Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (4) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (5) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/12/2016 - DAHLONEGA, GA
DASH BOARD IS CRACKING ON PASSENGER SIDE BY AIRBAG IN TOW PLACES AND ON DRIVER SIDE BY WINDOW VENT

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/12/2016 - DAHLONEGA, GA
DASH BOARD IS CRACKING ON PASSENGER SIDE BY AIRBAG IN TOW PLACES AND ON DRIVER SIDE BY WINDOW VENT

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/12/2016 - DAHLONEGA, GA
DASH BOARD IS CRACKING ON PASSENGER SIDE BY AIRBAG IN TOW PLACES AND ON DRIVER SIDE BY WINDOW VENT

View Details

ENGINE

7/11/2016 - PALM HARBOR, FL
THE AFM (LIFTERS) AND CAMSHAFT ALL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUES. THE TRUCK STARTED TO MAKE A KNOCKING SOUND SO I STOPPED AND CHECKED THE OIL AND DIDN'T HAVE ANY SHOWING ON DIP STICK. CHANGED OIL THAT DAY AND TWO WEEKS LATER THE VEHICLE WENT INTO REDUCE POWER MODE. I TOOK TO DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR AND THEY TOLD BE IT WAS LIFTERS AND CAMSHAFT. AFTER DOING RESEARCH ON INTERNET IT SEEMS THAT FROM 2007-2013 5.3 ENGINES ARE HAVING OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUES DUE TO AFM ACTIVE FUEL MANAGEMENT SYSTEM ON TRUCK

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/14/2016 - DEPTFORD, NJ
DASHBOARD IS CRACKED IN TWO DIFFERENT PLAECES

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/13/2016 - KNOXVILLE, TN
SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON THIS MORNING AFTER START UP. RESTARTED TRUCK TO SEE IF WARNING WOULD CLEAR. I STILL HAVE THE MESSAGE AND BELIEVE THERE'S SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE AIRBAG OR THE SENSORS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2016 - EL PASO, TX
SO ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO I REPLACED THE BATTERY TRUCK WAS RUNNING FINE TILL ABOUT MONTH THREE. I WAS DRIVING MY TRUCK AND ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE ELECTRICAL STARTED FREAKING OUT ON ME. I POPPED THE HOOD AND PUSHED THE NEGATIVE WIRE FOR THE BATTERY DOWN AND IT STOPPED FOR A GOOD TWO MONTHS SO TODAY (JUNE 7TH, 2016)I WAS ON MY WAY TO AUTOZONE TO HAVE THEM CHECK THE BATTERY FOR ME AND ON MY WAY OVER TO THEM TRUCK THRE A TEMPER TANTRUM AND STARTED WITH THE FREAKING OUT THEN I WAS ALMOST THERE AND IT JUST COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC I WAS LUCKLY IN THE TURNING LANE TO TURN INTO THE AUTOZONE. IT ALSO FID IT WHEN I WAS COMING OVER THE MOUNTAIN FREAKING OUT WITH THE ELECTRICAL. THEN JUST COMPLETLY CAME TO A STOP AT THE INTERSECTION AS I WAS TURNING LEFT ALMOST GOT HIT BY ANOTHER SILVERADO 2500 THAT WAS RIGHT BEHIND ME. BUT EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE IT'LL BE OKAY THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN JUST START UP AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/8/2016 - EL PASO, TX
SO ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO I REPLACED THE BATTERY TRUCK WAS RUNNING FINE TILL ABOUT MONTH THREE. I WAS DRIVING MY TRUCK AND ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE ELECTRICAL STARTED FREAKING OUT ON ME. I POPPED THE HOOD AND PUSHED THE NEGATIVE WIRE FOR THE BATTERY DOWN AND IT STOPPED FOR A GOOD TWO MONTHS SO TODAY (JUNE 7TH, 2016)I WAS ON MY WAY TO AUTOZONE TO HAVE THEM CHECK THE BATTERY FOR ME AND ON MY WAY OVER TO THEM TRUCK THRE A TEMPER TANTRUM AND STARTED WITH THE FREAKING OUT THEN I WAS ALMOST THERE AND IT JUST COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC I WAS LUCKLY IN THE TURNING LANE TO TURN INTO THE AUTOZONE. IT ALSO FID IT WHEN I WAS COMING OVER THE MOUNTAIN FREAKING OUT WITH THE ELECTRICAL. THEN JUST COMPLETLY CAME TO A STOP AT THE INTERSECTION AS I WAS TURNING LEFT ALMOST GOT HIT BY ANOTHER SILVERADO 2500 THAT WAS RIGHT BEHIND ME. BUT EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE IT'LL BE OKAY THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN JUST START UP AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2016 - EDEN, NY
TRUCK HAD BEEN SITTING OVERNIGHT. WOKE UP TO 3RD BRAKE LIGHT ON. OPENED CAB DOOR, SMELLED LIKE SMOKE AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, WOULD NOT TURN OVER. POP HOOD AND THE FUSE BOX AND WIRING HARNESS HAD BEEN ON FIRE, WERE COMPLETELY MELTED. INSURANCE COMPANY WON'T COVER BECAUSE THERE WAS NOT SUBSTANTIAL PROOF OF FIRE, AND COULD NOT FIND SOURCE. FILED A FORMAL COMPLAINT WITH GM AFTER THE DEALERSHIP TOLD US THE WIRING HARNESS HAD BEEN DISCONTINUED (ON A 7 YEAR OLD TRUCK). GM WON'T DO ANYTHING BECAUSE THEY CANNOT FIND THE SOURCE, AND THEY HAVE YET TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEY DISCONTINUED A PART. WE HAVE NO WAY OF FIXING THIS TRUCK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

6/6/2016 - PHILADEPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE WAS CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPARE WHEEL ASSEMBLY, BED ASSEMBLY, AND TAILGATE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,500. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds