Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER - 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (7) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine (17) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/3/2013 - SANTA CLARA, CA
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE EXPRESSWAY WITH THE FAMILY (50MPH), CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL SUDDENLY TURN ON AND FLICKER ON AND OFF RANDOMLY. ENGINE POWER HESITATES. AT THE STOPLIGHT, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONTINUES TO TURN ON, AND OFF RANDOMLY, AS WELL AS TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. ENGINE APPEARS TO BE STALLING AT TIMES, AND RPM BOUNCES BETWEEN 500-900. ACCELERATION WHEN PRESSING AGAINST GAS PEDAL RESULTS IN UNEVEN ACCELERATION. PULLED VEHICLE OFF TO THE SIDE, TURNED ENGINE OFF, AND EXAMINED VEHICLE. EXAMINED VEHICLE AND DO NOT SEE ANYTHING SUSPICIOUS. TURNED VEHICLE BACK ON, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WITH TRACTION CONTROL OFF. MOMENTS LATER, LIGHTS TURN BACK ON. LIMPED VEHICLE BACK TO RESIDENCE VIA LOCAL ROADS. CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCE INTERMITTENT ON/OFF CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL. AFTER ARRIVING AT RESIDENCE, PARKED VEHICLE AND PERFORMED ADDITIONAL EXAMINATION. NOTICED BURNING SMELL AT REAR BRAKE SHOES, POSSIBLY FROM TRACTION CONTROL HOLDING ON TO BRAKES. WILL BRING CAR TO DEALERSHIP ON 08/05/13 FIRST THING IN THE MORNING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/3/2013 - SANTA CLARA, CA
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE EXPRESSWAY WITH THE FAMILY (50MPH), CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL SUDDENLY TURN ON AND FLICKER ON AND OFF RANDOMLY. ENGINE POWER HESITATES. AT THE STOPLIGHT, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONTINUES TO TURN ON, AND OFF RANDOMLY, AS WELL AS TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. ENGINE APPEARS TO BE STALLING AT TIMES, AND RPM BOUNCES BETWEEN 500-900. ACCELERATION WHEN PRESSING AGAINST GAS PEDAL RESULTS IN UNEVEN ACCELERATION. PULLED VEHICLE OFF TO THE SIDE, TURNED ENGINE OFF, AND EXAMINED VEHICLE. EXAMINED VEHICLE AND DO NOT SEE ANYTHING SUSPICIOUS. TURNED VEHICLE BACK ON, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WITH TRACTION CONTROL OFF. MOMENTS LATER, LIGHTS TURN BACK ON. LIMPED VEHICLE BACK TO RESIDENCE VIA LOCAL ROADS. CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCE INTERMITTENT ON/OFF CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL. AFTER ARRIVING AT RESIDENCE, PARKED VEHICLE AND PERFORMED ADDITIONAL EXAMINATION. NOTICED BURNING SMELL AT REAR BRAKE SHOES, POSSIBLY FROM TRACTION CONTROL HOLDING ON TO BRAKES. WILL BRING CAR TO DEALERSHIP ON 08/05/13 FIRST THING IN THE MORNING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/3/2013 - SANTA CLARA, CA
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE EXPRESSWAY WITH THE FAMILY (50MPH), CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL SUDDENLY TURN ON AND FLICKER ON AND OFF RANDOMLY. ENGINE POWER HESITATES. AT THE STOPLIGHT, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONTINUES TO TURN ON, AND OFF RANDOMLY, AS WELL AS TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. ENGINE APPEARS TO BE STALLING AT TIMES, AND RPM BOUNCES BETWEEN 500-900. ACCELERATION WHEN PRESSING AGAINST GAS PEDAL RESULTS IN UNEVEN ACCELERATION. PULLED VEHICLE OFF TO THE SIDE, TURNED ENGINE OFF, AND EXAMINED VEHICLE. EXAMINED VEHICLE AND DO NOT SEE ANYTHING SUSPICIOUS. TURNED VEHICLE BACK ON, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WITH TRACTION CONTROL OFF. MOMENTS LATER, LIGHTS TURN BACK ON. LIMPED VEHICLE BACK TO RESIDENCE VIA LOCAL ROADS. CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCE INTERMITTENT ON/OFF CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL. AFTER ARRIVING AT RESIDENCE, PARKED VEHICLE AND PERFORMED ADDITIONAL EXAMINATION. NOTICED BURNING SMELL AT REAR BRAKE SHOES, POSSIBLY FROM TRACTION CONTROL HOLDING ON TO BRAKES. WILL BRING CAR TO DEALERSHIP ON 08/05/13 FIRST THING IN THE MORNING.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

8/1/2013 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
I PURCHASED A 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER IN OCTOBER 29, 2013. EVERYTHING WAS FINE,THEN STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH WINDOW ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE, IT KEPT GOING OFF LINE, SO I ROLLED UP THE WINDOW AND DIDN'T USE IT UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO GO FOR SERVICE. I TOOK IT IN TO BE SERVICE IN APRIL /MAY 2013 FOR A OIL CHANGE AND ETC. I TOLD THE GUY IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WHAT WAS WRONG AND HE SAID HE WOULD CHECK IT FOR ME. AFTER SERVICING THE SUV, HE TOLD ME IT WOULD COST $ 400.00 PLUS DOLLARS TO FIX. I HAD THE CAR LESS THAN 6MONTHS. HE TOLD ME THERE WAS A PIECE THAT WAS BROKEN DUE TO RESTING THE ARM ON THE GLASS AND HE HAD TO REPLACE THE PIECE AND THE GLASS. IT'S FINE ONE MINUTE AND THEN THE NEXT IT'S OFF THE TRACT. SO I TOLD THE SERVICE GUY TO UNPLUG IT. I 'M NOT TALL ENOUGH TO REST MY ARM ON THE GLASS TO BREAK ANYTHING. I'M THE ONLY ONE THAT DRIVES THIS CAR. I TRULY BELIEVE THIS PART/PIECE WAS ALREADY BROKEN WHEN I PURCHASE THIS VEHICLE, BUT I CAN'T PROVE IT. I DON'T HAVE $ 400. 00 DOLLARS IN MY BUDGET PLUS MONTHLY BILL. HELP!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/21/2013 - CUPERTINO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO ACCELERATE INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT APPLIED AN IMMENSE AMOUNT OF PRESSURE TO THE PEDAL BUT THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP. AFTER SOME TIME, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS AWAITING DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 46,132.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/17/2013 - SPRING, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE BUT THE VEHICLE HESITATED, AFTER A BRIEF DELAY, THE ACCELERATOR ENGAGED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO LUNGE FORWARD. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL OF THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL CONTINUOUSLY FLICKERED AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE BRAKE LIGHT WAS DEFECTIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THEY WERE NOT ALLOWED TO TOUCH THE VEHICLE AND CONTACTED AN INVESTIGATOR TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE INVESTIGATOR WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 800 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 26,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2013 - SPRING, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE BUT THE VEHICLE HESITATED, AFTER A BRIEF DELAY, THE ACCELERATOR ENGAGED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO LUNGE FORWARD. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL OF THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL CONTINUOUSLY FLICKERED AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE BRAKE LIGHT WAS DEFECTIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THEY WERE NOT ALLOWED TO TOUCH THE VEHICLE AND CONTACTED AN INVESTIGATOR TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE INVESTIGATOR WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 800 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 26,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/4/2013 - LEXINGTON, SC
T-SB-0201-11 FROM TOYOTA STATES "SOME VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH 2GR-FE/FXE TOWING PACKAGE ENGINES MAY EXHIBIT AN OIL SEEP FROM THE ENGINE OIL COOLER PIPES." THIS TSB AFFECTS TOYOTA AND LEXUS VEHICLES GOING BACK TO AT LEAST 2008-PRESENT. THIS IS A MAJOR ISSUE, AND I FEEL THIS SHOULD BE HANDLED AS A RECALL INSTEAD OF A TSB DUE TO THE SEVERITY OF THE ISSUE IF/WHEN THE PIPE BREAKS. I RECENTLY ELECTED TO HAVE MY VEHICLE REPAIRED ON MY OWN JUST SO I WOULDN'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THIS ISSUE HAPPENING TO ME OR MY WIFE, AND THUS BLOWING UP MY HIGHLANDER'S ENGINE CAUSING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN DAMAGES. SEEMS PRETTY BAD THAT A RECALL CAN BE ISSUED FOR FLOOR MATS AND ACCELERATOR ISSUES, BUT NO RECALL IS ISSUED FOR THIS ISSUE WHICH CAN DRAIN THE OIL FROM YOUR ENGINE IN A MINUTE, BLOW UP YOUR ENGINE, AND THEN POSSIBLY WRECK YOUR VEHICLE. CONSUMER'S ENGINES ARE NOW BEING DESTROYED, AND THIS IS SHOWING UP IN DIFFERENT ONLINE FORUMS. I FEEL THAT THE NHTSA NEEDS TO FORCE TOYOTA TO REPLACE ALL OF THE DEFECTIVE ENGINE OIL COOLER PIPES WITH THE NEWER METAL ONES THAT THE TSB ADDRESSES. THEY SHOULD ALSO BE FORCED TO REIMBURSE ALL COSTS TO THOSE INDIVIDUALS THAT EITHER NEEDED TO HAVE THE REPAIR DONE, OR DECIDED TO PREVENTATIVELY HAVE THE REPAIR DONE ON THEIR OWN BEFORE THOSE PIPES BURST ON THEIR OWN.

View Details

ENGINE

4/4/2013 - LEXINGTON, SC
T-SB-0201-11 FROM TOYOTA STATES "SOME VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH 2GR-FE/FXE TOWING PACKAGE ENGINES MAY EXHIBIT AN OIL SEEP FROM THE ENGINE OIL COOLER PIPES." THIS TSB AFFECTS TOYOTA AND LEXUS VEHICLES GOING BACK TO AT LEAST 2008-PRESENT. THIS IS A MAJOR ISSUE, AND I FEEL THIS SHOULD BE HANDLED AS A RECALL INSTEAD OF A TSB DUE TO THE SEVERITY OF THE ISSUE IF/WHEN THE PIPE BREAKS. I RECENTLY ELECTED TO HAVE MY VEHICLE REPAIRED ON MY OWN JUST SO I WOULDN'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THIS ISSUE HAPPENING TO ME OR MY WIFE, AND THUS BLOWING UP MY HIGHLANDER'S ENGINE CAUSING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN DAMAGES. SEEMS PRETTY BAD THAT A RECALL CAN BE ISSUED FOR FLOOR MATS AND ACCELERATOR ISSUES, BUT NO RECALL IS ISSUED FOR THIS ISSUE WHICH CAN DRAIN THE OIL FROM YOUR ENGINE IN A MINUTE, BLOW UP YOUR ENGINE, AND THEN POSSIBLY WRECK YOUR VEHICLE. CONSUMER'S ENGINES ARE NOW BEING DESTROYED, AND THIS IS SHOWING UP IN DIFFERENT ONLINE FORUMS. I FEEL THAT THE NHTSA NEEDS TO FORCE TOYOTA TO REPLACE ALL OF THE DEFECTIVE ENGINE OIL COOLER PIPES WITH THE NEWER METAL ONES THAT THE TSB ADDRESSES. THEY SHOULD ALSO BE FORCED TO REIMBURSE ALL COSTS TO THOSE INDIVIDUALS THAT EITHER NEEDED TO HAVE THE REPAIR DONE, OR DECIDED TO PREVENTATIVELY HAVE THE REPAIR DONE ON THEIR OWN BEFORE THOSE PIPES BURST ON THEIR OWN.

View Details

ENGINE

3/28/2013 - BALTIMORE, MD
TOYOTA HAS ISSUED A T-SB-0201-11 WHICH STATES "SOME VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH 2GR-FE/FXE TOWING PACKAGE ENGINES MAY EXHIBIT AN OIL SEEP FROM THE ENGINE OIL COOLER PIPES." THIS AFFECTS TOYOTA AND LEXUS VEHICLES GOING BACK TO AT LEAST 2008-PRESENT. THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN HANDLED AS A RECALL VS. A T-SB WITH A DEFINED EXPIRATION DATE BECAUSE CONSUMERS ENGINES ARE BEING DESTROYED WHEN THIS 'SEEP' OCCURS. THIS HAPPENS WITH A MINUTE AND ALL OF THE ENGINE OIL IS LEFT ON THE ROAD AND THE ENGINE IS DESTROYED. IMAGINE A FAMILY WHO'S DRIVING ALONG THE HIGHWAY, THEIR ENGINE STOPS WORKING AND AN 18-WHEELER REAR ENDS THEM. THAT IS WHY THE NHTSA NEEDS TO FORCE TOYOTA TO REPLACE ALL OF THE DEFECTIVE ENGINE OIL COOLER PIPES WITH THE METAL ONES THAT THE T-SB ADDRESSEE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds