Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 90 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (23) Exterior Lighting (11) Power Train (15) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (13) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/25/2015 - PALM COAST, FL
DRIVER AIR BAG WARNING SYMBOL LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF ON DASHBOARD. HAPPENS ALL THE TIME. PASSENGER AIR BAG "OFF" LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF AT THE SAME TIME AS DRIVER AIR BAG WARNING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/19/2015 - CANTON, MI
EVERY TIME I ACCELERATE GIVING MY CAR GAS IT ALWAYS FEEL LIKE THE TRANSMISSION IS LOCKING UP THEN IT WILL JERK OUT OF THE LOCK AND START PICKING UP SPEED AND I HAVE TALK TO OTHER PEOPLES THAT HAVE THE SAME CAR ,SAME YEAR OR 2007 SAID THE SAME THING WHEN YOU STOP AND ACCELERATE IT DOES A LOCK LIKE IT'S CHATTERING TO TAKE OFF THEN IT JUST JERK THEN PICK UP SPEED .I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY SAID IT'S SOMETHING IN THE TRANSMISSION I HAD THIS ISSUE FOR 4 YR'S NOW .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

2/13/2015 - TOMBALL, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE APPEARING FROM THE HOOD. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO AN EMERGENCY LANE, OPENED THE HOOD, AND NOTICED THAT THE FUSE BOX IGNITED INTO FLAMES. THE CONTACT PLACED A TOWEL ON THE FUSE BOX, WHICH EXTINGUISHED THE FLAMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/15/2015 - BROWNING, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND EXCESSIVE FORCE ON THE STEERING WHEEL WAS REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING HOSE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - MEDFORD, OR
WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM A DEALER INTHE TRI-CITIES AREA OF EASTERN WASHINGTON IN 2010. THE CAR MAY HAVE BEEN A LEASE RETURN. HOWEVER ONE OF TRHE SELLING POINTS WITH THE CAR WAS THE REMOTE STARTER OPTION. THE WEATHER IN EASTERN OREGON WHERE WE LIVED AT THE TIME WAS A LIFE SAVER. HOWEVER WHEN THE BATTERY WENT DEAD AND REPLACED AT THE DEALER THE REMOTE START QUIT WORKING. NOT ONLY QUIT WORKING BUT IT EVEN DISAPPEARED FROM THE VEHICLE DIC. THE REMOTE START IS EVEN LISTED IN THE VEHICLE OWNERS MANUAL. BUT THE DEALER IN MEDFORD, OREGON, AIR PORT CHEVY/CADDI CANT SEEM TO FIGURE IT OUT. WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE AT THE DEALERS IN MEDFORD 6 TIMES. EVEN DURING THE RECALL FOR HTE KEY FOB ISSUES AND IGNITION SWITCH FIRES, THE DEALERS ALSO LOOKED INTO THE DARN FAILURE OF THE REMOTE START BUT THEY NEVER DID FIX ANYTHING NOR DO THEY HAVE ANY IDEAS AS TO GET THE THING FIXED

View Details

ENGINE

1/14/2015 - MEDFORD, OR
WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM A DEALER INTHE TRI-CITIES AREA OF EASTERN WASHINGTON IN 2010. THE CAR MAY HAVE BEEN A LEASE RETURN. HOWEVER ONE OF TRHE SELLING POINTS WITH THE CAR WAS THE REMOTE STARTER OPTION. THE WEATHER IN EASTERN OREGON WHERE WE LIVED AT THE TIME WAS A LIFE SAVER. HOWEVER WHEN THE BATTERY WENT DEAD AND REPLACED AT THE DEALER THE REMOTE START QUIT WORKING. NOT ONLY QUIT WORKING BUT IT EVEN DISAPPEARED FROM THE VEHICLE DIC. THE REMOTE START IS EVEN LISTED IN THE VEHICLE OWNERS MANUAL. BUT THE DEALER IN MEDFORD, OREGON, AIR PORT CHEVY/CADDI CANT SEEM TO FIGURE IT OUT. WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE AT THE DEALERS IN MEDFORD 6 TIMES. EVEN DURING THE RECALL FOR HTE KEY FOB ISSUES AND IGNITION SWITCH FIRES, THE DEALERS ALSO LOOKED INTO THE DARN FAILURE OF THE REMOTE START BUT THEY NEVER DID FIX ANYTHING NOR DO THEY HAVE ANY IDEAS AS TO GET THE THING FIXED

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/14/2015 - MEDFORD, OR
WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM A DEALER INTHE TRI-CITIES AREA OF EASTERN WASHINGTON IN 2010. THE CAR MAY HAVE BEEN A LEASE RETURN. HOWEVER ONE OF TRHE SELLING POINTS WITH THE CAR WAS THE REMOTE STARTER OPTION. THE WEATHER IN EASTERN OREGON WHERE WE LIVED AT THE TIME WAS A LIFE SAVER. HOWEVER WHEN THE BATTERY WENT DEAD AND REPLACED AT THE DEALER THE REMOTE START QUIT WORKING. NOT ONLY QUIT WORKING BUT IT EVEN DISAPPEARED FROM THE VEHICLE DIC. THE REMOTE START IS EVEN LISTED IN THE VEHICLE OWNERS MANUAL. BUT THE DEALER IN MEDFORD, OREGON, AIR PORT CHEVY/CADDI CANT SEEM TO FIGURE IT OUT. WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE AT THE DEALERS IN MEDFORD 6 TIMES. EVEN DURING THE RECALL FOR HTE KEY FOB ISSUES AND IGNITION SWITCH FIRES, THE DEALERS ALSO LOOKED INTO THE DARN FAILURE OF THE REMOTE START BUT THEY NEVER DID FIX ANYTHING NOR DO THEY HAVE ANY IDEAS AS TO GET THE THING FIXED

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/8/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
I WAS PULLING INTO THE GARAGE AND I SHIFTED INTO PARK, MY CAR CONTINUED ROLLING AS IF I WAS STILL IN DRIVE. I ATTEMPTED TO SWITCH GEARS AND THE GEAR SHIFT HAD NO TRACTION. IT WAS SLIDING BACK AND FORTH B/W THE GEARS AS MY CAR CONTINUED MOVING FORWARD. I THEN SLID IT BACK IN PARK AND SHUT THE ENGINE OFF TO PREVENT THE CAR FROM MOVING. I THEN COULD NOT START MY CAR BECAUSE IT WASN'T TECHNICALLY IN PARK. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THE GEAR SHIFT CABLE HAD WORN AWAY/BROKEN. GM HAS RECALLED THIS ISSUE IN OTHER PONTIAC AND OTHER VEHICLES FOR THE SAME MODEL YEAR AS MY VEHICLE. DEFINITELY UNSURE WHY THE SAME ISSUE HAPPENING IN THE GRAND PRIX HAS YET TO BE ADDRESSED BUT THIS IS A REPAIR THAT COSTS OVER $400.00. THE GM CSR I SPOKE WITH TOTALLY IGNORED MY CONCERNS REGARDING THE GEAR SHIFT CABLE AND JUST WANTED TO SPEAK W/ ME REGARDING THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

12/30/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE'S SPEED REDUCED AND SMOKE APPEARED UNDER THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE HOOD. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE GAUGES FLUCTUATED AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTS FLICKERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT UNKNOWN WIRES WERE MELTED. AS A RESULT, THE FUSE BLOCK AND THE ENGINE HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) COULD NOT BE PERFORMED DUE TO THE FAILURE THAT NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED PRIOR TO PERFORMING THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 181,104.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE'S SPEED REDUCED AND SMOKE APPEARED UNDER THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE HOOD. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE GAUGES FLUCTUATED AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTS FLICKERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT UNKNOWN WIRES WERE MELTED. AS A RESULT, THE FUSE BLOCK AND THE ENGINE HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) COULD NOT BE PERFORMED DUE TO THE FAILURE THAT NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED PRIOR TO PERFORMING THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 181,104.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds