Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 121 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (33) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (6) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Other (1) Steering (52)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING: COLUMN

8/13/2014 - DE RIDDER, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE CHECK ENGINE AND OIL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 154,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/9/2014 - GREENFIELD, WI
MY 08' MERCURY MARINER HAS ONLY 46,000 MILES ON IT AND NOW NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION. WHEN I GOT INTO MY CAR AND TRIED TO PUT IT IN REVERSE, THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE BACKWARDS. IT WORKED IN DRIVE, BUT I HAD TO PUSH MY CAR IN ORDER TO TURN IT AROUND AND DRIVE TO A REPAIR SHOP. I WAS THEN INFORMED THAT I WOULD NEED A NEW TRANSMISSION THAT WOULD COST AROUND $3600 FOR MY CAR INCLUDING THE PART AND LABOR. I HAVE NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT AND HAVE HAD NO PREVIOUS ISSUES WITH MY CAR INVOLVING THE TRANSMISSION. I BELIEVE THAT IT IS UNBELIEVABLE THAT A CAR WITH SUCH FEW MILES ON IT SHOULD NEED A NEW TRANSMISSION. WHEN I CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE THEY STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT HELP ME WITH ANY OF THESE COSTS BECAUSE THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THIS ON MY VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS AN ISSUE WITH THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE MAKE AND MODEL AFTER SOME RESEARCH AND WAS TOLD BY THE MECHANIC SHOP THAT THEY HAD SEEN THIS PROBLEM MANY TIMES BEFORE.

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2014 - KENNEWICK, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED CAUSING HER TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED UNKNOWN INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A COLLISION CENTER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY

7/15/2014 - YONKERS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN RAINING, WATER ENTERED THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE WINDSHIELD. AS A RESULT, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE WOULD GET WET AND CAUSED THE INSTRUMENT PANEL TO FAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,400. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/15/2014 - YONKERS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN RAINING, WATER ENTERED THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE WINDSHIELD. AS A RESULT, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE WOULD GET WET AND CAUSED THE INSTRUMENT PANEL TO FAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,400. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2014 - WEYMOUTH, MA
DECEMBER, 2013, I WAS EXITING PARKING LOT ONTO A MAIN STREET THAT HAD 2 LANES OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. HALFWAY INTO THE STREET, LOST POWER STEERING BUT WAS ABLE TO DRIFT TO SIDE OF ROAD. JANUARY, 2014 CAR WOULD NOT GO OVER 25 MILES PER HOUR, LOST POWER STEERING. FORTUNATELY I WAS NEAR THE GARAGE THAT DOES MY REPAIRS, OIL CHANGES, ETC.. MARCH, 2014, STEERING WHEEL LOCKED, NO POWER STEERING, HAD TO WAIT ABOUT A HALF HOUR UNTIL POWER STEERING RETURNED...KEPT TURNING CAR OFF AND ON EVERY 10 MINUTES. CONTACTED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE 3 TIMES BY EMAIL (JAN-MAR). MY LAST 3 CARS HAVE BEEN FORD PRODUCTS BUT APPARENTLY BRAND LOYALTY IS NOT VALUED. REPLIES WERE--SORRY YOU ARE HAVING ISSUES-NO FOLLOW UP FROM FORD EVEN WHEN HEY KNEW THEY WERE ISSUING A POWER STEERING RECALL AS OF APRIL-MAY, 2014. I PAID $2,500 IN REPAIRS FROM DEC'13-MAR'14.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/9/2014 - WEYMOUTH, MA
DECEMBER, 2013, I WAS EXITING PARKING LOT ONTO A MAIN STREET THAT HAD 2 LANES OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. HALFWAY INTO THE STREET, LOST POWER STEERING BUT WAS ABLE TO DRIFT TO SIDE OF ROAD. JANUARY, 2014 CAR WOULD NOT GO OVER 25 MILES PER HOUR, LOST POWER STEERING. FORTUNATELY I WAS NEAR THE GARAGE THAT DOES MY REPAIRS, OIL CHANGES, ETC.. MARCH, 2014, STEERING WHEEL LOCKED, NO POWER STEERING, HAD TO WAIT ABOUT A HALF HOUR UNTIL POWER STEERING RETURNED...KEPT TURNING CAR OFF AND ON EVERY 10 MINUTES. CONTACTED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE 3 TIMES BY EMAIL (JAN-MAR). MY LAST 3 CARS HAVE BEEN FORD PRODUCTS BUT APPARENTLY BRAND LOYALTY IS NOT VALUED. REPLIES WERE--SORRY YOU ARE HAVING ISSUES-NO FOLLOW UP FROM FORD EVEN WHEN HEY KNEW THEY WERE ISSUING A POWER STEERING RECALL AS OF APRIL-MAY, 2014. I PAID $2,500 IN REPAIRS FROM DEC'13-MAR'14.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/9/2014 - WEYMOUTH, MA
DECEMBER, 2013, I WAS EXITING PARKING LOT ONTO A MAIN STREET THAT HAD 2 LANES OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. HALFWAY INTO THE STREET, LOST POWER STEERING BUT WAS ABLE TO DRIFT TO SIDE OF ROAD. JANUARY, 2014 CAR WOULD NOT GO OVER 25 MILES PER HOUR, LOST POWER STEERING. FORTUNATELY I WAS NEAR THE GARAGE THAT DOES MY REPAIRS, OIL CHANGES, ETC.. MARCH, 2014, STEERING WHEEL LOCKED, NO POWER STEERING, HAD TO WAIT ABOUT A HALF HOUR UNTIL POWER STEERING RETURNED...KEPT TURNING CAR OFF AND ON EVERY 10 MINUTES. CONTACTED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE 3 TIMES BY EMAIL (JAN-MAR). MY LAST 3 CARS HAVE BEEN FORD PRODUCTS BUT APPARENTLY BRAND LOYALTY IS NOT VALUED. REPLIES WERE--SORRY YOU ARE HAVING ISSUES-NO FOLLOW UP FROM FORD EVEN WHEN HEY KNEW THEY WERE ISSUING A POWER STEERING RECALL AS OF APRIL-MAY, 2014. I PAID $2,500 IN REPAIRS FROM DEC'13-MAR'14.

View Details

STEERING: COLUMN

6/26/2014 - FULTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO MAKE A LOUD POPPING SOUND FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WHICH BECAME VERY HARD TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,410 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 97,443.

View Details

STEERING

6/26/2014 - FULTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO MAKE A LOUD POPPING SOUND FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WHICH BECAME VERY HARD TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,410 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 97,443.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds