Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 175 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Power Train (10) Structure (34) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (50) Seats (3) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/31/2014 - HOWELL, NJ
RECENTLY THE BATTERY DIED IN MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. I CHANGED THE BATTERY AND WHEN I STARTED UP MY VEHICLE AND ERROR MESSAGE WAS DISPLAYED IN THE ODOMETER WINDOW. I SEARCHED THE INTERNET AND FOUND THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - ASHVILLE, AL
MY AIR COMPRESSOR STARTED MAKING A TERRIBLE SCREECHING NOISE. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE AIR COMPRESSOR IN JEEPS DO NOT LAST AFTER A COUPLE OF YEARS. HOW HAS THIS NOT BEEN RECTIFIED? ALSO, MY TRACTION AND ABS LIGHTS COME ON AND CAUSE ME TO BE UNABLE TO STOP WHEN I PRESS THE BRAKES. THIS IS NOT FROM NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR OF DRIVING A CAR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/23/2014 - ASHVILLE, AL
MY AIR COMPRESSOR STARTED MAKING A TERRIBLE SCREECHING NOISE. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE AIR COMPRESSOR IN JEEPS DO NOT LAST AFTER A COUPLE OF YEARS. HOW HAS THIS NOT BEEN RECTIFIED? ALSO, MY TRACTION AND ABS LIGHTS COME ON AND CAUSE ME TO BE UNABLE TO STOP WHEN I PRESS THE BRAKES. THIS IS NOT FROM NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR OF DRIVING A CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/13/2014 - POTTSTOWN, PA
OUR JEEP GOES TO DEALER EVERY 3000 MILES FOR OIL & FILTER CHANGE SINCE WE BOUGHT IT NEW. THIS YEAR I NOTICED THE BATTERY TERMINALS HAD NEVER BEEN CLEANED. I REMOVED THE TERMINALS AS I HAVE DONE ON HUNDREDS OF CARS (AS MY BOTHER AND I HAD SERVICE/ GAS STATIONS FOR YEARS) AS A NO CHARGE COURTESY. NOW I KNOW WHY THEY NEVER DID THE CLEANING. AS SOON AS YOU REMOVE THE TERMINALS FOR ANY REASON THE ERROW MESSAGE WILL MOST LIKELY SHOW UP. NOW THEY WANT $600.00 PLUS STATE TAXES TO EFFECT REPAIRS. NO GUARANTEE THAT IT WON'T HAPPEN AGAIN. HELP US PLEASE

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/9/2014 - HUBERT, NC
JEEP STARTED TO SHAKE. WHEN TAKING YOUR FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL, AUTO ALMOST CAME TO A STOP. WENT STRAIGHT TO REPAIR SHOP. CALIPER ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED ON REAR PASSENGER SIDE. SECOND CALIPER MALFUNCTIONED ON JUNE 30, 2014. PARTS HAVE BEEN BACK ORDERED SINCE JULY 1, 2014. CHRYSLER IS PRODUCING BAD PARTS AND ALTHOUGH NO ACCIDENTS ARE REPORTED YET, THEY WILL BE. THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING ON A VEHICLE WITH LESS THAN 50,000 MILES. WEBB SITE HAS 100'S OF PEOPLE WITH SAME PROBLEM THAT RE-OCCURES WITHIN A SHORT TIME. PLEASE CHECK INTO THIS FOR ALL JEEP OWNERS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/26/2014 - CARROLLTON, GA
WITH THE PARKING BRAKE FULLY ENGAGED, THE VEHICLE IS FULLY DRIVE ABLE ONCE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IS ENGAGED. WARNING LIGHT, ON DASH, AND ALARM SOUNDS BUT THE PARKING BRAKE DOES NOT KEEP, OR EVEN IMPEDE, THE CAR FROM MOVING. HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE ADDRESSED THREE TIMES, AT TWO DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS, AND PARKING BRAKES DO NOT WORK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/26/2014 - DOWNINGTOWN, PA
2008 JEEP LIBERTY LE PURCHASED 9/2008. HAD TO BRING CAR BACK WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK OF PURCHASE TO HAVE THE STRIP AT THE FRONT REPLACED. SINCE THEN THE ROOF HAS ALWAYS BEEN NOISY AND LIFTS SLIGHTLY AT THE FRONT WHILE MOVING. RECENTLY, IT HAS STOPPED CLOSING PROPERLY. IT WILL NOT CLOSE ALL THE WAY AND IS BUCKLED IN SEVERAL PLACES LEAVING GAPS IN THE ROOF FOR WIND AND RAIN TO COME IN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/19/2014 - GRAYSON, GA
GOT OUT MY TRUCK AT WALMART AND THE DOORS AUTOMATIC LOCKED WHEN I CLOSED THE DRIVER DOOR THE LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AND THE LOCKS STARTED LOCKING AND UN LOCKING. THAT WAS ON JUNE 3,2014. THE REALLY BAD ONE HAPPEN ON JUNE16,2014 WHEN I HAD MY DAUGHTER AND GRANDBABY WITH ME I GOT OUT THE CAR AND IT LOCKED AS USUAL AND THE LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AND I COULD NOT GET MY DAUGHTER OR GRANDBABY OUT IT WAS VERY HOT OUTSIDE AND I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO HAVE TO BREAK THE WINDOW. I AM VERY AFRAID TO DRIVE MY JEEP. I FEEL TRAPPED IN IT AND I FEEL LIKE SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN IF MY KIDS OR GRANDBABY IS IN THERE AND IT WANT LET ME IN. I WAKE UP SOME MORNINGS AND THE BATTERY IS DEAD AND WANT CRANK LEAVING MY KIDS LATE FOR SCHOOL. PLEASE HELP

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/19/2014 - GRAYSON, GA
GOT OUT MY TRUCK AT WALMART AND THE DOORS AUTOMATIC LOCKED WHEN I CLOSED THE DRIVER DOOR THE LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AND THE LOCKS STARTED LOCKING AND UN LOCKING. THAT WAS ON JUNE 3,2014. THE REALLY BAD ONE HAPPEN ON JUNE16,2014 WHEN I HAD MY DAUGHTER AND GRANDBABY WITH ME I GOT OUT THE CAR AND IT LOCKED AS USUAL AND THE LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AND I COULD NOT GET MY DAUGHTER OR GRANDBABY OUT IT WAS VERY HOT OUTSIDE AND I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO HAVE TO BREAK THE WINDOW. I AM VERY AFRAID TO DRIVE MY JEEP. I FEEL TRAPPED IN IT AND I FEEL LIKE SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN IF MY KIDS OR GRANDBABY IS IN THERE AND IT WANT LET ME IN. I WAKE UP SOME MORNINGS AND THE BATTERY IS DEAD AND WANT CRANK LEAVING MY KIDS LATE FOR SCHOOL. PLEASE HELP

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/19/2014 - GRAYSON, GA
GOT OUT MY TRUCK AT WALMART AND THE DOORS AUTOMATIC LOCKED WHEN I CLOSED THE DRIVER DOOR THE LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AND THE LOCKS STARTED LOCKING AND UN LOCKING. THAT WAS ON JUNE 3,2014. THE REALLY BAD ONE HAPPEN ON JUNE16,2014 WHEN I HAD MY DAUGHTER AND GRANDBABY WITH ME I GOT OUT THE CAR AND IT LOCKED AS USUAL AND THE LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AND I COULD NOT GET MY DAUGHTER OR GRANDBABY OUT IT WAS VERY HOT OUTSIDE AND I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO HAVE TO BREAK THE WINDOW. I AM VERY AFRAID TO DRIVE MY JEEP. I FEEL TRAPPED IN IT AND I FEEL LIKE SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN IF MY KIDS OR GRANDBABY IS IN THERE AND IT WANT LET ME IN. I WAKE UP SOME MORNINGS AND THE BATTERY IS DEAD AND WANT CRANK LEAVING MY KIDS LATE FOR SCHOOL. PLEASE HELP

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds