Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND PRIX - 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 64 complaints filed for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (1) Power Train (11) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (9) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/17/2014 - HAMMOND, IN
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITH OUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE HAD RESTARTED AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOSIS AND THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A PROBLEM AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES,HOWEVER, THE CONTACT HAD RECEIVED NHTSA CAMPAIGN 14V400000(ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) NOTIFICATION AND STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN WHEN THE PARTS WERE AVAILABLE TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE UNDER THE RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.GB

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/12/2014 - COMPTON, CA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR MOLDING AROUND THE WINDOW HAS STARTED COME UNDONE CAUSING THE METAL TO RUST. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE MOLDING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000. NE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/11/2014 - COMPTON, CA
THE CONTACTS OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MOLDING FOR THREE PASSENGER DOORS WARPED. THE FAILURE PERSISTED FOR THREE YEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE MOLDING FOR ALL PASSENGERS DOORS NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/29/2014 - JACKSON, MS
I HAVE HAD MY CAR 2YRS NOW AND MY PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT STILL DOESN'T COME ON ALL TIME WHEN MY FIANCEE SITS ON MY FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR. MY FIANCEE IS LITTLE AND ONLY WEIGH ABOUT 125LBS BUT I AM GETTING FRUSTRATED WITH CONSTANTLY TURNING THE CAR ON AND OFF AND MAKING HER GET IN AND OUT OFF THE CAR UNTIL THE SENSOR READS THAT SHE IS IN THE SEAT. WHEN MY BOTHER AND I SIT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE THE AIRBAG IS LIGHT COMES ON FIRST TRY. MY BROTHER AND I BOTH WEIGH 250+ AND I'M STARTING TO THINK IT MAY HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE AMOUNT OF WEIGHT IN THE SEAT FOR THE SENSOR TO PICK UP. PLEASE HELP TO RESOLVE THIS BECAUSE I AM AFRAID THAT IF I EVER HAVE A WRECK AND MY FIANCEE IS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT THE AIRBAG MAY NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/17/2014 - ANKENY, IA
LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS SHUT OFF DURING DRIVING. HAVE OWNED THE CAR FOR ABOUT 8 MONTHS NOW AND HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES RANDOMLY (3 ON THE INTERSTATE). THE HIGH BEAMS WILL STILL WORK. JUST HAVE TO PULL OVER AND WAIT UNTIL THEY COME BACK ON. VERY FRUSTRATING & WORRYSOME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/14/2014 - EUDORA, AR
I DRIVE A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. I HAVE DRIVEN IT FOR SEVEN OR EIGHT YEARS. I UNDERSTAND THAT THERE HAVE BEEN RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE BUT I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE ONE NOTICE OF A RECALL. IN JUNE 2014, THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUT DOWN ON MY CAR WITHOUT WARNING AT ONE OF THE BUSIEST INTERSECTIONS IN GREENVILLE, MS. AS A RESULT OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUTTING DOWN I WAS LEFT WITHOUT AIR, OPERATIVE WINDOW AND DOORS, NEITHER AN OPERATIVE HORN NOR EMERGENCY FLASHERS. IT HAPPENED DURING THE HOTTEST PART OF THE DAY AND MY CAR WAS FACING THE SUN. I WAS TRAPPED IN THE CAR FOR ABOUT THIRTY MINUTES AND I CAME VERY CLOSE TO SUFFOCATING! IT WAS A VERY TRAUMATIC EXPERIENCE FOR ME THOUGH I SUSTAINED NO PHYSICAL INJURIES. MY WINDOW HAD TO BE BROKEN IN ORDER FOR ME TO BE REMOVED FROM THE CAR. I AM NO LONGER COMFORTABLE DRIVING MY CAR AS I NEVER CAN TELL WHEN THIS MIGHT OCCUR AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

8/8/2014 - LAFAYETTE, IN
DRIVING TO WORK 25-30MPH CAR TURNED OF AND COAST DOWN STREET. TRIED TO START AND WOILD NOT START. GOT TOWED HOME. TWO HOURS LATER STARTS SHACKED SPUTTERS. TOOOK TO MECHANIC SAYS POSSIBLY THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. COULD HAVE BEEN A VERY DEADLY IF ON HIGHWAY AND THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/8/2014 - OZARK, MO
WHILE DRIVING SEAT BELT LIGHT CAME ON AND CONTINUOUSLY FLASHED. THE LIGHT WOULD THEN GO OFF ONLY TO START FLASHING 15 MINUTES LATER

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2014 - HILLIARD , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND FAILED TO RESTART AFTER REPEATED ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

8/6/2014 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
2008 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO CATALYTIC CONVERTER REPLACEMENT. GM WOULD NOT COVER THE COST, BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REGISTERED IN CALIFORNIA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds