Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2008 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 359 complaints filed for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (17)
Communications (2) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (73) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (2) Structure (62) Visibility (35)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (44) Power Train (22) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (20)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (94) Seats (4) Tires (8) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: MULTIPLE AXLE

1/26/2016 - BENTON, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, A BURNING ODOR EMITTED FROM THE REAR DRIVER SIDE WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE REAR AXLE DRAIN PLUG AND BOTH FRONT AND REAR BRAKES WERE REPLACED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE REAR DRIVER SIDE AXLE DRAIN PLUG WAS REPLACED TWICE, INCLUDING THE REAR DRIVER SIDE BRAKES. THE FAILURE PERSISTED AFTER THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,100.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/26/2016 - BENTON, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, A BURNING ODOR EMITTED FROM THE REAR DRIVER SIDE WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE REAR AXLE DRAIN PLUG AND BOTH FRONT AND REAR BRAKES WERE REPLACED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE REAR DRIVER SIDE AXLE DRAIN PLUG WAS REPLACED TWICE, INCLUDING THE REAR DRIVER SIDE BRAKES. THE FAILURE PERSISTED AFTER THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,100.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2016 - GRAHAM, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ADHESIVE WOULD NOT HOLD THE REAR WINDOW IN PLACE AND WATER LEAKED THROUGH THE WINDOW. IN ADDITION, THE ODOMETER DISPLAYED AN ERROR MESSAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/12/2016 - GRAHAM, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ADHESIVE WOULD NOT HOLD THE REAR WINDOW IN PLACE AND WATER LEAKED THROUGH THE WINDOW. IN ADDITION, THE ODOMETER DISPLAYED AN ERROR MESSAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/28/2015 - HAZLET, NJ
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF MY 08 LIBERTY. I HAVE BEEN USING THE DEALERSHIP FOR ALL MAINTENANCE. I'VE HAD ISSUES WITH MY SKYSLIDER ROOF IN THE PAST WHICH, AFTER 5 YEARS OF HAGGLING, HAS BEEN FIXED. THE PROBLEM I AM HAVEING NOW IS WITH A DYING BATTERY. REPLACED THE BATTERY ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE BATTERY WAS STILL GOOD. NEW BATTERY DOESN'T LAST OVERNIGHT. FOUND THAT THERE COULD BE 3 ISSUES CAUSING IT. RADIO, FUEL PUMP OR TIPM. CD PLAYER BEGAN TO CONSTANTLY EJECT A CD WHEN NO CD WAS PRESENT, SO I PULLED THE RADIO FUSE TO STOP THE DRAIN ON THE BATTERY. NO GOOD! NEXT DAY, DEAD BATTERY. LISTENED TO ANY SOUND THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS RUNNING WHILE ENGINE WAS OFF. DID NOT APPEAR TO BE RUNNING. CHECKED WITH THE JEEP FORUM, WOW WAS I SHOCKED! LIBERTYS HAVE NOTHING BUT ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITH THE TIPM. CHRYSLER/JEEP/FIAT HAVE BEEN AWARE OF THE ISSUE BUT HAVE NOT DONE A RECALL, CAUSING ALL IT'S CUSTOMERS HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS T REPAIR A KNOWN ISSUE. CLASS ACTION SUIT ONLY PUSHED THEM TO REPAIR TIPM'S FROM 2010 AND UP VEHICLES LEAVING EVERYONE ELSE HIGH AND DRY. I NOW NEED TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY CABLE EVERY NIGHT SO THE CARE STARTS IN THE MORNING. DEALER WILL DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM, AT COST AND THEN FIX THE PROBLEM, AT COST, PLUS LABOR. ALL ON A VEHICLE WITH 83,000 MILES. IN THE LAST YEAR, I HAVE REPLACED THE PCM, ECM, 4 O2 SENSORS AND CATALYTIC CONVERTERS. THANKS TO THE GOVERNMENTS EMISSION CONTROL WARRANTY OF 8/80,000, THEY WERE COVERED. THE TIPM IS NOT! WHEN ISSUE IS CONFIRMED BY THE DEALER, I'LL BE CALLING DETRIOT!!!!!!!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/10/2015 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
REAR CALIPER IS LOCKING UP CAUSING THE BURN TO THAT PAD AND THE ROTOR . VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/24/2015 - WEST HENRIETTA, NY
LAST FEBRUARY MY JEEP STARTED ACTING FUNNY. THE HORN, WIPERS, FLUID, RAIDO, SEAT, AND LIGHTS ALL WENT CRAZY WHILE DRIVING. THINKING THAT IT WAS A BATTERY OR SPARK PLUG ISSUE I REPLACED BOTH. NO LUCK. THE NEXT DAY I STATED MY CAR ABS THE HORN WOULD NOT SHUT OFF. I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND HAD IT TOWED FOR DIAGNOSIS. TIPM GOOD I WAS TOLD. 2 DAYS LATER SAME THING. I BROUGHT MY VEHICLE TO ANOTHER MECHANIC BUT THIS TIME ASKED TO SEE THE SCHEMATICS. THERE IS ONLY ONE COMMON COMPONENT THE TIPM. NO ENGINE ISSUES FOUND, TIPM TESTED FOR A WEEK, NO RESULTS. GOT MY CAR BACK AND ONE WEEK LATER RECORDED THE CAR DOING EXACTLY WHAT I HAD STATED. THIS SYSTEM ONLY HAS 1 CHECK WITH RESULTS EITHER GOOD OR BAD. I LOOKED UP RECALLS-NONE, CALLED JEEP AND COMPLAINED ABOUT HOW DANGEROUS THIS IS. I'M NOT INCREDIBLY TALL SO FOR MY SEAT TO MOVE ITSELF BACKWARDS WHILE DRIVING WAS SCAREY! I ENDED UP GOING TO A JEEP DEALERSHIP CONVINCED THIS WAS THE ISSUE AND HAD THE BOX REPLACED AND SYSTEM RESET. ONE YR LATER STILL NO ISSUES. I STILL HAVE THE VIDEOS AS PROOF OF THIS CLAIM. PLEASE REALIZE ALL TIMES THIS HAPPENED WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE HORN GOING OFF, BATTERY DISCONNECTED, I WAS DRIVING ON THE HWY GOING INTO STREET TRAFFIC. ONLY ONCE WAS THE WEATHER INCREDIBLY BAD; RAINING TO THE POINT OF FLOODING. BECAUSE I LIVE IN UPSTATE NY THERE WAS ALSO SNOW AND ICE PRESENT. DUE TO MY VEHICLE ACTING UP, I CHOSE NOT TO TAKE MY NIECE'S OVER THE WEEKEND AS I TYPICALLY DID. BEING RESPONSIBLE I COULDN'T LET SOMETHING HAPPEN WITH A THEN 4 YEAR OLD IN MY CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/17/2015 - COLVILLE, WA
PURCHASED VEHICLE USED IN 2013 11/17/2015 1. ENGINE CONTINUES TO RUN WHEN KEY IS REMOVED FROM IGNITION SWITCH. WHILE PARKED. FIRST NOTICED LAST WEEK 11/08/2015 (ONLY AS LONG AS THE PRESET TIME ON THE RADIO SHUT OFF OR THE DOOR IS OPENED) 2. WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET AND GOING UP HILL, TRANSMISSION DOWN SHIFTS TO MAINTAIN SPEED. WHILE TRYING TO KEEP SPEED UP AND THEN BREAK APPLIED, EXCESSIVE FORCE IS REQUIRED TO DIS-ENGAGE CRUISE CONTROL. WHILE DRIVING AT NORMAL SPEEDS. FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER. (BREAK SWITCH HAS BEEN CHANGED TWICE) 3. WHILE FILLING FUEL TANK AT GAS STATION, PAYING CLOSE ATTENTION TO THE PUMP, FUEL WILL POUR OUT FROM THE FILLER NECK AFTER THE PUMP HAS SHUT OFF. FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER. (MANY OCCASIONS) 4. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONTINUOUSLY ON. POSSIBLE DAMAGE TO HOSES ON EMISSIONS CANISTER IN LEFT REAR WHEEL WELL DUE TO GAS SPILLAGE? (AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER) 5. GAS CAP INDICATOR COMES ON AT START. POSSIBLE DAMAGE TO HOSES ON EMISSIONS CANISTER IN LEFT REAR WHEEL WELL DUE TO GAS SPILLAGE? (NEED TO MANUALLY TURN OFF, CHANGED GAS CAP TWICE) 6. IT SEEMS THAT ALL THINGS ELECTRICAL HAVE A DELAY TO THEIR FUNCTION, FLASHING HIGH BEAMS, HONKING HORN... WHILE PARKED OR DRIVING. FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER. (ALL OF THE TIME)

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/17/2015 - COLVILLE, WA
PURCHASED VEHICLE USED IN 2013 11/17/2015 1. ENGINE CONTINUES TO RUN WHEN KEY IS REMOVED FROM IGNITION SWITCH. WHILE PARKED. FIRST NOTICED LAST WEEK 11/08/2015 (ONLY AS LONG AS THE PRESET TIME ON THE RADIO SHUT OFF OR THE DOOR IS OPENED) 2. WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET AND GOING UP HILL, TRANSMISSION DOWN SHIFTS TO MAINTAIN SPEED. WHILE TRYING TO KEEP SPEED UP AND THEN BREAK APPLIED, EXCESSIVE FORCE IS REQUIRED TO DIS-ENGAGE CRUISE CONTROL. WHILE DRIVING AT NORMAL SPEEDS. FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER. (BREAK SWITCH HAS BEEN CHANGED TWICE) 3. WHILE FILLING FUEL TANK AT GAS STATION, PAYING CLOSE ATTENTION TO THE PUMP, FUEL WILL POUR OUT FROM THE FILLER NECK AFTER THE PUMP HAS SHUT OFF. FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER. (MANY OCCASIONS) 4. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONTINUOUSLY ON. POSSIBLE DAMAGE TO HOSES ON EMISSIONS CANISTER IN LEFT REAR WHEEL WELL DUE TO GAS SPILLAGE? (AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER) 5. GAS CAP INDICATOR COMES ON AT START. POSSIBLE DAMAGE TO HOSES ON EMISSIONS CANISTER IN LEFT REAR WHEEL WELL DUE TO GAS SPILLAGE? (NEED TO MANUALLY TURN OFF, CHANGED GAS CAP TWICE) 6. IT SEEMS THAT ALL THINGS ELECTRICAL HAVE A DELAY TO THEIR FUNCTION, FLASHING HIGH BEAMS, HONKING HORN... WHILE PARKED OR DRIVING. FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER. (ALL OF THE TIME)

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/17/2015 - COLVILLE, WA
PURCHASED VEHICLE USED IN 2013 11/17/2015 1. ENGINE CONTINUES TO RUN WHEN KEY IS REMOVED FROM IGNITION SWITCH. WHILE PARKED. FIRST NOTICED LAST WEEK 11/08/2015 (ONLY AS LONG AS THE PRESET TIME ON THE RADIO SHUT OFF OR THE DOOR IS OPENED) 2. WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET AND GOING UP HILL, TRANSMISSION DOWN SHIFTS TO MAINTAIN SPEED. WHILE TRYING TO KEEP SPEED UP AND THEN BREAK APPLIED, EXCESSIVE FORCE IS REQUIRED TO DIS-ENGAGE CRUISE CONTROL. WHILE DRIVING AT NORMAL SPEEDS. FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER. (BREAK SWITCH HAS BEEN CHANGED TWICE) 3. WHILE FILLING FUEL TANK AT GAS STATION, PAYING CLOSE ATTENTION TO THE PUMP, FUEL WILL POUR OUT FROM THE FILLER NECK AFTER THE PUMP HAS SHUT OFF. FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER. (MANY OCCASIONS) 4. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONTINUOUSLY ON. POSSIBLE DAMAGE TO HOSES ON EMISSIONS CANISTER IN LEFT REAR WHEEL WELL DUE TO GAS SPILLAGE? (AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER) 5. GAS CAP INDICATOR COMES ON AT START. POSSIBLE DAMAGE TO HOSES ON EMISSIONS CANISTER IN LEFT REAR WHEEL WELL DUE TO GAS SPILLAGE? (NEED TO MANUALLY TURN OFF, CHANGED GAS CAP TWICE) 6. IT SEEMS THAT ALL THINGS ELECTRICAL HAVE A DELAY TO THEIR FUNCTION, FLASHING HIGH BEAMS, HONKING HORN... WHILE PARKED OR DRIVING. FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER. (ALL OF THE TIME)

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds