Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2008 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 270 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (8)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (6)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (46) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (28) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (3) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (72)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (3) Structure (40) Visibility (7)
Engine (27) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (27) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/13/2019 - CHESHIRE, OH
BOUGHT 2008 TUNDRA IN 2015. BODY EXCELLENT SHAPE. HAD 46000 MILES ON IT. BLOWED A BRAKE LINE AND PUT ON RACK TO MAKE REPAIRS THIS PAST MONTH. BRAKE LINES RUSTED AND FRAME IS ROTTEN. I CAN RUN MY FINGER THROUGH THE FRAME. I PAID 25.000.00 FOR THIS TRUCK. WAS TOWING A CAMPER WHEN BRAKE LINE BLEW. WAS HARDLY ABLE TO GET CAMPER HOME. WILL YOU FOLKS REPLACE THIS FRAME? OR WILL YOU STAND GOOD FOR IT. I STILL OWE ON IT. IT IS PARKED FOR THE TIME BEING AND NOT SAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

SEATS

7/10/2019 - GOODWATER, AL
BOTH HEADLAMPS HAVE BEEN MELTED BY THE TURN SIGNAL/DAYTIME RUNNING LAMP. IVE HAD TO REPLACE THE LAMPS WITH LED BULBS BUT THE LAMP IS STILL BURNED/MELTED. ALSO THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT HAS DEVELOPED SPACE THAT IS UNSECURE . IT WIGGLES BACK AND FORTH UNSURE IF THIS IS STRESS OR WEAR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/10/2019 - GOODWATER, AL
BOTH HEADLAMPS HAVE BEEN MELTED BY THE TURN SIGNAL/DAYTIME RUNNING LAMP. IVE HAD TO REPLACE THE LAMPS WITH LED BULBS BUT THE LAMP IS STILL BURNED/MELTED. ALSO THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT HAS DEVELOPED SPACE THAT IS UNSECURE . IT WIGGLES BACK AND FORTH UNSURE IF THIS IS STRESS OR WEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/10/2019 - GOODWATER, AL
BOTH HEADLAMPS HAVE BEEN MELTED BY THE TURN SIGNAL/DAYTIME RUNNING LAMP. IVE HAD TO REPLACE THE LAMPS WITH LED BULBS BUT THE LAMP IS STILL BURNED/MELTED. ALSO THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT HAS DEVELOPED SPACE THAT IS UNSECURE . IT WIGGLES BACK AND FORTH UNSURE IF THIS IS STRESS OR WEAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/2/2019 - ROCKY HILL, CT
TUNDRA WON'T ACCELERATE AS ENGINE GOES INTO LIMP MODE WHICH RESTRICTS SPEED CAPABILITY OF VEHICLE. THIS IS RELATED TO AIR INJECTION PUMP FAILURE AND RELATED ALSO TO AIR SWITCHING VALVES. LIMP MODE ON A TOYOTA RESTRICTS SPEED AT WHICH YOU CAN DRIVE, SHIFTING AND TOP SPEED ARE RESTRICTED. SLOWS TO POINT IF ENTERING HIGHWAY OR TRYING TO KEEP UP WITH SPEED OVER 50 MPH COULD NOT DO IT. TOYOTA IS AWARE AND HAS A CUSTOMER SUPPORT PROGRAM ZTQ BUYING VEHICLE USED NOT AWARE OF THIS OR ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I SLOWED TRAFFIC AND CAUSED BACK UP ON THE STREET WAS TRAVELING COULD NIT DO MORE THAN 20-30 MPH ON ROAD POSTED AT 50 MPH. GLAD NOT ENTERING FREEWAY. PLENTY OF U TUBE VIDEOS DETAILING REPAIR AND PROBLEM. THE TOYOTA DOCUMENTATION SAYS 477,000 TUNDRA VEHICLES WERE COVERED BY THIS ENHANCED WARRANTY PROGRAM. PREVIOUS OWNER DID COMPLAIN TO TOYOTA AND HAD COMPUTER REPLACED ON VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/2/2019 - ROCKY HILL, CT
TUNDRA WON'T ACCELERATE AS ENGINE GOES INTO LIMP MODE WHICH RESTRICTS SPEED CAPABILITY OF VEHICLE. THIS IS RELATED TO AIR INJECTION PUMP FAILURE AND RELATED ALSO TO AIR SWITCHING VALVES. LIMP MODE ON A TOYOTA RESTRICTS SPEED AT WHICH YOU CAN DRIVE, SHIFTING AND TOP SPEED ARE RESTRICTED. SLOWS TO POINT IF ENTERING HIGHWAY OR TRYING TO KEEP UP WITH SPEED OVER 50 MPH COULD NOT DO IT. TOYOTA IS AWARE AND HAS A CUSTOMER SUPPORT PROGRAM ZTQ BUYING VEHICLE USED NOT AWARE OF THIS OR ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I SLOWED TRAFFIC AND CAUSED BACK UP ON THE STREET WAS TRAVELING COULD NIT DO MORE THAN 20-30 MPH ON ROAD POSTED AT 50 MPH. GLAD NOT ENTERING FREEWAY. PLENTY OF U TUBE VIDEOS DETAILING REPAIR AND PROBLEM. THE TOYOTA DOCUMENTATION SAYS 477,000 TUNDRA VEHICLES WERE COVERED BY THIS ENHANCED WARRANTY PROGRAM. PREVIOUS OWNER DID COMPLAIN TO TOYOTA AND HAD COMPUTER REPLACED ON VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/26/2019 - SCOTTSVILLE, VA
FRAME MOUNT FOR GAS TANK HAS RUSTED AND FUEL TANK IS DROPPING DOWN. LAST YEAR AN UNDERCOATING WAS APPLIED BY A TOYOTA DEALER AND IS PEELING OFF IN CERTAIN AREAS. I BELIEVE PURSUANT TO THE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT REFERRED TO AS BRIAN WARNER ET AL TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION MY VEHICLE MAY BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE THE GAS TANK STRAP MOUNTING IS PART OF THE FRAME. AS OF NOW, MY MECHANIC ADVISED ME NOT TO DRIVE IT AS IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I NOTICED THE TANK STRAP WAS HANGING DOWN FROM THE FRAME AND THE GAS TANK WAS ALSO HANGING DOWN WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/26/2019 - SCOTTSVILLE, VA
FRAME MOUNT FOR GAS TANK HAS RUSTED AND FUEL TANK IS DROPPING DOWN. LAST YEAR AN UNDERCOATING WAS APPLIED BY A TOYOTA DEALER AND IS PEELING OFF IN CERTAIN AREAS. I BELIEVE PURSUANT TO THE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT REFERRED TO AS BRIAN WARNER ET AL TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION MY VEHICLE MAY BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE THE GAS TANK STRAP MOUNTING IS PART OF THE FRAME. AS OF NOW, MY MECHANIC ADVISED ME NOT TO DRIVE IT AS IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I NOTICED THE TANK STRAP WAS HANGING DOWN FROM THE FRAME AND THE GAS TANK WAS ALSO HANGING DOWN WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/26/2019 - SCOTTSVILLE, VA
FRAME MOUNT FOR GAS TANK HAS RUSTED AND FUEL TANK IS DROPPING DOWN. LAST YEAR AN UNDERCOATING WAS APPLIED BY A TOYOTA DEALER AND IS PEELING OFF IN CERTAIN AREAS. I BELIEVE PURSUANT TO THE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT REFERRED TO AS BRIAN WARNER ET AL TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION MY VEHICLE MAY BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE THE GAS TANK STRAP MOUNTING IS PART OF THE FRAME. AS OF NOW, MY MECHANIC ADVISED ME NOT TO DRIVE IT AS IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I NOTICED THE TANK STRAP WAS HANGING DOWN FROM THE FRAME AND THE GAS TANK WAS ALSO HANGING DOWN WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2019 - CANTON, OH
NHTSA ID #10140591 WAS THE CAMPAIGN THAT MY TRUCK WAS WARRANTIED UNDER, I AM EXACTLY 64 DAYS OUTSIDE OF TOYOTA'S EXTENDED WARRANTY AND MY TRUCK STARTED THROWING CODE P2442 BANK 2 SECONDARY AIR INJECTOR VALVE STAYING OPEN, A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS TRUCK. I ASKED TOYOTA ONLY FOR ASSISTANCE AND NOT THE COMPLETE REPAIR AND 3 REPS FLAT OUT SAID NO WE DID OUR PART. THE CAR WAS FINE YESTERDAY AND TODAY STARTED IT TO GO TO WORK AND MY TRACTION CONTROL, 4LO, VSC, ENGINE LIGHT WERE ALL ON, MY TRUCK WENT INTO "LIMP MODE" TOYOTA USA WAS USELESS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds