Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 231 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (44) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (9) Other (1) Steering (132) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/9/2016 - MECHANICSBURG, PA
I HAD TO APPLY A PANIC BREAK DUE TO A MOTORCYCLE ACCIDENT IN FRONT OF MY VEHICLE. THE CAR STOPPED BUT THE HYDRAULIC HCU/ECU FOR ABS FAILED AT THE SPOT. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE FORD DEALER AND RECEIVED A 1735.00 PLUS TAX ESTIMATE TO FIX IT.

View Details

STEERING

11/8/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
I RECEIVED A MESSAGE ON MY DASH DISPLAY "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" WHILE DRIVING. AFTER PARKING, SHUTTING OFF MY VEHICLE, AND THEN RESTARTING MY VEHICLE, MY POWER STEERING WAS LOCKED. THE BRIGHTON FORD DEALERSHIP ASSESSED MY VEHICLE AND TOLD ME I HAVE AN ISSUE WITH MY TORQUE SENSOR WHICH CAUSES THE POWER STEERING TO LOCK UP. I LOOKED UP TORQUE SENSORS FOR MY VEHICLE, AND DISCOVERED THAT TORQUE SENSORS IN MANY VEHICLES MATCHING THE SAME DESCRIPTION AS MINE WERE RECALLED FOR THE SAME EXACT MALFUNCTION. MY CAR WAS MANUFACTURED DURING THE DATES LISTED ON THE RECALL AS WELL. IT IS RECALL NUMBER 14S05. THIS RECALL IS NOT SHOWING UP FOR MY VEHICLE. WHY COULD THIS BE?

View Details

STEERING

11/3/2016 - LAKE STEVENS, WA
RECEIVED FORD RECALL #14S05 IN JULY OF 2014, FOR A "LOSS OF ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST" IN AFFECTED VEHICLES. THE RECALL NOTICE INDICATED THAT FORD WOULD PERFORM A "SOFTWARE UPDATE", OR, "REPLACE AFFECTED COMPONENTS FOR FREE OF CHARGE". TOOK MY VEHICLE TO A NEARBY FORD DEALERSHIP, HAD THE RECALL "SOFTWARE UPDATE" PERFORMED ON MY VEHICLE. AFTER THE "SOFTWARE UPDATE" WAS PERFORMED ON MY VEHICLE, MY VEHICLE SUFFERED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER STEERING ASSIST, REQUIRING THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN. THIS WAS THE EXACT REASON FORD HAD ISSUED RECALL #14S05 IN THE FIRST PLACE AND THE EXACT COMPONENTS FORD SAID IT WOULD REPLACE AS PART OF RECALL #14S05. FORD HAS SINCE REFUSED TO PAY FOR, OR, REIMBURSE ME FOR THE COST OF THIS REPAIR UNDER THE PREMISE THAT THE "SOFTWARE UPDATE FIXED THE POWER STEERING ASSIST DEFECT". AS A RESULT, FORD CONTINUES TO PERPETUATE INCREASED RISK OF ACCIDENTS AND SUBSEQUENT INJURY TO OWNERS OF THE AFFECTED VEHICLES.

View Details

STEERING

11/3/2016 - MOBILE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THERE WAS A CLICKING LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN MAKING A TURN, THE POWER ASSIST SYSTEM FAULT WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE APPROXIMATELY WAS 138,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/3/2016 - CHAMBERSBURG, PA
DROVE TO WORK ABOUT 15 MILES AND SHUT VEHICLE OFF. THEN STARTED VEHICLE TO MOVE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER SPOT AND STEERING WAS TIGHT AND ON DASH IT SAID POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT. WAS UNABLE TO STEER CAR. CALLED FORD CUSTOMER CARE BECAUSE I WANTED TO KNOW IF MY VEHICLE HAD BEEN FIXED WITH CAMPAIGN14V284000 AND WAS TOLD CAMPAIGN WAS CLOSED.

View Details

STEERING

10/25/2016 - NORMAN, OK
MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT AND ON THE DASH IT SAID "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT". I TOOK IT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THE TORQUE SENSOR WENT OUT AND THE ELECTRIC STEERING COLUMN HAS TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE TORQUE SENSOR IN 2014, RECALL 14S05, AND THEIR SOLUTION WAS TO DO A SOFTWARE UPDATE INSTEAD OF REPLACING THE STEERING COLUMN. WHEN I CALLED FORD'S CORPORATE OFFICE ABOUT THIS THEY SAID THEY HAVE NOT DECIDED TO PAY FOR THE STEERING COLUMN TO BE REPLACED. I AM FILING THIS COMPLAINT BECAUSE THE SOLUTION TO THE RECALL DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM BECAUSE THE TORQUE SENSOR STILL FAILED AND FORD SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE. I KNOW THERE IS AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND HOPEFULLY FORD WILL DO THE RIGHT THING AND REIMBURSE EVERYONE THAT HAS HAD TO PAY FOR THIS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

10/20/2016 - CANDLER, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/5/2016 - DADE CITY, FL
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING ON HER WAY HOME, AND OUT OF NOWHERE THE STEERING FELT WEIRD, AND WHILE DRIVING THE CAR SHUT OFF. NO POWER STEERING OR POWER BRAKES (DUE TO ENGINE SHUTTING OFF) AND WE DO NOT KNOW WHY THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

ENGINE

10/5/2016 - DADE CITY, FL
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING ON HER WAY HOME, AND OUT OF NOWHERE THE STEERING FELT WEIRD, AND WHILE DRIVING THE CAR SHUT OFF. NO POWER STEERING OR POWER BRAKES (DUE TO ENGINE SHUTTING OFF) AND WE DO NOT KNOW WHY THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

STEERING

10/5/2016 - DADE CITY, FL
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING ON HER WAY HOME, AND OUT OF NOWHERE THE STEERING FELT WEIRD, AND WHILE DRIVING THE CAR SHUT OFF. NO POWER STEERING OR POWER BRAKES (DUE TO ENGINE SHUTTING OFF) AND WE DO NOT KNOW WHY THIS HAPPENED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds