Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 221 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (44) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (7) Other (1) Steering (123) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/31/2016 - CRANDALL, TX
WHILE MY COLLEGE AGE DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING TO CAMPUS ON SUNDAY 8/28/16, CAME TO STOP AND WHEN SHE TRIED TO ACCELERATE, RPM BEGAN TO RACE ERRATICALLY AND CAR WOULD BARELY ACCELERATE. WRENCH LIGHT ON THE DASH BOARD IS NOW ILLUMINATED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2016 - CENTREVILLE, VA
KEY IGNITION DOESN'T WORK. CAR WON'T START WITHOUT JIGGLING KEY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/21/2016 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
THIS HAD BEEN A GREAT CAR FOR ME UNTIL TODAY. I LEARNED THE HYDRAULIC CONTROL UNIT IS BAD AND WILL REQUIRE NEARLY $5000 TO REPLACE. IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. IT HAD 105000 MILES. IT IS NOT WORTH MUCH MORE THAN $5K. I HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO TRY AND TRADE THE CAR IN. I LATERALLY JUST GAVE IT TO MY DAUGHTER FOR COLLEGE ON SATURDAY. SHE HAS ALWAYS LOVED MY CAR.

View Details

STEERING

7/6/2016 - BAINBRIDGE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO TURN RIGHT ONTO A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN AND HOUSING WERE FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED IN AUGUST OF 2014 PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/5/2016 - PALMER, AK
THE CPU UNIT HAS HAD A COMPLETE FAILURE AND THE A NEW REPLACEMENT PART IS NOT AVAILABLE. VEHICLE YEAR IS A 2008. THE PROBLEM STARTED TO BECOME HARD TO START THE COMPLETE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/22/2016 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL ASSEMBLY FRACTURED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT RECONNECTED THE ARM; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/17/2016 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
SAFETY RECALL 14S05 -AS A RESULT OF THE RECALL FORD UPGRADED THE SOFTWARE IN MY CAR IN DEC. 2015, BUT THREE MONTHS LATER THE STEERING FAILED. (THE CAR WAS PARKED ON A QUIET SAN FRANCISCO STREET WHEN I TRIED TO START IT AND REALIZED THAT THE STEERING WOULDN'T WORK.) I FIRST TOWED THE CAR TO MY LOCAL MECHANIC, WHO LOOKED AT IT FOR A WEEK AND THEN TOLD ME THAT IT WAS RELATED TO THIS SAFETY RECALL; HE ADVISED ME TO TAKE THE CAR BACK TO FORD. WHEN I RE-TOWED THE CAR TO FORD DEALERSHIP, THEY REFUSED TO HONOR THEIR WRITTEN COMMITMENT TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM AND INSTEAD TRIED TO ARGUE THAT BECAUSE I GOT A SOFTWARE UPDATE, THEIR RESPONSIBILITY WAS OVER. WHEN I ASKED IF THE SYMPTOMS IN MY CAR MATCHED THOSE THE RECALL WAS MEANT TO FIX, THE DEALERSHIP ADMITTED THE SYMPTOMS MATCHED. THEY SAY THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING B/C A "CODE" DIDN'T TRIP. I ALSO NOTICED THAT THE RECALL SAYS THAT SOFTWARE UPGRADES "MAY" FIX THE PROBLEM AND SHOULD AT LEAST NOTIFY THE DRIVER BY BEEPING. MY CAR NEVER BEEPED, BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY A SOFTWARE UPDATE THAT "MAY" FIX THE PROBLEM IS NOT SUFFICIENT FOR SAFETY! THE STEERING ISSUE SHOULD BE FIXED/REPLACED BY FORD! FORD IS NEGLIGENTLY PUTTING CUSTOMER LIVES IN DANGER. MOREOVER, FORD SHOULDN'T BE ABLE TO PUSH THE COST OF A MALFUNCTIONING, CORE PRODUCT FEATURE ONTO CUSTOMERS. WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR, AT THE TOP OF THE MARKET PRICE FOR IT, I WAS NOT TOLD "IN 50,000 MILES YOU WILL HAVE TO PAY SEVERAL THOUSAND DOLLARS FOR A COMPLETELY NEW STEERING COLUMN BECAUSE THIS ONE WILL FAIL AND PEOPLE IN YOUR CAR MAY DIE." PLEASE INVESTIGATE AS MANY CONSUMERS ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT HOW FORD IS TRYING TO PUSH RESPONSIBILITY FOR RECALL 14S05 ONTO INDIVIDUAL CAR OWNERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2016 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
SAFETY RECALL 14S05 -AS A RESULT OF THE RECALL FORD UPGRADED THE SOFTWARE IN MY CAR IN DEC. 2015, BUT THREE MONTHS LATER THE STEERING FAILED. (THE CAR WAS PARKED ON A QUIET SAN FRANCISCO STREET WHEN I TRIED TO START IT AND REALIZED THAT THE STEERING WOULDN'T WORK.) I FIRST TOWED THE CAR TO MY LOCAL MECHANIC, WHO LOOKED AT IT FOR A WEEK AND THEN TOLD ME THAT IT WAS RELATED TO THIS SAFETY RECALL; HE ADVISED ME TO TAKE THE CAR BACK TO FORD. WHEN I RE-TOWED THE CAR TO FORD DEALERSHIP, THEY REFUSED TO HONOR THEIR WRITTEN COMMITMENT TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM AND INSTEAD TRIED TO ARGUE THAT BECAUSE I GOT A SOFTWARE UPDATE, THEIR RESPONSIBILITY WAS OVER. WHEN I ASKED IF THE SYMPTOMS IN MY CAR MATCHED THOSE THE RECALL WAS MEANT TO FIX, THE DEALERSHIP ADMITTED THE SYMPTOMS MATCHED. THEY SAY THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING B/C A "CODE" DIDN'T TRIP. I ALSO NOTICED THAT THE RECALL SAYS THAT SOFTWARE UPGRADES "MAY" FIX THE PROBLEM AND SHOULD AT LEAST NOTIFY THE DRIVER BY BEEPING. MY CAR NEVER BEEPED, BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY A SOFTWARE UPDATE THAT "MAY" FIX THE PROBLEM IS NOT SUFFICIENT FOR SAFETY! THE STEERING ISSUE SHOULD BE FIXED/REPLACED BY FORD! FORD IS NEGLIGENTLY PUTTING CUSTOMER LIVES IN DANGER. MOREOVER, FORD SHOULDN'T BE ABLE TO PUSH THE COST OF A MALFUNCTIONING, CORE PRODUCT FEATURE ONTO CUSTOMERS. WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR, AT THE TOP OF THE MARKET PRICE FOR IT, I WAS NOT TOLD "IN 50,000 MILES YOU WILL HAVE TO PAY SEVERAL THOUSAND DOLLARS FOR A COMPLETELY NEW STEERING COLUMN BECAUSE THIS ONE WILL FAIL AND PEOPLE IN YOUR CAR MAY DIE." PLEASE INVESTIGATE AS MANY CONSUMERS ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT HOW FORD IS TRYING TO PUSH RESPONSIBILITY FOR RECALL 14S05 ONTO INDIVIDUAL CAR OWNERS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/10/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL REQUIRED EXCESSIVE PRESSURE TO SLOW THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BRAKES MASTER CYLINDER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE BRAKE PADS WERE ALSO REPLACED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONLY WHEN DRIVING WHILE IT WAS RAINING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/5/2016 - WALKER, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED BUT FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE PADS, MASTER CYLINDER, AND BRAKE BOOSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds