Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 300 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (53) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (13) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (183) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

4/3/2018 - MIDLAND, MI
SENSOR IN STERING WHEEL IS BAD,ALSO JERKS WHEN IT SHIFTS

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/3/2018 - MIDLAND, MI
SENSOR IN STERING WHEEL IS BAD,ALSO JERKS WHEN IT SHIFTS

View Details

STEERING

4/3/2018 - MIDLAND, MI
SENSOR IN STERING WHEEL IS BAD,ALSO JERKS WHEN IT SHIFTS

View Details

STEERING

3/27/2018 - CHARLOTTE, NC
WHILE DRIVING, POWER STEERING FAILED DURING INTERSECTION TURN. NO ACCIDENT, JUST WRESTLED STEERING WHEEL THROUGH PROBLEM. MY MECHANIC SAID FAILURE WAS "STEERING SHAFT TORQUE SENSOR". UPON RESEARCH, I FOUND THIS SEEMS TO BE PART OF A RECALL THAT I WAS NOT AWARE OF (REF 14V284000 ISSUED 5/29/2014 -- ALSO REF FORD 14S05). CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR VERIFICATION. COULD NOT GET VERIFICATION OF PAST QUALIFICATION FOR MY VIN, JUST THAT "NONE OPEN NOW". SAID FOR RECALL IN QUESTION, THAT FORD MANAGEMENT HAD SINCE CLOSED THAT RECALL AS COMPLETE. HOW CAN I VERIFY THAT MY VIN ORIGINALLY PART OF THAT RECALL? AND IF SO, IS THERE NO RELIEF AVAILABLE? EXPENSIVE REPAIR -- $500+.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/26/2018 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
MANUFACTURER'S FAULTY IGNITION LOCK MODULE WEARS OUT PREMATURELY AND VEHICLE OFTEN DOESN'T START. CAUSED CONSISTENT BUT INTERMITTENT PROBLEM FOR LAST 3 YEARS. RESEARCH SHOWS THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM ON 2008-2012 MARINERS, FORD ESCAPES AND 2008-2011 FORD FOCUS, WHICH ALL USE THE SAME IGNITION LOCK.

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2018 - LAMONT, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE LOCAL DEALER (BOWKER FORD IN PONCA CITY, OK) AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 240,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/19/2018 - NORMAN, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO REYNOLDS FORD OF NORMAN (825 N INTERSTATE DR, NORMAN, OK 73069) WHERE THE SOFTWARE FOR THE POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE WAS UPDATED. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK UNCONTROLLABLY WHILE APPROACHING A STOP. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY AT JOE COOPER FORD OF EDMONTON (600 W MEMORIAL RD, OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73114, (405) 475-9000) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED IN 2014, AND WOULD NOT BE PERFORMED A SECOND TIME. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/19/2018 - COLUMBUS, WI
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY YESTERDAY EVENING WHEN MY MARINER DISPLAYED THE MESSAGE +POWER ASSIST SYSTEM FAULT+. I DID NOT NOTICE AN IMMEDIATE ISSUE WITH THE STEERING BUT CAREFULLY LIMPED IT HOME. THIS MORNING I CALLED MY MECHANIC ABOUT IT. HE HAD FORMERLY WORKED FOR FORD AND WAS FAMILIAR WITH THE ISSUE. WE SET UP AN APPOINTMENT. HOWEVER AS I BACKED THE VEHICLE OUT OF THE GARAGE, THE MESSAGE DISAPPEARED AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED COMPLETELY, MAKING THE VEHICLE UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

3/19/2018 - SIDNEY, OH
STEERING WHEEL VIBRATES BACK AND FORTH ON ITS OWN, WITHOUT ANY DRIVER INPUT, WHILE VEHICLE IS STOPPED AND RUNNING

View Details

STEERING

3/17/2018 - DEER TRAIL, CO
WHILE DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY AT 75 MPH THE POWER STEERING FOR MY 2008 MERCURY MARINER FAILED. IT BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE, POSING A SERIOUS SAFETY RISK. UPON INSPECTION, IT IS BELIEVED THAT THE TORQUE SENSOR HAS FAILED. UNFORTUNATELY, WHILE A SYSTEM IS CLEARLY NOT FUNCTIONING, THERE ARE NO TROUBLE CODES DISPLAYED AT THIS TIME. I SEE THAT THERE IS AN EXSISTING SAFETY RECALL IN PLACE FOR THE SAME YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL FOR THIS SPECIFIC PROBLEM HOWEVER IT DOES NOT INCLUDE THE VIN FOR MY VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds