Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 51 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (3) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/23/2014 - NORTHAMPTON, PA
AIRBAG LIGHT GOES ON INTERMITTENTLY AND WON'T TURN OFF. TOOK CAR TO GM DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE WAS BAD WHICH CAUSES THE AIRBAGS TO BECOME INOPERABLE WHEN THE LIGHT GOES ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/18/2014 - OAKPARK, IL
FROM THE MOMENT I BOUGHT THE CAR I HAVE BEEN HAVING MAJOR PROBLEMS BOUGHT CERTIFIED USED POWER TRAIN WARRANTY ALSO BOUGHT EXTENDED WARRANTY THRU GMC .THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN ONGOING EVERY TIME TOOK TO DEALERSHIP THEY WOULD FIND OTHER PROBLEMS BUT WHAT I BROUGHT THE CAR IN FOR WHICH IS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX V8 .AFTER I COME TO A COMPLETE STOP THE CAR JERKS WHEN I TAKE OFF THE DEALER SHIP CLAIMS THEY COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM I HAVE OVER 10 PAGES OF RECORDS FROM MY VISIT TO 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS NOW CAR IS OUT OF ALL WARRANTIES I STILL HAVE SAME PROBLEM ITS SO BAD I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THE CAR LONG DISTANT ALMOST HAD A ACCIDENT DUE TO THIS PROBLEM THE DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO LOOK AT THE TRANS AT EVERY VISIT SAYING NO CODES AND THEY COULD NOT LOCATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/14/2014 - FOXBOROUGH, MA
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 COMPONENT(S): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE LOSS POWER, AND STALLED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THE LOW BEAMS DOES NOT WORK WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS ON. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED INTERIOR LIGHTING WOULD STAY ON WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000, AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000. BT

View Details

ENGINE

7/13/2014 - OREGON, OH
ACCELERATED TO ON RAMP OF EXPRESSWAY, REACHED APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH. VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY DECELERATED. I PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE EXPRESSWAY AND TURNED THE CAR OFF. ATTEMPTED TO TURN CAR BACK ON. IT DID NOT TURN OVER. BATTERY WAS OK, ENGINE WAS NOT. CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO SERVICE CENTER. IGNITION CONTROL MODULE, IGNITION COILS, SPARK PLUG WIRES REPLACED. HEFTY REPAIR BILL. ONE WEEK LATER, ACCELERATED TO ON RAMP, REACHED 70 MPH, CAR JERKED AS I ATTEMPTED TO INCREASE SPEED. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED RAPIDLY TWICE. GOT OFF EXPRESSWAY, REACHED SPEEDS UP TO 40 MPH. POSSIBLE CATALYTIC CONVERTER TO BE REPLACED. BOTH SITUATIONS COULD HAVE LED TO SERIOUS INJURIES.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/7/2014 - DETROIT, MI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE PUMPED IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE SEATBELT SENSOR ILLUMINATED AFTER THE SEATBELT WAS LATCHED AND THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR FLASHED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000. DJR

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2014 - DETROIT, MI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE PUMPED IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE SEATBELT SENSOR ILLUMINATED AFTER THE SEATBELT WAS LATCHED AND THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR FLASHED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000. DJR

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/7/2014 - DETROIT, MI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE PUMPED IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE SEATBELT SENSOR ILLUMINATED AFTER THE SEATBELT WAS LATCHED AND THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR FLASHED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000. DJR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/18/2014 - CORTLAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER\ WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/12/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
I LEFT HOME ONE MORNING LAST YEAR WITH MY GAS TANK ON A FOURTH OF A TANK OF GAS. WHEN I GOT TO WORK (20 MILES AWAY), THE GAS HAND WAS ON "E". WHEN I LEFT WORK THAT EVENING, THE GAS HAND WAS BACK ON A FOURTH OF A TANK. BEFORE I COULD GET HOME(20 MILES AWAY), THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON THAT I NEEDED FUEL, HOWEVER THE HAND WAS STILL ON A FOURTH OF A TANK. THE NEXT MORNING, IT WAS JUST BELOW A FOURTH SO I STARTED TO WORK. I RAN OUT OF GAS AND THE GAS HAND WAS NOT EVEN IN THE DANGER AREA. THE GAS TANK HAS BEEN OFF EVERY SINCE WHENEVER THE GAS GETS LOW IN THE TANK AND I HAVE RUN OUT OF GAS ON AT LEAST 4 OTHER OCCASIONS. I FEEL THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH GRAND PRIX'S OR PONTIACS PERIOD BUT NO ONE IS REPORTING IT BECAUSE THE CAR IS NO LONGER IN PRODUCTION. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER A YEAR NOW AND IT WORRIES ME THAT I MAY RUN OUT IN AN AREA THAT MAY BE DANGEROUS OR AT NIGHT. I CALLED THE CAR COMPANY THAT I BOUGHT IT AT AND WAS TOLD THAT THE WARRANTY HAD RUN OUT AND THAT SINCE THERE ARE NO RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE, I WOULD HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE IT CHECKED OUT. I AM 58 YEARS OLD AND CANNOT TAKE A CHANCE OF LOSING MY LIFE DO TO A FAULTY GAS TANK. PLEASE RESPOND AS TO HOW THIS MATTER CAN BE RESOLVED. THANKS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

6/5/2014 - MILACA , MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE REDUCED ENGINE, STABILITY AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT WATER PENETRATED INSIDE THE INSTRUMENT PANEL, CAUSING THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM TO FAIL. THE TECHNICIAN SEALED THE AREA BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WATER DAMAGE CAUSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO FAIL AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 111,800.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds