Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 303 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (5) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (2)
Engine (9) Power Train (31) Steering (191) Unknown Or Other (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/20/2016 - ATMORE, AL
THE STEERING WHEEL CATCHES AND I CANT TURN. I GOT THE PUMP REPLACED AND I AM STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. SOME PEOPLE HAVE HAD RECALL SENT TO THEM FOR THIS PROBLEM BUT I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANYTHING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/5/2016 - CAPE MAY, NJ
THIS IS THE 13TH ISSUE WE HAVE HAD WITH THIS VEHICLE. SOME COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, SOME AS RECALL, SOME AT OUR COST. DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, ALARMS WENT OFF, MESSAGES APPEARED THAT STABILITRAK WAS OFF. TOLD US TO SERVICE BRAKING SYSTEM. AS PER MANUAL WE TURNED THE CAR OFF TO LET SYSTEM RESET. OK FOR ABOUT 1/2 HOUR DRIVING TIME, DID IT AGAIN. TURNED OFF, RESET. DID IT AGAIN BUT THIS TIME THE STABILITRAK WILL NOT COME BACK ON. GOING TO DEALERSHIP ON THURSDAY TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE. WE ALSO HAVE A BULLETIN ABOUT TRANSMISSION FAILURE WHERE WE CAN LOSE 3RD, 5TH & REVERSE. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WHICH GM WILL NOT ADDRESS UNTIL THERE IS A PROBLEM. AFTER 30 LOYAL YEARS WE ARE FINISHED WITH GM. WE ARE TRADING IN THIS VEHICLE AFTER REPAIR & BUYING ANOTHER BRAND. WE FEEL THAT NO ONE CARES ABOUT THE CONSUMER UNTIL DEATHS HAPPENED. AT THIS POINT OUR $35000 VEHICLE IS UNRELIABLE & UNSAFE! THANK YOU.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/5/2016 - CAPE MAY, NJ
THIS IS THE 13TH ISSUE WE HAVE HAD WITH THIS VEHICLE. SOME COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, SOME AS RECALL, SOME AT OUR COST. DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, ALARMS WENT OFF, MESSAGES APPEARED THAT STABILITRAK WAS OFF. TOLD US TO SERVICE BRAKING SYSTEM. AS PER MANUAL WE TURNED THE CAR OFF TO LET SYSTEM RESET. OK FOR ABOUT 1/2 HOUR DRIVING TIME, DID IT AGAIN. TURNED OFF, RESET. DID IT AGAIN BUT THIS TIME THE STABILITRAK WILL NOT COME BACK ON. GOING TO DEALERSHIP ON THURSDAY TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE. WE ALSO HAVE A BULLETIN ABOUT TRANSMISSION FAILURE WHERE WE CAN LOSE 3RD, 5TH & REVERSE. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WHICH GM WILL NOT ADDRESS UNTIL THERE IS A PROBLEM. AFTER 30 LOYAL YEARS WE ARE FINISHED WITH GM. WE ARE TRADING IN THIS VEHICLE AFTER REPAIR & BUYING ANOTHER BRAND. WE FEEL THAT NO ONE CARES ABOUT THE CONSUMER UNTIL DEATHS HAPPENED. AT THIS POINT OUR $35000 VEHICLE IS UNRELIABLE & UNSAFE! THANK YOU.

View Details

STEERING

12/18/2015 - LOWELL, MA
I'VE BEEN READING NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE STEERING PROBLEM WITH THE 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE AND I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY GM HAS YET TO ISSUE A RECALL ON THE STEERING ISSUES. THERE HAVE BEEN TIMES WHEN I TRY TO TURN EITHER LEFT OR RIGHT WHERE THE STEERING STARTS TO STIFFEN UP MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO TURN. OR IF I'M PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE, TRYING TO TURN IS AN ISSUE. THIS IS A SERIOUS FATALITY WAITING TO HAPPEN. ARE THEY GOING TO WAIT UNTIL THE LAWSUITS START COMING IN BEFORE THEY DO SOMETHING?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/14/2015 - ROMULUS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE ACTIVATED BUT FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V240000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 157,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/14/2015 - ROMULUS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE ACTIVATED BUT FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V240000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 157,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

12/11/2015 - JANESVILLE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE LIFTGATE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/20/2015 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
WHILE MAKING A LEFT HAND U TURN THE POWER STEERING QUIT, NEARLY CAUSING A SERIOUS ACCIDENT

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

11/3/2015 - CROSSETT, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V415000 (STRUCTURE) EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE DUE TO PROLONGED HOLD TIMES. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE AND HAD TO DISCONNECT THE LIFTGATE ACTUATOR BECAUSE IT HAD FRACTURED. THE LIFTGATE REMAINED INOPERATIVE. THE CONTACT'S VIN WAS ASSOCIATED WITH THE RECALL SINCE JUNE 23, 2015. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

10/24/2015 - COLUMBIA, MD
MY POWER STEERING STOPPED WORKING. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE PUMP, BUT SAID IT STOPPED WORKING BECASUE THE RACK AND PINION STEERING WAS LEAKING. THE RACK AND PINION STEERING REPLACEMENT COST IS $2100, WHICH I NEED TO PAY. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THE RACK AND PINION STEERING IS NOT PART OF THIS SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT, WHEN IT IS THE CAUSE OF THE PART REPLACED AS A RESULT OF THE SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT. I AM ALSO CONCERNED THAT THIS IS NOT A RECALL. WHEN THE POWER STEERING STOPS WORKING, IT IS VERY DANGEROUS. IF THERE HAS NOT BEEN AN ACCIDENT OR DEATH AS A RESULT OF THIS PROBLEM, THERE SOON WLILL BE, IN THE PAST YEAR I HAVEE SPENT $6,000 ON REPAIRS FOR THIS CAR, WHICH HAS 82,000 MILES. I HAVE REPLACED THE BRAKE LINE FOR $1500, $2000 FOR REPLACEMENT OF 3 IGNITION COILS AND 3 SPARK PLUGS AND A GASKET. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE A SPARK PLUG. NOW, I HAVE BEEN ASKED TO SPEND $2100 TO REPLACE THE RACK AND PINION STEERING. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, I AM TRADING IN THIS CAR BEFORE ANOTHER VERY EXPENSIVE PROBLEM DEVELOPS. THE LABOR COST FOR REPAIRS IS VERY EXPENSIVE BECAUSE THE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REMOVED TO REACH THE SECTION THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I WAS TOLD THAT THESE PROBLEMS HAPPEN AS CARS GET OLDER, BUT THE NUMBER OF PROBLEMS THE TRAVERSE HAS VERSUS THE NUMBER OF PROBLEMS CARS OF SIMILR MILEAGR HAS SEEMS TO BE LOPSIDED. THIS EXPERIENCE HAS SOURED ME ON EVER PURCHASING A CHEVROLET AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds