Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 257 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Suspension (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (1)
Engine (8) Power Train (29) Steering (167)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/20/2015 - NAPERVILLE, IL
THE STEERING GEAR IN MY 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE HAS FAILED PREMATURELY FOR A SECOND TIME. THE PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED DURING A ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AT MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP. THE ORIGINAL STEERING GEAR WAS REPLACED AT 46,000 MILES IN 2011 AND MY VEHICLE REQUIRES A NEW UNIT APPROXIMATELY 43,000 MILES LATER. FAILURE TO REPLACE THE COMPONANT WILL RESULT IN STEERING DIFFICULTY THAT CAN LEAD TO A CRASH. TO PUT THIS IN PERSPECTIVE, I AM REPLACING THE STEERING GEAR AT THE SAME FREQUENCY ONE WOULD NORMALLY BUY NEW TIRES FOR VEHICLE. THERE ARE SEVERAL INDICATIONS THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH GENERAL MOTORS' LAMDA PLATFORM. VIA A 2012 SERVICE BULLETIN, GM MODIFIED THE STEERING GEAR PART NUMBER AND MADE CHANGES TO THE REPLACEMENT PROCESS TO PREVENT STEERING GEAR SEAL FAILURES. SECONDLY, A SERVICE MANAGER AT AN INDEPENDANT CHEVY DEALERSHIP CONFIRMED THAT HE HAS SEEN A SIGNIFICANT INCREASE IN STEERING GEAR FAILURES AT HIS FACILILTY. LASTLY, THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF DOCUMENTED COMPLAINTS ON THE NHTSA SITE AND CHEVY INTERNET FORUMS DESCRIBING THIS EXACT PROBLEM. DESPITE THE EVIDENCE ABOVE, GM WILL NOT REPLACE THE STEERING GEAR AND COVER THE COST 100%. THE CORPORATION IS NOT STANDING BEHIND THEIR CHEVY PRODUCT BUT, MORE IMPORTANTLY, I BELIEVE THEIR COMPLAINT RESOLUTION PROCESSES ARE MASKING A CLEAR QUALITY AND SAFETY ISSUE. I HOPE THE NHTSA CAN EFFECT SOME CHANGE.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2015 - VIDALIA, GA
WHEN DRIVING AT SLOW SPEEDS AND THEN MAKING A TURN THE WHEEL LOCKS UP. IT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS AND HARD TO KEEP FROM TURNING INTO THE CARS IN THE OTHER LANE. IT HAPPENS AT SPONTANEOUS TIMES. THE PROBLEM IS HAPPENING MORE AND MORE FREQUENTLY AS TIME GOES ON. I LOOKED IT UP TO SEE IF OTHER CHEVY TRAVERSE 2009 OWNERS WHERE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND THERE ARE SEVERAL WITH THE EXACT SAME COMPLAINT ON WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO FIX IT AND IF IT IS A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM I SHOULDN'T HAVE TOO. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHEVROLET AND WILL SPREAD THE WORD VIA FACEBOOK AND BY WORD OF MOUTH IF CHEVROLET REFUSES TO ADMIT THAT THIS IS A RECALL AND HAVE IT REPAIRED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2015 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
VEHICLE BEGAN SHIFTING ROUGH. WOULD NOT SHIFT HIGHER THAN 4TH GEAR ON OPEN ROAD. VEHICLE HAS BAD HESITATION IN REVERSE. RECEIVED COPY OF GM'S SERVICE BULLETIN ABOUT THE WAVE PLATE FAILURE IN THESE VEHICLES ON APRIL 9, 2015. CONTACTED GM ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND WAS TOLD BECAUSE MY VEHICLE HAS 122,000 MILES ON IT, THEY WILL NOT COVER REPAIRS. WAS TOLD THE MAX ALLOWED MILEAGE WAS 120,000. THE ISSUE IS MY VEHICLE MAY VERY WELL HAVE BEEN BELOW THE THRESHOLD WHEN THE BULLETIN WAS RELEASED. IT TOOK OVER A MONTH TO RECEIVE NOTICE OF THE DEFECT. IF GM KNOWS THEY HAVE PUT DEFECTIVE PARTS IN VEHICLES, WHY WOULD THEY NOT FIX THE ISSUE?

View Details

STEERING

4/2/2015 - EDEN PRAIRIE, MN
BROUGHT VEHICLE IN FOR OIL CHANGE, TECH NOTED STEERING GEAR WAS LEAKING FLUID AND QUOTED $2000 TO REPLACE. AFTER READING THE TSB, SEVERAL FORUMS ONLINE AND THESE COMPLAINTS IT HAS BECOME APPARENT THAT RACK FAILURE IS COMMON PLACE ON THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2015 - LEES SUMMIT, MO
HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANSIMISSION AFTER THE CAR HAD DIFFICULTY SHIFTING AT HIGHER GEARS. SPENT $3500 GETTING A NEW TRANSMISSION. THIS AFTER HAVING THE POWER STEERING FAILING, A NEW TIMING BELT INSTALLED AND A LEAKING WATER PUMP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/20/2015 - LEES SUMMIT, MO
HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANSIMISSION AFTER THE CAR HAD DIFFICULTY SHIFTING AT HIGHER GEARS. SPENT $3500 GETTING A NEW TRANSMISSION. THIS AFTER HAVING THE POWER STEERING FAILING, A NEW TIMING BELT INSTALLED AND A LEAKING WATER PUMP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/17/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
DRIVING 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE FRONT WHEEL DRIVE AND NOTICED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS NOT SHIFTING CORRECTLY. WHILE TAKING OFF FROM A STOP THE CAR MOVED SLOWLY THE SHIFTED HARD INTO GEAR CAUSING THE CAR TO LURCH FORWARD VIOLENTLY. I ALMOST HIT ANOTHER CAR IN FROM OF ME AND WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED BY THE CAR BEHIND ME WHEN I SLAMMED ON THE BRAKE. THE PROBLEM IS THE 3 5 R WAVEPLATE, WHICH IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE AND ALL GM LAMBDA PLATFORM VEHICLES. GOT NO HELP FROM THE DEALERSHIP OR GM IN FIXING THE VEHICLE.WILL COST $2500 TO $3500 TO REPAIR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/11/2015 - ABERDEEN , MD
2/12/2014:CAR WOULD NOT START IN DRIVEWAY -TOWED TO JPCHEVROLET: CONTROL MODULE FUSE BLOWN;REPLACED FUEL PUMP CONTROL MODULE -ENGINE STARTED AND RAN PROPERLY PER DEALERSHIP. (ALL COVERED UNDER WARRANTY).7/24/14-CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON: TIMING CHAIN ISSUES GASKETS/SEALS ALL UNDER WARRANTY.REMOTE LOCK TRANSMITTER STOPPED WORKING COULD NOT REPROGRAM - HAD TO BUY NEW ONE 0N 1/19/15 AT SAME TIME ASKED TO CHECK SURGE OF VEHICLE WHEN DRIVG 40-45 MPH - COULD NOT DIAGNOSE. ON OR ABOUT 2/15/2015: CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON - NEXT DAY CAR WOULD NOT REVERSE -AGAIN IN THE DRIVEWAY -PUSHED CAR TO ROAD DROVE TO DEALERSHIP.NEEDED A TRANSMISSION-ONLY 62780 MI.ON CAR-NO CHOICE HAD TO FIX AND NO HELP FROM GM IN MICHIGAN - "COULD NOT HELP ME" CAR IS NOT EVEN 6 YEARS OLD -BOUGHT IN DECEMBER 2009 AND COST $3473.19 TO FIX. ALSO AGAIN REPLACED FUEL PUMP AFTER EXACTLY ONE YEAR - UNDER WARRANTY...... AM VERY UNHAPPY AND DISSATISFIED WITH THIS CAR AND FEEL IT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. GM IS AWARE OF TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS DUE TO WAVE PLATE BROKEN & METAL GOING THRUOUT TRANSMISSION CAUSING DAMAGE WHICH WAS INDICATED ON MY RECEIPTS. LOTS OF PROBLEMS WITH 2009 THRU 2011 TRAVERSE. AM RETIRED ON SOCIAL SECURITY AND A PENSION NOT EXORBITANT - BOUGHT THIS CAR FOR ME AND MY THREE YOUNG GRANDCHILDREN AND THOUGHT THIS WOULD BE MY LAST CAR TO PURCHASE - WAS I EVER WRONG......

View Details

ENGINE

3/11/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 62 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AS THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT+S HOUSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. HOWEVER, THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/10/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
MY POWER STEERING PUMP FAILED AND THE RACK AND PINION SYSTEM IS LEAKING ON MY 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE. AFTER SOME RESEARCH THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE THE GM IS NOT ADDRESSING PROPERLY. THEY WILL REPLACE THE PUMP BUT THE COST OF REPLACING THE RACK AND PINION WILL NOT BE COVERED. THERE HAVE BEEN NO RECALLS AND THIS ISSUE. THIS CAN OCCUR WHILE DRIVING AND COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT AND EVEN DEATH. GM NEEDS TO ADDRESS THIS SITUATION BEFORE THAT HAPPENS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds