Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 146 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (34) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (1) Steering (71)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/22/2015 - REDFORD, MI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V284000 (STEERING) WAS RECEIVED IN MAY 2014. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER IN AUGUST 2014 AND THE POWER STEERING SOFTWARE UPDATE REMEDY WAS PERFORMED. ON JANUARY 16, 2014 WHILE DRIVING THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO VIBRATE AND ERRONEOUSLY TURN BEFORE EVENTUALLY MALFUNCTIONING COMPLETELY MAKING THE STEERING WHEEL VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT DUE TO THE PREVIOUS SOFTWARE UPDATES THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY TO REPLACE THE AFFECTED PARTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000. JFT

View Details

STEERING

1/21/2015 - PETERSBURG, MI
WHEN TAKING THIS VEHICLE IN FOR RECALL SERVICE FORD # 14S05 (NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000), THE REPROGRAMMING OF THE ELECTRONIC POWER ASSIST STEERING WAS DONE, BUT WAS TOLD THE STEERING SHAFT AND LOWER U-JOINT WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DESCRIPTION OF THE RECALL INDICATES FAILED COMPONENTS WILL BE REPLACED, BUT UPON INQUIRY AT THE DEALER (BRONDES, TOLEDO, OHIO) I WAS TOLD IT ONLY APPLIED TO ELECTRONIC COMPONENTS--NOT MECHANICAL ONES. THE WEAR ON THESE COMPONENTS IS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THE TORQUE SENSING DEVICE IS NOT WORKING PROPERLY. THIS SEEMS TO BE ME TO BE FORD NOT WANTING TO MEET ITS FINANCIAL OBLIGATION TO FIX THIS ENTIRE RECALL. THIS WAS A NEW DESIGN INTRODUCED IN THIS MODEL YEAR AND IT IS ONLY NOW STARTING TO FAIL. I ASKED THE DEALER ABOUT ASSISTANCE WITH THE REPAIR AND WAS DENIED; AND I CALLED THE FORD HOTLINE AND WAS SIMILARLY DENIED ASSISTANCE WITH THE REPAIR, BUT ADVISED TO RETAIN MY RECEIPTS IN CASE THERE WAS FURTHER ACTION ON THIS RECALL. THE INTERNET HAS SEVERAL REFERENCES TO THIS TYPE OF FAILURE/REPAIR. I THINK THEY ARE DIRECTLY LINKED.

View Details

STEERING

1/16/2015 - WESTLAKE , OH
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE CONTACT TO USE EXCESSIVE FORCE TO MANEUVER THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,810. DJR

View Details

STEERING

1/16/2015 - WESTLAKE, OH
STARTED VEHICLE. DASH MESSAGE READ "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE." NO POWER STEERING. AFTER DOING ONLINE RESEARCH (IT DIDN'T TAKE LONG TO FIND SIMILAR TO IDENTICAL COMPLAINTS), I FOUND THAT THERE WAS A STEERING RELATED RECALL PERTAINING TO THE VEHICLE (7/2014). TOOK VEHICLE TO LINCOLN-MERCURY DEALERSHIP FROM WHICH IT WAS PURCHASED NEW. THE DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT INFORMED ME THAT THE RECALL WORK HAD BEEN DONE THE LAST TIME WE HAD OUR OIL CHANGED OVER THE SUMMER, AND THAT THE RECALL HAD BEEN "CLOSED OUT".... WE WEREN'T INFORMED OF EITHER THE FACT THAT THERE WAS A RECALL IN THE FIRST PLACE, OR THAT THEY HAD "TAKEN CARE" OF IT. THE RECALL WORK WAS APPARENTLY TO "REPROGRAM" SOME "MODULE" TO SIMPLY MAKE THE DRIVER AWARE THAT SOMETHING HAS GONE AWRY WITH THE POWER STEERING (NO KIDDING). THE ULTIMATE DIAGNOSIS: THE VEHICLE NEEDS A NEW STEERING COLUMN AT A COST OF NEARLY $1,300.00 AS THE "TORQUE SENSOR" HAS FAILED. IT IS APPARENT TO ME AND MANY OTHERS THAT THE RECALL HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH REPAIR OF THE FAILED COMPONENT, WHICH IS NOT SUCH AN "UNLIKELY EVENT"....ALSO, THE FAILURE OF THE COMPONENT IS NOT A MATTER OF IMPROPER MAINTENANCE AS COULD BE THE CASE WITH TYPICAL POWER STEERING SYSTEMS...IT JUST FAILS. THE FAILURE OF THE COMPONENT(S) IS HOWEVER A PRETTY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE I WOULD THINK. I WILL MAKE THE DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT AWARE OF THIS, AND CONTINUE TO FIND OUT WHY THESE REPAIRS SHOULD NOT BE THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE MANUFACTURER. BY THE WAY, MILEAGE WAS 87,810 WHEN THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

STEERING

1/16/2015 - BEAVER DAM , WI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN RESET THE STEERING CODE TO REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. DJR

View Details

STEERING

1/15/2015 - BLUSSTON, IN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED A POWER STEERING FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000. PAM

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/9/2015 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE LUNGED FORWARD EXCESSIVELY WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT ENGAGED HER BRAKES AND WHEN RELEASING THE BRAKE PEDAL THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO FIND A FAILURE. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/9/2015 - BARTLETT, IL
IN COLD WEATHER MY GAS PEDAL STICKS. EVEN AFTER I HAVE STARTED MY CAR AND LET RUN FOR 10-15 MINUTES. WHEN I GET IN, REVERSE TO FORWARD POSITION AND TRY TO ACCELERATE- THE GAS PEDAL STICKS. I HAVE TO SLAM ON IT FOR ABOUT 2 MINUTES BEFORE IT ACTUALLY WORKS. THIS HAS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING AS WELL, NOT JUST THE INITIAL START. IT DEFINITELY HAPPENS MORE IN COLD WEATHER. WHAT CAN I DO? AFTER RESEARCH THIS SOUNDS LIKE IT'S A COMMON PROBLEM WITH 2008 MERCURY MARINERS. I BELIEVE IT'S DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

1/7/2015 - SMITHSBURG, MD
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING), THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 132,000. DJR

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/7/2015 - MISSION, TX
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AS THE STOP SAFELY NOW WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WATER PUMP FOR THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V526000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM).THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE. DJR

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds