Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/3/2014 - MODESTO, CA
DASH CRACKED AT CORNER OF PASSENGER AIRBAG NOTICED AROUND 55,000 MILES. ENGINE CONSUMING OIL, NOTICED AROUND 40,000 MILES. FRONT BREAKS VIBRATING, NOTICED AROUND 18,000 MILES. DEALER AND GM HAS REFUSED TO FIX.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2014 - MODESTO, CA
DASH CRACKED AT CORNER OF PASSENGER AIRBAG NOTICED AROUND 55,000 MILES. ENGINE CONSUMING OIL, NOTICED AROUND 40,000 MILES. FRONT BREAKS VIBRATING, NOTICED AROUND 18,000 MILES. DEALER AND GM HAS REFUSED TO FIX.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/3/2014 - MODESTO, CA
DASH CRACKED AT CORNER OF PASSENGER AIRBAG NOTICED AROUND 55,000 MILES. ENGINE CONSUMING OIL, NOTICED AROUND 40,000 MILES. FRONT BREAKS VIBRATING, NOTICED AROUND 18,000 MILES. DEALER AND GM HAS REFUSED TO FIX.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/24/2014 - WICKENBURG, AZ
2009 CHEVROLET TRUCK BEGAN TO REDUCE POWER AND CHECK THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STARTED SURGING. THE CONSUMER STATED IT SEEMED AT TIMES, THE VEHICLE WAS GOING TO STALL, BUT INSTEAD IT WOULD SURGE UP TO 30 MPH. IT JERKED, THEN IT WOULD GO. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE THE FOOT PEDAL APPLICATION SENSOR WAS REPLACED. ON JANUARY 3, 2014, WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AGAIN AND POWER TO THE VEHICLE, WAS SIGNIFICANTLY REDUCED, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT OUT AGAIN. THE DEALER FOUND HIGH RESISTANCE IN THE APPLICATION SENSOR CIRCUITS AND REPLACED A FAULTY SENSOR CIRCUIT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/24/2014 - WICKENBURG, AZ
2009 CHEVROLET TRUCK BEGAN TO REDUCE POWER AND CHECK THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STARTED SURGING. THE CONSUMER STATED IT SEEMED AT TIMES, THE VEHICLE WAS GOING TO STALL, BUT INSTEAD IT WOULD SURGE UP TO 30 MPH. IT JERKED, THEN IT WOULD GO. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE THE FOOT PEDAL APPLICATION SENSOR WAS REPLACED. ON JANUARY 3, 2014, WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AGAIN AND POWER TO THE VEHICLE, WAS SIGNIFICANTLY REDUCED, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT OUT AGAIN. THE DEALER FOUND HIGH RESISTANCE IN THE APPLICATION SENSOR CIRCUITS AND REPLACED A FAULTY SENSOR CIRCUIT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/21/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
DASH BOARD CRACKED BY PASSENGER AIRBAG.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/17/2014 - BURNET, TX
I WAS DRIVING MY 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO ONE MORNING ON MY WAY TO SCHOOL(LUCKILY I WASN'T TO FAR FROM HOME WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED) WHEN THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE DASH SHOWED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, SERVICE STABLETRAK, AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL. WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD WHEN MY VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE AND EVENTUALLY WAS NOT ABLE TO GO PAST 45 MPH. I PULLED OVER AND MY VEHICLE AND PARKED, SHUT OFF THE ENGINE, AND THEN STARTED IT BACK UP ONLY TO SHOW THE SAME ICONS ON THE DASH. AFTER TURNING AROUND AND SLOWLY RETURNING TO MY HOUSE I SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND HAD TO TAKE MY WIFE'S CAR TO WORK. UNDER OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES THIS COULD HAVE GONE EXTREMELY BAD AND AN ACCIDENT MAY HAVE OCCURRED. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON TREND ON THE INTERNET AND FORUMS AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY GM!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/17/2014 - BURNET, TX
I WAS DRIVING MY 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO ONE MORNING ON MY WAY TO SCHOOL(LUCKILY I WASN'T TO FAR FROM HOME WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED) WHEN THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE DASH SHOWED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, SERVICE STABLETRAK, AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL. WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD WHEN MY VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE AND EVENTUALLY WAS NOT ABLE TO GO PAST 45 MPH. I PULLED OVER AND MY VEHICLE AND PARKED, SHUT OFF THE ENGINE, AND THEN STARTED IT BACK UP ONLY TO SHOW THE SAME ICONS ON THE DASH. AFTER TURNING AROUND AND SLOWLY RETURNING TO MY HOUSE I SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND HAD TO TAKE MY WIFE'S CAR TO WORK. UNDER OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES THIS COULD HAVE GONE EXTREMELY BAD AND AN ACCIDENT MAY HAVE OCCURRED. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON TREND ON THE INTERNET AND FORUMS AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY GM!

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2014 - BURNET, TX
I WAS DRIVING MY 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO ONE MORNING ON MY WAY TO SCHOOL(LUCKILY I WASN'T TO FAR FROM HOME WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED) WHEN THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE DASH SHOWED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, SERVICE STABLETRAK, AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL. WHEN THE INCIDENT OCCURRED I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD WHEN MY VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE AND EVENTUALLY WAS NOT ABLE TO GO PAST 45 MPH. I PULLED OVER AND MY VEHICLE AND PARKED, SHUT OFF THE ENGINE, AND THEN STARTED IT BACK UP ONLY TO SHOW THE SAME ICONS ON THE DASH. AFTER TURNING AROUND AND SLOWLY RETURNING TO MY HOUSE I SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND HAD TO TAKE MY WIFE'S CAR TO WORK. UNDER OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES THIS COULD HAVE GONE EXTREMELY BAD AND AN ACCIDENT MAY HAVE OCCURRED. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON TREND ON THE INTERNET AND FORUMS AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY GM!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2014 - NORTH BEND , OH
THE FIRST INCIDENT WAS IN JANUARY 2014 WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 55 MPH THE DOOR LOCKS STARTED TO CYCLE RAPIDLY, THE GAUGES ALL WENT TO ZERO, THE AIRBAG REDINESS LIGHT CAME ON AND A SERVICE STABILITRAC MESSAGE APPEARED. THE NEXT DAY THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START, AFTER MOVING THE POSITIVE BATTERY TERMINAL COVER TO TRY AND JUMP THE BATTERY ALL THE LIGHTS CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE STARTED WITHOUT NEEDING TO BE JUMPED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY CHECKED EVERYTHING AND FOUND NOTHING WRONG. NO CODES WERE STORED. THEY INSPECTED THE UNDER HOOD FUSE BLOCK AND THE BATTERY PIN TENSION, BOTH WERE GOOD. THE VEHICLE HAS RUN FINE WITH NO PROBLEMS UNTIL NOVEMBER 2014, NOW IT HAS STARTED DOING THE EXACT SAME THING AS IT WAS DOING IN JANUARY. I WILL BE CONTACTING MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER AND THE CHEVROLET REGIONAL MANAGER AGAIN. ALSO IT SEEMS VERY UNUSUAL THAT THE DEALER AND THE REGIONAL MANAGER HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM. THE CHEVROLET FORUMS ARE FULL OF PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES, ALSO THERE IS A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ADDRESSING THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds