Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 70 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment (1) Power Train (11) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (9) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (5) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/29/2014 - DALLAS, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND EXITING ON A RAMP. THE RAMP WAS ON AN INCLINE. MY DRIVING SPEED AROUND 45 MPH. THEN, UNEXPECTEDLY, THE SPEED DECREASED TO 30 MPH AND IMMEDIATELY THE "REDUCE ENGINE SPEED" LIGHT CAME ON. SHORTLY AFTER, MY "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON. I CONTINUED ON MY EXIT, PULLED OVER AND PARKED. AFTER CAR BEING OFF FOR 30 MINUTES, THE CAR STARTED RIGHT BACK UP. THE "REDUCE ENGINE SPEED" LIGHT WENT OFF BUT THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT REMAINED. I PURCHASED MY CAR IN FEB 2014 AND THIS WAS THE VERY 1ST INCIDENT. IN THE BEGINNING, THIS WASN'T FREQUENT BUT AS I NOTICED IT HAPPENING MORE OFTEN, I BEGAN TO RECORD EACH TIME THIS HAPPENED. THE DATES I HAVE TRACKED THUS FAR ARE 7/7/14, 7/10/14, 7/13/14, 7/27/14, 8/2/14, 8/11/14, 8/12/14, 8/20/14, 8/21/14, 8/22/14, 8/28/14 (HAPPENED 3 TIMES THROUGHOUT THE NOON AT 2:15P, 3:00P & 5:20P), 8/29/14, 9/9/14, 9/10/14 (4 TIMES THROUGHOUT THIS DAY), 9/15/14, 9/16/14, 9/17/14, 9/18/14, 9/19/14, 9/20/14, 9/23/14, 9/24/14, 9/27/14. I HAVE ALREADY HAD $550 REPAIRS DONE, AT LEAST THAT'S WHAT I THOUGHT, TO TAKE CARE OF THE "REDUCE ENGINE SPEED" LIGHT BUT IT CONTINUES TO COME ON. I TOOK IT BACK THE SAME MECHANIC/BODY SHOP AND THE DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE SHOWED MORE/DIFFERENT CODES. NEW REPAIRS WOULD COST ANOTHER $550-$600. ALSO, WHEN EITHER OF MY SONS SIT IN THE FRONT SEAT, THE PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF. THEY ARE BOTH BETWEEN 90-95 LBS. THIS ARE MAJOR CONCERNS BECAUSE I NEED TO KNOW THAT WE ARE SAFE WHENEVER WE ARE INSIDE THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/29/2014 - DALLAS, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND EXITING ON A RAMP. THE RAMP WAS ON AN INCLINE. MY DRIVING SPEED AROUND 45 MPH. THEN, UNEXPECTEDLY, THE SPEED DECREASED TO 30 MPH AND IMMEDIATELY THE "REDUCE ENGINE SPEED" LIGHT CAME ON. SHORTLY AFTER, MY "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON. I CONTINUED ON MY EXIT, PULLED OVER AND PARKED. AFTER CAR BEING OFF FOR 30 MINUTES, THE CAR STARTED RIGHT BACK UP. THE "REDUCE ENGINE SPEED" LIGHT WENT OFF BUT THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT REMAINED. I PURCHASED MY CAR IN FEB 2014 AND THIS WAS THE VERY 1ST INCIDENT. IN THE BEGINNING, THIS WASN'T FREQUENT BUT AS I NOTICED IT HAPPENING MORE OFTEN, I BEGAN TO RECORD EACH TIME THIS HAPPENED. THE DATES I HAVE TRACKED THUS FAR ARE 7/7/14, 7/10/14, 7/13/14, 7/27/14, 8/2/14, 8/11/14, 8/12/14, 8/20/14, 8/21/14, 8/22/14, 8/28/14 (HAPPENED 3 TIMES THROUGHOUT THE NOON AT 2:15P, 3:00P & 5:20P), 8/29/14, 9/9/14, 9/10/14 (4 TIMES THROUGHOUT THIS DAY), 9/15/14, 9/16/14, 9/17/14, 9/18/14, 9/19/14, 9/20/14, 9/23/14, 9/24/14, 9/27/14. I HAVE ALREADY HAD $550 REPAIRS DONE, AT LEAST THAT'S WHAT I THOUGHT, TO TAKE CARE OF THE "REDUCE ENGINE SPEED" LIGHT BUT IT CONTINUES TO COME ON. I TOOK IT BACK THE SAME MECHANIC/BODY SHOP AND THE DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE SHOWED MORE/DIFFERENT CODES. NEW REPAIRS WOULD COST ANOTHER $550-$600. ALSO, WHEN EITHER OF MY SONS SIT IN THE FRONT SEAT, THE PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF. THEY ARE BOTH BETWEEN 90-95 LBS. THIS ARE MAJOR CONCERNS BECAUSE I NEED TO KNOW THAT WE ARE SAFE WHENEVER WE ARE INSIDE THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/29/2014 - DALLAS, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND EXITING ON A RAMP. THE RAMP WAS ON AN INCLINE. MY DRIVING SPEED AROUND 45 MPH. THEN, UNEXPECTEDLY, THE SPEED DECREASED TO 30 MPH AND IMMEDIATELY THE "REDUCE ENGINE SPEED" LIGHT CAME ON. SHORTLY AFTER, MY "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON. I CONTINUED ON MY EXIT, PULLED OVER AND PARKED. AFTER CAR BEING OFF FOR 30 MINUTES, THE CAR STARTED RIGHT BACK UP. THE "REDUCE ENGINE SPEED" LIGHT WENT OFF BUT THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT REMAINED. I PURCHASED MY CAR IN FEB 2014 AND THIS WAS THE VERY 1ST INCIDENT. IN THE BEGINNING, THIS WASN'T FREQUENT BUT AS I NOTICED IT HAPPENING MORE OFTEN, I BEGAN TO RECORD EACH TIME THIS HAPPENED. THE DATES I HAVE TRACKED THUS FAR ARE 7/7/14, 7/10/14, 7/13/14, 7/27/14, 8/2/14, 8/11/14, 8/12/14, 8/20/14, 8/21/14, 8/22/14, 8/28/14 (HAPPENED 3 TIMES THROUGHOUT THE NOON AT 2:15P, 3:00P & 5:20P), 8/29/14, 9/9/14, 9/10/14 (4 TIMES THROUGHOUT THIS DAY), 9/15/14, 9/16/14, 9/17/14, 9/18/14, 9/19/14, 9/20/14, 9/23/14, 9/24/14, 9/27/14. I HAVE ALREADY HAD $550 REPAIRS DONE, AT LEAST THAT'S WHAT I THOUGHT, TO TAKE CARE OF THE "REDUCE ENGINE SPEED" LIGHT BUT IT CONTINUES TO COME ON. I TOOK IT BACK THE SAME MECHANIC/BODY SHOP AND THE DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE SHOWED MORE/DIFFERENT CODES. NEW REPAIRS WOULD COST ANOTHER $550-$600. ALSO, WHEN EITHER OF MY SONS SIT IN THE FRONT SEAT, THE PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF. THEY ARE BOTH BETWEEN 90-95 LBS. THIS ARE MAJOR CONCERNS BECAUSE I NEED TO KNOW THAT WE ARE SAFE WHENEVER WE ARE INSIDE THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/25/2014 - CLINTON, IA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH THE CONTACT STATED THAT A SHARP RIGHT TURN WAS MADE TO AVOID CRASHING INTO A DEER. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE THE POWER SUDDENLY SHUT OFF AND THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WOULD NOT OPERATE CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO CRASH INTO A DITCH. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT DURING THE INCIDENT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUFFERED NECK AND BACK INJURIES DURING THE INCIDENT AND THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS TAKEN AT THE SCENE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000. JFT

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/23/2014 - CAMBRIDGE, MN
FIRST TIME I NOTICED A PROBLEM I WAS MAKING A SHARP RIGHT TURN INTO A PARKING SPOT DRIVING ROUGHLY 5 MPH OR LESS. WHEN I PUSHED ON THE BRAKE IT JUST PULSATED MUCH LIKE THE ABS TAKING OVER BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP! I ALMOST HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF MY PARKING SPOT. I HAD IT IN A SHOP FOR OTHER REPAIRS AND MENTIONED THIS BUT SINCE AT THE TIME IT WAS INTERMITTEN THEY BLEW IT OFF AS I MUST HAVE BEEN BRAKING ON ICE. ONCE IT STARTED TO WARM UP IN THE SPRING AND IN THE SUMMER IT STARTED HAPPENING MORE AND MORE BUT ONLY WHEN TURNING. I HAD A FEW CLOSE CALLS WHERE I HAD ALMOST CRASHED. WHEN IT HAPPENS NOW THE DASH WILL DISPLAY SERVICE ABS AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM. IT DID NOT DISPLAY THAT BACK WHEN IT WAS INTERMITTEN. I HAVE SINCE PULLED THE ABS FUSE AND WHILE THE SAME SERVICE LIGHTS COME ON AT LEAST I HAVE BRAKES! I THINK IT WAS 5 OR SO MONTHS EARLIER THAT I HAD MY FRONT RIGHT WHEEL BEARING REPLACED BY A PONTIAC DEALER AND I HEAR THAT BECAUSE THE WHEEL BEARING AND SPEED SENSOR ARE ONE OF THE SAME THAT I MAY NEED THAT REPLACED AGAIN. THIS IS NOT SAFE AND THE MORE PEOPLE I TALK TO THEY HAVE HEARD OR EXPERIENCED THIS AS A COMMON ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/22/2014 - SHREVEPORT, LA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HE DROVE AT APPROXIMATE 50MPH A VEHICLE FAILED TO YIELD PROCEEDED INTO TRAFFIC AND CRASHED INTO THE CONTACT FRONT. THE DRIVERÆS AND PASSENGER FRONTAL AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY CAUSING THE CONTACT FACE TO HIT THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE FACE AND KNEE, THE FRONT PASSENGER SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE LEGS AND FACE, AND THE REAR PASSENGER SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE LEGS AND FACE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE WARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000. LI

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/19/2014 - COMPTON, CA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THREE DOORS OF THE VEHICLE LACKED THE MOLDING. THE DRIVER DOOR, REAR DRIVER AND THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DID NOT HAVE THE MOLDING. THE PROBLEM WAS DISCOVERED THREE YEARS AGO. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MOLDING OF THE DOORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.JB

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2014 - QUEENSBURY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO A FAULTY COMPUTER. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/17/2014 - HAMMOND, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A PROBLEM AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. HOWEVER, THE CONTACT HAD RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN WHEN THE PARTS COULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/12/2014 - COMPTON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR MOLDING AROUND THE WINDOW SEPARATED AND CAUSED THE METAL TO RUST. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MOLDING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds