Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 231 complaints filed for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Seat Belts (5) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Suspension (8) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (13) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (4) Tires (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (1)
Engine (3) Power Train (17) Steering (161)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/22/2014 - FORT GIBSON, OK
MY WIFE THE DRIVER WAS TAKING MY SON TO SCHOOL AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS MAKING A WINNING SOUND THEN THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE CUSTOMER REP SAID THAT THE TRANSMISSION WILL HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THEY SAID IT WOULD COST $4850. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED GM AND THEY SAID THAT I WAS UP BY 5 MONTHS ON WARRANTY. IT HAS A 100,000 MILE OR 5 YEAR POWER TRAIN WARRANTY. THEY WILL NOT HELP REPLACE MY TRANSMISSION OR GIVE GOOD WIL ASSISTANCE. IT REALLY MAKES ME MAD THAT THIS IS A KNOWN BULLETIN AND PROBLEM THAT GM IGNORES TO FIX. THE PROBLEM IS BULLETIN NO.: 09-07-30-012A WHICH IS A BROKEN 35R CLUTCH WAVE PLATE INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION CAUSING METAL SHAVINGS IN TRANSMISSION AN A TOTAL FAILURE ON THE TRANSMISSION. IT'S A $20 DOLLAR PART THAT COMES OFF AND IT DESTROYS THE TRANSMISSION. THANKFULLY MY FAMILY IS OK. I BELIEVE THAT GM SHOULD EXTEND THIS ISSUE UNDER WARRANTY AND FIX THIS PROBLEM BEFORE SOME GETS HURT OR KILLED. I WOULD HATE TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF SHE WAS IN A METROPOLITAN AREA AND IT WENT OUT IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS!!!!!! THANKS

View Details

STEERING

11/20/2014 - BLOOMINGTON, IL
I ORIGINALLY TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN. WHEN I GOT THE VEHICLE BACK THE POWER STEERING WAS MAKING A LOUD NOISE. THE DEALER SAID THE POWER STEERING WAS FINE. APPROXIMATELY 6 MONTHS LATER I TAKE THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER FOR RECALLS AND LEAKING COOLANT. POWER STEERING STILL LOUD. TECH FOUND LEAK FROM RACK AND PINION. I AM GLAD THAT MY STEERING DID NOT FAIL LIKE OTHER COMPLAINTS. I WAS LUCKY THAT MY VEHICLE HAD A COOLANT LEAK AND THE TECH FOUND THE LEAKING RACK AND PINION WHILE FIXING THE COOLANT LEAK. MY WIFE DRIVES THIS VEHICLE EACH DAY WITH MY 3 KIDS AND HAVING THE STEERING FAIL WHILE IN TRAFFIC COULD HAVE BEEN HORRIBLE. IT IS OBVIOUS THIS IS AN ISSUE IN THE 2009 TRAVERSE AND IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/19/2014 - APO, AE
WHILE FOLDING UP THE SECOND ROW SEATING THE MIDDLE SEATBELT BINDS AND HAS LEAD TO BROKEN COVER. I AM WORRIED THAT IT WILL LEAD TO SEATBELT FAILURE BECAUSE OF THE POSITION OF THE BELT PLACEMENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - HAMMONTON, NJ
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH THE VEHICLE WOULD LOSE POWER, BATTERY DIES, THE DASH BOARD LIGHTS COME ON , AND WHEN PARKED THE VEHICLE ROLLS. THE CONTACT HAS TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER STATED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. RWK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/18/2014 - HAMMONTON, NJ
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH THE VEHICLE WOULD LOSE POWER, BATTERY DIES, THE DASH BOARD LIGHTS COME ON , AND WHEN PARKED THE VEHICLE ROLLS. THE CONTACT HAS TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER STATED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. RWK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/7/2014 - CRANFORD , NJ
MY 2009 TRAVERSE LOST ITS POWER STEERING WHILE WE WERE DRIVING IT. WE DIDNT GET INTO AN ACCIDENT BUT ALMOST DID. THAT SAME DAY I RECIEVED A LETTER FROM GM STATING THAT MY 2009 TRAVERSE MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE POWERSTEERING ISSUES. AFTER BRINGING IT TO THE DEALER THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE RACK AND PINION WAS ALSO LEAKING AND THE COST OF THE FIX WAS 900 BUCKS WITH TAX. WHY WAS THE RACK AND PINION NOT COVERED, IT SEEMS LIKE IT THE CAUSE OF THE POWERSTEERING ISSUES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/6/2014 - NEWARK, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ENGINE, TRACTION CONTROL, AND STABILITRAK WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DECREASED INDEPENDENTLY TO 15 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

11/6/2014 - NEWARK, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ENGINE, TRACTION CONTROL, AND STABILITRAK WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DECREASED INDEPENDENTLY TO 15 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/6/2014 - NEWARK, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ENGINE, TRACTION CONTROL, AND STABILITRAK WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DECREASED INDEPENDENTLY TO 15 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/5/2014 - KINGSTREE, SC
I JUST PURCHASED MY 0 9 TRAVERSE AND I HAVE STARTED HEARING A SQUEAKING NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN TURNING AS WELL AS A SQUEAKING NOISE COMING FROM THE BRAKE PEDAL. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY HAVE TOLD ME THAT GM HAS NOT ISSUED A FIX FOR THAT PROBLEM AND THAT IT IS COMMON FOR THE TRAVERSES. I CONTACTED GM AND THEY JUST SAYS THAT THERE IS NO FIX FOR IT. I HAVE SEEN ON LINE THAT THEY HAVE CHANGED SOME PARTS IN THE NEWER VEHICLES DUE TO A MANUFACTURER DEFECT. THEY SAY THAT IT IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE, BUT PEOPLE ARE LOSING POWER STEERING AND I DON'T WANT TO ONE DAY NOT HAVE ABILITY TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AND FIXED!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds