 - ROCHESTER, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHEN THE FUEL TANK WAS FILLED, THE FUEL SPILLED TO THE GROUND INSTEAD WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 164,000. UPDATED 06/10/16

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/9/2016 - MARIETTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE DOORS WOULD RANDOMLY LOCK AND UNLOCK, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHER FLUID WOULD ERRONEOUSLY ACTIVATE, AND THE HORN AND ALARM WOULD RANDOMLY SOUND. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS FAULTY. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,656.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds