Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 301 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (45) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (19) Structure (50) Visibility (30)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (94) Service Brakes (4) Tires (7) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/19/2015 - HONEY BROOK, PA
SLIDER ROOF CREATES LOUD WIND NOISE WHEN TRAVELING 45-60 MPH. ALSO ROOF DOES NOT CLOSE PROPERLY LEAVING GAP ON RIGHT HAND SIDE ALLOWING WATER TO LEAK INTO INTERIOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/13/2015 - LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL
CAR WOULD NOT START AFTER BEING PARKED FOR ABOUT 45 MINUTES. WE GUESSED IT WAS A BATTERY, STARTER OR ALTERNATOR. HAD TOWED TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED THAT THE TIPM WAS BAD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACEED. AFTER FURTHER REVIEW, I SEE THAT I WAS A LUCKY ONE AS THE TIPM HAS ALL MANNER OF ISSUES WHEN IT STARTS TO GO BAD. THE DEALER IS TELLING ME I HAVE TO WAIT 3 WEEKS FOR A BACKORDERED PART DUE TO A NATIONAL RECALL OF OTHER MODEL YEARS. THIS IS GOING TO COST AN UNREASONABLE AMOUNT IN BOTH REPAIR AND RENTAL CAR COSTS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2015 - LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL
CAR WOULD NOT START AFTER BEING PARKED FOR ABOUT 45 MINUTES. WE GUESSED IT WAS A BATTERY, STARTER OR ALTERNATOR. HAD TOWED TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED THAT THE TIPM WAS BAD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACEED. AFTER FURTHER REVIEW, I SEE THAT I WAS A LUCKY ONE AS THE TIPM HAS ALL MANNER OF ISSUES WHEN IT STARTS TO GO BAD. THE DEALER IS TELLING ME I HAVE TO WAIT 3 WEEKS FOR A BACKORDERED PART DUE TO A NATIONAL RECALL OF OTHER MODEL YEARS. THIS IS GOING TO COST AN UNREASONABLE AMOUNT IN BOTH REPAIR AND RENTAL CAR COSTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/29/2014 - MC DONOHUE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS FLICKERED, THE HORN ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY, AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WITH WIPER FLUID INDEPENDENTLY ACTIVATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND STALLED. THE VEHICLE COULD BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIPM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2014 - MC DONOHUE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS FLICKERED, THE HORN ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY, AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WITH WIPER FLUID INDEPENDENTLY ACTIVATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND STALLED. THE VEHICLE COULD BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIPM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/27/2014 - CORONA, CA
THE PARKING BRAKE FAILED TO ENGAGE ON MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. WHILE THE PARKING BRAKE WAS FULLY ENGAGED WITH THE JEEP IN NEUTRAL THE JEEP ROLLED BACKWARD AND STRUCK THE WALL CAUSING MINOR RIGHT FRONT FENDER DAMAGE. FORTUNATELY THE JEEP HIT THE WALL STOPPING IT FROM ROLLING DOWN THE DRIVEWAY INTO TRAFFIC OR RUNNING OVER PEDESTRIANS. NOTE; THERE IS A RECALL ON THE 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, CHRYSLER RECALL #H28 WITH MANUAL TRANSMISSION BUT NOT ON THE AUTOMATIC WHICH USES THE EXACT SAME PARKING BRAKE SYSTEM. WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL FOR THIS VEHICLE? EMERGENCY/PARKING BRAKE SYSTEM SHOULD BE THERE WHEN YOU NEED IT AND IF THE HYDRAULIC BRAKING SYSTEM SHOULD FAIL. THIS IS A VEHICLE SAFETY ALERT THAT MUST BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/19/2014 - NEW MILFORD, NJ
SUNSLIDER ROOF - BROKEN FRAME AND MOTOR AT APPROXIMATELY 50,000 MILES. WATER DAMAGE. TOLD NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. REPAIR ESTIMATED OVER $3000. GAP IN ROOF WHEN DRIVING AT ANY SPEED OVER 30 MPH. RESEARCH INDICATES KNOWN ISSUE BY JEEP WITH SUBJECTIVE DECISIONS WHETHER OR NOT TO COVER REPAIR AND PRIOR LAWSUIT.

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/17/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
LETTER FROM SENATOR REED ON BEHALF OF CONSTITUENT RE 2008 JEEP LIBERTY SKY SLIDER. THE CONSUMER STATED THE ROOF WAS FIXED UNDER WARRANTY FOUR YEARS AGO. NOW, THE CABLES ON THE ROOF NEED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

12/4/2014 - MILLIS, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SKY SLIDER WAS ABLE TO BE OPENED BUT WOULD NOT CLOSE WHEN ACTIVATED. THE FAILURE CAUSED WATER TO ENTER THE VEHICLE AND CAUSE DAMAGE INTERNALLY WHEN THERE WAS RAINY WEATHER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/22/2014 - SPOKANE, WA
WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE FROM A LOCAL USED DEALER, I NEVER ANTICIPATED THE PROBLEMS I WOULD BE FACED WITH. I HAVE ALWAYS DREAMED OF OWNING A JEEP AND NOW, I'M READY TO TAKE IT TO THE DUMP. I PURCHASED THIS KEEP ON THE ABOVE DATE AND WAS TOLD THAT THE SKY SLIDER DOES NOT WORK. THE DEALER CREATED A CONTRACT THAT THEY WOULD HAVE IT FIXED. 2 MONTHS LATER, THEY FINALLY FIND SOMEONE IN THE AREA WHO KNOWS HOW TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. WE TAKE IT IN, AND FIND THAT THE WHOLE ROOF HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALERSHIP FINALLY AGREED TO PAY FOR IT AFTER A MONTH OF ME BEING OUT A VEHICLE. THIS REPAIR COST THE DEALERSHIP AN UPWARDS OF $4,500.00 AND I AM STILL EXPERIENCING WIND NOISE. IF I DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY AND A SEMI GOES BY, THE SKY SLIDER LIFTS UP AS IF IT'S GOING TO FLY OFF. I WILL NEVER OPEN THE SKY SLIDER FOR FEAR THAT IT WILL NEED TO BE FIXED AGAIN (OR GET STUCK OPEN). I HAVE SEEN MANY PEOPLE PRESENTING THIS SAME ISSUE ON FORUMS WITH NOTHING BEING SOLVED. PLEASE, IT'S TIME CHRYSLER OWNS UP TO THIS FAULTY DESIGN AND HELPS PEOPLE OUT! I AM SO SCARED THAT THIS ROOF IS GOING TO FLY OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. NO ONE SHOULD EVER HAVE TO FEEL AFRAID TO DRIVE A CAR THEY PAY FOR!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds