Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 203 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (42) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (6) Other (1) Steering (114) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/6/2016 - MT. CARMEL, IL
THROTTLE BODY STICKING, CAR PEDAL WOULD BE PUSHED DOWN AND CAR WOULD NOT MOVE THEN PUSH A LITTLE HARDER AND THE CAR WOULD JUMP FORWARD. THIS HAPPENS WHENEVER THE CAR HAS BEEN STOPPED AND THEN THE PEDAL IS PUSHED DOWN AGAIN TO TAKE OFF, SUCH AS AT STOP SIGNS, PARKING LOTS, DRIVE WAYS AND SO FORTH. TOOK CAR IN AND AT THE FIRST VISIT TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT THEY JUST CLEANED THE THROTTLE BODY, WHEN IT CONTINUED TO STICK WE TOOK IT BACK IN AND THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY COSTING HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS DUE TO THE WARRANTY ON THE VEHICLE WAS OUT . THIS ONE LASTED TILL JUST AFTER THE WARRANTY RAN OUT ON THE PART , THEN IT STARTED STICKING AGAIN. IT APPEARS TO STICK MORE IN COLD WEATHER . WE HAVE NOT REPLACED IT AT THIS TIME DUE TO THE COST OF THE PART AND THE FACT THAT IT DOES NOT SEEM TO LAST MUCH OVER A YEAR AT A TIME. I UNDERSTAND THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE , BUT WE DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO REPLACE THIS PART EVERY YEAR . FROM WHAT I HAVE READ THIS HAS BEEN A ON GOING PROBLEM FOR OTHER PEOPLE AS WELL . WHY HAS THERE NOT BEEN A RECALL ON THIS PART?

View Details

STEERING

2/4/2016 - GARRETSON, SD
STEERING WHEEL SHAKES AND GRINDING SOUNDS COMING FROM STEERING COLUMN THIS HAPPENS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION OR STATIONARY. LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED AS A FAULTY TORQUE SENSOR WHICH WOULD RESULT IN A LOSS OF POWER STEERING. HAD A RECALL ON THE VEHICLE APPROXIMATELY A YEAR AGO BECAUSE OF LOSS OF POWER STEERING DUE TO THE TORQUE SENSOR. AT THE TIME OF RECALL MY TORQUE SENSOR WAS NOT FAILING SO THE DEALERSHIP ONLY DID A COMPUTER SOFTWARE UPDATE. CLEARLY THE UPDATE DID NOTHING TO CORRECT THE ISSUE WITH THE TORQUE SENSOR ASSOCIATED WITH THE RECALL, HOWEVER NOW FORD WILL NOT CORRECT THE ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NOT PERSONALLY LOST MY POWER STEERING YET IN A SITUATION THAT COULD HAVE CAUSED INJURY HOWEVER THERE ARE A WHOLE SLEW OF COMPLAINTS FROM PEOPLE REPORTING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. A SUDDEN LOSS OF STEERING IS A BIG DEAL AND VERY DANGEROUS, IT IS SOMETHING FORD SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO CORRECT.

View Details

STEERING

2/4/2016 - ANCHORAGE, AK
TRYING TO EDIT COMPLAINT # 10823464. PLEASE UPDATE RECALL 14V-284 WAS PERFORMED ON THIS VEHICLE IN STEVENS POINT, WISCONSIN ON 12/30/15. SERVICE PERFORMED WAS A SOFTWARE MODIFICATION THAT WAS DESCRIBED TO PREVENT THE VEHICLE FROM GOING INTO MANUAL STEERING MODE WITHOUT WARNING AS A RESULT OF TORQUE SENSOR DEFECT. 01/27/16 THE POWER STEERING ASSIST STOPPED FUNCTIONING WHILE DRIVING AND MOVED TO MANUAL STEERING MODE, 29 DAYS AFTER THE RECALL SERVICE WAS PERFORMED. A "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" WARNING DISPLAY ON THE DASH. I CONTACTED FORD CONSUMER LINE WAS TOLD THAT RECALL ON MY VEHICLE IS CLOSED. THE UPDATE WAS APPLIED. NOW I HAVE TO PAY FOR A TORQUE SENSOR, A COST OF $700.00. MY UNDERSTANDING OF THE RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE WAS TO PREVENT THIS PROBLEM. NOW WE HAVE AN ERROR THE "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" OR WITH TORQUE SENSOR, WOULD THIS REPAIR BE ALLOWED UNDER THE RECALL DUE TO THESE CIRCUMSTANCES? I WAS TOLD THE RECALL WAS CLOSED AND I MAY HAVE TO PAY FOR REPAIRS. I DO NOT BELIEVE THE INITIAL REPAIR WAS SUFFICIENT. WE HAVE NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS UNTIL THIS ONE HAPPEN ON JANUARY 29TH. THIS SAFETY RECALL 14S05/NHTSA RECALL 14V-284 WAS PERFORMED ON DECEMBER 30, 2015. THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION WEBSITE HAS SEVERAL HUNDRED COMMON COMPLAINTS THE SOFTWARE UPDATE DID NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM. WE FEEL WE SHOULD NOT PAY FOR ANY REPAIRS WITH TORQUE SENSOR AT $700.00. THIS SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE RECALL. WE HAVE MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR SERVICE AND IS AT LOCATION TODAY AT A FORD DEALER. I CALL FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE AT AND FILE A COMPLAINT, CASE # 8728537 AND WAS TOLD TO SAVE MY RECEIPTS IN CASE FORD HAS A NEW RECALL THAT COMES OUT TO REIMBURSE THE COST OF REPAIRS. PLEASE NHTSA, SPEAK WITH THE FORD ABOUT THIS. REQUEST FOR A DETERMINATION, IF THEY FEEL THEY ADEQUATELY MET ITS OBLIGATION TO REMEDY THIS RECALL AND WHY THE PROBLEM CONTINUES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/3/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
SAME RESULTS OF THE CONSUMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM 13N03. A DEFECTIVE THROTTLE BODY. CAR BEGAN TO STALL/CHOKE OUT WHILE ACCELERATING. IT CONTINUED TO DO SO UNTIL IT FINALLY LEFT ME ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. FORD IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM BUT BECAUSE MY CAR WAS BUILT AT A DIFFERENT TIME/PLANT DOES NOT OFFER ASSISTANCE FOR A KNOWN UNSAFE PROBLEM. THIS STARTED ON THE FREEWAY AND CONTINUED AFTER I EXITED FOR FEAR OF STALLING ON THE FREEWAY. CAR HAS TO BE TOWED/REPAIRED AT MY EXPENSE. A FRIEND HAS THE SAME MODEL VEHICLE/SAME PROBLEM LAST YEAR, BUT DUE TO HER CAR BEING BUILT AT THAT PLANT/TIME WAS COMPENSATED FOR THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM. AGAIN, FORD IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM BUT MINIMIZES COVERAGE. I CAN'T HELP BUT THINK OF WHAT COULD HAVE HAPPENED IF MY WIFE/DAUGHTER HAD BEEN DRIVING(AT NIGHT). IN REALITY, IT IS UNSAFE AND I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED.

View Details

STEERING

2/2/2016 - TRINITY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TORQUE SENSOR ON THE STEERING FAILED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 75 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER AND TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL DEALER WHO STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ACCORDING TO A POWER STEERING RECALL IN 2014. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE RECALL REPAIR WAS ALREADY PERFORMED. THE CONTACT WAS REFERRED TO THE LOCAL DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 164,642.

View Details

STEERING

2/1/2016 - ANCHORAGE, AK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING); HOWEVER, THE REPAIR DID NOT CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING AFTER THE REPAIR. THE STEERING WHEEL ONLY OPERATED IN MANUAL MODE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/1/2016 - BELLEVUE, NE
WARNING LIGHTS COME ON AND LOSS OF POWER, INFORMS DRIVER TO SAFELY PULL OVER. TO ROAD. TOWED VEHICLE TO FORD DEALER AND WAS TOLD ONLY OPTION WAS TO REPLACE WITH NEW TRANSMISSION AND THAT FORD WOULD NOT ALLOW TO REPAIR THE TRANSMISSION, ONLY REPLACE WITH NEW. VEHICLE HAS 60K MILES AND IS WELL MAINTAINED. OTHER TRANSMISSION MECHANICS HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT FORD WILL NOT SELL THEM PARTS TO REPAIR THE CVTS AND ONLY A FORD DEALER IS AUTHORIZED AND CAN GET THE REPLACEMENT PARTS. THIS IS NOT RIGHT, THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE CVT AND FORD NEEDS TO OWN UP THIS PROBLEM. A $9,200 REPAIR SHOULD NOT BE BORNE BY THE CONSUMER. I CAN SEE OVER THE INTERNET THAT THIS IS AN ON-GOING PROBLEM WITH OTHER CONSUMERS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/1/2016 - BELLEVUE, NE
WARNING LIGHTS COME ON WHEN DRIVING TELLING DRIVER TO SAFELY PULL OVER TO ROAD. TOWED TO FORD DEALER, WAS TOLD TO REPLACE WITH NEW TRANSMISSION. VEHICLE HAS 60K MILES AND WELL MAINTAINED. OTHER MECHANICS WERE TOLD FORD WOULD NOT SELL THEM PARTS FOR REPAIR AND ONLY FORD COULD WORK ON THEM. THIS IS NOT RIGHT, THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE CVT AND FORD NEEDS TO OWN UP. A $9,200 REPAIR SHOULD NOT BE BORNE BY THE CONSUMER.

View Details

STEERING

1/28/2016 - PITTSBURGH, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V248000 (STEERING) BY THE PREVIOUS OWNER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/25/2016 - COMSTOCK PARK, MI
I PURCHASED THIS CAR USED IN SEPTEMBER 2015. THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT. I LOOKED UP THE RECALL WHICH STATES: FORD WILL NOTIFY OWNERS, AND DEALERS WILL UPDATE THE SOFTWARE FOR THE POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE (PSCM) AND THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER MODULE, FREE OF CHARGE. IF A VEHICLE SHOWS A HISTORY OF A LOSS OF THE TORQUE SENSOR SIGNAL OR FAULT CODES RELATING TO THE PSCM WHEN THE VEHICLE IS BROUGHT IN FOR THE RECALL REMEDY, THE AFFECTED COMPONENTS WILL BE REPLACED, FREE OF CHARGE. THE RECALL BEGAN ON JULY 18, 2014. OWNERS MAY CONTACT FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AT 1-800-392-3673. FORD'S NUMBER FOR THIS RECALL IS 14S05. WHEN I WENT TO THE DEALER THEY SAID THE RECALL DID NOT APPLY. I WAS CHARGED FULL PRICE FOR REPLACE THE STEERING TORQUE SENSOR. I CALLED FORD AND THEY SET UP A CASE # WHICH IS CAS86223147. THEY EXPLAINED THAT THE PRIOR OWNER BROUGHT THE CAR IN WHEN THEY RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE. THEY HAD THE SOFTWARE UPDATED BUT DID NOT REPLACE THE TORQUE SENSOR. AS A NEW OWNER AND WITH THE RECALL STILL IN EFFECT, I FEEL THE RECALL SHOULD BE HONORED FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE TORQUE SENSOR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds