Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2009 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 148 complaints filed for the 2009 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (23) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electrical System (19) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (2) Suspension (24) Visibility (5)
Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (15) Wheels (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/10/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE TURN SIGNAL WAS ACTIVATED AND FAILED TO RESPOND. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE LIGHT BECAME INOPERATIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,101.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2015 - HAINES, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION ACTUATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/15/2015 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE IN 2010, AT THE TIME THE VEHICLE HAD 37,000 MILES. A LESS THAN A MONTH LATER THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. IT WOULD NOT MOVE IN ANY GEAR, WHEN I PLACED MY FOOT ON THE GAS IT WOULD NOT MOVE BUT THEN IT JOLTED WITH GREAT FORCE. IT ALSO GRINDS REALLY HARD WHEN YOU'RE SHIFTING GEARS. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY AGREED TO FIX THE VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD THAT A NEW TRANSMISSION WAS PUT IN THE CAR. ABOUT A YEAR LATER THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION HAPPENED. THE CAR WAS STOPPED AND WOULD NOT MOVE IN ANY GEAR. I TOOK IT TO FORD AGAIN AND THEY SAID A BOLT WAS LOOSE AND THEY FIXED IT. A FEW DAYS LATER THE SAME PROBLEM I TOOK IT BACK TO FORD AND THEY FOUND THAT THERE WERE METAL SHAVINGS IN THE TRANSMISSION. YESTERDAY MY WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND MY TRANSMISSION IS DOING THE SAME THING IT DID THE FIRST TWO TIMES. SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE A LITTLE OVER 5 YEARS AGO I HAVE PUT LESS 35,000 MILES ON THIS CAR. IT SHOULD NOT BE HAVING TRANSMISSION ISSUES. THE TRANSMISSION IS THE ONLY PROBLEM I'VE HAD AND CONTINUE TO HAVE WITH THIS VEHICLE.I I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY VEHICLE. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THIS ISSUE KEEPS HAPPENING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/5/2015 - KANKAKEE, IL
EVER SINCE WE TURNED OVER SIXTY THOUSAND MILES ON OUR FORD FOCUS SE 2009 WE HAVE STARTED TO EXPERIENCE A PROBLEM WHERE OUR CAR'S CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL GO ON AND THE GAS PEDAL WILL STOP WORKING. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, THE ONLY THING YOU CAN DO IS: PULL OVER, SHIFT INTO PARK, TURN THE CAR OFF AND START THE CAR AGAIN. AT THIS POINT THE CEL WILL GO OFF AND IT WILL BE LIKE NOTHING HAPPENED. THIS IS TERRIFYING AND EXTREMELY DANGEROUS! THE FIRST TIME THAT THE CAR STALLED OR WENT INTO LIMP MODE WAS WHEN THE WEATHER WAS DAMP, SO WE THOUGHT IT WAS WEATHER RELATED. WE DECIDED TO HAVE THE DEALER LOOK AT THE CAR. WE BROUGHT THE CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP. WE DROPPED THE CAR OFF SO THAT THE MECHANIC COULD DO A TEST DRIVE. AFTER AN ENTIRE DAY OF DRIVING, THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM, OR PULL A DIAGNOSTIC CODE SO THEY GAVE OUR KEYS BACK AND SAID WE CANT DO ANYTHING TO HELP YOU. THEY THEN SUGGESTED THAT THE NEXT TIME OUR CAR STALLS, IDLE THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, BUT DO NOT TURN IT OFF. REALLY!? THE NEXT TIME IT HAPPENED WE WERE TAKING A A 500 MILE ROAD TRIP AND EXPERIENCED THE CAR SHUTTING DOWN AFTER ABOUT 250 MILES. THIS HAPPENED TWICE, ONCE IN TRAVELING TO OUR DESTINATION AND ONCE COMING HOME. THE CAR SHUT DOWN ONE TIME ON THE EXPRESSWAY GOING 70 MPH, HAVING TO MAKE A DOUBLE LANE CHANGE AND PULL OVER TO AVOID GETTING HIT. THE OTHER WHILE EXITING THE EXPRESSWAY SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP AND PULLING ONTO A CROSSING ROAD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/5/2014 - LUCAS, TX
AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WAS SLIPPING OUT OF GEAR. CAR WOULD BE RUNNING AT ABOUT 40 MPH AND THE RPM WOULD INCREASE AND WHIR. CAR WOULD LOSE SPEED AND SLOW DOWN THEN SPEED UP AGAIN. CAR WAS ONLY THREE YEARS OLD WITH 45+ MILES ON IT AND TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AT NO COST TO OWNER. (UNDER WARRANTY) NOW IN DECEMBER 2014, THE REPLACED TRANSMISSION WITH 35+ MILES AND TWO YEARS, FAILING AGAIN. GEARS SLIPPING AND CAR UNABLE TO DRIVE SAFELY. CAR PARKED IN OWNER'S DRIVEWAY. DEALER CONTACTED AND WILL NOT COVER REPLACEMENT OF NEW TRANSMISSION. WHY SHOULD A FIVE YEAR OLD CAR BE IN NEED OF IT'S THIRD TRANSMISSION?

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/19/2014 - SPRING HILL, FL
AIRBAG ON FRONT PASSENGER SIDE IS BULGING OUT OF THE SEAMS...ON TOP OF THE DASH...I BOUGHT THE CAR USED AND IT WAS FINE...THERE WERE NO ACCIDENTS TO CAUSE THIS, IT JUST STARTED BUSTING THROUGH THE LEATHER SEAMS...

View Details

WHEELS

11/14/2014 - HEISSON, WA
WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN FALL 2012 AND NOTICED THE ORIGINAL TIRES HAD DELAMINATED AND WORN HORRIBLY IN THE FRON . WE REPLACED ALL FOUR TIRES WITH ALIGNMENT WITH TOP OF THE LINE NOKIA WHICH SHOULD HAVE GIVEN US 70K WEAR. WE GOT READY FOR A CROSS COUNTRY TRIP FROM WASHINGTON TO FLORIDA. WE DISCOVERED THE TIRES NEEDED REPLACING BECAUSE OF REALLY UNEVEN WEAR ON THE INSIDE. WE DECIDED TO REPLACE THEM WHEN WE ARRIVED IN FLORIDA. WE GOT THEM INSTALLED AND HAD ANOTHER FOUR WHEEL ALIGNMENT DONE. WE ARE HOPING THEY WON'T NEED ANOTHER SET FOR AT LEAST 60K MILES. READING THESE COMPLAINTS I'M NOT SO SURE NOW. WE SPENT $900 ON THE SET OF NOKIA HOPING THEY WOULD LAST. I'LL BE REAALY UPSET IF WE ONLY GET 20000 MILES OUT OF THIS NEW SE . IS THIS A VEHICLE PROBLEM??

View Details

WHEELS

10/24/2014 - WEST AMHERST, NY
I PURCHASED THIS PREVIOUSLY OWNED VEHICLE IN LATE SUMMER 2011. THE MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME WAS APPROXIMATELY 12,000. WITHIN A COUPLE DAYS OF MY 2011 PURCHASE THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR MONITOR FAILED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. ON FRIDAY OCTOBER 17, 2014 THE TPSM HAD FAILED AGAIN AND WAS REPLACED. THE PROBLEM IS THIS - IT WAS THE.....5TH TIME... I'VE HAD A TPSM FAIL AND REPLACED. MY FOCUS HAS ONLY 32,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

WHEELS

10/20/2014 - GRAND LEDGE, MI
THIS IS GETTING ABSOLUTELY REDICULOUS! I AM ON MY SIXTH SET OF TIRES!! THEY WEAR UNEVEN AFTER LESS THAN 20K MILES MAKING A MORE THAN ANNOYING WOBBLE. I HAVE GOTTEN NUMEROUS ALIGNMENTS AND NEW SWAY ARM LINKS. DEALERSHIP SAID I NEEDED NEW BEARINGS ANOTHER ALIGNMENT AND ANOTHER SET OF TIRES! AT THIS POINT I HAVE SPENT OVER $6000 ON REPAIRS TO THIS VEHICLE ALL RELATED TO THE SAME ISSUE!!! THERES OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING WRONG THAT FORD NEEDS TO FIX! I HAVE SEEN TONS OF COMPLAINTS ON HERE INVOLVING THE SAME ISSUE, SO THIS IS OBVIOUSLY NOT RELATED TO MY DRIVING. A RECALL NEEDS TO BE MADE AND THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED! I DID NOT BUY THIS CAR BRAND NEW OFF THE LOT FOR 26K TO HAVE TO KEEP DUMPING MONEY INTO IT! THE FACT THAT FORD WILL NOT OWN UP TO THIS BEING A HORRIBLE ASSEMBLY/PLANNING/PRODUCT IS APPALLING AND I WILL NEVER BUY A FORD PRODUCT AGAIN!!

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/20/2014 - GRAND LEDGE, MI
THIS IS GETTING ABSOLUTELY REDICULOUS! I AM ON MY SIXTH SET OF TIRES!! THEY WEAR UNEVEN AFTER LESS THAN 20K MILES MAKING A MORE THAN ANNOYING WOBBLE. I HAVE GOTTEN NUMEROUS ALIGNMENTS AND NEW SWAY ARM LINKS. DEALERSHIP SAID I NEEDED NEW BEARINGS ANOTHER ALIGNMENT AND ANOTHER SET OF TIRES! AT THIS POINT I HAVE SPENT OVER $6000 ON REPAIRS TO THIS VEHICLE ALL RELATED TO THE SAME ISSUE!!! THERES OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING WRONG THAT FORD NEEDS TO FIX! I HAVE SEEN TONS OF COMPLAINTS ON HERE INVOLVING THE SAME ISSUE, SO THIS IS OBVIOUSLY NOT RELATED TO MY DRIVING. A RECALL NEEDS TO BE MADE AND THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED! I DID NOT BUY THIS CAR BRAND NEW OFF THE LOT FOR 26K TO HAVE TO KEEP DUMPING MONEY INTO IT! THE FACT THAT FORD WILL NOT OWN UP TO THIS BEING A HORRIBLE ASSEMBLY/PLANNING/PRODUCT IS APPALLING AND I WILL NEVER BUY A FORD PRODUCT AGAIN!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds