Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 253 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (45) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (10) Other (1) Steering (150) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/24/2017 - HARTSDALE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE DASHBOARD. THE INSERT PANEL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, INDICATING THAT THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WAS FAULTY. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE SENSOR MALFUNCTIONED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 145,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2017 - BERGENFIELD, NJ
MY DASHBOARD DISPLAYED "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" AND MY STEERING WENT OUT I SEARCH IN THE WEB AND I FOUND A RECALL 14S05 + ELECTRIC POWER STEERING + 2008-2011 FORD ESCAPE & MERCURY MARINER BUT I PUT MY VIN # IN NHTSA NO INFORMATION ABOUT MY VEHICLE COMES UP. WHAT SHOULD I DO? THANKS.

View Details

STEERING

3/8/2017 - BUTLER, KY
TOOK MY CAR IN FOR THE RECALL BACK IN 2014. I WAS TOLD THAT IF IT WAS NOT OUT, THAT ALL THEY COULD DO IS REPROGRAM IT AND THAT WHEN IT DOES GO OUT THEY WILL REPLACE IT THEN. NOW 2 1/2 YRS LATER, ON MY WAY TO WORK, MY DASHBOARD DISPLAYED "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" AND MY STEERING WENT OUT. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TODAY AND THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS THROWING CODE # B2278, WHICH IS THE STEERING SHAFT TORQUE SENSOR, AND THAT I HAD TO CONTACT FORD ABOUT THE RECALL SINCE I DIDN'T HAVE ANY OPEN RECALLS FOR MY VEHICLE. THE LADY WITH FORD TOLD ME THAT THE RECALL WAS A ONE-N-DONE DEAL AND SINCE THEY REPROGRAMMED IT IN 2014, THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. I ASKED HER FOR THE # TO FILE A COMPLAINT AND SHE TOLD ME THAT ALL COMPLAINTS, EITHER BY PHONE OR E-MAIL, COMES THROUGH THEIR OFFICE AND I WILL GET THE SAME ANSWER FROM ANYBODY WHO RECEIVED IT. I CAN UNDERSTAND A ONE-N-DONE IF THEY REPLACE IT, BUT ALL THEY DID WAS PROLONG THE BREAKDOWN. THEY KNEW IT WAS BAD, SO WHY JUST REPROGRAM IT. THAT'S NOT FIXING ANYTHING. MY SON WAS DRIVING THE CAR JUST HOURS BEFORE I GOT IN IT AND IT WENT OUT. THANK GOD IT DIDN'T HAPPEN TO MY SON, WHO HAS ONLY BEEN DRIVING FOR 1 1/2 YRS.

View Details

STEERING

3/6/2017 - GRASS LAKE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING COLUMN SEIZED AND COULD NOT BE MOVED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING TORQUE SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/22/2017 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE UNTIL AFTER A REPAIR WAS COMPLETED BY A DEALER FOR A POWER STEERING RECALL. THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THEY PROVIDED THE REMEDY, BUT THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO CONFIRM THAT THEY REPAIRED THE VEHICLE. SHORTLY AFTER THE DEALER'S REPAIR, THE STEERING WHEEL HAD A STRONG VIBRATION AND THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE STEERING WHEEL TO ENSURE THAT IT WAS STATIONARY WHILE DRIVING ON THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT PROVIDE A SOLUTION SO THE CONTACT WAS WAITING ON INSTRUCTIONS FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: DP15001 (STEERING). THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

2/22/2017 - KENTWOOD, MI
HAD MINOR STEERING ISSUES AND FOUND I HAD A RECALL ON IT FOR THE POWER STEERING. TOOK IT TO SEELYE WRIGHT OF KALAMAZOO AND THEY REPROGRAMMED IT. WITHIN TWO WEEKS OF THIS THE STEERING WHEEL WAS JUMPING ALL OVER THE PLACE WHEN STOPPED AND WOULD PULSATE. THIS PROBLEM WAS NOT THERE BEFORE I TOOK IT IN. I CALLED THEM AND THEY TOLD ME THEY DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO SEE ME AND THAT THEY WERE ALL BOOKED UP UNTIL AFTER THE NEW YEAR, ETC. ESSENTIALLY SHOOING ME AWAY. I LATER DID MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AND THEY FOUND THAT I NEED A NEW STEERING COLUMN, WHICH IS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, HOWEVER THEY TOLD ME THAT MY RECALL WAS CLOSED.? THIS DIDN'T MAKE SENSE TO ME SINCE I AM STILL HAVING ISSUES AND NOW I NEED A NEW STEERING COLUMN? I AM BEING FORCED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE WITH BROKEN STEERING THAT SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE RECALL. I HAVE BEEN TAKING THIS VEHICLE BACK AND FORTH TO WORK AND TAKING MY KIDS TO SCHOOL IN THE MORNING. I FEEL LIKE FORD AND EVEN MORE SO SEELYE SHOULD MAKE THIS RIGHT. I AM DRIVING A VEHICLE THAT IS A DANGER TO MYSELF AND OTHERS BECAUSE THE RECALL WAS NOT PROPERLY FIXED. SEELYE CLOSED THE RECALL EARLY AND NOW I AM BEING STUCK WITH FORDS MISTAKE. UPDATE: CALLED FORD AND THEY GAVE ME A CASE NUMBER CA11743787, AND TOLD ME TO TAKE THE CAR IN TO GET FIXED. WHEN I SHOWED UP TO GET THE CAR FIXED I RAN INTO THE "CLOSED" RECALL PROBLEM AGAIN. NOW I AM ON THE PHONE WITH FORD WAITING AN ANSWER TO SEE IF THEY WILL ACTUALLY HONOR THE RECALL AND FIX IT. FORD IS NOT CHOOSING TO HONOR THE RECALL SINCE THE DEALERSHIP CLOSED IT WITHOUT IT BEING FIXED CORRECTLY.

View Details

STEERING

2/16/2017 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, A LOUD NOISE WAS HEARD AND THE POWER STEERING SERVICE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE POWER STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THERE WAS A RECALL CODE INDICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A SENSOR FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ISSUE WAS NOT DUE TO A RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO ANOTHER INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE A RECALL CODE WAS STILL DETECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/15/2017 - JACKSON, MI
WHEN I PULLED OUT INTO TRAFFIC ON MY WAY TO MEIJER THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO STALL LIKE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT TO A STOP LIGHT WHERE I PUT IT INTO PARK. WHEN I TOOK OFF FROM THE TRAFFIC LIGHT EVERYTHING WAS OK, WENT TO MEIJER AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF. WENT SHOPPING & WHEN I STARTED THE VEHICLE AGAIN EVEYTHING SEEMED NORMAL. WITHIN A MILE OF LEAVING MEIJER THE VEHICLE BEGAN THE SAME SYMPTOMS "ACTING LIKE IT WAS GOING TO STALL." WHEN I TRIED TO INCREASE THE SPEED TO GET THE VEHICLE HOME IT WOULD NOT GO OVER 15 MPH. IT WAS LIKE IT WAS CONFUSED ABOUT WHAT GEAR IT WAS IN. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE TO PULL INTO A PARKING SPACE AND THE VEHICLE DID NOTHING. I TURNED IT OFF AND RESTARTED IT THEN PUT IT IN DRIVE AND PULLED INTO A PARKING SPACE.

View Details

STEERING

2/13/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 80 MPH, THE VEHICLE DRIFTED FROM ONE LANE TO ANOTHER. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 131,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/6/2017 - SILVER SPRING, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND FORCED THE CONTACT TO MANUALLY CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE POWER STEERING, BUT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE RECALL DETAILS WERE NOT PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 185,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds