Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY SABLE - 2008 MERCURY SABLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 51 complaints filed for the 2008 MERCURY SABLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 MERCURY SABLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 MERCURY SABLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (3) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/23/2016 - BOWIE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY SABLE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE ENGINE, THROTTLE, WRENCH, AND AIR BAG INDICATORS REMAINED ILLUMINATED SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS PLACED IN REVERSE, AND THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE FROM THE TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/23/2016 - BOWIE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY SABLE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE ENGINE, THROTTLE, WRENCH, AND AIR BAG INDICATORS REMAINED ILLUMINATED SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS PLACED IN REVERSE, AND THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE FROM THE TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/23/2016 - BOWIE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY SABLE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE ENGINE, THROTTLE, WRENCH, AND AIR BAG INDICATORS REMAINED ILLUMINATED SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS PLACED IN REVERSE, AND THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE FROM THE TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/22/2016 - PLEASANT VALLEY, NY
WHILE ON CRUISE CONTROL ON A 6 LANE DIVIDED HIGHWAY THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FROM 72 TO 85+ MPH. BRAKES DID NOT DISENGAGE CRUISE CONTROL AND COULD NOT SLOW DOWN CAR. I HAD TO SHUT THE ENGINE OFF TO REGAIN CONTROL AND WITH FLASHERS ON I MANAGED TO GET TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AND STOP THE CAR. TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR TO ESTABLISH IF CONDITION CLEARED UP, BUT COULD NOT. HAD CAR TOWED TO FORD DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE CONDITION THE FOLLOWING MORNING. THEY CHANGED THE MASS AIR SENSOR BUT SAID IT WAS UNRELATED TO THE ACCELERATION PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/10/2015 - PUYALLUP, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY SABLE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY HESITATE TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/10/2015 - PUYALLUP, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY SABLE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY HESITATE TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/25/2015 - BATON ROUGE, LA
THE VEHICLE STARTED AND IMMEDIATELY SOMETHING WAS WRONG. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IT WAS CONFUSING BECAUSE THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN RUNNING FLAWLESSLY WITH A PROBLEM-FREE START JUST HOURS BEFORE. BACKING IT OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, ODD NOISES AND A PROBLEM JUST PUSHING THE GAS WAS EVIDENT THAT SOMETHING MAJOR WAS WRONG WITH THE CAR. SCARED TO DRIVE IT, I FOLLOWED MY HUSBAND TO THE REPAIR SHOP WE USE, JUST A FEW MILES AWAY. IT SEEMED LIKE A FEAT JUST TO GET THE WELL-KEPT CAR THERE. WE INHERITED THE 2008 SABLE WITH VERY LOW MILEAGE FROM MY HUSBAND'S GRANDPARENTS. REGULAR, RECOMMENDED MAINTENANCE WAS ROUTINELY DONE TO KEEP THE CAR IN TIP-TOP SHAPE. THIS PROBLEM CAME OUT OF NOWHERE. THE REPAIR SHOP CALLED US LATER ON IN THE AFTERNOON WITH A $2,500 ESTIMATE FOR THE NECESSARY REPAIRS. "REPAIRS FOR WHAT?!?" I YELLED, TO NO ONE IN PARTICULAR AND TO EVERYONE AROUND ME AT THE SAME TIME. THE FAMILY-OWNED SHOP HAS BEEN SO GOOD TO US AND WANTED TO EXPLAIN EVERYTHING. HE STARTED WITH A MENTION OF A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN (TSB 14-0059) FROM FORD - OUTLINING OUR PROBLEM EXACTLY, AND THE NEEDED REPAIRS. I ASKED IF THE CAR'S WARRANTY WOULD COVER THE DAMAGES AND THE ANSWER WAS, "NO." NO, BECAUSE THE TSB WAS ISSUED EXACTLY 14 DAYS AFTER THE WARRANTY WOULD HAVE LAPSED ON THE NEWEST MODEL CAR IT COVERED. WE WERE COVERED FOR 60,000 MILES AND BARELY MISSED THAT CUT-OFF (BY 1,159 MILES). NO DICE. WE'D HAVE TO PAY FOR FORD'S MISTAKE. THE PROBLEM: THE CAR'S ECM (ENGINE CONTROL MODULE) MALFUNCTIONED AND SENT TOO MUCH POWER TO EACH OF THE IGNITION COILS (6 TOTAL), BLOWING THEM OUT. IF THIS WAS AN ISOLATED INCIDENT, I'D PROBABLY CURSE, PAY THE BILL AND MOVE ON. BUT IT IS NOT. IT'S IS A WELL KNOWN ISSUE THAT RESULTS IN A VERY COSTLY REPAIR FOR THE OWNER. WE HAD TO REPLACE THE ECM, PROGRAM IT AND EACH OF THE IGNITION COILS AND SPARK PLUGS. ATTACHING THE TSB AND THE BILL. RECALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/23/2015 - WELCH, WV
WE RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2008 MERCURY SABLE . WE LOVE THIS CAR AND ALL OF THE OPTIONS IT HAS TO OFFER,BUT THE VAPOR LOCK LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON AND SPITS AND SPUTTERS WHEN IT DOES THIS. WHEN WE COMPLETELY FILL THE CAR WITH GAS IT STAYS ON FULL FOR DAYS THEN IT DROPS TO THE HALFWAY MARK AND THATS WHEN THE VAPOR LOCK LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON TILL WE FILL IT UP 2 OR 3 TIMES.. SAME PROBLEM AS THE FORD RECALL ON 2008 MECURY SABLE FOR HAS JUST RECALLED. I WOULD LIKE THE OPTION TO HAVE MY CAR LOOKED AT BECAUSE I THINK IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE OTHER FORD MAKES OF CARS! ONCE THE LIGHT COMES ON ITS LIKES IT HAS FLOODED ITSELF OR SOMETHING. BUT IT IS VERNOTICEABLE WHEN DRIVING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/2/2015 - BLAUVELT, NY
UNINTENDED ACCELERATION RESULTING IN AN ACCIDENT CAR REV'D ON IT'S OWN AND BOLTED FORWARD WHILE AT A FULL STOP AT A RED LIGHT AND HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF IT . CAR WAS DRIVEN IN TWICE AND TOWED IN ONCE TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP ,OVER THE COURSE OF THE 2 YEARS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT ,WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT. THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR. CAUSE UNKOWN. PROBLEM IS INTERMITTENT. AFTER DOING SOME ONLINE RESEARCH I'VE DISCOVERED THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SIMILAR COMPLAINTS. TRIED TO ATTACH REPAIR INVOICE AND INSURANCE CLAIM , BUT "SELECT IMAGE OR DOCUMENT LINK " BUTTON BELOW IS NOT WORKING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/7/2015 - CHARLES TOWN, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 MERCURY SABLE. WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A LIGHT POLE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MULTIPLE DEALERS WHO WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds