Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 39 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (10) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (4) Equipment (1) Service Brakes (2) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (5) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/7/2014 - ST. CLOUD, MN
2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX ENGINE WILL AUTOMATICALLY STOP RUNNING WHEN DRIVING. THIS SHUTS DOWN THE POWER STEERLING, BRAKES, ETC. THIS HAS HAPPENDED ABOUT A DOZEN TIMES OVER THE LAST YEAR. ALL BUT TWO TIMES WHEN THIS HAPPENED, WE WERE ABLE TO PUT THE CAR IN NETRAL AND RESTART THE CAR. TWO OF THE TIMES, THE CAR DID NOT WANT TO START - CAR WOULD CRANK BUT NOT START. EVENTUALLY WE WERE ABLE TO GET THE CAR STATED. OVER THE PAST YEAR THIS HAPPENED WHEN WE WERE DRIVING IN A CITY AT APPROXIMATE 30 MPH, COASTING DOWN A HILL, OR STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN. HOWEVER, WE DID NOT TAKE THIS CAR ON THE HIGHWAY VERY OFTEN SO WE HAVE NOT HAD THIS ISSUE HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY. SO FAR, WE HAVE BEEN LUCKY AND HAD NO ACCIDENTS WITH THE CAR. SYMPTIONS ARE VERY SIMILAR TO THE GM IGNITION SWITCH RECALL. WE TOOK THE CAR TO TWO REPAIR PLACES AND THE DIAGNOSTICS WOULD NOT SHOW ANYTHING. WE RECENTLY TOOK THE CAR TO A GM DEALER AND THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTICS AND THEY DETERMINED CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR CODE P0335. THEY REPLACED 10456161 SENSOR AND EMISSIONS SYSTEM REPAIR. THEY ARE NOT 100% SURE THAT THIS WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND WE DO NOT ALLOW OUR KIDS TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR FEAR OF THEM BEING KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/20/2014 - EAST ALTON, IL
THE ENGINE COOLANT SYSTEM CLOGGED UP MY THERMOSTAT AND COOLANT TURNED TO A BROWN CONSISTENCY AND THICKENED LIKE MUD. MECHANIC STATED THAT THE COOLANT, DREX, CAN HAVE NO FLUIDS ADDED, AND NO WATER UNLESS IT IS DISTILLED. I DID NOT ADD ANY COOLANT OR WATER AND RECEIVED NO COOLANT LOW WARNING. I PREVIOUSLY HAD CAR WORKED ON ONE YEAR AGO FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. I WANT ALL VEHICLES EVERYWHERE WITH DREX FOR COOLANT RECALLED AND REPAIRED. DREX IN THE COOLING SYSTEM IS A DESIGN FLAW. I THINK EVENTUALLY IN A COOLANT SYSTEM SOME MOISTURE FORMS FROM THE HEATING UP AND COOLING DOWN PROCESS OF A RADIATOR AND CONDENSATION FORMS. THIS WOULD THEN GUM UP AND RUIN A CARS COOLING SYSTEM AND COULD CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO OVERHEAT AND POSSIBLE THE ENGINE TO BE RUINED. THIS IS THE SECOND CAR WHERE I HAD TO DO REPAIRS BECAUSE THE DREX CLOGGED UP THE RADIATOR AND MADE MY ENGINE OVERHEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/14/2014 - NAVARRE, OH
MY FATHER-IN-LAW WAS DRIVING MY GRAND PRIX AND MY MOTHER-IN-LAW WAS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. MY FATHER-IN-LAW LOST CONSCIOUSNESS AT THE WHEEL AND THEY WENT LEFT OF CENTER AND RAN ANOTHER VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD. MY MOTHER-IN-LAW GRABBED THE WHEEL TO AVOID A COLLISION AND THEY WENT OFF THE ROAD TO THE RIGHT AND WENT AIRBORNE AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. MY FATHER-IN-LAW DIED IN THE CRASH AND MY MOTHER-IN-LAW WAS LIFE-FLIGHTED. THE CAR HAD EXTENSIVE DAMAGE AND WAS TOTALED. THE AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/27/2013 - CONOVER, NC
BACK IN THE SUMMER THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK ON DIM AND TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND THEY REPLACED THE HDM MODULE UNDER THE HOOD. ON DECEMBER 23, 2013 THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK ON DIM AGAIN. HAD TO REPLACE THE HDM MODULE AGAIN. IT APPEARS LOOKING ON LINE THAT THIS IS NOT ONLY MY PROBLEM BUT OTHERS AS WELL. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE DEALT WITH BY THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/23/2013 - CREVE COEUR, IL
WHEN DRIVING THE 2008 GRAND PRIX GXP (5.3 WITH A 4SP AUTOMATIC OVERDRIVE) AT LOW SPEED THE CAR STARTED SHUTTERING AND SLIPPING IN GEAR. MADE IT HOME SLOWLY AND PULLED OVER AND CHECKED TO ENSURE TRANSMISSION FLUID FULL. CALL DEALER TO FILE WARRANTY CLAIM AND TRIED TO DRIVE TO DEALER AND CAR WENT 1/4 MILE AT 10-15 MPH AND CAR TRANSMISSION WENT COMPLETELY OUT. NO GEARS IN REVERSE, DRIVE OR MANUAL MODE. CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO DEALER. THIS IS A DAILY COMMUTER CAR TO WORK AND HOME AND I AM WORKING THIS WEEK AND HAS LEFT ME STRANDED DURING THE HOLIDAYS. NO RENTALS AVAILABLE DUE TO HOLIDAYS. COMPLETE TRANSMISSION FAILURE FROM A 2008 MODEL WITH LESS THAN 100,000 AND I PUT 12,000 ON IT SINCE APRIL WHEN I BOUGHT IT WITH 82,XXX.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/11/2013 - MEMPHIS, TN
LOW BEAMS ON MY CAR COME ON AND OFF AT THE CAR'S PLEASURE. HIGH BEAMS WORK FINE BUT LOW BEAMS WILL WORK THEN GO OFF RANDOMLY. FOG LIGHTS WORK CORRECTLY AS WELL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/29/2013 - WALKERTON, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HEAD LIGHTS FAILED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE LOW BEAM CONTROL MODULE AND THE PASSENGER'S SIDE SEAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTROL MODULE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE SEAT WAS NOT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2013 - FLORISSANT, MO
BACK IN DECEMBER 2012 MY CAR HAVE NOT BEEN DRIVING CORRECTLY. I TOOK IT TO THE BEHLMANN GMC DEALERSHIP AND THEY STATED EVERYTHING WAS FINE. IN JAN I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND INFORMED THEM THAT MY CAR HAD STILL NOT BEEN DRIVING CORRECTLY ON THAT SAME VISIT I HAD THEM DO A DIAGNOSTIC AND BEHLMANN STATED THAT THE MACHINE DIDN'T SAY ANYTHING TRANSMISSION WISE THAT WAS WRONG. NOW THAT IT IS APRIL MY CAR IS FEELING LIKE ITS GETTING WORSIER AND WORSIER AND I TOOK IT TO AUTOZONE AND ALSO ANOTHER CAR SHOP AND HAD THEM PUT THE CAR ON THE MACHINE. BOTH PLACES ARE SAYING THE ERROR IS SAYING MY TRANSMISSION IS SLIPPING AND MY TRANSMISSION FLUID IS BURNING. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE WHILE MY CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY WHICH EXPIRED NOT TO LONG AGO I WAS GETTING THE RUN AROUND SAYING THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINE WHEN ALL ALONG IT WAS INDEED DAMAGING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/9/2013 - FLORISSANT, MO
BACK IN DECEMBER 2012 MY CAR HAVE NOT BEEN DRIVING CORRECTLY. I TOOK IT TO THE BEHLMANN GMC DEALERSHIP AND THEY STATED EVERYTHING WAS FINE. IN JAN I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND INFORMED THEM THAT MY CAR HAD STILL NOT BEEN DRIVING CORRECTLY ON THAT SAME VISIT I HAD THEM DO A DIAGNOSTIC AND BEHLMANN STATED THAT THE MACHINE DIDN'T SAY ANYTHING TRANSMISSION WISE THAT WAS WRONG. NOW THAT IT IS APRIL MY CAR IS FEELING LIKE ITS GETTING WORSIER AND WORSIER AND I TOOK IT TO AUTOZONE AND ALSO ANOTHER CAR SHOP AND HAD THEM PUT THE CAR ON THE MACHINE. BOTH PLACES ARE SAYING THE ERROR IS SAYING MY TRANSMISSION IS SLIPPING AND MY TRANSMISSION FLUID IS BURNING. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE WHILE MY CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY WHICH EXPIRED NOT TO LONG AGO I WAS GETTING THE RUN AROUND SAYING THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINE WHEN ALL ALONG IT WAS INDEED DAMAGING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/23/2013 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE PRE CERTIFIED WITH WARRANTY WITH 22000 MILES. WITHIN 4 MONTHS THE POWER STEERING LINE BREAKS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. BRAKE SENSOR REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY FRONT LEFT TIE ROD REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. THESE ARE PROBLEMS THAT OCCURRED WITHIN A 9 MONTH TIMESPAN. DURING THIS TIME YOU COULD PRESS ON THE GAS AND THE VEHICLE WOULD HESITATE/STALL/SHAKE AND TIMES LUNGE FORWARD AS YOU TRY TO EASE FORWARD. THIS OCCURRED THE ENTIRE TIME I HAD THE VEHICLE AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM WHEN IT WAS UNDER THE WARRANTY. DRIVING HOME THE STABILITY/TRACTION CONTROL SENSOR LIGHTS CAME ON,THEM REDUCED ENGINE POWER CAME ON AND THE CAR WOULD NOT DRIVE OVER 15 MILES. NOW AT 34000 MILES AND A INDICATOR LIGHT SHOWING THEY FIGURED IT WAS THE SENSOR ON THE GAS PEDAL ($360). OH FORGOT TO MENTION DEALERSHIP ALSO STATED DURING THAT WARRANTY TIMEFRAME UNLESS SOMETHING BREAKS OR A INDICATOR LIGHT COMES ON THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. AFTER THAT THEY FOUND I ALSO NEED A FRONT RIGHT OUTER TIE ROD ($285). CONTACTED GM BECAUSE I THINK THEY SHOULD HAVE PAID FOR THE GAS PEDAL. TO MAKE A LONG SHORT SHORT IT'S BEING EVALUATED AND SINCE I DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE MY CAR THERE ANOTHER NIGHT OR PERHAPS OVER THE WEEKEND UNTIL THEY CONFIRMED WITH THE SALES MANAGER REIMBURSEMENT MAY NOT BE POSSIBLE. ## VIN FAILED ##

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds