Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-250 - 2009 FORD F-250 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 38 complaints filed for the 2009 FORD F-250

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 FORD F-250. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 FORD F-250, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Steering (25) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Suspension (19) Visibility (1) Wheels (6)
Engine (2) Power Train (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

5/24/2019 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
WHILE IN MOTION, THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD VIOLENT SHAKING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS 60-70MPH AND AT LOW SPEEDS OF 30-40MPH. THE STEERING WHEEL VIOLENTLY SHAKES FROM SIDE TO SIDE ALONG WITH THE ENTIRE TRUCK SHAKING VIOLENTLY. IT NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT TWICE WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY WITH VERY LIGHT LOAD IN THE BED (APPROXIMATELY 110LBS). THIS HAS BEEN COINED THE "DEATH WOBBLE" FROM OTHER F-250 OWNERS THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUES AS WELL. IT SEEMS THAT HITTING A BUMP CAUSES ISSUES WITHIN THE SUSPENSION AND STEERING.

View Details

STEERING

5/24/2019 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
WHILE IN MOTION, THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD VIOLENT SHAKING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS 60-70MPH AND AT LOW SPEEDS OF 30-40MPH. THE STEERING WHEEL VIOLENTLY SHAKES FROM SIDE TO SIDE ALONG WITH THE ENTIRE TRUCK SHAKING VIOLENTLY. IT NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT TWICE WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY WITH VERY LIGHT LOAD IN THE BED (APPROXIMATELY 110LBS). THIS HAS BEEN COINED THE "DEATH WOBBLE" FROM OTHER F-250 OWNERS THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUES AS WELL. IT SEEMS THAT HITTING A BUMP CAUSES ISSUES WITHIN THE SUSPENSION AND STEERING.

View Details

STEERING

11/19/2018 - ROYSE CITY, TX
MY TRUCK GOING HIGHWAY SPEEDS HAS HAD NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH DEATH WOBBLE. IF YOU DON+T KNOW WHAT THAT IS IT+S WHERE THE TRUCK STARTS SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND THE ONLY WAY TO CONTROL IT IS TO CONE TO A COMPLETE STOP WHICH IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY IS VERY DANGEROUS. THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES WITH ME AND MY FAMILY IN THE TRUCK.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/19/2018 - ROYSE CITY, TX
MY TRUCK GOING HIGHWAY SPEEDS HAS HAD NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH DEATH WOBBLE. IF YOU DON+T KNOW WHAT THAT IS IT+S WHERE THE TRUCK STARTS SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND THE ONLY WAY TO CONTROL IT IS TO CONE TO A COMPLETE STOP WHICH IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY IS VERY DANGEROUS. THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES WITH ME AND MY FAMILY IN THE TRUCK.

View Details

TIRES

8/2/2017 - MENTONE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD F-250 EQUIPPED WITH BF GOODRICH TIRES, TIRE LINE: RUGGED TERRAIN, TIRE SIZE: LP 275/70/R18 AND THE DOT NUMBER WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE TIRE TREAD PREMATURELY SEPARATED CAUSING BOTH TIRES TO FAIL AT DIFFERENT POINTS IN TIME. A TIRE REPAIR SHOP DUE TO THE CONTACT INDICATING THAT THE EXTENSIVE NATURE OF THE TREAD SEPARATION CAUSED DAMAGES TO THE FENDER, HEADLIGHTS, AND THE FRONT FRAME INSPECTED THE TIRES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS WAITING ON A RESPONSE TO DETERMINE THEIR RECOMMENDATION OR SOLUTION. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE AND THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

WHEELS

7/6/2017 - HIGHLAND VILLAGE, TX
WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS (50 MPH OR HIGHER) THE TRUCK EXPERIENCES "DEATH WOBBLE" WHEN IT HITS A SMALL ROUGH PATCH. DURING "DEATH WOBBLE" THE VEHICLE SHAKES UNCONTROLLABLY AND WON'T STOP UNTIL THE VEHICLE SPEED IS BROUGHT DOWN TO 30 MPH OR LOWER.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/6/2017 - HIGHLAND VILLAGE, TX
WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS (50 MPH OR HIGHER) THE TRUCK EXPERIENCES "DEATH WOBBLE" WHEN IT HITS A SMALL ROUGH PATCH. DURING "DEATH WOBBLE" THE VEHICLE SHAKES UNCONTROLLABLY AND WON'T STOP UNTIL THE VEHICLE SPEED IS BROUGHT DOWN TO 30 MPH OR LOWER.

View Details

STEERING

7/6/2017 - HIGHLAND VILLAGE, TX
WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS (50 MPH OR HIGHER) THE TRUCK EXPERIENCES "DEATH WOBBLE" WHEN IT HITS A SMALL ROUGH PATCH. DURING "DEATH WOBBLE" THE VEHICLE SHAKES UNCONTROLLABLY AND WON'T STOP UNTIL THE VEHICLE SPEED IS BROUGHT DOWN TO 30 MPH OR LOWER.

View Details

STEERING

6/21/2017 - BIDDEFORD, ME
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF A 2009 F250 SUPER DUTY PU. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED OVER THE 61630 MILES I HAVE ACCUMULATED. RECENTLY THE TRUCK HAS STARTED EXPERIENCING WHAT CAN ONLY BE DESCRIBED AS A LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THIS SEEMS TO MOST OFTEN OCCUR AFTER STARTING FROM A STOP, AND TURNING LEFT. THE WHEELS SEEM TO BE "STUCK" IN THE TURNED DIRECTION, AND NEEDS TO BE MUSCLED BACK INTO A STRAIGHT PATH. THIS IS USUALLY FOLLOWED BY AN UNUSUAL SLIGHT TUGGING OF THE WHEEL IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION. THE OTHER DAY IT WAS STICKING FROM ONE DIRECTION TO THE OTHER DIRECTION. FORTUNATELY WE HAD JUST STARTED TO MERGE ONTO A ROAD THAT TYPICALLY IS 45 MPH (WE WERE ONLY DOING ABOUT 20 MPH). MY PARTNER THOUGHT I WAS HORSING AROUND BY "YANKING THE STEERING FROM SIDE TO SIDE, BUT IT WAS THE TRUCKS STEERING THAT WAS DOING IT, AND I WAS TRYING TO STRAIGHTEN IT OUT. WE PULLED OFF THE ROAD, AND AS I WAS PULLING FORWARD I COULD FEEL A DIFFERENCE IN THE STEERING (BACK TO NORMAL). MY COMMUTE IS A MERE 15 MINS, BUT BASED ON LOCATIONS OF MY HOME AND WORK, I DO TYPICALLY JUMP ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAVE STOPPED DOING THIS BECAUSE I FEAR WITH INCREASED TRAFFIC AND SPEED, I WORRY ABOUT CAUSING AN ACCIDENT, ALTHOUGH I HAVE NOT EXPERIENCED THIS AT NORMAL SPEED. I HAVE BROUGHT THIS TO MY MECHANIC AND HE COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE CONDITION. HE CHECKED THE VEHICLE OVER, AND FOUND NOTHING WORN OR BROKEN. HE HAS BEEN THE ONLY PERSON SERVICING THIS VEHICLE SINCE NOV 2009, SO HE IS VERY FAMILIAR WITH THE UPKEEP. IN FACT HE HAD REPLACED THE BRAKES AND ROTATED THE TIRES AT 59000 MILES. I DO HAUL SINGLE AND DOUBLE AXLE TRAILERS FROM TIME TO TIME, AND WORRY ABOUT THE NEXT TIME I NEED TO.

View Details

STEERING

1/9/2017 - LEWISVILLE, AR
WHEN I HIT A SMALL BUMP AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS MY TRUCK WILL START TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY AND WILL NOT STOP WITHOUT HARD BRAKING OR AGGRESSIVELY JERKING THE STEERING WHEEL. I FEEL THIS IS A REAL HAZARD AND AM AFRAID TO LET MY FAMILY DRIVE THE TRUCK. I WILL NOT LET MY GRAND CHILDREN RIDE WITH ME IN FEAR OF AN ACCIDENT WHEN THE TRUCK DECIDES TO SHAKE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds