Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA TRIBUTE - 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 142 complaints filed for the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Power Train (17) Steering (53) Vehicle Speed Control (49)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (1) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/8/2017 - TAYLOR, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY EXCESSIVE FORCE TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL IN ORDER TO ACCELERATE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WHEN MAKING TURNS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V282000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/8/2017 - TAYLOR, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY EXCESSIVE FORCE TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL IN ORDER TO ACCELERATE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WHEN MAKING TURNS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V282000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/26/2017 - RUTHERFORD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK AND COULD NOT BE DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE ALSO OCCURRED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS FIRST STARTED IN COLD TEMPERATURES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE WAS FAULTY. THE VEHCILE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V357000 (ENGINE), ALTHOUGH THE FAILURES WERE IDENTICAL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/26/2017 - RUTHERFORD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK AND COULD NOT BE DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE ALSO OCCURRED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS FIRST STARTED IN COLD TEMPERATURES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE WAS FAULTY. THE VEHCILE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V357000 (ENGINE), ALTHOUGH THE FAILURES WERE IDENTICAL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/13/2017 - TEXARKANA, TX
WHILE DRIVING I STOPPED AT A STOP SING, WHEN I WENT TO TAKE OFF THE VEHICLE STARTED ROLLING BACKWARDS. I STOPPED TURNED OFF THE CAR. THEN WHEN I STARTED IT AGAIN AND PUT IT IN REVERSE IT WENT FORWARDS. WHEN I PUT IT IN DRIVE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL, AND NATURAL WAS REVERSE. AFTER TURNING IT OFF AGAIN AND RESTARTING IT ALL GEAR POSITIONS DID NOT FUNCTION AND ACTED AS IF THEY WERE IN NEUTRAL. NOW EVERY TIME I TRY TO PUT IT IN A GEAR IT MAY BE THE RIGHT GEAR AND SOMETIMES ITS NOT AND SOME TIMES IT JUMPS TO NEUTRAL OUT OF NO WHERE. THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS EXACT ISSUE, WHEN I CONTACTED MAZDA I WAS INFORMED THAT MY CAR WAS NOT COVERED IN THE RECALL AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY WOULD ABOUT IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/5/2017 - KEWANEE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED AND ATTEMPTING TO APPLY THE BRAKES, THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOOR WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED AND REPLACED THE MASTER CYLINDER AND THE BRAKE BOOSTER. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED AND "POWER BLED" THE BRAKES. THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER A FEW WEEKS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD HIGH MILEAGE. THE FAILURE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/13/2016 - CHICO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AT VARIOUS SPEEDS WHILE DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WITHOUT ANY WARNING INDICATOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/9/2016 - ROANOKE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND THE STEERING COLUMN EXPERIENCED SEVERE VIBRATION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE VEHICLE WAS REMEDIED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V282000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/22/2016 - OXFORD, NC
I WAS TURNING INTO A PARKING SPOT AND OF A SUDDEN I COULDN'T TURN MY STEERING WHEEL. I GOT IT TOWED TO A DEALERSHIP THEY SAID IT WAS THE POWER STEERING. THEY REPLACED THE TORQGUE SENSOR. THEN MY NEXT PROBLEM WAS MY GAS PEDAL SOMETIMES JUST WOULDN'T ACCELERATE. I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY IN THE FAST LANE WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON I TURNED IT OFF. THEN I TRIED TO PUSH MY GAS PEDAL IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE SO I HAD TO HURRY UP AND PULL ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY BECAUSE CARS WHERE BEHIND ME. IT EVENTUALLY JUST STARTED BACK AND ANOTHER TIME IT WAS 3 AM AND I WAS DRIVING ON A BACK ROAD. I PUSHED MY GAS PEDAL BUT IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE SO I STARTED HITTING IT AS HARD AS I COULD. IT STILL WASN'T WORKING SO I PULLED OVER AND PUT IT IN PARK. I JUST KEPT ON PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL AND AFTER 15 MINS IT STARTED BACK WORKING. I TOOK MY TUCK TO ANOTHER MAZDA DEALERSHIP AND THEY REPLACE THE THROTTLE CABLE AND RETAINER. A MONTH LATER I STARTED HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN. I WAS TURNING ON TO A HIGHWAY RAMP AND IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE. SINCE I WAS TURNING I WASN'T GOING THAT FAST SO I HAD TO JUST LET MY TRUCK ROLL TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY UNTIL IT STARTED BACK WORKING. I CALLED MAZADA TO SEE IF THEY HAD A RECALL ON THE GAS PEDAL. THEY SAID NO BUT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE POWER STEERING BUT IT ENDED SEPT. 2015. TODAY WAS MARCH 21,2016 I'M JUST FINDING OUT ABOUT IT, AND I DIDN'T RECEIVE ANYTHING IN THE MAIL ABOUT IT. THEY REALLY NEED TO HAVE A RECALL ON THE GAS PEDAL I STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. I'M SO SCARED I'M GOING TO GET IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/22/2016 - OXFORD, NC
I WAS TURNING INTO A PARKING SPOT AND OF A SUDDEN I COULDN'T TURN MY STEERING WHEEL. I GOT IT TOWED TO A DEALERSHIP THEY SAID IT WAS THE POWER STEERING. THEY REPLACED THE TORQGUE SENSOR. THEN MY NEXT PROBLEM WAS MY GAS PEDAL SOMETIMES JUST WOULDN'T ACCELERATE. I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY IN THE FAST LANE WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON I TURNED IT OFF. THEN I TRIED TO PUSH MY GAS PEDAL IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE SO I HAD TO HURRY UP AND PULL ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY BECAUSE CARS WHERE BEHIND ME. IT EVENTUALLY JUST STARTED BACK AND ANOTHER TIME IT WAS 3 AM AND I WAS DRIVING ON A BACK ROAD. I PUSHED MY GAS PEDAL BUT IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE SO I STARTED HITTING IT AS HARD AS I COULD. IT STILL WASN'T WORKING SO I PULLED OVER AND PUT IT IN PARK. I JUST KEPT ON PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL AND AFTER 15 MINS IT STARTED BACK WORKING. I TOOK MY TUCK TO ANOTHER MAZDA DEALERSHIP AND THEY REPLACE THE THROTTLE CABLE AND RETAINER. A MONTH LATER I STARTED HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN. I WAS TURNING ON TO A HIGHWAY RAMP AND IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE. SINCE I WAS TURNING I WASN'T GOING THAT FAST SO I HAD TO JUST LET MY TRUCK ROLL TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY UNTIL IT STARTED BACK WORKING. I CALLED MAZADA TO SEE IF THEY HAD A RECALL ON THE GAS PEDAL. THEY SAID NO BUT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE POWER STEERING BUT IT ENDED SEPT. 2015. TODAY WAS MARCH 21,2016 I'M JUST FINDING OUT ABOUT IT, AND I DIDN'T RECEIVE ANYTHING IN THE MAIL ABOUT IT. THEY REALLY NEED TO HAVE A RECALL ON THE GAS PEDAL I STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. I'M SO SCARED I'M GOING TO GET IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds