Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 405 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (11) Unknown Or Other (22)
Communications (3) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (84) Exterior Lighting (15) Parking Brake (2) Steering (10) Visibility (39)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (51) Power Train (24) Structure (70) Visibility Wiper (25)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (95) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (4) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/9/2017 - HUNTINGTON, NY
AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT STAYED ILLUMINATED. THIS IS THE SAME INCIDENT REPORTED IN THE 2012 JEEP LIBERTY WHICH IS BEING INVESTIGATED. DEALER SAID IT "MIGHT " BE HARNESS BUT BASED ON LATEST REPORT READ ON THE INTERNET IT APPEARS TO BE THE SAME. REMEDY THE ISSUE BY HAVING THE CONTROLLER REPLACED. I HAVE NOT DONE THIS YET.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/28/2017 - TUCSON, AZ
THE REAR BRAKE LINES ARE MOUNTED IN SUCH A WAY THAT THEY RUB AGAINST THE FUEL LINES AS WELL AS THE TRANSMISSION COOLER LINE. THIS CAUSED THE BREAK LINE TO LEAK AND THE BRAKES TO BECOME NON FUNCTIONAL. FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO NOTICE THIS BEFORE A CRASH. MY WIFE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN SO LUCKY AS SHE MAY HAVE NOT NOTICED THIS. I HAD THIS HAPPEN AS I WAS DRIVING IN TRAFFIC, AND CONSIDER MYSELF FORTUNATE THAT I WAS ABLE TO GET OFF THE ROAD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: ROOF AND PILLARS

5/23/2017 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT'S MOTHER OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE THE CONTACT'S MOTHER WAS DRIVING 60 MPH, THE SKY SLIDER ROOF OPENED INDEPENDENTLY AND CAME OFF TRACK. THE DRIVER WAS UNABLE TO CLOSE THE SKY SLIDER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/14/2017 - TULSA, OK
SEVERAL YEARS AGO THERE WAS A RECALL ON MY FUEL TANK FOR GAS OVER SPILLING WHILE FUELING THE CAR. THAT WAS REPLACED BUT NOW I CAN'T FILL MY TANK COMPLETELY BECAUSE WHEN I DO THE INSIDE OF MY CAR SMELLS OF GAS FUMES FROM THE TANK UP TO THE FRONT SEAT. THERE IS ALSO AN ISSUE WITH THE CAR STALING AT A STOP OR THE IGNITION HAVING TROUBLE CATCHING WHEN I CRANK THE CAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/21/2017 - BLOOMINGTON, MN
THE SKY-SLIDER LITERALLY FLEW OFF MY CAR ON THE HIGHWAY WITH MY ONE YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN THE CAR WHILE IT WAS RAINING DOWN! MY POOR BABY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/21/2017 - BUFFALO, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 161,403.

View Details

STEERING

4/1/2017 - JANESVILLE, WI
HAD 4 NEW GOODYEAR WRANGLER SRA TIRES INSTALLED BY SAM'S CLUB ON 5/3/2014.BOUGHT LIFETIME ROTATION/BALANCE PACKAGE AT THAT TIME. HAVE TIRES ROTATED/BALANCED ROUTINELY. ALIGNMENT GOES OUT EACH TIME AND STEERING WHEEL ALSO ENDS UP OUT OF THE PROPER POSITION. ALIGNMENT IS COMPLETED BY A SPECIALTY SHOP. THE SHOP TELLS ME I HAVE AT LEAST ONE OR MORE DEFECTIVE TIRES. INFORMED SAM'S CLUB OF ISSUE ON 4/10/2015 DURING THE ROTATION/BALANCE. HAD ALIGNMENT DONE THE PREVIOUS DAY. SAM'S CLUB DENIED ANY ISSUE WITH THESE TIRES AND WOULD NOT FOLLOW UP ON IT. HAVE LEARNED TO ROTATE/BALANCE FIRST, THEN DO ALIGNMENT. CERTAINLY WILL NOT PURCHASE GOODYEAR AGAIN!

View Details

WHEELS

4/1/2017 - JANESVILLE, WI
HAD 4 NEW GOODYEAR WRANGLER SRA TIRES INSTALLED BY SAM'S CLUB ON 5/3/2014.BOUGHT LIFETIME ROTATION/BALANCE PACKAGE AT THAT TIME. HAVE TIRES ROTATED/BALANCED ROUTINELY. ALIGNMENT GOES OUT EACH TIME AND STEERING WHEEL ALSO ENDS UP OUT OF THE PROPER POSITION. ALIGNMENT IS COMPLETED BY A SPECIALTY SHOP. THE SHOP TELLS ME I HAVE AT LEAST ONE OR MORE DEFECTIVE TIRES. INFORMED SAM'S CLUB OF ISSUE ON 4/10/2015 DURING THE ROTATION/BALANCE. HAD ALIGNMENT DONE THE PREVIOUS DAY. SAM'S CLUB DENIED ANY ISSUE WITH THESE TIRES AND WOULD NOT FOLLOW UP ON IT. HAVE LEARNED TO ROTATE/BALANCE FIRST, THEN DO ALIGNMENT. CERTAINLY WILL NOT PURCHASE GOODYEAR AGAIN!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/24/2017 - ORANGEVALE, CA
WHEN FILLING THIS VEHICLE WITH GAS, GAS WITH SPEW OUT ALL OVER THE CAR AND THE PERSON HOLDING THE NOZZLE THAT IS STILL IN THE GAS TANK. NO MATTER WHAT GAS STATION USED/PUMP AND NO MATTER HOW SLOW OR FAST IT IS GOING. I DO NOT " TOP OFF". THE SPILLAGE CAN BE BETWEEN A CUP TO A HALF GALLON FOR NO REASON IN PARTICULAR. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS ISSUE AND NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED.I HAVE TO GUESS EACH TIME HOW MUCH TO PUT IN SO I CAN LIMIT THE AMOUNT OF FUEL SPILLAGE. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR YEARS WITH NO RESOLUTION.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

3/7/2017 - COLDWATER, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE HORN AND WINDSHIELD WIPERS CONTINUED TO OPERATE INDEPENDENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPER FLUID CONTINUED TO SPEW OUT AND FAILED TO SHUT OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds