Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 240 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Suspension (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (1)
Engine (5) Power Train (20) Steering (163)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

1/21/2015 - CLINTON , MS
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, A LOUD POP NOISE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. FOLLOWING THE FAILURE, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO VIOLENTLY BOUNCE WHILE BEING DRIVEN OVER SPEEDS OF 40 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000. PAM

View Details

STEERING

1/13/2015 - MARTINSVILLE, IN
CHEVY TRAVERSE HAS HAD A FUNNY NOISE WHEN MAKING SHARP TURNS SINCE PURCHASE. TOOK BACK TO DEALER AND THEY SAID POWER STEERING FLUID LOW. THIS HAS HAPPENED FOR 5 YEARS. FINALLY WHEN OUT OF MANUFACTURER WARRANTY I AM TOLD IT NEEDS NEW POWER STEERING PUMP. I FOUND RECALL TO GET IT PAID FOR, BUT POWER STEERING FLUID STILL LEAKING. THEY NOW SAY I NEED NEW RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY. COST OF AT LEAST $1200 FOR SOMETHING THAT HAS BEEN A PROBLEM SINCE I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE. WHY WILL CHEVROLET FIX PART OF THE PROBLEM, BUT NOT ALL OF IT. WHAT HAPPENS IF I WAIT TO FIX AND POWER STEERING GOES OUT AND SOMEONE GETS HURT? SOUNDS LIKE A QUICK LAWSUIT FOR CHEVROLET. I THINK ITS TIME TO PAY FOR YOUR MISTAKE!!!!

View Details

STEERING

12/31/2014 - ELWOOD, UT
TURNING CORNERS AT LOW RATE OF SPEED, STEERING LOCKS UP AND THEN CAN FINALLY TURN THE WHEEL, BUT WITH GREAT DIFFICULTY. HUGE SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/16/2014 - NORTON SHORES, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT BUCKLE FAILED TO LATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELT LATCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - SUMMERVILLE , SC
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STALLED AND WOULD NOT RESTART, VEHICAL WAS TOWED TO DEALER WHO STATED CATHLITIC CONVERTER HAD FAILED AND WOULD BE REPLACED. FOLLOWING REPLACEMENT DEALER STATED ENGINE BACKFIRED DURING TEST DRIVE INVESTIGATION REVEALED ENGINE FAILURE AND HAD TO BE REPLACED LUCKLY INSURANCE COVERED THIS REPAIR, FOLLOWING ENGINE REPAIR CAR WAS STARTED BUT STILL BACKFIRED INVESTIGATION REVEALED IGNITION COIL WAS DEFECTIVE.. RESHEARCH BY ME ON THE INTERNET SHOWED PROBLEMS WITH IGNITION COIL CAUSING ENGINE AND CATHLITIC CONVERTER PROBLEM, THIS PROBLEM COULD BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN IF DRIVING AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS THEN THIS PROBLEM OCCURES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/9/2014 - LIVERPOOL, NY
THE 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE, WHILE MY WIFE AND SON WERE DRIVING AT NIGHT, BOTH HEADLIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AT THE SAME TIME. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO DEALER, DUE TO DESIGN- UNABLE TO REPLACE BULB YOURSELF, DEALER- DRIVERS VILLAGE REPLACED BOTH BULBS. ON 11/17/14 THE LEFT HEADLIGHT BULB STOPPED WORKING. TOOK TO JACK MCNERNEY CHEVY AND REPLACED BULB. TWO DAYS LATER LEFT BULB STOPPED WORKING AGAIN, TOOK BACK TO DEALER AND REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE. ON 12/4/14 THE RIGHT HEADLIGHT STOPPED WORKING AND TOOK VEHICLE TO DRIVERS VILLAGE AND THEY REPLACED THE BULB. THERE IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT/ DESIGN FLAW IN THE HEAD LAMP SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. $300.00 DOLLARS SPENT TO REPLACE HEADLAMPS. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS PROBLEM, I SEE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS. THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/9/2014 - LIVERPOOL, NY
THE 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE, WHILE MY WIFE AND SON WERE DRIVING AT NIGHT, BOTH HEADLIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AT THE SAME TIME. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO DEALER, DUE TO DESIGN- UNABLE TO REPLACE BULB YOURSELF, DEALER- DRIVERS VILLAGE REPLACED BOTH BULBS. ON 11/17/14 THE LEFT HEADLIGHT BULB STOPPED WORKING. TOOK TO JACK MCNERNEY CHEVY AND REPLACED BULB. TWO DAYS LATER LEFT BULB STOPPED WORKING AGAIN, TOOK BACK TO DEALER AND REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE. ON 12/4/14 THE RIGHT HEADLIGHT STOPPED WORKING AND TOOK VEHICLE TO DRIVERS VILLAGE AND THEY REPLACED THE BULB. THERE IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT/ DESIGN FLAW IN THE HEAD LAMP SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. $300.00 DOLLARS SPENT TO REPLACE HEADLAMPS. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS PROBLEM, I SEE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

12/8/2014 - MESQUITE, TX
DRIVING DOWN I30 AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, VEHICLE SLOWS DOWN TO 20 MPH WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SOON AFTER OR MAYBE AS THE SPEED DROPPED. SHOOK ME UP LUCKILY THERE WAS VERY LITTLE TRAFFIC AND WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SHAKING OR SHOWED NO SIGN OF DAMAGE OTHER THAN IT NOT WANTING TO GO PAST 20 MPH. THE INCIDENT HAPPENED ONE EXIT AWAY FROM THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I GET THE VEHICLE SERVICED AND DECIDED TO DRIVE IT THERE. I AM BEING TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER FELL APART AND DAMAGED ENGINE CYLINDERS 3 AND 5 SO I WILL BE NEEDING THE ENGINE REPLACED. DO NOT KNOW IF THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER THAT FAILED WAS THE ONE THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED IN APRIL 2014.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/4/2014 - ROSMAN, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE SLIPPED OUT OF DRIVE AND BY THE TIME I GOT HOME REVERSE WAS GONE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, SUNSHINE CHEVY IN ASHEVILLE NC, AND IT WAS ONLY ONE MONTH OUT OF WARRANTY. THEY TRIED TO SELL ME A NEW TRANSMISSION FOR $6,000.00 THEN AFTER MUCH FIGHTING ONLY CHARGED A WARRANTY DEDUCTABLE (NEVER HEARD OF SUCH A THING) OF $500.00. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS AND THIS NEW TRANSMISSION IS NOW DOING THE SAME THING! THIS CAR IS A DEATH TRAP. IT ROLLS BACKWARDS WHEN IT IS IN DRIVE, THEY HAVE SINCE CLAIMED IT IS A DESIGN FLAW AND NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY. IT IS LIKE DRIVING A STRAIGHT DRIVE, YOU HAVE TO KEEP YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE UNTIL YOU ACCELERATE. I LIVE IN THE MOUNTAINS AND IT IS A HUGE PROBLEM. THERE IS ALSO AN SEAT BELT RECALL THAT THEY HAVE NOT FIXED YET. I HAVE HAD IT IN FOR A TIMING CHAIN RECALL, AND AIR BAGS, PLUS THREE OTHERS SINCE PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IT HAD 10 YEARS ON THE POWER TRAIN, IS THE TRANSMISSION NOT A PART OF THAT? I HAVE OVER 25 COMPLAINTS FOR THIS SAME TRANSMISSION ISSUE AND I AM GATHERING MORE. HOW DO WE GET THIS VEHICLE RECALLED?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/4/2014 - ROSMAN, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE SLIPPED OUT OF DRIVE AND BY THE TIME I GOT HOME REVERSE WAS GONE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, SUNSHINE CHEVY IN ASHEVILLE NC, AND IT WAS ONLY ONE MONTH OUT OF WARRANTY. THEY TRIED TO SELL ME A NEW TRANSMISSION FOR $6,000.00 THEN AFTER MUCH FIGHTING ONLY CHARGED A WARRANTY DEDUCTABLE (NEVER HEARD OF SUCH A THING) OF $500.00. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS AND THIS NEW TRANSMISSION IS NOW DOING THE SAME THING! THIS CAR IS A DEATH TRAP. IT ROLLS BACKWARDS WHEN IT IS IN DRIVE, THEY HAVE SINCE CLAIMED IT IS A DESIGN FLAW AND NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY. IT IS LIKE DRIVING A STRAIGHT DRIVE, YOU HAVE TO KEEP YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE UNTIL YOU ACCELERATE. I LIVE IN THE MOUNTAINS AND IT IS A HUGE PROBLEM. THERE IS ALSO AN SEAT BELT RECALL THAT THEY HAVE NOT FIXED YET. I HAVE HAD IT IN FOR A TIMING CHAIN RECALL, AND AIR BAGS, PLUS THREE OTHERS SINCE PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IT HAD 10 YEARS ON THE POWER TRAIN, IS THE TRANSMISSION NOT A PART OF THAT? I HAVE OVER 25 COMPLAINTS FOR THIS SAME TRANSMISSION ISSUE AND I AM GATHERING MORE. HOW DO WE GET THIS VEHICLE RECALLED?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds