Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/9/2015 - HUMBLE, TX
I HAVE A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE BRAKE SYSTEM WENT OUT AND THE DEALERS REFUSE TO DO ANYTHING BECAUSE IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT THE 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO ON MANY TRUCKS HAVE HAD PROBLEMS. I HAVE ANOTHER 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO WITH 26,000 MILES WITH THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/13/2015 - MAPLETON, IL
WHILE DRIVING THE STABILITRAK LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN THE ABS LIGHT. IT STAYED ON, SO I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC WHO DETERMINED IT WAS THE BRAKE SWITCH AND HE REPLACED IT. IT HAS BEEN FINE UNTIL RECENTLY, WHEN IT CAME ON AGAIN AND MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE STICKING ON, SO I REPLACED THE BRAKE SWITCH AGAIN. SO, FAR IT'S STAYED OFF. MY CONCERN IS THAT MY TRUCK MY START HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AS OUR OTHER GM VEHICLE, WHICH ALSO INVOLVES THE STABILITRAK/TRACTION CONTROL/REDUCED POWER LIGHTS COMING ON. REDUCED POWER IS DANGEROUS WHILE DRIVING, ESPECIALLY ON THE INTERSTATE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I HAVE READ GM FORUMS AND HAVE FOUND THAT THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN HAPPENING AS FAR BACK AS 6 YEARS, AND GM STILL HAS NOT FIGURED OUT HOW TO FIX IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/13/2015 - MAPLETON, IL
WHILE DRIVING THE STABILITRAK LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN THE ABS LIGHT. IT STAYED ON, SO I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC WHO DETERMINED IT WAS THE BRAKE SWITCH AND HE REPLACED IT. IT HAS BEEN FINE UNTIL RECENTLY, WHEN IT CAME ON AGAIN AND MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE STICKING ON, SO I REPLACED THE BRAKE SWITCH AGAIN. SO, FAR IT'S STAYED OFF. MY CONCERN IS THAT MY TRUCK MY START HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AS OUR OTHER GM VEHICLE, WHICH ALSO INVOLVES THE STABILITRAK/TRACTION CONTROL/REDUCED POWER LIGHTS COMING ON. REDUCED POWER IS DANGEROUS WHILE DRIVING, ESPECIALLY ON THE INTERSTATE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I HAVE READ GM FORUMS AND HAVE FOUND THAT THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN HAPPENING AS FAR BACK AS 6 YEARS, AND GM STILL HAS NOT FIGURED OUT HOW TO FIX IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/13/2015 - MAPLETON, IL
WHILE DRIVING THE STABILITRAK LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN THE ABS LIGHT. IT STAYED ON, SO I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC WHO DETERMINED IT WAS THE BRAKE SWITCH AND HE REPLACED IT. IT HAS BEEN FINE UNTIL RECENTLY, WHEN IT CAME ON AGAIN AND MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE STICKING ON, SO I REPLACED THE BRAKE SWITCH AGAIN. SO, FAR IT'S STAYED OFF. MY CONCERN IS THAT MY TRUCK MY START HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AS OUR OTHER GM VEHICLE, WHICH ALSO INVOLVES THE STABILITRAK/TRACTION CONTROL/REDUCED POWER LIGHTS COMING ON. REDUCED POWER IS DANGEROUS WHILE DRIVING, ESPECIALLY ON THE INTERSTATE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I HAVE READ GM FORUMS AND HAVE FOUND THAT THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN HAPPENING AS FAR BACK AS 6 YEARS, AND GM STILL HAS NOT FIGURED OUT HOW TO FIX IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/26/2015 - LA CROSSE, WI
WALKED OUT TO MY TRUCK TODAY TO FIND THE DASH WAS CRACKED RIGHT BY THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. WHILE THIS DOES NOT BOTHER ME THE FACT THAT IT COULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE IF THE AIRBAG DEPLOYS DOES. SHARDS OF SHARP PLASTIC COULD EASILY FLY ABOUT THE CABIN IF AN ACCIDENT OCCURRED. GM NEEDS TO FIX THIS AND RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE. THE PLASTIC IS CHEAP AND THIN AND FROM WHAT I HAVE RESEARCHED IT WOULD INCLUDE JUST ABOUT EVERY GM TRUCK MADE SINCE 2007.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/15/2015 - ANTIOCH, TN
THE BRAKES ON THIS SILVERADO DO NOT RELEASE. YOU HAVE TO PRESS THE GAS ABOUT HALF WAY DOWN THEN THEY WILL "POP" AND BECOME FREE ALL AT ONCE LUNGING THE VEHICLE FORWARD. YOU THEN HAVE TO PRESS THE BRAKE AGAIN DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF THROTTLE APPLIED. ONCE APPLIED AGAIN THE BRAKES WILL LOCK UP AND THE PROCESS REPEATS ITSELF. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN IN TRAFFIC. IF THE VEHICLE IS TRAVELING 20 MPH OR UNDER WHEN FOOT IS NOT ON THE ACCELERATOR THE TRUCK WILL APPLY THE BRAKES ON ITS OWN PULSING AND SURGING. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHEN IN TRAFFIC AND TRYING TO NAVIGATE THROUGH PARKING LOTS AND ROADS WITH PEDESTRIANS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/12/2015 - WAYNE, NJ
THERE IS GRADUAL COOLANT LOSS OVER TIME WITH NO EVIDENCE OF LEAK FOUND. ON COLD START, THERE'S ALSO LIFTER OR PISTON TAPPING. WE SUSPECT DEFECTIVE CASTECH CYLINDER HEAD THAT MAY BE CRACKED. GM IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE REPAIRS ASSOCIATED WITH THIS DEFECT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/8/2015 - CONCORD , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD FRACTURED FROM HEAT STRESS. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/27/2014 - NORTH LAS VEGAS , NV
I CURRENTLY OWN A 2009 CHEVRLET SILVERADO LTZ CREW CAB WITH APPROXIMATELY 96K MILES I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR ABOUT A YEAR NOW SINCE PURCHASING A NOTICED A CRACK ON THE DRIVER SIDE DASHBOARD UNDER THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND ON THE PASSENGER SIDE NEXT TO THE PASSENGER AIR BAG. ALSO THE TWO DOOR HANDLES ONE BEING THE DRIVER FRONT AND THE OTHER BEING PASSENGER FRONT THE CHROME FINISH SEEMS TO BE DEFECTIVE AND NOT STAYING ADHERED O THE HANDLE AND COME OFF IN SHARP EDGES MAKING IT EASY TO CUT YOU HAND. AS THE DEALERSHIP KNOWS THIS IS A DEFECT IN THE MANUFACTER THEY USED ON THESE TRUCKS THE 2 ISSUES ON HERE ARE NOT JUST ON 1 VEHICLE BUT NUMEROUS SILVERADO TAHOES AND TRUCKS WITH THE SAME DASH AND HANDLES. IT SEEMS LIKE THEY POSE A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE THE HANDLE MAY CUT YOU AND THE DASH MAY PROJECT SHARP PIECES IF JAGGED PLASTIC IF INVOLVED IN A COLLISION. MYSELF AND MANY OTHERS FEEL THAT THE GENERAL MOTORS KNOWS ABOUT THE SAFETY ISSUES AND AS THE VEHICLE MANUFACTURES SHOULD DO THE RIGHT THING AND FIX A DEFECTIVE AND DANGEROUS PRODUCT THEY PUT OUT WITH THE FORM OF A RECALL. I'VE SEEN THIS ISSUE RANGE FROM TRUCKS BETWEEN 2008-2012 WITH 1- 10000000 MILES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/27/2014 - NORTH LAS VEGAS , NV
I CURRENTLY OWN A 2009 CHEVRLET SILVERADO LTZ CREW CAB WITH APPROXIMATELY 96K MILES I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR ABOUT A YEAR NOW SINCE PURCHASING A NOTICED A CRACK ON THE DRIVER SIDE DASHBOARD UNDER THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND ON THE PASSENGER SIDE NEXT TO THE PASSENGER AIR BAG. ALSO THE TWO DOOR HANDLES ONE BEING THE DRIVER FRONT AND THE OTHER BEING PASSENGER FRONT THE CHROME FINISH SEEMS TO BE DEFECTIVE AND NOT STAYING ADHERED O THE HANDLE AND COME OFF IN SHARP EDGES MAKING IT EASY TO CUT YOU HAND. AS THE DEALERSHIP KNOWS THIS IS A DEFECT IN THE MANUFACTER THEY USED ON THESE TRUCKS THE 2 ISSUES ON HERE ARE NOT JUST ON 1 VEHICLE BUT NUMEROUS SILVERADO TAHOES AND TRUCKS WITH THE SAME DASH AND HANDLES. IT SEEMS LIKE THEY POSE A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE THE HANDLE MAY CUT YOU AND THE DASH MAY PROJECT SHARP PIECES IF JAGGED PLASTIC IF INVOLVED IN A COLLISION. MYSELF AND MANY OTHERS FEEL THAT THE GENERAL MOTORS KNOWS ABOUT THE SAFETY ISSUES AND AS THE VEHICLE MANUFACTURES SHOULD DO THE RIGHT THING AND FIX A DEFECTIVE AND DANGEROUS PRODUCT THEY PUT OUT WITH THE FORM OF A RECALL. I'VE SEEN THIS ISSUE RANGE FROM TRUCKS BETWEEN 2008-2012 WITH 1- 10000000 MILES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds