Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2009 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 166 complaints filed for the 2009 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (1) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electrical System (25) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (24) Visibility (5)
Engine (14) Power Train (30) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (17) Wheels (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/3/2016 - TAMPA, FL
THE MOTOR MOUNT WHICH SIT ON TOP OF THE ENGINE THAT CONSTANTLY MAKE THE ENTIRE CAR TO SHAKE EXTREMELY. MOTOR MOUNT WAS REPLACE AND WITHIN 6 MONTHS THE SAME RESULTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/31/2015 - SPRING VALLEY, CA
AT APPROX. 50,000 MILES THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN EVENTUALLY UNABLE TO TURN KEY OVER. HAD A NEW SWITCH INSTALLED AND NOW SIX MONTHS LATER IT'S STARTING TO GO OUT AGAIN. VERY POOR QUALITY SWITCH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/29/2015 - FULTON, NY
THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR LATCHES HAVE STOPPED WORKING. MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME WITH MY SON IN REAR SEAT AND THE DOOR CAME OPEN AROUND A TURN. THEY ARE LUBRICATED REGULARLY AND THEY WILL MOVE PROPERLY BUT INTERNALLY THEY WILL NOT LATCH, THEREFORE THEY WILL NOT STAY CLOSED. I HAVE A STRAP HOLDING THE DOORS CLOSED. AT FIRST IT HAPPENED ONCE IN A WHILE. NOW THEY DON'T WORK AT ALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/2/2015 - MARYLAND HEIGHTS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHILE HAVING THE REPAIRS PERFORMED, THE TECHNICIAN NOTIFIED HIM THAT THE IGNITION HOUSING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/22/2015 - ANAHEIM, CA
SOMETIMES THE CAR DOESN'T CRANK OR START AND IT HAS HAPPENED AROUND 6 TIMES SINCE WE BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2011. IT ISN'T THE BATTERY BECAUSE I HAVE JUST REPLACED IT BUT SEEMS LIKE THE IGNITION SWITCH OR CYLINDER IS THE PROBLEM. ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/5/2015 - MAHOPAC, NY
THE REAR DOOR LOCKS WILL BECOME INOPERATIVE AT ANY TIME. THE REAL SAFETY HAZARD IS THAT THE LOCKS WILL NOT EVEN MANUALLY OPERATE. THIS WILL IN EFFECT TRAP ANY REAR PASSENGER IN THE CAR. IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT OR FIRE THIS COULD PROVE TO HAVE CATASTROPHIC RESULTS. ACCORDING TO FORD THE WHOLE DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR MECHANISM MUST BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/13/2015 - GILBERTOWN, AL
THE CAR HAD BEEN RUNNING PERFECT THEN AFTER A MOTOR MOUNT WAS REPLACED THE CAR STARTED THEN WENT DEAD IMMEDIATELY. THE CAR WILL TURN OVER BUT IT ISN'T FIRING RIGHT NOW IT GAVE NO WARNING. THE COMPUTER READ A THROTTLE ACTUATOR TROUBLE CODE AND THAT'S ALL. THE CAR WILL KEEP TURNING OVER AFTER I RELEASE THE KEY IT HAS NOT DONE THIS BEFORE NOW WE HAD SOME TROUBLE WITH THE IGNITION LOCKING UP AND WE HAVE TO TURN IT REALLY HARD TO START GET THE KEY IN THE STARTING POSITION. THE IGNITION SYSTEM IS ONE OF THE PROBLEMS AND THE THROTTLE BODY WILL UPDATE WHEN I FIND OUT MORE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/13/2015 - GILBERTOWN, AL
THE CAR HAD BEEN RUNNING PERFECT THEN AFTER A MOTOR MOUNT WAS REPLACED THE CAR STARTED THEN WENT DEAD IMMEDIATELY. THE CAR WILL TURN OVER BUT IT ISN'T FIRING RIGHT NOW IT GAVE NO WARNING. THE COMPUTER READ A THROTTLE ACTUATOR TROUBLE CODE AND THAT'S ALL. THE CAR WILL KEEP TURNING OVER AFTER I RELEASE THE KEY IT HAS NOT DONE THIS BEFORE NOW WE HAD SOME TROUBLE WITH THE IGNITION LOCKING UP AND WE HAVE TO TURN IT REALLY HARD TO START GET THE KEY IN THE STARTING POSITION. THE IGNITION SYSTEM IS ONE OF THE PROBLEMS AND THE THROTTLE BODY WILL UPDATE WHEN I FIND OUT MORE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/13/2015 - GILBERTOWN, AL
THE CAR HAD BEEN RUNNING PERFECT THEN AFTER A MOTOR MOUNT WAS REPLACED THE CAR STARTED THEN WENT DEAD IMMEDIATELY. THE CAR WILL TURN OVER BUT IT ISN'T FIRING RIGHT NOW IT GAVE NO WARNING. THE COMPUTER READ A THROTTLE ACTUATOR TROUBLE CODE AND THAT'S ALL. THE CAR WILL KEEP TURNING OVER AFTER I RELEASE THE KEY IT HAS NOT DONE THIS BEFORE NOW WE HAD SOME TROUBLE WITH THE IGNITION LOCKING UP AND WE HAVE TO TURN IT REALLY HARD TO START GET THE KEY IN THE STARTING POSITION. THE IGNITION SYSTEM IS ONE OF THE PROBLEMS AND THE THROTTLE BODY WILL UPDATE WHEN I FIND OUT MORE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/1/2015 - DIMONDALE, MI
I EXITED THE HIGHWAY VIA AN OFF RAMP AND HIT THE BREAKS TO SLOW DOWN. MY BACK END SPUN OUT OF CONTROL AND I HIT THE GUARDRAIL WITH THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE OF MY CAR. MY CAR WAS DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS, MY AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds