Auto Recalls for Consumers

SMART FORTWO COUPE - 2008 SMART FORTWO COUPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by SMART

There are 19 complaints filed for the 2008 SMART FORTWO COUPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 SMART FORTWO COUPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 SMART FORTWO COUPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Engine (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (7) Structure (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/17/2016 - DALLAS, TX
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE NORTH DALLAS TOLLWAY I HEARD A SUDDEN LOUD "POP" NOISE IN THE BACK OF MY CAR WHERE MY ENGINE IS LOCATED. IT WAS STARTLING ENOUGH TO PULL OFF ONTO THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY AND EXIT MY CAR IMMEDIATELY TO SEE WHERE THE NOISE CAME FROM. UPON EXITING MY VEHICLE, I SAW COMING FROM THE BACK OF THE CAR WHERE THE ENGINE IS LOCATED FLAMES COMING OUT OF THE ENGINE. I IMMEDIATELY REMOVED MYSELF FROM THE VICINITY OF THE CAR AND WITHIN MOMENTS MY CAR WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES. HAD I NOT PULLED OFF TO THE SHOULDER WHEN I DID, MY STORY WOULD NOT BE COMING DIRECTLY FROM ME BUT FROM MY OBITUARY STATING MY CAUSE OF DEATH. I CHECKED WITH MY AUTO INSURANCE TO SEE IF ANY RECALLS HAD BEEN MADE ON MY CAR BUT NONE HAD BEEN MADE. I CURIOUSLY SEARCHED THE INTERNET TO SEE IF ANY OTHER PEOPLE HAD EXPERIENCE SOMETHING SIMILAR WITH THERE SMART CARS TO FRIGHTENINGLY COME UPON THE WEBSITE WWW.SMARTCARSSUCK.COM. TO MY HORROR I SAW PHOTO AFTER PHOTO OF CARS IN VARIOUS STAGES OF BEING ENGULFED IN FLAMES. TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE I SEE THAT MERCEDES BENZ HAS BEEN NOTIFIED OF THIS DEATH TRAP YET HAVE NOT CHOSEN TO RECALL OR CHECK INTO THE ISSUE. I WAS INFORMED AS THERE HAS NOT BEEN A DEATH OR INJURY ATTACHED TO THIS OCCURRENCE NO CHANGE WILL BE MADE. IT IS VERY TRAGIC THAT A COMPANY AS LARGE AS MERCEDES BENZ HAS BEEN A DERELICT IN HOW THEY HAVE HANDLED THIS ISSUE. I WAS ALWAYS UNDER THE IMPRESSION THEY STRIVED TO MAKE THE SAFEST VEHICLE ON THE ROAD. IT WILL BE MY MISSION TO INFORM PEOPLE OF THE DANGERS OF THIS VEHICLE AND UNTIL THIS ISSUE IS RESOLVED THE VEHICLE SHOULD NOT BE PURCHASED. I WILL ALSO INFORM AS MANY AUTO INSURANCE COMPANIES OF THIS AND TO NOT INSURE THESE VEHICLES UNTIL IT IS RESOLVED. I CONSIDER MYSELF ONE OF THE LUCKY ONES WHO WAS ABLE TO GET OUT ALIVE AND WILL TAKE THIS SECOND CHANCE AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO MAKE MY MESS INTO A MESSAGE AND SAVE LIVES.

View Details

ENGINE

9/25/2015 - DORCHESTER, MA
SEVERAL TIMES MY 2008 SMART WILL NOT GO INTO REVERSE GEAR.OR START SOMETIMES AS EXPLAINED IN MANY OTHER POST HERE. MB SAID THAT ITS MY CLUTCH ASSEMBY, MB REPORT SAYS (1) TRANSMISSION NEED TO BE REMOVED INSPECT CLUTCH DISK PRESSURE PLATES AND THOWOUT BEARING/ CLUTCH WILL NOT TEACH IN CAUSING ENGINE LAMP COST $1359.00 AND IF THAT DONT WORK (2) CLUTCH ASSEMBY REPLACEMENT OF CLUTCH THOWOUT BEARING PRESSURE PLATE IF NEEDED WHEN TRANSMISSION IS OUT PARTS ONLY $1031.20 THIS CAR ONLY HAS 38,326 MILES ON IT I AM THE 2ND OWNER PAD GOT THE CAR WITH 4,500 MILES ON IT. MB AND SMARTUSA HAVE BEEN NO HELP AT ALL IN THIS MATTER

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/25/2015 - DORCHESTER, MA
SEVERAL TIMES MY 2008 SMART WILL NOT GO INTO REVERSE GEAR.OR START SOMETIMES AS EXPLAINED IN MANY OTHER POST HERE. MB SAID THAT ITS MY CLUTCH ASSEMBY, MB REPORT SAYS (1) TRANSMISSION NEED TO BE REMOVED INSPECT CLUTCH DISK PRESSURE PLATES AND THOWOUT BEARING/ CLUTCH WILL NOT TEACH IN CAUSING ENGINE LAMP COST $1359.00 AND IF THAT DONT WORK (2) CLUTCH ASSEMBY REPLACEMENT OF CLUTCH THOWOUT BEARING PRESSURE PLATE IF NEEDED WHEN TRANSMISSION IS OUT PARTS ONLY $1031.20 THIS CAR ONLY HAS 38,326 MILES ON IT I AM THE 2ND OWNER PAD GOT THE CAR WITH 4,500 MILES ON IT. MB AND SMARTUSA HAVE BEEN NO HELP AT ALL IN THIS MATTER

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/1/2015 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
THIS CAR HAS PERIODICALLY FAILED TO GO INTO REVERSE AND DRIVE. LAST EVENT THAT I EXPERIENCED IS WHEN I ACTUALLY REALIZED IT TO BE AN SAFETY ISSUE. I GOT INTO MY CAR THAT WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVE WAY TO TAKE MY DAUGHTER TO SCHOOL. I STARTED THE CAR AS USUAL AND PROCEEDED TO PLACE IT IN REVERSE. IT WAS BACKING DOWN THE DRIVEWAY AS I BELIEVED IT SHOULD. A CAR WAS COMING DOWN THE ROAD WHICH WOULD NORMALLY NOT BE A PROBLEM BUT THIS TIME IT WAS DIFFERENT MY CAR WAS NOT TRULY ENGAGED INTO REVERSE AND WOULDN'T AND ALSO WOULDN'T GO INTO DRIVE. MY CAR ROLLED DOWN THE DRIVEWAY INTO THE ROAD INSTEAD. I HAVE A PROBLEM MANEUVERING OUT OF THE WAY AS THE OTHER DRIVER WAS EXPECTING ME TO BE ABLE. I HAD TO TURN THE CAR OFF AND RESTART IT. THE OTHER DRIVER THAT WAS HEADING MY WAY HAD TO SLAM THE BRAKES AND NEARLY HIT US. I BROUGHT THIS PROBLEM UP WITH MERCEDES AND SMART CAR. THEY HAVE BEEN AWARE THAT THIS PROBLEM EXISTS. WHEN I WAS AT THE SERVICE STATION FOR A TMPS PROBLEM THAT NO ONE ELSE COULD FIX, I TOLD THEM THEN. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT NEEDED A COMPUTER UPDATE. I TOLD THEM THAT THEY COULD FIX IT BUT I COULDN'T AFFORD TO PAY FOR IT. THEY ALLOWED ME TO LEAVE WITH THE CAR. I HAVE RESEARCHED AND FOUND THAT THIS IS SOMETHING THAT MANY SMART CARS LIKE MINE ARE EXPERIENCING. THERE IS A YOUTUBE VIDEO OUT. I FEEL THAT I COULD HAVE BEEN HURT BY THIS DEFECT. I FEEL THAT OTHERS COULD BE GETTING HURT BY THIS DEFECT. SMART CAR HAS NEVER NOTIFIED ME OF THIS DEFECT BEFORE. THEY ARE ONLY WILLING AT MY EXPENSE TO FIX IT. I TOLD THEM THAT THEY NEEDED TO NOTIFY OTHERS AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THAT WAS NOT SOMETHING THAT THEY ARE WILLING TO DO. PLEASE DO SOMETHING TO MAKE THIS COMPANY FIX THEIR PRODUCT AND SPARE THE LIVES OF INNOCENT VICTIMS. HERE IS AN EXAMPLE OF THE PROBLEM AND THIS IS NOT MY VIDEO. FOLLOW THIS LINK HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=4IWBPVZKSZE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/19/2013 - DEKALB, IL
I OWN 2 OF THE 2008 SMART FORTWO AUTOMOBILES (PURE & CABRIO). BOTH HAVE PERIODICALLY BEEN BALKY SHIFTERS (STUCK WHEN TRYING TO MOVE THE GEAR SELECTOR OUT OF PARK). ONE HAS BRIEFLY REFUSED TO SHIFT INTO ANY GEAR, INDEPENDENT OF THE GEAR INDICATED. BOTH HAVE BRIEFLY REFUSED TO SHIFT OUT OF PARK... UNTIL TODAY WHEN MY WIFE WAS STUCK IN PARK AT A RED LIGHT. THE ABS LIGHT HAD COME ON, MY WIFE DECIDED TO SEE IF SHE COULD CLEAR THE INDICATOR. SHE QUICKLY PUT IT IN PARK, ENGINE OFF THEN ON, BUT VEHICLE REMAINED STUCK IN PARK. A DEPUTY MOVED TRAFFIC AROUND HER. I ARRIVED & AFTER REPEATED ATTEMPTS FOR 20 MINUTES, IT FINALLY RELEASED FROM PARK INTO DRIVE. I DROVE IT HOME & THOROUGHLY LUBRICATED THE SHIFTER MECHANISM PER POSTS ON THE SMART CAR OF AMERICA FORUMS. AS I RE-READ THIS THREAD CONTAINING 4 YEARS OF CONTRIBUTORS, THERE IS AN IMPRESSION THAT THE FACTORY RELEASED A 1ST, THEN 2ND GENERATION OF SHIFTER REPLACEMENT HARDWARE. THERE IS ABUNDANT OWNER FEEDBACK THAT THERE IS A RELIABILITY ISSUE IN GEAR-SHIFTING, AT LEAST ON THE 2008 MODEL. PER MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP IN ST CHARLES, IL, THERE IS NO FACTORY RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE. THE DEALERSHIP WILL RUN A $120 DIAGNOSTIC, BUT REPAIR IS AT THE EXPENSE OF THE OWNER. APPARENTLY, I AM ON MY OWN TO PURCHASE UPDATED SHIFTER HARDWARE, OR SELF-MAINTAIN SUFFICIENT LUBE ON THE ORIGINAL, BALKY SHIFTER HARDWARE. IF ONE EVER PULLS OVER IN A REMOTE OR DANGEROUS AREA & PUTS THE TRANSMISSION IN PARK, HE MAY BE STUCK THERE PERMANENTLY, UNTIL RESCUED. IN DANGEROUSLY COLD WEATHER, THIS MECHANICAL FAILURE COULD BE FATAL. IN TRAFFIC, THIS COULD HAVE LED TO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. ON WHAT OTHER VEHICLE WOULD THIS BEHAVIOR BE TOLERATED? IF 2 OUT OF 2 OF MY VEHICLES EXHIBIT THIS ISSUE, IT IS WIDESPREAD, & A DANGER TO OPERATORS OF THIS VEHICLE. I'M GOING TO ALSO REPORT IT USING MY OTHER 2008 SMART FORTWO VIN NEXT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/15/2013 - BOCA RATON, FL
THIS BEING A 2008 SMART PASSION FOR TWO......A LEAKING GAS TANK ON A 4 YEAR OLD VEHICLE......CONTACTED MB/SMART AT THEIR HEADQUARTERS IN NJ...TRYING TO GET THEM TO REPLACE THIS UNDER THE MANUFACTURER DEFECTIVE PART TO NO AVAIL. LOCAL MB/SMART DEALERSHIP CHARGED ME $1717 FOR ITS REPLACEMENT.....NO VEHICLE SHOULD LOSE ITS GAS TANK BEING ONLY FOUR YEARS OLD, ANY BRAND.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/10/2011 - PLUMAS LAKE, CA
DRIVING ON CA70 SOUTH TOWARDS PLUMAS LAKE BLVD. EXIT, BRAKING LIGHTLY FROM 55 MPH TO 35MPH TO EXIT THE FREEWAY CAUSED ABS AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY PROGRAM (ESP)((ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL)) EXCLAMATION LIGHTS TO LIGHT UP WHICH DENOTED THE ABS AND ESP DISABLED. WHEN COMING TO A STOP AT THE STOP SIGN, THE SMART WAS SHUT DOWN AND RESTARTED TO RESET THE ABS AND ESP FOR SAFETY ONLY TO FIND THAT THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT FROM PARK TO DRIVE AND WAS LOCKED INTO PARK. THIS CREATED A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHERE THE CAR WAS UNABLE TO BE SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL TO MOVE THE CAR INTO THE SHOULDER AND THE CAR WAS STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD WITH CARS EXITING THE FREEWAY (HAZARD LIGHTS WERE ON). TO GET OUT OF A DANGEROUS SITUATION, AN ONLINE FORUM THAT DISCUSSES THE SMART CAR (WWW.SMARTCARSOFAMERICA.COM) SHOWED THAT IF THE SHIFTER IS STUCK INTO PARK TO CHECK AND SEE IF THE BRAKE LIGHTS IN THE REAR WERE WORKING. THE BRAKE REAR BRAKE LIGHTS WERE CHECKED AND THERE WAS NO LIGHT EMITTING FROM THEM. THE SITE STATED THAT IF THERE WAS NO BRAKE LIGHT THEN THAT POINTED THE PROBLEM TO THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH WHICH IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE SMART FORTWO NA451 MODELS. A REMEDY WAS RECOMMENDED TO GET OUT OF PARK BY RAPIDLY PRESSING AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL TO GET THE LIGHT TO COME ON WHICH WOULD DISABLE THE PARKING LOCK ON THE SHIFTER. THAT WORKED AND GOT ME OUT OF A DANGEROUS POSITION ON THE ROADWAY WHERE THERE WAS NOT SUFFICIENT TIME TO CONTACT THE CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY PATROL OR A TOW TRUCK TO GET ME OFF THE ROAD. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND A RECALL TO BE DRAFTED TO REPLACE THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH ON ALL SMART NA451 MODELS AS THEY CAN BE DEFECTIVE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/10/2011 - PLUMAS LAKE, CA
DRIVING ON CA70 SOUTH TOWARDS PLUMAS LAKE BLVD. EXIT, BRAKING LIGHTLY FROM 55 MPH TO 35MPH TO EXIT THE FREEWAY CAUSED ABS AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY PROGRAM (ESP)((ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL)) EXCLAMATION LIGHTS TO LIGHT UP WHICH DENOTED THE ABS AND ESP DISABLED. WHEN COMING TO A STOP AT THE STOP SIGN, THE SMART WAS SHUT DOWN AND RESTARTED TO RESET THE ABS AND ESP FOR SAFETY ONLY TO FIND THAT THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT FROM PARK TO DRIVE AND WAS LOCKED INTO PARK. THIS CREATED A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHERE THE CAR WAS UNABLE TO BE SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL TO MOVE THE CAR INTO THE SHOULDER AND THE CAR WAS STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD WITH CARS EXITING THE FREEWAY (HAZARD LIGHTS WERE ON). TO GET OUT OF A DANGEROUS SITUATION, AN ONLINE FORUM THAT DISCUSSES THE SMART CAR (WWW.SMARTCARSOFAMERICA.COM) SHOWED THAT IF THE SHIFTER IS STUCK INTO PARK TO CHECK AND SEE IF THE BRAKE LIGHTS IN THE REAR WERE WORKING. THE BRAKE REAR BRAKE LIGHTS WERE CHECKED AND THERE WAS NO LIGHT EMITTING FROM THEM. THE SITE STATED THAT IF THERE WAS NO BRAKE LIGHT THEN THAT POINTED THE PROBLEM TO THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH WHICH IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE SMART FORTWO NA451 MODELS. A REMEDY WAS RECOMMENDED TO GET OUT OF PARK BY RAPIDLY PRESSING AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL TO GET THE LIGHT TO COME ON WHICH WOULD DISABLE THE PARKING LOCK ON THE SHIFTER. THAT WORKED AND GOT ME OUT OF A DANGEROUS POSITION ON THE ROADWAY WHERE THERE WAS NOT SUFFICIENT TIME TO CONTACT THE CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY PATROL OR A TOW TRUCK TO GET ME OFF THE ROAD. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND A RECALL TO BE DRAFTED TO REPLACE THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH ON ALL SMART NA451 MODELS AS THEY CAN BE DEFECTIVE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/8/2011 - AMES, IA
1.HIGH FAILURE RATE OF HEATER BLOWER MOTORS. 2.HIGH REPLACEMENT COST $340+ (PRICE GOUGING) FOR A BLOWER MOTOR BASED ON THE BELIEVED HIGH CURRENT FAILURE RATE. 3.3 BLOWER FAILURES HAVE OCCURRED IN 54K MILES. 4.VEHICLE WAS NEW IN 4/2008, I AM ORIGINAL OWNER 5.NO HEAT CREATES A HIGH SAFETY RISK TO CONSUMER WHO USE THE VEHICLE IN EXTREME WEATHER CONDITIONS. 6.NO HEAT CAN CREATE VISIBILITY ISSUE DUE TO INABILITY TO PROPERLY DEFROST THE WINDOWS. 7.NO HEAT PRESENTS A HEALTH ISSUE TO OLDER USERS IN COLD WEATHER WHO MAY HAVE LIMITED CIRCULATION. 8.NO HEAT PRESENTS A SAFETY ISSUE TO OTHER DRIVERS DUE TO: A.POOR VISIBILITY B.DRIVER DISTRACTION DUE TO COMFORT C.DRIVER DISTRACTION DUE TO GAGE PANEL MANIPULATION 9.NO HEAT CREATES A HEALTH ISSUE IN THE EVENT OF BEING STRANDED DUE TO SEVERE WEATHER. FAILURE TO HEAT THE OCCUPANT SPACE COULD LEAD TO SEVERE INJURY OR DEATH. 10.DISASSEMBLY AND REPAIR OF THE BLOWER MOTOR IS NOT PART OF THE CONSUMER REGULAR SERVICE REQUIREMENTS. 11.SMART DOES NOT RECOMMEND CHANGING OF THE BLOWER MOTOR DURING REGULAR SERVICE INTERVALS. SO FAR SMART HAS DONE ALL SERVICE TO THE VEHICLE AT 10, 20, 30, 40, AND 50K. NOT ONCE WAS BLOWER MOTOR A SUGGESTED SERVICE ITEM. 12.SMART THEREFORE BELIEVES THE BLOWER MOTOR TO HAVE SIGNIFICANT LIFE AND DOES NOT NEED SERVICE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

1/19/2011 - LEWISVILLE, TX
THE PLASTIC ROOF IN MY 2009 SMART FORTWO HAD BEEN CRACKING SUBSTANTIALLY FROM EITHER HEAT OR CLEANING CHEMICALS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds