Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 108 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (4) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (20) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/14/2016 - LIBERTY HILL, TX
TAKATA RECALL DATE IS MAY 27, 2016 YET I JUST RECEIVED A LETTER IN MID AUGUST INFORMING ME THAT CHEVROLET IS FURTHER DELAYING ADDRESSING THE PROBLEM. THE DANGER OF SERIOUS INJURY AND FATALITY FROM THESE AIRBAGS IS WELL DOCUMENTED, MY TRUCK IS OVER 7 YEARS OLD IN AN EXTREMELY HOT CLIMATE (TEXAS--116 DEGREES RECENTLY) WHICH INCREASES RISK AND YET CHEVROLET IS DELAYING--DOUBTLESS IN HOPES MORE VEHICLES WILL AGE OUT AND REDUCE THEIR COSTS--DESPITE THE RISK OF DEATH OF THEIR CUSTOMERS THIS DELAY ENTAILS. PLEASE INSIST CHEVROLET QUICKLY MOVE TO ADDRESS THIS POTENTIALLY FATAL RISK IDEALLY PRIORITIZING VEHICLES THAT ARE OLDER AND IN HOTTER CLIMATES SINCE THAT SEEMS TO THE HIGHEST RISK GROUPS. I AM DISGUSTED WITH GENERAL MOTORS AND MY NEXT VEHICLE WILL BE A TESLA BECAUSE TESLA ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY AND ADDRESS SAFETY ISSUES WITHOUT DELAY. PLEASE AGGRESSIVELY REQUIRE THIS RECALL ON A DANGEROUS PRODUCT WHOSE MANUFACTURER (TAKATA) HAS ADMITTED THE PROBLEM. THE NECESSITY HAS BEEN CLEARLY ESTABLISHED IN OTHER CASES AND CHEVROLET'S ONLY POSSIBLE REASON FOR DELAY IS THAT THEY PRIORITIZE AVOIDING EXPENSE TO CORRECT THEIR MISTAKE OVER CUSTOMER'S LIVES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/10/2016 - PELHAM, AL
MY DASH WAS REPLACED AT 63000 MILES BECAUSE IT CRACKED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE BY THE AIRBAG. NOW IT'S CRACKED AGAIN BY THE AIRBAG IN 2 PLACES THIS TIME. I TOOK IT BACK TO HENDRICK CHEVROLET AND THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO BECAUSE IT'S OUT OF THE 12 MONTHS 12000 MILE WARRANTY. I WOULD HAVE TO CALL CHEVROLET. I CALLED CHEVROLET AND TALKED TO A NICE LADY WHO TRANSFERRED ME TO A SENIOR ADVISOR WHO L EXPLAINED MY SITUATION AND CONCERN OVER SAFETY IF THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. SHE TOOK A SECOND AND THEY HAVE DONE TESTING AND THERE IS NO SAFETY ISSUE IS WHAT I WAS TOLD. THEN SHE CHECKED TO SEE IF THERE WAS ANY CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE AND CAME BACK WITH THE CUSTOMER HAS TO PAY 100 % TO FIX BECAUSE IT'S COSMETIC. I'VE LOOKED ONLINE AND IT LOOKS LIKE A HUGE PROBLEM EVERYWHERE. FOR MINE TO CRACK FOR THE 2ND TIME WITHIN 28000 MILES IS UNCALLED FOR. WHAT'S IT GOING TO TAKE SOMEONE GETTING SERIOUSLY INJURED BEFORE THEY DO SOMETHING OR FIX THE PROBLEM. LOOKS LIKE THERE GOING CHEAP AND TAKE A CHANCE. WE THE CUSTOMERS NEED ANY HELP WE CAN GET FOR CHEVROLET TO OWN UP TO THIS FLAW IN DESIGN AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/5/2016 - WRIGHTSTOWN, NJ
I OWN A '09 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 PICKUP WITH AN INTEGRATED TRAILER BRAKE CONTROLLER. MY DRIVER INFORMATION CENTER GAVE ME A WARNING "SERVICE TRAILER BRAKE SYSTEM". I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE ABS/STABILITY CONTROL MODULE WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THEY SAID IT WAS ON BACKORDER FROM GM. IT TURNS OUT THAT GM HAS NO ABS CONTROL MODULES (PART#25802684) IN THE ENTIRE COUNTRY! WITH THIS MODULE BEING BAD IT CUTS POWER TO THE TRAILER BRAKES. YOU END UP WITH NO BRAKES ON ANY TRAILER YOU TOW THAT HAS ELECTRIC BRAKES. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I WAS LUCKY THAT MY TRAILER WAS NOT CONNECTED AT THE TIME OF THE FAULT. IF I HAD BEEN TOWING MY CAMPER AND LOST BRAKING POWER TO IT, THE RESULT COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC. GM HAS NO FIX FOR THIS. I AND EVERY OTHER OWNER (A LOT) ARE STUCK WITH NO PARTS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. PLEASE INVESTIGATE WHY GM LET THEIR STOCK IN THE ENTIRE COUNTRY GO TO ZERO ON SUCH A CRITICAL SAFETY RELATED PART. THANK YOU

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/3/2016 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
SAME AS MANY OTHERS.CRACK ON DASH BOARD LEFT CORNER CONNECTING TO AIR BAG. CRACK ON TOP OF DASH BOARD ABOVE GAUGES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/3/2016 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
SAME AS MANY OTHERS.CRACK ON DASH BOARD LEFT CORNER CONNECTING TO AIR BAG. CRACK ON TOP OF DASH BOARD ABOVE GAUGES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/2/2016 - SAINT CLOUD, FL
A FEW DAYS AGO WHILE DETAILING THE INTERIOR OF MY TRUCK, L NOTICED SEVERAL CRACKS IN THE DASH WHERE THE TAKATA AIRBAGS DEPLOY. I ONLY HAVE 69,000 MILES ON THIS VEHICLE. IT HAS BEEN GARAGE KEPT. I TOOK IT TO OUR LOCAL DELERSHIP & THE ADVISED IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY & NOTHING COULD BE DONE. I WOULD LIKE TO ADD, L JUST RECEIVED MY RECALL NOTICE OF THE DETERIORATING AIRBAG RECALL FOR THIS VEHICLE. I'M FEARFUL TO DRIVE THIS TRUCK FOR FEAR OF DASH PIECES & EARLY AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. DEALERSHIP WAS CONTACTED YESTERDAY & L WAS ADVISED BY PAUL, A SERVICE WRITER, THE PARTS TO REPAIR THIS RECALL ARE NOT AVAILABLE. I ASKED ABOUT WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF THE TAKATA INFLATORS AIRBAGS DEPLOYED & L OR PASSENGER WAS KILLED OR HURT? MY RESPONSE WAS THERE IS NOTHING THAT COULD BE DONE AT THIS TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/2/2016 - HASLET, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER DECLINED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE PER THE RECALL. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/30/2016 - PANAMA CITY, FL
WE HAVE A DASH CRACK FROM DRIVER SIDE TO PASSENGER SIDE NOT ALL THE WAY JUST CRACKS IN DIFFERENT AREAS; HOWEVER WHAT WORRIES US THE MOST IS THE 2" CRACK AT THE LEFT HAND CORNER OF WHERE THE PASSENGER AIRBAG IS. THE SPECIFIC AREA IS TOP LEFT HAND CORNER OF THE AIRBAG SEAM THERE IS A CRACK AND I TRULY WORRY ABOUT THE AIRBAG DEPLOYING AND SHOOTING PLASTIC PIECES EVERYWHERE FROM THAT CRACK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/30/2016 - PANAMA CITY, FL
WE HAVE A DASH CRACK FROM DRIVER SIDE TO PASSENGER SIDE NOT ALL THE WAY JUST CRACKS IN DIFFERENT AREAS; HOWEVER WHAT WORRIES US THE MOST IS THE 2" CRACK AT THE LEFT HAND CORNER OF WHERE THE PASSENGER AIRBAG IS. THE SPECIFIC AREA IS TOP LEFT HAND CORNER OF THE AIRBAG SEAM THERE IS A CRACK AND I TRULY WORRY ABOUT THE AIRBAG DEPLOYING AND SHOOTING PLASTIC PIECES EVERYWHERE FROM THAT CRACK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/28/2016 - LEANDER, TX
I HAVE VARIOUS CRACKS IN MY DASH. THERE IS A LARGE ONE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DASH. THIS ONE OCCURRED JUST THIS YEAR (2016). BUT THE OTHER IS MORE CONCERNING, ESPECIALLY SINCE IT IS UP AGAINST THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. THIS ONE HAS EXISTED FOR SEVERAL YEARS (2014 OR EARLIER). I DIDN'T THINK ABOUT THIS BEING A PROBLEM UNTIL THE TAKATA AIRBAG RECALL CAME UP. I AM WORRIED THAT SHOULD I GET INTO AN ACCIDENT, THAT THE CRACKED PLASTIC WILL BECOME LOOSE DEBRIS, AND CAUSE ADDITIONAL HARM TO ANY PASSENGERS. AN INTERESTING THING I'VE NOTICED IS A POPPING NOISE COMING FROM THE DASH. THIS OCCURS AFTER I HAVE BEEN DRIVING WITH THE AIR CONDITIONER ON FOR A WHILE. WHEN I PERFORM A GOOGLE SEARCH, THIS SEEMS TO BE A FAIRLY COMMON PROBLEM. IN FACT, THERE IS A FACEBOOK GROUP THAT HAS ABOUT 5000 MEMBERS - HTTPS://WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/GROUPS/GMDASHCRACK/ - THIS IS HOW I FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS WEBSITE. I AM UPLOADING 2 PICTURES. THE IMAGE ENDING IN 27, IS THE CENTER CRACK. YOU'LL NOTICE THAT IT IS SPLIT COMPLETELY FOR THE FULL DEPTH OF THAT PIECE. THE IMAGE ENDING IN 32, IS THE CRACK THAT SITS NEXT TO THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. I AM UNABLE TO DETERMINE IF THESE CRACKS OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING OR NOT. THEY JUST SEEMED TO APPEAR OVER TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds