Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA TRIBUTE - 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 106 complaints filed for the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (41) Visibility (3)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Power Train (13) Structure (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - EAST ORANGE , NJ
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GAS PEDAL FAILED TO WORK. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE WHEN THE GAS WAS APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE CABLE AND THE CLIP TO THE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE HAS CONTINUED TO OCCUR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62000. RG

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY SEIZED MAKING THE STEERING WHEEL VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/23/2014 - FISHERS, IN
THIS IS THE THIRD TIME IN 5 YEARS THAT WE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE ABS TONE RING BECAUSE IT HAS BROKEN/CRUMBLED AND CAUSED OUR BRAKES TO GO OUT WHILE DRIVING! THERE SEEMS TO BE SOME SERIOUS ISSUES WITH THE QUALITY OF THIS PRODUCT?? I FEAR FOR MY LIFE AT ALL TIMES, NEVER KNOWING WHEN ITS GOING TO DECIDE TO BREAK AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2014 - LOUISVILLE, OH
MY 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE, 3.0L V6, DEVELOPED A CLUNKING NOISE IN THE POWER STEERING COLUMN UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS. IT'S A CLUNK THAT CAN BE HEARD AND FELT AT SLOWER SPEEDS. ACCORDING TO MY MECHANIC, IT IS YET ANOTHER 2008 TRIBUTE STEERING U-JOINT FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

6/10/2014 - DANVILLE, PA
THE STEERING COLUMN "CLUNKED" AS I WAS TURNING RIGHT INTO A PARKING SPOT. AT SLOW SPEEDS, THE STEERING COLUMN MAKES A METALLIC CLUNK SOUND IF I TURN RIGHT OR LEFT AT SLOW SPEEDS.

View Details

STEERING

6/3/2014 - MARKESAN , WI
FOR THE PAST YEAR AND A HALF, THE POWER STEERING IN MY 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE HAS COME AND GONE AT VARIOUS TIMES MOSTLY OCCURING IN THE WINTER MONTHS. AT FIRST I WOULD JUST RESTART MY CAR A FEW TIMES AND MOST OF THE TIME IT WOULD COME BACK ON. A FEW TIMES IT WOULD GO OUT WHEN I WAS ON THE INTERSTED GOING 70 MPH. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS FOR ME TO BE DRIVING AT SUCH SPEEDS WITHOUT POWER STEERING. RECENTLY THERE HAS BEEN NO POWER STEERING AT ALL. IT IS COMPLETELY GONE. I HAVE TALKED ABOUT ESTIMATES TO GET IT FIXED AND THE COST IS ANYWHERE BETWEEN $1200-$2000 TO REPAIR IT. I HAVE ALSO RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM ONLINE AND FOUND THAT THERE ARE MANY OTHER PEOPLE WITH THIS PROBLEM AND JUST READ THAT FORD HAS RECALLED THEIR 2008 FORD ESCAPE FOR THIS PROBLEM. THIS IS PRETTY MUCH THE EXACT SAME VEHICLE. I THINK THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED FOR 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTES AS WELL BEFORE AND SERIOUS INJURY CAN OCCUR.

View Details

STEERING

5/26/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
FOR A FEW MONTHS NOW I HAVE A RANDOM TIMES WHEN STARTING THE CAR WHERE THE STEERING WOULDN'T WORK. I WOULD START THE CAR AND TRY TO BACK OUT OF A PARKING LOT OR SOMETHING AND THE CAR WOULDN'T TURN. I WOULD TURN THE CAR OFF AND THEN TURN IT BACK ON AND THE STEERING WOULD WORK JUST FINE. I TOOK IT TO A FEW AUTO REPAIR SHOPS AND COULD NEVER REPLICATE THE PROBLEM SO THEY WOULD TELL ME THAT THEY CAN'T DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AND SUGGEST IT WAS AN ISSUE WITH MY IGNITION KEY LOCKING THE STEERING. SO I DIDN'T LOOK INTO IT ANYMORE BECAUSE FOR A MONTH OR TWO IT STOPPED HAPPENING. THEN OUT OF NOWHERE TODAY, I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AROUND 60-70 MPH WHEN I NOTICED THE STEERING GOT REALLY STIFF. IT WAS REALLY SCARY BECAUSE IT FELT LIKE I DIDN'T HAVE ANY CONTROL OVER THE STEERING OF THE CAR. SO I PULLED OVER AND TURNED THE CAR OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND THE STEERING WORKED LONG ENOUGH TO GET TO THE NEXT EXIT WHERE I PARKED AT A AUTO REPAIR SHOP. I'M WAITING RIGHT NOW FOR THE REPAIR SHOP TOMORROW TO SEE HOW MUCH IT WILL COST TO FIX.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/23/2014 - WAXHAW, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATION PEDAL AT ANY SPEED, THERE WAS A REVVING NOISE AS THE ACCELERATION PEDAL VIBRATED. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING AND WOULD BECOME MORE PROMINENT WHEN DRIVING IN INCLEMENT WEATHER. THERE WAS ALSO AN INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V357000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) BUT THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SAME FAILURE MULTIPLE TIMES WITH A 4-CYLINDER STICK SHIFT. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE INSPECTED, DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/23/2014 - WAXHAW, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATION PEDAL AT ANY SPEED, THERE WAS A REVVING NOISE AS THE ACCELERATION PEDAL VIBRATED. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING AND WOULD BECOME MORE PROMINENT WHEN DRIVING IN INCLEMENT WEATHER. THERE WAS ALSO AN INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V357000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) BUT THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SAME FAILURE MULTIPLE TIMES WITH A 4-CYLINDER STICK SHIFT. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE INSPECTED, DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35000.

View Details

STEERING

4/21/2014 - WILLIAMSPORT, PA
TOTAL FAILURE OF THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED ,POSSIBLY AVOIDING AN ACCIDENT.THE REPAIR REQUIRED REPLACEMENT OF THE ENTIRE POWER STEERING UNIT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds