Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 98 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (4) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (5) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/14/2016 - DEPTFORD, NJ
DASHBOARD IS CRACKED IN TWO DIFFERENT PLAECES

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/13/2016 - KNOXVILLE, TN
SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON THIS MORNING AFTER START UP. RESTARTED TRUCK TO SEE IF WARNING WOULD CLEAR. I STILL HAVE THE MESSAGE AND BELIEVE THERE'S SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE AIRBAG OR THE SENSORS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/8/2016 - EL PASO, TX
SO ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO I REPLACED THE BATTERY TRUCK WAS RUNNING FINE TILL ABOUT MONTH THREE. I WAS DRIVING MY TRUCK AND ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE ELECTRICAL STARTED FREAKING OUT ON ME. I POPPED THE HOOD AND PUSHED THE NEGATIVE WIRE FOR THE BATTERY DOWN AND IT STOPPED FOR A GOOD TWO MONTHS SO TODAY (JUNE 7TH, 2016)I WAS ON MY WAY TO AUTOZONE TO HAVE THEM CHECK THE BATTERY FOR ME AND ON MY WAY OVER TO THEM TRUCK THRE A TEMPER TANTRUM AND STARTED WITH THE FREAKING OUT THEN I WAS ALMOST THERE AND IT JUST COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC I WAS LUCKLY IN THE TURNING LANE TO TURN INTO THE AUTOZONE. IT ALSO FID IT WHEN I WAS COMING OVER THE MOUNTAIN FREAKING OUT WITH THE ELECTRICAL. THEN JUST COMPLETLY CAME TO A STOP AT THE INTERSECTION AS I WAS TURNING LEFT ALMOST GOT HIT BY ANOTHER SILVERADO 2500 THAT WAS RIGHT BEHIND ME. BUT EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE IT'LL BE OKAY THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN JUST START UP AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2016 - EL PASO, TX
SO ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO I REPLACED THE BATTERY TRUCK WAS RUNNING FINE TILL ABOUT MONTH THREE. I WAS DRIVING MY TRUCK AND ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE ELECTRICAL STARTED FREAKING OUT ON ME. I POPPED THE HOOD AND PUSHED THE NEGATIVE WIRE FOR THE BATTERY DOWN AND IT STOPPED FOR A GOOD TWO MONTHS SO TODAY (JUNE 7TH, 2016)I WAS ON MY WAY TO AUTOZONE TO HAVE THEM CHECK THE BATTERY FOR ME AND ON MY WAY OVER TO THEM TRUCK THRE A TEMPER TANTRUM AND STARTED WITH THE FREAKING OUT THEN I WAS ALMOST THERE AND IT JUST COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC I WAS LUCKLY IN THE TURNING LANE TO TURN INTO THE AUTOZONE. IT ALSO FID IT WHEN I WAS COMING OVER THE MOUNTAIN FREAKING OUT WITH THE ELECTRICAL. THEN JUST COMPLETLY CAME TO A STOP AT THE INTERSECTION AS I WAS TURNING LEFT ALMOST GOT HIT BY ANOTHER SILVERADO 2500 THAT WAS RIGHT BEHIND ME. BUT EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE IT'LL BE OKAY THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN JUST START UP AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2016 - EDEN, NY
TRUCK HAD BEEN SITTING OVERNIGHT. WOKE UP TO 3RD BRAKE LIGHT ON. OPENED CAB DOOR, SMELLED LIKE SMOKE AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, WOULD NOT TURN OVER. POP HOOD AND THE FUSE BOX AND WIRING HARNESS HAD BEEN ON FIRE, WERE COMPLETELY MELTED. INSURANCE COMPANY WON'T COVER BECAUSE THERE WAS NOT SUBSTANTIAL PROOF OF FIRE, AND COULD NOT FIND SOURCE. FILED A FORMAL COMPLAINT WITH GM AFTER THE DEALERSHIP TOLD US THE WIRING HARNESS HAD BEEN DISCONTINUED (ON A 7 YEAR OLD TRUCK). GM WON'T DO ANYTHING BECAUSE THEY CANNOT FIND THE SOURCE, AND THEY HAVE YET TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEY DISCONTINUED A PART. WE HAVE NO WAY OF FIXING THIS TRUCK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

6/6/2016 - PHILADEPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE WAS CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPARE WHEEL ASSEMBLY, BED ASSEMBLY, AND TAILGATE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,500. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/31/2016 - BURLESON, TX
WHILE TRAVELING 70 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE EVERYTHING GOES CRAZY AT ONCE: DOORS LOCK AND UNLOCK, ENGINE CUTS AND GOES BACK ON, STABILITRAK LIGHT COMES ON AND GOES OFF, TRANSMISSION KICKS OUT OF GEAR AND THEN DOWNSHIFTS SENDING THE ENGINE TO OVER 5,000 RPM, RADIO GOES OFF AND ON OFF AND ON. THIS EVENT LASTS FOR ABOUT 5 TO 7 SECONDS THEN EVERYTHING GOES BACK TO NORMAL. THE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY AND MAY NOT HAPPEN AGAIN FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. THIS PROBLEM SOUNDS VERY SIMILAR TO NHTSA ID #10871399. IT IS AN EXTREMELY SCARY EVENT AND WHEN IN TRAFFIC GOING 70 AND THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTS AND THE SPEED DROPS TO 50 LIKE YOU SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES, BUT THE BRAKES HAVE NOT BEEN TOUCHED. IT ALMOST CAUSED ME TO BE HIT THIS MORNING. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN FEBRUARY 2014 WITH 114,000 MILES, THIS FIRST HAPPENED IN 2014 WITH APPROX. 118,000 MILES. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 171,500.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/31/2016 - BURLESON, TX
WHILE TRAVELING 70 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE EVERYTHING GOES CRAZY AT ONCE: DOORS LOCK AND UNLOCK, ENGINE CUTS AND GOES BACK ON, STABILITRAK LIGHT COMES ON AND GOES OFF, TRANSMISSION KICKS OUT OF GEAR AND THEN DOWNSHIFTS SENDING THE ENGINE TO OVER 5,000 RPM, RADIO GOES OFF AND ON OFF AND ON. THIS EVENT LASTS FOR ABOUT 5 TO 7 SECONDS THEN EVERYTHING GOES BACK TO NORMAL. THE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY AND MAY NOT HAPPEN AGAIN FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. THIS PROBLEM SOUNDS VERY SIMILAR TO NHTSA ID #10871399. IT IS AN EXTREMELY SCARY EVENT AND WHEN IN TRAFFIC GOING 70 AND THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTS AND THE SPEED DROPS TO 50 LIKE YOU SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES, BUT THE BRAKES HAVE NOT BEEN TOUCHED. IT ALMOST CAUSED ME TO BE HIT THIS MORNING. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN FEBRUARY 2014 WITH 114,000 MILES, THIS FIRST HAPPENED IN 2014 WITH APPROX. 118,000 MILES. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 171,500.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/29/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE VEHICLE FIRST STARTED HAVING ELECTRICAL TROUBLES WHEN WE WERE TRAVELING DOWN THE INTERSTATE. THE DOOR LOCKS WERE CYCLING RAPIDLY, THE GAUGES WERE BOUNCING ALL OVER THE DIALS, WE LOST POWER, THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH WERE FLASHING, AND THE TRANSMISSION STOPPED WORKING, AND WE WERE COASTING - ON AN INTERSTATE. WE PULLED OVER AND SHUT IT OFF FOR A FEW MOMENTS, STARTED IT UP AND TOOK OFF AGAIN, WITH NO TROUBLE. GOT HOME AND I LOOKED IT UP ON THE INTERNET, AND FOUND MANY SIMILAR/IDENTICAL STORIES. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THEY COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG. THEY CHARGED US $200, AND THE PROBLEM SEEMED FIXED, FOR A WHOLE TWO MONTHS, JUST LIKE EVERYONE ELSE SAID IN THEIR POSTS. IT HAS DONE IT AT LEAST 7 TIMES OVER THE PAST YEAR, AND WE HAVE RESORTED TO PUSHING IN THE FUSES, WHICH WIGGLE LOOSE - AND IT SEEMS TO FIX IT, ALBEIT TEMPORARILY. UNTIL TODAY. IT STARTED HAPPENING ON THE INTERSTATE AGAIN, AND WE PULLED OVER, OPENED THE HOOD, TOOK OFF THE COVER, AND PUSHED DOWN THE FUSES, BUT NONE WERE LOOSE. IT ACTED UP ABOUT 3 MORE TIMES ON THE WAY BACK HOME, AND WE HAD TO TURN AROUND TO GET THE TRUCK IN THE DRIVEWAY BEFORE IT JUST DIED ALTOGETHER. WE MISSED AN APPOINTMENT WITH A CUSTOMER (WE DO CONSTRUCTION) BECAUSE OF IT. IT'S NOT SAFE TO DRIVE - WE'RE WORRIED ABOUT GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THE LOSS OF POWER. GM SAYS THEY'RE SYMPATHETIC, BUT THAT DOESN'T FIX IT. WE DON'T NEED SYMPATHY, WE NEED RESULTS! THEY ALSO SAY THEY'VE NOT HEARD OF THE PROBLEM - BULL----. THEY KNOW OF THE PROBLEM, THEY JUST DON'T WANT TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THUS FAR, I DON'T THINK ANYONE HAS BEEN KILLED, SO THE BEAN COUNTERS AREN'T RATTLED YET. SO FAR, NO LAWSUITS THAT I KNOW OF - THEY GET TO RIDE OFF INTO THE SUNSET WITH OUR MONEY AND ALL WE GET IS A JUNK TRUCK THAT YOU CAN'T RELY UPON EVEN THOUGH IT ONLY HAS 58,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/29/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE VEHICLE FIRST STARTED HAVING ELECTRICAL TROUBLES WHEN WE WERE TRAVELING DOWN THE INTERSTATE. THE DOOR LOCKS WERE CYCLING RAPIDLY, THE GAUGES WERE BOUNCING ALL OVER THE DIALS, WE LOST POWER, THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH WERE FLASHING, AND THE TRANSMISSION STOPPED WORKING, AND WE WERE COASTING - ON AN INTERSTATE. WE PULLED OVER AND SHUT IT OFF FOR A FEW MOMENTS, STARTED IT UP AND TOOK OFF AGAIN, WITH NO TROUBLE. GOT HOME AND I LOOKED IT UP ON THE INTERNET, AND FOUND MANY SIMILAR/IDENTICAL STORIES. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THEY COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG. THEY CHARGED US $200, AND THE PROBLEM SEEMED FIXED, FOR A WHOLE TWO MONTHS, JUST LIKE EVERYONE ELSE SAID IN THEIR POSTS. IT HAS DONE IT AT LEAST 7 TIMES OVER THE PAST YEAR, AND WE HAVE RESORTED TO PUSHING IN THE FUSES, WHICH WIGGLE LOOSE - AND IT SEEMS TO FIX IT, ALBEIT TEMPORARILY. UNTIL TODAY. IT STARTED HAPPENING ON THE INTERSTATE AGAIN, AND WE PULLED OVER, OPENED THE HOOD, TOOK OFF THE COVER, AND PUSHED DOWN THE FUSES, BUT NONE WERE LOOSE. IT ACTED UP ABOUT 3 MORE TIMES ON THE WAY BACK HOME, AND WE HAD TO TURN AROUND TO GET THE TRUCK IN THE DRIVEWAY BEFORE IT JUST DIED ALTOGETHER. WE MISSED AN APPOINTMENT WITH A CUSTOMER (WE DO CONSTRUCTION) BECAUSE OF IT. IT'S NOT SAFE TO DRIVE - WE'RE WORRIED ABOUT GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THE LOSS OF POWER. GM SAYS THEY'RE SYMPATHETIC, BUT THAT DOESN'T FIX IT. WE DON'T NEED SYMPATHY, WE NEED RESULTS! THEY ALSO SAY THEY'VE NOT HEARD OF THE PROBLEM - BULL----. THEY KNOW OF THE PROBLEM, THEY JUST DON'T WANT TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THUS FAR, I DON'T THINK ANYONE HAS BEEN KILLED, SO THE BEAN COUNTERS AREN'T RATTLED YET. SO FAR, NO LAWSUITS THAT I KNOW OF - THEY GET TO RIDE OFF INTO THE SUNSET WITH OUR MONEY AND ALL WE GET IS A JUNK TRUCK THAT YOU CAN'T RELY UPON EVEN THOUGH IT ONLY HAS 58,000 MILES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds