Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 189 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (7) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (25)
Electrical System (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/13/2017 - VENICE, FL
TAKATA RECALL- SINCE MARCH 2017, MY WARNING LIGHT SYSTEM HAS INTERMITTENTLY DISPLAYED A "SERVICE AIRBAG" MESSAGE. THERE IS AN EXISTING RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH MY VIN, HOWEVER SINCE MAY, 2016 THE RECALL STATUS REMAINS AS "RECALL INCOMPLETE, REMEDY NOT YET AVAILABLE". I BELIEVE THIS TO BE AN OBVIOUS SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/30/2017 - REDWOOD CITY, CA
TAKATA RECALL

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/29/2017 - MARRELO, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD WAS CRACKED NEAR THE AIR BAG COMPARTMENT. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER (BRYAN CHEVROLET LOCATED IN KENNER, LA) WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/28/2017 - MEMPHIS, GA
BROKEN PLASTIC DASH BOARD( TOP PLASTIC) LEAVING SHARP JAGGED EDGES AROUND AIRBAG PANEL ON PASSENGERS SIDE WHERE AIRBAG DEPLOYS. DASH CRACKS IN OTHER MULTIPLE LOCATIONS ABOVE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WITH SHARP PLASTIC BROKEN PIECES ON DRIVERS SIDE NEAR INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. VEHICLE IS GARAGE KEPT AND I USE A WINDSHIELD SHADE IN THE SUN. VEHICLE HAD 8000 MILES ON IT. NEW BREAKS CONTINUE TO DEVELOP ON DASH BOARD FROM THERMAL EXPANSION AND MATERIAL STRUCTURAL FAILURE OF THE DASH BOARD TOP PLASTIC. ALSO HAS DIS-COLORATION ON THE AIRBAG PANEL PLASTIC PANEL ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DASH BOARD. DASH BOARD AIRBAG PANEL LOOKS TO BE DETERIORATING AND MAY POSSIBLY FRAGMENT IN AN AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. I HAVE CONCERNS WITH FACIAL LACERATIONS AND CONTUSIONS IF A BAG DEPLOYS AND THIS PANEL ALONG WITH OTHER SHARP BROKEN DASH BOARD PLASTIC FRAGMENTS BECOME PROJECTILES FOR BOTH THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER ON THE UPPER TORSO, FACE, ARMS AND POTENTIAL BLINDNESS FROM AN EYE INJURY FROM SHARP DASHBOARD PLASTIC FRAGMENTATION INTRUSION. NEWEST CRACKS ON THE DRIVERS SIDE WERE WITNESS ON A WARM DAY RECENTLY WHEN I ENTERED THE CAR I HEARD A CRACK AS I SHUT THE DRIVERS DOOR. THE AIRBAG I NOTICED IN SEPTEMBER OF 2015 IN THE LEFT CORNER OF THE AIRBAG COVER, THE FORWARD MOST CORNER OF THE DASH THAT IS AROUND THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. THE PASSENGER AIR BAG PLASTIC PANEL RECENTLY SHOWS SIGN OF WHITE DISCOLORATION STREAKS THROUGH THE PLASTIC AND WILL NOT CLEANUP. PLASTIC LOOK AS IF IT IS DETERIORATING AND CHANGING COLOR. I'M VERY CONCERNED WITH THIS PANEL AS THIS DEPLOYS WITH AIRBAG ON THE PASSENGERS SIDE. ALSO CONCERNED THAT THE DRIVER AIRBAG COVER ON THE STEERING WHEEL LOOKS TO BE MADE OF THE SAME MATERIAL AND THAT FRAGMENTATION MAY OCCUR HERE AS WELL IN A AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/25/2017 - TRABUCO CANYON, CA
TRAVELING UNDER 10 MPH IN NEUTRAL, BOTH SIDE AIR CURTAINS DEPLOYED. TRAVELING ON DIRT ROAD. NO POT HOLE, ROCK OR BUMP INVOLVED. NO WARNING OF DEPLOYMENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/21/2017 - MONTGOMERYT, TX
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, TRUCK HAD MASSIVE ELECTRICAL ISSUES WHICH CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION TO DOWNSHIFT TO 2ND GEAR. I ALMOST LOST CONTROL. WHILE THIS WAS HAPPENING, THE DOOR LOCKS CYCLED ON AND OFF OVER AND OVER AS WELL AS THE DOOR CHIMES COMING ON CONSTANTLY. HVAC DEFAULTED TO FULL HEAT FROM AIR CONDITIONING MODE. STABILITRACK SYSTEMS SHOWED INOPERATIVE AS WELL AS ABS SYSTEM. THE RAPID DOWNSHIFT FROM CRUISE TO 2ND GEAR CAUSED TIRES TO LOCK UP. I ALMOST LOST CONTROL. IF IT WOULD HAVE BEEN WET OR SLIPPERY, I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL. THE VEHICLE ENGINE REVVED TO 4-5 THOUSAND RPM, AS IT DOWNSHIFTED AND MY SPEED DROPPED LIKE I WAS LOCKING THE BRAKES. I COULD HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED AND THE DECELERATION CAME ON WITH NO BRAKE LIGHTS, AS IT WAS HAPPENING WITH THE TRANSMISSION RAPID DOWNSHIFT. I CONTACTED GM VIA THEIR CHAT LINE, REFERENCE [XXX]. THEY TOLD ME IT WAS 8 YEARS OLD AND BOUGHT OVER-SEAS SO I WAS OUT OF LUCK FOR HELP WITH REPAIRS. IT IS PRESUMABLY CAUSED BY FAULTY BATTERY CABLES. THIS CONDITION IS REPORTED REPEATEDLY ON THE INTERNET I.E. YOUTUBE AMAZON ETC. THESE PARTS ARE NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR COMPONENTS AND SINCE THEY CAUSE MASSIVE SAFETY RELATED CONTROL ISSUES THEIR MANUFACTURING QUALITY IS IN QUESTION. I WANT TO REPORT THIS ISSUE TO HELP PREVENT SOMEONE ELSE POSSIBLY HAVING AN INJURY TO THEIR LOVED ONES BECAUSE OF A KNOWN CONDITION THAT COULD BE REPAIRED WITH A 125.00 PART. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER BUCKALEW CHEV IN CONROE TX. AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE BATTERY CABLES. I HAVE THAT INVOICE. I HAVE THE TRANSCRIPT FROM THE INITIAL CHAT WITH GM. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/21/2017 - MONTGOMERYT, TX
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, TRUCK HAD MASSIVE ELECTRICAL ISSUES WHICH CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION TO DOWNSHIFT TO 2ND GEAR. I ALMOST LOST CONTROL. WHILE THIS WAS HAPPENING, THE DOOR LOCKS CYCLED ON AND OFF OVER AND OVER AS WELL AS THE DOOR CHIMES COMING ON CONSTANTLY. HVAC DEFAULTED TO FULL HEAT FROM AIR CONDITIONING MODE. STABILITRACK SYSTEMS SHOWED INOPERATIVE AS WELL AS ABS SYSTEM. THE RAPID DOWNSHIFT FROM CRUISE TO 2ND GEAR CAUSED TIRES TO LOCK UP. I ALMOST LOST CONTROL. IF IT WOULD HAVE BEEN WET OR SLIPPERY, I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL. THE VEHICLE ENGINE REVVED TO 4-5 THOUSAND RPM, AS IT DOWNSHIFTED AND MY SPEED DROPPED LIKE I WAS LOCKING THE BRAKES. I COULD HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED AND THE DECELERATION CAME ON WITH NO BRAKE LIGHTS, AS IT WAS HAPPENING WITH THE TRANSMISSION RAPID DOWNSHIFT. I CONTACTED GM VIA THEIR CHAT LINE, REFERENCE [XXX]. THEY TOLD ME IT WAS 8 YEARS OLD AND BOUGHT OVER-SEAS SO I WAS OUT OF LUCK FOR HELP WITH REPAIRS. IT IS PRESUMABLY CAUSED BY FAULTY BATTERY CABLES. THIS CONDITION IS REPORTED REPEATEDLY ON THE INTERNET I.E. YOUTUBE AMAZON ETC. THESE PARTS ARE NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR COMPONENTS AND SINCE THEY CAUSE MASSIVE SAFETY RELATED CONTROL ISSUES THEIR MANUFACTURING QUALITY IS IN QUESTION. I WANT TO REPORT THIS ISSUE TO HELP PREVENT SOMEONE ELSE POSSIBLY HAVING AN INJURY TO THEIR LOVED ONES BECAUSE OF A KNOWN CONDITION THAT COULD BE REPAIRED WITH A 125.00 PART. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER BUCKALEW CHEV IN CONROE TX. AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE BATTERY CABLES. I HAVE THAT INVOICE. I HAVE THE TRANSCRIPT FROM THE INITIAL CHAT WITH GM. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/14/2017 - MIDLAND, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V318000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. ALL AMERICAN CHEVROLET IN MIDLAND, TEXAS WAS MADE AWARE OF THE RECALL AND STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/8/2017 - MONROE, LA
DASHBOARD CRACK IN SEVERAL PLACES/INCLUDING AROUND AIR BAGS/THERE IS A RECALL ON AIR BAGS BUT A PERMANENT FIX HAS NOT BEEN FOUND. WHEN A FIX IS FOUND MY VEHICLE CAN NOT BE WORK ON AS IS BECAUSE THE CRACKS AROUND THE AIR BAG COMPARTMENT. CANNOT RIDE ANY ONE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY VEHICLE BECAUSE OF THE FEAR OF AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/21/2017 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
DASHBOARD HAS CRACKED IN TWO PLACES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds