Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SEDONA - 2008 KIA SEDONA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 91 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SEDONA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SEDONA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SEDONA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (24) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Exterior Lighting (11) Parking Brake (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (2) Structure (16) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/13/2016 - PINGREE GROVE, IL
I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 40-50 MPH ON A ROUTE ROAD WHEN THE HOOD VERY SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT ANY WARNING FLIPPED BACK SMASHING THE WINDSHIELD, FORCING ME TO MOVE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/10/2015 - NAPLES, FL
ESC LIGHT WOUYLD GO ON AND OFF SPORADICALLY ALONG WITH CRUISE CONTROL BECOMING UNRESPONSIVE. CONDITION WAS SPORADIC. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO NAPLES KIA ON 11-10-2015 FOR REPAIR. REPLACED STOP LAMP SWITCH AT COST TO ME. RESEARCH TODAY SHOWS WAS RECALL ON THE PART? I TOOK IT IN FOR RECALL IN THE PAST AND NOW BELIEVE THIS SAME PART WAS POSSIBLY ALREADY REPLACED. THIS WOULD MEAN THIS PART IS DEFECTIVE AGAIN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/27/2015 - POWHATAN, VA
HAVE TO PUT BRAKES AND ROTATERS ON EVERY 6 MONTHS AND DON'T KNOW WHY

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
NONE OF MY INTERIOR LIGHTS WORK, WITH DOORS OPENED OR CLOSED. NOW MY PARKING BRAKE LIGHTS STAY (REAR PASSENGER & 3RD BRAKE LIGHT) ON EVEN WHEN THE IGNITION IS OFF AND LIGHTS ARE OFF

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/31/2015 - EAST TAUNTON, MA
FOR THE FIRST INCIDENT, WHILE COMING TO A STOP SIGN, MY SON WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE IGNITION POWERED OFF, POWER STEERING FAILED, BRAKE AND BATTERY LIGHTS CAME ON AND QUICKLY THE POWER CAME BACK ON THOUGH THE POWER STEERING STILL FAILED. VAN HAD TO BE SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED FOR POWER STEERING TO RESUME. THIS WAS FIRST HAPPENING VERY INFREQUENTLY BUT IS NOW HAPPENING MORE, USUALLY WHEN COMING TO A STOP BUT HAS ALSO HAPPENED AT STEADY SPEEDS - 35MPH, 20 MPH, 5 MPH. IT USUALLY HAPPENS IN VERY HEAVY RAINS/WET CONDITIONS BUT HAS ALSO HAPPENED ONCE OR TWICE IN DRY CONDITIONS. IN ADDITION: SENGER BLINKER WILL STOP WORKING FOR A WEEK OR TWO THEN RANDOMLY START WORKING AGAIN (THIS PATTERN CONTINUES). THE BULB HAS BEEN REPLACED BUT IT CONTINUES TO HAPPEN. SENGER SIDE DOOR LOCKS DO NOT RESPOND TO KEY FAUB OR POWER LOCKS AND HAVE TO BE LOCKED/UNLOCKED MANUALLY. SENGER DOOR RANDOMLY WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE OR OUT. CIGARETTE LIGHTER NO LONGER WORKS. I BELIEVE THIS IS ALL RELATED TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WITH THE BIGGEST OBVIOUS CONCERN OF THE VEHICLE'S POWER OUT AND LOSS OF STEERING. CLEARLY, THIS CAN CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT. MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO REPRODUCE THE ENGINE STALL ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/31/2015 - EAST TAUNTON, MA
FOR THE FIRST INCIDENT, WHILE COMING TO A STOP SIGN, MY SON WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE IGNITION POWERED OFF, POWER STEERING FAILED, BRAKE AND BATTERY LIGHTS CAME ON AND QUICKLY THE POWER CAME BACK ON THOUGH THE POWER STEERING STILL FAILED. VAN HAD TO BE SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED FOR POWER STEERING TO RESUME. THIS WAS FIRST HAPPENING VERY INFREQUENTLY BUT IS NOW HAPPENING MORE, USUALLY WHEN COMING TO A STOP BUT HAS ALSO HAPPENED AT STEADY SPEEDS - 35MPH, 20 MPH, 5 MPH. IT USUALLY HAPPENS IN VERY HEAVY RAINS/WET CONDITIONS BUT HAS ALSO HAPPENED ONCE OR TWICE IN DRY CONDITIONS. IN ADDITION: SENGER BLINKER WILL STOP WORKING FOR A WEEK OR TWO THEN RANDOMLY START WORKING AGAIN (THIS PATTERN CONTINUES). THE BULB HAS BEEN REPLACED BUT IT CONTINUES TO HAPPEN. SENGER SIDE DOOR LOCKS DO NOT RESPOND TO KEY FAUB OR POWER LOCKS AND HAVE TO BE LOCKED/UNLOCKED MANUALLY. SENGER DOOR RANDOMLY WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE OR OUT. CIGARETTE LIGHTER NO LONGER WORKS. I BELIEVE THIS IS ALL RELATED TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WITH THE BIGGEST OBVIOUS CONCERN OF THE VEHICLE'S POWER OUT AND LOSS OF STEERING. CLEARLY, THIS CAN CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT. MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO REPRODUCE THE ENGINE STALL ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

8/31/2015 - EAST TAUNTON, MA
FOR THE FIRST INCIDENT, WHILE COMING TO A STOP SIGN, MY SON WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE IGNITION POWERED OFF, POWER STEERING FAILED, BRAKE AND BATTERY LIGHTS CAME ON AND QUICKLY THE POWER CAME BACK ON THOUGH THE POWER STEERING STILL FAILED. VAN HAD TO BE SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED FOR POWER STEERING TO RESUME. THIS WAS FIRST HAPPENING VERY INFREQUENTLY BUT IS NOW HAPPENING MORE, USUALLY WHEN COMING TO A STOP BUT HAS ALSO HAPPENED AT STEADY SPEEDS - 35MPH, 20 MPH, 5 MPH. IT USUALLY HAPPENS IN VERY HEAVY RAINS/WET CONDITIONS BUT HAS ALSO HAPPENED ONCE OR TWICE IN DRY CONDITIONS. IN ADDITION: SENGER BLINKER WILL STOP WORKING FOR A WEEK OR TWO THEN RANDOMLY START WORKING AGAIN (THIS PATTERN CONTINUES). THE BULB HAS BEEN REPLACED BUT IT CONTINUES TO HAPPEN. SENGER SIDE DOOR LOCKS DO NOT RESPOND TO KEY FAUB OR POWER LOCKS AND HAVE TO BE LOCKED/UNLOCKED MANUALLY. SENGER DOOR RANDOMLY WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE OR OUT. CIGARETTE LIGHTER NO LONGER WORKS. I BELIEVE THIS IS ALL RELATED TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WITH THE BIGGEST OBVIOUS CONCERN OF THE VEHICLE'S POWER OUT AND LOSS OF STEERING. CLEARLY, THIS CAN CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT. MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO REPRODUCE THE ENGINE STALL ISSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/17/2015 - HONEYBROOKE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SEDONA. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2015 - TACOMA, WA
TROUBLE WITH BOTH SLIDING DOORS, REPLACED MOTOR TO PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR ABOUT 2 WEEKS AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE, TAKEN THE CAR IN MULTIPLE TIMES SINCE DUE TO THE DOORS NOT OPENING MANUALLY OR WITH KEY FOB. THEY HAVE BEEN CHECKED OUT BY DEALERSHIP, BUT NOTHING HAS BEEN FOUND. I WOULD GET ALERTS PERIODICALLY THAT THE DOORS ARE OPENED WHILE DRIVING OR TURNING A CORNER, MANY TIMES WHEN THEY WONT OPEN AND WITH MY KIDS IN THE CAR, HAVE TO PULL OVER AND OPEN AND CLOSE THE DOORS AGAIN, ITS LIKE THEY WONT LATCH ALL THE WAY. NOW THE DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER DOOR MOTOR NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, UNABLE TO OPEN OR CLOSE IT MANUALLY AT THIS TIME, I GET CONSTANT ALERTS THAT THE DOOR IS OPEN WHILE DRIVING, I FEAR THAT IT WILL FLY OPEN AND MY CHILD MIGHT FLY OUT. SINCE I HAVE AT LEAST 5 KIDS IN MY CAR AT ALL TIMES, 2 IN CAR SEATS, NOT MANY PLACES TO SIT THEM OTHER THEN NEXT TO THE DOORS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2015 - MILWAUKEE , WI
I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THE MANUAL SLIDING DOORS ON MY SEDONA. MANY TIMES THE DOORS WILL NOT LATCH AND LOCK SO IT'S VERY FRUSTRATING. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE WITH MY KIDS IN THE BACK BECAUSE I'M AFRAID THE DOORS ARE NOT LOCKED PROPERLY. ALSO DURING THE WINTER THE MANUAL SLIDING DOORS ARE FROZEN SHUT AND IT'S BEEN LIKE THAT FROM THE DAY O PURCHASED THE VAN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds