Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA RONDO - 2008 KIA RONDO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 71 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA RONDO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA RONDO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA RONDO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (4) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (6) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (6) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/13/2016 - BELLMORE, NY
DID OIL CHANGE REGULARLY, IT HAS 905908 MILES, WHILE DRIVING OIL LIGHT CAME PULLED OVER, LOOK AND NO OIL STOP , STOPPED AT A GAS STATION AND BOUGHT OIL,ADDED OIL TO CAR, THEN MAKING NOISE TO IT TO DEALER AND NEEDS A NEW ENGINE , TOOK CAR HOME , ON WAY OIL LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN LOOK AND NO OIL, DOESN'T LEAK AND NO OIL BURN OUT, BUT MO OIL AGAIN. ADDED OIL JUNKING CAR.

View Details

STEERING

3/2/2016 - LAKELINE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA RONDO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE STEERING LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED AFTER THE WATER DRAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPLASH GUARDS WERE NOT KEEPING THE WATER OFF THE BELTS. THE MECHANIC FURTHER DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPLASH GUARDS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BY THE MANUFACTURER. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT NOTHING COULD BE DONE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/2/2016 - LAKELINE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA RONDO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE STEERING LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED AFTER THE WATER DRAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPLASH GUARDS WERE NOT KEEPING THE WATER OFF THE BELTS. THE MECHANIC FURTHER DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPLASH GUARDS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BY THE MANUFACTURER. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT NOTHING COULD BE DONE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/10/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA RONDO. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 163,500.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2016 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA RONDO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AS THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR HAD BEEN ILLUMINATED FOR TWO DAYS PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE DECREASED TO APPROXIMATELY A QUARTER OF A TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/29/2015 - NORTH PLAINFIELD, NJ
BROUGHT MY CAR TO KIA DEALERSHIP UPON RE-CALL 6/2012 TO REPLACE CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY. 12/28/2015 - BROUGHT CAR TO SAME KIA DEALERSHIP AND FOUND THAT THE CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY HAD TO BE REPLACED AGAIN SINCE THE AIR BAG LIGHT CONTINUES TO STAY ON. CALLED KIA SAME DAY TO LET THEM KNOW THAT THE ASSEMBLY HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THAT THEY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR PAYMENT. THEY STATED THAT IT WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY AND SINCE THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE ORIGINAL ASSEMBLY DURING THE RE-CALL, I WOULD HAVE TO PAY THE COST FOR THE DEFECTIVE ASSEMBLY THAT WAS REPLACED DURING RE-CALL WITH THE NEWLY INSTALLED ASSEMBLY ON 12/29/2015. I BELIEVE IT IS THE KIA CORPORATIONS RESPONSIBILITY TO ABSORB PAYMENT FOR THE DEFECTIVE CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY THAT CONTROLS DEPLOYMENT OF THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG. I WILL HAVE TO PAY $271.00 PLUS TAX IN ORDER FOR THE DEALERSHIP TO RELEASE MY CAR. I SHOULD BE REIMBURSED BY KIA CORP FOR THE DEFECTIVE PART AND LABOR THAT WAS NEEDED TO REPLACE THE ASSEMBLY. INTERESTING, THEY WOULDN+T ALLOW ME TO TAKE THEIR SURVEY TO RATE THEIR SERVICE! WILL ALSO TAKE THIS MATTER TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU!

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/19/2015 - WEST FORKS, ME
TAKATA RECALL. I DON'T KNOW ENOUGH ABOUT VEHICLE AIRBAGS TO KNOW IF MY PROBLEM IS PART OF THE TAKATA RECALL. HOWEVER, I'VE LEARNED THAT KIA DID ISSUE A RECALL FOR AN AIRBAG PROBLEM WITH THE RONDO (# SC094). UNAWARE OF THIS RECALL, I BROUGHT MY KIA TO THE KIA DEALER WHEN MY AIRBAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IT'S POSSIBLE THAT THE DATE WAS PRIOR TO THE KIA RECALL. THE KIA DEALER TOLD ME THAT I MUST PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR ANY INVESTIGATION OF THE CAUSE OF THE AIRBAG LIGHT ILLUMINATING DUE TO THE EXPIRATION OF THE 60,000 MILE WARRANTY ON THE VEHICLE. TO THIS DAY, THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS STILL ILLUMINATED. I'M NOT CERTAIN OF THE EXACT DATE THAT I NOTIFIED THE KIA DEALER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/30/2015 - DOYLESTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA RONDO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY AT 40 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE DIAGNOSIS WAS UNKNOWN. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER A RECALL RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/21/2015 - PORTLAND, OR
WHILE STARTING THE CAR, THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATES. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES , LUCKY NO ONE HAS BEEN INJURED. ALSO SOMETIMES, THE VEHICLE STALLS, STEERING DOESNT MOVE, BRAKES ARE JAMMED. ONCE I SHUT THE CAR AND RESTART AGAIN, IT SOMETIME WORK NORMALLY.

View Details

STEERING

6/14/2015 - METAIRIE, LA
EVERY TIME I WENT THROUGH A PUDDLE, THE PARKING BRAKE/BRAKE FLUID LIGHT AND THE CHARGING SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT WOULD COME ON. IT ALSO LOST POWER STEERING WHILE THIS HAPPENED. IT LASTED FEW MOMENTS. THIS HAPPENED WITH EVERY PUDDLE AND EVEN ON THE FREEWAY WHEN WATER SPLASHED UNDERNEATH!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds