Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 107 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (31) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Engine (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (1) Steering (44)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/15/2014 - JAMESVILLE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING IN REVERSE THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED MAKING THE STEERING WHEEL VERY DIFFICULT THE TURN. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE DEFECT WAS INTERMITTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE SENSOR KIT WAS FAULTY. THE TORQUE SENSOR WAS REPLACED AND THE DEFECT WAS REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,786.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2014 - MADISON, WI
TL -THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED HER VEHICLE WILL WILL INTERMITTENTLY LOSE POWER STEERING AT VARIOUS SPEED AND DURING START UP. THE CONTACT HAD NOT HAD HER VEHICLE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURE AND DEALER HAD NOT BEEN MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000. AZ

View Details

STEERING

4/9/2014 - ROCHDALE , MA
CAME TO A STOP, BEGAN TO TURN LEFT, STEERING WHEEL JERKED TO ONE SIDE THEN POWER STEERING GAVE OUT MID TURN, ON A BUSY STREET, CROSSING OVER TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC. IT IS NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE WHEN THIS HAPPENS. THIS HAS ACTUALLY HAPPENED A HANDFUL OF TIMES AT THIS POINT. FORD DEALER CAN'T FIGURE IT OUT, SO I'M STUCK WITH AN UNSAFE VEHICLE TO DRIVE. HOW HAS THIS VEHICLE NOT BEEN RECALLED!? IT'S NOT LIKE IT'S SMALL ISSUE LIKE RADIO PROBLEMS, THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE!!!!! IF YOU PARK THE VEHICLE AND SHUT IT OFF, THEN RESTART IT, THE STERLING WILL THEN WORK AGAIN (UNTIL NEXT TIME IT GIVES OUT) IT'S ALMOST LIKE RESTARTING THE CAR IS REBOOTING THE SYSTEM. EITHER WAY, VERY SCARY WHEN YOU'RE DRIVING AND YOU HAVE NO WARNING THAT YOUR POWER STEERING IS GOING TO FAIL.

View Details

STEERING

3/29/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
THE STEERING WHEEL MADE A POP/CRACKING NOISE ON START-UP AT FIRST. THE WHEEL WOULD OSCILLATE IN PLACE AND ONLY STOP IF I PUT PRESSURE ON IT TO TURN IT OFF CENTER. THE POWER STEERING WOULD INTERMITTENTLY GO OUT ON START-UP. I WOULD TURN THE CAR OFF AND ON AGAIN UNTIL IT RETURNED. THIS WAS FINE FOR A WEEK OR SO, BUT THEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING. WHEN THE POWER STEERING FAILS, THE CAR IS NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/29/2014 - LAKE BALBOA, CA
I HAD JUST MADE A RIGHT TURN AND WAS PROCEEDING DOWN THE BLOCK WHEN I HEARD A SUDDEN "CLICK" AND LOST POWER. I COULDN'T STEER AND THERE WAS NO POWER. I MANAGED TO GET THE CAR OVER TO THE CURB AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. I RESTARTED IT A FEW MINUTES LATER AND IT STARTED UP OK. HOWEVER, THE RSC WARNING LIGHT STAYED ON EVEN THOUGH I HAD NEVER PRESSED THAT BUTTON. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED I WAS TOLD IT WAS A BATTERY PROBLEM SO I GOT A NEW BATTERY. THAT WAS LESS THAN A YEAR AGO AND I CAN'T IMAGINE I NEED A NEW BATTERY THAT OFTEN - THAT SIMPLY NEEDING A NEW BATTERY WILL CAUSE MY CAR TO FAIL! IN DOING SOME RESEARCH I'VE COME ACROSS SEVERAL INSTANCES OF THE SAME ISSUE NECESSITATING REPLACEMENT OF THE THROTTLE BODY MODULE WITH TROUBLE CODES P2111 AND P2112 AND, IN FACT,THE NORTH CAROLINA CONSUMERS COUNCIL (NCCC) HAS OFFICIALLY PETITIONED THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (NHTSA) FOR A DEFECT INVESTIGATION OF ALLEGED THROTTLE BODY FAILURES IN 2005-2012 FORD ESCAPE VEHICLES SHARING THE SAME OR SUBSTANTIALLY SIMILAR PART. LUCKILY I WAS ONLY ON SURFACE STREETS AND NOT THE FREEWAY. IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THIS HAPPENS ON THE FREEWAY! IS THERE GOING TO BE A RECALL?

View Details

STEERING

3/29/2014 - LAKE BALBOA, CA
I HAD JUST MADE A RIGHT TURN AND WAS PROCEEDING DOWN THE BLOCK WHEN I HEARD A SUDDEN "CLICK" AND LOST POWER. I COULDN'T STEER AND THERE WAS NO POWER. I MANAGED TO GET THE CAR OVER TO THE CURB AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. I RESTARTED IT A FEW MINUTES LATER AND IT STARTED UP OK. HOWEVER, THE RSC WARNING LIGHT STAYED ON EVEN THOUGH I HAD NEVER PRESSED THAT BUTTON. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED I WAS TOLD IT WAS A BATTERY PROBLEM SO I GOT A NEW BATTERY. THAT WAS LESS THAN A YEAR AGO AND I CAN'T IMAGINE I NEED A NEW BATTERY THAT OFTEN - THAT SIMPLY NEEDING A NEW BATTERY WILL CAUSE MY CAR TO FAIL! IN DOING SOME RESEARCH I'VE COME ACROSS SEVERAL INSTANCES OF THE SAME ISSUE NECESSITATING REPLACEMENT OF THE THROTTLE BODY MODULE WITH TROUBLE CODES P2111 AND P2112 AND, IN FACT,THE NORTH CAROLINA CONSUMERS COUNCIL (NCCC) HAS OFFICIALLY PETITIONED THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (NHTSA) FOR A DEFECT INVESTIGATION OF ALLEGED THROTTLE BODY FAILURES IN 2005-2012 FORD ESCAPE VEHICLES SHARING THE SAME OR SUBSTANTIALLY SIMILAR PART. LUCKILY I WAS ONLY ON SURFACE STREETS AND NOT THE FREEWAY. IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THIS HAPPENS ON THE FREEWAY! IS THERE GOING TO BE A RECALL?

View Details

ENGINE

3/29/2014 - LAKE BALBOA, CA
I HAD JUST MADE A RIGHT TURN AND WAS PROCEEDING DOWN THE BLOCK WHEN I HEARD A SUDDEN "CLICK" AND LOST POWER. I COULDN'T STEER AND THERE WAS NO POWER. I MANAGED TO GET THE CAR OVER TO THE CURB AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. I RESTARTED IT A FEW MINUTES LATER AND IT STARTED UP OK. HOWEVER, THE RSC WARNING LIGHT STAYED ON EVEN THOUGH I HAD NEVER PRESSED THAT BUTTON. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED I WAS TOLD IT WAS A BATTERY PROBLEM SO I GOT A NEW BATTERY. THAT WAS LESS THAN A YEAR AGO AND I CAN'T IMAGINE I NEED A NEW BATTERY THAT OFTEN - THAT SIMPLY NEEDING A NEW BATTERY WILL CAUSE MY CAR TO FAIL! IN DOING SOME RESEARCH I'VE COME ACROSS SEVERAL INSTANCES OF THE SAME ISSUE NECESSITATING REPLACEMENT OF THE THROTTLE BODY MODULE WITH TROUBLE CODES P2111 AND P2112 AND, IN FACT,THE NORTH CAROLINA CONSUMERS COUNCIL (NCCC) HAS OFFICIALLY PETITIONED THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (NHTSA) FOR A DEFECT INVESTIGATION OF ALLEGED THROTTLE BODY FAILURES IN 2005-2012 FORD ESCAPE VEHICLES SHARING THE SAME OR SUBSTANTIALLY SIMILAR PART. LUCKILY I WAS ONLY ON SURFACE STREETS AND NOT THE FREEWAY. IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THIS HAPPENS ON THE FREEWAY! IS THERE GOING TO BE A RECALL?

View Details

STEERING

3/26/2014 - PECKVILLE, PA
WHILE DRIVING ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS THE POWER STEERING IN MY 2008 MERCURY MARINER TURNS OFF. WHEN THE STEERING TURNS OFF IT IS NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER THE CAR SAFELY. IT DOES NOT REACT LIKE A VEHICLE THAT DOES NOT HAVE POWER STEERING, IT ALMOST SEEMS LIKE YOU ARE STEERING THE WHEELS THROUGH CEMENT. YOU NEED TO PUT ALL OF YOUR FORCE AND ENERGY INTO TURNING THE WHEEL EVEN THE SLIGHTEST BIT AND WHEN THE CAR HITS A BUMP THE CAR WANTS TO GO OUT OF CONTROL. I WILL NOT ALLOW MY WIFE TO DRIVE THE CAR BECAUSE I KNOW THAT SHE WILL NOT BE ABLE TURN THE WHEEL IF THIS HAPPENS TO HER. I CANNOT UNDERSTAND HOW THIS ISN'T A SAFETY HAZARD AND HASN'T BEEN RECALLED SOONER. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE BECAUSE THE REPAIR FOR THIS IS ALMOST $2,000 DOLLARS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2014 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
DRIVING THE TRUCK THROUGH A DRIVE THRU AT A MCDONALDS WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD SON IN BACKSEAT AND THE POWER STEERING STOPPED WORKING AS PROCEEDING THRU DRIVE THRU, ALMOST HITTING THE BUILDING HAVING NO CONTROL OVER TRUCK. VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL/THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND SOMEONE WILL END UP AS A CASUALTY IF THIS PROBLEM WITH STEERING NOT RECALLED BY FORD. I AM A 280 GUY AND COULD BARELY STEER THE TRUCK UNTIL I SHUT IT OF AND RESTARTED IT. ALSO OIL LEAK ON ENGINE FOR MOST OF THESE V6 MARINERS AND ESCAPES IS ABOVE OIL PAN BY HARMONIC BALANCER,FORD REFUSES TO ADMIT THEY DID A HORRIBLE JOB PUTTING TOGETHER THE BOTTOM END OF THESE ENGINES.OVERALL FORD NEEDS TO RECONSIDER WHAT SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THEIR VEHICLES BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. I AM A ASE CERTIFIED MECHANIC AND HAVE NEVER ENCOUNTERED SUCH PROBLEMS WITH A VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

3/25/2014 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
DRIVING THE TRUCK THROUGH A DRIVE THRU AT A MCDONALDS WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD SON IN BACKSEAT AND THE POWER STEERING STOPPED WORKING AS PROCEEDING THRU DRIVE THRU, ALMOST HITTING THE BUILDING HAVING NO CONTROL OVER TRUCK. VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL/THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND SOMEONE WILL END UP AS A CASUALTY IF THIS PROBLEM WITH STEERING NOT RECALLED BY FORD. I AM A 280 GUY AND COULD BARELY STEER THE TRUCK UNTIL I SHUT IT OF AND RESTARTED IT. ALSO OIL LEAK ON ENGINE FOR MOST OF THESE V6 MARINERS AND ESCAPES IS ABOVE OIL PAN BY HARMONIC BALANCER,FORD REFUSES TO ADMIT THEY DID A HORRIBLE JOB PUTTING TOGETHER THE BOTTOM END OF THESE ENGINES.OVERALL FORD NEEDS TO RECONSIDER WHAT SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THEIR VEHICLES BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. I AM A ASE CERTIFIED MECHANIC AND HAVE NEVER ENCOUNTERED SUCH PROBLEMS WITH A VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds