Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 175 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (6) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/21/2017 - PASADENA, TX
I AM VERY FRUSTRATED THAT A YEAR LATER AND WE HAVE NO FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM. I HAVE TO SEND MY SON OF IN THIS VEHICLE EVERYDAY AND WORRY. WHY IS IT TAKING THIS LONG WHEN IT CAN CAUSE A HORRIFIC PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

6/19/2017 - PITTSTON, PA
IT IS A 5.3 ENG. IT USE 2 AT OF OIL A WEEK IF YOU IDLE THE ENG. IT HAS DONE THAT EVER SENSE I GOT THE TRUCK IT HAD 40,000 WHEN I GOT IT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/15/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
SAFETY BULLETING 14515 + CHASSIS ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE INTERNAL CONTAMINATION + 2007-2014. MY 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 IS HAVING A PROBLEM THAT THE ELECTRIC GOES OFF AND ON WHEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AFTER HITTING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS INTERMITTENT AND DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL OF THE TIME. IT SEEMS VERY DANGEROUS, SOMETIMES WHEN IT HAPPENS THE DOOR LOCKS GO UP AND DOWN. I TALKED TO THE CHEVROLET DEALER IN TEMPE, FREEWAY CHEVROLET, AND THEY STATED MY TRUCK WAS NOT PART OF THE SAFETY RECALL BULLETIN 14515 EVEN THOUGH OTHER 2009 CHEVROLETR SILVERADO 1500S WERE PART OF THE RECALL. I WOULD THINK THAT CHEVROLET WOULD BE GLAD TO FIX IT BEFORE A CRASH, SORT OF LIKE TOYOTA SHOULD OF FIXED THEIR BRAKING AND ACCELERATION PROBLEM BEFORE SO MANY CRASHES. IS IT TRUE THAT EVEN IF THE TRUCK IS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE RECALL, WHICH IS A SAFETY RECALL, IT MAY NOT BE COVERED FOR IT IS NOT LISTED?

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/13/2017 - DECATUR, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE LOCAL DEALER (JIM ELLIS) CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/1/2017 - PEARLAND, TX
I HAVE A CONCERN ABOUT THE DASH BOARD AROUND THE PASSENGER AIR BAG. . THE DASH IS CRACKING AROUND THE PLASTIC COVER AND I KNOW OF 2 OTHER TRUCKS THAT HAVE DONE THE SAME THING? I HAVE READ DIFFERENT ARTICLES ABOUT PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUES AND THE DEALER TELLS THEM IT'S TOO BAD AND THEY WILL NOT WARRANT THE REPAIRS. THIS TO ME IS A VERY VERY BAD SAFETY MATTER JUST BECAUSE IF YOU ARE IN A BAD WRECK AND THE AIR BAG DOES DEPLOY THERE IS A GOOD CHANCE THE DASH WILL POP THE BAG IF IT DOESN'T BLOW THE DASH BOARD UP AND SEND PLASTIC PROJECTILES FLYING ALL OVER THE PLACE POSSIBLY BLINDING OR KILLING YOU FROM THE SCRAPNAL PLASTIC PIECES. HAS ANYONE ELSE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE DASH BOARDS BEING DEFECTIVE?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/1/2017 - PEARLAND, TX
I HAVE A CONCERN ABOUT THE DASH BOARD AROUND THE PASSENGER AIR BAG. . THE DASH IS CRACKING AROUND THE PLASTIC COVER AND I KNOW OF 2 OTHER TRUCKS THAT HAVE DONE THE SAME THING? I HAVE READ DIFFERENT ARTICLES ABOUT PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUES AND THE DEALER TELLS THEM IT'S TOO BAD AND THEY WILL NOT WARRANT THE REPAIRS. THIS TO ME IS A VERY VERY BAD SAFETY MATTER JUST BECAUSE IF YOU ARE IN A BAD WRECK AND THE AIR BAG DOES DEPLOY THERE IS A GOOD CHANCE THE DASH WILL POP THE BAG IF IT DOESN'T BLOW THE DASH BOARD UP AND SEND PLASTIC PROJECTILES FLYING ALL OVER THE PLACE POSSIBLY BLINDING OR KILLING YOU FROM THE SCRAPNAL PLASTIC PIECES. HAS ANYONE ELSE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE DASH BOARDS BEING DEFECTIVE?

View Details

WHEELS

6/1/2017 - CRABTREE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL WAS CORRODED FROM THE INSIDE OUT. THE REAR DRIVER SIDE WHEEL ALSO EXHIBITED SOME CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT AUTO BODY SHOP FOR INSPECTION; HOWEVER; THE CONTACT WAS NOT ADVISED ON WHY THE WHEELS WERE CORRODING. THE WHEELS WERE NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/28/2017 - HAMPSHIRE, TN
AT ABOUT 90,000 MILES THE CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING AND WHEN IT IS WARM OUTSIDE THE PASSENGER'S SIDE DOOR ELECTRICAL LOCK WILL NOT WORK. IT TRIES TO PUSH LOCK TO UNLOCK POSITION, BUT ONLY PUSHES IT HALF WAY. I HAVE READ A LOT ABOUT THESE CONCERNS ON THIS MODEL VEHICLE. IS THIS 2 RECALLS? IT SHOULD BE. THIS IS NOT A CHEAP FIX.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/28/2017 - HAMPSHIRE, TN
AT ABOUT 90,000 MILES THE CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING AND WHEN IT IS WARM OUTSIDE THE PASSENGER'S SIDE DOOR ELECTRICAL LOCK WILL NOT WORK. IT TRIES TO PUSH LOCK TO UNLOCK POSITION, BUT ONLY PUSHES IT HALF WAY. I HAVE READ A LOT ABOUT THESE CONCERNS ON THIS MODEL VEHICLE. IS THIS 2 RECALLS? IT SHOULD BE. THIS IS NOT A CHEAP FIX.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/28/2017 - HAMPSHIRE, TN
AT ABOUT 90,000 MILES THE CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING AND WHEN IT IS WARM OUTSIDE THE PASSENGER'S SIDE DOOR ELECTRICAL LOCK WILL NOT WORK. IT TRIES TO PUSH LOCK TO UNLOCK POSITION, BUT ONLY PUSHES IT HALF WAY. I HAVE READ A LOT ABOUT THESE CONCERNS ON THIS MODEL VEHICLE. IS THIS 2 RECALLS? IT SHOULD BE. THIS IS NOT A CHEAP FIX.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds