Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2009 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 175 complaints filed for the 2009 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seat Belts (2) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electrical System (27) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (24) Visibility (5)
Engine (14) Power Train (33) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (17) Wheels (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/24/2016 - WALDORF, MD
I WAS INVOLVED IN A ROLLOVER IN 2009. THE CAR STEERING WAS LOOSE AND CAUSED ME TO LOSE CONTROL ON THE ROAD. I WAS SWITCHING LANES ON THE HIGHWAY, THE ROAD WAS UNEVEN AND THE STEERING SEEMED TO STOP WORKING. ALSO THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. IT WAS A RENTAL CAR.

View Details

STEERING

5/24/2016 - WALDORF, MD
I WAS INVOLVED IN A ROLLOVER IN 2009. THE CAR STEERING WAS LOOSE AND CAUSED ME TO LOSE CONTROL ON THE ROAD. I WAS SWITCHING LANES ON THE HIGHWAY, THE ROAD WAS UNEVEN AND THE STEERING SEEMED TO STOP WORKING. ALSO THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. IT WAS A RENTAL CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/13/2016 - STATESBORO, GA
THE THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT HAS BEGUN GOING OFF ( TWICE NOW) BUT ONCE TURNED OFF AND TURNED BACK ON IT DOES NOT COME ON. WHEN IT COMES ON IT LOOSES POWER AND THERE ARE ISSUES WITH ACCELERATION. IT HAS ONLY DONE IT AFTER A LONG DRIVE AND GOING (MOVING) AT A NORMAL PACE OF ABOUT 45 TO 55 MILES AND HOUR. IT HAS NOT GONE OFF AT A TIME THAT ALLOWS IT TO BE DIAGNOSED BY A PROFESSIONAL AND THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO GET IT TO REGISTER WHEN HOOKED TO THE COMPUTER,. THE LIGHT IS NO LONGER ON AND DOES NOT NOT ILLUMINATE IN AROUND TOWN DRIVING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/4/2016 - ORLANDO, FL
OKAY THE VEHICLE IS 2009 BUT ONLY HAS 58,000 MILES. SOMETIMES I HAVE DIFFICULTY INSERTING THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION AND TRYING TO START CAR. I SOMETIMES HAVE TO TRY AND JIGGLE THE STEERING WHEEL. YESTERDAY I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF , TOOK THE KEYS OUT OF THE IGNITION, OPENED THE DOOR TO EXIT THE CAR AND THE ALARM OR WARNING WOULDN'T SHUT OFF. I GOT BACK IN THE CAR, SHUT THE DOOR, IT STILL WOULDN'T SHUT OFF, SO I PUT THE KEY BACK IN THE IGNITION TO TURN IT ON THEN OFF AGAIN, AND THAT WORKED BUT I STILL HAVE OCCASIONAL ISSUES WITH STARTING THE CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/4/2016 - ORLANDO, FL
DRIVING AT 45 MPH SUDDENLY LOST ACCELERATION, WRENCH LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CAR CONTINUED TO RUN BUT EXTREMELY SCARY. THEN YOU REGAINED ACCELERATION AND CONTINUED ONLY TO LOSE IT REPEATEDLY. TOOK CAR TO HAVE DIAGNOSTICS RUN, BUT THE LIGHT WENT OFF AND THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE A PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/4/2016 - ALEXANDER, AR
THE BACK DOOR LOOKS STAY LOCKED, YOU CAN NO LONGER UNLOCK WITH KEY POD NOR MANUALLY ON THE INSIDE. BACK SEAT IS USELESS TO ME NOW. I HAVE TRIED VARIOUS THINGS LIKE CHANGING FUSES SEEING IF I COULD FORCE UNLOCK. BUT I DON'T USE CHILD SAFETY LOCKS SO DON' T THINK THAT IS ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/21/2016 - ANN ARBOR, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BOTH REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOORS WOULD NOT OPEN WHEN THE UNLOCK BUTTON WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE HAD TO DEPRESS THE UNLOCK BUTTON SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THE DOORS WOULD UNLOCK. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. NO FURTHER DETAILS WERE AVAILABLE ON THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,700.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/8/2016 - SAINT CHARLES, IL
FUEL TANK RUSTED WHERE THE HALVES MEET AND LEAKS FUEL. CANNOT FILL OVER HALF WAY. STARTED AS A GAS SMELL LAST YEAR, DISCOVERED A DRIP THIS YEAR. TANK NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/21/2016 - VIENNA, VA
THE LITTLE PLASTIC THING ON THE SEAT BELT THAT PREVENTS THE LATCH FROM SLIDING DOWN TO TO BASE OF THE BELT BY THE DOOR FELL OF A WHILE AGO, AND I DON'T KNOW HOW TO REPLACE IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/7/2016 - BARTON, NY
THE BACK DOORS HAVE LOCKED, AND CANNOT BE UNLOCKED WITH THE KEY FOB, LOCK BUTTON OR MANUALLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds