Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 158 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (1) Steering (83) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (34) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/4/2015 - DOVER , DE
TL -THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST POWER STEERING. THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS APART AND SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING) HOWEVER THE REMEDY DID NOT DETER THE DEFECT FROM OCCURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE DEALER STATED THE TORQUE SENSOR AND STEERING COLUMN WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000. AZ

View Details

STEERING

2/24/2015 - ELKHART, IN
WE BOUGHT OUR 2008 MARINER IN JANUARY 2013 AND HAVE NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH IT UNTIL NOW. WE RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE ABOUT THE STEERING AND HAD IT FIXED. WE STILL NEVER HAVE HAD ANY PROBLEMS. LAST WEEK, ABOUT FEBRUARY 18TH, 2015, I NOTICED THAT WHILE IN PARK WITH VEHICLE RUNNING, THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO VIBRATE/PULSATE WITHOUT ME EVEN TOUCHING IT. SINCE THEN, IT HAS ONLY GOTTEN WORSE, AND I CAN SOMEWHAT FEEL THIS PULSATION EVEN WHILE DRIVING. IT IS NOT ONLY PULSATING NOW, BUT ALSO MAKING A CLICKING OR CLUNKING NOISE WHEN IT PULSES/VIBRATES. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE RUN ACROSS NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME PROBLEM, AND PEOPLE LOSING POWER STEERING BECAUSE OF THIS, AND WHEN THEY HAVE CALLED FORD WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM. I AM REALLY SCARED TO DRIVE IT NOW, BUT DON'T HAVE A CHOICE BECAUSE THIS IS THE ONLY VEHICLE WE OWN.

View Details

STEERING

2/22/2015 - GREENWICH, OH
NEVER HAD A PROBLEM TILL I RECIEVED A PAPER BACK IN NOV.2014 FOR A RECALL ON POWER STEERING SO I TOOK IT IN THEY SAID IT CHECKED OUT THEY UPDATED IT AND EVER SINCE THERE JUST WASNT SOMETHING RIGHT ABOUT OUR STEERING. AT RED LIGHTS THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD VIBRATE AND JERK BACK AND FORTH WITHOUT ME TOUCHING IT AND THEN TODAY I HEARD 3 CHIMES AND SEEN NOTHING POP UP ON DASH THEN BAM THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND SAID POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE AND I HAD TO USE EVERYTHING I HAD TO STEER IT HOME.

View Details

STEERING

2/17/2015 - CRAWFORDSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TWO OTHER OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING FORWARD, THE VEHICLE WOULD PULL TO THE RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING); HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/5/2015 - NEWARK, OH
3 MONTHS AGO I TOOK MY 2008 MERCURY MARINER INTO FORD FOR THE POWER STEERING RECALL. THEY WERE TO DO ONE OF THREE THINGS: UPDATE THE SOFTWARE FOR THE POWER STEERING, REPLACE THE TORQUE SENSOR OR REPLACE THE POWER STEERING COLUMN. THEY ONLY UPDATES THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM SOFTWARE. DAY 1 AFTER IT BEING FIXED, I WAS EXPERIENCE AN EXTREMELY SHAKY STEERING WHEEL AND A "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" INDICATOR THAT WOULD RANDOMLY SHOW UP NOW AND THEN. FORD SAID THEY COULD LOOK AT IT BUT THAT IT WOULD NOT FALL UNDER THE RECALL. FEBRUARY 4, 9:00AM, MY POWER STEERING GOES OUT PULLING INTO WORK. I TOOK MY CAR INTO FORD TODAY AND THEY EXCLAIMED THAT MY POWER STEERING MOTOR AND COLUMN NEED REPLACED BUT AGAIN THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE RECALL. I EXPERIENCED NO PROBLEMS WITH MY POWER STEERING PRIOR TO THE SOFTWARE UPDATE. AFTER READING SEVERAL (A COUPLE HUNDRED) REVIEWS BY OTHER CUSTOMERS, THEY EXPERIENCED THE SAME EXACT INCIDENTS A FEW MONTHS AFTER THE UPDATE, BUT FORD SAID THEY HAD TO PAY THE FULL $1,200 TO REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN. IT IS SICKENING TO KNOW THAT THIS "UPDATE" IS ACTUALLY CAUSING POWER STEERING TO MALFUNCTION AND PUTTING PEOPLE'S LIVES IN DANGER. ON TOP OF IT, FORD SAYS ONCE THE UPDATE IS RAN, THERE IS NOTHING MORE THEY CAN DO UNDER THE RECALL, WHEN THEY KNOW FULL WELL KNOW WHAT THE UPDATE IS DOING AND PUTTING MONEY IN THEIR POCKETS. SOMEONE PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS. LIVES CAN BE LOST DUE TO THIS MALFUNCTION THAT SHOULD NOT BE SWEPT UNDER THE RUG.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/5/2015 - NEWARK, OH
3 MONTHS AGO I TOOK MY 2008 MERCURY MARINER INTO FORD FOR THE POWER STEERING RECALL. THEY WERE TO DO ONE OF THREE THINGS: UPDATE THE SOFTWARE FOR THE POWER STEERING, REPLACE THE TORQUE SENSOR OR REPLACE THE POWER STEERING COLUMN. THEY ONLY UPDATES THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM SOFTWARE. DAY 1 AFTER IT BEING FIXED, I WAS EXPERIENCE AN EXTREMELY SHAKY STEERING WHEEL AND A "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" INDICATOR THAT WOULD RANDOMLY SHOW UP NOW AND THEN. FORD SAID THEY COULD LOOK AT IT BUT THAT IT WOULD NOT FALL UNDER THE RECALL. FEBRUARY 4, 9:00AM, MY POWER STEERING GOES OUT PULLING INTO WORK. I TOOK MY CAR INTO FORD TODAY AND THEY EXCLAIMED THAT MY POWER STEERING MOTOR AND COLUMN NEED REPLACED BUT AGAIN THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE RECALL. I EXPERIENCED NO PROBLEMS WITH MY POWER STEERING PRIOR TO THE SOFTWARE UPDATE. AFTER READING SEVERAL (A COUPLE HUNDRED) REVIEWS BY OTHER CUSTOMERS, THEY EXPERIENCED THE SAME EXACT INCIDENTS A FEW MONTHS AFTER THE UPDATE, BUT FORD SAID THEY HAD TO PAY THE FULL $1,200 TO REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN. IT IS SICKENING TO KNOW THAT THIS "UPDATE" IS ACTUALLY CAUSING POWER STEERING TO MALFUNCTION AND PUTTING PEOPLE'S LIVES IN DANGER. ON TOP OF IT, FORD SAYS ONCE THE UPDATE IS RAN, THERE IS NOTHING MORE THEY CAN DO UNDER THE RECALL, WHEN THEY KNOW FULL WELL KNOW WHAT THE UPDATE IS DOING AND PUTTING MONEY IN THEIR POCKETS. SOMEONE PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS. LIVES CAN BE LOST DUE TO THIS MALFUNCTION THAT SHOULD NOT BE SWEPT UNDER THE RUG.

View Details

STEERING

2/4/2015 - HORNELL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (TIRES). WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT BE REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (TIRES) DUE TO A RECENT REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,363.

View Details

STEERING

2/2/2015 - FAIRMONT, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE CONTACT BELIEVED THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO THE RECALL. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,719.

View Details

STEERING

1/31/2015 - KEARNEY , NE
WHILE DRIVING MY 2008 MERCURY MARINER, MY STEERING WENT OUT ON A CURVE ON A 4 LANE HIGHWAY WHICH CAUGHT ME OFF GUARD. I COULD NOT MOVE MY STEERING WHEEL WHICH CAUSED ME TO ALMOST DRIVE INTO THE CAR BESIDE ME. I PULLED OVER TO GET GAS & WHEN I STARTED THE CAR, THE STEERING WAS FINE. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WOULD COST AT LEAST $545 FOR JUST THE SENSOR BUT THAT THE WHOLE STEERING COLUMN WOULD NEED REPLACING SO IT WOULD BE A LOT MORE THAN THAT TO FIX. I WAS UNABLE TO AFFORD A REPAIR, I SIMPLY STAYED ON MY GUARD & WOULD JUST PULL OVER & RE-START THE CAR SO THAT I COULD DRIVE AGAIN SAFELY. THEN I GOT NOTICE OF A RECALL SO I TOOK IT IN & TOLD THEM THAT I HAD ISSUES WITH THE STEERING & WAS VERY GLAD THAT THERE WAS FINALLY A RECALL. THEN 2 MOS LATER, THE STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN & THIS TIME IT IS WORSE THAN BEFORE. I CAN NO LONGER TURN THE CAR OFF & RE-START IT TO GET STEERING, IT IS SIMPLY GONE OUT COMPLETELY & IT HARDER TO TURN THAN EVER. THE STEERING WHEEL ACTUALLY TRIES TO TURN THE OPPOSITE WAY THAT THE DIRECTION THAT I AM TURNING. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP & THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS HAPPENED TO ANOTHER PERSON & FORD WOULD NOT COVER IT AND TOLD ME THAT ALL THEY DID WAS RE-PROGRAM THE CAR. AFTER RESEARCHING THE RECALL, I FOUND THAT IF THE CAR SHOWS HISTORY OF A LOSS OF THE TORQUE SENSOR, THAT THE TORQUE SENSOR WAS TO BE REPLACED. I THEN CALLED FORD CUSTOMER CARE & THE LADY THERE WAS VERY COLD & SIMPLY STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY WOULD DO SINCE IT WAS ALREADY FIXED ONCE. I TOLD HER THAT IT WAS NOT REPAIRED CORRECTLY BECAUSE OF PREVIOUS ISSUES WITH IT, IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPLACED. SHE TOLD ME TO TAKE IT UP WITH THE DEALER THAT I TOOK IT TO. I NOW HAVE NECK PROBLEMS DUE TO DRIVING MY UNSAFE CAR THAT I HAVE NO MONEY TO REPAIR & AM STILL MAKING PAYMENTS ON. THIS IS MY ONLY VEHICLE & I STILL NEED TO GET TO WORK & GET MY SON TO SCHOOL SO I AM LEFT WITH NO CHOICE BUT TO DRIVE IT.

View Details

STEERING

1/31/2015 - DAVISBURG, MI
I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR THE POWER STEERING RECALL THEY SUPPOSEDLY FIXED IT I HAVE NO PROOF OF THAT. SINCE I HAVE GOTTEN MY VEHICLE BACK THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED SHAKING WHILE AT A COMPLETE STOP I TOOK MY VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY HAVE TOLD ME THAT I NEED A NEW STEERING COLUMN BECAUSE THE TORQUE SENSOR IS BAD WHICH IS PART OF THE RECALL AND THAT FORD WILL NOT COVER THIS UNDER THE RECALL BECAUSE THEY ALREADY FIX IT WHICH AGAIN I HAVE MY CONCERNS THAT THEY DID NOT REALLY FIX IT IN THE FIRST PLACE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds