Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SEDONA - 2008 KIA SEDONA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 84 complaints filed for the 2008 KIA SEDONA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 KIA SEDONA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 KIA SEDONA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (2)
Electrical System (20) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (2) Structure (14) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2015 - MILWAUKEE , WI
I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THE MANUAL SLIDING DOORS ON MY SEDONA. MANY TIMES THE DOORS WILL NOT LATCH AND LOCK SO IT'S VERY FRUSTRATING. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE WITH MY KIDS IN THE BACK BECAUSE I'M AFRAID THE DOORS ARE NOT LOCKED PROPERLY. ALSO DURING THE WINTER THE MANUAL SLIDING DOORS ARE FROZEN SHUT AND IT'S BEEN LIKE THAT FROM THE DAY O PURCHASED THE VAN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/26/2015 - AKRON, OH
I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEMS WITH THE PASSENGER DOORS. RECENTLY IN MARCH THE LEFT PASSENGER DOOR CAME OPEN WHILE DRIVING WITH MY 7 YEAR OLD IN THAT SEAT. I HAD TO PULL OVER AND CLOSE THE DOOR BUT IT WOULDN'T STAY LATCHED AND ENDED UP TYING IT WITH A ROPE TO KEEP IT CLOSED. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND CALLED KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE WHO FIXED THE CAR AND PAID FOR IT WITH THEIR GOOD WILL SERVICE. THIS WEEKEND THE SAME THING HAPPENED ON THE RIGHT SIDE PASSENGER DOOR. THIS MORNING I CALLED KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD PAY FOR THE $93 PART BUT I HAD TO PAY FOR THE $300 LABOR CHARGE. I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEMS WITH THE ELECTRICAL DOORS NOT SHUTTING IN THE PAST. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THE MOTOR IS TO SMALL FOR THE DOOR. I AM NOW CONCERNED BECAUSE THE DOORS ARE NOT LATCHING AND FLYING OPEN AT ANYTIME. MY CHILDREN'S SAFETY IS AT RISK. WHEN SPEAKING WITH STEVE AT KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE I ASKED TO BE CONTACTED WITH THE REGIONAL MANAGER AND WAS REFUSED. STEVE SPOKE TO THE REGIONAL MANAGER WHO SAID THEY WOULD PAY FOR THE PART BUT NOT THE LABOR AND COULDN'T GIVE ME ANY EXPLANATION AS TO WHY THE DOORS ARE NOT LATCHING AND HE WOULD NOT TAKE MY CALL. I DO NOT WANT TO HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT MY CHILDREN'S SAFETY AND THEY DO NOT FEEL SAFE RIDING IN THE CAR. I JUST WANT THE CAR TO OPERATE IN THE WAY IT IS INTENDED AND NOT HAVE THESE SAFETY ISSUES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

5/5/2015 - NOKOMIS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR DID NOT OPEN ELECTRONICALLY OR MANUALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER NUMEROUS TIMES. THE DEALER REPLACED THE DOOR MOTOR AND THE SLIDING MECHANISM; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,800.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/5/2015 - NOKOMIS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR DID NOT OPEN ELECTRONICALLY OR MANUALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER NUMEROUS TIMES. THE DEALER REPLACED THE DOOR MOTOR AND THE SLIDING MECHANISM; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,800.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/22/2014 - HARTFORD , CT
AS I WAS APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION AND I STARTED TO APPLY THE BRAKES, THE VAN SUDDENLY ACCELERATED, WHEN I PRESSED HARD ON THE BRAKE STILL IT WOULDN'T STOP...CALL KIA SEDONA AUTHORIZED DEALER, THEY SAID THERE'S NO RECALL. AS I RESEARCHED THE INTERNET, I NOTICE THAT CAR GURUS(WHICH IS A CAR FORUM) OVER 33 PEOPLE HAD COMPLAINT WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THERE WERE AN ACCIDENT WITH FATALITIES EVEN. I'M VERY CONCERN AS I DRIVE WITH ALL MY KIDS SPECIALLY MY GRANDSON OFTEN, AND IT SCARES THE CRAP OUT OF ME TO THINK THAT I WOULD GET INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH THE LITTLE ONE ON BOARD. A LOT OF PEOPLE DID THE DIAGNOSTICS THAT THE DEALER SUGGESTED, AFTER PAYING OVER $110 PLUS TAXES, THE CAR IS STILL SHOWING THE SAME PROBLEM. I REALLY NEED SOMEBODY TO TELL ME WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO? I'M STILL PAYING FOR THE VEHICLE, I'M SCARED TO DRIVE IT ANYWHERE SPECIALLY THE HIGHWAY...HELP PLEASE...

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/22/2014 - HARTFORD , CT
AS I WAS APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION AND I STARTED TO APPLY THE BRAKES, THE VAN SUDDENLY ACCELERATED, WHEN I PRESSED HARD ON THE BRAKE STILL IT WOULDN'T STOP...CALL KIA SEDONA AUTHORIZED DEALER, THEY SAID THERE'S NO RECALL. AS I RESEARCHED THE INTERNET, I NOTICE THAT CAR GURUS(WHICH IS A CAR FORUM) OVER 33 PEOPLE HAD COMPLAINT WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THERE WERE AN ACCIDENT WITH FATALITIES EVEN. I'M VERY CONCERN AS I DRIVE WITH ALL MY KIDS SPECIALLY MY GRANDSON OFTEN, AND IT SCARES THE CRAP OUT OF ME TO THINK THAT I WOULD GET INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH THE LITTLE ONE ON BOARD. A LOT OF PEOPLE DID THE DIAGNOSTICS THAT THE DEALER SUGGESTED, AFTER PAYING OVER $110 PLUS TAXES, THE CAR IS STILL SHOWING THE SAME PROBLEM. I REALLY NEED SOMEBODY TO TELL ME WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO? I'M STILL PAYING FOR THE VEHICLE, I'M SCARED TO DRIVE IT ANYWHERE SPECIALLY THE HIGHWAY...HELP PLEASE...

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/2/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
I OWN A 2008 KIA SEDONA LX AND JUST RECENTLY WE ARE EXPERIENCING ISSUES WITH OPENING THE MANUAL SLIDING DOORS ON BOTH SIDES, ALSO THE LOOKS FAIL TO OPEN MANUALLY AND WITH THE REMOTE CONTROL. THE CONCERN IS THAT IN CASE OF AN EMERGENCY WE MIGHT BE UNABLE TO REMOVE MY 3 DAUGHTERS FROM THE VEHICLE SINCE AGAIN IN MANY OCCASIONS THE DOORS DON'T WORK PROPERLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THIS MINI-VAN HAS MANUAL SLIDING DOORS. SINCE NEWLY BOUGHT, THE SLIDING DOORS HAVE BEEN DIFFICULT TO OPEN AND CLOSE. ONE PROBLEM CORRECTED UNDER WARRANTY ELIMINATED THE WARNING DING WHEN UNDER SPEED INDICATING A SLIDING DOOR WAS AJAR. ANOTHER CORRECTED PROBLEM WAS THE LOOSE DOOR HANDLES CAUSED IN PART B THE AMOUNT OF FORCE PASSENGERS HAD TO USE TO OPEN THE SLIDING DOOR WHEN NOT LOCKED, LIKE IT WAS STUCK SHUT. THE CURRENT PROBLEM IS THE RIGHT (DRIVER) SIDE SLIDING DOOR WILL NOT UNLOCK AT ALL, EITHER THROUGH THE KEY FOB OR BY MANUALLY OPERATING THE INSIDE LEVER TO UNLOCK THE DOOR. AS IT WILL NOT OPEN, IT IS A SERIOUS SAFETY FLAW IN THAT NO ONE INSIDE DURING A CRASH CAN EXIT THROUGH THE DOOR, AND NO ONE OUTSIDE THE MINIVAN CAN OPEN THE DOOR TO FREE A TRAP CHILD ARE INFANT. KIA HAS REPLACED ONE PART WHICH DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM, AND NOW IS REPLACING AN ELECTRICAL CONTROL BOX.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/18/2014 - HUDSON, FL
THE VEHICLE PERIODICALLY WON'T START. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE SHOULD THE VEHICLE STALL WHILE DRIVING OR PULLING INTO TRAFFIC AND VEHICLE WON'T RESTART IMMEDIATELY, IT COULD CAUSE A CRASH. IT IS NOT A STARTER, BATTERY OR OTHER RELATED ISSUE AS FAR AS OUR MECHANIC CAN DETERMINE. THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS REPORTS ON LINE BY SEDONA OWNERS AS IT IS APPARENTLY AN INHERENT PROBLEM WITH THE SEDONAS OF VARIOUS YEARS. PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED THAT STARTERS HAVE BEEN REPLACED IN THEIR VEHICLE AND IT WILL RESOLVE THE PROBLEM FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME ONLY TO RETURN A SHORT TIME LATER. OTHERS STATE THAT THEIR MECHANICS THINK IT COULD BE RELATED TO THE ANTI-THEFT DEVICE IN THE VEHICLE. NO ONE SEEMS TO HAVE A SURE FIX FOR THE PROBLEM AND KIA APPARENTLY IS NOT DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT OR MAKING ANY RECALLS TO FIX THE PROBLEM. VARIOUS THINGS WILL GET THE CAR TO START SUCH AS LOCKING AND UNLOCKING THE DOORS SEVERAL TIMES, JIGGLING THE GEAR SHIFT AND TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL OR OPENING AND CLOSING THE DOORS. SOME DAYS IT WILL DO IT ONLY ONCE AND OTHER DAYS IT WILL DO IT SEVERAL TIMES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/11/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR REPEATEDLY FAILED TO LATCH CLOSED AND WOULD KEEP OPENING WHEN YOU CLOSED IT. ONCE WE DID GET IT CLOSED THE DOOR OPENED WHILE DRIVING. KIA IS AWARE OF THE DANGEROUS DEFECTIVE DESIGN AND HAS ISSUED A SERVICE BULLETIN AND HAS A REDESIGNED PART AVAILABLE. KIA HAS NOT NOTIFIED CUSTOMERS. KIA WILL REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE LATCH UNDER WARRANTY DURING THE WARRANTY PERIOD BUT CHARGES FOR THE 'REPAIR' IF THE WARRANTY HAS RUN OUT. KIA REPLACES ONLY THE ONE LATCH THAT HAS ALREADY FAILED NOT BOTH DEFECTIVE LATCHES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds