Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MARINER HYBRID - 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MERCURY

There are 81 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (17) Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Structure (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine (25) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (11) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/11/2016 - BALLWIN, MO
APRIL 2016 THE ABS LIGHT WAS ON ALONG WITH THE MESSAGE "CHECK BRAKE SYSTEM AND THE REGEN BRAKES." WHEN BREAKING THE VEHICLE TOOK MUCH LONGER THAN NORMAL TO SLOW AND STOP. THE REPAIR FOR THIS WAS $4100 ($4800 WITH LABOR). I WAS ADVISED THAT THIS WAS A SAFETY ISSUE SINCE THE BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND TO NOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE. I CHOSE TO HAVE THE REPAIR SINCE I NEED THE VEHICLE FOR WORK AND STILL OWE MONEY ON IT. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND IT APEARS THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AS OTHER COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA AND OTHER FORUMS ATTEST TO. I CONTACTED FORD AND ASKED THAT I BE REIMBURSED AS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. THEY DECLINED MY REQUEST.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/19/2016 - CONYERS, GA
UPON STARTUP AND SOMETIMES WHEN DRIVING THE ABS WARNING LIGHT WILL ILLUMINATE ALONG WITH THE SERVICE BRAKE SYSTEM AND THE REGENERATIVE BRAKE SYSTEM SHUTDOWN. CAUSING THE BRAKES TO BECOME WEAK AND INEFFECTIVE.

View Details

STEERING

4/21/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO POWER STEERING RECALL NEVER DONE ON VEHICLE BUT DEALERSHIP STATES POWER STEERING RECALL REPAIRS WERE COMPLETED. THE CONSUMER IS CURRENTLY EXPERIENCING A PROBLEM WITH THE STEERING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/26/2016 - WILMINGTON, DE
WHEN BRAKING IT TAKES THE VEHICLE ALONG TIME TO COME TO A STOP WHILE DRIVING DEALER SAYS THAT THE HYDRAULIC CONTROL UNIT IS BAD ( HCU ) THEY WANT 4,000 DOLLARS TO FIX IT.

View Details

HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/23/2015 - GORDON, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED, THE IGNITION SWITCH DID NOT MOVE FROM THE OFF TO ON POSITION WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE COOLANT PUMP NEEDED TO BE UPDATED AND REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V526000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 199,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/14/2015 - SAN JOSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE COOLANT PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V526000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2015 - AURORA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STOP SAFETY NOW WARNING MESSAGE ILLUMINATED AND AN UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHEN THE DEFROSTER WAS ACTIVATED, THE WARNING LIGHTS NO LONGER ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V526000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/17/2015 - AURORA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY MARINER HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STOP SAFETY NOW WARNING MESSAGE ILLUMINATED AND AN UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHEN THE DEFROSTER WAS ACTIVATED, THE WARNING LIGHTS NO LONGER ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V526000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 (STEERING). THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/13/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
RETURNING FROM FLORIDA TO GEORGIA AND PASSED A VEHICLE AT ABOUT 70MPH AND RELEASED THE ACCELERATOR BUT VEHICLE KEPT ACCELERATING. I PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL BUT VEHICLE KEPT ACCELERATING. I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR AGAIN AND VEHICLE FINALLY STOPPED ACCELERATING. ADDITIONALLY, "STOP SAFELY NOW" MESSAGE INTERMITTENTLY OCCURS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND AROUND TOWN IN TRAFFIC AND SLOWS THE VEHICLE TO PERHAPS 10-15MPH AND TELLS ME TO PULL OVER. THIS HAS HAPPENED RANDOMLY AT UNSPECIFIC TIMES AND IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WHICH COULD BE DANGEROUS. I HAVE CONCERNS THAT THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL FROM FORD SINCE A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE ISSUE FROM FORUMS ONLINE AND IT COULD RESULT IN WRECKS AND MAYBE EVEN FATALITIES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/13/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
RETURNING FROM FLORIDA TO GEORGIA AND PASSED A VEHICLE AT ABOUT 70MPH AND RELEASED THE ACCELERATOR BUT VEHICLE KEPT ACCELERATING. I PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL BUT VEHICLE KEPT ACCELERATING. I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR AGAIN AND VEHICLE FINALLY STOPPED ACCELERATING. ADDITIONALLY, "STOP SAFELY NOW" MESSAGE INTERMITTENTLY OCCURS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND AROUND TOWN IN TRAFFIC AND SLOWS THE VEHICLE TO PERHAPS 10-15MPH AND TELLS ME TO PULL OVER. THIS HAS HAPPENED RANDOMLY AT UNSPECIFIC TIMES AND IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WHICH COULD BE DANGEROUS. I HAVE CONCERNS THAT THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL FROM FORD SINCE A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE ISSUE FROM FORUMS ONLINE AND IT COULD RESULT IN WRECKS AND MAYBE EVEN FATALITIES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds