Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 247 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (45) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (10) Other (1) Steering (144) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/16/2017 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, A LOUD NOISE WAS HEARD AND THE POWER STEERING SERVICE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE POWER STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THERE WAS A RECALL CODE INDICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A SENSOR FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ISSUE WAS NOT DUE TO A RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO ANOTHER INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE A RECALL CODE WAS STILL DETECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/15/2017 - JACKSON, MI
WHEN I PULLED OUT INTO TRAFFIC ON MY WAY TO MEIJER THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO STALL LIKE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT TO A STOP LIGHT WHERE I PUT IT INTO PARK. WHEN I TOOK OFF FROM THE TRAFFIC LIGHT EVERYTHING WAS OK, WENT TO MEIJER AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF. WENT SHOPPING & WHEN I STARTED THE VEHICLE AGAIN EVEYTHING SEEMED NORMAL. WITHIN A MILE OF LEAVING MEIJER THE VEHICLE BEGAN THE SAME SYMPTOMS "ACTING LIKE IT WAS GOING TO STALL." WHEN I TRIED TO INCREASE THE SPEED TO GET THE VEHICLE HOME IT WOULD NOT GO OVER 15 MPH. IT WAS LIKE IT WAS CONFUSED ABOUT WHAT GEAR IT WAS IN. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE TO PULL INTO A PARKING SPACE AND THE VEHICLE DID NOTHING. I TURNED IT OFF AND RESTARTED IT THEN PUT IT IN DRIVE AND PULLED INTO A PARKING SPACE.

View Details

STEERING

2/13/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 80 MPH, THE VEHICLE DRIFTED FROM ONE LANE TO ANOTHER. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 131,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/6/2017 - SILVER SPRING, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND FORCED THE CONTACT TO MANUALLY CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE POWER STEERING, BUT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE RECALL DETAILS WERE NOT PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 185,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/1/2017 - HARLEM, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PSCM WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT PRIOR TO THE CONTACT OWNING THE VEHICLE, A REPAIR WAS PERFORMED WHICH BYPASSED THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/25/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
ABS LIGHT ALONG WITH SERVICE BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON WITH NO WARNING RESULTING IN NEAR COMPLETE BRAKE LOSS AND NEARLY STRIKING A PERSON CROSSING THE STREET.

View Details

STEERING

1/17/2017 - CEDARBURG, WI
STEERING WENT OUT AT 95,000 MILES ON MY DAUGHTER'S 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WE WERE LUCKY THAT SHE OR NO ONE ELSE WAS KILLED OR SERIOUSLY INJURED BECAUSE THE WEATHER WAS BAD AND THE ROADS WERE ICY. SHE STATES THAT SHE COULD BARELY TURN THE WHEEL AND IT TOOK ALL SHE HAD TO TURN AFTER IT WENT OUT, AND, IT SEEMED TO GET EVEN WORSE WHEN SHE STOPPED, SHUT IT OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON. I ASSUME IT IS A RECURRING ISSUE FROM THE RECALL THAT WAS PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE BACK IN 2015. I JUST CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY STATE THAT BECAUSE THE RECALL WAS ALREADY PERFORMED, THEY CAN CONFIRM THAT IT WILL NOT BE COVERED. THEY RECOMMENDED THAT I TAKE IT TO A FORD DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR FOR A FEE. THE BIGGER ISSUE THAN COST IN MY OPINION IS THE LINGERING SAFETY HAZARD THAT STILL EXISTS. THE COMPONENT FAILED ABOUT A MONTH SHY OF 2 YEARS AFTER THE UPDATE, HOWEVER, AS FAR AS FORD IS CONCERNED, THE ISSUE HAS BEEN RESOLVED. SOMEONE COULD CRASH AND DIE BECAUSE OF THIS KNOWN ISSUE. IS FORD NOT CONCERNED? HOW CAN THEY SLEEP AT NIGHT KNOWING HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE (LIKE MY DAUGHTER) ARE AT RISK. IN MY OPINION, IT IS COMPLETELY UNREASONABLE TO NOT CONDUCT ANOTHER RECALL FOR THE SAFETY OF THEIR CUSTOMERS. SOMEONE WITH MONEY NEEDS TO GET AFTER THEM WITH A LAWSUIT.

View Details

STEERING

1/9/2017 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

1/1/2017 - BALLSTON SPA, NY
CAR WORKING NORMAL, SHUT IT OFF, TURNED IT ON THE NEXT DAY AND HAD NO POWER STEERING ASSISTANCE. WHEN REVIEWING ONLINE OTHER 2008 MERCURY MARINERS WERE RECALLED FOR THE SAME ISSUE. HOWEVER, FORD TOLD ME MY CAR WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. YET THE REPAIR WAS THE EXACT SAME REPAIR THAT WAS NEEDED TO FIX THE RECALLED CARS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/1/2017 - MOORETON, ND
MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING HOME ON THE INTERSTATE. WE HAD JUST MERGED TO THE PASSING LANE TO ALLOW TRAFFIC MERGING FROM AN ON RAMP TO ENTER THE INTERSTATE A VEHICLE NEXT TO US WAS DOING THE EXACT SPEED AS WE WERE WHICH WAS 72 MPH SET CRUISE CONTROL. I HAD VEHICLES APPROACHING FROM THE REAR AND SINCE I WAS IN THE PASSING LANE DECIDED TO SPEED UP AND GET IN FRONT OF THE CAR BESIDE US I PUSHED THE ACCELERATOR ON OUR 08 MERCURY MARINER WITH A 3.0L ENGINE TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR ACCELERATED IN FRONT OF THE OTHER CAR, WHEN I LIFTED MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I PUSHED ON THE BRAKE ONCE WITH NOTHING CHANGING THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I PROCEEDED TO PUMP THE BRAKE THREE ADDITIONAL TIMES IN ABOUT 1 SECOND INTERVALS. FINALLY THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL RELEASE AND THE CAR SLOWED DOWN. WE PRECEDED HOME WITHOUT FURTHER INCIDENT. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS CONDITION AND HAS RESULTED IN SERIOUS INJURIES AND DEATHS IN EARLIER MODEL YEARS OF FORD ESCAPE, MERCURY MARINER AND MAZDA TRIBUTE VEHICLES. I HAVE HAD FORD VEHICLES MY WHOLE LIFE AND HAVE BEEN WORKING ON VEHICLES FOR MORE THAN THIRTY FIVE YEARS. THIS IS NOT NORMAL AND IS NOT THE ONLY TIME OR VEHICLE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO IN THIS YEAR THERE ARE MANY OTHER SIMILAR PEOPLE THAT HAVE SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON THESE FORD AND MERCURY SUV'S ON THE INTERNET EX: CARCOMPLAINTS.COM TO NAME JUST ONE. THE INTERNET IS FILLED WITH THESE DANGEROUS COMPLAINTS. WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO LIVE UP TO YOUR NAME AND PUT THE SAFETY ASPECT FIRST,WHEN DEALING WITH THESE TO RICH TO BE BOTHERED BY RECALLS AUTO MANUFACTURERS?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds