Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 43 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (1) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (1) Tires (4) Visibility (1)
Engine (1) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/16/2014 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
WHILE DRIVING IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC, THE STABILITRAK SYSTEM AND TRACTION CONTROL SUDDENLY SHUT DOWN AND ENGINE POWER WAS SERIOUSLY REDUCED. 8BF UPDATED 04/17/14

View Details

WHEELS

11/1/2013 - HASTINGS, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO RELEASE THE SPARE TIRE FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE IT FAILED TO RELEASE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE WIRE CONNECTED TO THE SPARE TIRE WAS TAMPERED WITH AND AS A RESULT CAUSED THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE SENSOR TO MALFUNCTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/17/2013 - SAUGUS, CA
2009 CHEVY SILVERADO CREW CAB PASSENGER DASH CRACKED RIGHT IN BETWEEN AIRBAG. REALLY CONCERNED IF AIRBAG IS ENGAGED/DEPLOYED THE DASH WILL INTERFERE OR CAUSE HARM OR BODILY INJURY DUE TO CRACKED DASH PIECES TO BECOME PROJECTILES INTO THE CAB. FILED COMPLAINT WITH CHEVY GMC THEY WONT FIX IT UNDER WARRANTY BUT WILL CHARGE A GOODWILL FEE. PRICES VARY FROM DEALERSHIP TO DEALERSHIP DEPENDING ON LOCATION. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THIS IS A MASS PHENOMENA AND A SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/13/2013 - ELGIN, IL
MY 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO WAS PARKED FOR TWO DAYS. IT WAS RUNNING PERFECTLY UP UNTIL IT WAS PARKED..AFTER TWO DAYS OF BEING PARKED IN THE RAIN,THE REAR TAIL LIGHT SUDDENLY WENT ON BY ITSELF. I OPENED THE DOOR TO THE VEHICLE TO SEE HOW THIS COULD HAPPEN AND THE "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" LIGHT WAS ON. I PUT THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION AND IT WAS TOTALLY DEAD. I OPENED THE HOOD AND LIFTED OFF THE FUSE PANEL COVER,BECAUSE THERE WAS A STRONG SMELL OF BURNING. THEN,THERE WAS SMOKE. I IMMEDIATELY DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE NEAREST DEALER. AFTER PICKING IT UP TODAY,THEY CHARGED ME $1555 TO REPAIR,YET COULD NOT PROVIDE A LOGICAL REASON WHY THIS HAPPENED! THEY SAID"CORROSION" IN THE FUSE PANEL. HOW COULD A VEHICLE MADE IN 2009 WITH 72,000 MILES HAVE A PROBLEM SUCH AS THIS WITHOUT A MAJOR ISSUE BEING WRONG? I FEAR FOR OTHER'S SAFETY,AS I BELIEVE THERE IS A SERIOUS ISSUE GOING ON. PER MY RESEARCH,THERE IS A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN THAT EXPLAINS THE PROBLEM. PIT-5090. THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH WATER BEING ALLOWED TO ENTER THE FUSE PANEL BOX DUE TO POOR DESIGN AND THE POOR INSTALLATION FROM THE FACTORY OF A RUBBER SEAL. VERY SERIOUS ISSUE! PLEASE INVESTIGATE!!! I HAVE DEFECTIVE PARTS IN MY POSSESSION AND CAN PROVIDE PICTURES IF NEEDED! SHOULD BE RECALLED OR OWNERS SHOULD HAVE THEIR VEHICLE INSPECTED ASAP.

View Details

STRUCTURE

7/13/2013 - ELGIN, IL
MY 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO WAS PARKED FOR TWO DAYS. IT WAS RUNNING PERFECTLY UP UNTIL IT WAS PARKED..AFTER TWO DAYS OF BEING PARKED IN THE RAIN,THE REAR TAIL LIGHT SUDDENLY WENT ON BY ITSELF. I OPENED THE DOOR TO THE VEHICLE TO SEE HOW THIS COULD HAPPEN AND THE "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" LIGHT WAS ON. I PUT THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION AND IT WAS TOTALLY DEAD. I OPENED THE HOOD AND LIFTED OFF THE FUSE PANEL COVER,BECAUSE THERE WAS A STRONG SMELL OF BURNING. THEN,THERE WAS SMOKE. I IMMEDIATELY DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE NEAREST DEALER. AFTER PICKING IT UP TODAY,THEY CHARGED ME $1555 TO REPAIR,YET COULD NOT PROVIDE A LOGICAL REASON WHY THIS HAPPENED! THEY SAID"CORROSION" IN THE FUSE PANEL. HOW COULD A VEHICLE MADE IN 2009 WITH 72,000 MILES HAVE A PROBLEM SUCH AS THIS WITHOUT A MAJOR ISSUE BEING WRONG? I FEAR FOR OTHER'S SAFETY,AS I BELIEVE THERE IS A SERIOUS ISSUE GOING ON. PER MY RESEARCH,THERE IS A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN THAT EXPLAINS THE PROBLEM. PIT-5090. THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH WATER BEING ALLOWED TO ENTER THE FUSE PANEL BOX DUE TO POOR DESIGN AND THE POOR INSTALLATION FROM THE FACTORY OF A RUBBER SEAL. VERY SERIOUS ISSUE! PLEASE INVESTIGATE!!! I HAVE DEFECTIVE PARTS IN MY POSSESSION AND CAN PROVIDE PICTURES IF NEEDED! SHOULD BE RECALLED OR OWNERS SHOULD HAVE THEIR VEHICLE INSPECTED ASAP.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/24/2013 - MESQUITE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE TWO LARGE FRACTURES LOCATED ON THE TOP PORTION OF THE PASSENGER'S SIDE DASHBOARD AND A LARGE FRACTURE ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED BECAUSE THE FRACTURES WERE LOCATED NEAR THE PASSENGER'S SIDE AIR BAG AREA. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS 58,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2013 - ROBINSON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY JERKED AS THE STABILITY LIGHT AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED INTO A PARKING SPACE AND SHUT OFF AND ON AND THE ENGINE STARTED TO IDLE AT A HIGH SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHO RAN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST THAT SHOWED THAT THE THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,475. UPDATED 05/08/13 UPDATED 05/23/2013

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/22/2013 - LAKE GEORGE, NY
SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL, SERVICE STABILITRAK, TRACTION CONTROL OFF, STABILITRAK OFF, LOSS OF CONTROL.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

3/22/2013 - LAKE GEORGE, NY
SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL, SERVICE STABILITRAK, TRACTION CONTROL OFF, STABILITRAK OFF, LOSS OF CONTROL.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/16/2013 - IOWA, LA
1.) I HAVE NOTICED THAT I HAVE TWO CRACKS ON MY DASH BOARD 2FT 8"INCHES APART . 2.) MY MAIN CONCERN IS THE CRACK ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE PASSENGER AIR BAG 1"INCH LONG INTO THE AIR BAG COMPARTMENT GROVE. 3.) I HAVE ONLY 2,189 MILES ON MY TRUCK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds