Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 160 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (1) Steering (84) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (34) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/11/2015 - OAKDALE, MN
I HAD TAKEN MY VEHICLE IN FOR THE RECALL #14S05, IN 2014; IT WAS FIXED IN A MATTER OF 2 HOURS. AFTER THAT MY STEERING WAS VERY FLEXIBLE AND VERY LOOSE, WHICH I THOUGHT I WOULD HAVE TO GET USED TO. THEN WITHIN A FEW MONTHS THE STEERING COLUMN STARTED TO TREMBLE WHILE IN PARK OR WITH APPLIED BRAKE. I THOUGHT IT WAS FRONT END ISSUES, WHICH I TOOK TO THE SHOP AND FOUND NOTHING WRONG. A MONTH WENT BY AND WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY ON MARCH 9, 2015 GOING ABOUT 60MPH WITH MY 5 YEAR OLD GREAT NIECE IN THE CAR, THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT. IT TOOK ALL MY STRENGTH TO KEEP IT FROM CRASHING. I NOTICED ON THE DASHBOARD THAT IT READ ôPOWER STEERING ASSIST FAULTö. IMMEDIATELY I THOUGHT TO MYSELF; I TOOK THIS IN FOR THE RECALL, WHY IS THIS HAPPING. I MADE IT TO A SAFE PLACE AND CALLED THE FORD DEALER AND EXPLAIN EVERYTHING TO THEM. THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULDNÆT KNOW IF IT IS RELATED OR NOT UNTIL THEY RUN A DIAGNOSTIC. LATER THAT NEXT DAY THEY CALL AND SAID THAT IT IS NOT RELATED TO THE SOFTWARE THAT WAS REPLACE, WHICH I DISAGREE, AND THEY QUOTED ME A LARGE AMOUNT TO FIX. I TOLD THEM THAT IT IS FORD RESPONSIBILITY BECAUSE I FEEL THAT IT WAS RELATED TO THE RECALL. I COULD HAD DIED AND MY GREAT NIECE AS WELL. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. I HAD TO PAY FOR TOW AND DIAGNOSTIC AND THE PROBLEM STILL NOT FIX AND I STILL FEEL STRONGLY THAT ITS FORD RESPONSIBILITY. WHEN A RECALL IS PREFORMED AND THE PROBLEM STILL HAPPED THEN ITÆS NO ACCUSE OR DENYING THAT IT IS INDEED A RECALL ISSUE. THIS HAS CAUSE MENTAL STRESS, LOSS OF WAGES, MENTAL STRESS DUE TO AVOIDING AN ACCIDENT AND KEEPING ME AND MY GREAT NIECE OUT OF DANGER. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESS AND FIXED, BEFORE SOMETHING LIKE THIS HAPPENS TO SOMEONE ELSE. WHETHER OR NOT THE RECALL WAS DONE IT DID NOT PERFORM LIKE IT SHOULD HAVE AND IT CAUSED A DANGER.THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED IMMEDIATELY. THANK YOU.

View Details

WHEELS

3/5/2015 - BRANSON WEST, MO
AS WE DRIVE WHEN WE GO INTO A RIGHT OR LEFT CURVE IT ACTS LIKE THE FRONT WHEELS LOCK UP FOR JUST A FEW SECONDS. I HAD A RECALL ON IT BACK IN LATE SUMMER I HAD TAKEN IT TO TRI-LAKE FORD IN BRANSON MISSOURI THEY SAID THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM BUT IS STILL DOING THE SAME THING. PLEASE CHECK AND SEE IF THERE IS ANYTHING THAT CAN BE DON BEFORE IT CAUSES AN ACCIDENT OR I GET STRANDED BESIDE THE ROAD. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP.

View Details

STEERING

3/4/2015 - DOVER , DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST POWER STEERING. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING); HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE SENSOR AND THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/24/2015 - ELKHART, IN
WE BOUGHT OUR 2008 MARINER IN JANUARY 2013 AND HAVE NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH IT UNTIL NOW. WE RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE ABOUT THE STEERING AND HAD IT FIXED. WE STILL NEVER HAVE HAD ANY PROBLEMS. LAST WEEK, ABOUT FEBRUARY 18TH, 2015, I NOTICED THAT WHILE IN PARK WITH VEHICLE RUNNING, THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO VIBRATE/PULSATE WITHOUT ME EVEN TOUCHING IT. SINCE THEN, IT HAS ONLY GOTTEN WORSE, AND I CAN SOMEWHAT FEEL THIS PULSATION EVEN WHILE DRIVING. IT IS NOT ONLY PULSATING NOW, BUT ALSO MAKING A CLICKING OR CLUNKING NOISE WHEN IT PULSES/VIBRATES. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE RUN ACROSS NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME PROBLEM, AND PEOPLE LOSING POWER STEERING BECAUSE OF THIS, AND WHEN THEY HAVE CALLED FORD WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM. I AM REALLY SCARED TO DRIVE IT NOW, BUT DON'T HAVE A CHOICE BECAUSE THIS IS THE ONLY VEHICLE WE OWN.

View Details

STEERING

2/22/2015 - GREENWICH, OH
NEVER HAD A PROBLEM TILL I RECIEVED A PAPER BACK IN NOV.2014 FOR A RECALL ON POWER STEERING SO I TOOK IT IN THEY SAID IT CHECKED OUT THEY UPDATED IT AND EVER SINCE THERE JUST WASNT SOMETHING RIGHT ABOUT OUR STEERING. AT RED LIGHTS THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD VIBRATE AND JERK BACK AND FORTH WITHOUT ME TOUCHING IT AND THEN TODAY I HEARD 3 CHIMES AND SEEN NOTHING POP UP ON DASH THEN BAM THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND SAID POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE AND I HAD TO USE EVERYTHING I HAD TO STEER IT HOME.

View Details

STEERING

2/17/2015 - CRAWFORDSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TWO OTHER OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING FORWARD, THE VEHICLE WOULD PULL TO THE RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING); HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/5/2015 - NEWARK, OH
3 MONTHS AGO I TOOK MY 2008 MERCURY MARINER INTO FORD FOR THE POWER STEERING RECALL. THEY WERE TO DO ONE OF THREE THINGS: UPDATE THE SOFTWARE FOR THE POWER STEERING, REPLACE THE TORQUE SENSOR OR REPLACE THE POWER STEERING COLUMN. THEY ONLY UPDATES THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM SOFTWARE. DAY 1 AFTER IT BEING FIXED, I WAS EXPERIENCE AN EXTREMELY SHAKY STEERING WHEEL AND A "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" INDICATOR THAT WOULD RANDOMLY SHOW UP NOW AND THEN. FORD SAID THEY COULD LOOK AT IT BUT THAT IT WOULD NOT FALL UNDER THE RECALL. FEBRUARY 4, 9:00AM, MY POWER STEERING GOES OUT PULLING INTO WORK. I TOOK MY CAR INTO FORD TODAY AND THEY EXCLAIMED THAT MY POWER STEERING MOTOR AND COLUMN NEED REPLACED BUT AGAIN THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE RECALL. I EXPERIENCED NO PROBLEMS WITH MY POWER STEERING PRIOR TO THE SOFTWARE UPDATE. AFTER READING SEVERAL (A COUPLE HUNDRED) REVIEWS BY OTHER CUSTOMERS, THEY EXPERIENCED THE SAME EXACT INCIDENTS A FEW MONTHS AFTER THE UPDATE, BUT FORD SAID THEY HAD TO PAY THE FULL $1,200 TO REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN. IT IS SICKENING TO KNOW THAT THIS "UPDATE" IS ACTUALLY CAUSING POWER STEERING TO MALFUNCTION AND PUTTING PEOPLE'S LIVES IN DANGER. ON TOP OF IT, FORD SAYS ONCE THE UPDATE IS RAN, THERE IS NOTHING MORE THEY CAN DO UNDER THE RECALL, WHEN THEY KNOW FULL WELL KNOW WHAT THE UPDATE IS DOING AND PUTTING MONEY IN THEIR POCKETS. SOMEONE PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS. LIVES CAN BE LOST DUE TO THIS MALFUNCTION THAT SHOULD NOT BE SWEPT UNDER THE RUG.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/5/2015 - NEWARK, OH
3 MONTHS AGO I TOOK MY 2008 MERCURY MARINER INTO FORD FOR THE POWER STEERING RECALL. THEY WERE TO DO ONE OF THREE THINGS: UPDATE THE SOFTWARE FOR THE POWER STEERING, REPLACE THE TORQUE SENSOR OR REPLACE THE POWER STEERING COLUMN. THEY ONLY UPDATES THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM SOFTWARE. DAY 1 AFTER IT BEING FIXED, I WAS EXPERIENCE AN EXTREMELY SHAKY STEERING WHEEL AND A "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" INDICATOR THAT WOULD RANDOMLY SHOW UP NOW AND THEN. FORD SAID THEY COULD LOOK AT IT BUT THAT IT WOULD NOT FALL UNDER THE RECALL. FEBRUARY 4, 9:00AM, MY POWER STEERING GOES OUT PULLING INTO WORK. I TOOK MY CAR INTO FORD TODAY AND THEY EXCLAIMED THAT MY POWER STEERING MOTOR AND COLUMN NEED REPLACED BUT AGAIN THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE RECALL. I EXPERIENCED NO PROBLEMS WITH MY POWER STEERING PRIOR TO THE SOFTWARE UPDATE. AFTER READING SEVERAL (A COUPLE HUNDRED) REVIEWS BY OTHER CUSTOMERS, THEY EXPERIENCED THE SAME EXACT INCIDENTS A FEW MONTHS AFTER THE UPDATE, BUT FORD SAID THEY HAD TO PAY THE FULL $1,200 TO REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN. IT IS SICKENING TO KNOW THAT THIS "UPDATE" IS ACTUALLY CAUSING POWER STEERING TO MALFUNCTION AND PUTTING PEOPLE'S LIVES IN DANGER. ON TOP OF IT, FORD SAYS ONCE THE UPDATE IS RAN, THERE IS NOTHING MORE THEY CAN DO UNDER THE RECALL, WHEN THEY KNOW FULL WELL KNOW WHAT THE UPDATE IS DOING AND PUTTING MONEY IN THEIR POCKETS. SOMEONE PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS. LIVES CAN BE LOST DUE TO THIS MALFUNCTION THAT SHOULD NOT BE SWEPT UNDER THE RUG.

View Details

STEERING

2/4/2015 - HORNELL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (TIRES). WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT BE REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (TIRES) DUE TO A RECENT REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,363.

View Details

STEERING

2/2/2015 - FAIRMONT, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE CONTACT BELIEVED THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO THE RECALL. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,719.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds