Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC G8 - 2009 PONTIAC G8 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2009 PONTIAC G8

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 PONTIAC G8. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 PONTIAC G8, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (3) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (18) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (5) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (5) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/26/2014 - BATH , MI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 PONTIAC G8. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, HOWEVER NO TESTING WAS DONE DUE TO A FEE FOR THE CUSTOMER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,698. RG

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/25/2014 - LAVEEN, AZ
AS I TURNED MY VEHICLE ON 07/24/2014 THE AIR BAG FAULT CAME ON HAVEN'T CALLED THE DEALER YET BUT HAVE READ THE OTHER COMPLAINTS AND SEEMS THERE ARE STARTING TO BECOME MORE AND MORE PROBLEMS WITH THIS SAFETY ISSUE. JUST WONDER HOW MANY OTHERS THAT DON'T ACTUALLY FILE A COMPLAINT AND JUST HAVE IT FIXED AT A VERY HIGH PRICE AS SEEN ON THE COMPLAINTS. WILL BE CALLING THE DEALER TODAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/18/2014 - STRONGSVILLE, OH
MY 2009 PONTIAC G8 GT WITH 71,082 MILES STARTING HAVING THE AIR BAG FAULT LIGHT SHOW UP DURING STARTUP OF THE VEHICLE. THIS FAULT STAYED ILLUMINATED AT ALL TIMES. I RESEARCHED THIS FAULT ON THE INTERNET, INCLUDING PONTIAC FORUMS, AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF OTHER PONTIAC G8 OWNERS THAT HAVE HAD A SIMILAR FAULT. I FOUND THAT THE MAJORITY OF THE FINDINGS ON THE INTERNET STATED THAT THE ISSUE WAS THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE AND/OR SENSOR. ON 6/18-/4, ITOOK MY G8 TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR ANALYSIS. THE DEALERSHIP FOUND THAT THE FAILURE WAS THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE (PN#92225595). THE AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE WILL NOT FUNCTION WITH THIS CURRENT FAULT. THE COST TO REPAIR THE ISSUE QUOTED BY THE DEALERSHIP IS $850.00.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/17/2014 - CARY, IL
I STARTED MY CAR AND THE AIRBAG FAULT LIGHT IS ON. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THIS AND I SEE MAMY MAMY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I AM NOT SPENDING OVER A THOUSAND DOLLARS ON A PROBLEM GM SUPPOSEDLY FIXED WITH A RECALL ALREADY--HOW CONVENIENT THE WARRANTY IS EXPIRED. PERHAPS SINCE SO MANY PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME COMPLAINTS GM WILL DO ANOTHER RECALL AND FIX THIS FOR US

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/11/2014 - MADISON HEIGHTS, MI
AIRBAG FAULT COMES ON WITH A VEHICLE CHIME ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE LIGHT BLINKS A FEW TIMES THEN STAYS ON THE SCREEN FOR A RANDOM AMOUNT OF TIME. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME IT HAS HAPPENED. AT THIS TIME I WAS DRIVING ON A LOCAL ROAD AROUND 45MPH WITH NO ACCELERATION. I HEARD THE CHIME AND AIRBAG LIGHT COME ON. IT WENT A WAY AFTER SEVERAL MINUTES THEN CAME BACK ON AGAIN FOR NO REASON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/11/2014 - MADISON HEIGHTS, MI
AIRBAG FAULT COMES ON WITH A VEHICLE CHIME ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE LIGHT BLINKS A FEW TIMES THEN STAYS ON THE SCREEN FOR A RANDOM AMOUNT OF TIME. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME IT HAS HAPPENED. AT THIS TIME I WAS DRIVING ON A LOCAL ROAD AROUND 45MPH WITH NO ACCELERATION. I HEARD THE CHIME AND AIRBAG LIGHT COME ON. IT WENT A WAY AFTER SEVERAL MINUTES THEN CAME BACK ON AGAIN FOR NO REASON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2014 - ROGERSVILLE, TN
OUR 2009 PONTIAC G8 GT WITH 54,000 MILES STARTING HAVING THE AIR BAG FAULT LIGHT SHOW UP DURING STARTUP OF THE VEHICLE. THIS FAULT STAYED ILLUMINATED AT ALL TIMES. I RESEARCHED THIS FAULT ON THE INTERNET, INCLUDING PONTIAC FORUMS, AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF OTHER PONTIAC G8 OWNERS THAT HAVE HAD A SIMILAR FAULT. I ALSO FOUND ON THE INTERNET THAT THERE WAS A LARGE AMOUNT OF GM PRODUCTS THAT HAS THE SAME FAULT. I FOUND THAT THE MAJORITY OF THE FINDINGS ON THE INTERNET STATED THAT THE ISSUE WAS THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE AND/OR SENSOR. ON 4-22-14, WE TOOK OUR G8 TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR ANALYSIS. THE DEALERSHIP FOUND THAT THE FAILURE WAS THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE (PN#92225595) AND PASSENGER PRESENCE SENSOR (PN#92220398). THE AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE WILL NOT FUNCTION WITH THIS CURRENT FAULT. THE COST TO REPAIR THE ISSUE QUOTED BY THE DEALERSHIP IS $1,193.94. I DECIDED TO SPEAK WITH GM CUSTOMER REPRESENTATIVE VIA PHONE. GM CUSTOMER SERVICE RESPONDED TO MY CONCERN WITH A NEGOTIATED COST DOWN TO $500 + TAX. I DO APPRECIATE THE REDUCTION IN COST BUT FEEL THAT THIS IS A KNOWN SAFETY ISSUE AND THAT THERE IS ALOT OF HISTORY ON THIS ISSUE SINCE 2007 (PER THE INTERNET RESEARCH) AND I FEEL THAT THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

SEATS

4/25/2014 - ROGERSVILLE, TN
OUR 2009 PONTIAC G8 GT WITH 54,000 MILES STARTING HAVING THE AIR BAG FAULT LIGHT SHOW UP DURING STARTUP OF THE VEHICLE. THIS FAULT STAYED ILLUMINATED AT ALL TIMES. I RESEARCHED THIS FAULT ON THE INTERNET, INCLUDING PONTIAC FORUMS, AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF OTHER PONTIAC G8 OWNERS THAT HAVE HAD A SIMILAR FAULT. I ALSO FOUND ON THE INTERNET THAT THERE WAS A LARGE AMOUNT OF GM PRODUCTS THAT HAS THE SAME FAULT. I FOUND THAT THE MAJORITY OF THE FINDINGS ON THE INTERNET STATED THAT THE ISSUE WAS THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE AND/OR SENSOR. ON 4-22-14, WE TOOK OUR G8 TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR ANALYSIS. THE DEALERSHIP FOUND THAT THE FAILURE WAS THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE (PN#92225595) AND PASSENGER PRESENCE SENSOR (PN#92220398). THE AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE WILL NOT FUNCTION WITH THIS CURRENT FAULT. THE COST TO REPAIR THE ISSUE QUOTED BY THE DEALERSHIP IS $1,193.94. I DECIDED TO SPEAK WITH GM CUSTOMER REPRESENTATIVE VIA PHONE. GM CUSTOMER SERVICE RESPONDED TO MY CONCERN WITH A NEGOTIATED COST DOWN TO $500 + TAX. I DO APPRECIATE THE REDUCTION IN COST BUT FEEL THAT THIS IS A KNOWN SAFETY ISSUE AND THAT THERE IS ALOT OF HISTORY ON THIS ISSUE SINCE 2007 (PER THE INTERNET RESEARCH) AND I FEEL THAT THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/25/2014 - ROGERSVILLE, TN
OUR 2009 PONTIAC G8 GT WITH 54,000 MILES STARTING HAVING THE AIR BAG FAULT LIGHT SHOW UP DURING STARTUP OF THE VEHICLE. THIS FAULT STAYED ILLUMINATED AT ALL TIMES. I RESEARCHED THIS FAULT ON THE INTERNET, INCLUDING PONTIAC FORUMS, AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF OTHER PONTIAC G8 OWNERS THAT HAVE HAD A SIMILAR FAULT. I ALSO FOUND ON THE INTERNET THAT THERE WAS A LARGE AMOUNT OF GM PRODUCTS THAT HAS THE SAME FAULT. I FOUND THAT THE MAJORITY OF THE FINDINGS ON THE INTERNET STATED THAT THE ISSUE WAS THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE AND/OR SENSOR. ON 4-22-14, WE TOOK OUR G8 TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR ANALYSIS. THE DEALERSHIP FOUND THAT THE FAILURE WAS THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE (PN#92225595) AND PASSENGER PRESENCE SENSOR (PN#92220398). THE AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE WILL NOT FUNCTION WITH THIS CURRENT FAULT. THE COST TO REPAIR THE ISSUE QUOTED BY THE DEALERSHIP IS $1,193.94. I DECIDED TO SPEAK WITH GM CUSTOMER REPRESENTATIVE VIA PHONE. GM CUSTOMER SERVICE RESPONDED TO MY CONCERN WITH A NEGOTIATED COST DOWN TO $500 + TAX. I DO APPRECIATE THE REDUCTION IN COST BUT FEEL THAT THIS IS A KNOWN SAFETY ISSUE AND THAT THERE IS ALOT OF HISTORY ON THIS ISSUE SINCE 2007 (PER THE INTERNET RESEARCH) AND I FEEL THAT THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/18/2014 - ESCONDIDO, CA
THE AIR BAG FAULT LIGHT CAME ON IN OUR 2009 PONTIAC G8. THE CAR HAS ONLY 41,000 MILES. WHY WOULD AIR BAG SYSTEM FAIL? IT HAS NO ACCIDENTS AND LOW MILES. TOOK TO DEALER "QUALITY CHEVROLET IN ESCONDIDO CALIFORNIA TO HAVE THE CODES READ AS MY READER WOULD NOT DISPLAY THEM. DEALER SAID THEY WOULD DIAGNOSE IT FOR $115.14. DEALER KEPT IT TWO DAYS AS THEY SAID THEY WERE TOO BUSY WITH GM IGNITION KEY RECALL AND DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO READ THE ERROR CODES. THE SECOND DAY, DEALER SAID "BAD NEWS", YOU WILL NEED TO PAY US AN ADDITIONAL $1,041.00 TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SEAT PRESENCE MODULE. TOTAL WOULD BE $1,156.14. THEY SAID ALL OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WON'T WORK WHILE YOU HAVE THIS ERROR CODE. THIS IS CRAZY. A SAFETY SYSTEM LIKE THIS SHOULD NOT FAIL AND IT SHOULD NOT KILL ALL THE OTHER AIR BAGS. I ASKED DEALER FOR ERROR CODES AND PART NUMBER. THE ERROR CODES ARE U0170 LOSS COMMUNICATION WITH PASSENGER PRESENCE AND B0081 PASSENGER PRESENCE SYSTEM. THE PART NUMBER IS GM #92225595. I CHECKED THE INTERNET AND THE PRICE FOR NEW MODULE FROM A GM PARTS SELLER WITH 1 YEAR WARRANTY IS $262.50. I CHECKED THE WEB NHTSA AND OTHER SITES AND THIS FAILURE IS VERY COMMON FOR THIS PONTIAC G8 VEHICLE. IT SHOULD BE COVERED BY GM FOR FREE AS A RECALL OR WARRANTY. PLUS, IT SHOULD NOT DISABLE ALL THE OTHER AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE. THIS IS NEGLIGENT AND UNSAFE. PLUS, THE DEALER IS TAKING HUGE PROFIT ON REPLACEMENT FEE. IT TOOK ME 10 MINUTES TO REMOVE THE MODULE FROM UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT. WHY WOULD THE DEALER "QUALITY CHEVROLET IN ESCONDIDO CALIFORNIA" BE SO GREEDY ON SAFETY ITEM AND CHARGE $1,156.14 FOR REPLACING A $262.50 PART THAT TAKES ONLY 10 MINUTES TO REMOVE AND 10 MINUTES TO REPLACE AND 10 MINUTES TO CALIBRATE OR PROGRAM? THIS IS PURE GREED AND DEALER IS SIMPLY CAPITALIZING ON THIS MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds