Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA TRIBUTE - 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 135 complaints filed for the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (4) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Power Train (16) Steering (50) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (1) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/26/2016 - WHITE PINE, TN
THE GAS THROTTLE STICKS, YOU CAN'T GIVE IT GAS, EVEN AFTER DRIVING IT FOR 15 MINS, IT WILL STILL GET STUCK AGAIN. ALMOST CAUSED ME TO HAVE SEVERAL ACCIDENTS. THE POWER STEERING ALSO GOES OUT AND YOU HAVE TO TURN THE CAR OFF AND BACK ON TO GET IT TO WORK AGAIN. I DID HAVE THE SPRING ON THE GAS PEDAL REPLACED ABOUT 5 YRS AGO, BECAUSE IT GOT STUCK AND I KEPT PUSHING ON IT TILL IT BROKE. THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES DUE TO THESE PROBLEMS. THANK YOU. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/19/2016 - NORTH CHESTERFILED, NV
STICKING THROLLE ON VEHICLE OCCURS WHEN TEMPERATURE IS COLD. I COULD NOT MOVE THE CAR AT ALL. GAS PEDAL IS STUCK. IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME AT A RED LIGHT AS WELL AND ALMOST CAUSED SOMEONE TO HIT ME FROM BEHIND. HOWEVER ON 1/18 I COULD NOT GET THE THROLLE UNSTUCK AT ALL. MAZDA SAYS THERE IS NO RECALL AND REFUSES TO REPAIR MY CAR FREE OF CHARGE, THEY DO NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THE RECALL AT ALL. THOUGH THERE IS A TON OF INFORMATION ON LINE FROM THE WALL STREET JOURNAL. CARS.COM AND BLOGS RE. THIS ISSUE AFFECTING OVER 218,000 VEHICLES. SEE ARTICLES ATTACHED IS WHAT EXACTLY HAPPENED TO ME.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

1/15/2016 - LILBURN, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK WHILE DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE RECURRED OCCASIONALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V357000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING, VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,500.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/1/2015 - GWYNN OAK, MD
AT VARIOUS TIMES BETWEEN AUGUST 2015 AND NOVEMBER 2015, MY BRAKES DID NOT RESPOND PROPERLY. AT ABOUT 3-WEEK INTERVALS, MY BRAKE PEDAL WOULD GO FARTHER DOWN TOWARD THE FLOORBOARD THAN IT USUALLY TAKES FOR ME TO STOP. THIS USUALLY HAPPENED AT LOW SPEEDS (5MPH TO 40MPH), USUALLY WHEN I AM APPROACHING A STOPLIGHT OR STOP SIGN. AFTER ALL OF THESE INSTANCES, WHENEVER I PARKED MY CAR AND STARTED A NEW TRIP, THE BRAKES WOULD GO BACK TO NORMAL. HOWEVER, ON 11/10/15, THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR WHEN I TRIED TO STOP AT 15-20MPH. THIS WAS ON A BUSY CITY STREET, AND I HAD TO DRIVE UP ON THE MEDIAN TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I TOOK IT TO SEARS AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKES; HOWEVER, THEY BLED THE BRAKE LINE, CHANGED THE BRAKE FLUID. THEN, I TOOK IT TO THE MAZDA DEALER AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKES, BUT THAT THE FLUID NEEDED TO BE CHANGED. WHEN I TOOK IT TO CARMAX, THEY TOLD ME IT WAS THE MASTER CYLINDER, AND THEY REPLACED IT ALONG WITH THE FRONT ABS TONE RINGS. ON 11/25/15, TWO DAYS AFTER GETTING MY CAR BACK FROM THE CARMAX MECHANICS, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS AGAIN FEELING LIKE IT WAS GOING FARTHER DOWN THAN NECESSARY, AND THEN IT WENT TO THE FLOOR AGAIN. THAT TIME, I WAS APPROACHING A STOP SIGN IN A RESIDENTIAL NEIGHBORHOOD, SO IT WAS AT A LOW SPEED. THE CAR IS NOW BACK AT CARMAX, AND THEY HAVE CALLED TO SAY THAT THEY CANNOT FIND ANY PROBLEM. THE SCARIEST THINGS ABOUT THIS (BESIDES THE OBVIOUS FEAR THAT MY CAR WILL CAUSE AN ACCIDENT) ARE: 1) THE RANDOM NATURE OF THESE BRAKE PROBLEMS; 2) THE FACT THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL GOES BACK TO NORMAL AFTER ONE OF THESE EVENTS; 3) MECHANICS WERE NOT SPOTTING A PROBLEM WITH MY BRAKES; AND 4) WHEN A PROBLEM WAS SPECIFIED AND SUPPOSEDLY FIXED, THE BRAKES STILL WENT OUT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/23/2015 - MCKINNY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE AT A RED LIGHT, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESPOND WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AND MOVING, BUT THERE WAS NO ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,800.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/12/2015 - GWYNN OAK, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO DECELERATE, THE BRAKE PEDAL FAILED TO RESPOND AND TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/29/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AND SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,090.

View Details

STEERING

10/29/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AND SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,090.

View Details

STEERING

10/16/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V282000 (STEERING). THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO JERK AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/8/2015 - BLACKSBURG, VA
MY BATTERY CHARGING MALFUNCTION LIGHT BEGAN TO COME ON INTERMITTENTLY TWO DAYS AGO. TODAY, THE POWER STEERING HAS BEGUN TO GO OUT WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS (SO FAR) HAD THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V282000 (STEERING) PERFORMED LESS THAN 2 MONTHS AGO AND AM WONDERING IF THEY ARE LINKED SOMEHOW. WILL BE TAKING MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS ASAP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds