Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 256 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (46) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (14) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (10) Other (1) Steering (152) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

4/21/2017 - BRENTWOOD, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CRUISE CONTROL MALFUNCTIONED AS WELL AS THE RPMS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RPMS WERE INCONSISTENT WITH THE ACTUAL SPEED OF THE VEHICLE AND WENT UP TO 4000 RPMS AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/21/2017 - BRENTWOOD, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CRUISE CONTROL MALFUNCTIONED AS WELL AS THE RPMS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RPMS WERE INCONSISTENT WITH THE ACTUAL SPEED OF THE VEHICLE AND WENT UP TO 4000 RPMS AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/29/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR ON A HIGHWAY, THE WARNING LIGHT CHIMES AND DISPLAYS TO "SAFELY STOP VEHICLE". THE CAR NO LONGER ACCELERATES AND SLOWS TO A STOP EVEN IF YOU DON'T HAVE A SHOULDER TO PULL OFF TO. I NORMALLY JUST HIT MY HAZARD LIGHTS AND PULL TO A STOP, WAIT A FEW MINUTES THEN RESTART THE ENGINE. THIS HAPPEN ONCE A MONTH AND SOMETIMES TWICE OR THREE TIMES IN A ROW. IF THE HYBRID ELECTRONICS SYSTEM OVERHEATS, IT MAY SHUT DOWN THE POWERTRAIN, RESULTING IN A STALL-LIKE CONDITION, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. THERE IS CURRENTLY A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM #14S19. CALLED FORD AND THEY SAID MY VEHICLE ISN'T A PART OF IT EVEN THOUGH IT CLEARLY WAS BUILT IN THE SAME TIME AND HAS THE EXACT ISSUE. VERY DANGEROUS AND SCARY PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/29/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR ON A HIGHWAY, THE WARNING LIGHT CHIMES AND DISPLAYS TO "SAFELY STOP VEHICLE". THE CAR NO LONGER ACCELERATES AND SLOWS TO A STOP EVEN IF YOU DON'T HAVE A SHOULDER TO PULL OFF TO. I NORMALLY JUST HIT MY HAZARD LIGHTS AND PULL TO A STOP, WAIT A FEW MINUTES THEN RESTART THE ENGINE. THIS HAPPEN ONCE A MONTH AND SOMETIMES TWICE OR THREE TIMES IN A ROW. IF THE HYBRID ELECTRONICS SYSTEM OVERHEATS, IT MAY SHUT DOWN THE POWERTRAIN, RESULTING IN A STALL-LIKE CONDITION, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. THERE IS CURRENTLY A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM #14S19. CALLED FORD AND THEY SAID MY VEHICLE ISN'T A PART OF IT EVEN THOUGH IT CLEARLY WAS BUILT IN THE SAME TIME AND HAS THE EXACT ISSUE. VERY DANGEROUS AND SCARY PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

3/26/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE. MY STEERING COLUMN WOULD SHAKE UNCONTROLLABLY, WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN PARKED, STOPPED AT A LIGHT, AND WHILE DRIVING. AFTER I GOT AN ALIGNMENT, THE POWER STEERING COMPLETELY FAILED.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2017 - HARTSDALE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE DASHBOARD. THE INSERT PANEL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, INDICATING THAT THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WAS FAULTY. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE SENSOR MALFUNCTIONED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 145,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2017 - BERGENFIELD, NJ
MY DASHBOARD DISPLAYED "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" AND MY STEERING WENT OUT I SEARCH IN THE WEB AND I FOUND A RECALL 14S05 + ELECTRIC POWER STEERING + 2008-2011 FORD ESCAPE & MERCURY MARINER BUT I PUT MY VIN # IN NHTSA NO INFORMATION ABOUT MY VEHICLE COMES UP. WHAT SHOULD I DO? THANKS.

View Details

STEERING

3/8/2017 - BUTLER, KY
TOOK MY CAR IN FOR THE RECALL BACK IN 2014. I WAS TOLD THAT IF IT WAS NOT OUT, THAT ALL THEY COULD DO IS REPROGRAM IT AND THAT WHEN IT DOES GO OUT THEY WILL REPLACE IT THEN. NOW 2 1/2 YRS LATER, ON MY WAY TO WORK, MY DASHBOARD DISPLAYED "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" AND MY STEERING WENT OUT. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TODAY AND THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS THROWING CODE # B2278, WHICH IS THE STEERING SHAFT TORQUE SENSOR, AND THAT I HAD TO CONTACT FORD ABOUT THE RECALL SINCE I DIDN'T HAVE ANY OPEN RECALLS FOR MY VEHICLE. THE LADY WITH FORD TOLD ME THAT THE RECALL WAS A ONE-N-DONE DEAL AND SINCE THEY REPROGRAMMED IT IN 2014, THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. I ASKED HER FOR THE # TO FILE A COMPLAINT AND SHE TOLD ME THAT ALL COMPLAINTS, EITHER BY PHONE OR E-MAIL, COMES THROUGH THEIR OFFICE AND I WILL GET THE SAME ANSWER FROM ANYBODY WHO RECEIVED IT. I CAN UNDERSTAND A ONE-N-DONE IF THEY REPLACE IT, BUT ALL THEY DID WAS PROLONG THE BREAKDOWN. THEY KNEW IT WAS BAD, SO WHY JUST REPROGRAM IT. THAT'S NOT FIXING ANYTHING. MY SON WAS DRIVING THE CAR JUST HOURS BEFORE I GOT IN IT AND IT WENT OUT. THANK GOD IT DIDN'T HAPPEN TO MY SON, WHO HAS ONLY BEEN DRIVING FOR 1 1/2 YRS.

View Details

STEERING

3/6/2017 - GRASS LAKE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING COLUMN SEIZED AND COULD NOT BE MOVED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING TORQUE SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/22/2017 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE UNTIL AFTER A REPAIR WAS COMPLETED BY A DEALER FOR A POWER STEERING RECALL. THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THEY PROVIDED THE REMEDY, BUT THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO CONFIRM THAT THEY REPAIRED THE VEHICLE. SHORTLY AFTER THE DEALER'S REPAIR, THE STEERING WHEEL HAD A STRONG VIBRATION AND THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE STEERING WHEEL TO ENSURE THAT IT WAS STATIONARY WHILE DRIVING ON THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT PROVIDE A SOLUTION SO THE CONTACT WAS WAITING ON INSTRUCTIONS FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: DP15001 (STEERING). THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds