Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA TRIBUTE - 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 157 complaints filed for the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (6) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (11) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Power Train (19) Steering (64) Vehicle Speed Control (49)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (1) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (5) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/18/2018 - ELGIN, SC
CABLE TO GAS PEDAL BROKEN -- CANNOT BE DRIVEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/18/2018 - ELGIN, SC
CABLE TO GAS PEDAL BROKEN -- CANNOT BE DRIVEN.

View Details

STEERING

3/12/2018 - GAINSVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. WHILE DRIVING, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AND THE POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 142820000 (STEERING). THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO DAVIS GAINESVILLE CHEVROLET (2600 N MAIN ST, GAINESVILLE, FL 32609) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING ASSIST AND TORQUE SENSOR FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS SINCE THE RECALL WAS ALREADY REMEDIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

1/14/2018 - HARRAH, OK
ON DEC 29, 2017 DRIVING MY 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN SHAKING AND VIBRATING UNCONTROLLABLY WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE. I BECAME EXTREMELY NERVOUS AND AFRAID OF BEING STRANDED OR EVEN WORSE WRECKING. LUCKILY, I WENT STRAIGHT TO A LOCAL MECHANIC AND WHEN HE STARTED IT UP THE STEERING WHEEL HAD COMPLETELY LOCKED UP AND THE ERROR +POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT+ WAS DISPLAYED ON THE DASHBOARD. THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME IT HAD EVER HAPPENED AND AFTER RUNNING THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST THE CODE B2278 INDICATED THAT THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL NHSTA # 14V282000 IN 2014 CAUSING THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THE MECHANIC CONTACTED THE LOCAL MAZDA DEALERSHIP TO CONFIRM IF THE RECALL HAD BEEN DONE. THE RECALL WAS ON THE STEERING TORQUE SENSOR WHICH AFFECTS THE ABILITY TO PROPERLY DETECT THE DRIVER STEERING INPUT. THE MAZDA DEALERSHIP CONFIRMED THAT THE RECALL WAS COMPLETED IN 2014 AND MAZDA WAS NOT GOING TO REPLACE THE SENSOR AGAIN. I DECIDED TO DRIVE TO THE DEALERSHIP WHICH WAS ANOTHER 30 MINUTES AWAY, BUT NOW THE STEERING WHEEL WAS LOCKING UP AND EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN THE WHEEL. SO AFTER THEY INSPECTED THE TRIBUTE I WAS TOLD THAT IT NEEDED THE TORQUE SENSOR REPLACED AND IT WOULD COST ME $877 AND IF THAT DIDN+T FIX IT THEN THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE PART. SO THE TORQUE SENSOR DID NOT FIX THE ISSUE AND THE DEALERSHIP SAID THE STEERING WHEEL IS SHAKING EVEN MORE UNCONTROLLABLY. NOW I HAVE ANOTHER $1500 I HAVE TO PAY AND TOTALING $2400. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS PARTICULAR SITUATION THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OVER THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM, THEREFORE THIS SHOULD BE HONORED UNDER A RECALL. IN ADDITION THE PART THAT+S NEEDED IS ON BACK ORDER AND MY VEHICLE WON+T BE READY UNTIL THE FIRST WEEK OF FEBRUARY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/13/2017 - DESOTO, TX
THE BRAKES STARTED TO GO DOWN TO THE FLOOR INTERMITTENTLY. THEY WILL GET HARD AND THE NEXT DAY OR TWO WILL GO BACK DOWN TO THE FLOOR. THE MASTER CYLINDER HAS BEEN CHANGED, THE BRAKES HAVE BEEN BLED. THE ROTORS ARE IN GOOD CONDITION AND HAVE BEEN TURNED AND NEW BRAKES WERE PUT ON THE CAR. THE BRAKES STILL GO DOWN TO THE FLOOR. I THINK THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL OF CAR AND IT NEEDS TO BE ADDED AS A RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

11/3/2017 - ROSE HILL, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MAZDA TRIBUTE. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO TO TURN AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 161,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/29/2017 - FRESNO, CA
THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED IN 2016 AS PART OF NHTSA RECALL #14V282000, BUT THE PCSM SOFTWARE WAS ONLY UPDATED. NO PARTS WERE REPLACED.THE FIRST TIME I NOTICED THE ISSUE AGAIN WAS OCTOBER 2017. I WAS STOPPED AT A STOPLIGHT, THE VEHICLE WAS AT AN IDLE, AND THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO JERK BACK AND FORTH. THE STEERING WHEEL CONTINUES TO JERK VIOLENTLY WHEN THE VEHICLE IS AT AN IDLE. IT TAKES GREAT EFFORT TO KEEP THE VEHICLE STRAIGHT WHILE DRIVING 25-40 MPH ON CITY STREETS. IT ALSO JERKS MILDLY TO MODERATELY WHILE I AM DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS FROM 25MPH ON CITY STREETS-75MPH ON THE HIGHWAY OR FREEWAY. IT JERKS MOST VIOLENTLY WHEN IT IS AT AN IDLE, MODERATELY AT 25-45 MPH, AND MILDLY AT 50-75 MPH. IT JERKS WHEN I AM DRIVING STRAIGHT. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN PARK, IT JERKS VIOLENTLY, BUT WHEN THE WHEEL IS TURNED TO ABOUT THE 2 O'CLOCK POSITION IT WILL STOP UNLESS IT IS MOVED SLIGHTLY AND THEN IT WILL START JERKING AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED IN 2016 AS PART OF NHTSA RECALL #14V282000, BUT THE PCSM SOFTWARE WAS ONLY UPDATED. NO PARTS WERE REPLACED AT THAT TIME. THE PART AT FAULT IS A FAULTY STEERING TORQUE SENSOR.

View Details

STEERING

10/11/2017 - ROWLAND HEIGHTS, CA
COMPLETE & SUDDEN LOSS OF STEERING CAPABILITY

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/2/2017 - DUNN, NC
STEERING COLOM IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE FELLS TO CRANK. THE LOCK ATTACHES AROUND THE STEERING COLOM IN WHICH THE IGNITION SWITCH GOES IN TO. THIS IS THE 3RD REPLACEMENT OF FACTORY OEM PARTS AND IT CONTINUES TO GO BAD. THE VEHICLE IS STATIONARY WHEN

View Details

STEERING

8/9/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
TURNING OFF A ROAD INTO A PARKING LOT I LOST ALL POWER STEERING AND HAD TO MAN HANDLE THE TRIBUTE INTO A PARKING SPACE. ONCE THERE I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND AFTER A COUPLE OF MINUTES RESTARTED AND THE STEERING WORKED FINE. I'M CONCERNED AS TO WHEN IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds