Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SEDONA - 2008 KIA SEDONA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 67 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SEDONA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SEDONA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SEDONA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (2)
Electrical System (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Exterior Lighting (7) Parking Brake (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (1) Structure (10) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/18/2014 - SNOW HILL, MD
THE SLIDING DOORS DO NOT OPEN WHEN CAR IS UNLOCKED, EITHER FROM OUTSIDE OR INSIDE. A RECALL WAS ISSUED AND VEHICLE TAKEN TO DEALER. PROBLEM STILL NOT CORRECTED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/22/2014 - COPENHAGEN, NY
I HAD THE WIND SHIELD WIPER HEATER ON TO HELP DE-ICE THE WIND SHIELD. APPROXIMATELY 10 MINUTES INTO TRAVEL I SMELLED AN ELECTRICAL BURNING SMELL. I PULLED OVER INTO A GAS STATION AND STARTED TO INSPECT THE CAR, OPENED THE HOOD AND LOOKED AROUND AND THE INSTRUMENT PANELS, FUSES ETC. I DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING. I GOT BACK INTO THE CAR AND I HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE GLASS CRACKING AND HEARD A POPPING NOISE. THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE LOWER WIND SHIELD. I GOT BACK OUT AND LOOKED AND IT APPEARED THAT THE WIPER HEATER MALFUNCTIONED IN THE WIND SHIELD AND POPPED A HOLE IN THE WIND SHIELD. THERE WAS SCORCHING AROUND THE HOLE THAT WAS BLOWN IN THE WIND SHIELD AND THE WINDSHIELD CONTINUED TO CRACK UP THROUGH THE DRIVERS LINE OF VISION AND ALSO ALL THE WAY ACROSS TO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE WINDOW. I CALLED KIA AND ASKED ABOUT WARRANTY BUT THEY SAID THEY WOULD NOT COVER IT EVEN THOUGH THEY HAVE HEARD OF IT HAPPENING BEFORE, I DID FIND OUT THAT ANOTHER MODEL OF THIS SAME MAKE WAS RECALLED FOR THIS SAME THING HAPPENING.

View Details

SEATS

3/22/2014 - HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL
AT LEAST 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 2 WEEKS THE DRIVERS SEAT BACK STARTED MOVING TO THE RECLINE POSITION WITH NOT INPUT ON SEAT ADJUSTMENT FROM THE DRIVER. THIS IS A SCARY SITUATION AS IF YOU ARE LEANING INTO THE SEAT BACK YOU START MOVING TO THE RECLINED POSITION. TRYING TO STOP THE RECLINE USING THE CONTROL WOULD STOP THE MOVEMENT UNTIL YOU LET UP ON THE SEAT BACK CONTROL. WE FOUND IF YOU MOVE THE SEAT ADJUSTMENT FOR FORWARD AND BACK (BOTTOM OF SEAT) THE RECLINE STOPPED. I AM PLANNING ON TAKING CAR TO DEALER BUT THIS IS NOT OCCUR VERY OFTEN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/13/2014 - EDWARDSVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V550000 ( SUSPENSION ) BUT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT FELT THAT SINCE THE FAILURE WAS REPORTED NOVEMBER 2013, THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN A REMEDY AVAILABLE BEFORE FEBRUARY 2014. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE TIME FOR REPAIRING A DEFECT. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/1/2013 - HOUSTON, TX
FRONT SIGNAL LIGHT CONNECTORS FAIL TO HOLD BULB IN PLACE CAUSING FOR SIGNAL LIGHTS TO NOT WORK. IT HAS CAUSED SEVERAL CLOSE CALLS WITH MOTORISTS NOT BEING ABLE TO SEE I'M TURNING DUE TO THIS FAULT. TAKES ABOUT AND HOUR TO REMOVE BOTH HEADLIGHTS TO PUSH BULBS BACK TO PLACE AND UNFORTUNATELY, THIS WILL ONLY LAST A DAY TO A WEEK AND THEN REDO ALL THAT WORK. BESIDES THE WORK IT IS REALLY UNSAFE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/29/2013 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
THIS COMPLAINT IS IN RELATION TO EXISTING COMPLAINT AT NHTSA. MY 2008 KIA SEDONA (STILL UNDER WARRANTY SINCE PURCHASED IN JANUARY 2009) CONTINUES TO HAVE AN ISSUE WITH THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR OPENING AND CLOSING. KIA SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAS BEEN VERY DILIGENT IN ATTEMPTING TO FIX THE ISSUE ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE FIRST OCCASION, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT COULD NOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE. I WENT TO PICK THE VEHICLE UP AND RIGHT AWAY WAS ABLE TO SHOW THE SERVICE CENTER THE ISSUE. THEY WITNESSED THE ISSUE AND ORDERED A REPLACEMENT PART OF WHICH KIA OF FREDERICKSBURG REPLACED. APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH LATER, THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE SAME DOOR SURFACED AGAIN. THIS SECOND TIME THE DEALERSHIP KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR ONE WEEK (MONDAY -++ FRIDAY, 9/23-9/27/2013) AND REPLACED TWO MORE PARTS ON THE DOOR. THE ISSUE STILL REMAINS AFTER THREE COMPONENT REPLACEMENTS/REPAIRS. APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH AFTER THE SECOND VISIT, THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR STARTED EXPERIENCING THE SAME OPENING/CLOSING ISSUE HOWEVER A NEW ISSUE SURFACED. THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR CAME AJAR TWICE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION (WITH PWR ON IN OVERHEAD CONSOLE) AND CAME AJAR ONCE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION (WITHOUT PWR ON IN OVERHEAD CONSOLE). THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE AS THE SLIDING DOOR SHOULD NOT OPEN AT ALL WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND ESPECIALLY AFTER THE DOOR HAS LATCHED SUCCESSFULLY AFTER CLOSING. ALL THREE TIMES THE DOOR WAS MANUALLY SHUT AND ENGAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS LAST SEEN ON 10/29/13 AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT IS UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE ISSUE ALTHOUGH A MAJOR ISSUE STILL REMAINS AS THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR OPENS WHILE IN MOTION AND HAS ISSUES OPENING AND CLOSING AFTER 3 REPAIRS. I CANNOT AFFORD TO CONTINUE BRINGING THE VEHICLE BACK AND FORTH FOR SEVERAL ECONOMICAL AND PERSONAL REASONS. SIMPLY PUT, THE DOOR NEEDS TO BE 100% OPERATIONAL AND SAFE. REQUEST KIA RESOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/29/2013 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
THIS COMPLAINT IS IN RELATION TO EXISTING COMPLAINT AT NHTSA. MY 2008 KIA SEDONA (STILL UNDER WARRANTY SINCE PURCHASED IN JANUARY 2009) CONTINUES TO HAVE AN ISSUE WITH THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR OPENING AND CLOSING. KIA SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAS BEEN VERY DILIGENT IN ATTEMPTING TO FIX THE ISSUE ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE FIRST OCCASION, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT COULD NOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE. I WENT TO PICK THE VEHICLE UP AND RIGHT AWAY WAS ABLE TO SHOW THE SERVICE CENTER THE ISSUE. THEY WITNESSED THE ISSUE AND ORDERED A REPLACEMENT PART OF WHICH KIA OF FREDERICKSBURG REPLACED. APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH LATER, THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE SAME DOOR SURFACED AGAIN. THIS SECOND TIME THE DEALERSHIP KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR ONE WEEK (MONDAY -++ FRIDAY, 9/23-9/27/2013) AND REPLACED TWO MORE PARTS ON THE DOOR. THE ISSUE STILL REMAINS AFTER THREE COMPONENT REPLACEMENTS/REPAIRS. APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH AFTER THE SECOND VISIT, THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR STARTED EXPERIENCING THE SAME OPENING/CLOSING ISSUE HOWEVER A NEW ISSUE SURFACED. THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR CAME AJAR TWICE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION (WITH PWR ON IN OVERHEAD CONSOLE) AND CAME AJAR ONCE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION (WITHOUT PWR ON IN OVERHEAD CONSOLE). THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE AS THE SLIDING DOOR SHOULD NOT OPEN AT ALL WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND ESPECIALLY AFTER THE DOOR HAS LATCHED SUCCESSFULLY AFTER CLOSING. ALL THREE TIMES THE DOOR WAS MANUALLY SHUT AND ENGAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS LAST SEEN ON 10/29/13 AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT IS UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE ISSUE ALTHOUGH A MAJOR ISSUE STILL REMAINS AS THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR OPENS WHILE IN MOTION AND HAS ISSUES OPENING AND CLOSING AFTER 3 REPAIRS. I CANNOT AFFORD TO CONTINUE BRINGING THE VEHICLE BACK AND FORTH FOR SEVERAL ECONOMICAL AND PERSONAL REASONS. SIMPLY PUT, THE DOOR NEEDS TO BE 100% OPERATIONAL AND SAFE. REQUEST KIA RESOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/29/2013 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
MY 2008 KIA SEDONA (STILL UNDER WARRANTY SINCE PURCHASED IN JANUARY 2009) CONTINUES TO HAVE AN ISSUE WITH THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR OPENING AND CLOSING. SOMETIMES THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN/CLOSE ENTIRELY, WOULD STOP AS IT OPEN/CLOSES, OR WILL NOT OPEN AT ALL ELECTRONICALLY, ONLY MANUALLY. KIA SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAS BEEN VERY DILIGENT IN ATTEMPTING TO FIX THE ISSUE ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE FIRST OCCASION, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT COULD NOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE. I WENT TO PICK THE VEHICLE UP AND RIGHT AWAY WAS ABLE TO SHOW THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT THE ISSUE. THEY WITNESSED THE ISSUE AND ORDERED A REPLACEMENT PART OF WHICH DEALERSHIP REPLACED. APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH LATER, THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE SAME DOOR SURFACED AGAIN. THIS SECOND TIME THE DEALERSHIP KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR ONE WEEK (MONDAY -++ FRIDAY, 9/23-9/27/2013) AND REPLACED TWO MORE PARTS ON THE DOOR. THE ISSUE STILL REMAINS AFTER THREE COMPONENT REPLACEMENTS/REPAIRS. FURTHERMORE, THE INSIDE WALL/CASING FROM PREVIOUS WORK ON THE DRIVER SLIDING DOOR IS NOW COMING APART AND NEEDS TO BE FIXED. ADDITIONALLY, THE PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR SHOWED ONE SYMPTOM OF THE SAME ISSUE AS THE DRIVER SLIDING DOOR WITH OPENING AND CLOSING AS WELL AS VERY DIFFICULT TO OPEN WHEN THE PWR IS TURNED OFF IN THE OVERHEAD CONSOLE (MORE DIFFICULT THAN USUAL). THEREFORE THERE IS CONCERN THE PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR IS GOING TO START EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE AS THE DRIVER SLIDING DOOR. I HAVE CONTACTED KIA CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER REQUESTING KIA FIX THE ISSUE TO 100% OPERATIONAL AND WARRANTY THE WORK/PARTS PAST THE ORIGINAL VEHICLE WARRANTY PERIOD AT NO COST TO ME. THIS ISSUE IS NOT ISOLATED AS THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (NHTSA) -++ HTTP://WWW.SAFERCAR.GOV HAS RECORD OF AT LEAST 7 CASES FOR KIA SEDONA 2008 VEHICLES EXPERIENCING IDENTICAL OR SIMILAR ISSUES WITH SLIDING DOORS JUST LIKE MY VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

10/29/2013 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
MY 2008 KIA SEDONA (STILL UNDER WARRANTY SINCE PURCHASED IN JANUARY 2009) CONTINUES TO HAVE AN ISSUE WITH THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR OPENING AND CLOSING. SOMETIMES THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN/CLOSE ENTIRELY, WOULD STOP AS IT OPEN/CLOSES, OR WILL NOT OPEN AT ALL ELECTRONICALLY, ONLY MANUALLY. KIA SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAS BEEN VERY DILIGENT IN ATTEMPTING TO FIX THE ISSUE ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE FIRST OCCASION, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT COULD NOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE. I WENT TO PICK THE VEHICLE UP AND RIGHT AWAY WAS ABLE TO SHOW THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT THE ISSUE. THEY WITNESSED THE ISSUE AND ORDERED A REPLACEMENT PART OF WHICH DEALERSHIP REPLACED. APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH LATER, THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE SAME DOOR SURFACED AGAIN. THIS SECOND TIME THE DEALERSHIP KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR ONE WEEK (MONDAY -++ FRIDAY, 9/23-9/27/2013) AND REPLACED TWO MORE PARTS ON THE DOOR. THE ISSUE STILL REMAINS AFTER THREE COMPONENT REPLACEMENTS/REPAIRS. FURTHERMORE, THE INSIDE WALL/CASING FROM PREVIOUS WORK ON THE DRIVER SLIDING DOOR IS NOW COMING APART AND NEEDS TO BE FIXED. ADDITIONALLY, THE PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR SHOWED ONE SYMPTOM OF THE SAME ISSUE AS THE DRIVER SLIDING DOOR WITH OPENING AND CLOSING AS WELL AS VERY DIFFICULT TO OPEN WHEN THE PWR IS TURNED OFF IN THE OVERHEAD CONSOLE (MORE DIFFICULT THAN USUAL). THEREFORE THERE IS CONCERN THE PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR IS GOING TO START EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE AS THE DRIVER SLIDING DOOR. I HAVE CONTACTED KIA CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER REQUESTING KIA FIX THE ISSUE TO 100% OPERATIONAL AND WARRANTY THE WORK/PARTS PAST THE ORIGINAL VEHICLE WARRANTY PERIOD AT NO COST TO ME. THIS ISSUE IS NOT ISOLATED AS THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (NHTSA) -++ HTTP://WWW.SAFERCAR.GOV HAS RECORD OF AT LEAST 7 CASES FOR KIA SEDONA 2008 VEHICLES EXPERIENCING IDENTICAL OR SIMILAR ISSUES WITH SLIDING DOORS JUST LIKE MY VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/19/2013 - EASTLAKE, OH
I REPLACED A BLOWN 10 AMP FUSE ON A DEALER INSTALLED TRAILER WIRING HARNESS ADAPTER. 15-20 MINUTES LATER I NOTICED A FIRE COMING FROM DRIVER'S SIDE REAR LIGHT ASSEMBLY. REMOVED FUSE, REMOVED LIGHTING ASSEMBLY, PUT OUT FIRE. IN LOOKING AT DAMAGE, TRAILER HARNESS ADAPTER WAS MELTED ALONG WITH SEVERAL WIRES ATTACHED TO IT. FOAM BUMPER PADDING CAUGHT FIRE AND WAS MELTED. NO VISIBLE BODY DAMAGE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds