Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 297 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (14)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (43) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (19) Structure (49) Visibility (30)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (93) Service Brakes (3) Tires (6) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/19/2014 - NEW MILFORD, NJ
SUNSLIDER ROOF - BROKEN FRAME AND MOTOR AT APPROXIMATELY 50,000 MILES. WATER DAMAGE. TOLD NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. REPAIR ESTIMATED OVER $3000. GAP IN ROOF WHEN DRIVING AT ANY SPEED OVER 30 MPH. RESEARCH INDICATES KNOWN ISSUE BY JEEP WITH SUBJECTIVE DECISIONS WHETHER OR NOT TO COVER REPAIR AND PRIOR LAWSUIT.

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/17/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
LETTER FROM SENATOR REED ON BEHALF OF CONSTITUENT RE 2008 JEEP LIBERTY SKY SLIDER. THE CONSUMER STATED THE ROOF WAS FIXED UNDER WARRANTY FOUR YEARS AGO. NOW, THE CABLES ON THE ROOF NEED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

12/4/2014 - MILLIS, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SKY SLIDER WAS ABLE TO BE OPENED BUT WOULD NOT CLOSE WHEN ACTIVATED. THE FAILURE CAUSED WATER TO ENTER THE VEHICLE AND CAUSE DAMAGE INTERNALLY WHEN THERE WAS RAINY WEATHER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/22/2014 - SPOKANE, WA
WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE FROM A LOCAL USED DEALER, I NEVER ANTICIPATED THE PROBLEMS I WOULD BE FACED WITH. I HAVE ALWAYS DREAMED OF OWNING A JEEP AND NOW, I'M READY TO TAKE IT TO THE DUMP. I PURCHASED THIS KEEP ON THE ABOVE DATE AND WAS TOLD THAT THE SKY SLIDER DOES NOT WORK. THE DEALER CREATED A CONTRACT THAT THEY WOULD HAVE IT FIXED. 2 MONTHS LATER, THEY FINALLY FIND SOMEONE IN THE AREA WHO KNOWS HOW TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. WE TAKE IT IN, AND FIND THAT THE WHOLE ROOF HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALERSHIP FINALLY AGREED TO PAY FOR IT AFTER A MONTH OF ME BEING OUT A VEHICLE. THIS REPAIR COST THE DEALERSHIP AN UPWARDS OF $4,500.00 AND I AM STILL EXPERIENCING WIND NOISE. IF I DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY AND A SEMI GOES BY, THE SKY SLIDER LIFTS UP AS IF IT'S GOING TO FLY OFF. I WILL NEVER OPEN THE SKY SLIDER FOR FEAR THAT IT WILL NEED TO BE FIXED AGAIN (OR GET STUCK OPEN). I HAVE SEEN MANY PEOPLE PRESENTING THIS SAME ISSUE ON FORUMS WITH NOTHING BEING SOLVED. PLEASE, IT'S TIME CHRYSLER OWNS UP TO THIS FAULTY DESIGN AND HELPS PEOPLE OUT! I AM SO SCARED THAT THIS ROOF IS GOING TO FLY OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. NO ONE SHOULD EVER HAVE TO FEEL AFRAID TO DRIVE A CAR THEY PAY FOR!

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/13/2014 - COLD SPRING HARBOR, NY
AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY AFTER CAR IS STARTED. SPOKE TO CHRYSLER/JEEP AFTER CONSULTATION WITH LOCAL MECHANIC WHO IDENTIFIED THE ISSUE AS A DEFECTIVE CLOCK SPRING. THIS SAME ISSUE WAS ADDRESSED WITH CHRYSLER/JEEP WITH JEEP WRANGLER 2008 - 2010 WHICH USES THE SAME CLOCK SPRING (REFERENCE : NVS-212PCOR;PE11-019-AUGUST 5-2011) RESULTING IN EXTENSION OF WARRANTY TO 3 YEARS OR 150,000 MILES. JEEP REQUESTS A FEE OF 500.00 + DOLLARS TO REPAIR THIS ISSUE STATING THERE IS NO EXTENDED WARRANTY ON JEEP LIBERTY 2008 EVEN THOUGH THE SAME PART IS BEING USED IN EACH VEHICLE NOR WILL JEEP DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE UNLESS GUARANTEE DIAGNOSTIC FEE OF 120.00 DOLLARS. PLEASE ADVISE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/7/2014 - GLENSHAW, PA
VEHICLE WILL LOOSE POWER WHILE AT HWY SPEED. AS IF SLAMMING ON BRAKES DASH LIGHTS LIGHT UP AS YOUR SEATBELT LOCKS AND YOU SLAM FORWARD. HEADLIGHTS WILL TURN OFF WHILE INSIDE DASH LIGHTS REMAIN ON. MUST USE BRIGHTS TO DRIVE OR PULL OVER. WINDOWS, SEATS MOVE THEMSELVES. WHILE VEHICLE IS OFF AND UNATTENDED. SOMETIMES WHILE PULLING IN A PARKING SPOT CAR LUNGES FORWARD. SOMETIMES WHILE SITTING AT A RED LIGHT IT JUST POWERS OFF AND MUST BE RESTARTED. EVIDENCE OF A LEAK SOMEWHERE CAN NOT BE LOCATED. THE LEAK HAS STAINED A LITTLE ON THE INSIDE ROOF.

View Details

ENGINE

11/7/2014 - GLENSHAW, PA
VEHICLE WILL LOOSE POWER WHILE AT HWY SPEED. AS IF SLAMMING ON BRAKES DASH LIGHTS LIGHT UP AS YOUR SEATBELT LOCKS AND YOU SLAM FORWARD. HEADLIGHTS WILL TURN OFF WHILE INSIDE DASH LIGHTS REMAIN ON. MUST USE BRIGHTS TO DRIVE OR PULL OVER. WINDOWS, SEATS MOVE THEMSELVES. WHILE VEHICLE IS OFF AND UNATTENDED. SOMETIMES WHILE PULLING IN A PARKING SPOT CAR LUNGES FORWARD. SOMETIMES WHILE SITTING AT A RED LIGHT IT JUST POWERS OFF AND MUST BE RESTARTED. EVIDENCE OF A LEAK SOMEWHERE CAN NOT BE LOCATED. THE LEAK HAS STAINED A LITTLE ON THE INSIDE ROOF.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/7/2014 - GLENSHAW, PA
VEHICLE WILL LOOSE POWER WHILE AT HWY SPEED. AS IF SLAMMING ON BRAKES DASH LIGHTS LIGHT UP AS YOUR SEATBELT LOCKS AND YOU SLAM FORWARD. HEADLIGHTS WILL TURN OFF WHILE INSIDE DASH LIGHTS REMAIN ON. MUST USE BRIGHTS TO DRIVE OR PULL OVER. WINDOWS, SEATS MOVE THEMSELVES. WHILE VEHICLE IS OFF AND UNATTENDED. SOMETIMES WHILE PULLING IN A PARKING SPOT CAR LUNGES FORWARD. SOMETIMES WHILE SITTING AT A RED LIGHT IT JUST POWERS OFF AND MUST BE RESTARTED. EVIDENCE OF A LEAK SOMEWHERE CAN NOT BE LOCATED. THE LEAK HAS STAINED A LITTLE ON THE INSIDE ROOF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/3/2014 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE USED. EACH OF THE TWO TIMES WE HAVE FILLED UP THE TANK WITH GAS THE TANK HAS OVERFLOWED SPILLING AN ESTIMATED PINT OF GAS OUT OF THE TANK AND DOWN THE EXTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE AND ONTO THE GROUND. EACH TIME GAS HAS SPILLED ONTO THE DRIVER AS WELL. RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE IT APPEARS THAT REPLACING THE GAS TANK RESOLVES THIS ISSUE. I FEEL THIS IS A DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED WITH A RECALL. REF. SERVICE BULLETIN NO.: SB-14-003-13, NHTSA ID NUMBER: 10052148.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/3/2014 - GROVELAND, MA
HEAT DECIDED TO NOT WORK ON THE FIRST 30 DAY W/ SNOW AND ICE. PASSENGER VENTS ARE BLOWING LUKE WARM AIR, AND THE DRIVERS SIDE BLOWING COLD AIR. ALSO, NO AIR AT ALL COMING FROM THE BLOWER AT THE DRIVERS FEET. NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS AS I HAD READ 100'S OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE BLEND DOOR NOT OPERATING PROPERLY ON JEEPS OF ALL TYPES. THIS IS A $1000 FIT, AND THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE BLEND DOOR. THIS IS AN ABSOLUTE OUTRAGE!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds