Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SEDONA - 2008 KIA SEDONA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 71 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SEDONA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SEDONA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SEDONA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (2)
Electrical System (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Exterior Lighting (8) Parking Brake (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (1) Structure (11) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/29/2014 - LITTLEROCK, WA
SECOND FAILURE OF TURN SIGNALS ( LOOSE BULBS ) 1ST WAS LEFT, NOW RIGHT. I AM AN ELECTRICIAN SO I FIXED THE PROBLEM. IT WILL RETURN WITH TIME AS WEATHER CHANGES HOT/COLD EFFECT THE COPPER THAT HOLDS THE BULBS IN PLACE. ALL OLDER CARS USED A SPRING IN THE BOTTOM OF THE SOCKET WHICH MADE CONTACT WITH TIP IN THE CENTER OF THE BULB. KIA HAS USED A FLAT PIECE OF COPPER BENT IN A U OR V SHAPE, THE TENSION WILL NOT KEEP THE BULB STABLE. A TEMPORARY FIX IS TO BEND THE COPPER UPWARDS TO CREATE TENSION. MY FIX TODAY ON MY KIA WILL BE TO REPLACE THE SOCKET WITH A NEW SPRING TYPE. 100K MAINTENANCE IS DUE, WE CAN'T WAIT UNTIL THEN BECAUSE WE ARE IN A HEAVY TRAFFIC SITUATION, IT IS JUST TO DANGEROUS !!!! DB .

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/17/2014 - HILLSBOROUGH, NJ
WITHIN 18 MONTHS OF OWNING OUR KIA SEDONA, THE AUTOMATIC SLIDING DOORS WERE NOT OPERATING CORRECTLY. THE DOORS WOULD NOT CLOSE, AND WOULD REMAIN OPEN AT ALL TIMES. INCLUDING THE ORIGINAL INCIDENT ON JULY 22, 2010, WE HAVE BROUGHT THE SAME VAN IN A TOTAL OF 6 TIMES FOR INOPERABLE DOORS (DOORS THAT WOULD NOT REMAIN IN THE CLOSED POSITION.) THE DATES ARE AS FOLLOWS: 7/22/10, 9/1/11, 8/1/12, 3/7/13, 8/27/13 AND 6/16/14. WE HAVE HAD LATCHES REPLACED, NEW CONTROL MODULES INSTALLED, NEW DRIVE MOTOR ASSEMBLIES INSTALLED, BUT FEEL THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. I HAVE PERFORMED INTERNET SEARCHES FOR SIMILAR INSTANCES, AND I AM CLEARLY NOT ALONE IN THIS REGARD. I HAVE BEEN CHARGED FOR THESE VARIOUS REPAIRS, AND DO NOT BELIEVE THAT A POSSIBLE DEFECT IN ASSEMBLY OR PARTS, WHICH COMPROMISES MY FAMILY'S SAFETY, SHOULD BE MY RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/23/2014 - ST PETERSBURG , FL
SECOND TIME IN 3 YEARS I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE BRAKE SWITCH ON MY 2008 KIA SEDONA, WHY IS THE RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE ONLY FOR THE 2007 SEDONA?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/30/2014 - OSWEGO, IL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THE SPEEDOMETER DOES NOT ACCURATELY LOG MILES AND SPEED. THE VEHICLE REGISTERS 3 MILES HIGHER THEN NORMAL. THE VEHICLE DOOR'S ARE ALSO NOT PROPERLY OPENING AND CLOSING. INTERMITTENTLY THE CONTACT CAN HEAR A LOUD ELECTRICAL GRINDING NOISE COMING FROM BOTH REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOORS. THE CONTACT TOOK HIS VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROPERLY REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000. AZ

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2014 - OSWEGO, IL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THE SPEEDOMETER DOES NOT ACCURATELY LOG MILES AND SPEED. THE VEHICLE REGISTERS 3 MILES HIGHER THEN NORMAL. THE VEHICLE DOOR'S ARE ALSO NOT PROPERLY OPENING AND CLOSING. INTERMITTENTLY THE CONTACT CAN HEAR A LOUD ELECTRICAL GRINDING NOISE COMING FROM BOTH REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOORS. THE CONTACT TOOK HIS VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROPERLY REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000. AZ

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/18/2014 - SNOW HILL, MD
THE SLIDING DOORS DO NOT OPEN WHEN CAR IS UNLOCKED, EITHER FROM OUTSIDE OR INSIDE. A RECALL WAS ISSUED AND VEHICLE TAKEN TO DEALER. PROBLEM STILL NOT CORRECTED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/22/2014 - COPENHAGEN, NY
I HAD THE WIND SHIELD WIPER HEATER ON TO HELP DE-ICE THE WIND SHIELD. APPROXIMATELY 10 MINUTES INTO TRAVEL I SMELLED AN ELECTRICAL BURNING SMELL. I PULLED OVER INTO A GAS STATION AND STARTED TO INSPECT THE CAR, OPENED THE HOOD AND LOOKED AROUND AND THE INSTRUMENT PANELS, FUSES ETC. I DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING. I GOT BACK INTO THE CAR AND I HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE GLASS CRACKING AND HEARD A POPPING NOISE. THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE LOWER WIND SHIELD. I GOT BACK OUT AND LOOKED AND IT APPEARED THAT THE WIPER HEATER MALFUNCTIONED IN THE WIND SHIELD AND POPPED A HOLE IN THE WIND SHIELD. THERE WAS SCORCHING AROUND THE HOLE THAT WAS BLOWN IN THE WIND SHIELD AND THE WINDSHIELD CONTINUED TO CRACK UP THROUGH THE DRIVERS LINE OF VISION AND ALSO ALL THE WAY ACROSS TO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE WINDOW. I CALLED KIA AND ASKED ABOUT WARRANTY BUT THEY SAID THEY WOULD NOT COVER IT EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE HEARD OF IT HAPPENING BEFORE, I DID FIND OUT THAT ANOTHER MODEL OF THIS SAME MAKE WAS RECALLED FOR THIS SAME THING HAPPENING.

View Details

SEATS

3/22/2014 - HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL
AT LEAST 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 2 WEEKS THE DRIVERS SEAT BACK STARTED MOVING TO THE RECLINE POSITION WITH NOT INPUT ON SEAT ADJUSTMENT FROM THE DRIVER. THIS IS A SCARY SITUATION AS IF YOU ARE LEANING INTO THE SEAT BACK YOU START MOVING TO THE RECLINED POSITION. TRYING TO STOP THE RECLINE USING THE CONTROL WOULD STOP THE MOVEMENT UNTIL YOU LET UP ON THE SEAT BACK CONTROL. WE FOUND IF YOU MOVE THE SEAT ADJUSTMENT FOR FORWARD AND BACK (BOTTOM OF SEAT) THE RECLINE STOPPED. I AM PLANNING ON TAKING CAR TO DEALER BUT THIS IS NOT OCCUR VERY OFTEN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/13/2014 - EDWARDSVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V550000 ( SUSPENSION ) BUT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT FELT THAT SINCE THE FAILURE WAS REPORTED NOVEMBER 2013, THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN A REMEDY AVAILABLE BEFORE FEBRUARY 2014. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE TIME FOR REPAIRING A DEFECT. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/1/2013 - HOUSTON, TX
FRONT SIGNAL LIGHT CONNECTORS FAIL TO HOLD BULB IN PLACE CAUSING FOR SIGNAL LIGHTS TO NOT WORK. IT HAS CAUSED SEVERAL CLOSE CALLS WITH MOTORISTS NOT BEING ABLE TO SEE I'M TURNING DUE TO THIS FAULT. TAKES ABOUT AND HOUR TO REMOVE BOTH HEADLIGHTS TO PUSH BULBS BACK TO PLACE AND UNFORTUNATELY, THIS WILL ONLY LAST A DAY TO A WEEK AND THEN REDO ALL THAT WORK. BESIDES THE WORK IT IS REALLY UNSAFE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds