Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER HYBRID - 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MERCURY

There are 51 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (5) Steering (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/19/2014 - NEWPORT BEACH, CA
ON THE FREEWAY WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON AT 70 MPH IN THE FAST LANE THE MOTOR UNEXPECTEDLY STOPS AND THE "PULL OVER SAFELY LIGHT" CAME ON. THIS CAUSED A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION CAUSING ME TO MOVE OVER FOUR LANES TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY STOPPED AND PUT IN PARK THE MOTOR RESTARTED. OVER THE LAST THREE MONTHS THIS HAS HAPPENED THREE TIMES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/19/2014 - NEWPORT BEACH, CA
ON THE FREEWAY WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON AT 70 MPH IN THE FAST LANE THE MOTOR UNEXPECTEDLY STOPS AND THE "PULL OVER SAFELY LIGHT" CAME ON. THIS CAUSED A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION CAUSING ME TO MOVE OVER FOUR LANES TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY STOPPED AND PUT IN PARK THE MOTOR RESTARTED. OVER THE LAST THREE MONTHS THIS HAS HAPPENED THREE TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE

7/14/2014 - OVIEDO, FL
PCM, "STOP SAFELY NOW" & SHUT-DOWN PROBLEM AND I HAVE A RED TRIANGLE ILLUMINATED ON THE CLUSTER ACCOMPANIED BY AN AUDIBLE CHIME. IN ADDITION, THE MESSAGE CENTER WILL INDICATE "STOP SAFELY NOW" AND THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE WILL COMMAND THE VEHICLE TO SHUT DOWN. THIS IS WHERE EVER YOU ARE AND IT HAPPENS REALLY QUICKLY IT IS FOR SURE A SAFETY HAZARD.... I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THIS HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED, SINCE SO MANY HAVE REPORTED THE SAME PROBLEMS THROUGHOUT THE YEARS

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/14/2014 - OVIEDO, FL
PCM, "STOP SAFELY NOW" & SHUT-DOWN PROBLEM AND I HAVE A RED TRIANGLE ILLUMINATED ON THE CLUSTER ACCOMPANIED BY AN AUDIBLE CHIME. IN ADDITION, THE MESSAGE CENTER WILL INDICATE "STOP SAFELY NOW" AND THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE WILL COMMAND THE VEHICLE TO SHUT DOWN. THIS IS WHERE EVER YOU ARE AND IT HAPPENS REALLY QUICKLY IT IS FOR SURE A SAFETY HAZARD.... I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THIS HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED, SINCE SO MANY HAVE REPORTED THE SAME PROBLEMS THROUGHOUT THE YEARS

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/14/2014 - OVIEDO, FL
PCM, "STOP SAFELY NOW" & SHUT-DOWN PROBLEM AND I HAVE A RED TRIANGLE ILLUMINATED ON THE CLUSTER ACCOMPANIED BY AN AUDIBLE CHIME. IN ADDITION, THE MESSAGE CENTER WILL INDICATE "STOP SAFELY NOW" AND THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE WILL COMMAND THE VEHICLE TO SHUT DOWN. THIS IS WHERE EVER YOU ARE AND IT HAPPENS REALLY QUICKLY IT IS FOR SURE A SAFETY HAZARD.... I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THIS HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED, SINCE SO MANY HAVE REPORTED THE SAME PROBLEMS THROUGHOUT THE YEARS

View Details

ENGINE

7/11/2014 - VENICE, FL
THE CAR SHUTS OFF WITHOUT WARNING ON THE HIGHWAY AT SPEED CAUSING FEAR, DANGER AND A POTENTIAL FOR DISASTER. STILL DOING THIS MOST RECENT INCIDENT WAS JUNE 25, 2014. FORD REFUSES TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS REOCCURING PROBLEM I HAVE, AS DO MAY OTHER OWNERS OF FORD HYBRID VEHICLES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2014 - VENICE, FL
THE CAR SHUTS OFF WITHOUT WARNING ON THE HIGHWAY AT SPEED CAUSING FEAR, DANGER AND A POTENTIAL FOR DISASTER. STILL DOING THIS MOST RECENT INCIDENT WAS JUNE 25, 2014. FORD REFUSES TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS REOCCURING PROBLEM I HAVE, AS DO MAY OTHER OWNERS OF FORD HYBRID VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2014 - COLUMBIA, MO
TRAVELING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, LEFT LANE @ 70 MPH. I HAD 1 VEHICLE BEHIND ME AND A SEMI TRUCK / TRAILER TO THE RIGHT AND ONE BEHIND HIM. WITHOUT WARNING THE ENGINE DIED AND I BEGAN COASTING IN TRAFFIC. I HIT MY FLASHERS AND THANKFULLY THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME WAS ALERT AND NOTICED MY INSTANT LOSS OF SPEED AND FLASHERS. THEY SLOWED LONG ENOUGH FOR BOTH BIG TRUCKS TO PASS ON MY RIGHT AND FOR ME TO GET OVER TO THE SHOULDER ON I-70. QUICK RESEARCH TURNS UP POSSIBLE ISSUES WITH A MECHANICAL / ELECTRICAL PUMP OR MAYBE THE THROTTLE BODY. I CALLED THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND TALKED TO THE SERVICE MANAGER WHO DIDN'T HAVE A CLUE WHAT WOULD CAUSE THE ISSUE AND WAS SURPRISED THAT I FOUND SEVERAL POSTINGS ON THE INTERNET WHERE PEOPLE HAD THE SAME ISSUE IN THE SAME MODEL VEHICLE. I VISITED THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND SPOKE WITH THE PARTS DEPARTMENT (2 INDIVIDUALS) WHO COULDN'T DECIDE WHICH WAS THE CORRECT PART NUMBER FOR THE MECHANICAL / ELECTRICAL PUMP. IT IS JUST A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE EXPERIENCES THIS ISSUE AND CAN'T GET OUT OF TRAFFIC AND IS INVOLVED IN A SERIOUS OR FATAL ACCIDENT AS A RESULT. IT IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND I ALSO NOTICED THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FILING BECAUSE SO MANY HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS SAME ISSUE. I'D BE INTERESTED TO KNOW WHAT CRITERIA NEEDS TO BE MET BEFORE THE NHTSA TAKES ACTION AGAINST FORD / MERCURY.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2014 - BOULDER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT AFTER THE INCIDENT THE HIGH TEMPERATURE SENSOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/13/2014 - BOULDER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT AFTER THE INCIDENT THE HIGH TEMPERATURE SENSOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds