Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 2500 - 2009 DODGE RAM 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2009 DODGE RAM 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 DODGE RAM 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 DODGE RAM 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Steering (153) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (7) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (15) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Diesel (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Wheels (6)
Equipment (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/3/2018 - DOVER, NC
BRAKES FAILED DUE TO A CORRODED BRAKE LINES AT THE MASTER CYLINDER. HAPPENED IN DRIVEWAY BEFORE I GOT TO THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

STEERING

4/9/2018 - ASSUMPTION, IL
DODGE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PROBLEMS WITH THE AIRBAG CLOCKSPRING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE CLOCKSPRING WAS REPLACED ON THREE SEPERATE OCCASIONS, BUT THERE IS STILL A RECURRING PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/9/2018 - ASSUMPTION, IL
DODGE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PROBLEMS WITH THE AIRBAG CLOCKSPRING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE CLOCKSPRING WAS REPLACED ON THREE SEPERATE OCCASIONS, BUT THERE IS STILL A RECURRING PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/3/2018 - ASHEVILLE, NC
CPSC: THE TRUCK BROKE DOWN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY ENDANGERING MY YOUNG CHILD AND MYSELF. DT THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND IN POSSESSION OF THE DEALER UNTIL IT CAN BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED.

View Details

STEERING

8/30/2017 - GLENWOOD, IA
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED TERRIBLE FRONT END WOBBLE, VERY SCARY. HAS HAPPENED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. HUSBAND NORMALLY DRIVES TRUCK THIS IS FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE.

View Details

STEERING

8/10/2017 - YREKA, CA
TRACK BAR MOUNT CAME OFF OF THE FRAME OF THE TRUCK ......PULLING ONTO ROAD FROM DRIVEWAG

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2017 - WARREN, MI
2009 DODGE RAM 2500 HAS WHAT IS DESCRIBED BY MANY AS "DEATH WOBBLE". AT FREEWAY SPEEDS (70MPH HERE IN MI) IF SOME EVEN MINOR BUMPS, POT HOLES ARE RUN OVER THE FRONT END OF THE TRUCK STARTS TO SHAKE UNCONTROLLABLY. TO GET CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AGAIN YOU MUST SLOW TO BELOW 55MPH. MANY TIMES JUST THE DRIVERS SIDE FRONT TIRE AS BOUNCING OR WOBBLING, RECENTLY THE ENTIRE FRONT END. VEHICLE HAS HAD BOTH PRIOR RECALLS FOR TIE-ROD ENDS COMPLETED. HAD FRONT SHOCKS CHANGED IN CASE THEY WERE THE ISSUE NO CHANGE, HAD TIRES CHANGED IN CASE THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH ANY OF THE TIRES, NO CHANGE. HAD BELLE TIRE TECHS LOOK FOR ISSUE WITH BOUNCING/WOBBLING TIRES THEY SAID EVERYTHING WAS TIGHT AND IN WORKING ORDER. ALSO HAS ANOTHER GARAGE LOOK AT IT FOR THE SAME ISSUE THEY DID NOT FIND ANY ISSUES. THIS PROBLEM THAT LOOKS TO BE PRETTY WIDESPREAD WITH OWNERS OF 2009 RAM 2500S MAKES THIS VEHICLE UNSAFE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS UNTIL A FIX IS FOUND. I WILL ASK DEALER ABOUT BOUNCING/WOBBLING FRONT END AGAIN BUT IF THIS IS ON MANY OF THESE TRUCKS THE PROBLEM WILL END UP RESULTING IN ACCIDENTS SHOULD A DRIVER NOT BE ABLE TO SLOW DOWN QUICKLY TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR OVER A YEAR ON AND OFF, I HAD AVOIDED DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY UNTIL THE LAST REPAIRS WHERE THE TIRES WERE CHANGED AND THE TECHS SAID EVERYTHING WAS GOOD WITH THE FRONT END. FIRST TIME ON THE FREEWAY AT 70MPH IT HAPPENED AGAIN WHEN A FEW SMALL BUMPS WERE RUN OVER, THE ENTIRE CAB OF THE TRUCK WAS SHAKING, OTHER DRIVERS BEHIND AND AROUND ME SLOWED AS I AM GUESSING THEY THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO LOOSE CONTROL AND CRASH. I HAD TO SLOW BELOW 50MPH BEFORE THE SHAKING WAS UNDER CONTROL AND BECAUSE THE OTHER DRIVERS SLOWED IT ALLOWED ME TO GET TO THE RIGHT AND AVOID AN ACCIDENT. SO I WILL NO LONGER USE THE TRUCK AT ANYTHING OVER 45MPH AND ONLY USE SPARINGLY UNTIL THE ISSUE IS IDENTIFIED AND REPAIRED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/9/2017 - WARREN, MI
2009 DODGE RAM 2500 HAS WHAT IS DESCRIBED BY MANY AS "DEATH WOBBLE". AT FREEWAY SPEEDS (70MPH HERE IN MI) IF SOME EVEN MINOR BUMPS, POT HOLES ARE RUN OVER THE FRONT END OF THE TRUCK STARTS TO SHAKE UNCONTROLLABLY. TO GET CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AGAIN YOU MUST SLOW TO BELOW 55MPH. MANY TIMES JUST THE DRIVERS SIDE FRONT TIRE AS BOUNCING OR WOBBLING, RECENTLY THE ENTIRE FRONT END. VEHICLE HAS HAD BOTH PRIOR RECALLS FOR TIE-ROD ENDS COMPLETED. HAD FRONT SHOCKS CHANGED IN CASE THEY WERE THE ISSUE NO CHANGE, HAD TIRES CHANGED IN CASE THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH ANY OF THE TIRES, NO CHANGE. HAD BELLE TIRE TECHS LOOK FOR ISSUE WITH BOUNCING/WOBBLING TIRES THEY SAID EVERYTHING WAS TIGHT AND IN WORKING ORDER. ALSO HAS ANOTHER GARAGE LOOK AT IT FOR THE SAME ISSUE THEY DID NOT FIND ANY ISSUES. THIS PROBLEM THAT LOOKS TO BE PRETTY WIDESPREAD WITH OWNERS OF 2009 RAM 2500S MAKES THIS VEHICLE UNSAFE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS UNTIL A FIX IS FOUND. I WILL ASK DEALER ABOUT BOUNCING/WOBBLING FRONT END AGAIN BUT IF THIS IS ON MANY OF THESE TRUCKS THE PROBLEM WILL END UP RESULTING IN ACCIDENTS SHOULD A DRIVER NOT BE ABLE TO SLOW DOWN QUICKLY TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR OVER A YEAR ON AND OFF, I HAD AVOIDED DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY UNTIL THE LAST REPAIRS WHERE THE TIRES WERE CHANGED AND THE TECHS SAID EVERYTHING WAS GOOD WITH THE FRONT END. FIRST TIME ON THE FREEWAY AT 70MPH IT HAPPENED AGAIN WHEN A FEW SMALL BUMPS WERE RUN OVER, THE ENTIRE CAB OF THE TRUCK WAS SHAKING, OTHER DRIVERS BEHIND AND AROUND ME SLOWED AS I AM GUESSING THEY THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO LOOSE CONTROL AND CRASH. I HAD TO SLOW BELOW 50MPH BEFORE THE SHAKING WAS UNDER CONTROL AND BECAUSE THE OTHER DRIVERS SLOWED IT ALLOWED ME TO GET TO THE RIGHT AND AVOID AN ACCIDENT. SO I WILL NO LONGER USE THE TRUCK AT ANYTHING OVER 45MPH AND ONLY USE SPARINGLY UNTIL THE ISSUE IS IDENTIFIED AND REPAIRED.

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2017 - FRANKLIN, PA
MY 2009 DODGE RAM 2500 STARTED HOPPING AFTER I HIT A SLIGHT BUMP IN THE ROAD. I WAS GOING ABOUT 50MPH WHEN THUS HAPPENED. I COULD DO NOTHING BUT TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE GAS TO SLOW THE TRUCK DOWN. IT LITERALLY HOPPED DOWN THE ROAD , IT FELT LIKE WE WERE IN A PAINT MIXER BOUNCING DOWN THE ROAD. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE BUT WAS NEVER AS BAD AS THIS TIME. MY WIFE WAS WITH ME THIS TIME AND COULD NOT BELIEVE WHAT IT WAS DOING. SHE TOLD ME IF SHE HAD BEEN DRIVING SHE WOULD HAVE PANICKED AND MOST LIKELY WRECKED THE TRUCK. EVERYTHING IN THE TRUCK WAS BEING TOSSED AROUND. THIS ISSUE MUST BE CORRECTED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR WORSE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/9/2017 - FRANKLIN, PA
MY 2009 DODGE RAM 2500 STARTED HOPPING AFTER I HIT A SLIGHT BUMP IN THE ROAD. I WAS GOING ABOUT 50MPH WHEN THUS HAPPENED. I COULD DO NOTHING BUT TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE GAS TO SLOW THE TRUCK DOWN. IT LITERALLY HOPPED DOWN THE ROAD , IT FELT LIKE WE WERE IN A PAINT MIXER BOUNCING DOWN THE ROAD. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE BUT WAS NEVER AS BAD AS THIS TIME. MY WIFE WAS WITH ME THIS TIME AND COULD NOT BELIEVE WHAT IT WAS DOING. SHE TOLD ME IF SHE HAD BEEN DRIVING SHE WOULD HAVE PANICKED AND MOST LIKELY WRECKED THE TRUCK. EVERYTHING IN THE TRUCK WAS BEING TOSSED AROUND. THIS ISSUE MUST BE CORRECTED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR WORSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds