Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 141 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (40) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (5) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (3) Structure (24) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/19/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/18/2017 - KISSIMMEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/17/2017 - MCKINNEY, TX
THE DASH CRACKED IN SEVERAL PLACES AND THE DOOR TRIMS ARE ALL FALLING OFF.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/17/2017 - MCKINNEY, TX
THE DASH CRACKED IN SEVERAL PLACES AND THE DOOR TRIMS ARE ALL FALLING OFF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2017 - LAKEVILLE, MN
AFTER PARKING MY TRUCK IN DRIVEWAY. I CAME OUT THE NEXT MORNING TO FIND MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS UP AND THE TRUCK DEAD. THE ONLY LIGHT THAT WOULD COME ON WAS THE ENGINE LIGHT. AFTER FURTHER INSPECTION, THE FUSE BOX HAD MELTED AND CAUGHT ON FIRE. I FEEL THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I DO NOT SEE A RECALL ON GENERAL MOTORS WEBSITE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2017 - EL CAMPO, TX
ENGINE OIL COMSUMPTION WITHOUT WARNING DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD MY TRUCK STARTS DINGING FOR MY ENGINE OIL PRESSURE IS LOW AND TO SHUT OFF ENGINE IMMEDIATELY. I PULL OVER AND CHECK OIL AND IT IS NOT EVEN ON THE DIPSTICK. I AM 1600 MILES INTO MY OIL CHANGE SO AS RECOMMENDED BY CHEVY I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO CHANGE MY OIL BUT EVERY 5000 MILES, BUT I HAVE ALWAYS CHANGED IT EVERY 3000. SO I SHOULD HAVE ANOTHER 1400 MILES TO GO BEFORE CHANGING BUT INSTEAD INM ABOUT 3 QUARTS LOW. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME BUT I WATCH IT VERY CAREFULLY SINCE THE LAST TIME. NOW I AM WORRIED IT WILL TOTAL MY ENGINE AFTER SEEING HOW MUCH OIL IS BEING BURNED. NEVER A DROP ON THE GROUND JUST GOING SOMEWHERE IN THE ENGINE.

View Details

STEERING

1/4/2017 - PALOS HEIGHTS, IL
WHILE EXITING A PARKING LOT TO TURN NORTH, THE STEERING FAILED CAUSING MY VEHICLE TO GO ACROSS ONTO THE MEDIAN BEFORE I STOPPED THE VEHICLE. THE MOTOR SHAFT OF THE ELECTRICAL POWER STEERING SNAPPED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/3/2017 - GREENSBORO, GA
2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO REPLACEMENT PARTS NOT AVAILABLE TO REPAIR FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATOR RECALL NOTICE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/3/2017 - LEXINGTON, TX
2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO REPLACEMENT PARTS NOT AVAILABLE TO REPAIR FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATOR RECALL NOTICE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/30/2016 - BELLEFONTAINE, OH
AIRBAG LIGHT ON AIRBAGS DISABLED SAFETY CONCERN VEHICLE IS NOT AS POTENTIALLY AS SAFE AS IT WAS DESIGNED TO BE. THE SDM (AIRBAG MODULE) HAS WATER INTRUSION AND CAUSED CORROSION INSIDE THE SDM AND CAUSED THE CIRCUIT BOARD TO BURN OUT NO FUSES WERE BLOWN WHICH IS A CONCERN AS WELL BECAUSE THE BOARD HAD BURN COMPONENTS FROM THE WATER INTRUSION. GM HAD A PREVIOUS RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM IT APPEARS THIS VEHICLE HAD THE RECALL AS IT HAD THE JUTE FROM THE CARPET REMOVED FROM THIS AREA ABOVE THE SDM THIS RECALL WAS PURPOSIVELY A CANADA RECALL 09270C - MATERIAL OVER SENSING AND DIAGNOSTIC MODULE I TALKED TO GM ABOUT THIS THEY WILL DO NOTHING FOR THIS EVEN THOUGH THEY KNOW OF A PROBLEM THIS IS A REAL SAFETY CONCERN NOT ONLY FOR THE AIRBAG BUT FOR THE MODULE BURNING UP THE CIRCUIT BOARD AS WELL POTENTIAL FIRE IN THE VEHICLE I WOULD LIKE IT FIXED BY THE MANUFACTURE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds