Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Steering (139) Unknown Or Other (3)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (8) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/28/2014 - HOT SPRINGS , AR
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN MAKING A TURN AT 20 MPH THE POWER STEERING FAILS WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED AND NO REPAIRS WERE MADE AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.SR

View Details

STEERING

7/28/2014 - FREEPORT, NY
THE STEERING MY 2009 CHEVY TRAVERSE HAS BECOME DIFFICULT TO HANDLE WHEN SLOWING DOWN, WHILE MAKING LEFT OR RIGHT TURNS. THE STEERING WHEEL BECOMES VERY STIFF, AND CAUSES MY TURNS TO BE WIDER THAN EXPECTED. I HAVE HAD SITUATIONS WHERE I HAVE HAD "NEAR MISSES", BECAUSE THE LACK OF RESPONSE OF THE POWER STEERING. WHEN THE CAR IS MOVING AT SPEEDS OF THE LESS THE APPROXIMATELY 10MPH, THE STEERING BECOMES ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO HANDLE. WHEN THE CAR IS IDLE, THE STEERING WHEEL WILL NOT TURN WITH CONSIDERABLE AMOUNT EFFORT. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR FOR SERVICE, THE RACK AND PINION WERE REPLACED/FIXED. I AM STILL EXPERIENCING THE ISSUE, AND HAVE CONCERNS OVER POTENTIAL ACCIDENTS IF THIS IS IMPROVED.

View Details

STEERING

7/25/2014 - LOWELL, MA
I NOTICED WHILE TRYING TO MAKE RIGHT TURNS THE POWER STEERING BEGINS TO GO OUT. I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST THAT ONE TIME, BUT THEN FELT IT WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. I DRIVE WITH MY DAUGHTER A LOT AND WANT TO MAKE LONG DISTANCE DRIVES BUT I'M VERY HESITANT BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. LIKE THE OTHER CUSTOMER STATED THE DEALERS ARE SAYING THERE ARE NO RECALLS OUT ABOUT THIS ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2014 - GALION, OH
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE HE PULLED UP TO A PARKING LOT, THE POWER STEERING FAILED, AND THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEED AND TURNING SITUATION THE POWER STEERING WOULD FAIL. THE PROBLEM RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES IN TWO MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. AN

View Details

STEERING

7/23/2014 - BRAWLEY, CA
WHEN PARKING IT FEELS LIKE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. IT IS VERY HARD TO TURN IN OR OUT OF THE PARKING STALL. THIS USUALLY ONLY HAPPED TO MY WIFE AND I WHEN WE ARE PARKING OR ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A U-TURN AFTER A SHORT TIME IT SEEMS TO START WORKING.

View Details

STEERING

7/23/2014 - YAKIMA, WA
ON THE LISTED DATE, I WAS DRIVING THE LISTED VEHICLE. I WAS BEING ACCOMPANIED BY MY WIFE AND OUR THREE CHILDREN. AS I ATTEMPTED TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN ONTO A STREET, MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT, AND I NEARLY STRUCK A VEHICLE. I THOUGHT I LOST POWER, BUT THEN MY POWER STEERING KICKED IN AND I WAS ABLE TO CORRECT MY LANE OF TRAVEL. THIS OCCURRED HALF A DOZEN TIMES. MY WIFE EXPERIENCED THE SAME THING RIGHT BEFORE I DROVE, AND I WANTED TO SEE FIRST HAND WHAT SHE WAS REFERRING TO. WHEN I DROVE ON THE HIGHWAY (60MPH), I COULD FEEL THE POWER STEERING WANTING TO GO OUT. I FELT THE STEERING WHEEL GET HARD JUST FOR A SPLIT SECOND, BUT IT NEVER WHEN OUT. I CALLED GMC, AND THEY ADVISED THEY HAVEN'T RECALLED ANY POWER STEERING PARTS. MY CONCERN IS THAT MY FAMILY COULD HAVE SUSTAINED SERIOUS INJURY OR COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/17/2014 - BRENTWOOD, CA
RIGHT STRUT MOUNTING BRACKET BROKE OFF AS THE WELDING BROKE . BRACKET FRACTURE CAUSED SWAY BAR LINK TO BECOME DISCONNECTED, DAMAGING SWAY BAR LINKAGE AND UPPER BALL SOCKET. THIS HAPPENED ON HIGHWAY 17 IN SANTA CRUZ, CA. IF THE VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING AT THE SPEED LIMIT INSTEAD OF IN SLOW TRAFFIC, IT WOULD HAVE CERTAINLY RESULTED IN AN ACCIDENT, AS THE WHOLE CAR TILTED TO THE RIGHT AS THE WELD BROKE OFF. WE WANT GM TO ANSWER TO THIS. ACCIDENTS FROM THIS DEFECT WILL NOT BE OBVIOUS, SINCE INSPECTION OF THE CRASH WILL SHOW A BROKEN WELD, WHICH WOULD BE CONSIDERED A RESULT OF THE CRASH, INSTEAD OF CAUSING THE CRASH.

View Details

STEERING

7/14/2014 - SPOKANE, WA
2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE SUDDENLY LOST POWER STEERING WHEN IT REDUCED SPEED TO TURN ON TO HIGHWAY ON RAMP. STOPPED AT THE EARLIEST OPPORTUNITY TO CHECK POWER STEERING FLUID. TOPPED OFF FLUID BUT CONTINUED TO HAVE PROBLEM WITH RANDOM LOSS OF POWER STEERING. PROBLEM OCCURS NOW ANYTIME THAT VEHICLE IS NOT ACCELERATING.

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
MY WIFE DRIVES THIS VEHICLE MORE THAN I DO. SHE FIRST MENTIONED THE ISSUE AND I WAS THINKING SHE WAS OVER REACTING. WHEN I DROVE THE TRAVERSE, I WENT TO BACK IT INTO THE GARAGE AND THE WHEEL NEARLY FROZE UP. I HAD TO CRANK THE WHEEL TO GET IT TO TURN AND THERE WAS A VEHICLE COMING UP ON ME. I FINALLY GOT IT STRAIGHT AND BACKED INTO THE GARAGE. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME WE PARK NOW OR NAVIGATING PARKING LOTS AT SLOW SPEEDS. I BEGAN RESEARCHING ONLINE IN FORUMS AND FOUND MANY OTHERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. THEY HAVE BEEN PAYING SO MUCH TO HAVE PARTS REPLACED AND NOT BE THE ISSUE THAT I AM HESITANT TO TAKE MY VEHICLE INTO A DEALER. IF CHEVROLET KNOWS ABOUT THIS SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE. I CAN'T AFFORD $3000 OR MORE TO FIX THIS VEHICLE THAT IS BREAKING WAY BEFORE IT SHOULD BE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/9/2014 - EAST AMHERST , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED AS THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds