Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SCION XD - 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 35 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA SCION XD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (3) Traction Control System (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes (9) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (1) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Suspension (4) Wheels (1)
Fuel Propulsion System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/8/2014 - GERMANTOWN, TN
MANUAL TRANSMISSION AND CLUTCH FAILED, LOCKING UP THE VEHICLE AT A DANGEROUS INTERSECTION. THERE WERE NO WARNING SIGNS THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS BEGINNING TO FAIL. UPON REPAIR, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT ONE OF THE METAL COMPONENTS WITHIN THE TRANSMISSION BROKE AND CAUSED THE IRREPAIRABLE DAMANGE TO THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/16/2014 - PRINCETON, NJ
AFTER CAR WAS SITTING OUTSIDE AFTER SNOWSTORM, CAR WAS STARTED AND AS I PULLED OUT OF THE PARKING SPOT, SEVERAL LIGHTS (BRAKE, TSC, ABS) APPEARED ON DASHBOARD. ONCE I BEGAN DRIVING ON THE SLIPPERY ROAD SURFACE, THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES NO LONGER FUNCTIONED AS THEY HAD PREVIOUSLY, LEADING TO INCREASED SLIDING. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE. THE LIGHTS WENT OUT AFTER DRIVING FOR SEVERAL MILES, BUT RE-APPEARED SPORADICALLY OVER THE REST OF THE WINTER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/16/2014 - PRINCETON, NJ
AFTER CAR WAS SITTING OUTSIDE AFTER SNOWSTORM, CAR WAS STARTED AND AS I PULLED OUT OF THE PARKING SPOT, SEVERAL LIGHTS (BRAKE, TSC, ABS) APPEARED ON DASHBOARD. ONCE I BEGAN DRIVING ON THE SLIPPERY ROAD SURFACE, THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES NO LONGER FUNCTIONED AS THEY HAD PREVIOUSLY, LEADING TO INCREASED SLIDING. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE. THE LIGHTS WENT OUT AFTER DRIVING FOR SEVERAL MILES, BUT RE-APPEARED SPORADICALLY OVER THE REST OF THE WINTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/16/2014 - PRINCETON, NJ
AFTER CAR WAS SITTING OUTSIDE AFTER SNOWSTORM, CAR WAS STARTED AND AS I PULLED OUT OF THE PARKING SPOT, SEVERAL LIGHTS (BRAKE, TSC, ABS) APPEARED ON DASHBOARD. ONCE I BEGAN DRIVING ON THE SLIPPERY ROAD SURFACE, THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES NO LONGER FUNCTIONED AS THEY HAD PREVIOUSLY, LEADING TO INCREASED SLIDING. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE. THE LIGHTS WENT OUT AFTER DRIVING FOR SEVERAL MILES, BUT RE-APPEARED SPORADICALLY OVER THE REST OF THE WINTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2014 - MADISON, WI
I, LIKE MANY OTHERS LOCATED IN COLD CLIMATES, SEEM TO HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO STOP AN ODD GRINDING, SOMETHING-ENGAGING, MOTORIZED SOUND COME FROM THE BRAKES FOLLOWED BY VERY SOFT, EXTENDED BRAKING AND THE 'ABS' AND 'BRAKE LIGHTS' COMING ON. DURING THE COLD MONTHS, THE LIGHTS SIMPLY NEVER GO OFF AND THIS ISSUE HAPPENS SPORADICALLY. NOW THAT IT IS WARMER, THE LIGHTS ARE ON AND OFF ALL THE TIME AND THE SOUNDS AND GRINDING HAPPEN A DOZEN TIMES OVER THE COURSE OF A 15 MILE DRIVE. I'VE LEARNED TO EXPECT IT AND AS SOON AS I HEAR THE ENGAGING NOISE WHILE IN MOTION; I KNOW THE BRAKING MAY BECOME DIFFICULT. THE ISSUE SO FAR HAS DISAPPEARED EVERY EARLY-SUMMER ONLY TO RETURN, AS EXPECTED, EVERY LATE-FALL. IT FIRST BEGAN SEVERAL YEARS AND CONTINUES TO OCCUR. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ, THIS APPEARS TO BE AN ISSUE REGARDING FAULTY REAR-HUB SENSORS AND/OR WIRING HARNESSES, AND THEY ARE NOT ISOLATED INCIDENTS. TOYOTA/SCION IS SURELY AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM IS I DON'T HAVE UPWARDS OF $1200 TO FIX THIS ISSUE, AND I DON'T BELIEVE IT FALLS UPON ME TO DO THIS, EITHER. IT'S A CLEAR MANUFACTURING/PART DEFECT AND IT REALLY WOULD BE GREAT IF TOYOTA/SCION STEPPED UP AND WERE PROACTIVE BECUASE THIS ISSUE WILL GET SOMEONE SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED, IF IT HASN'T ALREADY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/17/2014 - MADISON, WI
I, LIKE MANY OTHERS LOCATED IN COLD CLIMATES, SEEM TO HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO STOP AN ODD GRINDING, SOMETHING-ENGAGING, MOTORIZED SOUND COME FROM THE BRAKES FOLLOWED BY VERY SOFT, EXTENDED BRAKING AND THE 'ABS' AND 'BRAKE LIGHTS' COMING ON. DURING THE COLD MONTHS, THE LIGHTS SIMPLY NEVER GO OFF AND THIS ISSUE HAPPENS SPORADICALLY. NOW THAT IT IS WARMER, THE LIGHTS ARE ON AND OFF ALL THE TIME AND THE SOUNDS AND GRINDING HAPPEN A DOZEN TIMES OVER THE COURSE OF A 15 MILE DRIVE. I'VE LEARNED TO EXPECT IT AND AS SOON AS I HEAR THE ENGAGING NOISE WHILE IN MOTION; I KNOW THE BRAKING MAY BECOME DIFFICULT. THE ISSUE SO FAR HAS DISAPPEARED EVERY EARLY-SUMMER ONLY TO RETURN, AS EXPECTED, EVERY LATE-FALL. IT FIRST BEGAN SEVERAL YEARS AND CONTINUES TO OCCUR. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ, THIS APPEARS TO BE AN ISSUE REGARDING FAULTY REAR-HUB SENSORS AND/OR WIRING HARNESSES, AND THEY ARE NOT ISOLATED INCIDENTS. TOYOTA/SCION IS SURELY AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM IS I DON'T HAVE UPWARDS OF $1200 TO FIX THIS ISSUE, AND I DON'T BELIEVE IT FALLS UPON ME TO DO THIS, EITHER. IT'S A CLEAR MANUFACTURING/PART DEFECT AND IT REALLY WOULD BE GREAT IF TOYOTA/SCION STEPPED UP AND WERE PROACTIVE BECUASE THIS ISSUE WILL GET SOMEONE SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED, IF IT HASN'T ALREADY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/1/2014 - NEW LENOX, IL
WHENEVER I USE THE BRAKES IN MY CAR, THEY LOCK UP. THERE'S BEEN MANY TIMES WHEN I'M APPROACHING A STOP SIGN/LIGHT AND I GET EXTREMELY CLOSE TO HITTING A CAR BECAUSE MY CAR IS ACTING UP, ITS BEEN DOING THIS FOR ABOUT A MONTH AND A HALF. MY ABS AND BRAKES LIGHT WERE ALSO ON. I TOOK MY CAR INTO TOYOTA AS SOON AS THE LIGHTS STARTED POPPING UP, AND THEY SAID IT WAS THAT THE WIRING IN MY CAR WAS SETTING OFF RANDOM LIGHTS, NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH MY BRAKES; IT WASN'T UNDER THEIR WARRANTY, SO THEY WANTED TO CHARGE ME $1,000+ TO FIX IT. I DECLINED. A MONTH AFTER MY VISIT, EVERY TIME I USE MY BRAKES, IT MAKES A WEIRD CLICKING NOISE, PEOPLE SAY IT'S MY ANTI LOCKS KICKING. NO CLUE WHY SOMETHING SO SERIOUS ISN'T UNDER RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/14/2014 - DOWNERS GROVE, IL
ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON IN CAR, ALONG WITH CODE C0210. DIAGNOSIS INDICATES THAT BRAKES ARE FUNCTIONAL, BUT ABS IS NOT FUNCTIONAL. HAVE ALREADY HAD HUBS WITH SENSORS REPLACED ONCE AND, WHEN THE PROBLEM RECURRED, HAD THE HARNESS FOR THE RIGHT REAR SPEED SENSOR REPLACED. BASED UPON INTERNET SEARCHES AND SEARCHES OF THE COMPLAINTS DATABASE, THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL AND YEAR OF THE SCION XD. SINCE ABS FUNCTIONALITY IS COMPROMISED, THIS REPRESENTS A SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/8/2014 - EAST AURORA, NY
THE ABS WARNING LIGHT AND BRAKE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING MY 2008 SCION XD, THE ABS STOPPED WORKING. EMERGENCY BRAKE AND BRAKES SEEM TO BE WORKING NORMALLY . MY LOCAL TOYOTA/SCION DEALER DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS TWO FAULTY REAR WHEEL SENSORS, INCLUDING ONE THAT WAS REPLACED TWO YEARS AGO (JAN. 2011) FOR THE SAME REASON. ALL FAILURES OCCURRED DURING BELOW FREEZING/ HEAVY SNOW CONDITIONS - EXACTLY THE CONDITIONS UNDER WHICH ONE WOULD NEED ABS. PROPOSED REPAIR INCLUDES REPLACING THE WIRE HARNESS/SENSOR, BUT NO MEASURES TO PROTECT THE NEW PARTS FROM FREEZING OR CORROSIVE ROAD DEBRIS. REPAIR ESTIMATE IS APPROXIMATELY $1,200. MANY OTHER SCION XD OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS IDENTICAL PROBLEM. SOME SCION OWNERS CANNOT AFFORD THIS REPAIR AND WILL CONTINUE TO OPERATE THEIR VEHICLES WITH INACTIVE ABS SYSTEMS, AS I HAVE BEEN ADVISED BY SEVERAL PEOPLE THAT I COULD DO TO SAVE MONEY. IT APPEARS THAT TOYOTA IS NOT ADDRESSING THIS PROBLEM WITH A REPAIR BULLETIN OR REPLACEMENT PARTS FOR PARTS THAT WERE NOT DESIGNED TO WITHSTAND THE VERY WEATHER CONDITIONS IN WHICH THEY ARE NEEDED MOST, OR ISSUING A RECALL TO HELP COVER THE COST TO REMEDY THIS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS DEFECT WHEN THE PARTS FAIL. VERY DISAPPOINTING FOR WHAT HAS OTHERWISE BEEN AN EXCELLENT VALUE AND RELIABLE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/2/2013 - TROY, MI
I WAS DRIVING TO A JOB INTERVIEW. INITIALLY THERE WAS A SLIGHT GRINDING NOISE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE CAR. THIS SOUND WOULD OCCUR ONLY WHEN THE ACCELERATION PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. WHILE STILL ON THE FREEWAY, THE GRINDING SOUND PROGRESSED AND THERE WAS INCREASED RESISTANCE (WITH PRESSURE ON THE GAS PEDAL, THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND MAKE A TERRIBLE GRINDING NOISE). WHILE STILL ON THE FREEWAY, AND IN 5TH GEAR, THE TRANSMISSION GAVE OUT, AND BEING IN 5TH GEAR WAS AS IF BEING IN NEUTRAL (NO ACCELERATION AT ALL, ENGINE WOULD REV WHEN PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL). I WAS LUCKY THAT I DID NOT GET IN A CRASH AT 70 MILES PER HOUR. AFTER PULLING OVER, I TRIED THE REMAINING GEARS AND THEY MADE THE SAME TERRIBLE GRINDING NOISE, AND THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO THE NEAREST DEALER. AFTER INSPECTION, I WAS TOLD THAT THE BEARINGS AND GEARS CAME APART WITHIN THE TRANSMISSION, AND THAT IT WAS DUE TO AN INTRINSIC DEFECT OF THE TRANSMISSION. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE CAR AND HAVE MAINTAINED THE CAR RELIGIOUSLY. IT HIS HIGHLY UNUSUAL TO HAVE A 2008 SCION XD MANUAL 5-SPEED TRANSMISSION COMPLETELY FAIL AT 86,000 MILES. I HAVE NOT ABUSED THE CAR AND IT WAS IN GREAT CONDITION. I HAD TO PAY $4,000 DOLLARS FOR THE DEALER TO INSTALL A NEW TRANSMISSION AND CLUTCH. I FEEL THAT I GOT RIPPED OFF BUYING THIS CAR AS THERE IS NO WARRANTY THAT WOULD COVER THIS EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE AND HIGHLY DANGEROUS FAULTY TRANSMISSION. I THINK IT WOULD BE PRUDENT TO HAVE THIS TRANSMISSION RECALLED, AND CEASED FROM PRODUCTION AS SERIOUS BODILY HARM AND DEATH COULD HAVE RESULTED TO MYSELF AND OTHERS FROM THIS TRANSMISSION FAILURE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds