Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY SABLE - 2008 MERCURY SABLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 45 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY SABLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY SABLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY SABLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Suspension (1)
Engine (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (3) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/7/2015 - CHARLES TOWN, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY SABLE. WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A LIGHT POLE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MULTIPLE DEALERS WHO WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/1/2015 - LURAY, VA
ON FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 27TH, 2015 AT APPROXIMATELY 9:30AM, I WAS INVOLVED IN A CAR ACCIDENT ON A MAJOR INTERSTATE. THE INCIDENT INVOLVED TWO VEHICLES, MINE AND ANOTHER 4 DOOR CAR. I ENDED UP HITTING THE PERSON IN FRONT OF ME GOING APPROXIMATELY 74 MPH, NO ONE WAS SERIOUSLY INJURED, HOWEVER NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION, TWO LOCAL MECHANICS WHO ARE EVALUATING THE CAR HAVE STATED THAT THEY CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHY THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, FOR THE SENSORS WERE ACTIVATED, AND THE AIRBAGS SHOULD HAVE CAME OUT.

View Details

STEERING

10/7/2014 - WATERVILLE, OH
LOSS OF POWER STEERING ASSIST WHILE DRIVING ON OHIO TURNPIKE 07/19/2014. WITH NO POWER STEERING IT WAS A VERY DANGEROUS CONDITION WHILE ENTERING A SERVICE PLAZA. ALSO SUBSEQUENT MANEUVERING ON CITY STREETS WAS NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE. SUBSEQUENT REPAIR (07/23/2014) OF LOWER CRADLE, AND INSTALLED NEW (UPDATED) MOTOCRAFT RACK AND PINION UNIT. NEW ALIGNMENT WAS PERFORMED PER TSB. VEHICLE TOOK 3 DAYS TO REPAIR. COST TO REPAIR VEHICLE WAS OVER $1000. FORD ISSUED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN (09-5-7) ON MARCH 23, 2009 BUT TO MY KNOWLEDGE HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/17/2014 - CANONSBURG, PA
WE WERE STOPPED BEHIND TRAFFIC, AND AS WE SLOWLY STARTED TO PROCEED, THE CAR SURGED AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED, AND AS THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED, THEY EITHER WERE NOT WORKING OR ELSE IT WAS THE ABS COMING ON. THIS WAS A DRY, SUNNY DAY-NO MOISTURE ON THE ROAD-OF COURSE THAT WOULD NOT HAVE HAD A BEARING ON WHY THE CAR SURGED/ACCELERATED. THEN THE CAR SHUT ITSELF OFF COMPLETELY. WE THEN GOT IT STARTED AGAIN, AND NOTHING HAPPENED GETTING IT BACK THE APROXX. 4 MILES BACK TO HOME-ALL WAS NORMAL AFTER THE INCIDENT ALL THE WAY TO HOME, THOUGH IT HAS NOT BEEN DRIVEN SINCE. IT HAS BEEN REPORTED TO FORD HQ'S AND TO THE DEALERSHIP WE PURCHASED FROM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/17/2014 - CANONSBURG, PA
WE WERE STOPPED BEHIND TRAFFIC, AND AS WE SLOWLY STARTED TO PROCEED, THE CAR SURGED AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED, AND AS THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED, THEY EITHER WERE NOT WORKING OR ELSE IT WAS THE ABS COMING ON. THIS WAS A DRY, SUNNY DAY-NO MOISTURE ON THE ROAD-OF COURSE THAT WOULD NOT HAVE HAD A BEARING ON WHY THE CAR SURGED/ACCELERATED. THEN THE CAR SHUT ITSELF OFF COMPLETELY. WE THEN GOT IT STARTED AGAIN, AND NOTHING HAPPENED GETTING IT BACK THE APROXX. 4 MILES BACK TO HOME-ALL WAS NORMAL AFTER THE INCIDENT ALL THE WAY TO HOME, THOUGH IT HAS NOT BEEN DRIVEN SINCE. IT HAS BEEN REPORTED TO FORD HQ'S AND TO THE DEALERSHIP WE PURCHASED FROM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/17/2014 - CANONSBURG, PA
WE WERE STOPPED BEHIND TRAFFIC, AND AS WE SLOWLY STARTED TO PROCEED, THE CAR SURGED AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED, AND AS THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED, THEY EITHER WERE NOT WORKING OR ELSE IT WAS THE ABS COMING ON. THIS WAS A DRY, SUNNY DAY-NO MOISTURE ON THE ROAD-OF COURSE THAT WOULD NOT HAVE HAD A BEARING ON WHY THE CAR SURGED/ACCELERATED. THEN THE CAR SHUT ITSELF OFF COMPLETELY. WE THEN GOT IT STARTED AGAIN, AND NOTHING HAPPENED GETTING IT BACK THE APROXX. 4 MILES BACK TO HOME-ALL WAS NORMAL AFTER THE INCIDENT ALL THE WAY TO HOME, THOUGH IT HAS NOT BEEN DRIVEN SINCE. IT HAS BEEN REPORTED TO FORD HQ'S AND TO THE DEALERSHIP WE PURCHASED FROM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/17/2014 - RICHFIELD, WI
THERE WERE TWO SEPARATE INCIDENTS WITH THIS SAME VEHICLE. INCIDENT #1 WITH FIRST DRIVER: AT ABOUT 5 MPH, THE GAS PEDAL WAS PRESSED SIGNIFICANTLY DOWN. THE GAS PEDAL THEN STUCK DOWN IN THAT POSITION AND THE CAR STARTED TO QUICKLY ACCELERATE. AFTER A QUICK TAP ON THE GAS PEDAL, THE GAS PEDAL STARTED TO OPERATE NORMALLY. AT NO POINT WAS THE CRUISE CONTROL ON. WE TOOK OUR CAR IN TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALER. THEY INSPECTED THE CAR BUT DIDN'T FIND ANY PROBLEMS. INCIDENT #2 WITH SECOND DRIVER: A COUPLE OF MONTHS LATER (ESTIMATED MILEAGE 38,000), WE WERE DRIVING AT ABOUT 45 MPH AND I PRESSED THE PEDAL DOWN ALMOST ALL THE WAY. THE GAS PEDAL STUCK AGAIN AND THE CAR STARTED TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY TO ABOUT 65 MPH. I AM NOT SURE WHETHER CRUISE CONTROL WAS ON OR NOT. I SHIFTED OUT OF DRIVE INTO NEUTRAL WHILE THE ENGINE WAS AT HIGH RPM. AFTER AGGRESSIVELY STOMPING ON THE CAR PEDAL, THE GAS PEDAL STARTED WORKING AGAIN NORMALLY. I SHIFTED BACK INTO DRIVE AND THE CAR THEN DROVE NORMALLY. THE FIRST DRIVER WAS IN THE CAR WHEN THIS HAPPENED. BOTH DRIVERS HAVE ABOUT 35 YEARS OF DRIVING EXPERIENCE. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED! IN OUR CASE, NO ONE WAS INJURED BUT WITH LESS EXPERIENCED DRIVERS IT COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH DIFFERENT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/17/2014 - RICHFIELD, WI
THERE WERE TWO SEPARATE INCIDENTS WITH THIS SAME VEHICLE. INCIDENT #1 WITH FIRST DRIVER: AT ABOUT 5 MPH, THE GAS PEDAL WAS PRESSED SIGNIFICANTLY DOWN. THE GAS PEDAL THEN STUCK DOWN IN THAT POSITION AND THE CAR STARTED TO QUICKLY ACCELERATE. AFTER A QUICK TAP ON THE GAS PEDAL, THE GAS PEDAL STARTED TO OPERATE NORMALLY. AT NO POINT WAS THE CRUISE CONTROL ON. WE TOOK OUR CAR IN TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALER. THEY INSPECTED THE CAR BUT DIDN'T FIND ANY PROBLEMS. INCIDENT #2 WITH SECOND DRIVER: A COUPLE OF MONTHS LATER (ESTIMATED MILEAGE 38,000), WE WERE DRIVING AT ABOUT 45 MPH AND I PRESSED THE PEDAL DOWN ALMOST ALL THE WAY. THE GAS PEDAL STUCK AGAIN AND THE CAR STARTED TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY TO ABOUT 65 MPH. I AM NOT SURE WHETHER CRUISE CONTROL WAS ON OR NOT. I SHIFTED OUT OF DRIVE INTO NEUTRAL WHILE THE ENGINE WAS AT HIGH RPM. AFTER AGGRESSIVELY STOMPING ON THE CAR PEDAL, THE GAS PEDAL STARTED WORKING AGAIN NORMALLY. I SHIFTED BACK INTO DRIVE AND THE CAR THEN DROVE NORMALLY. THE FIRST DRIVER WAS IN THE CAR WHEN THIS HAPPENED. BOTH DRIVERS HAVE ABOUT 35 YEARS OF DRIVING EXPERIENCE. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED! IN OUR CASE, NO ONE WAS INJURED BUT WITH LESS EXPERIENCED DRIVERS IT COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH DIFFERENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE

7/22/2014 - PLOVER, WI
THE DRIVERS SIDE HEATED SEAT DIED SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE. THIS WAS ONE OF THE SELLING POINTS FOR ME, I HAD IT REPLACED AND THE REPLACEMENT DIDN'T MAKE IT THROUGH THE WINTER OF THAT YEAR. I DIDN'T REALIZE THIS WAS A PROBLEM COMMON WITH THE SABLE. I CANNOT AFFORD TO HAVE IT REPLACED AGAIN. IS THIS A FIRE HAZARD. I AM ALSO HAVING A TERRIBLE PEELING AND CHIPPING PROBLEM WITH THE PAINT.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

7/22/2014 - PLOVER, WI
THE DRIVERS SIDE HEATED SEAT DIED SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE. THIS WAS ONE OF THE SELLING POINTS FOR ME, I HAD IT REPLACED AND THE REPLACEMENT DIDN'T MAKE IT THROUGH THE WINTER OF THAT YEAR. I DIDN'T REALIZE THIS WAS A PROBLEM COMMON WITH THE SABLE. I CANNOT AFFORD TO HAVE IT REPLACED AGAIN. IS THIS A FIRE HAZARD. I AM ALSO HAVING A TERRIBLE PEELING AND CHIPPING PROBLEM WITH THE PAINT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds