Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA RONDO - 2008 KIA RONDO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA RONDO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA RONDO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA RONDO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (6) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (6) Visibility (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/30/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
THE "ESC OFF" LIGHT IS CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED ON THE DASH, AND MY MECHANIC COULD NOT TURN IT OFF. SOMETIMES, AFTER EMERGING FROM A 90-DEGREE TURN (I.E., AT AN INTERSECTION), THE CAR'S BRAKES WILL SUDDENLY ENGAGE ON THEIR OWN (AND USUALLY "PUMP"), RENDERING THE ACCELERATOR INOPERABLE AND THE BRAKES UNCONTROLLABLE, WHILE THE "ESC OFF" LIGHT FLASHES ON AND OFF. THIS HAS LASTED FOR AS LONG AS TEN SECONDS, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SLOW ALMOST TO A STOP IN TRAFFIC. I HAVE SEARCHED ONLINE AND FOUND THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY KIA OWNER TO EXPERIENCE THIS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/30/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
THE "ESC OFF" LIGHT IS CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED ON THE DASH, AND MY MECHANIC COULD NOT TURN IT OFF. SOMETIMES, AFTER EMERGING FROM A 90-DEGREE TURN (I.E., AT AN INTERSECTION), THE CAR'S BRAKES WILL SUDDENLY ENGAGE ON THEIR OWN (AND USUALLY "PUMP"), RENDERING THE ACCELERATOR INOPERABLE AND THE BRAKES UNCONTROLLABLE, WHILE THE "ESC OFF" LIGHT FLASHES ON AND OFF. THIS HAS LASTED FOR AS LONG AS TEN SECONDS, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SLOW ALMOST TO A STOP IN TRAFFIC. I HAVE SEARCHED ONLINE AND FOUND THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY KIA OWNER TO EXPERIENCE THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/25/2017 - WEST BABYLON, NY
WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN, OUR KIA RONDO DECIDES TO ACT LIKE IT STALLS OUT PUTTING ALL THE DASH LIGHTS ON AND LOOSING CONTROL OVER THE STEERING. SERPENTINE BELT SCREECHES AND ALL COMES BACK LIKE NOTHING HAPPENED. THIS CONDITION ONLY HAPPENS IN THE RAIN. WE REPLACED THE SERPENTINE BELT AND IT WAS OK FOR A FULL YEAR AND NOW ITS BACK AGAIN. LOCAL REPAIR SHOP REPLACED THE BELT. EXACTLY ONE YEAR LATER THE LOCAL REPAIR SHOP CANNOT REENACT THE PROBLEM. THEY LITERALLY DOUSED THE BELT WITH WATER TO TEST THE STEERING LOSS. KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE CANNOT FIND ANY COMMON ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE. VERY DANGEROUS AS THE CAR DOES THIS RIGHT AFTER HITTING A SMALL PUDDLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/5/2017 - WOODBRIIDGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA RONDO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/12/2016 - WAUKESHA, WI
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY GOING 70MPH WHEN I HEARD A LOUD POP AND OUT OF NO WHERE MY SUNROOF HAD FLOWN OFF AND TOOK THE SLIDING DOOR WITH IT. THERE WAS A CAR BEHIND ME BUT LUCKILY FAR ENOUGH BACK TO SWERVE OUT OF THE WAY JUST IN TIME. I CHECKED TO SEE WHAT MAY HAVE CAUSED IT AND I SAW THAT, WHAT I AM ASSUMING IS THE GLUE HOLDING IT ON TO THE SUNROOF MECHANISM, WAS SOMEWHAT RUSTED. I DON'T KNOW A LOT ABOUT CARS BUT I KNOW THAT AFTER ONLY 8 YEARS AND MILD USE, A SUNROOF SHOULD NOT FLY OFF WITH NO CAUSE. IT RIPPED OFF CLEANLY AND LEFT NO SHARDS

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

9/1/2016 - LONG BEACH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA RONDO. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REFUELED, IT HESITATED TO START AND STALLED AT VARIOUS SPEEDS WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND OPERATED NORMALLY. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM ILLUMINATED ALTHOUGH THE TIRE PRESSURE WAS NORMAL. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/1/2016 - LONG BEACH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA RONDO. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REFUELED, IT HESITATED TO START AND STALLED AT VARIOUS SPEEDS WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND OPERATED NORMALLY. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM ILLUMINATED ALTHOUGH THE TIRE PRESSURE WAS NORMAL. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/22/2016 - GRANDY, NC
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR..THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN IT STARTED RAINING..THE STEERING WENT OUT THE INTERIOR LIGHTS CAME ON AND THE ENGINE BELT WAS MAKING A AWFUL NOISE! BUT WHAT CONCERNED ME I COULD NOT CONTROL MY CAR...I HAVE LOOK UP THE RESEARCH OF OTHERS COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2016 - GRANDY, NC
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR..THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN IT STARTED RAINING..THE STEERING WENT OUT THE INTERIOR LIGHTS CAME ON AND THE ENGINE BELT WAS MAKING A AWFUL NOISE! BUT WHAT CONCERNED ME I COULD NOT CONTROL MY CAR...I HAVE LOOK UP THE RESEARCH OF OTHERS COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM

View Details

STEERING

8/22/2016 - GRANDY, NC
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR..THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN IT STARTED RAINING..THE STEERING WENT OUT THE INTERIOR LIGHTS CAME ON AND THE ENGINE BELT WAS MAKING A AWFUL NOISE! BUT WHAT CONCERNED ME I COULD NOT CONTROL MY CAR...I HAVE LOOK UP THE RESEARCH OF OTHERS COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds