Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2009 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 128 complaints filed for the 2009 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (18) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (2) Suspension (21) Visibility (5)
Engine (9) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (14) Wheels (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

8/15/2014 - MT. PLEASANT, IA
ALL OF THE HANKOOK TIRES HAD TREAD SEPARATION. ONE WAS SO BAD THAT IT SEPARATED ALL THE WAY AROUND THE TIRE SO THAT IT WAS SEPARATED LIKE A DOUGHNUT WAS ON THE SURFACE. I ALWAYS HAVE THE CORRECT PRESSURE BUT THESE TIRES WERE DANGEROUS WHEN THEY CAME APART. THE TIRE REPAIR PERSON COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW BAD THEY WERE. I KEPT THE TIRES TO SHOW ANYONE ABOUT THESE HAZARDS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/13/2014 - PONCE DE LEON, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER AND FRONT DOORS ALONG WITH THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOORS AND THE EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLES MALFUNCTIONED. THE DOOR HANDLE COULD NOT BE USED TO OPEN THE DOORS. THE REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOORS WOULD NOT UNLOCK PROPERLY NOR WOULD THEY UNLOCK WHEN USING THE KEY FOB OR ATTEMPTING TO MANUALLY UNLOCK THE DOORS. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WHERE THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE ROD THAT WAS HOLDING THE LOCK IN PLACE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000. RK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/25/2014 - FENTON, MI
CAR RANDOMLY GOES INTO "LIMP MODE" WHILE DRIVING, USUALLY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. WRENCH LIGHT GOES ON INDICATING A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE. THIS HAS OCCURRED ABOUT 10 TIMES NOW OVER THE PAST FEW MONTHS. AFTER TURNING CAR OFF, THEN ON AGAIN, THERE IS NO LONGER A LIGHT AND CAR RUNS FINE. TWICE I'VE TAKEN THE CAR IN AFTER SUCH AN OCCURRENCE AND NEITHER THE DEALERSHIP OR LOCAL MECHANIC COULD FIND ANY INDICATION OF A ERROR LIGHT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2014 - FOREST, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY FAILED TO TURN IN THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH, IGNITION CYLINDER AND THE HOUSING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 147,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/19/2014 - COVE, OR
I WAS TRAVELING AT 60 MPH WHEN THE CAR STARTED SLOWING DOWN EVEN THOUGH I WAS DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR. I THOUGHT THE ENGINE HAD DIED AND I WAS COASTING UNTIL I REALIZED THAT IT WAS STILL RUNNING BUT AT AN IDLE SPEED. I "COASTED" FOR 10 MILES AFRAID TO TURN IT OFF AND BE STRANDED. I GOT IT HOME AND TURNED IT OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND IT ACTED AS IF NOTHING WAS WRONG AND HAD GOOD ACCELERATION. IT DID IT AGAIN YESTERDAY (07/18/2014) WHILE TRAVELING AT 75 MPH ON THE FREEWAY. SCARED ME TO DEATH AS I WAS SURROUNDED BY SEMI-TRAILERS AND HAD TO MOVE TO THE SHOULDER WHERE THERE WAS LARGE TIRE PARTS AND RAN OVER THEM. I STOPPED THE CAR AND RESTARTED IT WITH NO ISSUES WITH ACCELERATION. I NOTICED AFTER THE "COASTING" INCIDENT THAT MY FUEL MILEAGE INCREASED TO 46 MPG. ON THE AVERAGE. IT WAS AROUND 35 BEFORE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/29/2014 - TRUMANSBURG, NY
THE CAR LOST POWER ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH. I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR AND NOTHING HAPPENED. I HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE AND THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON. THE ENGINE WAS IDLING BUT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AT ALL WHEN I PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND LET IT REST FOR A MINUTE. I TURNED IT BACK ON AND WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE THE CAR FINE. THIS HAPPENED SIX TIMES (LOSING POWER) ON MY WAY HOME. I WAS TRAVELING TO AN EVENT AND HAD DRIVEN 200 MILES WHEN I HAD TO TURN AROUND. THIS WAS A DRIVING HAZARD - ESPECIALLY ON A HIGHWAY! FORD SHOULD RECALL THESE CARS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2014 - AGATE, CO
2009 FORD FOCUS 4 DOOR, THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM OUTSIDE. THE DOOR LOCKS DO NOT WORK ALL THE TIME AND YOU WILL GET LOCKED IN AND HAVE TO CRAWL OVER THE SEATS TO GET OUT. THE PROBLEM IS THAT THERE IS ONLY ONE KEY HOLE ON THE DRIVER SIDE BUT IT DOES NOT UNLOCK THE OTHER DOORS SO YOU CANNOT GET IN SINCE THE DOOR ONLY OPENS FROM THE INSIDE IF IT IS UNLOCKED. YOU CANNOT MANUALLY UNLOCK THE FRONT DOORS BUT YOU CAN CRAWL OVER THE SEATS AND PULL UP THE REAR DOOR LOCKS OR CLIMB OUT THE WINDOWS. FORD HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL ON THIS AND I SEE SEVERAL PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS ESPECIALLY IF THERE IS AN ACCIDENT AND YOU CANNOT GET THE DOORS OPEN. I GUESS IT WILL TAKE A DEATH BEFORE FORD WILL DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. MY SON HAS TO KEEP THE DOORS UNLOCKED SO HE CAN GET INTO A PASSENGER DOOR AND OPEN THE INSIDE LATCH TO GET INTO HIS CAR. I GOT LOCKED IN AND HAD TO CRAWL OVER THE FRONT SEATS TO GET OUT SINCE I THOUGHT HE WAS JOKING. WE HAVE THE DOOR PANEL OFF AND DOOR LOCK ASSEMBLY OUT SO NOW I AM ON THE HUNT FOR REPAIR PARTS. THE HANDLE SEEMS TO BE IN WORKING ORDER BUT THE LATCH IS NOT. WE LUBED IT BUT IT KEEPS LOCKING UP AND YOU CANNOT OPEN IT UP TO SEE WHAT'S WRONG WITH IT. I THINK FORD WANTS PEOPLE TO SPEND A FORTUNE TO FIX THE PROBLEM OR JUST BUY A NEW CAR THAT YOU CAN'T AFFORD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/17/2014 - YORKVILLE, NY
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE IN A SCHOOL LOT AND WAS ATTEMPTING TO PULL INTO A PARKING SPOT WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE. I WAS GOING LESS THAN 5 MPH. FOR NO REASON WITH MY FOOT STILL ON THE BRAKE THE CARS ENGINE UNEXPLAINED RACED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO GO FORWARD STRIKING THE BACK OF A PICKUP. THE VEHICLE BOUNCED OFF THAT VEHICLE AND I HIT ANOTHER PARKED VEHICLE SENDING IT INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. ALL THIS TIME I HAD NO CONTROL AS THE ENGINE WAS STILL RACING AND MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE. MY HUSBAND WHO WAS SITTING IN THE FRONT SEAT REACHED OVER AND PUT THE CAR INTO PARK. ALL THE VEHICLES THAT WERE STRUCK WERE PARKED AT THE TIME. HOWEVER THERE WERE CHILDREN WALKING INTO THE SCHOOL FOR AN AWARDS CEREMONY. THERE WAS SEVERAL THOUSAND DOLLARS IN DAMAGE TO ALL THE VEHICLES. IN THE FALL OF 2013 THIS HAPPENED TO THE ENGINE AS I WAS PULLING INTO A BALL FIELD,AGAIN WITH CHILDREN PRESENT. MY HUSBAND HAD TO REACH OVER AND TURN THE IGNITION OFF. THERE WERE NO INJURIES OR DAMAGE. UPON CHECKING WITH FORD THEY STATED THAT THERE WEER NO RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE. ANSWER TO THE PROBLEM. SPRAY SILICONE TO THE THROTTLE BODY!!! AFTER THE MAY 29TH INCIDENT I FOUND THAT THERE WAS A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT AGAINST AGAINST THE FORD MOTOR CORP. FOR THIS PROBLEM. IN THE SUIT A LIST OF THEIR MAKES AND MODELS WERE LISTED. IN MY CASE THE FORD FOCUS YEARS 2008-2010 WAS LISTED.. MY CLAIMS ADJUSTER WAS WELL AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND HAD THE SAME PRINT OUT. I ASKED IF MY INSURANCE COMPANY WOULD SUBROGATE AGAINST FORD AND HE POLITELY SAID NO AS IT WAS A LOSING BATTLE. I'AM APPALLED THAT THE FORD CO. HAD NO RECALL, AS OF THIS DATE THERE ARE NONE FOR THIS YEAR AND FAILED TO MAKE IT KNOWN TO ALL THESE VEHICLE OWNERS. I'AM THANKFUL THAT THERE WERE NO PERSONAL INJURY TO ANY CHILDREN WALING IN THE LOT OR BALL FIELD. IS THERE ANY RECOURSE FOR ME?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/4/2014 - APPLETON, WI
AS REPORTED BY SEVERAL OTHERS, MY 2009 FORD FOCUS WILL UNPREDICTABLY GO INTO "LIMPö OR FAILSAFE MODE, WITH POWER SURGES OR HESITATIONS AND THE WRENCH & CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. AFTER THEN ENGINE IS RE-STARTED THE CAR WILL RUN NORMALLY FOR VARIOUS PERIODS OF TIME, SOMETIMES MILES, DAYS OR WEEKS. THIS FIRST HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES IN NOVEMBER 2012, I BROUGHT THE CAR INTO A FORD DEALER, BUT BECAUSE THE WRENCH OR ENGINE LIGHTS WERE NOT ON, THEY WERE UNABLE TO READ ANY CODES OR OTHERWISE DIAGNOSE. IN MAY 2013, I AGAIN EXPERIENCED SEVERAL INSTANCES OF THE LIMP / FAILSAFE MODE WITH ONE OR BOTH OF THE WRENCH AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ON. ON MAY 11, 2013 CAR WAS DELIVERED TO A DIFFERENT FORD DEALER WITH THE WRENCH LIGHT ON. THIS DEALER ôCLEANEDö THE THROTTLE BODY EVEN THOUGH AS I NOW UNDERSTAND THE THROTTLE BODY IS A SEALED UNIT. JUST OVER 4 WEEKS AFTER THE MAINTENANCE I AGAIN EXPERIENCED THE LIMP MODE AND WRENCH LIGHTS. AT THIS TIME I STARTED TO KEEP TRACK OF EACH INSTANCE. FOR APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH THE CAR EXPERIENCED FREQUENT POWER SURGES/HESITATION AND INSTANCES OF LIMP MODE. THE CAR THEN WENT 1 MONTH WITHOUT ANY REPEAT OF THAT EXPERIENCE. AFTER SEVERAL MORE INSTANCES OF THE PROBLEM IN EARLY SEPTEMBER 2013, THE ISSUE DISAPPEARED FOR OVER 6 MONTHS, UNTIL APRIL 2014. I NOW HAVE A LOG DOCUMENTING APPROX 25 û 30 INSTANCES OF LIMP MODE OVER A PERIOD OF ABOUT 8 WEEKS. THIS HAPPENS WHEN THE CAR IS BOTH WARM OR COLD, IN ANY WEATHER CONDITIONS, SOMETIMES WHEN THE CAR IS RUNNING FOR ONLY 1 MINUTE OR AFTER A LONG DRIVE. UNFORTUNATELY I HAVE HAD TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL AND RE-START AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. AGAIN AS OTHERS HAVE COMMENTED, THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION AND SHOULD BE CORRECTED BY A RECALL. I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT IN THE NEXT FEW DAYS AT WHICH TIME THEY WILL LIKELY REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY FOR APPROX $600, AFTER STICKING ABOUT $300 TO THE 1ST 2 SERVICE CALLS.... THANK YOU

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/4/2014 - APPLETON, WI
AS REPORTED BY SEVERAL OTHERS, MY 2009 FORD FOCUS WILL UNPREDICTABLY GO INTO "LIMPö OR FAILSAFE MODE, WITH POWER SURGES OR HESITATIONS AND THE WRENCH & CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. AFTER THEN ENGINE IS RE-STARTED THE CAR WILL RUN NORMALLY FOR VARIOUS PERIODS OF TIME, SOMETIMES MILES, DAYS OR WEEKS. THIS FIRST HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES IN NOVEMBER 2012, I BROUGHT THE CAR INTO A FORD DEALER, BUT BECAUSE THE WRENCH OR ENGINE LIGHTS WERE NOT ON, THEY WERE UNABLE TO READ ANY CODES OR OTHERWISE DIAGNOSE. IN MAY 2013, I AGAIN EXPERIENCED SEVERAL INSTANCES OF THE LIMP / FAILSAFE MODE WITH ONE OR BOTH OF THE WRENCH AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ON. ON MAY 11, 2013 CAR WAS DELIVERED TO A DIFFERENT FORD DEALER WITH THE WRENCH LIGHT ON. THIS DEALER ôCLEANEDö THE THROTTLE BODY EVEN THOUGH AS I NOW UNDERSTAND THE THROTTLE BODY IS A SEALED UNIT. JUST OVER 4 WEEKS AFTER THE MAINTENANCE I AGAIN EXPERIENCED THE LIMP MODE AND WRENCH LIGHTS. AT THIS TIME I STARTED TO KEEP TRACK OF EACH INSTANCE. FOR APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH THE CAR EXPERIENCED FREQUENT POWER SURGES/HESITATION AND INSTANCES OF LIMP MODE. THE CAR THEN WENT 1 MONTH WITHOUT ANY REPEAT OF THAT EXPERIENCE. AFTER SEVERAL MORE INSTANCES OF THE PROBLEM IN EARLY SEPTEMBER 2013, THE ISSUE DISAPPEARED FOR OVER 6 MONTHS, UNTIL APRIL 2014. I NOW HAVE A LOG DOCUMENTING APPROX 25 û 30 INSTANCES OF LIMP MODE OVER A PERIOD OF ABOUT 8 WEEKS. THIS HAPPENS WHEN THE CAR IS BOTH WARM OR COLD, IN ANY WEATHER CONDITIONS, SOMETIMES WHEN THE CAR IS RUNNING FOR ONLY 1 MINUTE OR AFTER A LONG DRIVE. UNFORTUNATELY I HAVE HAD TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL AND RE-START AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. AGAIN AS OTHERS HAVE COMMENTED, THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION AND SHOULD BE CORRECTED BY A RECALL. I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT IN THE NEXT FEW DAYS AT WHICH TIME THEY WILL LIKELY REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY FOR APPROX $600, AFTER STICKING ABOUT $300 TO THE 1ST 2 SERVICE CALLS.... THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds