Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 269 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (135) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (8) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (31)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (5) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (20) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/17/2018 - CARTERSVILLE, GA
TAKARA RECALL - I TOOK MY SILVERADO RO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP ( DAYS CHEVROLET IN ACWORTH, GA). THE TOLD ME THEY WERE NOT REPLACING THE AIRBAGS AND GAVE ME A 1800 NUMBER AND WEBSITE ABOUT THE RECALL. MEANWHILE HONDA HAS REPLACED THE AIRBAGS IN MY BROTHER AND FATHERS CARS. HOW CAN CHEVROLET REFUSE TO REPLACE MY AIRBAGS WHICH COULD KILL ME OF MY PASSENGER IN A WRECK? PLEASE HELP AND MAKE GM FO THE RIGHT THING AND REPLACE MY AIRBAGS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/9/2018 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
THE DASHBOARD IS CRACKIED, BREAKING, AND DETERIORATING AROUND THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG AND IN VARIOUS OTHER AREAS ALONG THE DASH. IN THE EVENT OF A FRONT END COLLISION, PIECES OF THE FRACTURED DASH COULD BECOME POTENTIAL PROJECTILES CAUSING FURTHER INJURIES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/9/2018 - ORANGE PARK, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V381000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (GORDON CHEVROLET - ORANGE PARK, 1166 BLANDING BLVD, ORANGE PARK, FL 32065, (904) 458-7826) CONFIRMED PART UNAVAILABILITY AND WAS UNABLE TO VERIFY WHEN THEY WOULD BE SUPPLIED FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND DID NOT KNOW WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/17/2018 - TURTLE CREEK, PA
TAKATA INFLATOR. AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON, AND THEN TRUCK WOULD NOT START. TOOK IT TO THE CHEVROLET DEALER AND THEY SAID THE AIR BAG MODULATOR WAS CORRODED AND NEEDS REPLACED. THAT IS WHY IT WILL NOT START. THEN FOUND OUT ABOUT THE TAKATA RECALL ON AIR BAGS.

View Details

TIRES

4/17/2018 - GALLION, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 EQUIPPED WITH COOPER DISCOVERER A/T3 TIRES, SIZE: 275/70/R17 (NA). WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 72 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER'S TIRE EXPERIENCED A BLOWOUT. THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AS IT RAN OFF THE ROADWAY AND CRASHED INTO A DITCH. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL AND THE FRONT BUMPER WERE DAMAGED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE TIRE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE TIRE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 172,000 AND THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/14/2018 - DOTHAN, AL
TAKATA RECALL: I RECEIVED A RECALL ON MAY 27, 2016 AND THE DEALERSHIPS CLAIM THEY DON'T HAVE THE REPLACEMENT PARTS AND DON'T KNOW WHEN THEY WILL GET THEM. THIS IS REALLY BAD SERVICE AND A DANGER TO THE PEOPLE DRIVING THESE VEHICLES WITH THE BAD INFLATORS. THESE NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED ASAP!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/1/2018 - AUSTIN, TX
OUTSIDE CHROME DOOR HANDLES (3 OF FOUR) ARE EXTREMELY LOOSE AND FALLING OFF. ONE DOOR HANDLE FELL OFF WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY IN ADDITION, THE BROKEN HANDLES DO NOT FASTEN SECURELY

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/23/2018 - COLON, MI
ON MARCH 21, 2018, AT OR CLOSE TO 1:45 PM, WHILE DRIVING MY 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER BEGAN ILLUMINATING AND PRODUCING AUDITABLE ALARMS. THE MESSAGE CENTER INDICATED TO +CHECK OIL PRESSURE.+ DURING THIS FAILURE, I LOST ALL MOTIVE POWER AND HAD TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE OFF OF THE HIGHWAY'S TRAFFIC AS OTHER VEHICLES WERE FOLLOWING ME, ONE OF WHICH CAME VERY CLOSE TO REAR-ENDING ME. I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A REPAIR FACILITY IN WHICH THEY HAD INDICATED THAT THIS WAS SOMETHING THEY HAD REPLACED, ON SEPARATE OCCASIONS WITH THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE ON AT LEAST FOUR PREVIOUS OCCASIONS. THE REPAIR FACILITY HAS INDICATED THAT IT WAS DUE TO AN +OIL PUMP FAILURE+ THAT IS LOCATED INSIDE THE ENGINE. THE MILEAGE IS 112,651; I SURE WOULD NOT EXPECT SUCH A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE THAT ENDANGERED OTHER MOTORISTS AND MYSELF. THERE WAS NOT ANY WARNING OF THIS FAILURE; THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAD NOT BEEN ILLUMINATED BEFORE THIS FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/23/2018 - COLON, MI
ON MARCH 21, 2018, AT OR CLOSE TO 1:45 PM, WHILE DRIVING MY 2009 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER BEGAN ILLUMINATING AND PRODUCING AUDITABLE ALARMS. THE MESSAGE CENTER INDICATED TO +CHECK OIL PRESSURE.+ DURING THIS FAILURE, I LOST ALL MOTIVE POWER AND HAD TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE OFF OF THE HIGHWAY'S TRAFFIC AS OTHER VEHICLES WERE FOLLOWING ME, ONE OF WHICH CAME VERY CLOSE TO REAR-ENDING ME. I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A REPAIR FACILITY IN WHICH THEY HAD INDICATED THAT THIS WAS SOMETHING THEY HAD REPLACED, ON SEPARATE OCCASIONS WITH THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE ON AT LEAST FOUR PREVIOUS OCCASIONS. THE REPAIR FACILITY HAS INDICATED THAT IT WAS DUE TO AN +OIL PUMP FAILURE+ THAT IS LOCATED INSIDE THE ENGINE. THE MILEAGE IS 112,651; I SURE WOULD NOT EXPECT SUCH A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE THAT ENDANGERED OTHER MOTORISTS AND MYSELF. THERE WAS NOT ANY WARNING OF THIS FAILURE; THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAD NOT BEEN ILLUMINATED BEFORE THIS FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/10/2018 - SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL
TAMARA RECALL, I WAS TOLD TO CONTACT YOU BECAUSE JACK WILSON CHEVROLET AT 2255 US 1, SAINT AUGUSTINE, FLORIDA. 32086 HAD TOLD ME THAT THEY CAN'T FIX THE AIRBAGS IN MY TRUCK BECAUSE THERE ARE NO PARTS AVAILABLE FOR THE FIX AND THAT ALL WE COULD DO WAS HOPE THE GOVERNMENT WOULD GET INVOLVED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds