Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER HYBRID - 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MERCURY

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (17) Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Engine (25) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (8) Steering (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/23/2015 - GORDON, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED, THE IGNITION SWITCH DID NOT MOVE FROM THE OFF TO ON POSITION WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE COOLANT PUMP NEEDED TO BE UPDATED AND REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V526000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 199,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/14/2015 - SAN JOSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE COOLANT PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V526000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/17/2015 - AURORA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STOP SAFETY NOW WARNING MESSAGE ILLUMINATED AND AN UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHEN THE DEFROSTER WAS ACTIVATED, THE WARNING LIGHTS NO LONGER ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V526000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2015 - AURORA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STOP SAFETY NOW WARNING MESSAGE ILLUMINATED AND AN UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHEN THE DEFROSTER WAS ACTIVATED, THE WARNING LIGHTS NO LONGER ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V526000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/13/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
RETURNING FROM FLORIDA TO GEORGIA AND PASSED A VEHICLE AT ABOUT 70MPH AND RELEASED THE ACCELERATOR BUT VEHICLE KEPT ACCELERATING. I PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL BUT VEHICLE KEPT ACCELERATING. I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR AGAIN AND VEHICLE FINALLY STOPPED ACCELERATING. ADDITIONALLY, "STOP SAFELY NOW" MESSAGE INTERMITTENTLY OCCURS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND AROUND TOWN IN TRAFFIC AND SLOWS THE VEHICLE TO PERHAPS 10-15MPH AND TELLS ME TO PULL OVER. THIS HAS HAPPENED RANDOMLY AT UNSPECIFIC TIMES AND IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WHICH COULD BE DANGEROUS. I HAVE CONCERNS THAT THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL FROM FORD SINCE A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE ISSUE FROM FORUMS ONLINE AND IT COULD RESULT IN WRECKS AND MAYBE EVEN FATALITIES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/13/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
RETURNING FROM FLORIDA TO GEORGIA AND PASSED A VEHICLE AT ABOUT 70MPH AND RELEASED THE ACCELERATOR BUT VEHICLE KEPT ACCELERATING. I PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL BUT VEHICLE KEPT ACCELERATING. I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR AGAIN AND VEHICLE FINALLY STOPPED ACCELERATING. ADDITIONALLY, "STOP SAFELY NOW" MESSAGE INTERMITTENTLY OCCURS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND AROUND TOWN IN TRAFFIC AND SLOWS THE VEHICLE TO PERHAPS 10-15MPH AND TELLS ME TO PULL OVER. THIS HAS HAPPENED RANDOMLY AT UNSPECIFIC TIMES AND IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WHICH COULD BE DANGEROUS. I HAVE CONCERNS THAT THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL FROM FORD SINCE A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE ISSUE FROM FORUMS ONLINE AND IT COULD RESULT IN WRECKS AND MAYBE EVEN FATALITIES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/27/2015 - LA PUENTE, CA
2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID WAS GOING 20MPH ON ELECTRIC MOTOR IN TRAFFIC WHEN TRIANGLE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND THE STOP SAFELY NOW SIGN DISPLAYED. THE VEHICLE GAS ENGINE DID NOT COME ON AND I HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE. I PLACE THE CAR IN PARK AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND THE WARNING LIGHT DISAPPEARED. I TOOK IT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTIC ON IT. THEY INDICATED IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY ON THE CAR THAT NEEDS TO BE CLEAN OR REPLACED, AND THE PCM NEEDS TO BE REPROGRAMMED. I REPLACED IT. THIS IS AFTER I TOOK IT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP TO FIX THE TWO RECALLS FOR THIS VEHICLE - ELECTRIC STEERING CONTROL AND ELECTRIC COOLANT PUMP FOR THE HYBRID BATTERY. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS WILL FIXED THE STALLING ISSUE SINCE OTHER VEHICLE OWNERS INDICATED THIS PROBLEM PERSISTS, ONLY TIME WILL TELL. IF THIS IS A PERSISTENT PROBLEM PLEASE ISSUE A RECALL SINCE LOSING PROPULSION IN TRAFFIC IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/27/2015 - LA PUENTE, CA
2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID WAS GOING 20MPH ON ELECTRIC MOTOR IN TRAFFIC WHEN TRIANGLE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND THE STOP SAFELY NOW SIGN DISPLAYED. THE VEHICLE GAS ENGINE DID NOT COME ON AND I HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE. I PLACE THE CAR IN PARK AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND THE WARNING LIGHT DISAPPEARED. I TOOK IT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTIC ON IT. THEY INDICATED IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY ON THE CAR THAT NEEDS TO BE CLEAN OR REPLACED, AND THE PCM NEEDS TO BE REPROGRAMMED. I REPLACED IT. THIS IS AFTER I TOOK IT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP TO FIX THE TWO RECALLS FOR THIS VEHICLE - ELECTRIC STEERING CONTROL AND ELECTRIC COOLANT PUMP FOR THE HYBRID BATTERY. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS WILL FIXED THE STALLING ISSUE SINCE OTHER VEHICLE OWNERS INDICATED THIS PROBLEM PERSISTS, ONLY TIME WILL TELL. IF THIS IS A PERSISTENT PROBLEM PLEASE ISSUE A RECALL SINCE LOSING PROPULSION IN TRAFFIC IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/16/2015 - STUDIO CITY, CA
EXPERIENCED THE SECOND OF TWO IN-TRAFFIC DRIVE-TRAIN SHUT-DOWNS AS DANGEROUS AS THE G.M. IGNITION SWITCH MALFUNCTIONS (SEE ODI#: 10683675) OUR INITIAL STOPPING PLACE - IN A "REVERSE GORE-POINT" BETWEEN THE N/B FREEWAY LANES OF THE I-405 FREEWAY IN SANTA ANA, CA AND AN OUTSIDE TRANSITION ROAD WAS UNSAFE IN THE FULL-DARKNESS OF A NON-ILLUMINATED HIGH-SPEED INTERSECTION; WITH TRAFFIC ZOOMING BY ON BOTH SIDES, WITH THE FLASHERS STILL ACTIVE, I RES-STARTED THE ENGINE -- ALL DASH WARNINGS CYCLED ON THEN OFF NORMALLY; ON A DISTINCT UP-GRADE, I REVV'D THE ENGINE AGAINST THE SERVICE BRAKES, AND WATCHED FOR A SUITABLE GAP IN TRAFFIC OVER-TAKING US ON OUR RIGHT SIDE. SEEING SUCH A GAP, I RELEASED THE SERVICE BRAKES AND ACCELERATED TO 30 MPH TOWARDS THE OUTER SHOULDER...BUT ONLY MADE IT PART-WAY ACROSS THE 2 LANES WHEN THE SECOND SHUT-DOWN OCCURRED...THE SAME "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT...THE SAME SQUEALING ENUNCIATOR TONE... THE SAME WORTHLESS "STOP SAFELY NOW" MESSAGE AND AGAIN, THANKS TO COURTEOUS AND ALERT OVER-TAKING DRIVERS, I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A RELATIVELY BROAD SHOULDER SECTION BESIDE A `DISAPPEARING-++ RIGHT TRAVEL LANE. IT WAS NOW 7:55PM. WE WERE ON OUR CELL PHONE TO THE AAA WHEN A HIGHWAY PATROL OFFICER STOPPED BEHIND US TO CHECK OUR SITUATION, AND PROVIDE ADDITIONAL PROTECTION UNTIL A TOW-TRUCK COULD ARRIVE ON-SCENE. THIS IS THE SECOND OF OUR FAMILY'S FOMOCO HYBRIDS TO EXPERIENCE SUCH IN-USE DRIVE-TRAIN SHUT-DOWNS THAT PROVIDE THE DRIVER WITH NO USABLE WARNINGS OF IMPENDING DOOM - NOT EVEN "LIMP-AWAY POWER" ... THE "AFTER-IT'S-TOO-LATE" MESSAGE-PANEL MIGHT AS WELL DISPLAY "KISS YOUR A$$ GOODBYE". THE IDIOT FOMOCO ENGINEERS WHO DECIDED TO "PROTECT" THE HYBRID BATTERY BY "STALLING" THE VEHICLE ON THE FREEWAY OBVIOUSLY NEVER CONSIDERED WHAT A FREEWAY-SPEED REAR-END IMPACT WOULD DO TO THEIR PRECIOUS BATTERY...OR TO THE "REPLACEABLE" LIVING OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/16/2015 - STUDIO CITY, CA
EXPERIENCED THE SECOND OF TWO IN-TRAFFIC DRIVE-TRAIN SHUT-DOWNS AS DANGEROUS AS THE G.M. IGNITION SWITCH MALFUNCTIONS (SEE ODI#: 10683675) OUR INITIAL STOPPING PLACE - IN A "REVERSE GORE-POINT" BETWEEN THE N/B FREEWAY LANES OF THE I-405 FREEWAY IN SANTA ANA, CA AND AN OUTSIDE TRANSITION ROAD WAS UNSAFE IN THE FULL-DARKNESS OF A NON-ILLUMINATED HIGH-SPEED INTERSECTION; WITH TRAFFIC ZOOMING BY ON BOTH SIDES, WITH THE FLASHERS STILL ACTIVE, I RES-STARTED THE ENGINE -- ALL DASH WARNINGS CYCLED ON THEN OFF NORMALLY; ON A DISTINCT UP-GRADE, I REVV'D THE ENGINE AGAINST THE SERVICE BRAKES, AND WATCHED FOR A SUITABLE GAP IN TRAFFIC OVER-TAKING US ON OUR RIGHT SIDE. SEEING SUCH A GAP, I RELEASED THE SERVICE BRAKES AND ACCELERATED TO 30 MPH TOWARDS THE OUTER SHOULDER...BUT ONLY MADE IT PART-WAY ACROSS THE 2 LANES WHEN THE SECOND SHUT-DOWN OCCURRED...THE SAME "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT...THE SAME SQUEALING ENUNCIATOR TONE... THE SAME WORTHLESS "STOP SAFELY NOW" MESSAGE AND AGAIN, THANKS TO COURTEOUS AND ALERT OVER-TAKING DRIVERS, I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A RELATIVELY BROAD SHOULDER SECTION BESIDE A `DISAPPEARING-++ RIGHT TRAVEL LANE. IT WAS NOW 7:55PM. WE WERE ON OUR CELL PHONE TO THE AAA WHEN A HIGHWAY PATROL OFFICER STOPPED BEHIND US TO CHECK OUR SITUATION, AND PROVIDE ADDITIONAL PROTECTION UNTIL A TOW-TRUCK COULD ARRIVE ON-SCENE. THIS IS THE SECOND OF OUR FAMILY'S FOMOCO HYBRIDS TO EXPERIENCE SUCH IN-USE DRIVE-TRAIN SHUT-DOWNS THAT PROVIDE THE DRIVER WITH NO USABLE WARNINGS OF IMPENDING DOOM - NOT EVEN "LIMP-AWAY POWER" ... THE "AFTER-IT'S-TOO-LATE" MESSAGE-PANEL MIGHT AS WELL DISPLAY "KISS YOUR A$$ GOODBYE". THE IDIOT FOMOCO ENGINEERS WHO DECIDED TO "PROTECT" THE HYBRID BATTERY BY "STALLING" THE VEHICLE ON THE FREEWAY OBVIOUSLY NEVER CONSIDERED WHAT A FREEWAY-SPEED REAR-END IMPACT WOULD DO TO THEIR PRECIOUS BATTERY...OR TO THE "REPLACEABLE" LIVING OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds