Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER - 2008 MERCURY MARINER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 240 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (44) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (10) Other (1) Steering (139) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/9/2017 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

1/1/2017 - BALLSTON SPA, NY
CAR WORKING NORMAL, SHUT IT OFF, TURNED IT ON THE NEXT DAY AND HAD NO POWER STEERING ASSISTANCE. WHEN REVIEWING ONLINE OTHER 2008 MERCURY MARINERS WERE RECALLED FOR THE SAME ISSUE. HOWEVER, FORD TOLD ME MY CAR WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. YET THE REPAIR WAS THE EXACT SAME REPAIR THAT WAS NEEDED TO FIX THE RECALLED CARS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/1/2017 - MOORETON, ND
MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING HOME ON THE INTERSTATE. WE HAD JUST MERGED TO THE PASSING LANE TO ALLOW TRAFFIC MERGING FROM AN ON RAMP TO ENTER THE INTERSTATE A VEHICLE NEXT TO US WAS DOING THE EXACT SPEED AS WE WERE WHICH WAS 72 MPH SET CRUISE CONTROL. I HAD VEHICLES APPROACHING FROM THE REAR AND SINCE I WAS IN THE PASSING LANE DECIDED TO SPEED UP AND GET IN FRONT OF THE CAR BESIDE US I PUSHED THE ACCELERATOR ON OUR 08 MERCURY MARINER WITH A 3.0L ENGINE TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR ACCELERATED IN FRONT OF THE OTHER CAR, WHEN I LIFTED MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I PUSHED ON THE BRAKE ONCE WITH NOTHING CHANGING THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I PROCEEDED TO PUMP THE BRAKE THREE ADDITIONAL TIMES IN ABOUT 1 SECOND INTERVALS. FINALLY THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL RELEASE AND THE CAR SLOWED DOWN. WE PRECEDED HOME WITHOUT FURTHER INCIDENT. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS CONDITION AND HAS RESULTED IN SERIOUS INJURIES AND DEATHS IN EARLIER MODEL YEARS OF FORD ESCAPE, MERCURY MARINER AND MAZDA TRIBUTE VEHICLES. I HAVE HAD FORD VEHICLES MY WHOLE LIFE AND HAVE BEEN WORKING ON VEHICLES FOR MORE THAN THIRTY FIVE YEARS. THIS IS NOT NORMAL AND IS NOT THE ONLY TIME OR VEHICLE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO IN THIS YEAR THERE ARE MANY OTHER SIMILAR PEOPLE THAT HAVE SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON THESE FORD AND MERCURY SUV'S ON THE INTERNET EX: CARCOMPLAINTS.COM TO NAME JUST ONE. THE INTERNET IS FILLED WITH THESE DANGEROUS COMPLAINTS. WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO LIVE UP TO YOUR NAME AND PUT THE SAFETY ASPECT FIRST,WHEN DEALING WITH THESE TO RICH TO BE BOTHERED BY RECALLS AUTO MANUFACTURERS?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/1/2017 - MOORETON, ND
MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING HOME ON THE INTERSTATE. WE HAD JUST MERGED TO THE PASSING LANE TO ALLOW TRAFFIC MERGING FROM AN ON RAMP TO ENTER THE INTERSTATE A VEHICLE NEXT TO US WAS DOING THE EXACT SPEED AS WE WERE WHICH WAS 72 MPH SET CRUISE CONTROL. I HAD VEHICLES APPROACHING FROM THE REAR AND SINCE I WAS IN THE PASSING LANE DECIDED TO SPEED UP AND GET IN FRONT OF THE CAR BESIDE US I PUSHED THE ACCELERATOR ON OUR 08 MERCURY MARINER WITH A 3.0L ENGINE TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR ACCELERATED IN FRONT OF THE OTHER CAR, WHEN I LIFTED MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I PUSHED ON THE BRAKE ONCE WITH NOTHING CHANGING THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I PROCEEDED TO PUMP THE BRAKE THREE ADDITIONAL TIMES IN ABOUT 1 SECOND INTERVALS. FINALLY THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL RELEASE AND THE CAR SLOWED DOWN. WE PRECEDED HOME WITHOUT FURTHER INCIDENT. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS CONDITION AND HAS RESULTED IN SERIOUS INJURIES AND DEATHS IN EARLIER MODEL YEARS OF FORD ESCAPE, MERCURY MARINER AND MAZDA TRIBUTE VEHICLES. I HAVE HAD FORD VEHICLES MY WHOLE LIFE AND HAVE BEEN WORKING ON VEHICLES FOR MORE THAN THIRTY FIVE YEARS. THIS IS NOT NORMAL AND IS NOT THE ONLY TIME OR VEHICLE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO IN THIS YEAR THERE ARE MANY OTHER SIMILAR PEOPLE THAT HAVE SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON THESE FORD AND MERCURY SUV'S ON THE INTERNET EX: CARCOMPLAINTS.COM TO NAME JUST ONE. THE INTERNET IS FILLED WITH THESE DANGEROUS COMPLAINTS. WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO LIVE UP TO YOUR NAME AND PUT THE SAFETY ASPECT FIRST,WHEN DEALING WITH THESE TO RICH TO BE BOTHERED BY RECALLS AUTO MANUFACTURERS?

View Details

STEERING

12/21/2016 - HAMMOND, IN
STEERING WHEEL WILL FREEZE UP WHILE DRIVING. STEEL ON STEEL HORRIBLE NOISE WHEN DRIVING. SHIFTER GETS STUCK HAVE TO PUT IT IN NEUTRAL TO START IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/21/2016 - HAMMOND, IN
STEERING WHEEL WILL FREEZE UP WHILE DRIVING. STEEL ON STEEL HORRIBLE NOISE WHEN DRIVING. SHIFTER GETS STUCK HAVE TO PUT IT IN NEUTRAL TO START IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/21/2016 - HAMMOND, IN
STEERING WHEEL WILL FREEZE UP WHILE DRIVING. STEEL ON STEEL HORRIBLE NOISE WHEN DRIVING. SHIFTER GETS STUCK HAVE TO PUT IT IN NEUTRAL TO START IT.

View Details

STEERING

12/21/2016 - BELMONT, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WAITED A COUPLE OF MINUTES, AND RESUMED DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE EPA STEERING GEAR BOX FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,200.

View Details

STEERING

12/19/2016 - BALWIN, MO
POWER STEERING NOT WORKING. THERE WAS A RECALL IN 2014 AND DEALER STATES HE FIXED IT, BUT THEY ONLY DID THE MINIMUM AND RAN DIAGNOSTIC AND THEY WERE DONE. THEY STATED THE CODES DIDN'T POP UP THAT WERE REQUIRED. PER MY MECHANIC THEY ARE POPPING UP AS OF TODAY. I CANNOT GET FORD OR DEALERS TO HELP ME.

View Details

STEERING

12/19/2016 - SOUTH RICHMOND HILL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE FROM A PARKING SPACE, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILED AND THE ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST FAILURE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT, AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING) NO LONGER APPLIED TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 146,310.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds