Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G8 - 2009 PONTIAC G8 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 121 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G8

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G8. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G8, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (55) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (5) Steering (6) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (17) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Power Train (9) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (22) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (2) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (5) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

9/18/2017 - HUNTINGTON WOODS, MI
FRONT END KNOCKING NOISE OVER BUMPS

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/5/2017 - WILMINGTON, DE
TOOK 2009 PONTIAC G8 GT IN FOR AIRBAG RECALL TO REPROGRAM AIRBAG TIMING. TWO DAYS LATER THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON, CONTACTED SERVICE DEPARTMENT AS IT CANT BE A COINCIDENCE THAT THEY JUST WORKED ON THE AIRBAG SYSTEM AND NOW THE CAR HAS A AIRBAG ISSUE. THEY WANTED $149 TO RE-DIAGNOSE A PROBLEM THAT THEY CREATED IN MY OPINION. DOING A QUICK INTERNET SEARCH OF THE PROBLEM, SEVERAL OTHERS HAVE RUN INTO THE SAME SCENARIO OF THE LIGHT COMING ON AFTER HAVING THE RECALL PERFORMED. I REFUSE TO PAY THE DIAGNOSTIC FEE AND STILL HAVE NOT HAD THE ISSUE RESOLVED. GM NEEDS TO STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND ISSUE ANOTHER RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/23/2017 - LA PORTE, IN
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE THE FRONT SUSPENSION SHAKES AND CLUNKS WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED. BOTH BALL JOINS HAVE TEARS IN THE RUBBER BOOTS WHICH I'M SURE CAUSES WATER AND ROAD DEBRE TO ENTER BALL JOINT AND CORRODE. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN FOR ME AND WHEN A BALL JOINT LETS GO IT CAN BE FATAL SENDING THE CAR IN ANY UNCHOSEN DIRECTION. PLEASE NOTE THIS IS HAPPENING TO EVERY SINGLE PONTIAC G8 OWNER I'VE COME ACROSS. THIS IS LIFE THREATENING, BALL JOINT LETS GO ON THE HIGHWAY AND THE CAR WILL GO INTO A ROLL. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND CONSIDERATION

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/12/2017 - WEBSTER, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G8. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE "AIR BAG FAULT" WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR AND MODULE WERE FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE PPS SENSOR AND MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,600.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2017 - NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA
HELLO, I AM WRITING TO YOU TODAY TO INFORM YOU OF A COMMON AND KNOWN ISSUE WITH ALL GM LS ENGINES THAT COME WITH ACTIVE FUEL MANAGEMENT (AFM) OR DISPLACEMENT ON DEMAND (DOD). THE LIFTERS IN THE ENGINE BEGIN TO FAIL SOMEWHERE AFTER 40,000 MILES - WITH THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE OCCURRING IN MY OWN VEHICLE AT JUST OVER 61,000 MILES. IF YOU WERE TO GOOGLE "LS DEAD LIFTER", "LS LIFTER FAILURE" OR "GM PISTON SLAP", THE ISSUES ARISES. I HAVE CONTACTED THE PONTIAC DIVISION AT GM TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THIS, BUT THEY SAID THAT THERE IS "NOTHING THEY CAN DO SINCE THE ENGINE IS NO LONGER COVERED UNDER THEIR WARRANTY". THIS IS A BS AND SHOULD BE CONSIDERED A RECALL IF IT IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND FROM WHAT I READ ON A COUPLE FORUMS, GM HAS EVEN SENT A TSB (TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN) TO THEIR DEALERS IN THE PAST IN REGARDS TO THE ISSUE ON THIS ENGINE FOR SEVERAL DIFFERENT GM MODELS. SYMPTOMS AND NOISE ON THE "DEAD LIFTER" ISSUE: YOU WILL HEAR A TICKING OR KNOCKING SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE ITSELF UPON START UP. NOISE TENDS TO BE LOUDER ON A COLD START UP AND WILL GRADUALLY SOFTEN (BUT NOT COMPLETELY GO AWAY) ONCE THE ENGINE IS WARM. THE TICKING OR KNOCKING NOISE CONTINUES DURING IDLING AND REVVING, SPEEDING UP AS YOU PRESS ON THE ACCELERATOR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/9/2017 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
RECEIVED NOTICE IN THE MAIL FOR TWO OPEN RECALLS ON MY VEHICLE. I WORK IN SERVICE DEPARTMENT OF A MOTORCYLE DEALERSHIP SO I AM FAMILIAR WITH RECALL PROCEDURE. I CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS GIVEN AN APPOINTMENT DATE. I ASKED IF ALL PARTS WERE IN STOCK AND INFORMED THAT THEY WERE. I SHOW UP TO MY APPOINTMENT AND COUPLE HOURS LATER WHILE IM BACK AT WORK I AM INFORMED THAT PARTS WERE NOT IN AND THEY WOULD HAVE TO RESCHEDULE ME FOR ANOTHER APPOINTMENT. GET SET UP FOR MY NEXT APPOINTMENT DROP MY CAR OFF HEAD BACK TO WORK. HOURS LATER IM INFORMED CAR IS READY FOR PICKUP. I GET THERE AND ONE RECALL WAS PERFORMED WHICH WAS THE SEAT BELT RECALL, WHICH STILL LEAVES THE AIRBAG RECALL YET TO BE PERFORMED. I WAS CONTACTED BY THE SERVICE MANAGER SOME TIME LATER AND HE APOLOGIZED AND THAT WAS IT STILL WAITING TO THIS DAY TO BE LET KNOWN SOMETHING ABOUT THE AIRBAG RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/9/2017 - SAN BRUNO, CA
AIRBAG LIGHT INDICATES AIRBAG IS OFF, EVEN WHEN 180LB ADULT PASSENGER IS PRESENT ON SEAT. THIS CONTINUED FOR SOME TIME UNTIL THE AIRBAG FAULT LIGHT ACTIVATED AND INDICATED AN ISSUE WITH THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE. GM WANTS $957 IN ORDER TO FIX THE ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/18/2017 - DOVER, DE
IN EARLY 2015, WITH APPROXIMATELY 4500 MILES ON THE CAR, A DASH WARNING LIGHT BEGAN TO ILLUMINATE. THE ICON THAT APPEARS IS RELATED TO FAULTY AIRBAG, AS WELL AS, A VISUAL MESSAGE STATING FAULTY AIRBAG AND ALSO A BEEP TO ALERT ME WHEN STARTING THE CAR. NOTE, PART OF THOSE MILES ON THE CAR DID NOT INCLUDE A PASSENGER IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. YOUR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID#11V534000 LEADS ME TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT AND THE FACT THAT I STILL CANNOT FIND A RECALL ON THIS DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE. I AM EXTREMELY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS WARNING MESSAGE AND USAGE OF THE CAR HAS BEEN LIMITED FOR FEAR OF AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. I CANNOT JUSTIFY SPENDING HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS, AS MY FINDINGS HAVE DETERMINED IN RESEARCH AND ALSO IN CONVERSATION WITH A LOCAL GM DEALER. MY FINDINGS ALSO CONFIRM THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE FOR THE PONTIAC G8. I FEEL THIS SAFETY ISSUE SHOULD BE HANDLED AT THE EXPENSE OF GM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/14/2017 - LAKE MARY, FL
BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON WHOLE DRIVING AND PARKED, AFTER FURTHER RESEARCH FOUND OUT IT WAS A GM RECALL NO. 09101 & 09046 BUT MY VEHICLE'S VIN DOESN'T FALL UNDER RECALL LIST.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/14/2017 - LAKE MARY, FL
BRAKE LIGHTS STAY ON WHOLE DRIVING AND PARKED, AFTER FURTHER RESEARCH FOUND OUT IT WAS A GM RECALL NO. 09101 & 09046 BUT MY VEHICLE'S VIN DOESN'T FALL UNDER RECALL LIST.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds