Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G8 - 2009 PONTIAC G8 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G8

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G8. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G8, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (2) Structure (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (18) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/18/2014 - ESCONDIDO, CA
THE AIR BAG FAULT LIGHT CAME ON IN OUR 2009 PONTIAC G8. THE CAR HAS ONLY 41,000 MILES. WHY WOULD AIR BAG SYSTEM FAIL? IT HAS NO ACCIDENTS AND LOW MILES. TOOK TO DEALER "QUALITY CHEVROLET IN ESCONDIDO CALIFORNIA TO HAVE THE CODES READ AS MY READER WOULD NOT DISPLAY THEM. DEALER SAID THEY WOULD DIAGNOSE IT FOR $115.14. DEALER KEPT IT TWO DAYS AS THEY SAID THEY WERE TOO BUSY WITH GM IGNITION KEY RECALL AND DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO READ THE ERROR CODES. THE SECOND DAY, DEALER SAID "BAD NEWS", YOU WILL NEED TO PAY US AN ADDITIONAL $1,041.00 TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SEAT PRESENCE MODULE. TOTAL WOULD BE $1,156.14. THEY SAID ALL OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WON'T WORK WHILE YOU HAVE THIS ERROR CODE. THIS IS CRAZY. A SAFETY SYSTEM LIKE THIS SHOULD NOT FAIL AND IT SHOULD NOT KILL ALL THE OTHER AIR BAGS. I ASKED DEALER FOR ERROR CODES AND PART NUMBER. THE ERROR CODES ARE U0170 LOSS COMMUNICATION WITH PASSENGER PRESENCE AND B0081 PASSENGER PRESENCE SYSTEM. THE PART NUMBER IS GM #92225595. I CHECKED THE INTERNET AND THE PRICE FOR NEW MODULE FROM A GM PARTS SELLER WITH 1 YEAR WARRANTY IS $262.50. I CHECKED THE WEB NHTSA AND OTHER SITES AND THIS FAILURE IS VERY COMMON FOR THIS PONTIAC G8 VEHICLE. IT SHOULD BE COVERED BY GM FOR FREE AS A RECALL OR WARRANTY. PLUS, IT SHOULD NOT DISABLE ALL THE OTHER AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE. THIS IS NEGLIGENT AND UNSAFE. PLUS, THE DEALER IS TAKING HUGE PROFIT ON REPLACEMENT FEE. IT TOOK ME 10 MINUTES TO REMOVE THE MODULE FROM UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT. WHY WOULD THE DEALER "QUALITY CHEVROLET IN ESCONDIDO CALIFORNIA" BE SO GREEDY ON SAFETY ITEM AND CHARGE $1,156.14 FOR REPLACING A $262.50 PART THAT TAKES ONLY 10 MINUTES TO REMOVE AND 10 MINUTES TO REPLACE AND 10 MINUTES TO CALIBRATE OR PROGRAM? THIS IS PURE GREED AND DEALER IS SIMPLY CAPITALIZING ON THIS MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/18/2014 - ESCONDIDO, CA
THE AIR BAG FAULT LIGHT CAME ON IN OUR 2009 PONTIAC G8. THE CAR HAS ONLY 41,000 MILES. WHY WOULD AIR BAG SYSTEM FAIL? IT HAS NO ACCIDENTS AND LOW MILES. TOOK TO DEALER "QUALITY CHEVROLET IN ESCONDIDO CALIFORNIA TO HAVE THE CODES READ AS MY READER WOULD NOT DISPLAY THEM. DEALER SAID THEY WOULD DIAGNOSE IT FOR $115.14. DEALER KEPT IT TWO DAYS AS THEY SAID THEY WERE TOO BUSY WITH GM IGNITION KEY RECALL AND DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO READ THE ERROR CODES. THE SECOND DAY, DEALER SAID "BAD NEWS", YOU WILL NEED TO PAY US AN ADDITIONAL $1,041.00 TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SEAT PRESENCE MODULE. TOTAL WOULD BE $1,156.14. THEY SAID ALL OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WON'T WORK WHILE YOU HAVE THIS ERROR CODE. THIS IS CRAZY. A SAFETY SYSTEM LIKE THIS SHOULD NOT FAIL AND IT SHOULD NOT KILL ALL THE OTHER AIR BAGS. I ASKED DEALER FOR ERROR CODES AND PART NUMBER. THE ERROR CODES ARE U0170 LOSS COMMUNICATION WITH PASSENGER PRESENCE AND B0081 PASSENGER PRESENCE SYSTEM. THE PART NUMBER IS GM #92225595. I CHECKED THE INTERNET AND THE PRICE FOR NEW MODULE FROM A GM PARTS SELLER WITH 1 YEAR WARRANTY IS $262.50. I CHECKED THE WEB NHTSA AND OTHER SITES AND THIS FAILURE IS VERY COMMON FOR THIS PONTIAC G8 VEHICLE. IT SHOULD BE COVERED BY GM FOR FREE AS A RECALL OR WARRANTY. PLUS, IT SHOULD NOT DISABLE ALL THE OTHER AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE. THIS IS NEGLIGENT AND UNSAFE. PLUS, THE DEALER IS TAKING HUGE PROFIT ON REPLACEMENT FEE. IT TOOK ME 10 MINUTES TO REMOVE THE MODULE FROM UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT. WHY WOULD THE DEALER "QUALITY CHEVROLET IN ESCONDIDO CALIFORNIA" BE SO GREEDY ON SAFETY ITEM AND CHARGE $1,156.14 FOR REPLACING A $262.50 PART THAT TAKES ONLY 10 MINUTES TO REMOVE AND 10 MINUTES TO REPLACE AND 10 MINUTES TO CALIBRATE OR PROGRAM? THIS IS PURE GREED AND DEALER IS SIMPLY CAPITALIZING ON THIS MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SEATS

4/18/2014 - ESCONDIDO, CA
THE AIR BAG FAULT LIGHT CAME ON IN OUR 2009 PONTIAC G8. THE CAR HAS ONLY 41,000 MILES. WHY WOULD AIR BAG SYSTEM FAIL? IT HAS NO ACCIDENTS AND LOW MILES. TOOK TO DEALER "QUALITY CHEVROLET IN ESCONDIDO CALIFORNIA TO HAVE THE CODES READ AS MY READER WOULD NOT DISPLAY THEM. DEALER SAID THEY WOULD DIAGNOSE IT FOR $115.14. DEALER KEPT IT TWO DAYS AS THEY SAID THEY WERE TOO BUSY WITH GM IGNITION KEY RECALL AND DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO READ THE ERROR CODES. THE SECOND DAY, DEALER SAID "BAD NEWS", YOU WILL NEED TO PAY US AN ADDITIONAL $1,041.00 TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SEAT PRESENCE MODULE. TOTAL WOULD BE $1,156.14. THEY SAID ALL OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WON'T WORK WHILE YOU HAVE THIS ERROR CODE. THIS IS CRAZY. A SAFETY SYSTEM LIKE THIS SHOULD NOT FAIL AND IT SHOULD NOT KILL ALL THE OTHER AIR BAGS. I ASKED DEALER FOR ERROR CODES AND PART NUMBER. THE ERROR CODES ARE U0170 LOSS COMMUNICATION WITH PASSENGER PRESENCE AND B0081 PASSENGER PRESENCE SYSTEM. THE PART NUMBER IS GM #92225595. I CHECKED THE INTERNET AND THE PRICE FOR NEW MODULE FROM A GM PARTS SELLER WITH 1 YEAR WARRANTY IS $262.50. I CHECKED THE WEB NHTSA AND OTHER SITES AND THIS FAILURE IS VERY COMMON FOR THIS PONTIAC G8 VEHICLE. IT SHOULD BE COVERED BY GM FOR FREE AS A RECALL OR WARRANTY. PLUS, IT SHOULD NOT DISABLE ALL THE OTHER AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE. THIS IS NEGLIGENT AND UNSAFE. PLUS, THE DEALER IS TAKING HUGE PROFIT ON REPLACEMENT FEE. IT TOOK ME 10 MINUTES TO REMOVE THE MODULE FROM UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT. WHY WOULD THE DEALER "QUALITY CHEVROLET IN ESCONDIDO CALIFORNIA" BE SO GREEDY ON SAFETY ITEM AND CHARGE $1,156.14 FOR REPLACING A $262.50 PART THAT TAKES ONLY 10 MINUTES TO REMOVE AND 10 MINUTES TO REPLACE AND 10 MINUTES TO CALIBRATE OR PROGRAM? THIS IS PURE GREED AND DEALER IS SIMPLY CAPITALIZING ON THIS MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/9/2014 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
I WAS GOING OVER TSB AND RECALLS AND NOTICED THERE WAS AN UPDATE FOR THE AIRBAG. HERE IS WHERE THE FUN STARTS! MY WIFE SCHEDULES AN APPOINTMENT WITH OUR LOCAL DEALER AND TAKES IT IN FOR THE SOFTWARE FLASH. ALL GOOD RIGHT? WRONG! THE SERVICE TECH TOLD HER SHE NEEDS TO HAVE THE AIRBAG MODULE AND SENSOR REPLACED AT THE TUNE OF 1200.00 BUCKS AND NOW A AIRBAG LIGHT IS CONSTANTLY ON. I TOLD MY WIFE TO CONTACT GM CUSTOMER SERVICE, WHICH SHE DID LAST WEDNESDAY (04/02) AND WAS ASSIGNED A CASE ID AND CASE WORKER WHICH SHE EXPLAINED THE ISSUE TOO AND WAS TOLD SHE WOULD BE CALLED BACK WITH IN 24 HOURS.. WELL GUESS WHAT, HAVENT HEARD BACK YET. SHE HAS MADE NUMEROUS ATTEMPS TO CONTACT THEM WITH NO CALLS RETURNED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/7/2014 - MONTGOMERY, AL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G8. THE CONTACT STATED THE WHILE HE PRECEDED THROUGH AN INTERSECTION THE VEHICLE UNINTENDLY ACCELERATED AND PROCEEDED TO ACCELERATE WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED. THE BRAKE EMITTED A BURNT ODOR AND THE WHEELS SMOKED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE INTO A SAFE AREA RESTARTED THE ENGINE AFTER A FEW MINUTES AND DROVE THE VEHICLE HOME. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,000. LI

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/2/2014 - KIRKLAND, WA
WHILE MAKING A SOME WHAT SHARP TURN TO THE LEFT ON A FREEWAY AT APPROX 60 MILES PER HOUR (LEGAL SPEED FOR SITUATION) NOTED VIBRATION IN RIGHT FRONT SUSPENSION. IT FELT LIKE THE TIRE WAS ATTEMPTING TO COME OFF THE RIM.. I BACKED OFF AND THE PROBLEM DISSIPATED. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE RIGHT FRONT REAR LOWER SUPPORT ARM HAD SEVERE PLAY IN THE BALL JOINT. THE SAME ISSUE IS PRESENT WITH LESS WEAR IN THE FRONT LEFT LOWER CONTROL ARM. THE PLAY HAS CAUSED PREMATURE WEAR IN THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE. TIRES HAVE BEEN ROTATED REGULARLY AT THE DEALERSHIP AT SUGGESTED 5,000 MILE TIME FRAME. THE DEALERSHIP DID NOT DETECT ANY PROBLEM IN THE SUSPENSION DURING ANY OF THE SCHEDULED MAINTENANCES. CONSIDERING THE MILEAGE ON THE CAR THERE IS UNREASONABLE WEAR OCCURRING IN SUSPENSION PART CREATING A DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/2/2014 - UPPER DARBY, PA
I PURCHASED MY G8 GT BRAND NEW IN FEB. 2009. IN 2012 I HAD MY PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG LIGHT COME ON. I WAS AWARE OF A RECALL AND BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE. THEY SAID THAT THE PROBLEM WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL BUT AS A ONE TIME COURTESY THEY WILL FIX IT. THE LIGHT WENT OFF AND I FELT SAVE DRIVING MY CAR. WELL, MARCH OF 2014 MY AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. NOW A DIFFERENT LIGHT. THE FIRST LIGHT SAID PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. THIS TIME IT SAYS AIR BAG FAULT. AGAIN, I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING MY VEHICLE WITH THIS LIGHT ON. I TAKE IT TO THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE AGAIN, AND THEY INFORM ME THAT IT IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND IT WILL COST ME $800.00 TO REPLACE WHATEVER MODULE THAT IS BROKEN. HOW MANY MODULES MAKE UP THE COMPRESSION OF THE AIR BAG AND HOW COME AIR BAG SAFETY NO MATTER WHICH MODULE OR LIGHT ISN'T PART OF THE RECALL? IN ADDITION TO THE AIR BAG PROBLEM I ALSO HAD PROBLEMS IN 2009-2011 WITH THE SWAY BAR BUSHINGS AND MOUNTS, FRONT SUSPENSION, AND A BAD HARMONIC BALANCE, LASTLY ROTORS WARPED OFTEN. I PAID A LOT OF MONEY FOR THIS CAR AND EXPECTED MAINTENANCE FOR THIS VEHICLE TO BE COSTLY AT SOME POINT BUT NOT THE SAFETY EQUIPMENT THAT GM SHOULD MAKE SURE IS FLAWLESS BEFORE MASS PRODUCING A DEATH TRAP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/24/2014 - BREWSTER, NY
WHEN MY WIFE WAS DRIVING OUR SON TO DAYCARE THE SRS AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON IN OUR 2009 PONTIAC G8 WITH ONLY 31K ON IT. WE BROUGHT IT A LOCAL DEALER AND THEY READ THE CODES AND THEY CAME BACK AS U0170 AND B0081. TOLD US IT WILL BE OVER $400.00 FOR PARTS AND AROUND $300.00 IN LABOR SINCE THIS IS NOT COVERED UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY WHICH THE CAR STILL HAS AS THIS TIME. WE WOULD BE STUCK PAYING FOR IT. THESE ITEMS SHOULD NOT WEAR OUT AND IS A SAFTEY ISSUE THAT GM KNOWS ABOUT AND HAS DONE NOTHING ABOUT IT. SINCE THIS SRS LIGHT IS ON IT MAKES THE CAR UNSAFE TO DRIVE AS IT SHUTS THE AIRBAGS OFF THAT ARE MANDATORY SINCE 1998. NOW WITH THE STATE INSPECTION COMING UP SOON (NOT SURE IF IT PASSES WITH THE SRS LIGHT ON) THE CAR WILL HAVE TO CONTINUE TO SITT HERE IN THE DRIVEWAY AS IT IS UNSAFE TO PUT MY WIFE & SON IN UNTIL HE HAVE A EXTRA $900.00 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. GM SHOULD HAVE A RECALL ON THIS AS THEY KNOW OF THE PROBLEM ITS NOT A HANDFULL OF CARS ITS HUNDRED-+¥S

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/11/2014 - CLINTON TWP, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G8. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS ERRONEOUSLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER ALSO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 09V172000 (SERVICE BRAKES, AIR, TIRES). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

TIRES

1/27/2014 - LILBURN, GA
MICHELIN PILOT SPORT A/S PLUS ARE "CHUNKING" RUBBER SEPARATION. I PURCHASED MY MICHELIN PILOT A/S PLUS FROM DISCOUNT TIRES IN DECEMBER 2011(34,030 MI). MICHELIN STATES A 45K MI WARRANTY ON THESE TIRES. I'VE ROTATED THEM EVERY 5-6K MI. RIGHT NOW I'VE DRIVEN ON THEM 22K MILES. I WENT TO DISCOUNT TIRE (1/27/2014) AND THEY SAID THE FRONT TIRES ARE "CHUNKING". YOU CAN SEE TIRE SEPARATION FROM THE LAYERS OF RUBBER. THE ASST MGR ADVISED ME HE HAS SEEN THIS WITH THE MICHELIN'S PILOT A/S PLUS AND THEY WOULD PRORATE ME FOR SOME NEW TIRES. TO ME THIS IS A DEFECT AND SHOULD BE A FULL REPLACEMENT AT 100% MICHELIN'S EXPENSES. PLEASE PLEASE! INVESTIGATE THESE TIRES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds