Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA RONDO - 2008 KIA RONDO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 60 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA RONDO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA RONDO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA RONDO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (2) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (6) Suspension (5) Visibility (1)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (3) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/18/2015 - HAZEL CREST, IL
I WAS PULLING INTO DRIVEWAY WHEN I STARTED TO BACK UP TO STRAIGHTEN MYSELF UP SO THAT I COULD PULL STRAIGHT UP INTO THE DRIVEWAY. AND WHEN I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE PEDAL, THE PEDAL WAS STUCK CAUSING ME TO ACCELERATE AT ABOUT 60MPH. MY CAR WENT OVER A TREE STUMP RESULTING IN ME CRASHING INTO THE NEIGHBORS HOUSE. WHILE THIS WAS HAPPENING, THE BRAKES WOULD NOT PROPERLY WORK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/18/2015 - HAZEL CREST, IL
I WAS PULLING INTO DRIVEWAY WHEN I STARTED TO BACK UP TO STRAIGHTEN MYSELF UP SO THAT I COULD PULL STRAIGHT UP INTO THE DRIVEWAY. AND WHEN I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE PEDAL, THE PEDAL WAS STUCK CAUSING ME TO ACCELERATE AT ABOUT 60MPH. MY CAR WENT OVER A TREE STUMP RESULTING IN ME CRASHING INTO THE NEIGHBORS HOUSE. WHILE THIS WAS HAPPENING, THE BRAKES WOULD NOT PROPERLY WORK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/18/2015 - HAZEL CREST, IL
I WAS PULLING INTO DRIVEWAY WHEN I STARTED TO BACK UP TO STRAIGHTEN MYSELF UP SO THAT I COULD PULL STRAIGHT UP INTO THE DRIVEWAY. AND WHEN I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE PEDAL, THE PEDAL WAS STUCK CAUSING ME TO ACCELERATE AT ABOUT 60MPH. MY CAR WENT OVER A TREE STUMP RESULTING IN ME CRASHING INTO THE NEIGHBORS HOUSE. WHILE THIS WAS HAPPENING, THE BRAKES WOULD NOT PROPERLY WORK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/3/2015 - GOFFSTOWN, NH
WENT TO GET REAR TIRES PUT ON MY CAR AND THE MECHANIC NOTICED THE FUEL TANK WAS LEAKING ABOVE THE SUPPORT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. TO REPLACE THE FUEL TANK IS OVER 900 DOLLARS, ACCORDING TO THE DEALER. I KNOW THIS IS A PROBLEM IN THE SAME AREA FOR RONDOS BECAUSE A KIA MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT HE JUST HAD ONE IN THAT HAD A LEAK IN THE SAME EXACT AREA. HAVE NOT HAD IT FIXED YET DUE TO THE EXPENSE, EVEN THOUGH ITS A SAFETY RISK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/21/2015 - MAYNARD, MI
FUEL PAN RUSTED OUT. VALVOLINE WOLD NOT SERVICE THE CAR UNTIL THE OIL PAN WAS REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/21/2015 - MAYNARD, MA
IT TAKES 2 OR 3 ATTEMPTS TO START MY CAR AFTER GETTING GAS. RECENTLY, AFTER GETTING GAS, THE CAR STALLED WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY MAIN ROAD GOING APPROX 40MPH. TODAY, THE CAR STALLED 2X WHILE DRIVING. EVERYTHING TURNED OFF, HAD TO USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

1/5/2015 - YARMOUTH, ME
DURING AN INSPECTION OF THE UNDERCARRIAGE ON MY KIA, AN AUTO MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT MY OIL PAN HAD RUSTED THROUGH AND ENGINE OIL WAS SEEPING THROUGH THE METAL. THE COST OF PARTS AND LABOR FOR A REPLACEMENT IS APPROXIMATELY $250. THE SERVICE MANAGER OF THE AUTO REPAIR GARAGE STATED THAT IN HIS EXPERIENCE THIS WAS NOT AN UNCOMMON PROBLEM WITH SOME KIA AND HYUNDAI MODELS. IN MY OPINION, THIS IS A MAJOR MANUFACTURING DEFECT. THAT IS, THE METAL USED TO MANUFACTURE A CRITICAL PART ON THE ENGINE (MINE IS 2.4 LITER/4 CYLINDER) IS DEFECTIVE EITHER IN COMPOSITION OR GAUGE. I'VE OWNED VEHICLES FOR OVER 40 YEARS AND, PRIOR TO THIS, I'VE NEVER HEARD OF AN OIL PAN RUSTING THROUGH. AS BACKGROUND, I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE NEW. I'M RETIRED AND I DO NOT DRIVE REGULARLY (NO COMMUTE). ALTHOUGH I LIVE IN MAINE WHERE ROAD SALT IS USED LIBERALLY ON ROADS, I HAVE AVOIDED DRIVING IN WINTER STORMS WHENEVER POSSIBLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/28/2014 - KENNER, LA
VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PREMIERE KIA OF KENNER, AND ALSO CONTACTED KCA/IRVINE 7:40AM CALL; ISSUE CAR SPUTTERS WHEN GAS PEDAL APPLIED; CAR DOES NOT START AFTER FUELING, REQUIRES MULTIPLE STARTS; CAR STALLED TWICE ON HWY NOV. 20, 2014 ISSUES BEGAN. KIA DEALER REPRESENTATIVE REFUSED SERVICE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN RECALL # 08V459000 RECALL DATE SEPT. 17, 2008, SUBSEQUENTLY CONTACTED KIA CONSUMER AFFAIRS IN IRVINE, CA. CALL CENTER THE PHONE CALL OUTCOME CSR STATED WOULD CONTACT THE LOCAL DISTRICT MANAGER FOR APPROVAL OF RECALL WOULD EXPEDITE PROCESS, CSR STATED WOULD CONTACT LOCAL DM WITHIN TWO HOURS AND GET BACK; RECEIVED DENIAL LETTER IN MAIL. RECALLS SHOWS 6,680 ôPOTENTIAL UNITS AFFECTED FOR THIS RECALL 08V459000 FUEL PUMP SUB ASSEMBLY, WHEREAS CAMPAIGN RECALL # 12V014000 SHOWS 145,755 UNITS AFFECTED FOR ôAIRBAG CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLYö AND RECALL # 13V114000 SHOWS 623,658 UNITS AFFECTED FOR ôSTOP LAMP SWITCH MAY FUNCTION INTERMITTENTLY.ö ON THE SURFACE SEEMS KIA IS ONLY INCLUDING FULL RECALLS FOR VEHICLES ONLY IF IT POSES THE LEAST FINANCIAL HARM TO THE CORPORATE COMPANY PROFIT AS SHOWN IN THE NUMBER OF RECALLS OF ôEASY TO FIXö ISSUES BUT THOSE SUCH AS THE FUEL PUMP ASSEMBLY HAVE THE LEAST AMOUNT OF ISSUED RECALLS REPRESENTING A NEGLIGIBLE AMOUNT OF TOTAL VEHICLES. IS KIA SACRIFICING SAFETY FOR PROFIT WITH THESE CORPORATE DECISIONS? KIA HAS DENIED A RECALL OF THE SAME ISSUES THAT MY VEHICLE IS EXPERIENCING AS STATED IN THE RECALL BULLETIN: ôTHE FUEL PUMP MAY NOT SUPPLY ENOUGH FUEL TO THE ENGINE, CAUSING HARD STARTING, ENGINE HESITATION, OR OTHER POTENTIAL IMPAIRMENT. UNUSUALLY SEVERE HESITATION OR OTHER IMPAIRMENT COULD EXPOSE THE DRIVER TO THE RISK OF A CRASH. DEALERS WILL REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP SUB-ASSEMBLY WITH AN UPDATED PART.ö KIA HAS NEGLECTED TO RESOLVE FAULTY ISSUE. PLEASE ADVISE KIA TO RECTIFY THE SITUATION BY REPAIRING THE FAULTY FUEL PUMP ASSEMBLY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/24/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA RONDO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES TO THE HEAD, THE EYE, AND THE LEFT SIDE OF HIS FACE THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V014000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/7/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
AFTER SMELLING A STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE IN OUR GARAGE, WE TOOK OUR KIA RONDO TO FIRESTONE TO HAVE IT CHECKED OUT. THEY FOUND THAT A SEAM ON THE GAS TANK HAD SEPARATED AND THERE WAS RUST IN THE AREA THAT THEY BELIEVED WAS CAUSED BY ROAD SALT APPLIED TO OUR ROADS DURING THE WINTERS WE HAVE HAD THE CAR (ST. LOUIS). WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO KIA AND THEY HAVE REFUSED TO COVER THE REPLACEMENT OF THE GAS TANK, WHICH IS ONLY 6 YEARS OLD. THIS GAS TANK IS METAL AND IS DEFECTIVE AND SHOULD BE RECALLED ON ALL 2008 KIA RONDOS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds