Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SEDONA - 2008 KIA SEDONA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 75 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SEDONA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SEDONA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SEDONA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (2)
Electrical System (16) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Exterior Lighting (8) Parking Brake (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (2) Structure (11) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/23/2014 - GROVEPORT, OH
WHILE DRIVING IN CONSTRUCTION (55MPH) GOING TO WORK IN MORNING RUSH, THE ESC OFF LIGHT CAME ON AND THERE WAS LOSS OF ACCELERATION. I TURNED THE EMERGENCY FLASHERS ON AND COASTED TO A STOP, BUT THERE WAS NOWHERE TO GET OFF THE ROAD. CARS STARTED SWERVING AROUND ME AND ONE CAR ALMOST HIT A DIVIDER WALL. I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTARTED 3 TIMES BEFORE I COULD GET GOING AGAIN. IT HAPPENED TWICE AGAIN WITHIN A 2 MILE DISTANCE ALL IN THE CONSTRUCTION AREA. RESEARCH SHOWED THE TPS IS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDS REPLACED AND REPROGRAMMED. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM. SOMEBODY COULD BE KILLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/23/2014 - GROVEPORT, OH
WHILE DRIVING IN CONSTRUCTION (55MPH) GOING TO WORK IN MORNING RUSH, THE ESC OFF LIGHT CAME ON AND THERE WAS LOSS OF ACCELERATION. I TURNED THE EMERGENCY FLASHERS ON AND COASTED TO A STOP, BUT THERE WAS NOWHERE TO GET OFF THE ROAD. CARS STARTED SWERVING AROUND ME AND ONE CAR ALMOST HIT A DIVIDER WALL. I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTARTED 3 TIMES BEFORE I COULD GET GOING AGAIN. IT HAPPENED TWICE AGAIN WITHIN A 2 MILE DISTANCE ALL IN THE CONSTRUCTION AREA. RESEARCH SHOWED THE TPS IS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDS REPLACED AND REPROGRAMMED. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM. SOMEBODY COULD BE KILLED.

View Details

ENGINE

10/16/2014 - BELTON, SC
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND LOST ALL POWER. WE HAD TO PULL OFF THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TURN THE VAN OFF AND WAIT A FEW MINUTES. WHEN WE STARTED IT BACK UP IT RAN OKAY BUT THIS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES (DATES UNKNOWN OTHER THEN AUG 7,2014) DRIVING DOWN A BUSY ROAD AND HAVING LOSS OF POWER COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DANGEROUS. IT IS THE THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR THAT IS CAUSING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/11/2014 - GALLOWAY, OH
I OWN A 2008 KIA SEDONA. THE SEDONA HAS/HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE AUTOMATIC OPEN/CLOSE DOOR ELECTRONICS BREAKING. THE LEFT AUTOMATIC DOOR FUNCTION STOPPED WORKING AND I RECEIVED AN ESTIMATE OF NEARLY $1000 TO REPAIR. I HAVE DONE RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT THE PROBLEM IS WELL DOCUMENTED. I DID NOT WORRY ABOUT THE PROBLEM BECAUSE I CAN STILL OPEN THE RIGHT DOOR ELECTRONICALLY. I HAVE SMALL CHILDREN AND IT IS VERY HARD FOR THEM TO OPEN THE SLIDING DOORS MANUALLY. IT'S HARD FOR ME TO OPEN THE DOORS MANUALLY. REGARDLESS, I AM CONCERNED ABOUT MY KIDS NOT BEING ABLE TO EXIT THE VAN FROM THE LEFT DOOR IF THE RIGHT DOOR, FOR WHATEVER REASON, IS NOT AN OPTION. KIA SHOULD HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THIS SAFETY ISSUE A LONG TIME AGO.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/13/2014 - SWANTON, OH
I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE HEADLIGHTS & TURN SIGNAL LIGHTS EVERY 3 MONTHS. I HAVE SPENT HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS ON THE LIGHT BULBS REPLACEMENTS ALONE. NOT TO MENTION ALL THE SENSORS I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE. I HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS ON THOSE ALONE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/29/2014 - LITTLEROCK, WA
SECOND FAILURE OF TURN SIGNALS ( LOOSE BULBS ) 1ST WAS LEFT, NOW RIGHT. I AM AN ELECTRICIAN SO I FIXED THE PROBLEM. IT WILL RETURN WITH TIME AS WEATHER CHANGES HOT/COLD EFFECT THE COPPER THAT HOLDS THE BULBS IN PLACE. ALL OLDER CARS USED A SPRING IN THE BOTTOM OF THE SOCKET WHICH MADE CONTACT WITH TIP IN THE CENTER OF THE BULB. KIA HAS USED A FLAT PIECE OF COPPER BENT IN A U OR V SHAPE, THE TENSION WILL NOT KEEP THE BULB STABLE. A TEMPORARY FIX IS TO BEND THE COPPER UPWARDS TO CREATE TENSION. MY FIX TODAY ON MY KIA WILL BE TO REPLACE THE SOCKET WITH A NEW SPRING TYPE. 100K MAINTENANCE IS DUE, WE CAN'T WAIT UNTIL THEN BECAUSE WE ARE IN A HEAVY TRAFFIC SITUATION, IT IS JUST TO DANGEROUS !!!! DB .

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/17/2014 - HILLSBOROUGH, NJ
WITHIN 18 MONTHS OF OWNING OUR KIA SEDONA, THE AUTOMATIC SLIDING DOORS WERE NOT OPERATING CORRECTLY. THE DOORS WOULD NOT CLOSE, AND WOULD REMAIN OPEN AT ALL TIMES. INCLUDING THE ORIGINAL INCIDENT ON JULY 22, 2010, WE HAVE BROUGHT THE SAME VAN IN A TOTAL OF 6 TIMES FOR INOPERABLE DOORS (DOORS THAT WOULD NOT REMAIN IN THE CLOSED POSITION.) THE DATES ARE AS FOLLOWS: 7/22/10, 9/1/11, 8/1/12, 3/7/13, 8/27/13 AND 6/16/14. WE HAVE HAD LATCHES REPLACED, NEW CONTROL MODULES INSTALLED, NEW DRIVE MOTOR ASSEMBLIES INSTALLED, BUT FEEL THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. I HAVE PERFORMED INTERNET SEARCHES FOR SIMILAR INSTANCES, AND I AM CLEARLY NOT ALONE IN THIS REGARD. I HAVE BEEN CHARGED FOR THESE VARIOUS REPAIRS, AND DO NOT BELIEVE THAT A POSSIBLE DEFECT IN ASSEMBLY OR PARTS, WHICH COMPROMISES MY FAMILY'S SAFETY, SHOULD BE MY RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/23/2014 - ST PETERSBURG , FL
SECOND TIME IN 3 YEARS I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE BRAKE SWITCH ON MY 2008 KIA SEDONA, WHY IS THE RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE ONLY FOR THE 2007 SEDONA?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2014 - OSWEGO, IL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THE SPEEDOMETER DOES NOT ACCURATELY LOG MILES AND SPEED. THE VEHICLE REGISTERS 3 MILES HIGHER THEN NORMAL. THE VEHICLE DOOR'S ARE ALSO NOT PROPERLY OPENING AND CLOSING. INTERMITTENTLY THE CONTACT CAN HEAR A LOUD ELECTRICAL GRINDING NOISE COMING FROM BOTH REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOORS. THE CONTACT TOOK HIS VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROPERLY REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000. AZ

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/30/2014 - OSWEGO, IL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THE SPEEDOMETER DOES NOT ACCURATELY LOG MILES AND SPEED. THE VEHICLE REGISTERS 3 MILES HIGHER THEN NORMAL. THE VEHICLE DOOR'S ARE ALSO NOT PROPERLY OPENING AND CLOSING. INTERMITTENTLY THE CONTACT CAN HEAR A LOUD ELECTRICAL GRINDING NOISE COMING FROM BOTH REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOORS. THE CONTACT TOOK HIS VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROPERLY REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000. AZ

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds