Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SCION XD - 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Steering (3) Traction Control System (1)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes (12) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Suspension (4) Wheels (1)
Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/17/2014 - RICHMOND, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V338000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SEATS

10/17/2014 - RICHMOND, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V169000 (SEATS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SEATS

9/26/2014 - SICKERVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER SERVICING THE VEHICLE UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN: 14V169000 (SEATS), SHE WAS UNABLE TO PROPERLY ENTER THE VEHICLE AND HER LEG HIT THE STEERING COLUMN WHEN DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE SEAT WAS ADJUSTED FAR BACK BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS NO FAILURE PRIOR TO THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,644.

View Details

SEATS

9/26/2014 - SICKERVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER SERVICING THE VEHICLE UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN: 14V169000 (SEATS), SHE WAS UNABLE TO PROPERLY ENTER THE VEHICLE AND HER LEG HIT THE STEERING COLUMN WHEN DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE SEAT WAS ADJUSTED FAR BACK BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS NO FAILURE PRIOR TO THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,644.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/19/2014 - TOLEDO, OH
I WAS DRIVING MY 2008 SCION XD WITH A MANUAL TRANSMISSION HOME FROM ERRAND RUN, CLOSE TO HOME. NEAR A BUSY INTERSECTION, THE GEARS FAILED. NO WARNING, NO ENGINE LIGHT. A KIND GENTLEMAN HELPED ME PUSH THE CAR INTO A NEARBY PARKING LOT. DURING THE AUTOPSY, MY MOST EXCELLENT MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE THROW-OUT BEARING IN THE CLUTCH BROKE. THE CAR HAS ONLY 24,300+ MILES. THE PART'S FAILURE WAS NOT CAUSED BY IMPROPER USE OR EXCESSIVE WEAR! THIS WAS A FAULTY PART. I CAN ONLY THANK A HIGHER POWER THAT I WAS NOT ON A HIGHWAY OR IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BECAUSE THERE WAS FULL LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE STEERING SYSTEM & MOBILITY. GUESS IT WASN'T MY DAY TO DIE IN A HORRIBLE CAR CRASH. CALLED TOYOTA TO ASK FOR REMUNERATION FOR THE $1,350 REPAIR JOB AND THE $140 FOR THE RENTAL CAR BECAUSE THE REPAIR TOOK A WEEK. THE PART IS COVERED BY THE WARRANTEE, BUT TOYOTA REFUSED TO PAY FOR ANYTHING BECAUSE THE REPAIRS WERE NOT PERFORMED AT A TOYOTA DEALERSHIP! APPARENTLY TOYOTA PUTS THE "T" IN STUPID - AND HOW MANY CLASS ACTION LAWSUITS ARE THEY FIELDING THIS WEEK? LOOKING FOR SOLUTIONS, I CONTACTED STATE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE HELP LINE. HOPEFULLY THE AG'S CASE WORKER WILL BE A BETTER RESOLUTION THAN "NO, WE WON'T PAY FOR THE FAULTY PART THAT IS UNDER WARRANTEE BECAUSE ONLY PEOPLE WITH SPECIAL TOYOTA DECODER RINGS ARE ALLOWED TO FIX IT." RIDICULOUS. ONE RING TO RULE THEM ALL AND IN THE DARKNESS BIND THEM!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/29/2014 - RIVERSIDE, RI
MY ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A RESIDENTIAL ROAD. WENT TO THE NEAREST TOYOTA DEALERSHIP, WHERE THEY TOLD ME THAT MY ABS SENSOR WAS NO LONGER WORKING IN THE LEFT TIRE. THEY REPLACED THE SENSOR. 6 MONTHS HAD PASSED AND THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN FOR A FEW DAYS THEN WENT OFF. THIS SCENARIO PLAYED OUT FOR THE NEXT SEVERAL YEARS, MORE SO IN COLDER MONTHS. THE REASON IT WAS NOT REPAIRED WAS BECAUSE THE COST WAS TOO HIGH TO FIX. STARTING IN OCTOBER 2013 THE ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON AND HAVE NOT COME OFF SINCE THEN. I RECENTLY BROUGHT THE CAR TO A MECHANIC (AUGUST 26, 2014) WHERE THEY TOOK A LOOK AT THE ISSUE. IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT BOTH MY FRONT TIRE ABS SYSTEMS WERE NOT WORKING AND THE COST TO REPLACE BOTH SYSTEMS WAS $1,100.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/29/2014 - RIVERSIDE, RI
MY ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A RESIDENTIAL ROAD. WENT TO THE NEAREST TOYOTA DEALERSHIP, WHERE THEY TOLD ME THAT MY ABS SENSOR WAS NO LONGER WORKING IN THE LEFT TIRE. THEY REPLACED THE SENSOR. 6 MONTHS HAD PASSED AND THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN FOR A FEW DAYS THEN WENT OFF. THIS SCENARIO PLAYED OUT FOR THE NEXT SEVERAL YEARS, MORE SO IN COLDER MONTHS. THE REASON IT WAS NOT REPAIRED WAS BECAUSE THE COST WAS TOO HIGH TO FIX. STARTING IN OCTOBER 2013 THE ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON AND HAVE NOT COME OFF SINCE THEN. I RECENTLY BROUGHT THE CAR TO A MECHANIC (AUGUST 26, 2014) WHERE THEY TOOK A LOOK AT THE ISSUE. IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT BOTH MY FRONT TIRE ABS SYSTEMS WERE NOT WORKING AND THE COST TO REPLACE BOTH SYSTEMS WAS $1,100.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/7/2014 - FOREST PARK, IL
AS I WAS DRIVING, MY ABS, BRAKE LIGHT, VSC LIGHTS ALL CAME ON . THEY FLASH CONSTANTLY. I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED AND WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO REPLACE MY ABS SENSORS BOTH THE LEFT AND RIGHT SIDE. NOW AGAIN THE LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND I'M TOLD THAT THE WIRE HARNESS HAS TO BE REPLACE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/7/2014 - FOREST PARK, IL
AS I WAS DRIVING, MY ABS, BRAKE LIGHT, VSC LIGHTS ALL CAME ON . THEY FLASH CONSTANTLY. I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED AND WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO REPLACE MY ABS SENSORS BOTH THE LEFT AND RIGHT SIDE. NOW AGAIN THE LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND I'M TOLD THAT THE WIRE HARNESS HAS TO BE REPLACE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/7/2014 - FOREST PARK, IL
AS I WAS DRIVING, MY ABS, BRAKE LIGHT, VSC LIGHTS ALL CAME ON . THEY FLASH CONSTANTLY. I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED AND WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO REPLACE MY ABS SENSORS BOTH THE LEFT AND RIGHT SIDE. NOW AGAIN THE LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND I'M TOLD THAT THE WIRE HARNESS HAS TO BE REPLACE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds