Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2009 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 151 complaints filed for the 2009 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (27) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electrical System (19) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (2) Suspension (24) Visibility (5)
Engine (12) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (16) Wheels (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/26/2015 - WASHOUGAL, WA
I WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY (IN THE FAR LEFT LANE) WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON WHEN MY CAR SUDDENLY APPEARED TO DIE AND THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON.THE CAR BEGAN TO DECELERATE AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE REGARDLESS OF HOW HARD I PRESSED DOWN ON THE GAS PEDAL. I THEN HAD TO DODGE TRAFFIC AS I ATTEMPTED TO PULL OFF TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD (ACROSS TWO LANES DURING TRAFFIC) WHILE MY CAR CONTINUED TO DECELERATE. THIS, AT FIRST, HAPPENED RARELY, BUT NOW OCCURS 2-3 TIMES EVERY TIME I DRIVE AS MUCH AS 15 MILES. I HAVE READ COUNTLESS FORUMS ABOUT OTHERS WITH THE SAME CAR HAVING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEMS, AND YET FORD IS DOING ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ABOUT IT. THIS CAN BE AN EXTREMELY TERRIFYING AND POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS IN THE RIGHT CIRCUMSTANCES. FAR TOO MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THROTTLE BODY/ACTUATOR PROBLEMS FOR THIS NOT TO BE A DESIGN FLAW ON FORD'S PART, AND, FROM WHAT I'VE HEARD, THEY'RE REFUSING TO HONOR OTHERS' WARRANTIES. I JUST SO HAPPEN TO BE JUST OUTSIDE MY WARRANTY; WHAT A "COINCIDENCE." I'M NOW LOOKING AT A $600 OUT OF POCKET REPAIR I SIMPLY CAN'T AFFORD AT THIS TIME. SO INSTEAD I'M FORCED TO CONTINUALLY LOOK FORWARD TO HAVING MY CAR SUDDENLY DIE IN THE MIDDLE OF HIGHWAY TRAFFIC.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/5/2015 - NORTON, MA
ON COLD START RPM'S FLUCTUATE SEVERAL HUNDRED RPM'S. BROUGHT TO DEALERSHIP BUT NO CODES WERE PRESENT. TECH SUSPECTED DIRTY THROTTLE BODY. PART NOT UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE NO CODES WHEN SCANNED. PROBLEM CONTINUES ESPECIALLY ON COLD START BUT OCCASIONALLY WHILE IN DRIVE AT A STOP.

View Details

ENGINE

5/5/2015 - NORTON, MA
ON COLD START RPM'S FLUCTUATE SEVERAL HUNDRED RPM'S. BROUGHT TO DEALERSHIP BUT NO CODES WERE PRESENT. TECH SUSPECTED DIRTY THROTTLE BODY. PART NOT UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE NO CODES WHEN SCANNED. PROBLEM CONTINUES ESPECIALLY ON COLD START BUT OCCASIONALLY WHILE IN DRIVE AT A STOP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/5/2015 - NORTON, MA
ON COLD START RPM'S FLUCTUATE SEVERAL HUNDRED RPM'S. BROUGHT TO DEALERSHIP BUT NO CODES WERE PRESENT. TECH SUSPECTED DIRTY THROTTLE BODY. PART NOT UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE NO CODES WHEN SCANNED. PROBLEM CONTINUES ESPECIALLY ON COLD START BUT OCCASIONALLY WHILE IN DRIVE AT A STOP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/1/2015 - WILDOMAR, CA
MY VEHICLE A FORD FOCUS 2009 BECAUSE OF POOR VISIBILITY WENT OFF THE ROAD TRAVELING NORTH ON HWY 76 (SAN DIEGO COUNTY, PALOMAR MT. AREA). THE CAR WENT OFF THE ROAD AT THE END OF HWY 76 AT HWY 79 IN THE MT. PALOMAR AREA NEAR LAKE HENSHAW. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY DESPITE THE FRONT END OF THE CAR BEING SEVERELY DAMAGED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/10/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE TURN SIGNAL WAS ACTIVATED AND FAILED TO RESPOND. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE LIGHT BECAME INOPERATIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,101.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2015 - HAINES, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION ACTUATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/15/2015 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE IN 2010, AT THE TIME THE VEHICLE HAD 37,000 MILES. A LESS THAN A MONTH LATER THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. IT WOULD NOT MOVE IN ANY GEAR, WHEN I PLACED MY FOOT ON THE GAS IT WOULD NOT MOVE BUT THEN IT JOLTED WITH GREAT FORCE. IT ALSO GRINDS REALLY HARD WHEN YOU'RE SHIFTING GEARS. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY AGREED TO FIX THE VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD THAT A NEW TRANSMISSION WAS PUT IN THE CAR. ABOUT A YEAR LATER THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION HAPPENED. THE CAR WAS STOPPED AND WOULD NOT MOVE IN ANY GEAR. I TOOK IT TO FORD AGAIN AND THEY SAID A BOLT WAS LOOSE AND THEY FIXED IT. A FEW DAYS LATER THE SAME PROBLEM I TOOK IT BACK TO FORD AND THEY FOUND THAT THERE WERE METAL SHAVINGS IN THE TRANSMISSION. YESTERDAY MY WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND MY TRANSMISSION IS DOING THE SAME THING IT DID THE FIRST TWO TIMES. SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE A LITTLE OVER 5 YEARS AGO I HAVE PUT LESS 35,000 MILES ON THIS CAR. IT SHOULD NOT BE HAVING TRANSMISSION ISSUES. THE TRANSMISSION IS THE ONLY PROBLEM I'VE HAD AND CONTINUE TO HAVE WITH THIS VEHICLE.I I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY VEHICLE. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THIS ISSUE KEEPS HAPPENING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/5/2015 - KANKAKEE, IL
EVER SINCE WE TURNED OVER SIXTY THOUSAND MILES ON OUR FORD FOCUS SE 2009 WE HAVE STARTED TO EXPERIENCE A PROBLEM WHERE OUR CAR'S CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL GO ON AND THE GAS PEDAL WILL STOP WORKING. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, THE ONLY THING YOU CAN DO IS: PULL OVER, SHIFT INTO PARK, TURN THE CAR OFF AND START THE CAR AGAIN. AT THIS POINT THE CEL WILL GO OFF AND IT WILL BE LIKE NOTHING HAPPENED. THIS IS TERRIFYING AND EXTREMELY DANGEROUS! THE FIRST TIME THAT THE CAR STALLED OR WENT INTO LIMP MODE WAS WHEN THE WEATHER WAS DAMP, SO WE THOUGHT IT WAS WEATHER RELATED. WE DECIDED TO HAVE THE DEALER LOOK AT THE CAR. WE BROUGHT THE CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP. WE DROPPED THE CAR OFF SO THAT THE MECHANIC COULD DO A TEST DRIVE. AFTER AN ENTIRE DAY OF DRIVING, THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM, OR PULL A DIAGNOSTIC CODE SO THEY GAVE OUR KEYS BACK AND SAID WE CANT DO ANYTHING TO HELP YOU. THEY THEN SUGGESTED THAT THE NEXT TIME OUR CAR STALLS, IDLE THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, BUT DO NOT TURN IT OFF. REALLY!? THE NEXT TIME IT HAPPENED WE WERE TAKING A A 500 MILE ROAD TRIP AND EXPERIENCED THE CAR SHUTTING DOWN AFTER ABOUT 250 MILES. THIS HAPPENED TWICE, ONCE IN TRAVELING TO OUR DESTINATION AND ONCE COMING HOME. THE CAR SHUT DOWN ONE TIME ON THE EXPRESSWAY GOING 70 MPH, HAVING TO MAKE A DOUBLE LANE CHANGE AND PULL OVER TO AVOID GETTING HIT. THE OTHER WHILE EXITING THE EXPRESSWAY SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP AND PULLING ONTO A CROSSING ROAD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/5/2014 - LUCAS, TX
AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WAS SLIPPING OUT OF GEAR. CAR WOULD BE RUNNING AT ABOUT 40 MPH AND THE RPM WOULD INCREASE AND WHIR. CAR WOULD LOSE SPEED AND SLOW DOWN THEN SPEED UP AGAIN. CAR WAS ONLY THREE YEARS OLD WITH 45+ MILES ON IT AND TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AT NO COST TO OWNER. (UNDER WARRANTY) NOW IN DECEMBER 2014, THE REPLACED TRANSMISSION WITH 35+ MILES AND TWO YEARS, FAILING AGAIN. GEARS SLIPPING AND CAR UNABLE TO DRIVE SAFELY. CAR PARKED IN OWNER'S DRIVEWAY. DEALER CONTACTED AND WILL NOT COVER REPLACEMENT OF NEW TRANSMISSION. WHY SHOULD A FIVE YEAR OLD CAR BE IN NEED OF IT'S THIRD TRANSMISSION?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds