Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 351 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Seat Belts (9) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (8) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (5) Wheels (2)
Engine (20) Power Train (40) Steering (211) Unknown Or Other (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/21/2017 - EAST PROVIDENCE, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC INSPECTED THE DTC AND INDICATED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN A WARRANTY CAMPAIGN AND CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE IF THEY HAD A SOLUTION TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/17/2017 - BUFFALO, NY
TOOK OUR CAR FOR RIDE PARK W HILLS HAVING PROBLEM W OUR 2009 TRAVERSE TRANSMISSION DOWN SIFT OUT OF CRUSE,DOWN SIFT ON ITS OWN,THEN NO REVERSING THEN NOT GOING INTO DRIVE THEN OVER HEATING HAD LET COOL DOWN 2X IT ONLY HAS71,000 MILES

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WHILE SPOUSE WAS DRIVING VEHICLE WITH KIDS ON EXPRESSWAY, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF BY ITSELF. SPOUSE PULLED OVER AND WAITED ABOUT 10 MINUTES BEFORE VEHICLE STARTED AGAIN. COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AT ALL. TOOK TO DEALER A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER AS VEHICLE STILL WOULD NOT START. DEALER FOUND THE ELECTRONIC CHASSIS MODULE(ECM) WAS SHORTED. THERE IS A KNOWN RECALL FOR THIS SAME VEHICLE AND SYMPTOMS. DEALER AND GM STATE THIS VEHICLE IS NOT PART OF RECALL HOWEVER SAME MODEL AND YEAR ACROSS COUNTRY HAS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/12/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WHILE SPOUSE WAS DRIVING VEHICLE WITH KIDS ON EXPRESSWAY, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF BY ITSELF. SPOUSE PULLED OVER AND WAITED ABOUT 10 MINUTES BEFORE VEHICLE STARTED AGAIN. COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AT ALL. TOOK TO DEALER A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER AS VEHICLE STILL WOULD NOT START. DEALER FOUND THE ELECTRONIC CHASSIS MODULE(ECM) WAS SHORTED. THERE IS A KNOWN RECALL FOR THIS SAME VEHICLE AND SYMPTOMS. DEALER AND GM STATE THIS VEHICLE IS NOT PART OF RECALL HOWEVER SAME MODEL AND YEAR ACROSS COUNTRY HAS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

9/11/2017 - BARNESVILLE, OH
POWER STEERING JUST WENT OUT AS I WAS DRIVING. POWER STEERING FLUID FULL

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/3/2017 - BELTON, TX
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET I CAME TO A STOP. AS I BEGAN TO GO I TRIED TO TURN RIGHT AND I COULDN'T TURN THE WHEEL IT WAS SO HARD. REMINDED ME OF MY FIRST CAR I HAD WHEN I HAD A LEAK WITH MY STEERING FLUID. SO AT THAT POINT I TRY TO BRAKE AND MY BRAKES FAILED. I DON'T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED I BEGAN TO ROLL BACKWARDS AND THE FIRST THING I THOUGHT OF WAS TO PUSH DOWN AS HARD AS I COULD AND SLAMMED IT INTO PARK. WHILE ALL THIS WAS GOING ON NOT ONE SINGLE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON OR BRAKE LIGHT NOTHING. THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO WARNING. I TURNED THE CAR OFF THEN BACK ON AND IT WAS AS IF NOTHING HAD HAPPENED. LUCKILY IT WAS ON A VERY QUITE AND NON-BUSY STREET AND MY KIDS WEREN'T WITH ME.

View Details

STEERING

9/3/2017 - BELTON, TX
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET I CAME TO A STOP. AS I BEGAN TO GO I TRIED TO TURN RIGHT AND I COULDN'T TURN THE WHEEL IT WAS SO HARD. REMINDED ME OF MY FIRST CAR I HAD WHEN I HAD A LEAK WITH MY STEERING FLUID. SO AT THAT POINT I TRY TO BRAKE AND MY BRAKES FAILED. I DON'T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED I BEGAN TO ROLL BACKWARDS AND THE FIRST THING I THOUGHT OF WAS TO PUSH DOWN AS HARD AS I COULD AND SLAMMED IT INTO PARK. WHILE ALL THIS WAS GOING ON NOT ONE SINGLE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON OR BRAKE LIGHT NOTHING. THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO WARNING. I TURNED THE CAR OFF THEN BACK ON AND IT WAS AS IF NOTHING HAD HAPPENED. LUCKILY IT WAS ON A VERY QUITE AND NON-BUSY STREET AND MY KIDS WEREN'T WITH ME.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/15/2017 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
I WAS COMING BACK FROM DROPPING OFF MY KIDS AT SCHOOL WHEN I HEARD A BEEPING NOISE AND THEN I REALIZED THAT I HAD LOSS OF POWER, I THEN LOOKED AT MY DASHBOARD AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT AND THE BRAKE LIGHT WAS ON, I DIDN'T THINK NOTHING OF IT SINCE IT ONLY LASTED FOR A FEW MINUTES BUT THE NEXT DAY IT HAPPENED AGAIN:( I'M SO SCARED TO DRIVE ON THE FREEWAY BECAUSE I HAVE 4 KIDS FROM AGES 12 TO 9 MONTHS AND I CAN'T AFFORD TO RISK GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT IF ALL OF THE SUDDEN MY TRUCK DOES THAT AND I GET HIT FROM THE BACK. I BEEN LOOKING INTO THIS ISSUE AND I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME ISSUE I CAN'T AFFORD TO BE PAYING UNNECESSARY MONEY FOR A PROBLEM THAT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT MORE DEEPLY PLEASE HELP.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/2/2017 - KYLE, TX
IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY UPHILL THE STABILITY TRACK, REDUCE ENGINE POWER WENT ON. SUDDENLY LOST POWER FROM 70MPH TO BARELY 40 MPH. IMMEDIATELY HAD TO PULL OVER ON HIGHWAY EMERGENCY LANE. SERVICED 3 TIMES AND PROBLEM CONTINUES. VERY UNSAFE AS THE ENGINE LOOSES POWER. I HAVE HAD TMC REPLACE, CONNECTOR REPLACED, THROTTLE BODY REPLACE. BIG ISSUE EVERYONE IS HAVING!! THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER 3 YEARS. PROBLEM GETS "FIXED" AND MONTHS LATER IT COMES BACK. FUSTRATING AND HAS COST LOTS OF $$$$ WE DON'T HAVE TO SPARE. PLEASE VIEW LINK. HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/HBVAOIIXNXY

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/2/2017 - KYLE, TX
IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY UPHILL THE STABILITY TRACK, REDUCE ENGINE POWER WENT ON. SUDDENLY LOST POWER FROM 70MPH TO BARELY 40 MPH. IMMEDIATELY HAD TO PULL OVER ON HIGHWAY EMERGENCY LANE. SERVICED 3 TIMES AND PROBLEM CONTINUES. VERY UNSAFE AS THE ENGINE LOOSES POWER. I HAVE HAD TMC REPLACE, CONNECTOR REPLACED, THROTTLE BODY REPLACE. BIG ISSUE EVERYONE IS HAVING!! THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER 3 YEARS. PROBLEM GETS "FIXED" AND MONTHS LATER IT COMES BACK. FUSTRATING AND HAS COST LOTS OF $$$$ WE DON'T HAVE TO SPARE. PLEASE VIEW LINK. HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/HBVAOIIXNXY

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds