Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 270 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (6)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Suspension (9) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (3) Tires (6) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (1)
Engine (8) Power Train (30) Steering (175)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/4/2015 - BLUE POINT, NY
THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED ON A SATURDAY EVENING AS MY HUSBAND AND I WERE TRYING TO RETURN HOME AFTER BEING OUT. I WAS DRIVING AT THE TIME OF THE FAILURE. I WAS TRYING TO SPEED UP TO GAIN ACCESS TO THE HIGHWAY AND WAS ALREADY COMMITTED TO THE LANE AND I HAD OTHERS VEHICLES BEHIND ME AS WELL. THE TRANSMISSION WAS NOT GAINING SPEED AS I WAS PRESSING DOWN ON THE ACCELERATOR NOTHING WAS HAPPENING EXCEPT THE RPM'S WERE RAISING BUT NO RESPONSE FROM THE VEHICLE. WE HAD A CAR SWERVE OUT OF OUR WAY TO LET US GAIN ACCESS TO THE ROADWAY.I HAD NO MORE OF THE MERGING LANE AHEAD I HAD TO TRY AND MERGE WITH TRAFFIC.... THANK GOD MY SON WAS NOT IN THE VEHICLE THAT NIGHT!!!! AFTER DEALING WITH FRUSTRATED DRIVERS AROUND US, WE HAD FINALLY GOT ONTO THE HIGHWAY AND THE VEHICLE MADE A BANG AS IT TRIED TO CHANGE GEARS.WE STAYED IN THE RIGHT LANE AND TRAVELED TEN MILES APPROXIMATELY TO MAKE IT HOME. WHEN WE FINALLY GOT TO THE DRIVEWAY I BACKED IT IN AND IT WOULDN'T LET BACK ALL THE WAY INTO THE DRIVEWAY. REVERSE WAS FAILING AS WELL. CALLED GM ON MONDAY 6/1/15 AND THEY HAVE A SPECIAL BULLETIN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, BUT YET THEY HAVEN'T ISSUED A RECALL!!!! WHAT IF WE HAD GOTTEN INTO AN ACCIDENT. WE BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE OF THE 5 * SAFETY RATING!!! I JUST HOPE THAT NO ONE ELSE FINDS THEMSELVES IN THIS SITUATION. GM IS FIXING THE "WAVE PLATE". SPECIAL BULLETIN 14404 : WHICH COVERS 3,5 AND REVERSE GEARS... WISHED WE WOULD HAVE HAD BEEN NOTIFIED OF THIS DEFECT EARLIER!!! OBVIOUSLY GM IS AWARE OF THIS SITUATION BUT STILL HASN'T ISSUED A RECALL. BUSINESS AS USUAL FOR GM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/4/2015 - PUNXSUTAWNEY, PA
THE SERVICE STABILITRAK LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT APPEARED AND OFF. WENT ON A BUSY HIGHWAY TRAVELING AT THE SPEED AROUND 55 AND IT SUDDENLY REDUCED ENGINE POWER DOWN TO 20MPH. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT OTHERS THAT I HAVE KNOWN THIS HAPPENED TO AS IT JUST DID MY HUSBAND. NO WARNING SIGNS AT ALL. I USE THIS VEHICLE EVERY DAY TO TRAVEL TO WORK SCHOOL AND SPORTS WITH MY 4 CHILDREN. IF ANYTHING HAPPENS SERIOUSLY GM WILL BE AWARE OF IT! I THINK IT SHOULD BE A RECALL I HAVE ALREADY READ 38 MESSAGES ABOUT THE SAME THING HAPPENING.~ AS TO THAT NOTE, I WILL NEVER OWN ANOTHER TRAVERSE OR CHEVY PRODUCT AT THAT!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/4/2015 - SPOKANE, WA
ON MAY 28TH 2015, AFTER DRIVING MY VEHICLE ABOUT 100 MILES, I STOPPED TO PARK MY VEHICLE. I SHIFTED THE CAR INTO REVERSE. WHEN I ACCELERATED, THE ENGINE JUST REVVED UP. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE. LUCKILY, THE CAR WAS PARKED IN A RELATIVELY SAFE LOCATION AND I DIDN'T NEED TO MOVE IT FURTHER. THE FOLLOWING DAY I STARTED THE CAR AGAIN, SHIFTED INTO REVERSE AND MOVED THE CAR WITH NO ISSUES. THE VEHICLE DROVE FINE, INITIALLY. AFTER THE CAR WAS WARM AGAIN, I TRIED TO PUT IT IN REVERSE AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN, NO MOVEMENT. THIS WENT ON THROUGHOUT THE WEEKEND. ON MONDAY I CONTACTED THE DEALER AND SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT FOR TUESDAY. TUESDAY ON MY WAY TO THE DEALER THE SAME ISSUE HAPPENED, BUT THIS TIME IT WAS WHEN I WAS ACCELERATING BETWEEN 30 AND 40 MILES PER HOUR.

View Details

STEERING

6/2/2015 - SAVONA, NY
AT LOW SPEEDS, ESPECIALLY WHILE BRAKING, THE POWER STEERING FAILS. THIS HAS CAUSED SEVERAL CLOSE ACCIDENTS. THE LOSS OF STEERING ONLY OCCURS AT LOW SPEEDS; FOR EXAMPLE WHILE TURNING INTO A DRIVEWAY, DRIVING A STORE PARKING LOT, OR MAKING A TURN AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT.

View Details

STEERING

5/26/2015 - PLAINFIELD, IL
STEERING IS LOUD. HARD TO TURN. APRIL 09, 2015 DEALERSHIP STATED MY STEERING GEARS WERE LEAKING AND NEEDED RACK AND PINION REPLACED. QUOTED $1785. IT'S DIFFICULT TO STEER, LOCKS UP AND IS QUITE UNSAFE. CHEVY SHOULD REPAIR THIS ISSUE AT NO COST DUE TO THE SAFETY CONCERNS AND THE THOUSANDS AND THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS.

View Details

STEERING

5/22/2015 - EAST ISLIP, NY
DURING THE WINTER SEASON, I PERIODICALLY STARTED HEARING A CLUNKING SOUND AS I WAS MAKING DIRECTIONAL TURNS IN MY VEHICLE (A 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE). THEREFORE, DURING MY PREVIOUS OIL CHANGE, I ASKED MY MECHANIC TO TAKE IT FOR A TEST DRIVE, BUT HE DID NOT HEAR ANYTHING AT THAT TIME. YESTERDAY, I WAS IN FOR ANOTHER OIL CHANGE AND AGAIN I ASKED MY MECHANIC TO TEST DRIVE IT, BUT THIS TIME HE DID HEAR THE CLUNKING SOUND AND ULTIMATELY FOUND THAT THE RACK & PINION STEERING UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. BOTH PROFESSIONALLY AND ON COMPUTER "ON-LINE" WEB SITES, THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF EARLY FAILURES OF THE RACK & PINION STEERING, ON THE GMC ACADIA, BUICK ENCLAVE AND CHEVY TRAVERSE, SUV TYPE VEHICLES. I HAVE OWNED SEVERAL VEHICLES OVER THE LAST 30 YEARS AND NEVER HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE RACK & PINION STEERING UNIT ON A VEHICLE THAT WAS LESS THAN TEN YEARS OLD (ONLY SIX, IN THIS INSTANCE) AND HAD SUCH LOW MILEAGE (RECENTLY PASSED 60,000 MILES). OBVIOUSLY, THERE IS A FLAW IN THE DESIGN OR IN THE PRODUCTION OF THIS STEERING MECHANISM. THERE ARE TOO MANY PREMATURE FAILURES ON THESE SERIES OF VEHICLES. GM SHOULD OWN UP TO THEIR MISTAKES, BUT AS WITH THEIR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS, THEY WOULD RATHER IGNORE THE PROBLEM. I HAVE OWNED SEVERAL GM VEHICLES AND HAVE MOSTLY BEEN SATISFIED WITH THEIR PRODUCTS. IF I HAVE TO SPEND ALMOST $2000 TO FIX THEIR MISTAKE, THIS WILL BE THE LAST NEW (OR USED) GM CAR I PURCHASE. MY PREVIOUS SUV WAS A 2002 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. I PURCHASED IT "NEW" AND KEPT IT FOR OVER TEN YEARS AND DROVE OVER 100,000 MILES ON IT. OTHER THAN WEAR AND TEAR ITEMS (BRAKES, TIRES, BATTERY, ETC.), I DID NOT EXPERIENCE ANY "ABNORMAL" FAILURES, IN ANY OF THE VEHICLES MAJOR COMPONENTS.

View Details

STEERING

5/21/2015 - HAVRE DE GRACE, MD
POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONS AT LOW TO MODERATE SPEEDS OF 5 TO 25 MPH. THE VEHICLE GOES INTO MANUAL STEERING AND IT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN THE WHEEL IN ORDER TO GO IN TO A TURN. THIS HAS BEGUN HAPPENING WHILE DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF 45 TO 55MPH AS WELL. I NOTICED THE PROBLEM WHEN I FIRST BROUGHT MY VEHICLE AND REPORTED IT TO THE DEALER. THE SAID THERE WAS NO ISSUE. NOW THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORSE. I MUST REMAIN IN MY LANE AND NOT ATTEMPT TO MAKE ANY QUICK TURNS. OR THE STEERING WHEEL WILL LOCKUP ON ME. I AM AFRAID THAT I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO CONTROL MY VEHICLE AND DO INJURY TO OTHERS AS WELL AS, MYSELF,

View Details

STEERING

5/11/2015 - VANDALIA, OH
POWER STEERING CEASES TO FUNCTION AT LOW SPEEDS, AS IN NO POWER STEERING AT ALL. HAS CAUSED NEAR COLLISION SEVERAL TIMES DURING SLOW SPEED TURNS AS POWER STEERING CEASES TO FUNCTION MID-TURN WITHOUT WARNING. THIS CAUSES MANUAL STEERING MODE ON A LARGE CAR IN A TIGHT SPACE. HAS ALSO HAPPENED AT MODERATE SPEEDS. MANUAL STEERING ON THIS CAR IS DIFFICULT FOR AN ADULT MALE. NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE FOR MY LADY DRIVERS. AGAIN, SIGNIFICANT SAFETY HAZARD AS IT OCCURS WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

TIRES

5/6/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE EQUIPPED WITH GOODYEAR FORTERA HL TIRES, SIZE: P255/65R18 109S. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE, THE LOW TIRE PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR FOR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIRE HAD DRY ROTTED AND HAD CRACKS. THE TECHNICIAN FILLED THE TIRE WITH AIR; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS WITH ALL FOUR TIRES. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15T002000 (TIRES); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000 AND THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100.

View Details

STEERING

5/6/2015 - PARISH, NY
I WAS DRIVING AND THE VEHICLE STARTING LOSING POWER THEN IT WOULDN'T START. AFTER A WHILE OF SITTING IT STARTED THEN LOST POWER AGAIN NOW IT WON'T STAY STARTED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds