Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 180 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (60) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (6) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Structure (26) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2017 - BLACKFOOT, ID
WHEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE DOOR LOCKS WILL SUDDENLY GO ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES AND THE TRUCK LOSES POWER TRANSMISSION SHIFTS OUT OF GEAR SEAT BELT LIGHT COMES ON INSTRUMENT PANEL NEEDLES GO ERRATIC. DEALERS SAY IF WE CAN'T MAKE IT DO IT WHEN WE'RE THERE THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT TO FIX NEED HELP SOON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/12/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
THIS IS AN AIRBAG CONCERN, THERE IS CRACKING IN THE DASH BOARD NEAR THE PASENGER AIRBAG. THIS STARTED TWO MONTHS AGO, BUT THE CRACK KEEPS DEVOLPING. I HAVE ALSO HEARD OTHER CASES OF 2007-2013 GM VEHICLES. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS AFFECTS THE AIRBAG. THIS IS A CONCERN BECAUSE I HAVE HEARD OTHER COMPLAINTS. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WHEN IT STARTED. I THINK IT'S BECAUSE OF THE WEAK PLASTIC.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/9/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE UNKNOWN DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/27/2017 - SANDERSVILLE, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED (CHILDRE GMC IN MILLEDGEVILLE, GA) AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATOR FLASHED CONSISTENTLY, BUT THE DEALER STATED THAT IT WAS NOT AN ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/21/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE DASHBOARD IS CRACKING. IT HAS ALREADY CRACKED IN THREE PLACES. ONE PLACE JUST ABOVE THE PASSENGER AIR BAG.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/21/2017 - PASADENA, TX
I AM VERY FRUSTRATED THAT A YEAR LATER AND WE HAVE NO FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM. I HAVE TO SEND MY SON OF IN THIS VEHICLE EVERYDAY AND WORRY. WHY IS IT TAKING THIS LONG WHEN IT CAN CAUSE A HORRIFIC PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

6/19/2017 - PITTSTON, PA
IT IS A 5.3 ENG. IT USE 2 AT OF OIL A WEEK IF YOU IDLE THE ENG. IT HAS DONE THAT EVER SENSE I GOT THE TRUCK IT HAD 40,000 WHEN I GOT IT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/15/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
SAFETY BULLETING 14515 + CHASSIS ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE INTERNAL CONTAMINATION + 2007-2014. MY 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 IS HAVING A PROBLEM THAT THE ELECTRIC GOES OFF AND ON WHEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AFTER HITTING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS INTERMITTENT AND DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL OF THE TIME. IT SEEMS VERY DANGEROUS, SOMETIMES WHEN IT HAPPENS THE DOOR LOCKS GO UP AND DOWN. I TALKED TO THE CHEVROLET DEALER IN TEMPE, FREEWAY CHEVROLET, AND THEY STATED MY TRUCK WAS NOT PART OF THE SAFETY RECALL BULLETIN 14515 EVEN THOUGH OTHER 2009 CHEVROLETR SILVERADO 1500S WERE PART OF THE RECALL. I WOULD THINK THAT CHEVROLET WOULD BE GLAD TO FIX IT BEFORE A CRASH, SORT OF LIKE TOYOTA SHOULD OF FIXED THEIR BRAKING AND ACCELERATION PROBLEM BEFORE SO MANY CRASHES. IS IT TRUE THAT EVEN IF THE TRUCK IS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE RECALL, WHICH IS A SAFETY RECALL, IT MAY NOT BE COVERED FOR IT IS NOT LISTED?

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/13/2017 - DECATUR, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE LOCAL DEALER (JIM ELLIS) CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/1/2017 - PEARLAND, TX
I HAVE A CONCERN ABOUT THE DASH BOARD AROUND THE PASSENGER AIR BAG. . THE DASH IS CRACKING AROUND THE PLASTIC COVER AND I KNOW OF 2 OTHER TRUCKS THAT HAVE DONE THE SAME THING? I HAVE READ DIFFERENT ARTICLES ABOUT PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUES AND THE DEALER TELLS THEM IT'S TOO BAD AND THEY WILL NOT WARRANT THE REPAIRS. THIS TO ME IS A VERY VERY BAD SAFETY MATTER JUST BECAUSE IF YOU ARE IN A BAD WRECK AND THE AIR BAG DOES DEPLOY THERE IS A GOOD CHANCE THE DASH WILL POP THE BAG IF IT DOESN'T BLOW THE DASH BOARD UP AND SEND PLASTIC PROJECTILES FLYING ALL OVER THE PLACE POSSIBLY BLINDING OR KILLING YOU FROM THE SCRAPNAL PLASTIC PIECES. HAS ANYONE ELSE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE DASH BOARDS BEING DEFECTIVE?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds