Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 328 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Seat Belts (9) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (12) Power Train (35) Steering (204) Unknown Or Other (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/13/2016 - EDINBURG, TX
POWER STEERING COMPLETELY FAILS WHEN MAKING LOW SPEED TURNS (EX. INTO A PARKING SPACE, AT AN INTERSECTION...ETC.). STEERING GETS VERY STIFF THAT AT TIMES I CANNOT COMPLETE THE TURN. HAVE TO STOP AND REVERSE TO STRAIGHTEN OUT. BEEN VERY CLOSE TO HITTING VEHICLES BECAUSE OF IT. FROM WHAT I AM RESEARCHING, I UNDERSTAND THIS IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM WITH THESE VEHICLES. WHAT I DON'T UNDERSTAND IS WHY THERE HASN'T BEEN A RECALL TO FIX IT. I GUESS THE INDUSTRY DOESN'T SEE IT AS BIG ISSUE SINCE THEY AREN'T THE ONES DRIVING THESE CARS AND PUTTING THEIR OWN LIVES, FAMILY'S LIVES AND OTHERS ON THE ROAD AT RISK. IT'S EASY FOR THEM TO SAY "FIX IT ON YOUR OWN" OR "JUST BUY ANOTHER CAR". BUT FOR THOSE WHO CAN'T AND DEPEND ON THEIR VEHICLE DAY IN AND DAY OUT, IT'S A BIG PROBLEM. I WOULD UNDERSTAND IF IT WAS NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR OR IF NO ONE ELSE WAS HAVING THESE PROBLEMS, BUT ITS NOT. IT'S A BIG PROBLEM ALL OVER THE U.S. FIX IT PLEASE !!!

View Details

STEERING

9/5/2016 - LAFAYETTE, IN
AT LOW SPEEDS IT GET HARD TO STEER. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER NOT SURE WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

STEERING

9/4/2016 - LIVERMORE, CA
A PERIODIC FAILURE OF THE POWER STEERING HAD OCCURRED FROM WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS NEW. SOMETIMES 2 TO 3 TIMES A MONTH BUT SOMETIMES NOT FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. DEALER "UNABLE TO DUPLICATE PROBLEM. BRING IT IN WHEN IT IS DOING IT". ONLY LASTED THROUGH 1 TO 2 TURNS AND THEN IT WAS FINE. IT HAS DONE THIS SENSE NEW. A MONTH AGO IT STARTED DOING THIS ALL THE TIME. 8 OUT OF 10 TURNS YOU WOULD LOOSE STEERING. MY WIFE RAN OFF INTO THE GUTTER SEVERAL TIMES. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL TRUSTED REPAIR SHOP AND WAS TOLD THERE HAVE BEEN HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS SAME PROBLEM AND G.M HAS NOT ADDRESSED IT. REPAIR COST $900.00 . I LOOKED ON-LINE AND IT WAS TRUE. THERE IS EVEN A CLASS ACTION SUIT FILED DUE TO THIS ISSUE. (MAINLY AT LOW SPEED TURNS BUT NOT ALWAYS).

View Details

STEERING

8/4/2016 - HONEOYE, NY
WHEN DECELERATING OR MOVING SLOWLY, THE CAR INTERMITTENTLY EXPERIENCES A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER STEERING. MY WIFE IS BARELY ABLE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/22/2016 - LANHAM, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SECOND ROW SEAT BELTS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V266000: (SEAT BELTS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/27/2016 - IOLA, KS
SUDDEN AND UNEXPECTED LOSS OF POWER STEERING AT LOW SPEEDS. TURNING THE VEHICLE AT LOW SPEEDS SUDDENLY BECOMES VERY, VERY DIFFICULT AS VEHICLE'S POWER STEERING ASSIST STOPS WORKING WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
TAKATA RECALL...WHEN IM DRIVING MY STEERING WHEEL SEEMS TO LOCK UP ...AND IT ALSO CAUSE A BAD SHAKING.

View Details

STEERING

6/21/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
TAKATA RECALL...WHEN IM DRIVING MY STEERING WHEEL SEEMS TO LOCK UP ...AND IT ALSO CAUSE A BAD SHAKING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/21/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
TAKATA RECALL...WHEN IM DRIVING MY STEERING WHEEL SEEMS TO LOCK UP ...AND IT ALSO CAUSE A BAD SHAKING.

View Details

STEERING

6/2/2016 - GREER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE STEERING WHEEL REQUIRED EXCESSIVE FORCE. WHEN MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AT THE TIME OF THE FAILURE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND NO REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds