Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 412 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (11) Unknown Or Other (23)
Communications (3) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (86) Exterior Lighting (15) Parking Brake (2) Steering (10) Visibility (41)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (50) Power Train (25) Structure (70) Visibility Wiper (26)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (96) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2017 - CAROLINA, RI
TIPM CAR ALARM GOES OFF WIPERS GO FRONT AND BACK HORN BLARING WINDSHIELD WASHER FLUID SQUIRTS OUT.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

9/22/2017 - HAZEL PARK, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE SUN ROOF SUDDENLY OPENED AND COLLAPSED IN HALF. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND MANUALLY PUSHED THE SUN ROOF BACK IN ORDER TO CONTINUE DRIVING. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE SUNROOF WAS REPLACED BY DIFFERENT UNKNOWN DEALERS FOUR OTHER TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO HUVAER CHRYSLER/JEEP/DODGE IN RICHMOND, MICHIGAN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW SUN ROOF, WHICH WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

8/11/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE SUN ROOF FRACTURED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/10/2017 - MCALLEN, TX
ELECTRICAL ISSUES IS OCCURING WITH MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THERE HAS BEEN TIMES THE CAR DOES NOT START AT ALL. HAPPENS ANYTIME OF THE DAY. AFTER SEVERAL TRIES, IT STARTS. HAVE SWITCHED OU THE BATTERY AND CHECKED THE STARTER/ALTERNATOR. SOMETIMES THE INSIDE LIGHTS TURN ON BY THEMSELVES. HAS STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE RODE. HARD TO MANEVUER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/10/2017 - MCALLEN, TX
ELECTRICAL ISSUES IS OCCURING WITH MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THERE HAS BEEN TIMES THE CAR DOES NOT START AT ALL. HAPPENS ANYTIME OF THE DAY. AFTER SEVERAL TRIES, IT STARTS. HAVE SWITCHED OU THE BATTERY AND CHECKED THE STARTER/ALTERNATOR. SOMETIMES THE INSIDE LIGHTS TURN ON BY THEMSELVES. HAS STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE RODE. HARD TO MANEVUER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/31/2017 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
THE FRONT AXLES OF THE JEEP ARE EXTREMELY HEAVILY CORRODED BEYOND ANYTHING I'VE EVER SEEN. THE STEEL IS EASILY REMOVED BY HAND AND THE AXLE NUT IS NO LONGER PRESENT. THIS AFFECTS BOTH SIDES BUT NO OTHER STEEL PARTS APPEAR TO HAVE THE SAME CORROSION ISSUE. THE AXLES ARE THE ORIGINAL JEEP PARTS FROM THE FACTORY. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WHEN THE ISSUE WAS DISCOVERED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/13/2017 - WHESTON, IL
VARIOUS ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS WOULD SPONTANEOUSLY TURN ON WHILE DRIVING OR PARKED. MY WIPERS (FRONT AND BACK) WOULD TURN ON FULL SPEED, MY HORN WOULD BLAST, LIGHTS WOULD DIM. EVEN WHEN I TURN THE CAR OFF, THESE SYSTEMS STAY ON. WHEN I OPEN THE DRIVERS DOOR, THE WIPERS WOULD OCCASIONALLY MOVE 1-2 INCHES.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/13/2017 - WHESTON, IL
VARIOUS ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS WOULD SPONTANEOUSLY TURN ON WHILE DRIVING OR PARKED. MY WIPERS (FRONT AND BACK) WOULD TURN ON FULL SPEED, MY HORN WOULD BLAST, LIGHTS WOULD DIM. EVEN WHEN I TURN THE CAR OFF, THESE SYSTEMS STAY ON. WHEN I OPEN THE DRIVERS DOOR, THE WIPERS WOULD OCCASIONALLY MOVE 1-2 INCHES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/13/2017 - WHESTON, IL
VARIOUS ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS WOULD SPONTANEOUSLY TURN ON WHILE DRIVING OR PARKED. MY WIPERS (FRONT AND BACK) WOULD TURN ON FULL SPEED, MY HORN WOULD BLAST, LIGHTS WOULD DIM. EVEN WHEN I TURN THE CAR OFF, THESE SYSTEMS STAY ON. WHEN I OPEN THE DRIVERS DOOR, THE WIPERS WOULD OCCASIONALLY MOVE 1-2 INCHES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/3/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
AIRBAG LIGHT RANDOMLY COMES ON WHILE DRIVING AND THE DEALER QUOTED ME $400 TO REPAIR. I HAVE A 3 AND 5 YEAR OLD. I AM CONCERNED THAT IF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOY WHILE DRIVING WITH MY KIDS IN THE CAR, OUR LIVES WOULD BE IN DANGER. THIS COST IS ALSO NOT MONEY THAT I HAVE JUST SITTING AROUND IN A BANK ACCOUNT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds