Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 132 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (34) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (1) Steering (60)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/12/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
POWER STEERING CUTS OUT INTERMITTENTLY WITH NO WARNING. BROUGHT TO DEALER IN SEPTEMBER 2010 AND THEY COULD NOT FIND PROBLEM. IT HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES SINCE THEN. IN EARLY 2013 IT BECAME MORE FREQUENT AND IN FEBRUARY 2013 IT WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND DIAGNOSED WITH A PROBLEM THAT COULD ONLY BE REMEDIED BY THE COMPLETE REPLACEMENT OF THE STEERING COLUMN. THIS REPAIR WAS DONE FOR A COST OF $1087.41. NO FURTHER PROBLEMS TO DATE. IT HAS SINCE COME TO MY ATTENTION THAT FORD HAS RECENTLY ISSUED A RECALL ON VEHICLES LIKE MINE MANUFACTURED AT THE KANSAS CITY PLANT THAT ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME EXACT ISSUES THAT I HAVE EXPERIENCED. MY VEHICLE WAS MADE AT THE KANSAS CITY PLANT. I CONTACTED FORD AND THEY TOLD ME MY CAR IS NOT INVOLVED IN THE RECALL. I FIND THIS HARD TO BELIEVE AND THINK THE RECALL SHOULD INCLUDE MY VEHICLE. I ASSUME THAT BECAUSE THEIR DATA BASE SHOWS I HAVE ALREADY PAID TO HAVE THE COMPLETE STEERING COLUMN REPLACED (WHICH WAS THE ONLY AVAILABLE REMEDY AT THE TIME) IT IS NO LONGER NECESSARY TO MODIFY THIS VEHICLE. I FEEL IT IS ONLY FAIR THAT I BE REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIR. WE AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

11/6/2014 - BRIDGEPORT, WV
I HAVE A 2008 MERCURY MARINER (VIN # 4M2CU971X8KJ07331) THAT HAD THE POWER STEERING RECALL IN AUGUST 2014, WHERE THE DEALER UPDATED THE SOFTWARE (NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000). THREE MONTHS LATER (11/3/2014) MY POWER STEERING IS OUT AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I AM BEING TOLD SINCE THE RECALL IS CLOSED OUT THAT IT IS NOW MY PROBLEM TO HAVE FIXED, YET UNDER THE RECALL THEY COULD HAVE REPLACED THE STEERING COLUMN AND POWER STEERING MODULE SOFTWARE. I COMPLETELY DO NOT UNDERSTAND THIS. THE SAFETY ISSUE IS STILL PRESENT UNDER THE RECALL AND OBVIOUSLY WAS NOT FIXED, SURELY FORD WOULD WANT TO FIX IT. AT LEAST DO THE THINGS THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN COMPLETED UNDER THE ORIGINAL RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

11/4/2014 - VACAVILLE, CA
I HAD STOPPED BY MY APARTMENT COMPLEX OFFICE TO PICK UP A PACKAGE. I STARTED THE MOTOR AND BEGAN TO BACK OUT. I THEN PUT IT IN DRIVE AND THE STEERING WHEEL WOULDN'T TURN. I TRIED TO DRIVE IT SLOWLY TOWARDS MY APARTMENT TO PARK IT. I RESTARTED THE CAR. ONCE I DID THIS, THE STEERING WAS BEHAVING NORMALLY EXCEPT WHEN IDLING THERE WAS A THUNKING VIBRATION TO WHERE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS MOVING. I HAD REMEMBERED I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE WHICH WAS FOR POWER STEERING. THE TECHNICIAN LOOKED UP THE VIN # AND YES IT WAS A RECALL ITEM. I TOOK IT IN YESTERDAY AND THEY ARE CURRENTLY REPLACING THE PART. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT A LOT OF THE VIBRATION I HAVE FELT RECENTLY CAN BE CONTRIBUTED TO THE ISSUE WITH THE POWER STEERING UNIT. THANKFULLY I WAS NEAR HOME. I HAVE MADE SEVERAL TRIPS BETWEEN WASHINGTON AND NORTHERN CALIFORNIA. IN ADDITION, I HAVE HAD A PROBLEM IN THE MORNINGS ESPECIALLY IN THE COLDER MONTHS WHERE I AM AT A STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN AND STEP ON THE GAS, THE MOTOR WILL REV UP BUT I DON'T MOVE, THEN A SUDDEN KICK IN OF THE TRANSMISSION. THIS IS SCARY WHEN TRYING TO TURN INTO TRAFFIC.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/4/2014 - VACAVILLE, CA
I HAD STOPPED BY MY APARTMENT COMPLEX OFFICE TO PICK UP A PACKAGE. I STARTED THE MOTOR AND BEGAN TO BACK OUT. I THEN PUT IT IN DRIVE AND THE STEERING WHEEL WOULDN'T TURN. I TRIED TO DRIVE IT SLOWLY TOWARDS MY APARTMENT TO PARK IT. I RESTARTED THE CAR. ONCE I DID THIS, THE STEERING WAS BEHAVING NORMALLY EXCEPT WHEN IDLING THERE WAS A THUNKING VIBRATION TO WHERE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS MOVING. I HAD REMEMBERED I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE WHICH WAS FOR POWER STEERING. THE TECHNICIAN LOOKED UP THE VIN # AND YES IT WAS A RECALL ITEM. I TOOK IT IN YESTERDAY AND THEY ARE CURRENTLY REPLACING THE PART. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT A LOT OF THE VIBRATION I HAVE FELT RECENTLY CAN BE CONTRIBUTED TO THE ISSUE WITH THE POWER STEERING UNIT. THANKFULLY I WAS NEAR HOME. I HAVE MADE SEVERAL TRIPS BETWEEN WASHINGTON AND NORTHERN CALIFORNIA. IN ADDITION, I HAVE HAD A PROBLEM IN THE MORNINGS ESPECIALLY IN THE COLDER MONTHS WHERE I AM AT A STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN AND STEP ON THE GAS, THE MOTOR WILL REV UP BUT I DON'T MOVE, THEN A SUDDEN KICK IN OF THE TRANSMISSION. THIS IS SCARY WHEN TRYING TO TURN INTO TRAFFIC.

View Details

STEERING: COLUMN

11/4/2014 - INDIAN LAKE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED EXTREME DIFFICULTY MANEUVERING THE STEERING WHEEL EVERY TIME THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN VERIFIED THE FAILURE BUT INDICATED THAT THE REMEDY WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

11/4/2014 - INDIAN LAKE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED EXTREME DIFFICULTY MANEUVERING THE STEERING WHEEL EVERY TIME THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN VERIFIED THE FAILURE BUT INDICATED THAT THE REMEDY WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/20/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
WHEN I COME TO A COMPLETE STOP THERE IS VIBRATION COMING FROM WHERE THE AIR BAG IS. I HAVE NOTICED THIS THE PAST FEW MONTHS AND IT IS CONSTANT EVERY TIME I AM AT A STOP. THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN I HAVE A PASSENGER AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT GOES OFF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - WESTMINSTER, CO
ACTS LIKE THROTTLE BODY FAILURE. NO POWER WHEN ACCELERATING BUT RPMS GO UP AND THEN SURGES WHEN FINALLY THROTTLE WORKS . WRENCH LIGHT ON.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/16/2014 - WESTMINSTER, CO
ACTS LIKE THROTTLE BODY FAILURE. NO POWER WHEN ACCELERATING BUT RPMS GO UP AND THEN SURGES WHEN FINALLY THROTTLE WORKS . WRENCH LIGHT ON.

View Details

STEERING

10/12/2014 - NEWMARKET, NH
OVER THE PAST 2 YEARS, THE 2008 MERCURY MARINER MY WIFE DRIVES, THE POWER STEERING HAS CEASED TO WORK. FORTUNATELY SHE WAS ABLE TO SHUT THE CAR OF, RESTART IT AND THE POWER STEERING WOULD RESUME. BROUGHT VEHICLE IN FOR RECALL STILL HAVING POWER STEERING BACK IN AUG, 2014, AND DEALER CHECKED FOR CODES AND ONLY REPROGRAMMED MODULE. APPROX IN THE LAST 2 WEEKS OF SEPT 2014, POWER STEERING ONCE AGAIN QUIT AND HAS NOT RETURNED. BROUGHT INTO FORD DUE TO AN ISSUE INVOLVING A MATTER WHICH CAUSE A RECALL AND WAS TOLD THE TORQUE SENSOR WAS BAD. SERVICE CONTACTED FORD AND WAS TOLD THEY WILL NOT COVER THE REPAIR DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE VEHICLE HAS ALREADY HAD A RECALL SERVICE PERFORMED, SATISFYING THE OBLIGATION OF THE RECALL. DUE TO THE ISSUE BEING PART OF THE ORIGINAL RECALL NOTICE, FORD SHOULD DUE THE HONORABLE THING AND COVER THE REPAIR AND PARTS NEEDED. MY WIFE CAN NO LONGER DRIVE THE VEHICLE AND IT IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE HAVING SOMEONE ELSE (I.E. MYSELF) DRIVE THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds