Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 237 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Suspension (8) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (4) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (1)
Engine (5) Power Train (20) Steering (161)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

12/16/2014 - NORTON SHORES, MI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER'S SIDE SEAT BELT BUCKLE FAILED TO LATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELT LATCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000. DJR

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - SUMMERVILLE , SC
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STALLED AND WOULD NOT RESTART, VEHICAL WAS TOWED TO DEALER WHO STATED CATHLITIC CONVERTER HAD FAILED AND WOULD BE REPLACED. FOLLOWING REPLACEMENT DEALER STATED ENGINE BACKFIRED DURING TEST DRIVE INVESTIGATION REVEALED ENGINE FAILURE AND HAD TO BE REPLACED LUCKLY INSURANCE COVERED THIS REPAIR, FOLLOWING ENGINE REPAIR CAR WAS STARTED BUT STILL BACKFIRED INVESTIGATION REVEALED IGNITION COIL WAS DEFECTIVE.. RESHEARCH BY ME ON THE INTERNET SHOWED PROBLEMS WITH IGNITION COIL CAUSING ENGINE AND CATHLITIC CONVERTER PROBLEM, THIS PROBLEM COULD BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN IF DRIVING AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS THEN THIS PROBLEM OCCURES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/9/2014 - LIVERPOOL, NY
THE 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE, WHILE MY WIFE AND SON WERE DRIVING AT NIGHT, BOTH HEADLIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AT THE SAME TIME. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO DEALER, DUE TO DESIGN- UNABLE TO REPLACE BULB YOURSELF, DEALER- DRIVERS VILLAGE REPLACED BOTH BULBS. ON 11/17/14 THE LEFT HEADLIGHT BULB STOPPED WORKING. TOOK TO JACK MCNERNEY CHEVY AND REPLACED BULB. TWO DAYS LATER LEFT BULB STOPPED WORKING AGAIN, TOOK BACK TO DEALER AND REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE. ON 12/4/14 THE RIGHT HEADLIGHT STOPPED WORKING AND TOOK VEHICLE TO DRIVERS VILLAGE AND THEY REPLACED THE BULB. THERE IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT/ DESIGN FLAW IN THE HEAD LAMP SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. $300.00 DOLLARS SPENT TO REPLACE HEADLAMPS. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS PROBLEM, I SEE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS. THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/9/2014 - LIVERPOOL, NY
THE 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE, WHILE MY WIFE AND SON WERE DRIVING AT NIGHT, BOTH HEADLIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AT THE SAME TIME. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO DEALER, DUE TO DESIGN- UNABLE TO REPLACE BULB YOURSELF, DEALER- DRIVERS VILLAGE REPLACED BOTH BULBS. ON 11/17/14 THE LEFT HEADLIGHT BULB STOPPED WORKING. TOOK TO JACK MCNERNEY CHEVY AND REPLACED BULB. TWO DAYS LATER LEFT BULB STOPPED WORKING AGAIN, TOOK BACK TO DEALER AND REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE. ON 12/4/14 THE RIGHT HEADLIGHT STOPPED WORKING AND TOOK VEHICLE TO DRIVERS VILLAGE AND THEY REPLACED THE BULB. THERE IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT/ DESIGN FLAW IN THE HEAD LAMP SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. $300.00 DOLLARS SPENT TO REPLACE HEADLAMPS. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS PROBLEM, I SEE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

12/8/2014 - MESQUITE, TX
DRIVING DOWN I30 AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, VEHICLE SLOWS DOWN TO 20 MPH WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SOON AFTER OR MAYBE AS THE SPEED DROPPED. SHOOK ME UP LUCKILY THERE WAS VERY LITTLE TRAFFIC AND WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SHAKING OR SHOWED NO SIGN OF DAMAGE OTHER THAN IT NOT WANTING TO GO PAST 20 MPH. THE INCIDENT HAPPENED ONE EXIT AWAY FROM THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I GET THE VEHICLE SERVICED AND DECIDED TO DRIVE IT THERE. I AM BEING TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER FELL APART AND DAMAGED ENGINE CYLINDERS 3 AND 5 SO I WILL BE NEEDING THE ENGINE REPLACED. DO NOT KNOW IF THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER THAT FAILED WAS THE ONE THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED IN APRIL 2014.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/4/2014 - ROSMAN, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE SLIPPED OUT OF DRIVE AND BY THE TIME I GOT HOME REVERSE WAS GONE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, SUNSHINE CHEVY IN ASHEVILLE NC, AND IT WAS ONLY ONE MONTH OUT OF WARRANTY. THEY TRIED TO SELL ME A NEW TRANSMISSION FOR $6,000.00 THEN AFTER MUCH FIGHTING ONLY CHARGED A WARRANTY DEDUCTABLE (NEVER HEARD OF SUCH A THING) OF $500.00. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS AND THIS NEW TRANSMISSION IS NOW DOING THE SAME THING! THIS CAR IS A DEATH TRAP. IT ROLLS BACKWARDS WHEN IT IS IN DRIVE, THEY HAVE SINCE CLAIMED IT IS A DESIGN FLAW AND NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY. IT IS LIKE DRIVING A STRAIGHT DRIVE, YOU HAVE TO KEEP YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE UNTIL YOU ACCELERATE. I LIVE IN THE MOUNTAINS AND IT IS A HUGE PROBLEM. THERE IS ALSO AN SEAT BELT RECALL THAT THEY HAVE NOT FIXED YET. I HAVE HAD IT IN FOR A TIMING CHAIN RECALL, AND AIR BAGS, PLUS THREE OTHERS SINCE PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IT HAD 10 YEARS ON THE POWER TRAIN, IS THE TRANSMISSION NOT A PART OF THAT? I HAVE OVER 25 COMPLAINTS FOR THIS SAME TRANSMISSION ISSUE AND I AM GATHERING MORE. HOW DO WE GET THIS VEHICLE RECALLED?

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/4/2014 - ROSMAN, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE SLIPPED OUT OF DRIVE AND BY THE TIME I GOT HOME REVERSE WAS GONE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, SUNSHINE CHEVY IN ASHEVILLE NC, AND IT WAS ONLY ONE MONTH OUT OF WARRANTY. THEY TRIED TO SELL ME A NEW TRANSMISSION FOR $6,000.00 THEN AFTER MUCH FIGHTING ONLY CHARGED A WARRANTY DEDUCTABLE (NEVER HEARD OF SUCH A THING) OF $500.00. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS AND THIS NEW TRANSMISSION IS NOW DOING THE SAME THING! THIS CAR IS A DEATH TRAP. IT ROLLS BACKWARDS WHEN IT IS IN DRIVE, THEY HAVE SINCE CLAIMED IT IS A DESIGN FLAW AND NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY. IT IS LIKE DRIVING A STRAIGHT DRIVE, YOU HAVE TO KEEP YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE UNTIL YOU ACCELERATE. I LIVE IN THE MOUNTAINS AND IT IS A HUGE PROBLEM. THERE IS ALSO AN SEAT BELT RECALL THAT THEY HAVE NOT FIXED YET. I HAVE HAD IT IN FOR A TIMING CHAIN RECALL, AND AIR BAGS, PLUS THREE OTHERS SINCE PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IT HAD 10 YEARS ON THE POWER TRAIN, IS THE TRANSMISSION NOT A PART OF THAT? I HAVE OVER 25 COMPLAINTS FOR THIS SAME TRANSMISSION ISSUE AND I AM GATHERING MORE. HOW DO WE GET THIS VEHICLE RECALLED?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/4/2014 - ROSMAN, NC
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE SLIPPED OUT OF DRIVE AND BY THE TIME I GOT HOME REVERSE WAS GONE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, SUNSHINE CHEVY IN ASHEVILLE NC, AND IT WAS ONLY ONE MONTH OUT OF WARRANTY. THEY TRIED TO SELL ME A NEW TRANSMISSION FOR $6,000.00 THEN AFTER MUCH FIGHTING ONLY CHARGED A WARRANTY DEDUCTABLE (NEVER HEARD OF SUCH A THING) OF $500.00. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS AND THIS NEW TRANSMISSION IS NOW DOING THE SAME THING! THIS CAR IS A DEATH TRAP. IT ROLLS BACKWARDS WHEN IT IS IN DRIVE, THEY HAVE SINCE CLAIMED IT IS A DESIGN FLAW AND NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY. IT IS LIKE DRIVING A STRAIGHT DRIVE, YOU HAVE TO KEEP YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE UNTIL YOU ACCELERATE. I LIVE IN THE MOUNTAINS AND IT IS A HUGE PROBLEM. THERE IS ALSO AN SEAT BELT RECALL THAT THEY HAVE NOT FIXED YET. I HAVE HAD IT IN FOR A TIMING CHAIN RECALL, AND AIR BAGS, PLUS THREE OTHERS SINCE PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IT HAD 10 YEARS ON THE POWER TRAIN, IS THE TRANSMISSION NOT A PART OF THAT? I HAVE OVER 25 COMPLAINTS FOR THIS SAME TRANSMISSION ISSUE AND I AM GATHERING MORE. HOW DO WE GET THIS VEHICLE RECALLED?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/24/2014 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
DURING THE FIRST INCIDENT OF THIS PROBLEM THE CAR WOULD STUTTER/HESITATE/SHIFT STRANGE WHEN GOING UP A HILL AT HIGHER SPEEDS. THE PROBLEM CONTINUED FOR ABOUT ONE YEAR AND THEN HAD A TRANSMISSION FAILURE WITH NO SHIFT FROM 2ND GEAR TO 3RD, DIFFICULTY SHIFTING FROM 5TH TO 6TH, AND NO REVERSE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/22/2014 - FORT GIBSON, OK
MY WIFE THE DRIVER WAS TAKING MY SON TO SCHOOL AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS MAKING A WINNING SOUND THEN THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE CUSTOMER REP SAID THAT THE TRANSMISSION WILL HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THEY SAID IT WOULD COST $4850. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED GM AND THEY SAID THAT I WAS UP BY 5 MONTHS ON WARRANTY. IT HAS A 100,000 MILE OR 5 YEAR POWER TRAIN WARRANTY. THEY WILL NOT HELP REPLACE MY TRANSMISSION OR GIVE GOOD WIL ASSISTANCE. IT REALLY MAKES ME MAD THAT THIS IS A KNOWN BULLETIN AND PROBLEM THAT GM IGNORES TO FIX. THE PROBLEM IS BULLETIN NO.: 09-07-30-012A WHICH IS A BROKEN 35R CLUTCH WAVE PLATE INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION CAUSING METAL SHAVINGS IN TRANSMISSION AN A TOTAL FAILURE ON THE TRANSMISSION. IT'S A $20 DOLLAR PART THAT COMES OFF AND IT DESTROYS THE TRANSMISSION. THANKFULLY MY FAMILY IS OK. I BELIEVE THAT GM SHOULD EXTEND THIS ISSUE UNDER WARRANTY AND FIX THIS PROBLEM BEFORE SOME GETS HURT OR KILLED. I WOULD HATE TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF SHE WAS IN A METROPOLITAN AREA AND IT WENT OUT IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS!!!!!! THANKS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds