Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 317 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (51) Exterior Lighting (10) Power Train (19) Structure (52) Visibility (30)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (39) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine (10) Fuel System Gasoline (94) Service Brakes (5) Tires (7) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/16/2015 - UXBRIDGE , MA
I HAVE ONLY OWNED THE 08 LIBERTY FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND I STARTED SEEING LITTLE SPOTS NEAR THE CURTAIN AIRBAGS ON BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE, BUT WHEN IT RAINS A LOT OR I GET MY CAR WASHED THE SPOTS GET BIGGER AND NOW IT'S COMING DOWN FROM THE MAP LIGHT WHICH TO ME IS VERY DANGEROUS AND DISTRACTING WHILE NOT TO MENTION ITS LEAKING ON THE CARS COMPONENTS AS WELL. IT ALSO HAS STARTED MAKING SOME LIGHTS NOT WORK. I'M NOT SURE IF I'M RIGHT BUT I DO SEE SPOTS BEHIND THE WINDSHIELD SO I DON'T KNOW IF IT'S THE WINDSHIELD BUT IT'S COMING IN MUCH FATHER NOW.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/16/2015 - UXBRIDGE , MA
I HAVE ONLY OWNED THE 08 LIBERTY FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND I STARTED SEEING LITTLE SPOTS NEAR THE CURTAIN AIRBAGS ON BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE, BUT WHEN IT RAINS A LOT OR I GET MY CAR WASHED THE SPOTS GET BIGGER AND NOW IT'S COMING DOWN FROM THE MAP LIGHT WHICH TO ME IS VERY DANGEROUS AND DISTRACTING WHILE NOT TO MENTION ITS LEAKING ON THE CARS COMPONENTS AS WELL. IT ALSO HAS STARTED MAKING SOME LIGHTS NOT WORK. I'M NOT SURE IF I'M RIGHT BUT I DO SEE SPOTS BEHIND THE WINDSHIELD SO I DON'T KNOW IF IT'S THE WINDSHIELD BUT IT'S COMING IN MUCH FATHER NOW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/16/2015 - UXBRIDGE , MA
I HAVE ONLY OWNED THE 08 LIBERTY FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND I STARTED SEEING LITTLE SPOTS NEAR THE CURTAIN AIRBAGS ON BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE, BUT WHEN IT RAINS A LOT OR I GET MY CAR WASHED THE SPOTS GET BIGGER AND NOW IT'S COMING DOWN FROM THE MAP LIGHT WHICH TO ME IS VERY DANGEROUS AND DISTRACTING WHILE NOT TO MENTION ITS LEAKING ON THE CARS COMPONENTS AS WELL. IT ALSO HAS STARTED MAKING SOME LIGHTS NOT WORK. I'M NOT SURE IF I'M RIGHT BUT I DO SEE SPOTS BEHIND THE WINDSHIELD SO I DON'T KNOW IF IT'S THE WINDSHIELD BUT IT'S COMING IN MUCH FATHER NOW.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/15/2015 - CARDONDALE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH, THE SKY SLIDER ROOF FRACTURED FROM THE REAR PART OF THE VEHICLE WHILE IT WAS CLOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ROOF, FRAME, AND HEAD LINER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2015 - COLUMBUS, OH
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR ON A MAIN 2 LANE, 2 WAY ROAD AND I NOTICED THAT THE RPMS WERE SUDDENLY DECREASING EVEN THOUGH MY FOOT WAS ON THE GAS. I HAD VERY LITTLE TIME TO PULL SOMEWHAT TO THE SIDE BEFORE IT COMPLETELY DIED ON ME. I WAS JUST ABOUT TO GET ONTO THE HIGHWAY, THIS COULD HAVE WENT OUT ON ME WHILE I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY WITH VERY LITTLE TIME OR WARNING! THIS ISN'T THE FIRST TIME IT HAS HAPPENED EITHER IT HAPPENED A FEW DAYS BEFORE THIS AS WELL BUT LUCKILY I WAS PULLING INTO MY DRIVEWAY. THIS IS AN EXTREME SAFETY CONCERN! I MIGHT NOT BE THIS LUCKY THE NEXT TIME!!! IS JEEP GOING TO WAIT UNTIL SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE BEFORE THEY FIX IT?!? I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH AND IT SEEMS THAT IT COULD BE THE TIPM WHICH THERE HAVE BEEN RECALLS BY JEEP FOR THIS ON OTHER MODELS AND YEARS, WHY NOT THE LIBERTY?! IT SEEMS THAT THERE ARE ENOUGH COMPLAINTS FOR IT. I HAVE ALREADY HAD ISSUES WITH MY FUEL PUMP AND NOW THIS!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/11/2015 - N.BABYLON, NY
GAS SPILLED OUT OF THE FILLER TUBE DURING FILL UP AND RUN DOWN THE REAR QUARTER PANEL AND GROUND

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/5/2015 - MOUNTAIN HOME, AR
WHEN USING MY REMOTE TO UNLOCK MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, THE HORN STARTS HONKING, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS (FRONT AND BACK) TURN ON, THE WINDSHIELD WASHERS (FRONT AND BACK) SHOOT FLUID, THE DOOR LOCKS WON'T OPEN AND THE HEADLIGHTS TURN ON AND OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED FOUR TIMES IN THE LAST TWO MONTHS. THE HEADLIGHTS HAVE ALSO STARTED TURNING OFF WHILE DRIVING AND I'M UNABLE TO TURN THEM BACK ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/5/2015 - MOUNTAIN HOME, AR
WHEN USING MY REMOTE TO UNLOCK MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, THE HORN STARTS HONKING, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS (FRONT AND BACK) TURN ON, THE WINDSHIELD WASHERS (FRONT AND BACK) SHOOT FLUID, THE DOOR LOCKS WON'T OPEN AND THE HEADLIGHTS TURN ON AND OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED FOUR TIMES IN THE LAST TWO MONTHS. THE HEADLIGHTS HAVE ALSO STARTED TURNING OFF WHILE DRIVING AND I'M UNABLE TO TURN THEM BACK ON.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/5/2015 - MOUNTAIN HOME, AR
WHEN USING MY REMOTE TO UNLOCK MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, THE HORN STARTS HONKING, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS (FRONT AND BACK) TURN ON, THE WINDSHIELD WASHERS (FRONT AND BACK) SHOOT FLUID, THE DOOR LOCKS WON'T OPEN AND THE HEADLIGHTS TURN ON AND OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED FOUR TIMES IN THE LAST TWO MONTHS. THE HEADLIGHTS HAVE ALSO STARTED TURNING OFF WHILE DRIVING AND I'M UNABLE TO TURN THEM BACK ON.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/5/2015 - SOUTH JORDAN, UT
WHEN I FILL UP MY GAS TANK, THERE IS ALWAYS A MODERATE AMOUNT OF GAS THAT COMES OUT AND GOES DOWN THE SIDE OF MY CAR. THIS HAS OCCURRED AT MULTIPLE DIFFERENT STATIONS WITH ALL OCTANE LEVELS OF GAS. IT EJECTS ABOUT .1-.2 GALLONS OF GAS FROM THE FUEL ENTRANCE. THIS OCCURS RIGHT BEFORE THE AUTOMATIC SHUT-OFF CLOSES ON THE FUEL PUMP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds