Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2009 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 184 complaints filed for the 2009 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (9)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (24) Visibility (5)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (17) Wheels (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/8/2017 - EAST FALMOUTH, MA
THE AIRBAG LIGHT SUDDENLY CAME ON ONE DAY. I RESEARCHED IT ON GOOGLE AND IT APPEARS TO BE VERY COMMON IN FORD FOCUS VEHICLES. MY MECHANIC IS UNABLE TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE STATING IT MUST BE DONE AT A FORD DEALETSHIP OUT AND THE PROBLEM IS IN THE BRAIN /MODULE OF THE CAR. FOR THESE REASONS I THOUGHT THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL. THE SAFETY ISSUE IS THAT IN MY RESEARCH I LEARNED ALTHOUGH THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE, IF THE LIGHT IS ON THE AIR BAG WILL NOT WORK IF NEEDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/5/2017 - ELMIRA, NY
REAR DOORS ARE JAMMED OR STUCK ON LOCK, FOR NO REASON. POWER LOCKS WILL NOT UNLOCK THEM AND DOING SO MANUALLY DOES NOT WORK EITHER. THESE DOORS CANNOT BE OPENED FROM THE INSIDE NOR THE OUTSIDE. MY CHILD LOCKS ARE NOT ON. I ALSO KEEP MY CAR DUST FREE AND LUBRICATED. THIS COULD BE A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN IF I WERE TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT AND WERE TO BE LOCKED IN MY CAR. MY CAR SHOULD BE ABLE TO BE UNLOCKED AND LOCKED WHENEVER I PLEASE AND WHENEVER IS NEEDED. THE FACT THAT I CANNOT EVEN UNLOCK THEM MANUALLY IS DANGEROUS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/5/2017 - ELMIRA, NY
REAR DOORS ARE JAMMED OR STUCK ON LOCK, FOR NO REASON. POWER LOCKS WILL NOT UNLOCK THEM AND DOING SO MANUALLY DOES NOT WORK EITHER. THESE DOORS CANNOT BE OPENED FROM THE INSIDE NOR THE OUTSIDE. MY CHILD LOCKS ARE NOT ON. I ALSO KEEP MY CAR DUST FREE AND LUBRICATED. THIS COULD BE A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN IF I WERE TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT AND WERE TO BE LOCKED IN MY CAR. MY CAR SHOULD BE ABLE TO BE UNLOCKED AND LOCKED WHENEVER I PLEASE AND WHENEVER IS NEEDED. THE FACT THAT I CANNOT EVEN UNLOCK THEM MANUALLY IS DANGEROUS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/5/2017 - ELMIRA HEIGHTS, NY
REAR DOOR LOCKS APPEAR TO BE JAMMED OR PERMANENTLY LOCKED. WILL NOT UNLOCK WITH POWER LOCKS OR MANUALLY. THIS HAPPENED RANDOMLY OUT OF NOWHERE. MY DRIVERS SIDE DOOR HANDLE ALSO BROKE SO I AM ONLY ABLE TO USE ONE DOOR ON MY VEHICLE RIGHT NOW. THE REAR DOORS WILL NOT OPEN FROM INSIDE OR OUTSIDE HENCE WHY I SAID THEY APPEAR TO BE JAMMED FOR NO REASON. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN IF I WERE TO BE IN AN ACCIDENT AND GET LOCKED INSIDE MY CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/5/2017 - ELMIRA HEIGHTS, NY
REAR DOOR LOCKS APPEAR TO BE JAMMED OR PERMANENTLY LOCKED. WILL NOT UNLOCK WITH POWER LOCKS OR MANUALLY. THIS HAPPENED RANDOMLY OUT OF NOWHERE. MY DRIVERS SIDE DOOR HANDLE ALSO BROKE SO I AM ONLY ABLE TO USE ONE DOOR ON MY VEHICLE RIGHT NOW. THE REAR DOORS WILL NOT OPEN FROM INSIDE OR OUTSIDE HENCE WHY I SAID THEY APPEAR TO BE JAMMED FOR NO REASON. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN IF I WERE TO BE IN AN ACCIDENT AND GET LOCKED INSIDE MY CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/17/2016 - FRANKLIN, MO
VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY...IN THE PAST YEAR...ALL DOOR HANDLES HAVE BECOME BROKEN...I CAN NOT GET INTO VEHICLE FROM OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE...I HAVE TO LEAVE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW DOWN TO OPEN DOOR FROM INSIDE ON RAINY DAYS I HAVE TO LEAVE BACKSEAT DOWN TO ENTER THROUGH THE TRUNK OF VEHICLE TO GET INTO VEHICLE...THE BACK DOORS DO NOT OPEN FROM INSIDE OR OUTSIDE...I AM CURRENTLY 28 WEEKS PREGNANT THIS IS THE ONLY VEHICLE I HAVE AND IS BECOMING VERY DIFFICULT TO ENTER MY VEHICLE...NOT TO MENTION HOW UNSAFE IT IS AND WILL BE ONCE MY CHILD IS BORN.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

9/12/2016 - MADILL, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR WAS NOT REMAINING SHUT PROPERLY. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE BUNGEE CORDS TO HOLD THE DOOR CLOSED AT ALL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,292.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/6/2016 - FRANKLIN, MO
ALL FOUR DOOR HANDLES ARE BROKEN...CANNOT GET INTO THE CAR UNLESS I LEAVE A WINDOW DOWN...ON RAINY DAYS I HAVE TO LEAVE BACK SEATS DOWN AND GET IN THROUGH THE TRUNK OF VEHICLE...FROM 2015-2016...CAR WAS STATIONARY...I WOULD TRY TO OPEN DOOR THE HANDLE WOULD BREAK YOU CAN THE PIECE THAT BREAKS FALL ON THE INSIDE OF DOOR

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/15/2016 - MILFORD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE IDLED AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WOULD OPERATE ONLY IF THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 15 MPH. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THE WARNING LIGHT DIMMED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,600.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/18/2016 - DALLAS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, BY PASSERS IN OTHER VEHICLES ALERTED THAT BOTH TAIL LIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. IN ADDITION, THE PARKING LIGHT WAS INOPERABLE. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE FUSES EIGHT TIMES WITHIN THE PAST FIVE YEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds