Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2009 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 133 complaints filed for the 2009 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (18) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (6)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (2) Suspension (21) Visibility (5)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (14) Wheels (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/19/2014 - IRVINE, CA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2009 FORD FOCUS COUPE APPROX 70MPH ON INTERSTATE 10 IN THE CALIFORNIA DESERT AT 3PM WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY AND RAPIDLY DECELERATED. I WAS IN THE 2ND TO THE LEFT-HAND LANE AND THE RAPID DECELERATION VERY NEARLY CAUSED A MULTI-CAR COLLISION WITH THE CARS BEHIND TO MY RIGHT AND LEFT AS THE CAR DIRECTLY BEHIND ME SWERVED TO AVOID REAR-ENDING ME. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A FORD DEALERSHIP WHICH WAS UNABLE TO FIND ANY CODES OR DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND RETURNED THE CAR TO ME AS IS. THIS CAR IS HIGHLY UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/5/2014 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CAR WAS ON THE INTERSTATE TRAVELING AT 55 MPH ; THE ENGINE STALLED AND RESTARTED, WHEN EXISTING TO SEE WHETHER IT WOULD GAIN SPEED, THE CAR SLIPPED OUT OF GEAR . IT WENT INTO REVERSE, BACKING UP. AFTER TRYING TO CORRECT IT . THE CAR SPED UP ALMOST CAUSING A MAJOR ACCIDENT, THE CAR RESTARTED WITH THE SHIFT OUT OF DRIVE, I DROVE THE CAR THREE BLOCKS TO MY HOME. ILEFT THE CAR WHEREVER IT STOPPED, THE NEXT DAY, I TRIED TO DRIVE IT; THE CAR PLACED IN DRIVE WENT IN REVERSE BACKING UP. I LEFT IT THERE AND HAD WRECKER COMPANY TO TAKE IT TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP ON UNION AVENUE. THEY INSPECTED THE CAR AND SAID IT WOULD TAKE $2,0000 TO GET THE TRANSMISSION REPAIRED. SINCE, THE CAR WAS UNDER ENGINE WARRANTY FROM ACURA DEALERS OF MEMPHIS, I HAD THE WRECKING COMPANY TO TAKE THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALSHIP. THEY SOLD ME A 2013 TOYOTA COROLLA WHICH IS EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM. NOW, I HAVE ANOTHER CAR FROM THE SANE DEALERSHIP WHICH APPARENTL SELLS USED CARS WITH TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS,

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/28/2014 - LINN, KS
THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED IN 2010 FOR OUR DAUGHTER FOR COLLEGE. AFTER 6 MONTHS HAD TO REPLACE THE TIRES. THE MECHANIC REPLACING THEM WARNED US THAT ON THIS CAR WE WOULD NEED TO ROTATE THEM EVERY SO MANY MILES BECAUSE OF THE THE WAY THEY WARE OUT. THEN AT ABOUT A YEAR STARTED HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE DOORS NOT WANTING TO OPEN GOT TO BE THE DRIVERS DOOR NOT OPENING AT ALL. SO HAD THE FORD DEALERSHIP FIX IT WAS ALMOST $600. LONG STORY SHORT WE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE TIRES 3 TIMES NOW , AND WE HAVE THEM ROTATED EVERY 3000 MILES. AS FOR THE DOORS THE BACK DOORS WILL NOT OPEN AT ALL, HAVE NOT FIXED THEM . WE HAVE FIXED THE DRIVERS DOOR AGAIN AND ALSO THE PASSENGER DOOR TWICE ALSO. WE PURCHASED THE CAR FOR THE GAS MILEAGE. AND YES ALL CARS HAVE THEIR PROBLEMS BUT NOT LIKE THIS . SHE NOW HAS TROUBLE THE THE SUSPENSION, THE IGNITION SWITCH IS GOING OUT AND WHEN THE CAR WAS PAINTED , THE TRUNK WAS NOT PRIMED SO THE PAINT IS ALL PEELING OFF. THIS IS THE MOST COSTLY CAR WE HAVE EVER BOUGHT. WE WILL NEVER BY ANOTHER FORD AGAIN.

View Details

WHEELS

8/28/2014 - LINN, KS
THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED IN 2010 FOR OUR DAUGHTER FOR COLLEGE. AFTER 6 MONTHS HAD TO REPLACE THE TIRES. THE MECHANIC REPLACING THEM WARNED US THAT ON THIS CAR WE WOULD NEED TO ROTATE THEM EVERY SO MANY MILES BECAUSE OF THE THE WAY THEY WARE OUT. THEN AT ABOUT A YEAR STARTED HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE DOORS NOT WANTING TO OPEN GOT TO BE THE DRIVERS DOOR NOT OPENING AT ALL. SO HAD THE FORD DEALERSHIP FIX IT WAS ALMOST $600. LONG STORY SHORT WE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE TIRES 3 TIMES NOW , AND WE HAVE THEM ROTATED EVERY 3000 MILES. AS FOR THE DOORS THE BACK DOORS WILL NOT OPEN AT ALL, HAVE NOT FIXED THEM . WE HAVE FIXED THE DRIVERS DOOR AGAIN AND ALSO THE PASSENGER DOOR TWICE ALSO. WE PURCHASED THE CAR FOR THE GAS MILEAGE. AND YES ALL CARS HAVE THEIR PROBLEMS BUT NOT LIKE THIS . SHE NOW HAS TROUBLE THE THE SUSPENSION, THE IGNITION SWITCH IS GOING OUT AND WHEN THE CAR WAS PAINTED , THE TRUNK WAS NOT PRIMED SO THE PAINT IS ALL PEELING OFF. THIS IS THE MOST COSTLY CAR WE HAVE EVER BOUGHT. WE WILL NEVER BY ANOTHER FORD AGAIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/28/2014 - LINN, KS
THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED IN 2010 FOR OUR DAUGHTER FOR COLLEGE. AFTER 6 MONTHS HAD TO REPLACE THE TIRES. THE MECHANIC REPLACING THEM WARNED US THAT ON THIS CAR WE WOULD NEED TO ROTATE THEM EVERY SO MANY MILES BECAUSE OF THE THE WAY THEY WARE OUT. THEN AT ABOUT A YEAR STARTED HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE DOORS NOT WANTING TO OPEN GOT TO BE THE DRIVERS DOOR NOT OPENING AT ALL. SO HAD THE FORD DEALERSHIP FIX IT WAS ALMOST $600. LONG STORY SHORT WE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE TIRES 3 TIMES NOW , AND WE HAVE THEM ROTATED EVERY 3000 MILES. AS FOR THE DOORS THE BACK DOORS WILL NOT OPEN AT ALL, HAVE NOT FIXED THEM . WE HAVE FIXED THE DRIVERS DOOR AGAIN AND ALSO THE PASSENGER DOOR TWICE ALSO. WE PURCHASED THE CAR FOR THE GAS MILEAGE. AND YES ALL CARS HAVE THEIR PROBLEMS BUT NOT LIKE THIS . SHE NOW HAS TROUBLE THE THE SUSPENSION, THE IGNITION SWITCH IS GOING OUT AND WHEN THE CAR WAS PAINTED , THE TRUNK WAS NOT PRIMED SO THE PAINT IS ALL PEELING OFF. THIS IS THE MOST COSTLY CAR WE HAVE EVER BOUGHT. WE WILL NEVER BY ANOTHER FORD AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/22/2014 - ROSALIA, KS
AT ANY RANDOM MOMENT, THE CAR'S WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR EITHER DIES OR BEGINS TO RUN HORRIBLY. THIS CAN HAPPEN IN TOWN OR ON THE HIGHWAY - ACCELERATING OR ON CRUISE CONTROL - IT DOESN'T MATTER. TURNING THE CAR OFF (IF IT DIDN'T DIE) AND TURNING IT BACK ON, THE WRENCH LIGHT GOES OFF AND THE CAR RUNS AGAIN. CODE INDICATES A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE BUT AFTER TAKING IT TO A MECHANIC TWICE, THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO GET A CODE OR FIGURE OUT THE ISSUE. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER A YEAR. THIS CAN REALLY BE A DANGEROUS ISSUE IF IT HAPPENS WHILE PASSING OR TURNING INTO AN INTERSECTION. ETC.

View Details

WHEELS

8/22/2014 - ROSALIA, KS
TWO TIRES, WITH ONLY 20,000 MILES ON THEM, HAVE BOTH WORN DOWN ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE TIRE. THE TIRES THAT WE TOOK OFF PREVIOUS TO THESE DID THE SAME THING. CAR HAS BEEN ALIGNED AND TIRES ARE ROTATED ON A REGULAR BASIS.

View Details

WHEELS

8/15/2014 - MT. PLEASANT, IA
ALL OF THE HANKOOK TIRES HAD TREAD SEPARATION. ONE WAS SO BAD THAT IT SEPARATED ALL THE WAY AROUND THE TIRE SO THAT IT WAS SEPARATED LIKE A DOUGHNUT WAS ON THE SURFACE. I ALWAYS HAVE THE CORRECT PRESSURE BUT THESE TIRES WERE DANGEROUS WHEN THEY CAME APART. THE TIRE REPAIR PERSON COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW BAD THEY WERE. I KEPT THE TIRES TO SHOW ANYONE ABOUT THESE HAZARDS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

8/13/2014 - PONCE DE LEON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT BOTH PASSENGER SIDE DOORS, THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR, AND THE EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLES MALFUNCTIONED. THE DOOR HANDLES COULD NOT BE USED TO OPEN THE DOORS. THE REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE DOORS WOULD NOT UNLOCK PROPERLY NOR WOULD THEY UNLOCK WHEN USING THE KEY FOB OR ATTEMPTING TO MANUALLY UNLOCK THE DOORS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE ROD THAT WAS SECURING THE LOCKS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

8/13/2014 - PONCE DE LEON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT BOTH PASSENGER SIDE DOORS, THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR, AND THE EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLES MALFUNCTIONED. THE DOOR HANDLES COULD NOT BE USED TO OPEN THE DOORS. THE REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE DOORS WOULD NOT UNLOCK PROPERLY NOR WOULD THEY UNLOCK WHEN USING THE KEY FOB OR ATTEMPTING TO MANUALLY UNLOCK THE DOORS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE ROD THAT WAS SECURING THE LOCKS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds