Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER HYBRID - 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MERCURY

There are 67 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (13) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Engine (23) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (5) Steering (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/19/2015 - LAS VEGAS, NV
MY VEHICLE WAS PART OF THE NATIONWIDE RECALL BY FORD THIS SUMMER. AS INSTRUCTED, I WENT INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND MY CAR WAS "GIVEN THE FIX". NOT 1 LATER MY POWER STEERING IN MY CAR HAS COMPLETELY GONE OUT. IT IS VERY DIFFICULT AND DANGEROUS TO DRIVE MY CAR. I BROUGHT MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT MY CAR HAD ALREADY BEEN DIAGNOSED AND "FIXED" UNDER THE RECALL, SO THERE WAS NOTHING FURTHER THEY COULD DO. MY CAR IS ACTUALLY DOING THE THING THAT THE RECALL WARNED ABOUT AND THEY SENT ME AWAY. IT HAS BEEN 4 MONTHS, I FEEL LIKE I TAKE MY LIFE INTO MY HANDS WHEN I DRIVE MY CAR AND FORD TAKES NO RESPONSIBLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/19/2015 - LAS VEGAS, NV
MY VEHICLE WAS PART OF THE NATIONWIDE RECALL BY FORD THIS SUMMER. AS INSTRUCTED, I WENT INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND MY CAR WAS "GIVEN THE FIX". NOT 1 LATER MY POWER STEERING IN MY CAR HAS COMPLETELY GONE OUT. IT IS VERY DIFFICULT AND DANGEROUS TO DRIVE MY CAR. I BROUGHT MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT MY CAR HAD ALREADY BEEN DIAGNOSED AND "FIXED" UNDER THE RECALL, SO THERE WAS NOTHING FURTHER THEY COULD DO. MY CAR IS ACTUALLY DOING THE THING THAT THE RECALL WARNED ABOUT AND THEY SENT ME AWAY. IT HAS BEEN 4 MONTHS, I FEEL LIKE I TAKE MY LIFE INTO MY HANDS WHEN I DRIVE MY CAR AND FORD TAKES NO RESPONSIBLY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/19/2015 - LAS VEGAS, NV
MY VEHICLE WAS PART OF THE NATIONWIDE RECALL BY FORD THIS SUMMER. AS INSTRUCTED, I WENT INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND MY CAR WAS "GIVEN THE FIX". NOT 1 LATER MY POWER STEERING IN MY CAR HAS COMPLETELY GONE OUT. IT IS VERY DIFFICULT AND DANGEROUS TO DRIVE MY CAR. I BROUGHT MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT MY CAR HAD ALREADY BEEN DIAGNOSED AND "FIXED" UNDER THE RECALL, SO THERE WAS NOTHING FURTHER THEY COULD DO. MY CAR IS ACTUALLY DOING THE THING THAT THE RECALL WARNED ABOUT AND THEY SENT ME AWAY. IT HAS BEEN 4 MONTHS, I FEEL LIKE I TAKE MY LIFE INTO MY HANDS WHEN I DRIVE MY CAR AND FORD TAKES NO RESPONSIBLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/31/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
DRIVING AT 50+ MPH ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND VEHICLE GIVES STOP SAFELY NOW MESSAGE AND SUDDENLY REDUCES GREATLY IN SPEED. IT RANDOMLY HAS OCCUED AND WHEN IT HAS, I HAD TO TRY TO NAVIGATE OUT OF 50+MPH TRAFFIC AFTER THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY REDUCES SPEED TO ABOUT 20 MPH TO A SHOULDER OR OTHER SAFE AREA. HAD THE COOLANT PUMP REPLACED BUT STILL OCCURS. FORD SAID THE TWIN VEHICLE THE 2008 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID HAS RECALLS FOR THE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY AND BLEND DOOR ACTUATOR FOR HYBRID BATTERY COOLING SYSTEM THAT HAVE BEEN IDENTIFIED AS CAUSING THE STOP SAFELY NOW MESSAGE WHICH BECAUSE THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY DROPS FROM HIGHWAY SPEEDS TO ABOUT 20MPH COULD CAUSE SERIOUS ACCIDENTS. SINCE THE 08 MARINER HYBRID IS THE 08 ESCAPE HYBRIDS TWIN, THE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY AND HYBRID BATTERY SYSTEM BLEND DOOR ACTUATOR SHOULD BE RECALLED ON THE MARINER HYBRID ALSO AND REPLACES TO PROTECT LIVES BY PREVENTING ACCIDENTS BECAUSE OF THE DEFECTIVE PARTS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/16/2014 - BOULDER, CO
JUST AFTER STARTING MY CAR AND DRIVING DOWN MY STREET AT ~5MPH, THERE WAS A WARNING SYMBOL (RED TRIANGLE) AND THEN MESSAGE SAYING "STOP SAFELY NOW." THE VEHICLE THEN LOST POWER STEERING, AND POWER TO THE ENGINE. I RESTARTED THE CAR AND MADE IT ~100FT AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS ALSO HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES PREVIOUSLY ON THE HIGHWAY TRAVELING ~65MPH AND WITH THE SAME MESSAGE "STOP SAFELY NOW" MESSAGE APPEARED AND IMMEDIATELY LOST ALL POWER TO STEERING AND THE ENGINE. I WENT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD TO REPLACE THE HYBRID COOLANT PUMP AND BLEND DOORS AND THIS FIXED THE PROBLEM FOR SEVERAL MONTHS UNTIL TODAY. I HAD ALSO JUST TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A RECALL ON THE POWER STEERING. THIS LOSS OF POWER AND ABILITY TO STEER IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS! THIS NEEDS TO BE RECALLED!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/16/2014 - BOULDER, CO
JUST AFTER STARTING MY CAR AND DRIVING DOWN MY STREET AT ~5MPH, THERE WAS A WARNING SYMBOL (RED TRIANGLE) AND THEN MESSAGE SAYING "STOP SAFELY NOW." THE VEHICLE THEN LOST POWER STEERING, AND POWER TO THE ENGINE. I RESTARTED THE CAR AND MADE IT ~100FT AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS ALSO HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES PREVIOUSLY ON THE HIGHWAY TRAVELING ~65MPH AND WITH THE SAME MESSAGE "STOP SAFELY NOW" MESSAGE APPEARED AND IMMEDIATELY LOST ALL POWER TO STEERING AND THE ENGINE. I WENT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD TO REPLACE THE HYBRID COOLANT PUMP AND BLEND DOORS AND THIS FIXED THE PROBLEM FOR SEVERAL MONTHS UNTIL TODAY. I HAD ALSO JUST TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A RECALL ON THE POWER STEERING. THIS LOSS OF POWER AND ABILITY TO STEER IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS! THIS NEEDS TO BE RECALLED!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/16/2014 - BOULDER, CO
JUST AFTER STARTING MY CAR AND DRIVING DOWN MY STREET AT ~5MPH, THERE WAS A WARNING SYMBOL (RED TRIANGLE) AND THEN MESSAGE SAYING "STOP SAFELY NOW." THE VEHICLE THEN LOST POWER STEERING, AND POWER TO THE ENGINE. I RESTARTED THE CAR AND MADE IT ~100FT AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS ALSO HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES PREVIOUSLY ON THE HIGHWAY TRAVELING ~65MPH AND WITH THE SAME MESSAGE "STOP SAFELY NOW" MESSAGE APPEARED AND IMMEDIATELY LOST ALL POWER TO STEERING AND THE ENGINE. I WENT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD TO REPLACE THE HYBRID COOLANT PUMP AND BLEND DOORS AND THIS FIXED THE PROBLEM FOR SEVERAL MONTHS UNTIL TODAY. I HAD ALSO JUST TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A RECALL ON THE POWER STEERING. THIS LOSS OF POWER AND ABILITY TO STEER IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS! THIS NEEDS TO BE RECALLED!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/9/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE SUV LOST ALL POWER WHILE DRIVING 70MPH ON THE HIGHWAY...EVERYTHING WENT OFF INCLUDING THE ENGINE. THE DASHBOARD LED READ PULL OVER IMMEDIATELY

View Details

STEERING

11/7/2014 - CONSHOHOCKEN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT EXTREME FORCE WAS REQUIRED TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE VEHICLE WOULD INDEPENDENTLY RESUME TO NORMAL OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/15/2014 - TACOMA, WA
HAD THE THROTTLE BODY FIXED ONCE TWO MONTHS AGO BECAUSE I WAS GOING 45, MY SUV. HAZARD LIGHT CAME ON AND IT SAID TO SLOW DOWN AND PULL OVER SAFELY. THEN IT HAS HAPPENED THREE MORE TIMES SINCE I GOT IT FIXED, MY SUV IS IN THE SHOP AGAIN, I PAID 845 LAST TIME AND I STILL HAVE $15,000 LEFT TO PAY ON MY CAR. I CAN'T AFFORD TO KEEP PAYING TO GET THIS FIXED, LET ALONE THE SAFETY ISSUE.THE LADY TWO TIMES IT HAPPENED I HAD MY BABY IN THE CAR ON THE FREEWAY AND I WAS IN THE MIDDLE LANE AND IT WAS RAINING... IT WAS FRIGHTENING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds