Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 327 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (14)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (56) Exterior Lighting (11) Parking Brake (2) Structure (55) Visibility (32)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (41) Power Train (19) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (94) Seats (3) Tires (7) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/4/2015 - THORNTON, CO
DRIVING AT 40 WHEN THE HORN, WIPERS, AND LIGHTS START GOING CRAZY. HAD TO PULL OVER AND RESTART THE CAR TO GET IT TO STOP. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, THEY DIAGNOSED THE TPIM TO BE FAULTY AND IT WOULD COST 1200 TO FIX. COME TO FIND OUT THE TPIM HAS BEEN RECALLED BY CHRYSLE BUT NOT FOR THE 2008 MODELS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/4/2015 - THORNTON, CO
DRIVING AT 40 WHEN THE HORN, WIPERS, AND LIGHTS START GOING CRAZY. HAD TO PULL OVER AND RESTART THE CAR TO GET IT TO STOP. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, THEY DIAGNOSED THE TPIM TO BE FAULTY AND IT WOULD COST 1200 TO FIX. COME TO FIND OUT THE TPIM HAS BEEN RECALLED BY CHRYSLE BUT NOT FOR THE 2008 MODELS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/4/2015 - MILFORD, MA
SUNROOF LEAKING BADLY NOTICED A SMALL AMOUNT EARLIER BUT LATELY HAS GOTTEN WORSE. HEADLINER IS STAINED FROM THE LEAK. DRIVERS FLOORBOARD IS WEY FROM LEAK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/4/2015 - MILFORD, MA
SUNROOF LEAKING BADLY NOTICED A SMALL AMOUNT EARLIER BUT LATELY HAS GOTTEN WORSE. HEADLINER IS STAINED FROM THE LEAK. DRIVERS FLOORBOARD IS WEY FROM LEAK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/26/2015 - SEATTLE, WA
I STARTED MY JEEP LIBERTY AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STARTED GOING WHEN THE SWITCH WAS IN THE OFF POSITION. I TURNED ON MY HEADLIGHTS AND THEY STOPPED. WHEN I GOT HOME I TOOK DISCONNECTED THE NEG WIRE ON THE BATTERY TO RESET THE COMPUTER IN JEEP AND I HOOKED IT BACK UP AFTER 20 MINS AND WHERE THE MILEAGE IS SHOWN IT SAID ERROR.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/26/2015 - SEATTLE, WA
I STARTED MY JEEP LIBERTY AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STARTED GOING WHEN THE SWITCH WAS IN THE OFF POSITION. I TURNED ON MY HEADLIGHTS AND THEY STOPPED. WHEN I GOT HOME I TOOK DISCONNECTED THE NEG WIRE ON THE BATTERY TO RESET THE COMPUTER IN JEEP AND I HOOKED IT BACK UP AFTER 20 MINS AND WHERE THE MILEAGE IS SHOWN IT SAID ERROR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2015 - FRAZIER PARK, CA
WHEN DRIVERS DOOR WAS OPENED, VEHICLE HORN, WIPERS BOTH FRONT AND REAR ALL BEGAN TO OPERATE AND I WAS UNABLE TO START AND MAINTAIN THE ENGINE RUNNING, IT WAS NECESSARY TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY TERMINAL IN ORDER TO STOP EVERYTHING. A MONTH LATER, I WAS IN TOWN AND IT DID THE SAME THING. IN APRIL WHILE COMING TO A STOP SIGN THE VEHICLE STOPPED RUNNING AND THE HORN, WIPERS AND LIGHTS ALL BEGAN OPERATING. I WAS ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE UNTIL IT STOPPED. THE BATTERY HAD TO BE DISCONNECTED IN ORDER TO GET THE VEHICLE TO RUN. THE NEXT AFTERNOON, IT DID IT AGAIN HOWEVER DISCONNECTING AND RECONNECTING THE BATTERY DID NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM. I HAD TO LEAVE THE BATTERY DISCONNECTED ALL NIGHT IN ORDER FOR THE VEHICLE TO RESET.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/22/2015 - FRAZIER PARK, CA
WHEN DRIVERS DOOR WAS OPENED, VEHICLE HORN, WIPERS BOTH FRONT AND REAR ALL BEGAN TO OPERATE AND I WAS UNABLE TO START AND MAINTAIN THE ENGINE RUNNING, IT WAS NECESSARY TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY TERMINAL IN ORDER TO STOP EVERYTHING. A MONTH LATER, I WAS IN TOWN AND IT DID THE SAME THING. IN APRIL WHILE COMING TO A STOP SIGN THE VEHICLE STOPPED RUNNING AND THE HORN, WIPERS AND LIGHTS ALL BEGAN OPERATING. I WAS ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE UNTIL IT STOPPED. THE BATTERY HAD TO BE DISCONNECTED IN ORDER TO GET THE VEHICLE TO RUN. THE NEXT AFTERNOON, IT DID IT AGAIN HOWEVER DISCONNECTING AND RECONNECTING THE BATTERY DID NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM. I HAD TO LEAVE THE BATTERY DISCONNECTED ALL NIGHT IN ORDER FOR THE VEHICLE TO RESET.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/22/2015 - FRAZIER PARK, CA
WHEN DRIVERS DOOR WAS OPENED, VEHICLE HORN, WIPERS BOTH FRONT AND REAR ALL BEGAN TO OPERATE AND I WAS UNABLE TO START AND MAINTAIN THE ENGINE RUNNING, IT WAS NECESSARY TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY TERMINAL IN ORDER TO STOP EVERYTHING. A MONTH LATER, I WAS IN TOWN AND IT DID THE SAME THING. IN APRIL WHILE COMING TO A STOP SIGN THE VEHICLE STOPPED RUNNING AND THE HORN, WIPERS AND LIGHTS ALL BEGAN OPERATING. I WAS ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE UNTIL IT STOPPED. THE BATTERY HAD TO BE DISCONNECTED IN ORDER TO GET THE VEHICLE TO RUN. THE NEXT AFTERNOON, IT DID IT AGAIN HOWEVER DISCONNECTING AND RECONNECTING THE BATTERY DID NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM. I HAD TO LEAVE THE BATTERY DISCONNECTED ALL NIGHT IN ORDER FOR THE VEHICLE TO RESET.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/21/2015 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
1ST INCIDENT OCCURRED IN MARCH 2013. I WAS DRIVING TO WORK IN A 25MPH ZONE. SUDDENLY, THE HORN STARTED BEEPING, WINDSHIELD WIPERS (FRONT AND REAR) WERE GOING, WASHER FLUID WAS POURING OUT, POWER DOOR LOCKS WHERE GOING ON AND OFF. HAD TO PULL OVER BECAUSE I COULD NOT SEE WITH THE FLUID SPRAYING OUT AT FULL SPEED. I TURN THE CAR OFF AND REMOVED KEY FROM THE IGNITION AND THIS CONTINUED TO GO ON FOR 5 MINUTES. BROUGHT THE CAR TO MANFREDI DEALERSHIP. THEY REPLACED THE TIPM MODULE WHICH WAS VERY COSTLY. A YEAR AND 1/2 LATER ON MAY 18, 2015, I EXPERIENCED THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM. THERE IS DEFINITELY A MAJOR FLAW WITH THIS PART. IT'S EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHEN THIS OCCURS ON A HIGHWAY/TURNPIKE DOING THE SPEED LIMIT. THIS PART SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY. I SHOULD NOT BE RESPONSIBLE TO PAY FOR YET ANOTHER TIPM. WHEN I CALLED THE DEALER THEY EXPLAINED IT'S ONLY A 1 YEAR/12 MONTHS GUARANTEE, BUT THIS PART SHOULD LAST AT LEAST 5 YEARS. REALLY???

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds