Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 128 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (34) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (5) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (23) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/16/2016 - STOCKTON, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V831000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/12/2016 - AMBRIDGE, PA
DASHBOARD CRACKING BEHIND AIRBAG AND OVER THE SPEEDO CLUSTER. MAY CAUSE PLASTIC SHRAPNEL IF AIRBAG IS DEPLOYED INJURING OCCUPANTS

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/10/2016 - TOMBALL, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V3810000 (AIR BAGS) WAS RECEIVED IN MAY OF 2016. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED FOR THE RECALL REMEDY WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS COULD BE PROVIDED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/6/2016 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
TAKATA RECALL. GM SAYS ON NHTSA WEB SITE THAT THEY CONSIDER MY TRUCK SAFE TO DRIVE ALL THEY DID WAS TURN THE AIR BAG OFF. WHICH MAKES A KEY SAFETY COMPONENT INOPERABLE THIS IS NOT EXCEPTABLE. AND THEY STILL CAN'T REPLACE THE INFLAITER, I AM FORCED TO DRIVE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE THIS IS ALSO UNEXCEPTABLE. MY QUESTION IS - IS THIS AN EXCEPTABLE REMEDY EVEN IF TEMPORARY TO THE NHTSA. I FEEL AS THOUGH GM HAS REPLACED ONE POTENTIAL TRAGEDY WITH ANOTHER. I AM CONSIDERING CONTACTING A LAWYER. MY VEHICLE IS NOT ALWAYS STATIONARY

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/6/2016 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
TAKATA RECALL. GM SAYS ON NHTSA WEB SITE THAT THEY CONSIDER MY TRUCK SAFE TO DRIVE ALL THEY DID WAS TURN THE AIR BAG OFF. WHICH MAKES A KEY SAFETY COMPONENT INOPERABLE THIS IS NOT EXCEPTABLE. AND THEY STILL CAN'T REPLACE THE INFLAITER, I AM FORCED TO DRIVE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE THIS IS ALSO UNEXCEPTABLE. MY QUESTION IS - IS THIS AN EXCEPTABLE REMEDY EVEN IF TEMPORARY TO THE NHTSA. I FEEL AS THOUGH GM HAS REPLACED ONE POTENTIAL TRAGEDY WITH ANOTHER. I AM CONSIDERING CONTACTING A LAWYER. MY VEHICLE IS NOT ALWAYS STATIONARY

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/4/2016 - ALPHARETTA, GA
DASHBOARD CRACKING BEHIND AIRBAG AND OVER THE SPEEDO CLUSTER. MAY CAUSE PLASTIC SHRAPNEL IF AIRBAG IS DEPLOYED INJURING OCCUPANTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/2/2016 - LOCKHART, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2016 - OCEAN SPRINGS, MS
CRACKING DASH IN CORNERS OF AIRBAG COMPARTMENT AND ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. THE DASH WAS REPLACED BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM ONCE AND NOW THE REPLACEMENT DASH HAS CRACKED IN THE SAME SPOTS. I HAVE CONCERNS OF AIRBAG SAFETY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/24/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
MY DASHBOARD HAS MULTIPLE CRACKS IN THE DASHBOARD, AND MY VEHICLE STAYS IN A GARAGE WITH THE WINDOWS CRACKED TO PREVENT OVERHEATING. I HAVE HAD THESE CRACKS SINCE MY VEHICLE WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND GM WILL NOT REPLACE IT. IF I WANT IT FIXED I HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. I HAVE MAJOR CONCERNS WITH THE DASH TURNING TO SHRAPNEL IF THE AIRBAG DEPLOYS. MY VEHICLE IS UNDER THE TAKATA RECALL, AS WELL. THE DEALERSHIP HAS NO CONCERNS WITH THIS ISSUE. THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHEN THEY CAN FIX MY AIRBAG.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/18/2016 - CLEVELAND, TN
MY SEATBELT WILL NOT STAY ENGAGED AT ALL TIMES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds