Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 53 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (1) Power Train (10) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/28/2014 - FORT WAYNE, IN
WE GOT THIS 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX FROM A SECOND HAND DEALER THAT SOLD 2008 OR NEWER, WE WERE ON A LEASE WITH THIS AUTO WE ALSO HAD A WARRANTY AS WELL. WE TOOK A SHORT TRIP TO OHIO AND WE CHECKED INTO THE HOTEL , WENT OUT GOT INTO THE CAR WAS HEADING TO THEIR CASINO FOR THE NIGHT WAS DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 75 DOING ABOUT 72 MPH. WHILE I WAS IN THE FAST LANE I LOST ALL POWER DIDN'T KNOW WHAT HAD HAPPEN HAD TO TRY TO GET THE CAR ALL THE WAY OVER TO RIGHT SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. THIS WAS IN ON JUNE 26,2012 POLICE CAME I CALLED THE WARRANTY COMPANY THEY STATED THAT WE WOULD HAVE TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED TO A GM DEALERSHIP SO WE DID, THE NEXT MORNING I GOT UP AND CALLED THE DEALER TOLD THEM WHAT HAPPEN WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE CAR IT CRANKS AND DOES NOT START CHECK AND PLEASE ADVISE. WHILE WAITING ON THEM I CALLED THE LEASE COMPANY TO SEE WHAT KIND OF HELP WE COULD GET FROM THEM THE ANSWER WAS PONIT BLANK NONE WAS NEVER LATE ON PAYMENTS WITH THEM THE CAR ONLY HAD 92152 MILES ON IT AT THIS TIME WE GOT IT BACK IN AUG.2009. SO THE DEALER CALLED BACK AND TOLD US THE THE CAR HAD A BAD IGNITION CONTROL MODULE AND COIL , THIS NOT THE KILLING PART WE HAD TO PAY $705.88 AND WOW GENERAL MOTORS SAYING THEY DON'T HAVE ANY RECALLS ON THIS MODEL OR YEAR. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET REIMBURSE FOR THE AMOUNT WE PAID TO HAVE THIS DONE, I KNOW THAT IT'S A WHOLE LOT OF PEOPLE OUT HERE THAT HAVE HAD SOME OF THE SAME ISSUES THAT I HAVE HAD BUT DIDN'T GET THEM REPAIRED. OTHER ISSUES (1) POWER STERRING(2) BRAKE LIGHTS STAYING ON ALOT OF THE TIME(3)AIRBAG ,AND THE LIST GOES ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2014 - FORD WAYNE, IN
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HIS BRAKE LIGHTS ILLUMINATE RANDOMLY WITHOUT DEPRESSING HIS SERVICE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC RECOMMENDED THE CONTACT TO SPRAY WB40 ON TO HIS BRAKE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO A GM DEALERSHIP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 130,000. AZ.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/23/2014 - NORTHAMPTON, PA
AIRBAG LIGHT GOES ON INTERMITTENTLY AND WON'T TURN OFF. TOOK CAR TO GM DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE WAS BAD WHICH CAUSES THE AIRBAGS TO BECOME INOPERABLE WHEN THE LIGHT GOES ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/18/2014 - OAKPARK, IL
FROM THE MOMENT I BOUGHT THE CAR I HAVE BEEN HAVING MAJOR PROBLEMS BOUGHT CERTIFIED USED POWER TRAIN WARRANTY ALSO BOUGHT EXTENDED WARRANTY THRU GMC .THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN ONGOING EVERY TIME TOOK TO DEALERSHIP THEY WOULD FIND OTHER PROBLEMS BUT WHAT I BROUGHT THE CAR IN FOR WHICH IS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX V8 .AFTER I COME TO A COMPLETE STOP THE CAR JERKS WHEN I TAKE OFF THE DEALER SHIP CLAIMS THEY COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM I HAVE OVER 10 PAGES OF RECORDS FROM MY VISIT TO 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS NOW CAR IS OUT OF ALL WARRANTIES I STILL HAVE SAME PROBLEM ITS SO BAD I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THE CAR LONG DISTANT ALMOST HAD A ACCIDENT DUE TO THIS PROBLEM THE DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO LOOK AT THE TRANS AT EVERY VISIT SAYING NO CODES AND THEY COULD NOT LOCATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/14/2014 - FOXBOROUGH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO OPERATE WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTING WOULD REMAIN ILLUMINATED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

7/14/2014 - FOXBOROUGH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO OPERATE WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTING WOULD REMAIN ILLUMINATED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

INTERIOR LIGHTING

7/14/2014 - FOXBOROUGH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO OPERATE WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTING WOULD REMAIN ILLUMINATED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/13/2014 - OREGON, OH
ACCELERATED TO ON RAMP OF EXPRESSWAY, REACHED APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH. VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY DECELERATED. I PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE EXPRESSWAY AND TURNED THE CAR OFF. ATTEMPTED TO TURN CAR BACK ON. IT DID NOT TURN OVER. BATTERY WAS OK, ENGINE WAS NOT. CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO SERVICE CENTER. IGNITION CONTROL MODULE, IGNITION COILS, SPARK PLUG WIRES REPLACED. HEFTY REPAIR BILL. ONE WEEK LATER, ACCELERATED TO ON RAMP, REACHED 70 MPH, CAR JERKED AS I ATTEMPTED TO INCREASE SPEED. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED RAPIDLY TWICE. GOT OFF EXPRESSWAY, REACHED SPEEDS UP TO 40 MPH. POSSIBLE CATALYTIC CONVERTER TO BE REPLACED. BOTH SITUATIONS COULD HAVE LED TO SERIOUS INJURIES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2014 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE PUMPED IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE SEATBELT SENSOR ILLUMINATED AFTER THE SEATBELT WAS LATCHED AND THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR FLASHED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/7/2014 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE PUMPED IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE SEATBELT SENSOR ILLUMINATED AFTER THE SEATBELT WAS LATCHED AND THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR FLASHED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds