Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 457 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (12) Unknown Or Other (36)
Communications (3) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (101) Exterior Lighting (18) Parking Brake (2) Steering (10) Visibility (43)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (52) Power Train (25) Structure (78) Visibility Wiper (30)
Engine (22) Fuel System Gasoline (97) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (11) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/23/2018 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
THE SKYSLIDER FEATURE ON THE 2008-2008 JEEP LIBERTYS ARE A MONUMENTAL SAFETY HAZARD. I PURCHASED MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY ON MARCH 15TH 2017. WITHIN 2 WEEKS AFTER BUYING THE SKYSLIDERS PINS BROKE AND THE SKYSLIDER FLEW BACK COVERING MY BACK WINDOW. IF I HAD NOT PULLED OVER THE SLIDER COULD HAVE COMPLETELY DETACHED AND CAUSED A MAJOR MULTI-VEHICLE COLLISION. I DISCOVERED THAT THE PINS WEAR EASILY BROKEN BECAUSE THEY ARE MADE OF PLASTIC. I AM APPALLED THAT THERE HAS NEVER BEEN A RECALL AND THE MANUFACTURER REFUSES TO CORRECT THIS, ESPECIALLY AFTER READING COUNTLESS FORUMS OF THOSE WHO HAVE HAD THE SAME EXPERIENCE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/20/2018 - MANASSAS, VA
SKYSLIDER - THE SKY SLIDER REAR DRIVE ASSEMBLY IS BROKEN. I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM, I KNOW MANY OTHERS THAT ARE HAVING TO DEAL WITH THIS. EVEN GOING OVER 20 MPH IT STARTS FLAPPING IN THE WIND. ALSO IT LETS WATER IN, MOSTLY WHEN IT RAINS. COME ON FIX THIS. I HAVE TO TARP MY CAR EVERY DAY JUST SO THE WATER DOESN'T GET IN AND GET MOLD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/30/2018 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
THE SKYSLIDER ROOF ON MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY IS BROKEN AND HAS BEEN FOR YEARS. I HAD IT FIXED WHILE UNDER WARRANTY, BUT IT BROKE SEVERAL MONTHS LATER AFTER MY WARRANTY EXPIRED. NOW I HAVE BEEN QUOTED $4000.00 TO REPAIR IT AGAIN. IT CAME OFF THE TRACKS WHILE DRIVING AND STARTED FLAPPING IN THE AIR. WATER LEAKS IN THE CAR EVEN WHEN THE ROOF WORKED. THE ROOF COMES OFF THE TRACKS AND THEN BREAKS THE CABLE THAT RUNS IT. YOU CAN BE STATIONARY OR MOVING. THE SECOND ISSUE IS THE WHEEL SPEED SENSORS GO OUT FREQUENTLY, AND DISABLES YOUR 4 WHEEL DRIVE. SO, IF A SENSOR GOES OUT WHILE YOU ARE OFF ROADING, YOU ARE STUCK..... THATS REALLY NOT COOL IF YOU ARE IN A SECLUDED PLACE WITH NO ONE AROUND TO HELP AND ZERO CELL SERVICE. JUST SOME REALLY DUMB ENGINEERING, AND TOTALLY UNSAFE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/30/2018 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
THE SKYSLIDER ROOF ON MY 2008 JEEP LIBERTY IS BROKEN AND HAS BEEN FOR YEARS. I HAD IT FIXED WHILE UNDER WARRANTY, BUT IT BROKE SEVERAL MONTHS LATER AFTER MY WARRANTY EXPIRED. NOW I HAVE BEEN QUOTED $4000.00 TO REPAIR IT AGAIN. IT CAME OFF THE TRACKS WHILE DRIVING AND STARTED FLAPPING IN THE AIR. WATER LEAKS IN THE CAR EVEN WHEN THE ROOF WORKED. THE ROOF COMES OFF THE TRACKS AND THEN BREAKS THE CABLE THAT RUNS IT. YOU CAN BE STATIONARY OR MOVING. THE SECOND ISSUE IS THE WHEEL SPEED SENSORS GO OUT FREQUENTLY, AND DISABLES YOUR 4 WHEEL DRIVE. SO, IF A SENSOR GOES OUT WHILE YOU ARE OFF ROADING, YOU ARE STUCK..... THATS REALLY NOT COOL IF YOU ARE IN A SECLUDED PLACE WITH NO ONE AROUND TO HELP AND ZERO CELL SERVICE. JUST SOME REALLY DUMB ENGINEERING, AND TOTALLY UNSAFE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/28/2018 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
THE SECURITY HORN WILL GO OFF FOR NO REASON AND IF YOU PLACE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION THAT WONT STOP IT. I HAVE READ SEVERAL REVIEWS AND OTHER HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM. IT COST ME $380.00 TO GET A NEW KEY FOB AND THE RESET THE COMPUTER SYSTEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2018 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
THE SECURITY HORN WILL GO OFF FOR NO REASON AND IF YOU PLACE THE KEY IN THE IGNITION THAT WONT STOP IT. I HAVE READ SEVERAL REVIEWS AND OTHER HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM. IT COST ME $380.00 TO GET A NEW KEY FOB AND THE RESET THE COMPUTER SYSTEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/9/2018 - WEST LONG BRANCH, NJ
THE SKYSLIDER ROOF IS UNHINGED, IT FLIPS OPEN WHEN DRIVING AS LOW AS 25MPH. THE ROOF DOES NOT CLOSE PROPERLY. IT HAD BEEN REPLACED BY THE FIRST OWNER. BUGS AND WATER COME INTO THE VEHICLE. IT IS CURRENTLY BEING HELD DOWN WITH 2X4S AND BUNGEE CORDS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/28/2018 - NORWOOD, NJ
FRONT BRAKES COME ON WHILE DRIVING AND ABS CAUSES FRONT END TO SHAKE. BRAKES ARE SO HOT THE THE PADS ARE BURNING. THE VEHICLE HAS NO POWER BECAUSE THE FRONT BRAKES ARE BOTH BEING APPPIED

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/25/2018 - BRIDGEVILLE, PA
THE SKY SLIDER ROOF OF THE TRAIL RATED 2008 JEEP LIBERTY IS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY CAUSING WATER TO COME INTO THE VEHICLE AND STAINING THE INTERIOR. IT ALSO HAS WIND HITTING IT ENOUGH TO PUSH BACK AND EVENTUALLY FALL OFF GOING ON THE HIGHWAY. THIS IS A HAZARD FOR EVERYONE ON THE ROAD.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/24/2018 - MANILA, AR
THE PROBLEMS STARTED WITH THE NEW BATTERY GOING DEAD FOR NO REASON UNTIL I INSTALLED SECURITY CAMERAS ON OUR HOUSE AND SAW THE HEAD LIGHTS WOULD RANDOMLY TURN ON AND OFF RUNNING THE BATTERY DEAD WHEN THE CAR WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THEN THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD COME ON AND NOT TURN OFF AND SOMETIMES THE CAR WOULDN'T START AND WHEN IT DID ON THESE EVENTS IT WOULD SHAKE ACTING LIKE IT WAS RUNNING OUT OF GAS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds