Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY SABLE - 2008 MERCURY SABLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 40 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY SABLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY SABLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY SABLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (2) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Power Train (8) Steering (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - PLOVER, WI
THE DRIVERS SIDE HEATED SEAT DIED SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE. THIS WAS ONE OF THE SELLING POINTS FOR ME, I HAD IT REPLACED AND THE REPLACEMENT DIDN'T MAKE IT THROUGH THE WINTER OF THAT YEAR. I DIDN'T REALIZE THIS WAS A PROBLEM COMMON WITH THE SABLE. I CANNOT AFFORT TO HAVE IT REPLACED AGAIN. IS THIS A FIRE HAZARD. I AM ALSO HAVING A TERRIBLE PEELING AND CHIPPING PROBLEM WITH THE PAINT.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION

7/2/2014 - MERRITT ISLAND, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY SABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT BECAME DIFFICULT TO STEER THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,650.

View Details

STEERING

6/18/2014 - MONTGOMERY, AL
STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT (VERY HARD) TO TURN. TOOK THE CAR TO A FORD SERVICE AGENT AND THE DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT THE STEERING RACK WAS LOOSE. A NEW RACK WAS INSTALLED AND RETESTED. FORD SERVICE TOLD ME THAT THE CAR WAS HAZARDOUS AND IT HAD TO BE REPAIRED RIGHT THEN AND THERE. ASKED FORD MANUFACTURE TO BE REIMBURSE AND WAS DENIED. REPAIR WAS DONE ON DECEMBER 31, 2012.

View Details

STEERING

5/13/2014 - STREATOR, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY SABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, SHE HEARD A POPPING NOISE AS THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE RIGHT AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT CAN NO LONGER TURN TO THE RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/8/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE INFORMATION CENTER AT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER FAILED. NO INFORMATION SHOWS. CHECKED WEBSITE, IT APPEARS THAT THIS PROBLEM IS QUITE COMMON FOR A LOT OF OWNERS. FORD SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FOR A RECALL.

View Details

SEATS

3/8/2014 - OAK RIDGE, NJ
NOT LONG AFTER I BOUGHT THIS CAR, THE ELEMENT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE HEATED SEAT STOPPED WORKING. IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND IT WAS REPAIRED. THEN IT WENT AGAIN AND IT WAS UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND AGAIN IT WAS REPAIRED. NOW THIS WINTER, I WENT TO USE IT AND AGAIN THE ELEMENT WENT FOR THE THIRD TIME. I FEEL THAT SOMETHING HAS TO BE CAUSING THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE IT COULD POSSIBLY BE DANGEROUS AND START A FIRE. THE CAR DEALERSHIP SAYS THAT THEY WILL REPAIR IT FOR $429.00 (THIS IS A 10% DISCOUNT) BUT I FEEL THAT SINCE THIS HAS HAPPENED THREE TIMES ALREADY FORD SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR AND ALSO FIND THE PROBLEM THAT IS CAUSING THIS ELEMENT TO FAIL IN THE FIRST PLACE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2013 - COLUMBIA, SC
ON THURSDAY AROUND 11:30 PM, ON SEPT.12, 2013, WHILE MY 77 YEAR OLD MOTHER SLEPT HER 2008, MERCURY SABLE PREMIER MYSTERIOUSLY CAUGHT FIRE AND BURNED WHILE PARKED UNDER HER CAR PORCH ATTACHED TO HER HOME. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED AND DAMAGE OCCURRED TO HER HOME. WERE IT NOT FOR HER LITTLE DOG BARKING AND RUNNING BACK AND FORTH FROM HER BEDROOM TO THE CAR PORCH DOOR, SHE LIKELY WOULD NOT HAVE AWAKEN. SHE LOOKED OUT THE PEEP HOLE OF HER DOOR TO THE CAR PORCH AND SAY SMOKE AND FIRE EMITTING IT IS VERY LIKELY HER HOME AND SHE COULD HAVE BEEN LOST IN THE FIRE. ALTHOUGH SHOOK UP EMOTIONALLY, WE ARE THANKFUL ONLY HER CAR WAS LOST. FORTUNATELY, MY MOTHER REMAINED CALM ENOUGH TO CALL EMERGENCY SERVICES (POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT) THAT ARRIVED IN VERY SHORT TIME TO PUT THE FIRE ENGULFED VEHICLE OUT. ACCORDING TO FEEDBACK FROM THE LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT ARSON INVESTIGATOR AND INVESTIGATORS REPRESENTING OUR AUTO AND HOME INSURANCE COMPANIES, IT APPEARS THE FIRE LIKELY STARTED IN THE TRUNK OF THE SABLE IN THE ELECTRICAL WIRING SYSTEM OR REVERSE SENSING MODULE AS I BELIEVE IT MIGHT BE REFERRED TO FOR MY MOTHER-++S VEHICLE. THE INCIDENT HAD A CONSIDERABLE DEGREE OF EMOTIONAL AND PSYCHOLOGICAL IMPACT ON MY MOTHER GIVEN AS A SENIOR CITIZEN THIS VEHICLE REPRESENTED A LAST VESTIGE OF FREEDOM AND INDEPENDENCE. .

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/7/2013 - CLIFTON PARK, NY
TRANSMISSION INTERMITTENTLY WOULD STAY IN 5TH GEAR AND NOT SHIFT -- LIMP HOME MODE. DEALERSHIP REPLACED OUTPUT SHAFT SENSOR AND TURBINE SENSOR, AND THIS RESOLVED THE PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/20/2013 - HOUSTON , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY SABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE JERKED WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC WHERE A DIAGNOSTIC WAS PERFORMED, WHICH LOCATED THE FAILURE AT THE CONTINUOUS VARIABLE TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS REBUILT. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 52,850.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/23/2013 - GUTTENBERG, IA
ACCELERATOR STOPPED RESPONDING AND VEHICLE STALLED SHORTLY AFTER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds