Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 310 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (47) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (19) Structure (50) Visibility (30)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (37) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (94) Service Brakes (5) Tires (7) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/27/2015 - TAMWORTH, NH
THE CAR DECIDES WHEN IT WANTS TO START. IT JUST MAKES A CLUNCKING NOISE, AFTER ABOUT 8 TRIES IT WILL START. I HAVE REPLACED THE BATTERY, STARTER AND WIRING HARNESS. THE DOORS JUST STARTED TO NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK A FEW MONTHS BACK. THEY TOLD ME TO CHANGE THE TIPM. I HAVE PUT IN WELL OVER $1000.00 AN NOW THEY WANT ANOTHER $500.00

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2015 - TAMWORTH, NH
THE CAR DECIDES WHEN IT WANTS TO START. IT JUST MAKES A CLUNCKING NOISE, AFTER ABOUT 8 TRIES IT WILL START. I HAVE REPLACED THE BATTERY, STARTER AND WIRING HARNESS. THE DOORS JUST STARTED TO NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK A FEW MONTHS BACK. THEY TOLD ME TO CHANGE THE TIPM. I HAVE PUT IN WELL OVER $1000.00 AN NOW THEY WANT ANOTHER $500.00

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/11/2015 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
1 YEAR OLD BATTERY DIED, BOUGHT A NEW ONE EVERYTHING WORKED FINE FOR A MONTH, THEN MY EVAP SYSTEM MALFUNCTIONED, BOUGHT NEW ONE HAD SYSTEM PRESSURIZED. OK EVERYTHING IS FINE FOR ABOUT TWO MONTHS, LIGHTS FLICKER A LITTLE HERE AND THERE, CAR DOESN'T TURN OVER IMMEDIATELY, CD PLAYER SHUTS DOWN ON IT'S OWN, LOST POSITRAC IN THE REAR, HEATER NOT WARM UNLESS OVER 2000 RPM, CAR STILL RUNS THOUGH. SO BATTERY DIES JUST UNDER 3 YERAS LATER (STILL UNDER WARRANTY) ODD.REPLACED FREE YAY, ONLY FREE THING IN THIS WHOLE ENDEAVOR. AFTER REPLACING BATTERY CLOCKSPRING GOES OUT, DAMMITT!!! REPLACED, NOT A WEEK LATER LOCK FUSES KEEP BLOWING. FOUND OUT ALTERNATOR HAS A BUILT IN RELAY THAT IF IT GOES WREAKS ABSOLUTE HORROR ON COMPUTOR, AND ENTIRE ELEC. SYSTEM, IT EVEN CONTROLS THE LIGHT ON YOUR DASHBOARD INDICATING THAT IT HAS GONE OUT,BRILLIANT. HAD I KNOWN THIS IT COULD'VE SAVED MANY HOURS AND CLOSE TO $1,500. THIS SHOULD BE FIXED.

View Details

WHEELS

3/6/2015 - TAYLOR, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS SWAYING BACK AND FORTH AND THEN THE TPMS WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. UPON MERGING TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE RIGHT REAR TIRE WENT FLAT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE VALVE CORE FRACTURED CAUSING A BLOW OUT OF THE BACK OF THE TIRE. THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC REPLACED THE VALVE STEMS ON ALL FOUR TIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/27/2015 - WALDORF, MD
I HAVE 2 PROBLEMS NUMBER1 IS THE GAS MILEAGE IT GETS THE MILEAGE IT SAYS ON THE INTERNET BUT I FEEL THAT IS BAD FUEL MILEAGE I HAD A 2000 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE WITH A V8 AND GOT 25 MILES PER GALLON ON THE HIGH WAY YOU WOULD THINK THAT A V6 WOULD JUST AS GOOD OR BETTER BUT IT IS NOT .SECOND PROBLEM IS FUEL SPILLAGE EVRYTIME YOU FILL UP I HAVE TRIED DIFFERENT THINGS TO TRY AND STOP THE SPILLAGE BUT TO NO AVAIL. I FEEL THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM BUT THERE IS NO RECALLS FOR A 2008 JEEP THEY HAD RECALLS ON SOME OLDER JEEPS BUT NOT MINE IT WOULD BE NICE TO SEE SOMETHING DONE ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. THANKS DONNIE MONTIETH

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/7/2015 - ANTHEM, AZ
SKY SLIDER RETRACTABLE ROOF HAS EXCESSIVE NOISE AND WILL NOT SEAT CORRECT. FEAR OF IF COMING OFF WHILE IN MOTION

View Details

ENGINE

2/6/2015 - BELTON, MO
SOMETIMES THE STARTER WILL CRANK THE ENGINE BUT WILL NOT START, USING THE REMOTE START OR THE KEY. ALSO THE SECURITY ALARM WILL GO OFF WHILE TRYING TO USE THE REMOTE START FROM TIME TO TIME. OTHER LIBERTIES WITH THIS AND OTHER SIMILAR "COMMON" PROBLEMS ARE COVERD BY SERVICE BULLETINS BUT NOT OURS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/31/2015 - DETROIT, MI
WHILE PUMPING GAS, THE PUMPED CLICKED (STOPPED) AND GAS SPEWED OUT THE TANK ON VEHICLE, MY HANDS, PANTS AND SHOES. THIS HAPPENED ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. TODAY, 1-31-2015, GASCAP, INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON. I TIGHTEN CAP HOWEVER, INDICATOR LIGHT STILL ON. PURCHASED A NEW GAS CAP BUT THE NEW CAP DID NOT RESOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/26/2015 - VALPARAISO, IN
GAS SPILL WHEN FILLING TANK

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/26/2015 - LEWISVILLE, TX
WHEN PUMPING GAS, THE GAS PUMP SHUTS OFF AS EXPECTED HOWEVER GASOLINE SPEWS OUT OF THE JEEP'S FILLING SYSTEM. TRIED DIFFERENT PUMPS SAME RESULTS, THIS OCCURS WITHOUT "TOPPING OFF THE TANK". THIS I A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD WITH GAS SPRAYING ON MY FACE,CLOTHING AND OVERFLOWING ON MY SHOES, HANDS, VEHICLE AND GROUND. I HAVE BEEN YELLED AT BY GAS STATION CLERKS BECAUSE IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds