Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 118 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (4) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (22) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/21/2016 - VENETIA, PA
THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. TRUCK HAS 46000 MILES ON IT. THE SENSOR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE WAS DEFECTIVE. IT COST $328 (WITH LABOR) TO REPLACE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/19/2016 - FOOTHILL RANCH, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/16/2016 - DAYTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED AND AN "AIR BAG HAD TO BE SERVICED" MESSAGE APPEARED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS DIAGNOSED AS "FAILING FRONT IMPACT SENSOR". THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/15/2016 - SAN ANGELO, TX
TAKATA RECALL- DASH IS CRACKING IN SEVERAL PLACES SURROUNDING THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. STARTED WHEN THE TRUCK HAD LESS THAN 70,000 MILES. (TRUCK NOW HAS ~109,000) ASIDE FROM THE DASH CRACKING ON A FAIRLY LOW MILEAGE AND VERY WELL KEPT AND MAINTAINED VEHICLE, THE SAFETY FEARS STEM FROM THE POSSIBILITY OF PIECES OF DASH FLYING APART AND STRIKING PASSENGERS IF THE AIRBAGS ARE EVER TO DEPLOY. OR IN A SUDDEN STOP, ETC... I HAVE SEEN SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE. I CAN UPLOAD PHOTOS IF NECESSARY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/12/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
TAKATA RECALL MY DASHBOARD IS CRACKED IN 3 PLACES NEAR THE AIRBAG. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT BECAUSE MY WARRANTY WAS UP THEY COULDN'T DO ANYTHING. I EXPRESSED MY CONCERN WITH THE CRACKS BREING SO CLOSE TO WHERE THE AIRBAG IS LOCATED, BUT THEY DID NOTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/9/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, AR
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/9/2016 - FITCHBURG, MA
THE TRUCK WAS SITTING PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY AND MY NEIGHBOR NOTICED THAT THE LIGHTS AND WIPERS CAME ON (TRUCK WAS NOT ON, NO KEYS WERE IN IT, NOBODY WAS IN IT OR NEAR IT!). SMOKE THEN BEGAN TO BILLOW OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND A FIRE STARTED. MY NEIGHBOR WAS ABLE TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY AND PUT OUT THE FIRE. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO A GARAGE WHERE THEY TOLD ME THAT THE FUSE PANEL CAUGHT ON FIRE. THEY CALLED GM AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE PART. DEALING WITH INSURANCE NOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/9/2016 - FITCHBURG, MA
THE TRUCK WAS SITTING PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY AND MY NEIGHBOR NOTICED THAT THE LIGHTS AND WIPERS CAME ON (TRUCK WAS NOT ON, NO KEYS WERE IN IT, NOBODY WAS IN IT OR NEAR IT!). SMOKE THEN BEGAN TO BILLOW OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND A FIRE STARTED. MY NEIGHBOR WAS ABLE TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY AND PUT OUT THE FIRE. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO A GARAGE WHERE THEY TOLD ME THAT THE FUSE PANEL CAUGHT ON FIRE. THEY CALLED GM AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE PART. DEALING WITH INSURANCE NOW.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/9/2016 - FITCHBURG, MA
THE TRUCK WAS SITTING PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY AND MY NEIGHBOR NOTICED THAT THE LIGHTS AND WIPERS CAME ON (TRUCK WAS NOT ON, NO KEYS WERE IN IT, NOBODY WAS IN IT OR NEAR IT!). SMOKE THEN BEGAN TO BILLOW OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND A FIRE STARTED. MY NEIGHBOR WAS ABLE TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY AND PUT OUT THE FIRE. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO A GARAGE WHERE THEY TOLD ME THAT THE FUSE PANEL CAUGHT ON FIRE. THEY CALLED GM AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE PART. DEALING WITH INSURANCE NOW.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/8/2016 - MONTGOMERY, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds