Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 323 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Seat Belts (8) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (12) Power Train (35) Steering (200) Unknown Or Other (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/27/2016 - IOLA, KS
SUDDEN AND UNEXPECTED LOSS OF POWER STEERING AT LOW SPEEDS. TURNING THE VEHICLE AT LOW SPEEDS SUDDENLY BECOMES VERY, VERY DIFFICULT AS VEHICLE'S POWER STEERING ASSIST STOPS WORKING WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
TAKATA RECALL...WHEN IM DRIVING MY STEERING WHEEL SEEMS TO LOCK UP ...AND IT ALSO CAUSE A BAD SHAKING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/21/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
TAKATA RECALL...WHEN IM DRIVING MY STEERING WHEEL SEEMS TO LOCK UP ...AND IT ALSO CAUSE A BAD SHAKING.

View Details

STEERING

6/21/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
TAKATA RECALL...WHEN IM DRIVING MY STEERING WHEEL SEEMS TO LOCK UP ...AND IT ALSO CAUSE A BAD SHAKING.

View Details

STEERING

6/2/2016 - GREER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE STEERING WHEEL REQUIRED EXCESSIVE FORCE. WHEN MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AT THE TIME OF THE FAILURE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND NO REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/23/2016 - COTTAGE GROVE, MN
2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE WITH 98XXX MILES ON IT. WE HAVE BEEN HAVING ISSUES FOR THE PAST 40,XXX+ MILES THAT WE'VE HAD IT. THE STEERING WILL INTERMITTENTLY SEIZE UP WHILE DRIVING, MAKING IT NEAR IMPOSSIBLE TO MAKE A TURN. IT TAKES MY ENTIRE BODY WEIGHT TO TURN THE WHEEL AND AT TIMES IT LETS LOOSE ALMOST CAUSING ME TO OVERCORRECT. I WILL SOMETIMES HAVE TO MAKE SEVERAL CORRECTIONS BEFORE GETTING INTO A PARKING SPOT. IT IS A VERY UNSAFE SITUATION THAT GM NEEDS TO CORRECT AS IT IS SEEMINGLY A UNIVERSAL ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

5/13/2016 - MURFREESBORO, TN
STEERING WHINE, SOME LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL. CALLED DEALER FIRST SAID RACK COVERED ON DAY OF APPOINTMENT, RACK NOT COVERED. CALLED GM, WON'T COVER. CASE 8-2095354928.

View Details

STEERING

5/13/2016 - WEST LAFAYETTE, IN
2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE WITH 68000 MILES. VEHICLE HAS HAD STEERING PROBLEMS WHICH I BROUGHT TO DEALER WHILE UNDER WARRANTY. WAS TOLD THAT SOUND (SQUEEL/REV) WAS NORMAL. NOW CAR NOT UNDER WARRANTY. NOISE GETTING LOUDER. TAKE TO DEALER. SAYS I NEED NEW POWER STEERING PUMP, AND RACK AND PINION. I NOTICE THERE IS A SPECIAL COVERAGE 14329 WHICH COVERS POWER STEERING ISSUES (PUMP ETC.). PRICE QUOTED TO FIX EVERYTHING WAS $2500. I ASKED FOR PRICE RELIEF GIVEN THE HISTORY OF THE POWER STEERING PROBLEMS, I HAD RAISED THE ISSUE WHILE UNDER WARRANTY, AND THE SPECIAL COVERAGE. DEALER AND GM REFUSE TO OFFER ANY REIMBURSEMENT. NOT EVEN FOR THE PUMP WHICH IS COVERED UNDER SPECIAL COVERAGE 14329. I AM NOW OUT $2500. THIS STEERING SYSTEM WAS A LEMON FROM THE GET GO. STEERING IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED FRO ALL VEHICLES IN THE 2009-11 RANGE FOR TRAVERSE/ACADIA/ENCLAVE. IT IS NOT ONLY IRRESPONSIBLE, BUT GROSS NEGLIGENCE NOT TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM AND PASS THE PROBLEM TO THE CUSTOMER.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

4/22/2016 - VIENNA, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO THIRD GEAR WHICH RESULTED IN A LACK OF ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WAVE CLUTCH PLATE WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/22/2016 - VIENNA, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO THIRD GEAR WHICH RESULTED IN A LACK OF ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WAVE CLUTCH PLATE WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds