Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 213 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (43) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (7) Other (1) Steering (121) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/5/2016 - WALKER, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED BUT FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE PADS, MASTER CYLINDER, AND BRAKE BOOSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/1/2016 - UNION CITY, NJ
SPEED SHIFT FORCED ON 2ND AND 4TH, THE VEHICLE HAS ONLY 77000 MILES AND TRANSMISSION IS BAD, CONTACTED THE DEALER ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND NO ACTION TAKEN, THEY SAID THE VEHICLE IS NOT ON A RECALL CAMPAIGN AND OWNER NEEDED TO DO REPAIR AND IF THE CAMPAIGN STARTED ON THIS PROBLEM IN THE FUTURE THEY WILL REIMBURSE THE REPAIR AMOUNT, I NEED THE VEHICLE ON A DAILY BASIS AND NOW I'M STOCK WITH THE REPAIRS COST OF 1500 PLUS LABOR. I NEED TO ADD THIS VEHICLE TO THE RECALL AS SHOWN HERE: REPORT RECEIPT DATE: SEP 29, 2015 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V606000 COMPONENT(S): POWER TRAIN THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION WHEN IT HAPPENED , SPEED WAS REDUCED AND WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON THE DASHBOARD

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/1/2016 - UNION CITY, NJ
SPEED SHIFT FORCED ON 2ND AND 4TH, THE VEHICLE HAS ONLY 77000 MILES AND TRANSMISSION IS BAD, CONTACTED THE DEALER ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND NO ACTION TAKEN, THEY SAID THE VEHICLE IS NOT ON A RECALL CAMPAIGN AND OWNER NEEDED TO DO REPAIR AND IF THE CAMPAIGN STARTED ON THIS PROBLEM IN THE FUTURE THEY WILL REIMBURSE THE REPAIR AMOUNT, I NEED THE VEHICLE ON A DAILY BASIS AND NOW I'M STOCK WITH THE REPAIRS COST OF 1500 PLUS LABOR. I NEED TO ADD THIS VEHICLE TO THE RECALL AS SHOWN HERE: REPORT RECEIPT DATE: SEP 29, 2015 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V606000 COMPONENT(S): POWER TRAIN THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION WHEN IT HAPPENED , SPEED WAS REDUCED AND WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON THE DASHBOARD

View Details

STEERING

3/21/2016 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN LEFT OR RIGHT. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE UPDATED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED INTERMITTENLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/17/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AND DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WOULD HESITATE TO ACCELERATE OVER 15 MPH AND THE SERVICE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED TWICE THAT THE THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/24/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MECHANIC DID NOT INDICATE WHETHER IT WAS THE UPPER OR LOWER INTERMEDIATE SHAFT FAILED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V385000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 149,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/24/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
MY VEHICLE IS HAVING TROUBLE STEERING, TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE REPAIR SHOP AND THEY INFORMED THAT IT WAS A RECALL ON IT. I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME SINCE MY VIN NUMBER FOR ME VEHICLE WAS NOT IN THE RECALL THERE WAS NOTHING THAT THEY COULD DO AND WANTED TO CHARGE ME $125.00 TO PUT IT ON THEIR MACHINE, I ALREADY TO MY SUV TO THE SHOP AND THEY INFORMED TO GO TO THE DEALERSHIP

View Details

STEERING

2/24/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
MY VEHICLE IS HAVING TROUBLE STEERING, TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE REPAIR SHOP AND THEY INFORMED THAT IT WAS A RECALL ON IT. I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME SINCE MY VIN NUMBER FOR ME VEHICLE WAS NOT IN THE RECALL THERE WAS NOTHING THAT THEY COULD DO AND WANTED TO CHARGE ME $125.00 TO PUT IT ON THEIR MACHINE, I ALREADY TO MY SUV TO THE SHOP AND THEY INFORMED TO GO TO THE DEALERSHIP

View Details

STEERING

2/19/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
POWER STEERING FAILURE WHILE IN MOTION. SAFETY RECALL 14S05. FAILURE REQUIRED STEERING COLUMN AND MOTOR REPLACEMENT. FLASH MEMORY HAD BEEN RE-PROGRAMMED 2 YEARS EARLIER AND THAT DID NOT PREVENT THE FAILURE. FORD WOULD NOT PAY FOR REPAIR OR DISCOUNT THE REPAIR. YOUNG ADULT DRIVER TEMPORARILY LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME OF FAILURE ON A BUSY CITY STREET WHILE TURNING. $1,223.00 REPAIR ESTIMATE IS ATTACHED.

View Details

STEERING

2/19/2016 - STILLWATER, MN
I GOT A RECALL NOTICE IN THE MAIL FOR THE POWER STEERING THAT IT COULD GO OUT. TOOK IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP - AUTONATION IN WHITE BEAR LAKE MN_ AND THEY DID A SOFTWARE UPDATE AND CLOSED THE RECALL OUT AS COMPLETE. ALMOST IMMEDIATELY THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN SHAKING INTERMITTENTLY AND RANDOMLY. IT GOT TO THE POINT IT WAS SHAKING VIOLENTLY SO I TOOK IT BACK IN AND WAS TOLD THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED REPLACED. EVEN THOUGH THIS WAS ONE OF THE OPTIONS TO DO IN THE FIRST PLACE ON THE RECALL THEY SAID IT WAS NO LONGER COVERED AND WOULD COST $1300.00. I CALLED FORD AND THEY REFUSED TO COVER IT AS WELL BECAUSE THE SOFTWARE UPDATE WAS DONE. NOW IT IS NOT ABLE TO BE DRIVEN SAFELY UNTIL I CAN AFFORD THE REPAIRS. IT CLEARLY IS RELATED TO THE RECALL AS I KNOW THE 3 OPTIONS WERE TO UPDATE THE SOFTWARE, REPLACE TORQUE SENSOR OR REPLACE STEERING COLUMN. I HAVE READ COUNTLESS SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ONLINE - YET AUTONATION NOR FORD WILL FIX THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds