Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 113 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (18) Power Train (16) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2016 - BUFFALO, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE SPEED DECREASED TO 30 MPH. THE "REDUCED ENGINE" WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON ANOTHER OCCASIONS AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE THROTTLE PLATE BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,973.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/5/2016 - LIMA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, BOTH LOW BEAM HEAD LAMPS FAILED TO FUNCTION INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/21/2015 - FOUNTAIN, CO
THIS VEHICLE KEEPS BLOWING THE FUSE FOR FRONT PARK LIGHTS AND TAIL LIGHTS. WITHOUT LIGHTS, CANT DRIVE VEHICLE AT NIGHT OR LOW LIGHT, INCLEMENT WEATHER CONDITIONS. INITIAL INVESTIGATION/TROUBLESHOOTING LEADS TO FAULTY BODY CONTROL MODULE. THE BODY CONTROL MODULE PROVIDES GROUND CIRCUIT FOR MULTIPLE ELECTRICAL FUNCTIONS ON VEHICLE. THIS PROBLEM COULD RESULT IN VEHICLE WIRING HARNESS OVERLOADING AND CATCHING FIRE. PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED WITH MANUFACTURER. THIS FAULT CAN OCCUR WHILE DRIVING OR STATIONARY. FAULT OCCURS SIMPLY BY TURNING IGNITION SWITCH TO ON POSITION AND/OR ACTIVATING THE MULTI-FUNCTION SWITCH TO ACTIVATE HEADLIGHTS AND THE FUSE BLOWS IMMEDIATELY. SIMPLY REPLACING THE FUSE DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE SHOULD BE DIAGNOSED BY GM DEALER TO VALIDATE PROPER FUNCTION OF LIGHTS/LIGHTING SYSTEM TO PINPOINT PROBLEM. LEFT ALONE, ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS CAN FAIL AND RESULT IN VEHICLE ELECTRICAL FIRE. SEE ATTACHED PHOTO OF FUSE BLOCK SHOWING DAMAGE TO AREA FOR PARKING LIGHT FUSE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/21/2015 - FOUNTAIN, CO
THIS VEHICLE KEEPS BLOWING THE FUSE FOR FRONT PARK LIGHTS AND TAIL LIGHTS. WITHOUT LIGHTS, CANT DRIVE VEHICLE AT NIGHT OR LOW LIGHT, INCLEMENT WEATHER CONDITIONS. INITIAL INVESTIGATION/TROUBLESHOOTING LEADS TO FAULTY BODY CONTROL MODULE. THE BODY CONTROL MODULE PROVIDES GROUND CIRCUIT FOR MULTIPLE ELECTRICAL FUNCTIONS ON VEHICLE. THIS PROBLEM COULD RESULT IN VEHICLE WIRING HARNESS OVERLOADING AND CATCHING FIRE. PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED WITH MANUFACTURER. THIS FAULT CAN OCCUR WHILE DRIVING OR STATIONARY. FAULT OCCURS SIMPLY BY TURNING IGNITION SWITCH TO ON POSITION AND/OR ACTIVATING THE MULTI-FUNCTION SWITCH TO ACTIVATE HEADLIGHTS AND THE FUSE BLOWS IMMEDIATELY. SIMPLY REPLACING THE FUSE DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE SHOULD BE DIAGNOSED BY GM DEALER TO VALIDATE PROPER FUNCTION OF LIGHTS/LIGHTING SYSTEM TO PINPOINT PROBLEM. LEFT ALONE, ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS CAN FAIL AND RESULT IN VEHICLE ELECTRICAL FIRE. SEE ATTACHED PHOTO OF FUSE BLOCK SHOWING DAMAGE TO AREA FOR PARKING LIGHT FUSE.

View Details

STEERING

12/10/2015 - FENTON, MI
HAD THE POWER STEERING REPLACED 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 3 YEARS. TALKED TO OTHERS THAT HAVE THE SAME CAR THEY ALSO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE POWER STEERING UNIT LEAKING. MY COMPANY HAD SEVERAL GRAND PRIX'S AS A COMPANY CAR FOR YEARS THEY ALSO EXPRESSED THIS WAS A PROBLEM. I'VE HAD THE LINES BURST ON THIS UNIT AS WELL. ALSO MANY OF THEM SAID THEY DIDN'T FIX THIS THEY JUST KEEP ADDING FLUID WEEKLY. MY THOUGHT IS WAS THATS NOT GOOD FOR THE ENVIRONMENT. I LOST ALL POWER WHEN THE HIGH PRESSURE LINE BURST WHILE GOING DOWN THE EXPRESS WAY AT 70 MPH. NOT COOL!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/24/2015 - RIALTO, CA
SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR, I NOTICED ON MOTION THE FORCE ON THE PEDAL STARTED REDUCING. WHEN IT HAPPENS I REPRESS IT AGAIN WHICH WILL BECOME STABLE AT THAT PARTICULAR TIME. WILL GOT STUCK WHILE IN MOTION( 55MPR). I TOOK TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR, AND THEN I WAS UNDER WARRANTY. THIS MORNING I TOOK IT TO MECHANIC, THEY TOLD ME IT'S ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH THROTTLE PEDAL AND SEAT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/24/2015 - RIALTO, CA
SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR, I NOTICED ON MOTION THE FORCE ON THE PEDAL STARTED REDUCING. WHEN IT HAPPENS I REPRESS IT AGAIN WHICH WILL BECOME STABLE AT THAT PARTICULAR TIME. WILL GOT STUCK WHILE IN MOTION( 55MPR). I TOOK TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR, AND THEN I WAS UNDER WARRANTY. THIS MORNING I TOOK IT TO MECHANIC, THEY TOLD ME IT'S ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH THROTTLE PEDAL AND SEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/24/2015 - RIALTO, CA
SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR, I NOTICED ON MOTION THE FORCE ON THE PEDAL STARTED REDUCING. WHEN IT HAPPENS I REPRESS IT AGAIN WHICH WILL BECOME STABLE AT THAT PARTICULAR TIME. WILL GOT STUCK WHILE IN MOTION( 55MPR). I TOOK TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR, AND THEN I WAS UNDER WARRANTY. THIS MORNING I TOOK IT TO MECHANIC, THEY TOLD ME IT'S ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH THROTTLE PEDAL AND SEAT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/12/2015 - MOORESVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO REMAIN ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/7/2015 - COON RAPIDS, MN
2008 GRAND PRIX LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS/DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS WORK INTERMITTENTLY OR DON'T WORK AT ALL. LIGHTS WILL WORK WHEN CAR IS STARTED AND WILL GO OUT AS I AM DRIVING OR WILL NOT COME ON AT ALL. VIN SEARCH SAYS NO RECALL ON MY YEAR, BUT THIS SAME EXACT ISSUE IS IN RECALL FOR 2007 AND 2006 GRAND PRIXS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR MY VEHICLE AND I HAVE NOW BEEN PULLED OVER AND TICKETED BY THE POLICE FOR HAVING HEADLIGHT ISSUES. I HAVE TRIED REPLACING THE HDM/HEADLIGHT RELAY FUSE, BUT THE PROBLEM HAS PERSISTED. I BELIEVE THE ISSUE TO BE THE FUSE SOCKET OR FUSEBOX ITSELF THAT IS OVERHEATING THE HDM

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds