Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 288 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (14)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (40) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (19) Structure (47) Visibility (29)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (92) Service Brakes (3) Tires (6) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/18/2014 - WARRENSBURG, MO
BAD CLOCK SPRING LOCATED IN STEERING COLUMN, EFFECTS MANY THINGS INCLUDING AIRBAG. EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE TO REPLACE AND HAVE FOUND IT IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

10/18/2014 - WARRENSBURG, MO
BAD CLOCK SPRING LOCATED IN STEERING COLUMN, EFFECTS MANY THINGS INCLUDING AIRBAG. EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE TO REPLACE AND HAVE FOUND IT IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/18/2014 - WARRENSBURG, MO
BAD CLOCK SPRING LOCATED IN STEERING COLUMN, EFFECTS MANY THINGS INCLUDING AIRBAG. EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE TO REPLACE AND HAVE FOUND IT IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE.

View Details

WHEELS

10/16/2014 - WALLINGFORD, CT
THE DAY, JULY 10, 2014, STARTED OUT WITH MY WIFE, GRANDDAUGHTER AND ME GOING TO THE GROCERY STORE IN MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WE WERE BACK BY NOON, HAD SOME LUNCH AND ABOUT 1:30PM PUT GRANDDAUGHTER DOWN FOR A NAP. ABOUT 2:00PM WIFE NEEDED TO GO INTO TOWN FOR AN ERRAND. SHE BACKED THE JEEP OUT OF OUR DRIVEWAY AND CONTINUED DOWN THE ROAD GOING ABOUT 15 MPH. THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE BLOWS (4 TIRES ON THE VEHICLE BOUGHT APPROX. 14 MONTHS PRIOR TO THE INCIDENT - GOODYEAR P225/75R16 WRANGLER ST 104S) AND THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. VEHICLE DID NOT HIT ANYTHING NOR WAS IT HIT BY ANYTHING. WIFE DID SUSTAIN A SLIGHT RED BRUISE ON HER LEFT CHEEK. GOOD THING IT DID NOT HAPPEN WITH ALL OF US IN THE VEHICLE OR GOING 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. I CALLED CHRYSLER CUSTOMER SERVICE. CHRYSLER GROUP LLC CONDUCTED AN INVESTIGATION INTO THE INCIDENT AND INSPECTED THE JEEP. THE INSPECTION FOUND NO INDICATION OF A MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT CAUSED OR CONTRIBUTED TO THE INCIDENT. HARD TO BELIEVE THAT A FRONT TIRE BLOWS AND SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AT 15 MPH. JEEP IS SUPPOSED TO BE A RUGGED OFF-ROAD VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/16/2014 - WALLINGFORD, CT
THE DAY, JULY 10, 2014, STARTED OUT WITH MY WIFE, GRANDDAUGHTER AND ME GOING TO THE GROCERY STORE IN MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WE WERE BACK BY NOON, HAD SOME LUNCH AND ABOUT 1:30PM PUT GRANDDAUGHTER DOWN FOR A NAP. ABOUT 2:00PM WIFE NEEDED TO GO INTO TOWN FOR AN ERRAND. SHE BACKED THE JEEP OUT OF OUR DRIVEWAY AND CONTINUED DOWN THE ROAD GOING ABOUT 15 MPH. THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE BLOWS (4 TIRES ON THE VEHICLE BOUGHT APPROX. 14 MONTHS PRIOR TO THE INCIDENT - GOODYEAR P225/75R16 WRANGLER ST 104S) AND THE SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. VEHICLE DID NOT HIT ANYTHING NOR WAS IT HIT BY ANYTHING. WIFE DID SUSTAIN A SLIGHT RED BRUISE ON HER LEFT CHEEK. GOOD THING IT DID NOT HAPPEN WITH ALL OF US IN THE VEHICLE OR GOING 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. I CALLED CHRYSLER CUSTOMER SERVICE. CHRYSLER GROUP LLC CONDUCTED AN INVESTIGATION INTO THE INCIDENT AND INSPECTED THE JEEP. THE INSPECTION FOUND NO INDICATION OF A MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT CAUSED OR CONTRIBUTED TO THE INCIDENT. HARD TO BELIEVE THAT A FRONT TIRE BLOWS AND SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AT 15 MPH. JEEP IS SUPPOSED TO BE A RUGGED OFF-ROAD VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2014 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
IT STARTED A WITH WHEN I GOT OUT OF JEEP AND PUSH BUTTON TO LOCK THE VEHICLE IT WOULDN'T LOCK AND THE HORN WOULD NOT BEEP LIKE IT DOES WHEN IT LOCKS SO I HAD TO LOCK IT MANUALLY. WHEN I GOT OUT OF STORE AND GOT BACK INTO JEEP IT WORKED AND IT ONLY HAPPENS AFTER THE CAR HAS WARMED UP IS WHAT IT SEEMS LIKE, THEN I WAS PULLING INTO A TURNING LANE AND SLOWING DOWN AND HEARD A HORN BEEP LOUD JUST TO REALIZE THAT IT WAS MY JEEP THAT BEEPED AND I NEVER PRESSED THE HORN AT ALL. THEN TODAY I GET INTO CAR AND SIT IN SEAT AND USE THE POWER SEAT BUTTON TO ADJUST THE DRIVER SEAT AND DIDN'T EVEN TOUCH THE STEERING WHEEL AND DIDN'T PUT THE KEY IN IGNITION EITHER AND MY FLASHERS STARTED FLASHING BUT, THEN CUT RIGHT OFF. WHEN I GOT WHERE I WAS GOING AND PARKED MY JEEP IT HAPPENED AGAIN THE FLASHERS STARTED TO FLASH AND THEN STOPPED. WHEN I WALKED UP TO THE JEEP WITHOUT PRESSING ANY BUTTONS MY CAR UNLOCKED ON ITS OWN AND THE LIGHTS CAME ON. SOMETIMES MY RADIO TAKES ABOUT 10 SECONDS OR SO BEFORE IT STARTS TO WORK. WINDSHIELD WIPER DOESNT WANT TO BLOW OUT ANY FLUID SAYS IT NEEDS A MOTOR. HAVE A SLIDER ROOF AND NOTICED THAT IT HAS LEAKED PREVIOUSLY CAUSE I CAN SEE RAIN MARKS AROUND THE EDGES OF THE SLIDER AND WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD I CAN HEAR WIND FROM COMING THE ROOF SO ITS NOT SEALING LIKE IT SHOULD. I CAN HAVE THE HEAT ON BUT, LATER IN THE DAY WHEN IT GETS HOT I WILL TURN ON THE AC AND THE AC DOESN'T WANT TO BLOW OUT COLD AIR AND I FIDDLE WITH THE SWITCHES FOR A BIT, I CAN FINALLY GET IT TO COME ON. I JUST BOUGHT IT LAST JANUARY SO I HAVEN'T EVEN HAD IT A YEAR YET AND ALWAYS TAKE IT IN FOR SERVICING PLEASE HELP ME I HAVE SEEN RECALLS FOR SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH THE SAME JEEP BUT, YOUR SITE TELLS ME NO OPEN RECALLS SO HOW DO I KNOW IF MINE HAS BEEN REPAIRED?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/7/2014 - GORE, VA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LIGHTS FLASHED, HORN ACTIVATED AND WINDSHIELD WIPERS WITH WIPER FLUID INDEPENDENTLY TURNED ON. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIPM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. PAM

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/7/2014 - GORE, VA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LIGHTS FLASHED, HORN ACTIVATED AND WINDSHIELD WIPERS WITH WIPER FLUID INDEPENDENTLY TURNED ON. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIPM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. PAM

View Details

STEERING

10/3/2014 - WALES, WI
WHEN EVER I TURN THE WHEEL, I HEAR A POP. IT IS GETTING LOUDER NOW WITH AGE.THE AUTO TECHNICIAN THAT CHECKED DID SHOW ME THE BUSHINGS AND THEY LOOKED WORE OUT. JUST NEW CONTROL ARM 'S COST ABOUT $400.00 FOR BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT. I DID NOT ASK ABOUT THE LABOR CHARGE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/27/2014 - PLAINFIELD, IL
WHEN I TRIED TO OPEN THE SLIDING SKY ROOF THE STICKY (TAPE) PART BECAME UNSTUCK FROM THE SLIDING SKY ROOF AND STUCK TO THE CAR'S FRAME THAT CAUSED THE SLIDING SKY ROOF TO BREAK OFF THE TRACK PREVENTING IT FROM OPENING AND/OR CLOSING. IF DRIVEN NOW IT WILL BLOW OFF AND BE HAZARDOUS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds