Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 391 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (10) Unknown Or Other (21)
Communications (2) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (83) Exterior Lighting (15) Parking Brake (2) Steering (9) Visibility (39)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (48) Power Train (23) Structure (66) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (95) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (10) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/2/2016 - ELK RIVER, MN
THE FUEL TANK SUPPORT RUSTS OUT FROM THE INSIDE TO A POINT THAT IT SEEMS VERY UNLIKELY IT WOULD BE STRUCTURALLY SOUND IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT. IT IS VERY CONCERNING THAT THIS WOULD NOT PUNCTURE THE TANK AND BE A CAUSE OF FIRE INSTEAD OF PROTECTING THE TANK AS IT IS MARKETED TO DO. THERE HAS BEEN NO INCIDENT YET, BUT AFTER AN ACCIDENT WOULD NOT BE THE TIME TO FIND OUT. CHRYSLER HAS REVIEWED THIS AND WILL NOT TAKE ACTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/19/2016 - CLINTON, TN
AMONGST OTHER ISSUES: VEHICLE FAILS TO START OCCASIONALLY, FROM BOTH COLD AND WARM STATES. FROM COMPLETELY OFF, TURNING THE KEY BEGINS IGNITION BUT OFTEN DOES NOT START THE VEHICLE. ENGINE SPUTTERS BUT DOES NOT COMPLETE THE START. ON SOME OCCASIONS, DEPRESSING THE GAS PEDAL WHILE TRYING TO START THE VEHICLE WORKS, LEADING ME TO BELIEVE THIS IS ONE OF THE WIDELY REPORTED TIPM ISSUES PLAGUING JEEPS FROM 2007-2014. I CONCLUDE THE FUEL PUMP FAILS TO RECEIVE A SIGNAL TO START FROM THE TIPM WHICH CAUSES THE IGNITION FAILURE. IN ADDITION, I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE ELECTRICAL ISSUES INCLUDING DOORS LOCKING AND UNLOCKING WHEN THE OPPOSITE CORRESPONDING BUTTONS ARE PRESSED, WINDSHIELD WIPERS TURNING ON WHEN THE TURN SIGNAL IS USED, WARNING LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD REPORTING NON-ISSUES, FAILURE OF POWER STEERING, AND FAILURE TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE GAS PEDAL IS DEPRESSED. PLEASE ADDRESS THIS ISSUE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2016 - CLINTON, TN
AMONGST OTHER ISSUES: VEHICLE FAILS TO START OCCASIONALLY, FROM BOTH COLD AND WARM STATES. FROM COMPLETELY OFF, TURNING THE KEY BEGINS IGNITION BUT OFTEN DOES NOT START THE VEHICLE. ENGINE SPUTTERS BUT DOES NOT COMPLETE THE START. ON SOME OCCASIONS, DEPRESSING THE GAS PEDAL WHILE TRYING TO START THE VEHICLE WORKS, LEADING ME TO BELIEVE THIS IS ONE OF THE WIDELY REPORTED TIPM ISSUES PLAGUING JEEPS FROM 2007-2014. I CONCLUDE THE FUEL PUMP FAILS TO RECEIVE A SIGNAL TO START FROM THE TIPM WHICH CAUSES THE IGNITION FAILURE. IN ADDITION, I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE ELECTRICAL ISSUES INCLUDING DOORS LOCKING AND UNLOCKING WHEN THE OPPOSITE CORRESPONDING BUTTONS ARE PRESSED, WINDSHIELD WIPERS TURNING ON WHEN THE TURN SIGNAL IS USED, WARNING LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD REPORTING NON-ISSUES, FAILURE OF POWER STEERING, AND FAILURE TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE GAS PEDAL IS DEPRESSED. PLEASE ADDRESS THIS ISSUE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/19/2016 - CLINTON, TN
AMONGST OTHER ISSUES: VEHICLE FAILS TO START OCCASIONALLY, FROM BOTH COLD AND WARM STATES. FROM COMPLETELY OFF, TURNING THE KEY BEGINS IGNITION BUT OFTEN DOES NOT START THE VEHICLE. ENGINE SPUTTERS BUT DOES NOT COMPLETE THE START. ON SOME OCCASIONS, DEPRESSING THE GAS PEDAL WHILE TRYING TO START THE VEHICLE WORKS, LEADING ME TO BELIEVE THIS IS ONE OF THE WIDELY REPORTED TIPM ISSUES PLAGUING JEEPS FROM 2007-2014. I CONCLUDE THE FUEL PUMP FAILS TO RECEIVE A SIGNAL TO START FROM THE TIPM WHICH CAUSES THE IGNITION FAILURE. IN ADDITION, I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE ELECTRICAL ISSUES INCLUDING DOORS LOCKING AND UNLOCKING WHEN THE OPPOSITE CORRESPONDING BUTTONS ARE PRESSED, WINDSHIELD WIPERS TURNING ON WHEN THE TURN SIGNAL IS USED, WARNING LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD REPORTING NON-ISSUES, FAILURE OF POWER STEERING, AND FAILURE TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE GAS PEDAL IS DEPRESSED. PLEASE ADDRESS THIS ISSUE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/5/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
MY CAR HAS BEEN HONKING AND ALL THE WINDOW WIPERS GO OFF SPORADICALLY WHEN DRIVING. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY, IN STANDSTILL TRAFFIC AND STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. IT HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 4 TIMES IN THE LAST 2 MONTHS. IT IS NOT ONLY EMBARRASSING BUT IT MAKES US NERVOUS THAT THE ISSUE COULD GET WORSE AND LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT IN THE FUTURE. WE TOOK IT TO PEP BOYS AND WERE TOLD THEY CAN'T DIAGNOSE IT. I THEN CONTACTED CRYSLER AND THEY JUST TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO A DEALERSHIP. I DID AND THE DEALERSHIP DIDN'T KNOW HOW TO FIX IT BUT SENT US A QUOTE FOR $3500 WORTH OF OTHER STUFF WE DON'T NEED FIXED! MY HUSBAND JUST PICKED UP THE CAR AND IT HONKED/WINDOW WIPERED 3 TIMES IN A 15 MINUTE RIDE HOME. WE ARE EXPECTING OUR FIRST BABY ANY DAY NOW AND ARE VERY NERVOUS ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THE CAR. NO ONE IS WILLING TO HELP AT THIS POINT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/30/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES, MOST RECENTLY ON SEPT. 5, 2016. THE CAR HONKS MULTIPLE TIMES AND ALL THE WINDOW WIPERS START GOING. THIS HAS OCCURED WHILE IN STAND STILL TRAFFIC ON THE HIGHWAY, ON CITY STREETS AND WHEN STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2016 - SEMINOLE, FL
INTERMITTENT PROBLEM. WHEN STARTING CAR, WIPERS COME ON AND TURN SIGNALS FAIL TO WORK. THE ONLY WAY TO GET WIPERS TO STOP IS TO PULL THE FUSE. TURN SIGNALS REMAIN INOPERABLE. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR OVER 2 YEARS. HAVE TAKEN VEHICLE TO DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. DEALER CLAIMS THEY CANNOT LOCATE A PROBLEM; HOWEVER, THERE CLEARLY IS A PROBLEM. DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING CAR WITH WIPERS GOING AND NO TURN SIGNALS. WE HAVE ALSO HAD ISSUES WITH INTERIOR LIGHTS REMAINING ON. VERY DISTRACTING TO DRIVER AT NIGHT. AGAIN, TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER AND THEY CANNOT FIND A PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP ISSUE OCCURS WHILE VEHICLE IS STATIONARY AND IN MOTION. WE DRIVE CITY AND HIGHWAY STREETS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/22/2016 - SEMINOLE, FL
INTERMITTENT PROBLEM. WHEN STARTING CAR, WIPERS COME ON AND TURN SIGNALS FAIL TO WORK. THE ONLY WAY TO GET WIPERS TO STOP IS TO PULL THE FUSE. TURN SIGNALS REMAIN INOPERABLE. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR OVER 2 YEARS. HAVE TAKEN VEHICLE TO DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. DEALER CLAIMS THEY CANNOT LOCATE A PROBLEM; HOWEVER, THERE CLEARLY IS A PROBLEM. DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING CAR WITH WIPERS GOING AND NO TURN SIGNALS. WE HAVE ALSO HAD ISSUES WITH INTERIOR LIGHTS REMAINING ON. VERY DISTRACTING TO DRIVER AT NIGHT. AGAIN, TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER AND THEY CANNOT FIND A PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP ISSUE OCCURS WHILE VEHICLE IS STATIONARY AND IN MOTION. WE DRIVE CITY AND HIGHWAY STREETS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2016 - SEMINOLE, FL
INTERMITTENT PROBLEM. WHEN STARTING CAR, WIPERS COME ON AND TURN SIGNALS FAIL TO WORK. THE ONLY WAY TO GET WIPERS TO STOP IS TO PULL THE FUSE. TURN SIGNALS REMAIN INOPERABLE. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR OVER 2 YEARS. HAVE TAKEN VEHICLE TO DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. DEALER CLAIMS THEY CANNOT LOCATE A PROBLEM; HOWEVER, THERE CLEARLY IS A PROBLEM. DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING CAR WITH WIPERS GOING AND NO TURN SIGNALS. WE HAVE ALSO HAD ISSUES WITH INTERIOR LIGHTS REMAINING ON. VERY DISTRACTING TO DRIVER AT NIGHT. AGAIN, TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER AND THEY CANNOT FIND A PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP ISSUE OCCURS WHILE VEHICLE IS STATIONARY AND IN MOTION. WE DRIVE CITY AND HIGHWAY STREETS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

9/13/2016 - CLIFFWOOD BEACH, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUN ROOF FAILED TO CLOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds