Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 60 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (1) Power Train (11) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (2) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (9) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/17/2014 - ANKENY, IA
LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS SHUT OFF DURING DRIVING. HAVE OWNED THE CAR FOR ABOUT 8 MONTHS NOW AND HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES RANDOMLY (3 ON THE INTERSTATE). THE HIGH BEAMS WILL STILL WORK. JUST HAVE TO PULL OVER AND WAIT UNTIL THEY COME BACK ON. VERY FRUSTRATING & WORRYSOME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/14/2014 - EUDORA, AR
I DRIVE A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. I HAVE DRIVEN IT FOR SEVEN OR EIGHT YEARS. I UNDERSTAND THAT THERE HAVE BEEN RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE BUT I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE ONE NOTICE OF A RECALL. IN JUNE 2014, THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUT DOWN ON MY CAR WITHOUT WARNING AT ONE OF THE BUSIEST INTERSECTIONS IN GREENVILLE, MS. AS A RESULT OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUTTING DOWN I WAS LEFT WITHOUT AIR, OPERATIVE WINDOW AND DOORS, NEITHER AN OPERATIVE HORN NOR EMERGENCY FLASHERS. IT HAPPENED DURING THE HOTTEST PART OF THE DAY AND MY CAR WAS FACING THE SUN. I WAS TRAPPED IN THE CAR FOR ABOUT THIRTY MINUTES AND I CAME VERY CLOSE TO SUFFOCATING! IT WAS A VERY TRAUMATIC EXPERIENCE FOR ME THOUGH I SUSTAINED NO PHYSICAL INJURIES. MY WINDOW HAD TO BE BROKEN IN ORDER FOR ME TO BE REMOVED FROM THE CAR. I AM NO LONGER COMFORTABLE DRIVING MY CAR AS I NEVER CAN TELL WHEN THIS MIGHT OCCUR AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

8/8/2014 - LAFAYETTE, IN
DRIVING TO WORK 25-30MPH CAR TURNED OF AND COAST DOWN STREET. TRIED TO START AND WOILD NOT START. GOT TOWED HOME. TWO HOURS LATER STARTS SHACKED SPUTTERS. TOOOK TO MECHANIC SAYS POSSIBLY THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. COULD HAVE BEEN A VERY DEADLY IF ON HIGHWAY AND THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/8/2014 - OZARK, MO
WHILE DRIVING SEAT BELT LIGHT CAME ON AND CONTINUOUSLY FLASHED. THE LIGHT WOULD THEN GO OFF ONLY TO START FLASHING 15 MINUTES LATER

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2014 - HILLIARD , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND FAILED TO RESTART AFTER REPEATED ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

8/6/2014 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO CATALYTIC CONVERTER REPLACEMENT. GM WOULD NOT COVER THE COST, BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REGISTERED IN CALIFORNIA.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/29/2014 - EVANS, GA
LOUD CLUNK WHEN STARTING OFF. VEHICLE DID NOT SHIFT INTO GEARS AS NORMAL. TRANSMISSION ON THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN ERRATIC FOR AT LEAST A YEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/28/2014 - FORT WAYNE, IN
WE GOT THIS 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX FROM A SECOND HAND DEALER THAT SOLD 2008 OR NEWER, WE WERE ON A LEASE WITH THIS AUTO WE ALSO HAD A WARRANTY AS WELL. WE TOOK A SHORT TRIP TO OHIO AND WE CHECKED INTO THE HOTEL , WENT OUT GOT INTO THE CAR WAS HEADING TO THEIR CASINO FOR THE NIGHT WAS DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 75 DOING ABOUT 72 MPH. WHILE I WAS IN THE FAST LANE I LOST ALL POWER DIDN'T KNOW WHAT HAD HAPPEN HAD TO TRY TO GET THE CAR ALL THE WAY OVER TO RIGHT SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. THIS WAS IN ON JUNE 26,2012 POLICE CAME I CALLED THE WARRANTY COMPANY THEY STATED THAT WE WOULD HAVE TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED TO A GM DEALERSHIP SO WE DID, THE NEXT MORNING I GOT UP AND CALLED THE DEALER TOLD THEM WHAT HAPPEN WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE CAR IT CRANKS AND DOES NOT START CHECK AND PLEASE ADVISE. WHILE WAITING ON THEM I CALLED THE LEASE COMPANY TO SEE WHAT KIND OF HELP WE COULD GET FROM THEM THE ANSWER WAS PONIT BLANK NONE WAS NEVER LATE ON PAYMENTS WITH THEM THE CAR ONLY HAD 92152 MILES ON IT AT THIS TIME WE GOT IT BACK IN AUG.2009. SO THE DEALER CALLED BACK AND TOLD US THE THE CAR HAD A BAD IGNITION CONTROL MODULE AND COIL , THIS NOT THE KILLING PART WE HAD TO PAY $705.88 AND WOW GENERAL MOTORS SAYING THEY DON'T HAVE ANY RECALLS ON THIS MODEL OR YEAR. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET REIMBURSE FOR THE AMOUNT WE PAID TO HAVE THIS DONE, I KNOW THAT IT'S A WHOLE LOT OF PEOPLE OUT HERE THAT HAVE HAD SOME OF THE SAME ISSUES THAT I HAVE HAD BUT DIDN'T GET THEM REPAIRED. OTHER ISSUES (1) POWER STERRING(2) BRAKE LIGHTS STAYING ON ALOT OF THE TIME(3)AIRBAG ,AND THE LIST GOES ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2014 - FORD WAYNE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED RANDOMLY WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC, WHO RECOMMENDED THAT THE CONTACT SPRAY WD40 ON THE BRAKES AND THEN REFERRED THE CONTACT TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/23/2014 - NORTHAMPTON, PA
AIRBAG LIGHT GOES ON INTERMITTENTLY AND WON'T TURN OFF. TOOK CAR TO GM DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE WAS BAD WHICH CAUSES THE AIRBAGS TO BECOME INOPERABLE WHEN THE LIGHT GOES ON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds