Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SCION XD - 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 37 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (3) Traction Control System (1)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes (11) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (1) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Suspension (4) Wheels (1)
Fuel Propulsion System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/29/2014 - RIVERSIDE, RI
MY ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A RESIDENTIAL ROAD. WENT TO THE NEAREST TOYOTA DEALERSHIP, WHERE THEY TOLD ME THAT MY ABS SENSOR WAS NO LONGER WORKING IN THE LEFT TIRE. THEY REPLACED THE SENSOR. 6 MONTHS HAD PASSED AND THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN FOR A FEW DAYS THEN WENT OFF. THIS SCENARIO PLAYED OUT FOR THE NEXT SEVERAL YEARS, MORE SO IN COLDER MONTHS. THE REASON IT WAS NOT REPAIRED WAS BECAUSE THE COST WAS TOO HIGH TO FIX. STARTING IN OCTOBER 2013 THE ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON AND HAVE NOT COME OFF SINCE THEN. I RECENTLY BROUGHT THE CAR TO A MECHANIC (AUGUST 26, 2014) WHERE THEY TOOK A LOOK AT THE ISSUE. IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT BOTH MY FRONT TIRE ABS SYSTEMS WERE NOT WORKING AND THE COST TO REPLACE BOTH SYSTEMS WAS $1,100.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/29/2014 - RIVERSIDE, RI
MY ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A RESIDENTIAL ROAD. WENT TO THE NEAREST TOYOTA DEALERSHIP, WHERE THEY TOLD ME THAT MY ABS SENSOR WAS NO LONGER WORKING IN THE LEFT TIRE. THEY REPLACED THE SENSOR. 6 MONTHS HAD PASSED AND THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN FOR A FEW DAYS THEN WENT OFF. THIS SCENARIO PLAYED OUT FOR THE NEXT SEVERAL YEARS, MORE SO IN COLDER MONTHS. THE REASON IT WAS NOT REPAIRED WAS BECAUSE THE COST WAS TOO HIGH TO FIX. STARTING IN OCTOBER 2013 THE ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON AND HAVE NOT COME OFF SINCE THEN. I RECENTLY BROUGHT THE CAR TO A MECHANIC (AUGUST 26, 2014) WHERE THEY TOOK A LOOK AT THE ISSUE. IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT BOTH MY FRONT TIRE ABS SYSTEMS WERE NOT WORKING AND THE COST TO REPLACE BOTH SYSTEMS WAS $1,100.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/7/2014 - FOREST PARK, IL
AS I WAS DRIVING, MY ABS, BRAKE LIGHT, VSC LIGHTS ALL CAME ON . THEY FLASH CONSTANTLY. I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED AND WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO REPLACE MY ABS SENSORS BOTH THE LEFT AND RIGHT SIDE. NOW AGAIN THE LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND I'M TOLD THAT THE WIRE HARNESS HAS TO BE REPLACE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/7/2014 - FOREST PARK, IL
AS I WAS DRIVING, MY ABS, BRAKE LIGHT, VSC LIGHTS ALL CAME ON . THEY FLASH CONSTANTLY. I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED AND WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO REPLACE MY ABS SENSORS BOTH THE LEFT AND RIGHT SIDE. NOW AGAIN THE LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND I'M TOLD THAT THE WIRE HARNESS HAS TO BE REPLACE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/7/2014 - FOREST PARK, IL
AS I WAS DRIVING, MY ABS, BRAKE LIGHT, VSC LIGHTS ALL CAME ON . THEY FLASH CONSTANTLY. I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED AND WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO REPLACE MY ABS SENSORS BOTH THE LEFT AND RIGHT SIDE. NOW AGAIN THE LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND I'M TOLD THAT THE WIRE HARNESS HAS TO BE REPLACE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/8/2014 - GERMANTOWN, TN
MANUAL TRANSMISSION AND CLUTCH FAILED, LOCKING UP THE VEHICLE AT A DANGEROUS INTERSECTION. THERE WERE NO WARNING SIGNS THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS BEGINNING TO FAIL. UPON REPAIR, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT ONE OF THE METAL COMPONENTS WITHIN THE TRANSMISSION BROKE AND CAUSED THE IRREPAIRABLE DAMANGE TO THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/16/2014 - PRINCETON, NJ
AFTER CAR WAS SITTING OUTSIDE AFTER SNOWSTORM, CAR WAS STARTED AND AS I PULLED OUT OF THE PARKING SPOT, SEVERAL LIGHTS (BRAKE, TSC, ABS) APPEARED ON DASHBOARD. ONCE I BEGAN DRIVING ON THE SLIPPERY ROAD SURFACE, THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES NO LONGER FUNCTIONED AS THEY HAD PREVIOUSLY, LEADING TO INCREASED SLIDING. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE. THE LIGHTS WENT OUT AFTER DRIVING FOR SEVERAL MILES, BUT RE-APPEARED SPORADICALLY OVER THE REST OF THE WINTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/16/2014 - PRINCETON, NJ
AFTER CAR WAS SITTING OUTSIDE AFTER SNOWSTORM, CAR WAS STARTED AND AS I PULLED OUT OF THE PARKING SPOT, SEVERAL LIGHTS (BRAKE, TSC, ABS) APPEARED ON DASHBOARD. ONCE I BEGAN DRIVING ON THE SLIPPERY ROAD SURFACE, THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES NO LONGER FUNCTIONED AS THEY HAD PREVIOUSLY, LEADING TO INCREASED SLIDING. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE. THE LIGHTS WENT OUT AFTER DRIVING FOR SEVERAL MILES, BUT RE-APPEARED SPORADICALLY OVER THE REST OF THE WINTER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/16/2014 - PRINCETON, NJ
AFTER CAR WAS SITTING OUTSIDE AFTER SNOWSTORM, CAR WAS STARTED AND AS I PULLED OUT OF THE PARKING SPOT, SEVERAL LIGHTS (BRAKE, TSC, ABS) APPEARED ON DASHBOARD. ONCE I BEGAN DRIVING ON THE SLIPPERY ROAD SURFACE, THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES NO LONGER FUNCTIONED AS THEY HAD PREVIOUSLY, LEADING TO INCREASED SLIDING. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE. THE LIGHTS WENT OUT AFTER DRIVING FOR SEVERAL MILES, BUT RE-APPEARED SPORADICALLY OVER THE REST OF THE WINTER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/17/2014 - MADISON, WI
I, LIKE MANY OTHERS LOCATED IN COLD CLIMATES, SEEM TO HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO STOP AN ODD GRINDING, SOMETHING-ENGAGING, MOTORIZED SOUND COME FROM THE BRAKES FOLLOWED BY VERY SOFT, EXTENDED BRAKING AND THE 'ABS' AND 'BRAKE LIGHTS' COMING ON. DURING THE COLD MONTHS, THE LIGHTS SIMPLY NEVER GO OFF AND THIS ISSUE HAPPENS SPORADICALLY. NOW THAT IT IS WARMER, THE LIGHTS ARE ON AND OFF ALL THE TIME AND THE SOUNDS AND GRINDING HAPPEN A DOZEN TIMES OVER THE COURSE OF A 15 MILE DRIVE. I'VE LEARNED TO EXPECT IT AND AS SOON AS I HEAR THE ENGAGING NOISE WHILE IN MOTION; I KNOW THE BRAKING MAY BECOME DIFFICULT. THE ISSUE SO FAR HAS DISAPPEARED EVERY EARLY-SUMMER ONLY TO RETURN, AS EXPECTED, EVERY LATE-FALL. IT FIRST BEGAN SEVERAL YEARS AND CONTINUES TO OCCUR. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ, THIS APPEARS TO BE AN ISSUE REGARDING FAULTY REAR-HUB SENSORS AND/OR WIRING HARNESSES, AND THEY ARE NOT ISOLATED INCIDENTS. TOYOTA/SCION IS SURELY AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM IS I DON'T HAVE UPWARDS OF $1200 TO FIX THIS ISSUE, AND I DON'T BELIEVE IT FALLS UPON ME TO DO THIS, EITHER. IT'S A CLEAR MANUFACTURING/PART DEFECT AND IT REALLY WOULD BE GREAT IF TOYOTA/SCION STEPPED UP AND WERE PROACTIVE BECUASE THIS ISSUE WILL GET SOMEONE SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED, IF IT HASN'T ALREADY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds