Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 342 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Seat Belts (9) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (19) Power Train (38) Steering (207) Unknown Or Other (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/6/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
AS SOON AS MY VEHICLE REACHED JUST OVER 102,000 MILES, MY ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN WHILE WE WERE DRIVING OUR KIDS TO PRACTICE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP THAT HAS BEEN REPAIRING MY VEHICLE SINCE WE PURCHASED IT (1.5 YEARS PRIOR TO THE ENGINE SHUTTING DOWN) AND THEY HAVE INFORMED US WE NEED A COMPLETELY NEW ENGINE BECAUSE THE CRANKSHAFT IS COMPLETELY BLOWN. WHEN THEY FINALLY GOT IT STARTED UP, IT SOUNDED LIKE A BAG OF HAMMERS BEING VIOLENTLY SHAKEN. IN THE 1.5 YEARS THAT WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE, THE TIMING BELT HAS GONE OUT, AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT CAUSED THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY AS WELL, AND ANOTHER REPAIR THAT MY HUSBAND HANDLED SHORTLY AFTER WE GOT THE CAR. CHEVY HAS TOLD US WE ARE OUT OF LUCK AND THAT WE HAVE TO PAY FOR A NEW ENGINE. WHEN THE DEALERSHIP CHECKED THE VALUE OF THE VEHICLE BECAUSE WE WERE GOING TO TRY TO TRADE IT IN, THEY TOLD US THE CAR, IN PERFECT WORKING CONDITION WOULD ONLY BE WORTH $6,000.00, EVEN THOUGH 1.5 YEARS PRIOR, IT WAS WORTH $20,000. THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT IS GOING TO COST US MORE THAN THE VEHICLE IS WORTH! FROM WHAT WE HAVE SEEN, A LOT OF THESE CARS (SAME YEAR MAKE AND MODEL) ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS AND SHOULD BE RECALLED COMPLETELY!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/6/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
AS SOON AS MY VEHICLE REACHED JUST OVER 102,000 MILES, MY ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN WHILE WE WERE DRIVING OUR KIDS TO PRACTICE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP THAT HAS BEEN REPAIRING MY VEHICLE SINCE WE PURCHASED IT (1.5 YEARS PRIOR TO THE ENGINE SHUTTING DOWN) AND THEY HAVE INFORMED US WE NEED A COMPLETELY NEW ENGINE BECAUSE THE CRANKSHAFT IS COMPLETELY BLOWN. WHEN THEY FINALLY GOT IT STARTED UP, IT SOUNDED LIKE A BAG OF HAMMERS BEING VIOLENTLY SHAKEN. IN THE 1.5 YEARS THAT WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE, THE TIMING BELT HAS GONE OUT, AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT CAUSED THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY AS WELL, AND ANOTHER REPAIR THAT MY HUSBAND HANDLED SHORTLY AFTER WE GOT THE CAR. CHEVY HAS TOLD US WE ARE OUT OF LUCK AND THAT WE HAVE TO PAY FOR A NEW ENGINE. WHEN THE DEALERSHIP CHECKED THE VALUE OF THE VEHICLE BECAUSE WE WERE GOING TO TRY TO TRADE IT IN, THEY TOLD US THE CAR, IN PERFECT WORKING CONDITION WOULD ONLY BE WORTH $6,000.00, EVEN THOUGH 1.5 YEARS PRIOR, IT WAS WORTH $20,000. THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT IS GOING TO COST US MORE THAN THE VEHICLE IS WORTH! FROM WHAT WE HAVE SEEN, A LOT OF THESE CARS (SAME YEAR MAKE AND MODEL) ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS AND SHOULD BE RECALLED COMPLETELY!

View Details

STEERING

6/27/2017 - WESTFIELD, IN
2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE STEERING "LOCKS UP" ALMOST LIKE LOSING POWER STEERING WHEN TURNING (OFTEN AT LOW SPEEDS LIKE AROUND ROUNDABOUTS) AND NEED TO USE ALL MY STRENGTH TO MAKE SUCCESSFUL TURN WITHOUT HITTING VEHICLES AROUND ME THEN ALL OF THE SUDDEN IT "GIVES" AND IS OK AND OVERCORRECTING OCCURS BECAUSE I AM USING ALL MY STRENGTH TO MAKE THE TURN .... VERY SIMILAR TO MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS THAT I'VE READ ONLINE ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE IN THE SAME MAKE/MODEL/YEAR VEHICLE

View Details

STEERING

6/12/2017 - TYNGSBOROUGH, MA
GOOD AFTERNOON. I HAVE A 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE LS. I WAS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY POWER STEERING AND RECEIVED THE SPECIAL COVERAGE NOTICE NUMBER 14329 TO HAVE THE REPAIRS DONE. ACCORDING TO NOTICE, THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM WAS SUPPOSED TO BE FLUSHED, THE STEERING PUMP REPLACED AND A NEW STEERING GEAR INSTALLED. I RECENTLY WENT IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AT THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP IN LOWELL AND CAME ACROSS SOME ISSUES WITH THE STEERING. THERE WAS FLUID LEAKING FROM THE POWER STEERING PUMP AND GEAR. IT HASN'T BEEN A YEAR AND IF THESE WERE REPLACED LAST JULY THIS PROBLEM SHOULD NOT BE OCCURRING AGAIN. HOW DO I GO ABOUT HAVING THIS PROBLEM RESOLVED? THANK YOU

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

5/23/2017 - BRADY, TX
2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION AFTER RECALL INSPECTION AND EXTENDED WARRANTY EXPIRES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN FOR AN INSPECTION OF THE TRANSMISSION, PER THE RECALL REQUEST, NO FAILURE WAS FOUND. 5 DAYS LATER THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. THE CONSUMER WAS 1,000 MILES OVER THE WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. ALSO, THE ALL 3 CATALYTIC CONVERTERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/23/2017 - BRADY, TX
2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION AFTER RECALL INSPECTION AND EXTENDED WARRANTY EXPIRES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN FOR AN INSPECTION OF THE TRANSMISSION, PER THE RECALL REQUEST, NO FAILURE WAS FOUND. 5 DAYS LATER THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. THE CONSUMER WAS 1,000 MILES OVER THE WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. ALSO, THE ALL 3 CATALYTIC CONVERTERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

3/20/2017 - ALBERT LEA, MN
THIS IS IN REFERENCE TO THE GM TIMING CHAIN PROBLEM SPECIAL WARRANTY COVERAGE # 11340. I BROUGHT MY VEHICLE INTO THE SHOP AND THEY SAID IT'S OVER ON MILEAGE TO GET IT FIXED UNDER THE COVERAGE. THE CONCERN THAT I HAVE IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THIS TIMING CHAIN SLIPS OR BREAKS. THE ENGINE WILL LOCK UP AND COULD CAUSE A CRASH. GM KNOWS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM WITH THE TIMING SPROCKETS BEING TOO SHALLOW OF A PITCH. I CALLED GM AND THEY SAID THERE'S NOTHING THEY CAN DO TO FIX IT UNDER THAT PROBLEM. I WAS THINKING THIS COULD BE A PROBLEM FOR A-LOT OF PEOPLE OWNING THESE VEHICLES. AS FAR AS MY VEHICLE IT'S STILL IN THE SHOP WAITING FOR AN ANSWER ON WHAT I WANT TO DO. THEY HAVE TO REMOVE THE ENGINE TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAINS. THANK YOU RICHARD ACKLAND

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/2/2017 - RIVERDALE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING AND STRUCK THE CONTACT. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A LIGHT POLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE RIGHT EYE AND SUFFERED NAUSEA AND DIZZINESS, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE CRASH. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

2/21/2017 - MANDEVILLE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND A WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT ALL THREE CATALYTIC CONVERTERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2017 - ELLENTON, FL
TWICE IN THE PAST 11 MONTHS I HAVE HAD CYLINDER COIL FAILURES WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS AT HIGH SPEEDS. THE COIL FAILURES AND RESULTING MISFIRES CAUSED A SUDDEN LOSS OF FULL POWER AND A DANGEROUS SLOW DOWN IN HEAVY TRAFFIC.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds