Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 291 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (53) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (13) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (175) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/19/2018 - GAMBRILLS, MD
MY 2008 MERCURY MARINER POWER STEERING WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING. I TURNED IT IN TO GET LOOKED AT TWO DIFFERENT PLACES. BOTH PLACES STATED THAT IT SHOULD BE A RECALL PROBLEM. AFTER DOING FURTHER RESEARCH THE 2008 MERCURY MARINER DOES HAVE A RECALL ON IT FOR THE POWER STEERING ISSUE, HOWEVER MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT BEING WARRANTED FOR THE SAME ISSUE. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A MANUFACTURER ISSUE, WHICH POSSIBLY COULD'VE CAUSED A HARMFUL SITUATION TO MYSELF AND MY FAMILY OR OTHERS ON THE ROAD DRIVING. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HARMED WHILE THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT, BUT THAT DOES NOT CHANGE THE FACT THAT MY 2008 MERCURY MARINER SHOULD NOT BE COVERED. PLEASE ADDRESS THIS ISSUE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE AS IT IS A COSTLY INCONVENIENCE THAT 100% SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER RECALL AS STATED ONLINE THAT THESE VEHICLES ALL HAVE THE SAME POWER STEERING ISSUE. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR TIME LOOKING INTO THIS MATTER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/16/2018 - PEVELY, MO
TAKATA RECALL MY ABS LIGHT AND BRAKE LIGHT COMES ON AND IF I DRIVE IT WITH THESE LIGHTS ON I SMELL MY BREAK PADS BURNING. I TOOK IT TO FORD AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE INTERNAL FAILURE OF THE HYDRAULIC CONTROL UNIT AND IT WOULD COST ME UPWARDS OF $5,885.00 TO REPLACE AND REPAIR THE PROBLEM. I HAVE SEARCHING THE INTERNET AND THERE ARE SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE AND FORD ESCAPES. (WHICH IS BASICALLY THE SAME VEHICLE. IF THERE ARE THIS MANY COMPLAINTS MAYBE ITS WORTH LOOKING INTO ON DOTS PART. IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR SURE CONSIDERING MY BRAKES GO TO THE FLOOR WHEN THE ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS ARE ON. I CAN TURN MY SUV OFF AND REMOVE THE KEY AND THEN PUT THE KEY BACK IN AND START IT AGAIN UNTIL THE LIGHTS GO OFF AND I DON'T HAVE AN ISSUE. BUT WHEN I FIRST GET IN THE VEHICLE AND START IT THE LIGHTS DO IN FACT COME ON. PLEASE HELP ALL CONSUMERS WITH THIS DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED ALREADY ON FORD/MERCURY'S HYDRAULIC CONTROL UNIT.

View Details

STEERING

2/6/2018 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND SHIFTED INTO DRIVE, THE STEERING SEIZED. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,850.

View Details

STEERING

1/29/2018 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
A MESSAGE SAYING +POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT+ CAME ON AND THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO SHAKE VERY NOTICEABLY, ALMOST AS IF THE POWER STEERING WAS ABOUT TO QUIT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP IN 2014 FOR RECALL 14S05 AND THE DEALERSHIP SUPPOSEDLY DID THEIR SOFTWARE UPDATE. NOW THEY SAY IT IS DUE TO THE POWER STEERING TORQUE SENSOR NEEDING REPLACING WHICH IS THE EXACT RECALL 14S05. THEY ARE NOT HONORING IT BECAUSE THEY SAID IT WAS FIXED WHEN IT WAS BROUGHT IN PREVIOUSLY EVEN THOUGH THE PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED, ONLY BANDAGED SO THEY CAN CHARGE ME $650 LATER ON. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN THAT THEY ARE KNOWINGLY FORCING PEOPLE TO PAY FOR. THERE IS A FACEBOOK POST REGARDING THIS VERY THING.

View Details

STEERING

1/28/2018 - BETTENDORF, IA
STEERING WHEEL SHAKES WHEN PARKED OR DRIVING. STEERING WHEEL ASSIST FAULT LIGHT COMES ON.

View Details

STEERING

1/25/2018 - MARSHALL, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST COLUMN FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED YET. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT BE REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING) DUE TO THE MILEAGE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 144,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/18/2018 - ARLINGTON, TX
THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT ON MY VEHICLE SO I TOOK TO 3 MECHANICS WHICH ALL SAID THE SAME THING THAT IT WAS MY POWER STEERING AND HAS A RECALL CODE OF 14S05. THEN ON PLACE SAID THEY CAN FIX BUT THEN TOLD ME THEY COULDN'T AFTER CHARGING ME $700 FOR A NEW SENSOR, THEN TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO FORD. WHEN CONTACTED FORD THEY AGREED IT WAS A PROBLEM BUT WILL NOT FIX IT BECAUSE OF MY "VIN" NUMBER WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. HOW DOES THIS WORK IF PROBLEMS ARE KNOWN WHY AREN'T ALL "VIN" NUMBERS HONORED IN THE RECALL TO GET FIXED?

View Details

STEERING

1/11/2018 - WINTERSET, IA
MY VEHICLE WAS COVERED UNDER RECALL 14S05 AND SAID RECALL WORK WAS DONE IN 2014 IN VA UNDER THE PREVIOUS OWNER, FORD DOES NOT HAVE RECORD OF WHAT "STEP" OR PART OF THE RECALL WAS DONE, THERE ARE 3 PARTS. LESS THAN 4 YEARS, THE RECALLED PART, THE TORQUE SENSOR IN THE POWER STEERING ASSIST HAS FAULTED, WHICH LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THAT IT WASN'T REPLACED UNDER THE RECALL. SINCE IT'S BEEN MORE THAN 12 MONTHS OR 12,000 MILES THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO REPLACE THE SAID RECALLED PART THAT WAS ORIGINALLY COVERED. THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE WHEN THE ASSIST FAULTED CAUSING STEERING TO BE VERY DIFFICULT AND HAD I BEEN DRIVING AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED COULD HAVE POTENTIALLY BEEN ACCIDENT CAUSING. I FEEL THAT THE RECALL WORK SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO REPLACING THE PART SINCE IT WASN'T DONE ORIGINALLY UNDER THE RECALL OR WAS AGAIN REPLACED WITH A FAULTY SENSOR TO FAULT AGAIN WITHIN LESS THAN 4 YEARS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/11/2018 - WINTERSET, IA
MY VEHICLE WAS COVERED UNDER RECALL 14S05 AND SAID RECALL WORK WAS DONE IN 2014 IN VA UNDER THE PREVIOUS OWNER, FORD DOES NOT HAVE RECORD OF WHAT "STEP" OR PART OF THE RECALL WAS DONE, THERE ARE 3 PARTS. LESS THAN 4 YEARS, THE RECALLED PART, THE TORQUE SENSOR IN THE POWER STEERING ASSIST HAS FAULTED, WHICH LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THAT IT WASN'T REPLACED UNDER THE RECALL. SINCE IT'S BEEN MORE THAN 12 MONTHS OR 12,000 MILES THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO REPLACE THE SAID RECALLED PART THAT WAS ORIGINALLY COVERED. THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE WHEN THE ASSIST FAULTED CAUSING STEERING TO BE VERY DIFFICULT AND HAD I BEEN DRIVING AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED COULD HAVE POTENTIALLY BEEN ACCIDENT CAUSING. I FEEL THAT THE RECALL WORK SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO REPLACING THE PART SINCE IT WASN'T DONE ORIGINALLY UNDER THE RECALL OR WAS AGAIN REPLACED WITH A FAULTY SENSOR TO FAULT AGAIN WITHIN LESS THAN 4 YEARS

View Details

STEERING

1/8/2018 - SHOHOLA TOWNSHIP, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE SENSOR WAS NOT REPLACED, BUT WAS RESET BY THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE TORQUE SENSOR WAS RESET AND THERE WAS NO HISTORY OF A POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE MANUFACTURER REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 137,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds